TrustRadius
BMC's FootPrints Service Core is an IT service management (ITSM) solution.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/WP/O8/MIR0WUNQU7UW.pngNo FootPrints in the SandFootPrints is being used by the company I am consulting. We are tracking IT support issues, projects, and tasks associated to the projects. The system is being utilized by the entire company to submit and track any IT issues that need to be addressed.,The best thing FootPrints does well is how flexible it is. It can be utilized to do a huge array of business functions. Task Automation Increases visibility and transparency,Antiquated User Interface. It looks old. Tracking changes to an item. When I add new details, the changes are just added to the top of the description which makes it difficult to know what is going on. Navigation,4,Less resources spent on collaboration meetings More time available to do the work rather than working the workflow process Less time spent keeping documentation put together,JIRA Software and Atlassian Confluence,Microsoft Project, Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne, Microsoft SQL ServerFootprints good/badIt is being used across the organization by each department. BMC FootPrints is set up by what is called 'workspaces'. These are each designed for different workflows and are each independent databases. We use it for CAPA events, as well as tracking customer products that can not be received to an error in the receiving documentation.,One system that allows configuration for different requirements. Contains basic canned reports for a variety of time frames. Email notifications.,Not easily configurable or changeable. Reports that are exported must still be formatted. Workflows do not always perform properly.,2,Negative - large amount of time configuring Positive - easy entry of data by floor users allows trackability of problems Negative - time spent in reconfiguring,,SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform, Manhattan IWMS, Infor Lawson Supply Chain ManagementLeave your mark with FootPrintsSt. Luke's has used BMC's FootPrints for the last 7+ years and it has served the purpose of ticket management for Incident, Service Request, Change Mgmt, Customer Portal, Knowledge Base, and Service Catalog. The product has been deployed for departments both inside of IT and outside of IT including: Marketing, Finance, Human Resources, Supply Chain, and Project Management.,It provides a simple to implement customer portal. Web-based, makes for simple management of tickets and tool from within a Web GUI.,v12 is a brand new product with the label of FootPrints. It doesn't have the full set of capabilities as pre v12 versions have.,6,We've been able to utilize FootPrints to automate some of our antiquated systems which has resulted in operational savings.,Cherwell Service Management, BMC Remedy IT Service Management SuiteFootPrints Serves Its PurposeBMC FootPrints Service Core is used as the support ticketing system for various campus departments to help users troubleshoot issues that arise.,Collaboration tool Prioritizes issues Feature rich,Confusing instructions for replies for the end-user Lag time for tickets to be received Lack of right click functionality,7,Streamlined ticketing process Standardized response system Efficient departmental emailingBMC Footprints 11.6 - An Excellent Product with incredible support.We use BMC FootPrints for all of our internal tickets, from Human Resources to Sales to Corp IT to our external customer Support. One of the things I like most about it is the flexibility, and the way it can be customized for any of a wide variety of uses, like what we have deployed. Moving mis-routed tickets is a snap with everything in the same system,Flexibility - while a robust program 'out of the box' the way it can be adapted for almost any deployment is great. Reporting - we have the ability to agent's time in tickets and can also report against customers on the same basis. Views - there is a view for almost any agent preference, including across work spaces. We have agents who work in many projects, and can allow them to see what is up at a glance.,BMC Footprints has some lacking problems - one thing that frustrates our techs is the lack of ability to bulk link tickets. We have our monitoring system sending alerts into our Support project, and when there are 100+ issues that come from a major outage, it's time consuming to link them all individually. The built in reports on the Executive Flashboard are not subject to customization, which is a problem for some of the reporting that our managers would like to see at a glance. Not having visibility to email headers for incoming messages is very frustrating for an email based support system. Not supporting HTML is silly in 2014.,8,We have had an increase in efficiency now that we have the time tracking active. We are much better able to track employee activity. Our sales department has a workspace set up to field incoming sales inquiry emails. It makes it much easier to see who has sent in something, and also see who is working what leads. Our customer service has gotten better since we have started assigning issues for follow up. We also have an escalation in place to alert management for a large number of incoming issues, or an issue that has gone over 60 minutes without a response.,,50,9,Implemented in-house,Yes,9,No,We had an issue with a migration from Footprints 9 to Footprints 11 and we got great support at 3 AM Eastern Time. The issue was resolved in an insanely quick manner.
Unspecified
BMC FootPrints Service Core
42 Ratings
Score 6.0 out of 101
TRScore

