BlackLine

BlackLine

Customer Verified
Top Rated
Score 8.9 out of 10
Top Rated
BlackLine

Overview

What is BlackLine?

BlackLine automates the the processes required to finalize periodic closing of the books. Beyond close/reconciliation management the product includes capabilities to enhance the management and control of financial processes throughout the accounting cycle.

In October 2020, BlackLine acquired Rimilia, an...
Read more

Recent Reviews

Great usage!

10 out of 10
December 26, 2022
I use BlackLine for journal entries. BlackLine organizes them and allows us to view other coworkers' journals as well. The filters help us …
Continue reading

My Review

8 out of 10
December 22, 2022
Use Blackline during month-end closing for the account recon. Our whole entity is using the process in order to avoid paper filling and …
Continue reading

Automation is key

9 out of 10
December 02, 2022
My experience with BlackLine has grown over the last 2 years as our company utilizes more of what BlackLine has to offer. The automation …
Continue reading

Good accounting software

8 out of 10
December 01, 2022
BlackLine is used for tracking month end tasks, create journal entries linked to ERP, perform reconciliations, store data source and …
Continue reading

You Need BlackLine!

10 out of 10
July 09, 2022
We use Blackline to complete all of our month-end account reconciliations (over 1500 GL accounts). We also use it for Task Management in …
Continue reading

BlackLine does its job

7 out of 10
June 11, 2022
We use BlackLine to reconcile our patient clearing account and to reconcile what comes in our deposits against what we post to accounts in …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of BlackLine, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Product Demos

BlackLine Introduction
02:09
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is BlackLine?

BlackLine automates the the processes required to finalize periodic closing of the books. Beyond close/reconciliation management the product includes capabilities to enhance the management and control of financial processes throughout the accounting cycle.

In October 2020, BlackLine acquired Rimilia, an AR automation solution. Rimilia's capabilities are now part of the BlackLine platform.

BlackLine Video

BlackLine Introduction

BlackLine Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 188)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Chris Weaver | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
If you want to complement your ERP and enhance your close process, BlackLine is the choice. It has a bit of a learning curve initially, but once you relate the system to your use cases it is a powerful tool. The teams behind BlackLine are very friendly and love the product they service. This is a huge plus. Not to mention, many of the employees used to work outside of BlackLine while using/implementing BlackLine. This is great to hear how they used or molded the system for their business use so we can relate at times as a customer.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
BlackLine is a very robust system and is capable of improving processes. However, it does take time and resource investments. If companies do not have the time and resources and are not willing to invest time and resources, this product will not solve their issues. This is an investment and can be an incredibly powerful tool; however, it won't do the work without guidance. The level of engagement and size of project may evolve over time, however, companies need to understand that it is not an overnight success, but the success that can be achieved in the long run is worth it. I also recommend working with a seasoned implementation partner on a new project. As a company develops the skills to lead the transformation, a partner may not be needed as much, but it is definitely recommended to start.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It suits any organization that has a large number of tasks that they need to track, review, or approve. Employees are assigned specific tasks with due dates. Once they are marked complete, managers can approve or decline. They can also add notes to that the employee can make the necessary corrections.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
BlackLine has completely automated our monthly close processes and is extremely efficient. BlackLine has reconciliation templates already created for users but they also can be customized to different needs, which I think is super beneficial. We use their matching feature for some of our larger reconciliations, and it has seriously been a lifesaver. Their technical support is very helpful and typically responds before 24 hours.
December 26, 2022

Great usage!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
If you have to report journal entries within your company, this website is very simple and easy to use. It is easy to follow, and you'll get the hang of it quickly. There are many options to play with or how to look at your work or others.
December 22, 2022

My Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
The recon system is very easy to use, while the report run and search engine is hard to find,also the file is hard to find. A little bit hard to manager grouped item. Also change the key account information is not that easy. Submit and approval is easy to find
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
For global companies with locations in various timezones/countries, having a central repository for Account reconciliations and journal approvals is vital.

I see it for an enterprise solution, small businesses may not really get the full benefit, the cost may exceed the benefits.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
BlackLine is a cloud based that enable user to perform their work that can auto-save. The cloud environment are secured for users to access. BlackLine allows us to enable single-sign on from our network for ease of use. We enjoy some of the automated function--notably workflow and routing--and reporting to help our business to be optimized in their reconciliation process.
July 09, 2022

You Need BlackLine!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Blackline has been a game-changer for our organization. It has saved us time and money from Day 1. It helped us eliminate a number of manual processes that were time-consuming. The implementation process was very smooth and the support from Blackline has been top notch ever since we signed on. We looked at multiple vendors before ultimately choosing Blackline, but there's no doubt we chose the best option available. I would, and already have, recommended Blackline to various colleagues.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
BlackLine is well suited for institutions that are really looking to use the product out of the box. The BlackLine team is very open to customization - but b/c the system is not the implementation of these changes can take some time. There are quite a few standard reports that are available in BlackLine, and as long as these are exactly what you need; they're great. Creating your own reporting or modifying existing reporting is really cumbersome and most days it isn't worth the effort.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
BlackLine has been very well suited for all our needs in which we have utilized it. Being able to group one journal entry to multiple accounts, tasks, and reconciliations makes the close process much faster. The user-friendly dashboard keeps us on track to complete tasks in a timely manner.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
BlackLine is very well suited for balance sheet reconciliations where the accounting teams are remote or working from home. Everything is loaded into BlackLine so there is no need for physical documentation. The Variances is a great addition; however, it would be nice if you could set up each variance with its own comparison period. Sometimes we need to look month over month, and others year over year. Currently, everything looks at the current month versus the end of the prior year. Unless there is a way to change that and I am unaware.
Stephanie Clevenger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I in fact recommended Blackline to a CFO at a med device start up because he was looking for something to "corral his month end JEs and recons". In a more remote work based world having a system like Blackline has gone from a nice to have to a must.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
BlackLine software is appropriate for most of our account reconciliations because month to month we have a lot of the same transactions. Those accounts that do not change a lot do not need a lot of work to reconcile every month. If the account does change a lot it is a lot of uploading backup to each line and finding those changes. If that account changes while the month is being closed then often you have to re-start the entry. This scenario is also good because all information stays up to date and accurate.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Being able to create and use journal masters saves a lot of time during each month-end close as the data is already entered. You just have to verify and change any numbers as needed and certify and go. Using excel for uploads can allow time-saving entries as well but to have them all in one platform and be accessible by everyone and can be used remotely is a great business feature. Tracking tasks allows me to know at any time where we are with month-end close processes and allows me to know if we are on track or if there is an issue anywhere without having to ask multiple times throughout the day.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
From my experience, BlackLine is well-suited for every scenario that we have used it for. When we initially started using BlackLine, it was very time-consuming to key a large journal entry so it was frustrating - however, after asking for an easier way, we were eventually informed of how to upload data into a journal entry. This was life changing!
June 03, 2022

BlackLine Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
BlackLine is very helpful when reconciling bank accounts because this is a situation where the auto-certify option can be extremely helpful and time-saving. It also is helpful when having to match up transactions from multiple sources using the matching engine.
Return to navigation