TrustRadius
Remedy ITSM is a broad suite of ITSM tools with strong integrations to other BMC tools. The product is used mainly by global brands and is offered in on-premise and SaaS configurations.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/OF/fA/TT7SQOIAP1MX.PNGBMC Remedy is Your TicketWe have implemented BMC Remedy to track assets, incidents, changes, problems, and we also use several other smaller modules. It is used throughout the organization, although certain departments (e.g., help desk, reporting teams, etc.) use it more than others. BMC Remedy gives us all of the above information in one centralized, inter-linked hub. It allows different defined groups to have varying levels of access in order to provide the correct level of detail so that they can perform their tasks as needed.,Again, the ability to have all of the information (changes, incidents, problems, etc.) in one place is paramount. The built-in ability to run simple reports is quite valuable. The ability to interact with Crystal Reports makes BMC Remedy an even more data mining and reporting tool. Once users are trained properly, it allows for the quick and easy creation of new issues.,Sometimes it takes a long time to get reports from the inventories. Complicated reports, or those that pull a lot of data, can bog the system down. Some of that is due to proper user training. Customizing the application to meet your exact needs can cause it to become difficult to upgrade when future versions are released.,9,BMC Remedy has a large and established user base, and the experience that you glean from using it will easily translate to almost anywhere. It can increase your organization's productivity by improving your ticketing methodology and increasing the level of collaboration between various groups. It allowed us to align our organization with ITIL best practices,JIRA Service Desk, Samanage and Spiceworks,SAP Crystal, ASP.NET, Microsoft AccessITSM Senior ConsultantThe ITSM Suite was implemented to cover incident, problem and change process aligned to ITIL best practices. The Service Request Management solution was implemented also, to cover many of the requests manage across the entire organization.,Applications aligned to ITIL best practices with many of the most common needs covered out of the box. Integration between applications (Incident, problem and change management) makes it really easy create the relationships between these entities. Using the Action Requests (AR) system the application is highly customizable , assuming an appropriate level of knowledge of developing applications using AR System.,In Remedy you can do many things but you need to built them first. Many of the Integrations depend on external components and the architecture used to implement the solution. The cloud-based solution should be improved to work in the same way as the on-premise solution. To accomplish minor changes on the appearance of the forms you need a lot of training.,9,The time required to implement the on-premise solution is too high and reduces ROI. Once you implemented the system, if you have the knowledge internally in your company, you can expand to other internal needs using the AR System as workflow engine to develop custom applications. You are assigned floating license that let the organization share license pools, thus reducing cost.,ServiceNow,ServiceNow, Remedyforce, FreshserviceRemedy Force is a Ticketing system for WorkOur company is using BMC Remedy to manage Incidents (Tickets), Service Requests, Change Requests, Tasks, and Problems. All of our businesspeople and salespeople are used to creating support issues within BMC remedy tickets. We are using Remedy force for our ticketing system for Salesforce technical related issues, Aspect product issues, and Apttus related issues.,I like the auto update, the information in the ticket when we respond to the email looks and feels really good. And there are many different sections like, Incident details, Client details, Status details, Assignment details, date details and so on, which you can go to directly instead of searching within the whole page. It is easy to implement our business requirements In BMC Remedy. On the integration side, the implementation of the REST api has simplified integration to other systems like Salesforce CRM and Apttus CPQ...,There is no advanced case management in BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite, like auto closer and escalation process like we have in Salesforce, which needs to improve. BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite is missing some key features that would make life easier, such as being able to more easily copy tickets and search for tickets. Technology is slow.,9,When I was in Management discussion calls, and all the team is happy while using BMC Remedy so I don't find any specific negative impact on our organization. I really enjoy Smart IT as the tool of choice for our incident management team. Visibility of tickets is key. All support staff users can see tickets in consoles they have access to.,Salesforce,Salesforce CommunitiesBMC/Remedy means it has the solutionBMC ITSM is currently used across the US by more than 10 regions. The whole toolset helps in ease of use (email ticket submissions), identifying trouble areas and tracking work and customer communications/trending report automatically sent to customers through email. Managers can easily track who is working on what problem(s).,Notification of new ticket, group notifications and individual are of great helps to support personnel. Depending on ticket volume notifications need to be tweaked with a simple config change to reduce the amount. Ticket visibility/tracking by management/group leads for trending or volume down to groups or individual. Ease of modification of any ITSM module on the needs of the company or group or between modules for any functional need. Ease of integration with most third party vendors and external databases. Ease of creating standalone BMC applications for application need within extremely tight schedules.,Part of the setup for Asset and CMDB is hard and time-consuming. But, is worth it. Most companies do not use the tool correctly as they do not want to go through the steps to set up CMDB, they say it is too hard and takes resources. Because of the openness of the system, it allows you to not use the system correctly. Example, many companies I have dealt with only want to use the Asset/CMDB as a placeholder for Assets, sort of like an expensive Excel document. BMC allows this.,9,Identifying trends quickly is a big deal and gets people back to work quickly. The identifying trends is a big deal but it's useless if you do not have the capability to notify support staff. BMC/Remedy/ITSM has a very reliable notification system and is very customization. The fact that BMC/Remedy/ITSM is customized for every need and is able to create standalone applications, helps ROI. I have seen companies and the government spend millions of dollars on applications for very specify jobs, that BMC/Remedy/ITSM could do by customizing ITSM or creating a standalone Remedy application at a fraction of the cost. Plus there is no need to pay for support for the other application.,ServiceNow,30000,3,Customer satisfaction. Resolving customer issues from email submit to correct assignment of support staff from the correct location. Managing changes to network and systems, managing new hardware setup and installations, getting approvals from ordering equipment, making requested or needed changes and de-conflicting changes using the change calendar. Ordering new personnel PC, installing required software and needed software to complete job. Decommissioning PSs, systems and equipment.,Created gateways or portals to run other web pages from within Remedy. Instead of have many application Windows open everything from one or two Remedy browser tabs open Created a customer standalone Heads Up Display (HUD), to show on screen in a help desk, that showed critical issues, changes going on across all regions. This also helped trending as the help desk could see something going on across regions. This accesses all changes, work orders and incident and displays them in a simplified table, that could scroll by region or all regions at once.,Yes,Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Prior Experience with the Product Analyst Reports Third-party Reviews,I would not change my process or decisions.I'm happy wirh BMCIt's used by IT department to process incidents,Incident reporting Incident reassignment Easy incident creation Incidents track,Capability of being adapted Price Usability,6,Positive: less people dedicated to acll center Positive: les time lost in incident tracking Negative: Ownership cost,JIRA Service Desk,SAP Business Warehouse, SAP S/4HANA, SysTools MBOX to Outlook Converter
Unspecified
BMC Remedy
128 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