BMC FootPrints Service Core Reviews

BMC FootPrints Service Core
42 Ratings
Score 6.0 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 42 vetted BMC FootPrints Service Core reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-13 of 13)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Brandon Nyberg profile photo
May 26, 2017

BMC FootPrints Service Core Review: "No FootPrints in the Sand"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FootPrints is being used by the company I am consulting. We are tracking IT support issues, projects, and tasks associated to the projects. The system is being utilized by the entire company to submit and track any IT issues that need to be addressed.
  • The best thing FootPrints does well is how flexible it is. It can be utilized to do a huge array of business functions.
  • Task Automation
  • Increases visibility and transparency
  • Antiquated User Interface. It looks old.
  • Tracking changes to an item. When I add new details, the changes are just added to the top of the description which makes it difficult to know what is going on.
  • Navigation
[It's] Well suited for tracking IT requests.
Read Brandon Nyberg's full review
No photo available
August 07, 2017

BMC FootPrints Service Core Review: "Footprints good/bad"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the organization by each department. BMC FootPrints is set up by what is called 'workspaces'. These are each designed for different workflows and are each independent databases. We use it for CAPA events, as well as tracking customer products that can not be received to an error in the receiving documentation.
  • One system that allows configuration for different requirements.
  • Contains basic canned reports for a variety of time frames.
  • Email notifications.
  • Not easily configurable or changeable.
  • Reports that are exported must still be formatted.
  • Workflows do not always perform properly.
Read this authenticated review
Kelson O'Neil profile photo
March 30, 2017

BMC FootPrints Service Core Review: "Leave your mark with FootPrints"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
St. Luke's has used BMC's FootPrints for the last 7+ years and it has served the purpose of ticket management for Incident, Service Request, Change Mgmt, Customer Portal, Knowledge Base, and Service Catalog. The product has been deployed for departments both inside of IT and outside of IT including: Marketing, Finance, Human Resources, Supply Chain, and Project Management.
  • It provides a simple to implement customer portal.
  • Web-based, makes for simple management of tickets and tool from within a Web GUI.
  • v12 is a brand new product with the label of FootPrints. It doesn't have the full set of capabilities as pre v12 versions have.
Very well suited for small and emerging IT departments that need to provide basic Incident/Request Management, Change Management, and a basic customer portal. It is also a good tool for organizations who do not have well defined ITIL/ITSM Processes.
Read Kelson O'Neil's full review
Dominic Tsang profile photo
September 21, 2015

BMC FootPrints Service Core Review: "FootPrints Serves Its Purpose"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BMC FootPrints Service Core is used as the support ticketing system for various campus departments to help users troubleshoot issues that arise.
  • Collaboration tool
  • Prioritizes issues
  • Feature rich
  • Confusing instructions for replies for the end-user
  • Lag time for tickets to be received
  • Lack of right click functionality
BMC FootPrints Service Core is well suited for institutions that support large volumes. Being able to better categorize tickets is something I would like to see, akin to Gmail's labels and archiving.
Read Dominic Tsang's full review
Todd Arntson profile photo
April 08, 2015

BMC FootPrints Service Core Review: "BMC Footprints 11.6 - An Excellent Product with incredible support."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BMC FootPrints for all of our internal tickets, from Human Resources to Sales to Corp IT to our external customer Support. One of the things I like most about it is the flexibility, and the way it can be customized for any of a wide variety of uses, like what we have deployed. Moving mis-routed tickets is a snap with everything in the same system
  • Flexibility - while a robust program 'out of the box' the way it can be adapted for almost any deployment is great.
  • Reporting - we have the ability to agent's time in tickets and can also report against customers on the same basis.
  • Views - there is a view for almost any agent preference, including across work spaces. We have agents who work in many projects, and can allow them to see what is up at a glance.
  • BMC Footprints has some lacking problems - one thing that frustrates our techs is the lack of ability to bulk link tickets. We have our monitoring system sending alerts into our Support project, and when there are 100+ issues that come from a major outage, it's time consuming to link them all individually.
  • The built in reports on the Executive Flashboard are not subject to customization, which is a problem for some of the reporting that our managers would like to see at a glance.
  • Not having visibility to email headers for incoming messages is very frustrating for an email based support system.
  • Not supporting HTML is silly in 2014.
It's well suited for a smaller organization, but to be fair, we are not currently running all the available modules. Smaller in this case, being 50-75 internal users and 12,000 active customers. We may well be able to better leverage Footprints once we acquire the other modules that are out there from BMC.
Read Todd Arntson's full review
Casey Ketcham profile photo
June 21, 2014

