BlackLine

BlackLine

Customer Verified
Top Rated
Score 8.9 out of 10
Top Rated
BlackLine

Overview

What is BlackLine?

BlackLine automates the the processes required to finalize periodic closing of the books. Beyond close/reconciliation management the product includes capabilities to enhance the management and control of financial processes throughout the accounting cycle.

In October 2020, BlackLine acquired Rimilia, an...
Read more

Recent Reviews

Great usage!

10 out of 10
December 26, 2022
I use BlackLine for journal entries. BlackLine organizes them and allows us to view other coworkers' journals as well. The filters help us …
Continue reading

My Review

8 out of 10
December 22, 2022
Use Blackline during month-end closing for the account recon. Our whole entity is using the process in order to avoid paper filling and …
Continue reading

Automation is key

9 out of 10
December 02, 2022
My experience with BlackLine has grown over the last 2 years as our company utilizes more of what BlackLine has to offer. The automation …
Continue reading

Good accounting software

8 out of 10
December 01, 2022
BlackLine is used for tracking month end tasks, create journal entries linked to ERP, perform reconciliations, store data source and …
Continue reading

You Need BlackLine!

10 out of 10
July 09, 2022
We use Blackline to complete all of our month-end account reconciliations (over 1500 GL accounts). We also use it for Task Management in …
Continue reading

BlackLine does its job

7 out of 10
June 11, 2022
We use BlackLine to reconcile our patient clearing account and to reconcile what comes in our deposits against what we post to accounts in …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of BlackLine, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Product Demos

BlackLine Introduction
02:09
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is BlackLine?

BlackLine automates the the processes required to finalize periodic closing of the books. Beyond close/reconciliation management the product includes capabilities to enhance the management and control of financial processes throughout the accounting cycle.

In October 2020, BlackLine acquired Rimilia, an AR automation solution. Rimilia's capabilities are now part of the BlackLine platform.

BlackLine Video

BlackLine Introduction

BlackLine Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 188)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Listens to customer feedback to make an improved product.
  • Open to companies challenging the status quo and finding solutions that may not have been thought of before.
  • Working with cutting edge companies to come up with new products and solutions.
  • Early functionality for Oracle users - a lot of the new products are only for use by SAP users.
  • Access to API data to improve the reporting of data out of BlackLine.
  • Ability to create reports in BlackLine across data sources.
  • Ability to email reports out of BlackLine (either ad-hoc or scheduled reports) as opposed to the current process of having the user access BlackLine to retrieve the report.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • I like that I have the option to keep specific support documents from month to month without having to upload them every month.
  • I like that I can copy or clone previous months' reconciliations and update the necessary changes instead of rebuilding them.
  • It's just a great layout. You can view all recons and tasks in one window.
  • The section where my organization keeps the list of Tasks has a lot of columns that are not needed. It would be great if I could re-organize the columns, so I don't have to keep scrolling right to left to find the info I need.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Quick Customer Service Response Time
  • User-Friendly and easy to follow interface
  • Ability to see historical financial information
  • Custom Features per Users needs
  • Grouping Accounts when importing monthly GL balances can be kind of confusing
  • More Published Troubleshooting Documents
December 26, 2022

Great usage!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Organizes work
  • Provides filters for work to navigate
  • Allows us to see coworkers work as well
  • Sometimes the filter order doesn't stay for future logins
  • Sometimes the filters can't find very small information within journal
  • Wish there was a dark mode
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Facilitates account reconciliation easily
  • Digitally stores data that is accessible from any computer
  • Customer support is excellent
  • Task Management is a bit clunky
  • Grouping journals (when using BlackLine as passive technology) is not really possible (i.e. when journals are initiated in SAP).
  • Full audit trail still missing
  • Creating new timeperiods must be done manually
December 01, 2022

Good accounting software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Automation on matched transactions
  • Personalizing the outlook of the software
  • Easy setting on the reports view and verification
  • The default view will need to be chosen every time after the page is refreshed
  • Time out after no activity for only a few minutes
July 09, 2022