BMC Remedy Reviews

BMC Remedy
128 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 128 vetted BMC Remedy reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 30)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
October 18, 2018

User Review: "BMC Remedy is Your Ticket"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have implemented BMC Remedy to track assets, incidents, changes, problems, and we also use several other smaller modules. It is used throughout the organization, although certain departments (e.g., help desk, reporting teams, etc.) use it more than others. BMC Remedy gives us all of the above information in one centralized, inter-linked hub. It allows different defined groups to have varying levels of access in order to provide the correct level of detail so that they can perform their tasks as needed.
  • Again, the ability to have all of the information (changes, incidents, problems, etc.) in one place is paramount.
  • The built-in ability to run simple reports is quite valuable.
  • The ability to interact with Crystal Reports makes BMC Remedy an even more data mining and reporting tool.
  • Once users are trained properly, it allows for the quick and easy creation of new issues.
  • Sometimes it takes a long time to get reports from the inventories.
  • Complicated reports, or those that pull a lot of data, can bog the system down. Some of that is due to proper user training.
  • Customizing the application to meet your exact needs can cause it to become difficult to upgrade when future versions are released.
It may be more effective for smaller companies to pursue less costly solutions which may not have all of the features, but they still provide the basic functionality. If your company requires multiple levels of access, then it is simple to assign different roles depending on the needs of the individual users and/or groups. If you need to provide metrics on how quickly issues are assigned, resolved, closed, etc., then BMC Remedy is your ticket.
Read this authenticated review
Antonio Acosta profile photo
March 16, 2018

BMC Remedy Review: "ITSM Senior Consultant"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The ITSM Suite was implemented to cover incident, problem and change process aligned to ITIL best practices. The Service Request Management solution was implemented also, to cover many of the requests manage across the entire organization.
  • Applications aligned to ITIL best practices with many of the most common needs covered out of the box.
  • Integration between applications (Incident, problem and change management) makes it really easy create the relationships between these entities.
  • Using the Action Requests (AR) system the application is highly customizable , assuming an appropriate level of knowledge of developing applications using AR System.
  • In Remedy you can do many things but you need to built them first. Many of the Integrations depend on external components and the architecture used to implement the solution.
  • The cloud-based solution should be improved to work in the same way as the on-premise solution.
  • To accomplish minor changes on the appearance of the forms you need a lot of training.
Companies that can't use cloud-based solutions for legal reasons. The on-premise solution in on of the best on the market. It's an expensive solution though for small and medium companies.
Read Antonio Acosta's full review
Mallesh Kanakam profile photo
November 27, 2017