BMC FootPrints Service Core Review: "A Perfect Solution for Any Business"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Footprints across various departments including our computer helpdesk, accounting helpdesk, SAP department, programming team, network team, and in house support. It has been a great product to work with and helps us keep track of many issues, new hire processes, SAP development, and system access tracking. It also has been key in helping maintain our level 1 PCI compliance year after year.
  • Ease of use
  • Customization
  • Great performance
  • Outstanding technical support team
  • No reliance on Java
  • Quicker ability to purge old data
  • Ability to change fields en masse
It's well suited for any business that needs a solid change management or helpdesk ticket tracking system that's both easy to set up and use.
Read Casey Ketcham's full review
Kyriakos Kalaitzidis profile photo
June 20, 2014

BMC FootPrints Service Core: "BMC Footprints- Quick Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It addresses workflows, tracking of inventory, help desk tickets and patching.
  • The ability to take control of a users workstation from the BMC portal
  • Vast amounts for functionality
  • The ability to drill into a user's workstation and look at inventory
  • Help desk tickets, and automated updates through email is very well executed
  • Streamline the interface, so you can do things from multiple locations, and the "tree" structure can be overwhelming.
  • Create more Wizards in a central location, to walk through users to execute their task.
You need to have a team/department that is willing to work through the software and train the personnel to always work through this system. Otherwise it is too large and complex and your support staff will never feel comfortable working with it unless it is their primary tool.
Read Kyriakos Kalaitzidis's full review
No photo available
June 30, 2014

BMC FootPrints Service Core: "BMC Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The IT department of Cellular Sales used it to manage IT tickets for all types of support. The Operations Team (Tier 1), Systems (II), and Network (III) had access to it. Sales reps would send in tickets via email and they would be sorted in BMC and addressed.
  • Customizable. Separate work spaces are nice for different departments. Being able to edit the fields and add your own make it personal for the end user in mind.
  • Easy to use. Can simply send an email.
  • Organization is easy. Adding priority levels makes a quick overview simple to navigate.
  • Can't think of any right now.
Who is the end user? They will get emails back with their ticket information. Make sure its easy to read and applicable.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 30, 2014

BMC FootPrints Service Core Review: "BMC Footprints"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a medium to large sized company with the infrastructure to match, we were faced with a need for asset management, remote device management and helpdesk ticketing. BMC Footprints has been implemented to address each of these.
  • Highly configurable- From the Service Core ticketing system to the Asset Core device management, Footprints allows for customizations to fit your needs and your environment.
  • Easily Integrated- Footprints is very easily integrated into your existing architecture. Seamlessly implemented with Active Directory.
  • Complete System- With Footprints Asset Core and Service Core together there is little need for any other applications or systems.
  • Purpose based configuration- It would be beneficial to see a more purposed based, out of the box, configuration option. For example, if you need PCI compliance, more intuitive reporting would make managing compliance much easier.
  • Initial design and implementation- Don't think that your experience as an IT professional will allow you to stand this system up on your own. To properly configure Footprints and set yourself up for success down the road, get Professional Services with this one.
  • Somewhat behind the times- Service Core is making a huge leap forward with the latest version, 12, but Asset Core is far behind. There are quite a few quirks to how the application works and how it is used.
Service Core is an excellent choice for incident and user management with a high degree of flexibility and configuration options. Up front support and professional services are a must however. If it is not right the first time it is very difficult to correct later.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 20, 2014