You Need BlackLine!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Saving time! Our manual process became automated the minute we "turned on" Blackline!
  • Focus! By saving time using Blackline, our employees are able to focus on other job responsibilities and profit-generation
  • Support! Blackline's support throughout our implementation and post-implementation has been exceptional. We always receive timely responses and get answers fast, when needed
  • User Friendly! Their system is very easy to navigate. Even individuals in our organization that don't like or embrace change said the transition to Blackline was smooth and painless
  • Industry Focus - There may be an opportunity for certain customers to have specific features available to them based on the industry they are in
  • Implementation Leaders for Industries - When a new customer is onboarded, they should try to assign project managers that have implemented other customers in the same industry
  • Admin Roles - consider SOX 404 rules and segregation of duties to offer other type of admin roles where various people in organizations can do specific things but not others (utilize current customer to learn what is needed)
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Ease of customization
  • Quality of support
  • Timeliness of support
  • Canned reporting isn't as useful as it could be in my opinion.
  • Data Source creation process is clunky
  • Sometimes updates will "break" things that were already working.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Journal Entries-everything is right there at your fingertips. As an approver/certifier, you have the details to the entry and you can automatically see that the journal entry balances.
  • Reconciliations-just like journal entries, everything is at the approver/certifier's fingertips. Support is available and you can immediately look to see if the reconciliation balances or if there is a variance because it pulls the GL balance for you.
  • Flexibility-each property has the flexibility to set up what reconciliations they find to be more critical for review, whether that is monthly or quarterly. You can set up what level you want each reconciliation to be approved, manager or executive level. These are just two that I find very helpful.
  • In the master journal entries, it would be nice if you could insert a line without having to rekey the entire entry over again.
  • Before I would have said the "to-do list" needed improvements, but now it is so easy to tell what I need to look at instead of searching each section for items.
  • It would be great if the "certify - next" worked on all reviews
Stephanie Clevenger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • acts as single source for audit trails
  • makes tracking status of outstanding items (tasks or recons) easy
  • gets rid of Excel sheets for prepaids and amortizable items
  • allows for the grouping of accounts as you need them beyond how your chart of charts has them grouped
  • their dashboards are a bit less than ideal
  • if you have many amortizable items in your recon looking up a specific one is not easy
  • also it is difficult to edit an amortizable item once it has been uploaded
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • BlackLine keeps all information in one convenient location, the account reconciliation, and backup is very easy to go back and look at.
  • It is available from nearly anywhere and we use it across our companies, which creates consistency between all of our companies.
  • BlackLine is very user-friendly. The training was great at implementation and updates are made that help make the software easier to use.
  • There are many updates to the software, which can make it hard to keep up with. However, the Customer service response seems great and is always able to help.
  • The layout of journal entries is well set up, but there are many lines that are not necessary to fill in.
  • The software is customized to fit the company but there is not a lot of customization for each user.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Tracking tasks
  • Maintaining documents with reconciliations
  • Calculating variances for explanations
  • Adding lines anywhere in a journal entry
  • Rearranging lines on a journal entry
  • Setting default layouts where they show up everytime
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • BlackLine is very responsive and helpful when we have an issue.
  • BlackLine truly values our input and listens to our suggestions for changes.
  • BlackLine is very user friendly and easy to follow and find things you are looking for.
  • I wish we could insert a line into the middle of a journal entry that has been keyed instead of only being allowed to enter it at the bottom.
  • Similar to the above, I would like to be able to "move" a line in a journal entry up or down.
  • The "default" view does not default when I go into the different features - I have to change it to default each time.
June 03, 2022

BlackLine Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Provides a reliable and easy-to-use matching engine.
  • Implements a task system that makes managing tasks very easy.
  • Their account grouping system makes it very easy to group together accounts that go together.
  • Sometimes the matching engine can match the wrong transactions with each other.
  • Manually certifying a lot of journals at once can be time-consuming, so some kind of auto-certification option would be helpful.
  • When selecting options on a menu with multiple pages, sometimes it unselects things you've selected on previous pages.
Return to navigation