BMC Remedy Review: "Remedy Force is a Ticketing system for Work"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is using BMC Remedy to manage Incidents (Tickets), Service Requests, Change Requests, Tasks, and Problems. All of our businesspeople and salespeople are used to creating support issues within BMC remedy tickets. We are using Remedy force for our ticketing system for Salesforce technical related issues, Aspect product issues, and Apttus related issues.
  • I like the auto update, the information in the ticket when we respond to the email looks and feels really good. And there are many different sections like, Incident details, Client details, Status details, Assignment details, date details and so on, which you can go to directly instead of searching within the whole page.
  • It is easy to implement our business requirements In BMC Remedy.
  • On the integration side, the implementation of the REST api has simplified integration to other systems like Salesforce CRM and Apttus CPQ...
  • There is no advanced case management in BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite, like auto closer and escalation process like we have in Salesforce, which needs to improve.
  • BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite is missing some key features that would make life easier, such as being able to more easily copy tickets and search for tickets.
  • Technology is slow.
The product is actually quite flexible. This can provide many benefits to multi-site organizations where communication can be a challenge. We have many departments in our company which are using this BMC Remedy with positive feedback.
Read Mallesh Kanakam's full review
Martin Rockwell &quot;Rocky&quot; profile photo
November 07, 2017

BMC Remedy Review: "BMC/Remedy means it has the solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BMC ITSM is currently used across the US by more than 10 regions. The whole toolset helps in ease of use (email ticket submissions), identifying trouble areas and tracking work and customer communications/trending report automatically sent to customers through email. Managers can easily track who is working on what problem(s).
  • Notification of new ticket, group notifications and individual are of great helps to support personnel. Depending on ticket volume notifications need to be tweaked with a simple config change to reduce the amount.
  • Ticket visibility/tracking by management/group leads for trending or volume down to groups or individual.
  • Ease of modification of any ITSM module on the needs of the company or group or between modules for any functional need.
  • Ease of integration with most third party vendors and external databases.
  • Ease of creating standalone BMC applications for application need within extremely tight schedules.
  • Part of the setup for Asset and CMDB is hard and time-consuming. But, is worth it.
  • Most companies do not use the tool correctly as they do not want to go through the steps to set up CMDB, they say it is too hard and takes resources.
  • Because of the openness of the system, it allows you to not use the system correctly. Example, many companies I have dealt with only want to use the Asset/CMDB as a placeholder for Assets, sort of like an expensive Excel document. BMC allows this.
  1. Documenting issues relating to Incident, Work Orders, Changes, Assets is the best.
  2. Tracking issues and identifying trends based on this tracking is extremely helpful to companies to reduce lost time. Tracking can be across Incidents, Work Orders, Changes, and Assets.
  3. Capability of access data from other databases and treating that data as local.
  4. Its adherence to ITIL standards, almost to a fault.
  5. Ease of customization. If it is desired to veer off the ITIL standards, it is a simple task. This is both a pro and a con.
  6. Interfacing to third-party applications and the open API is a strong bonus.
  7. Creating custom standalone applications in the BMC environment is fast and easy. Applications built within BMC be integrated with any BMC ITSM application. Once these applications are built almost anybody can maintain them and make changes to them.
Read Martin Rockwell "Rocky"'s full review
Rosa Gracia profile photo
July 28, 2017

BMC Remedy Review: "I'm happy wirh BMC"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used by IT department to process incidents
  • Incident reporting
  • Incident reassignment
  • Easy incident creation
  • Incidents track
  • Capability of being adapted
  • Price
  • Usability
Well suited if you work in a second level support service desk, able to interact with monitoring and server management (IM).

Not so easy if used as first point of entry to incidents from end users, I think usability has to be improved.

Is also good for a development team, as is easy to interact with third party software
Read Rosa Gracia's full review
No photo available
November 30, 2017

BMC Remedy Review: "BMC for Change Managment/ITSM"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BMC Remedy for Change Management across the entire organization. It allows users to submit and manage change requests and associated tasks/jobs. We also previously used BMC Remedy for our Help Desk functions but we migrated that to a different product last year. BMC Remedy has been used by my organization for over 10 years.
  • Management of change requests including approvals, scheduling and completing the related tasks
  • Ability for users to approve items via email and mobile devices
  • Allow users to view data/reports easily
  • Expandability is limited and once you make certain customizations the upgrade process can become difficult or impossible
  • Relationships between Configuration Items and Changes is clunky and difficult to setup/maintain
  • Service Desk functionality is not as robust as other tools and does not allow for easy configurations/customizations
BMC works for change management functions but what we found was that the application was extremely limited once you make customizations/changes. Standard updates/patches become difficult to execute and then the software gets out of sync with the current version. The ITSM functions were limited and we found other products were far superior in this area.
Read this authenticated review
Jim Coryat profile photo
March 30, 2017