BMC FootPrints Service Core Review: "Only for the very basic ticket routing and simple system. NOT FOR THE ADVANCED and automation!!!"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BMC FootPrints has worked tremendous ways that our previous ticketing system has not. We have been able to do most ideas that needed to be implemented, but there were a lot of pains when doing so. The Customer Service is awesome and work with us to achieve most of what we needed, but there are a lot of limitations to the software and we find bugs often.
  • Customer Service
  • Basic ticket routing
  • Incident Management
  • Reporting
  • Dynamic Ticket Routing
  • Performance (Speed and application versatility)
There are a lot of limitations within the software that do not allow us to do things we need to do. We have had to customize a lot or define workarounds (that patches then break). This is very frustrating when trying to provide the best service to our customers.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 18, 2014

BMC FootPrints Service Core Review: "A well-balanced system for problem solvers"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BMC Footprints is used by my organization as a means of communication between all departments to log and resolve issues. The program allows for easy, accurate routing which ensures issues are assigned to the proper personnel to be resolved as quickly as possible. Severity levels make it easy to prioritize and the built-in communication system that forwards responses to e-mail as well as being able to CC in a participant makes communication seamless.
  • Feature-Rich - BMC Footprints is feature-rich in that it includes (but is not limited to) multiple work spaces, global issue notifications, prioritizing, organization, easy logging, a customizable interface, reports, a service catalog, calendars, knowledge base, and communication features.
  • Straightforward User Interface - The user interface is easy to learn and understand with concise labeling and look-up features.
  • Communication - Users can interact through customer notes in issue tickets, have changes notified via e-mail, and add in participants to new or currently existing tickets.
  • BMC Footprints often uses java pop-ups that can cause issues for people working on older machines in that the computer will slow or the page will crash. This is not often however and obviously depends on the user's machine.
If you are a large organization where there are many departments spread across a large campus or area, BMC Footprints would benefit you the most. It makes communicating particular issues between users that are not physically close much easier. There are also built-in templates that can be created and edited based on a department's need. If there is an error in assignment, users can work together to get the issue where it needs to be. It also makes gathering statistical data easy with built-in functionality for reports. This program may be too feature-rich or underutilized by a small company, but can still be beneficial depending on what you need it for.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 17, 2014

BMC FootPrints Service Core Review: "Great Product - BMC FootPrints"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole organization is using it. We use it in IT to support software change management as well as help desk tickets. As an enterprise we also use it as a ticketing system for our customers' trouble tickets. We've started using it for HR workflows as well. Our latest project using BMC Footprints is being used to allow customers to "sign in" when they arrive at a retail location.
  • Footprints does approvals and mobile approvals very well through email.
  • Footprints does change management and history / tracking very well.
  • Footprints serves as a great ticketing system.
  • Footprints has a great API that is easy to use to submit and modify tickets.
  • The database is easy to read from and report from using SQL Server Reporting Services.
  • The user interface isn't great. You have to click on the workspace name in order to get the dropdown to change. It's poor UI/UX.
  • The licenses are a bit expensive.
  • It's server processing can be intense. The perl.exe processes can tend to go crazy when you have over 100 active users in the system all day.
  • The reports builder/writer can be difficult to get the exact data that you're looking for, especially if you're shooting for time based info.
It's well suited for up the chain approvals and for a ticketing system.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 17, 2014

BMC FootPrints Service Core Review: ""Don't tell me the sky is the limit, there are 'footprints' on the moon!""

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use FootPrints to handle our tickets, projects and change management across campus mainly for IT purposes.
  • I think FootPrints is a good tool, it is easy to use and intuitive.
  • It has a lot of functionality, like you can create agents and groups. Its easy to take out users in and out from groups which takes care vacations, etc. It gets synced with Outlook calendar and can show your availability as agent.
  • Adding features so that the agents can have more access without having to be the workspace administrator would be great!
It's good but it can definitely have some more features.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (4)
2.7
Expert directory (1)
1
Self-service tools (3)
3.2
Subscription-based notifications (2)
3.8
ITSM collaboration and documentation (2)
4.0
ITSM reports and dashboards (3)
3.0
Configuration mangement (3)
3.0
Asset management dashboard (2)
1.9
Policy and contract enforcement (1)
5
Change requests repository (1)
5.5
Change calendar (1)
5.5
Service-level management (2)
4.2

About BMC FootPrints Service Core

BMC's FootPrints Service Core is an IT service management (ITSM) solution.

BMC FootPrints Service Core Competitors

BMC FootPrints Service Core Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No