Blackboard Learn Reviews

173 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-14 of 14)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 13, 2020
Quincy Tamaribuchi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

6
Itʻs a good platform for certain things such as tests. Blackboard may not be the most user friendly but there is always room for improvement in any website, business, etc. When used with other platforms such as Google Classroom, Blackboard can be more effective, but when used by itself I feel it is not as impactful from a student perspective.
Read Quincy Tamaribuchi's full review
January 31, 2020
Brandon Cluff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

5
I have never used the support features of Blackboard Learn from an instructor's point of view. As a student, contacting the instructor for support on their specific course is very straightforward. Depending on how they are set up, forums can also be useful in terms of support. In general, I haven't had too many issues!
Read Brandon Cluff's full review
January 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
The basic support is ticket-based and requires a local designated contact or system administrator to open tickets. End-user support is only available through the institution without additional costs. However, this is a relatively standard way of operating for most learning management systems. Even Instructure offers paid support for Canvas for end-users, but basic support must go through a local designated contact person.
Read this authenticated review
September 25, 2019
Anissa Harris | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

7
My Blackboard support comes from the university I work with. They are responsive--eventually... but it takes them sometimes a week to respond to a reported issue. For example, I reported 2 issues last week and one was resolved and I was contacted about one still open option today. That is too long for a tech issue.

I have not contacted any support offered directly by Blackboard, which may be a completely different experience altogether.
Read Anissa Harris's full review
January 12, 2020
Nicolas Hanhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
Blackboard support works on resolving tickets opened in a timely manner.
Read Nicolas Hanhan's full review
November 30, 2019
Amy Westby | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

7
Support is helpful. It does exactly what I need it to in my capacity and role. However, I do know that other instructors could certainly use a few more features than I use.
Read Amy Westby's full review
November 22, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
Blackboard is a nice place that shows where online learning is really going. It is feature-rich with only minor improvements that, if correctly addressed, would help the service thrive more.
Read this authenticated review
August 18, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

5
Support is adequate; however, on more than one occasion over the years we have gotten the response that something is "a known issue but we aren't planning to fix it." Recently a colleague raved about the support from another of our vendors and lamented that Blackboard's support couldn't be that good. Sometimes it takes a push to get Bb support to care for an issue, though this isn't a common occurrence.
Read this authenticated review
September 15, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
The majority of tickets are answered and resolved quickly, but every once in a while a ticket gets "escalated" and then the next tier of support is much slower in following up.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (19)
7.3
Course catalog or library (19)
6.8
Player/Portal (16)
7.1
Learning content (23)
7.9
Mobile friendly (25)
6.1
Progress tracking & certifications (19)
7.6
Assignments (25)
8.3
Compliance management (14)
6.2
Learning administration (20)
8.1
Learning reporting & analytics (21)
6.9
Social learning (18)
6.6

What is Blackboard Learn?

Blackboard Inc. is an enterprise learning management systems vendor. Blackboard was founded in 1997 and became a public company in 2004. The company provides education, mobile, communication, and commerce software and related services to clients including education providers, corporations and government organizations. As of December 2010, Blackboard software and services are used by over 9,300 institutions in more than 60 countries. Blackboard Learn is the company's flagship LMS, supporting course management, test & assessment design and administration, and is extensible via Blackboard's suite of addable modules.

Blackboard Learn Competitors

Blackboard Learn Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No