BMC Remedy Review: "Good on prem ITSM solution - Expect incremental improvements"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using BMC Remedy ITSM for Service Desk, Change Management, Problem Management, Service Request Management and CMDB. It addresses the problem of providing an easy method for customers to report service outages as well as providing support personnel a tool for resolving service outages. The tool also is integrated to our monitoring service and creates incidents as alerts are raised. It is also center in our strategy to provide an easy way to request services from the IT department. The CMDB is central in our discovery strategy.
  • For service request management, we use the SRM product which gives a common interface for our customers to request services. We are able to easily add the services to the catalog and configure how the created request will be routed to the appropriate group for delivery. This has shown to reduce churn in the request process and reduce cycle time in delivery.
  • Incident management has show to be effective at routing cases to the appropriate support group for resolution.
  • Change management has proven to provide the mechanism for a change control process for organizing those changes and having affected stakeholders discuss the changes before implementation. This has headed off potential service outages from collisions.
  • The quality control on the product from the vendor needs improvement. While upgrading to newer versions (9.1) has provided additional features which have been beneficial, the cycle of product defects uncovered and worked through to resolution has been tiring. Having this product without a good support agreement is not advisable.
  • Technology is slow to evolve. The product is just now exposing mobile and REST interfaces, something the market has adopted some time ago.
  • User interfaces that do not embrace effective bulk management. Most of the interfaces are driven from a manual perspective. When used in a global company with sites around the world, this becomes burdensome.
The product is actually quite flexible. Not well suited for small companies, I would target this for medium to large companies with a substantial IT investment. This can provide many benefits to multi site organizations where communication can be a challenge. The service desk and MyIT offerings can close the gap in being able to reach and support your customers in a organization that is geographically diverse.
Read Jim Coryat's full review
Shaun Field profile photo
March 27, 2017

Review: "BMC Remedy ITSM Suite - IT just got GREAT!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to manage all of our ITSM needs including change and problem management. We use it because it follows the ITIL process but is flexible enough for the company to make the processes their own.

We have in one of our companies used SMART IT and MYIT out of the box and it works great so far. We will be looking into Smart Reporting in the next few weeks to see what that can offer.
  • Integrate well with other systems
  • MYIT is a fantastic new interface for users
  • I really enjoy SmartIT as the tool of choice for incident management
  • Very robust system
  • The ITSM suite has some really poor screens compared to the new SmartIT suite
  • Upgrades could be a lot easier I think with a wizard type method used
I think the medium to large enterprises with regulatory requirements would benefit this product. That said I think a business of all sizes could use various modules of the whole like MyIT and SmartIT they really perform well and look good.
Read Shaun Field's full review
Shaun Smit profile photo
April 04, 2017

BMC Remedy: "BMC ITSM Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BMC Remedy IT Service Management to bridge the gap between our customers/internal users and the different services that we offer, be it to get something fixed or request something new and have full control and visibility of what is getting rolled out. BMC Remedy IT Service Management has given us a lot of room to customize to the businesses needs and allowed us to do things no other application would let us do.
  • .Very customizable
  • Based on ITIL so correct processes are there OOTB.
  • Easy enough to implement with very little effort.
  • Support can be a little slow at times.
  • Some errors are very vague.
  • Still very clunky look and feel but this is slowly being rectified with SmartIT.
[BMC Remedy is well suited for] Companies with a lot of department or complex environments.
Read Shaun Smit's full review
Crystal Crenshaw profile photo
March 27, 2017

User Review: "BMC Remedy ITSM Suite - Check It Out!!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company purchased BMC's Remedy ITSM Suite in hopes of standardizing processes and visibility of tickets.
  • Visibility of tickets is key. All support staff users can see tickets in consoles they have access to.
  • Remedy is a tool which empowers the company to streamline processes and implement a framework, such as ITIL in the case of Remedy.
  • Some consoles are not built out as much as others. We do our own development and these bugs are more visible to us.
It is well suited in all areas. We have defined processes but also Remedy assisted us in defining others. It brings to light issues that would typically go unnoticed.
Read Crystal Crenshaw's full review
Dave Campbell profile photo
July 13, 2016

BMC Remedy Review: "Remedy ITSM - Solid product"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our whole organization is using Remedy for several things. We use it to manage incidents, work orders, change requests, problem management, known errors, and for the CMDB for asset management. There are plans to use it also for release management but have not gotten to that point yet. With the CMDB it allows us to have a central asset management point that we can use to leverage how incident are assigned. Remedy also gives us an out of the box way to deal with our change request process which is very helpful.
  • Remedy integrates very well with many products so you can have incidents coming from many sources directly into Remedy.
  • Service requests are something that Remedy does well. Once setup a user just has to answer some pre-determined questions and a work order/inicident/change request will automatically be created and populated based on the answers provided so business end users do not need a lot of training in order to open requests.
  • Incident/problem management is a strong point in the Remedy system. Users can open problems directly from the incident ticket with the click of a button and it allows users to track incidents against problems fairly well.
  • Service request creation needs some work. Some areas of service request creation like dealing with complex approvals need to be done better in future versions. Also, dealing with formatting of the service request screen needs to be improved.
  • I found that reporting is a little lacking. For example, we have people requesting reports based on the audit log and we seem to be unable to do it as we did in a previous version of Remedy
  • We also found that it is not easy to correct things once mistakes have been made. For example, if somebody happens to close an incorrect task there is no easy way to just go and open up the closed task.
I believe it is well suited to deal with problem management and incidents. It is very easy to open problem tickets from the incidents and easy to see the relationships between the incidents and the problems. Our company also found that if you come up with a standardized way of naming the problems it makes it easier to search.
Read Dave Campbell's full review
Mark Arbuthnot profile photo
April 14, 2016

Review: "BMC Remedy is the backbone for process maturity and capability."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT organization uses Remedy to manage our incidents, work requests and changes. In addition our business partners use Remedy Change Management and Work Orders to manage business processes. The processes and workflow in Remedy allow us to build repeatable IT and business processes but also provide us the tools and flexibility to modify and improve those processes over time.
  • Rigid enforcement of processes rules and the ability to audit and report on them.
  • Out of the box alignment with ITIL processes.
  • Remedy is easy to customize to meet specific business needs.
  • It is much better today, but I still think there is room to improve the upgrade and installation--it just seems to take forever.
  • I'd like to see BMC provide more real world configuration out of the box. It is a little overwhelming to someone who is new to the system to have to configure it from scratch.
The Remedy ITSM Suite is a very mature, capable, scalable and customizable tool that can be readily adapted to suit just about any organization's needs. It does take a certain level of ITSM process maturity to implement because it is closely aligned with ITIL. Smaller organizations that are experiencing rapid growth may find that they are constantly having to change some of the foundational data just because they are changing so frequently. If you can get ahead of that, however, the Remedy ITSM Suite will help you to stabilize your IT processes and you will become a better business partner as a result.
Read Mark Arbuthnot's full review
Shayne Froelich profile photo
April 13, 2016

BMC Remedy Review: "The "Remedy" for your ITIL based solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We currently use it just for our IT for change, incident, work order, problem and asset management. However, we are shortly rolling out MyIT for non-IT users to be onboarded for self service applications.

We are able to use it to tie in with our service vendor for changes and incident management via web and email services.

  • Enterprise level configuration and power. Very customizable and adapts very well to changes in our infrastructure.
  • Flexible ITIL solution. With the ability to customize rules and configurations, we can make it work well with how we currently implement ITIL in our corporation.
  • Self service management. By using Atrium Integrator and Atrium Orchestrator, it can help reduce the amount of workload on the IT Service Desk.
  • Custom applications can be made but they require a lot of work to maintain.
  • You must take care when adding custom roles to the application. When you install things like Virtual Chat, it has pre-defined role IDs, which if you have inadvertently used, it overwrites your own roles. There is no comprehensive list of used role IDs, so it's "buyer beware" when you use them.
Remedy ITSM is well suited in any business that is trying to help manage their ITIL processes (even if they don't know or have ever heard of ITIL). The power of being able to control and monitor your entire change process also helps to guide a company in proper change management practices.
Read Shayne Froelich's full review
Fairooz Habeeb profile photo
June 13, 2016

BMC Remedy Review: "Remedy for Service Management"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
It's being used throughout the organization. It helped reduce the number of applications for service support and operation within the organization. We have a single console as well as single tool to create workflows. It also reduced the operational cost of other applications by automating certain processes.
  • Best aligned ITIL process - we were able to align our own process without much customization. Tight integration with all modules reduces the data redundancy and duplicate work.
  • We can perform any kind of actions and intelligent work to be carried out by the tool such as validation, and enforcing the policies to be followed etc.
  • You can develop any application on ARS platform which is an advantage.
  • Users should be able to customize their home page as per their need.
  • There are so many fields not being utilized properly. We need to understand the tool deeply to explore certain capabilities. Most of the valuable features and how to configure those are not available freely.
  • When a customer purchases the application, there is a need for an expert team to come and do the implementation. There should be a possibility for customers to use features like pre-stack implementation with customer data so that it will reduce the implementation time line as well as enable certain features when required.
  • Upgrade path should be configured as a wizard where all required steps should be followed with the upgrade utility. Current process is too complex.
Tracking the whole conversation within the ticket helps most of our customers to work efficiently as well as on time.
Read Fairooz Habeeb's full review
Dinesh Chowdary profile photo
May 27, 2016

BMC Remedy Review: "BMC ITSM Suite - Is Certainly Service differentiator"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use BMC remedy across the organization. It basically coveres our service management portfolio activities:


  • Working with customers and suppliers to reduce unnecessary ticket volumes
  • Simplifying and standardizing processes, and rolling out best practices globally
  • Streamlined organisation structure and operating model
  • Deploying a toolset and supporting inventory that puts our organization ahead of the competition, and provides a faster, more automated journey for customers and radically reducing the cost base
  • Can be easily implemented for huge organizations
  • Scalability and simplification of processes
  • Hassle free usage for end users
  • Maintenance and operating costs are less
  • Increase the flexibility for integration with external products
  • Enhancing the UI
  • Simplification of process w.r.t modules like Change and Release management
  • Proactively managing service - through incident, problem, capacity, configuration and change management
  • Continuously monitoring service - preventing failures and rapidly identifying those that do occur
  • Reactively managing customer contact - ensuring resolution of incidents and service requests
  • KCI - Keeping our customer fully informed at all times
Read Dinesh Chowdary's full review
Pedro Cardoso profile photo
April 18, 2016

BMC Remedy Review: "Working with Remedy, as user and as consultant"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Remedy ITSM Suite helps us with control. It has out-of-the-box functionalities and processes to aligns us with best practices for incidents, problems and change management. It also allows you to create new workflows, and new applications to match your organization’s procedures and needs.


We use BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite in two major ways:


  • Support our final customer with Remedy
  • Internal requests between departments: 1.Our customers enter an online request management page where they select the request type, and the request goes to the defined support group where they review and answer our customer needs. They document this in the same Remedy system to notify the customer. 2. When someone needs helps with computers and systems they open a request.
  • ITIL alligned process
  • Web based
  • Easy to install, easy to confiugre
  • High computer resources needed, specially RAM
  • Not easy to customize. A simple configuration method to enable a few of new fields would be great.
  • There are always bugs, should test a little lot more.
A mid size to enterprise sized company should use it. For a smaller business just you think to grow to enterprise and in that case Remedy can grow up with you.
Read Pedro Cardoso's full review
Jim Guzlecki profile photo
April 15, 2016

Review: "BMC Remedy is a great ITIL compliant solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BMC Remedy across our division for all aspects of incident, problem and change management. We have also built a large number of custom applications to integrate other business functions within our organization. We use BMC Remedy to drive ITIL compliant, efficient solutions with customizable workflows.
  • Easily customizable to meet business needs
  • Rock solid reliability and performance
  • Streamlines processes and requirements to assure auditing compliance
  • Standard ITIL compliant processes out of the box
  • Difficult to integrate via web services
  • Reporting is weak without the use of third party tools
  • Large infrastructure which may be difficult for smaller organizations to maintain
Definitely suited for medium to large organizations, especially those with stringing compliance requirements. Though the infrastructure is what gives it the performance advantage, it may also make it difficult for small organizations to implement. Well suited for those looking to improve or implement ITIL compliant solutions and are willing and able to adjust their process to fit.
Read Jim Guzlecki's full review
Rakesh Jajper profile photo
April 15, 2016

BMC Remedy Review: "ITSM with Smart IT will be great selection"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using only few modules as of now: Incident, Change. and SRM from full the ITSM Suite. There are couple of departments who use Remedy. This tool really helpful to manage incidents, requests and change requests.
  • It's easy to customize the application as per enterprise need. Easy to integrate, and for sure its integration capability will improve with new versions.
  • BMC documentation, site and support for various products has improved a lot over a couple of years. This really helps a customer to use most of the ITSM tool.
  • We are really impressed with the new Smart IT and My IT tool. And we are planning to move to the new interface very soon. With the introduction of Smart reporting, it should answer most reporting related issues/questions.
  • Each and every product has room for improvements as does this tool. I would love to see the possibility to customize the new Smart IT Tool, as there are many things in the new tool which may need to change as per enterprise need.
  • I would love to see help contents embedded within the tool for any new user to understand and navigate the tool with ease. Opening the whole help file is good but it will be great if this help is available on Smart IT as well.
We get lot of queries where people want to build their own type of templates to create knowledge articles. They want to store release notes, install plans, test plans within Remedy and attach to change for reference.
Read Rakesh Jajper's full review
Damir Suban profile photo
April 14, 2016

Review: "BMC Remedy is an excellent fit for a Group of Companies"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite is being used by our whole company. We use it mostly for the following ITIL processes: Incident, Problem, Change, Asset, Service Catalogue, Service Level Management. We want to drive operational efficiencies within the implementation of best practice ITIL processes, focus on getting the benefits by having all the records of IT activities and being able to manage them.
  • Breadth and depth of features and possibilities within the tool.
  • Implementation of best practices that has been gathered by customers over the years, not just plain ITIL.
  • Integration possibilities are virtually unlimited.
  • Usability of the tool is at first not at an acceptable level. It is not very easy to get used to the tool and its logic, but once you get it, it becomes really useful. SmartIT has made a major leap towards improving that, but we have not yet implemented it.
  • After some time of usage, it becomes apparent that some of the features of the tool were acquired from different vendors, or made by different teams, which means that the forms are not 100% consistent across the tool. This is really not an issue, just a minor remark.
  • The support of the tool is the real issue. Communication in bad English, bad quality lines, people who just consume your precious time with the same questions all the time (send us the log), but do not provide valuable feedback, it is very hard to reach level 2 or 3 support, which in our case should be the first thing to do since we have already debugged the issue to a great extent - these are just some examples. Look for a local partner's support from the beginning, if possible. Probably a geographically close partner, that you can visit and make some impact on.
It is well suited for larger organizations, but not because of the complexity of the tool, but because of the price. Our region is very price sensitive and BMC should reconsider its pricing policy for this region. Unfortunately that means that just a very limited (small) number of companies can afford it here. It also requires some 2-3 servers per environment, so again this goes in favour of larger organizations.
Read Damir Suban's full review
Patrick Cosyns profile photo
April 15, 2016

BMC Remedy Review: "SmartIT/MyIT a much needed makeover for Remedy Interface"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Remedy with SmartIT is mainly used by the IT department. We are rolling out MyIT to non-IT users in the next few months. Most requests are fulfilled using service requests.
  • Approvals (Email/Approval Central)
  • Change Management Process (Risk Levels, multiple phases)
  • Customization Support
  • Built in reporting tools (improved significantly with Smart Reporting as compared to BIRT)
  • Request Entry Screen (improved significantly with MyIT)
  • Install Process (Wish it had 1 unified installer for Core+ITSM)
BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite is very well suited for ITIL shops. If your company does not adhere to strict ITIL processes, some of the steps and procedures seem unnecessary.
Read Patrick Cosyns's full review
Travis Sirmon profile photo
September 28, 2015

BMC Remedy Review: "Remedy=Knowledge Base/Productivity"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite is used as a ticket system to track workload and is used by a single department.
  • Knowledge Base
  • Organization
  • Ease of use
  • Not easily customized
BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite is well suited in an IT environment and can help track and organize daily work flow.
Read Travis Sirmon's full review
Jonedwin Jeffries profile photo
September 25, 2015

Review: "BMC Remedy is the One-Stop shop solution for your customer service needs!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite is being used as a ticketing/tracking system to monitor the status of issues that arise within our area of responsibility (AOR). Our organization deals specifically with host based security systems so BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite is used as a first response and tracking system for us and the customer.
  • A customer calls the service desk with a problem. I immediately use BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite to open a new ticket. I log the issue that the customer is having and use BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite to assign the ticket to the appropriate group/specific person in group.
  • I use BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite to monitor tickets as well as updating the status. I can also place notes and attachments in individual tickets.
  • Once an issue has been resolved, I use BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite to close out ticket so it's no longer in my personal queue.
  • I used BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite from when it was software based to the now web based platform. Web based is not very user friendly but with patience, time, and practice anyone can get the hang of it. The web based BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite has so much functionality I can't really think of anything that needs to be changed off hand.
I think BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite is well suited for large corporations who support a large volume of people. How many people does your company support? That is what I would ask during the selection process.
Read Jonedwin Jeffries's full review
Lee Cullom profile photo
September 29, 2014

BMC Remedy Review: "BMC puts the aaS in SaaS, but the Promise in on-Premise"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

For an additional fee, detailed review can be found in State of the ITSM Market at: http://www.itsmuniversity.net

Northcraft Analytics is a provider of business intelligence applications for IT Support & Operations built on the Microsoft BI Stack. Advanced Metrics for IT was originally built to address some of the limitations in reporting associated with the BMC Remedy reporting technology. We have since developed into a competitor of BMC Dashboards and Analytics, offering a Hybrid OLAP approach for enterprise IT departments (which we define as > 100 employees in IT).

  • Data-Driven Configuration for quick setup of Categories, Support Departments, Locations, Assignment, Templates & more.
  • Depth of Functionality across the ITSM Modules to reduce customization for mature IT organizations
  • Customization - BMC Remedy AR System is an on-premise Rapid Application Development platform
  • Inexpensive New Customer Licensing - When BMC changed pricing for BMC Remedy ITSM (in the blue model shift back in 2008), they became the least expensive ERP4IT style suite.
  • Scalability - There are multiple customers running with 1000s of concurrent users on BMC Remedy. The largest commercial deployment has 8,000+ concurrent users.
  • Upgrades - Even though BMC Remedy has a horrible reputation, they have changed their architecture in BMC Remedy ITSM 7.6.4 to add "overlays" which is something that none of their competitors have. This allows customized workflows to be seamlessly migrated, albeit with additional configuration required. Still, it should be applauded as an advance.
  • Usability - BMC has been addressing usability issues since the release of ITSM 7.0 (a major shift in architecture). Northcraft Analytics measures average handling time for Incidents, which is about 5% higher than ServiceNow on average. That being said, there is more depth in functionality which leads to increased handling with the benefit of better reporting for management. Still, usability is usually mentioned by customers as an issue.
  • SaaS Reliability - BMC Remedy on Demand (not built from the ground up for SaaS) has struggled on the IT Operations side. For a native SaaS offering from BMC - Remedyforce is worth a closer look. It's built on the Salesforce.com platform which is truly SaaS.
  • Surveys - BMC Remedy ITSM has had basically the same survey functionality since version 4. It's time for an update. Kinetic Survey is a reliable alternative.
  • Notification subscription - BMC added email conversation management in BMC Remedy ITSM 8.1, but BMC really needs to give users that ability to subscribe to IT notifications that they would like/prefer not to receive.
  • Group by Group Auto-Assignment - Currently BMC offers group assignment OR individual assignment. Automated round-robin individual assignment would be very helpful if it could enabled for certain groups only... rather than all of them. For example, the L1 team could have individual assignments... but not every group.
  • Graphical Workflow - BMC's acquisition of Abydos hasn't yet made it into the ITSM product line. This would help BMC compete more favorably with ServiceNow's glide workflow engine.
The BMC Remedy ITSM product is solid and mature. I would definitely recommend it for an on-premises deployment for an enterprise-class IT organization. It only requires a large amount of resources when a customer relies heavily on BMC support. Product great, support... not so much. It's best to consider BMC partners for support.It would depend on the customer, region, implementation partner, pricing and requirements. There are some occasions where I would highly recommend this product... and some occasions where it is not a fit. Ask BMC:- May I experience some support calls with the BMC team?- Can you please include very specific line items in the task list embedded in the statement of work?- Will you please include the names of the individuals who are implementing this product?- Do you plan on deploying the native SRM interface? MyIT? Or both?
Read Lee Cullom's full review
No photo available
April 13, 2016

BMC Remedy Review: "Not Perfect but the Most Complete Solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BMC Remedy ITSM is used by the company which provides IT outsourcing to over 100 companies. All ticketing is done in Remedy for incidents, change requests, and service requests. Company and some customer assets are managed in Remedy. Service level management is used to monitor and manage contractual service agreements. By leveraging a mature common system, the company is able to leverage shared resources to support multiple customers.
  • Change Management - built in processes align tightly with ITIL while allowing company-level flexibility. For example, while a 'multi-tenant' model is used on a shared Remedy instance, each company can have its own approval requirements.
  • Incident Management - Data driven assignment rules working with categorization and location/department information assure the incident is assigned properly with automation.
  • Service Level Management - It is easy to create rules via a console that are based on any data in an incident, change, service request, task, etc. You are not limited to a few fields to drive your SLAs or OLAs.
  • Smart IT - with the new Smart IT interface the information is brought to the support user vs. having to search for it. Type in a few key words and Smart IT suggests incident templates, service request templates and knowledge solutions to choose from.
  • Smart IT needs to continue to mature in order to become "the" tool for all interactions by a support user. There are still some areas where a power user has to revert to the mid-tier tool.
  • CMDB is not fully multi-tenant or multi-language utilization in the data that drives it. A product can only be listed in one language and have one categorization. This is an issue if a customer has multi-national locations and employees in each only speak their native language. There is no auto-translation of the categorization of the product in the product catalog. Additionally, some companies want to follow the categorization as found in their discovery tool. Not all discovery tools or manual entries are agreed by all companies. This causes uniqueness issues in a multi-tenant environment.
BMC Remedy ITSM is well suited to medium to large companies but may be overkill for a small company with little process required. It is well suited for a company that has good process or wants to grow in to processes by turning on features over time. I've worked with many companies that began with using just Incident Management then grew in to Service Level Management, Service Request Management, Change Management, Asset Management and Knowledge Management over time. The commonality of how you configure or add capabilities makes it easy to 'grow as you go' by turning on features. If a customer needs something extra or different, it is pretty straightforward to add fields or functions or even add new forms altogether.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 11, 2016

Review: "BMC Remedy: trusted software for 10 years"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite is being used internally at Accenture and to support many of our clients and client engagements. Remedy provides an out of box ready to use ITIL framework that can be adapted to your organization's business process through configuration.
  • Allows us to support multiple clients in a multi-tenant instance.
  • Ties together the ITIL process across multiple process areas.
  • Robust capability to ingest and configure configuration items in the CMDB.
  • Some features like Drift Management were not fully functional as expected.
  • The ability to support client specific customizations is limited.
  • The upgrade process is complex.
BMC Remedy has served us extremely well over 10 years in support of a comprehensive end to end ITIL process including Incident, Problem, Change, and Configuration Management. Our clients were generally pleased with the functionality and performance. We were able to customize the software as required over the years to meet our client requirements. We were especially impressed with the CMDB and Reconciliation engine. I consider them to be best in class.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (28)
7.8
Expert directory (19)
7.7
Service restoration (24)
8.2
Self-service tools (28)
6.7
Subscription-based notifications (21)
6.5
ITSM collaboration and documentation (27)
7.0
ITSM reports and dashboards (27)
6.7
Configuration mangement (24)
8.0
Asset management dashboard (24)
8.1
Policy and contract enforcement (17)
7.4
Change requests repository (27)
7.4
Change calendar (27)
7.8
Service-level management (26)
7.4

About BMC Remedy

Remedy ITSM is a broad suite of ITSM tools with strong integrations to other BMC tools. The product is used mainly by global brands and is offered in on-premise and SaaS configurations.

BMC Remedy Integrations

BMC Remedy Competitors

BMC Remedy Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No