Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Bonita Platform

Bonita Platform

Overview

What is Bonita Platform?

Bonita is an open-source business process and workflow management platform created by the French National Institute for Research in Computer Science. It is available as a free community edition or as a commercial subscription product.

Read more
Recent Reviews

BonitaSoft BPM review.

10 out of 10
January 08, 2024
Incentivized
We use BonitaSoft as our workflow and low code/no code platform. We've implemented it for business processes like logistics, supply chain, …
Continue reading

Bonita for BPM !

10 out of 10
December 23, 2022
Incentivized
Bonita platform is used for an HR portal, including data and process from HR and others entity, using connector extensions to get and put …
Continue reading

BonitaSoft review

5 out of 10
May 17, 2022
Incentivized
Building a solution to modelize client processes and use Bonita API to link our Bonita model with our custom micro-services.
Continue reading

review

9 out of 10
May 17, 2022
Incentivized
Bonita Platform is a process manager and process orchestrator that is used to control the business process and create an organized …
Continue reading

Bonita at a glance

7 out of 10
December 29, 2021
Incentivized
For workflow automation to save time and cost, which will be an ongoing process and change based on business requirements. We are …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 13 features
  • Process designer (52)
    8.6
    86%
  • Business rules engine (42)
    8.0
    80%
  • Form builder (48)
    7.8
    78%
  • Model execution (48)
    7.4
    74%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Bonita Platform?

Bonita is an open-source business process and workflow management platform created by the French National Institute for Research in Computer Science. It is available as a free community edition or as a commercial subscription product.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.bonitasoft.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

20 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Camunda?

Camunda is a process orchestration tool designed to help organizations design, automate, and improve any process. Built for business and IT collaboration using BPMN and DMN standards, Camunda aims to enable seamless integration across endpoints to transform mission-critical processes.

What is Kintone?

Kintone is a customizable digital workplace platform that lets the user manage data, tasks, and communication in one central place. Over 23,000 customers use Kintone’s no-code platform with more than 1.5 million database and workflow applications custom built for their businesses. Kintone is…

Return to navigation

Features

Reporting & Analytics

Users can report on and analyze usage, performance, ROI, and/or other metrics of success.

7
Avg 8.1

Process Engine

Designing and building process models

7.7
Avg 8.3

Collaboration

Collaboration tools allowing BPM experts to collaborate on model design

6.6
Avg 8.3

Content Management Capabilties

Lightweight tool for managing content

6.9
Avg 8.1
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Bonita Platform?

Bonitasoft supports digital operations and modernization of information systems with Bonita, an open-source and extensible platform for automation and optimization of business processes.

Presented as easy to handle and integrate into heterogeneous information systems, Bonita accelerates the development and deployment of process automation projects, service orchestration and application development. This is made possible by its low code capabilities, reusable components, and unified deployment on-premise and on the cloud.

CIOs can confront both short-term challenges (often from requests from business teams who wish to support their business development), and the long-term challenge of modernizing IT to deliver on business needs and customer expectations.

Open-source, extensible and integrated, Bonita is based on an architecture that clearly separates the process, data and user interface layers. All project team members can collaborate to develop, deploy and maintain sustainable processes in line with the expectations of business users. Project governance, specific to each company, is respected by a clear separation between visual programming and coding capabilities. Each project team member can leverage their specific know-how and skills to add value. The technologies used do not require learning new languages ​​or methods, but instead rely on commonly used components such as Java, enterprise services such as SSO and LDAP, continuous delivery, and the ability to develop in SDKs. These capabilities avoid the need for additional resources.

The use of BPMN, reusable components, numerous extension points, and deployment on-premise or in the cloud all help guarantee rapid and agile developments.

Complex business processes become visible with centralized monitoring. Traceability, execution control and reduced risk of errors allow teams to focus on optimizing and improving operational efficiency on an ongoing basis.


Bonita Process Insights lets users:

  • Monitor key metrics and indicators like cycle time, deviations, failures, and objectives such as SLAs
  • Compare different versions of a process to measure the impact of changes and improvements and what factors affect process execution
  • Spot bottlenecks, inefficiencies, and risks within your processes and workflows
  • Customize business goals to track meaningful objectives

Bonita Platform Features

Process Engine Features

  • Supported: Process designer
  • Supported: Business rules engine
  • Supported: SOA support
  • Supported: Support for modeling languages
  • Supported: Form builder
  • Supported: Model execution

Collaboration Features

  • Supported: Social collaboration tools

Reporting & Analytics Features

  • Supported: Dashboards
  • Supported: Standard reports
  • Supported: Custom reports

Content Management Capabilties Features

  • Supported: Content management

Bonita Platform Screenshots

Screenshot of process designed in Bonita BPM StudioScreenshot of Bonita BPM project overviewScreenshot of Fully customized end user interfaceScreenshot of Bonita BPM Admin AppScreenshot of Bonita Process Insights

Bonita Platform Videos

The Bonita platform for digital process automation
Where to start with process automation?

Bonita Platform Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, Software as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationMobile Web
Supported CountriesWorldwide
Supported LanguagesEnglish, French, Spanish

Frequently Asked Questions

Bonita is an open-source business process and workflow management platform created by the French National Institute for Research in Computer Science. It is available as a free community edition or as a commercial subscription product.

Reviewers rate Process designer and Support for modeling languages highest, with a score of 8.6.

The most common users of Bonita Platform are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(111)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 53)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We developed a solution based on the Bonita Platform to allow users to subscribe to services and automate the validation of those subscriptions. The workflow controls the eligibility of the user to subscribe, call multiple micro-services, and respond with the list of services available. If anything fails, depending on the type of error, the main workflow is automatically retried using an error handling workflow or ended with the detailed error saved.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Bonita BPM is used to formalize transversal process, such as 'Accounting closing', 'Business Plan' or Reporting.
The solution allows to reduce validation through email, automatize transfer of key data to our referential, storage of document in GED.
January 08, 2024

BonitaSoft BPM review.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use BonitaSoft as our workflow and low code/no code platform. We've implemented it for business processes like logistics, supply chain, and manufacturing, from simple approval flows to more complex applications with integrations to other systems: ERP, Reporting/BI, etc.
December 23, 2022

Bonita for BPM !

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Bonita platform is used for an HR portal, including data and process from HR and others entity, using connector extensions to get and put information from and in other applications. The goal is « just say once and we present everything for you ». We also use Bonita platform for financial processes, with a 0-error result.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I used Bonita to make a proof of concept for a new application for one of our client. It will be used to handle tax declarations.
It will replace an existing purpose-built application that is old and un-upgradable. It will also give the client way more control over its processes and workflows.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used Bonita Platform to support claims process at our customer in insurance sector. The process is focused on long lived instances with multiple attachments of different types, stored in a non-standard document management system. Bonita Platform has offered a good balance between customizability and time to value. What was also important for us was ability to enable customer IT to understand and take over further development of the system. It worked fine. What I would appreciate in the future versions though is support for more recent GUI frameworks and easier deployment model, in kubernetes environments in particular.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I have used the Bonita Platform Enterprise Edition for creating the POC tasks to check the feasibility of the functionality which was implemented using the other Business Process Management Tool and I have achieved the same functionality using the Bonita Platform. I have also worked on various features like UI, themes, rest API, connectors, and BDM in the Bonita Platform version 2021.2 and am also able to customize them according to the product needs. Customizing the pages, themes, profiles, etc. is very easy with the Bonita Platform and we can achieve it with normal knowledge of programming languages. One can easily deploy their applications using the Bonita Platform CI/CD feature and the reflection of changes are very smooth and efficient.
May 17, 2022

review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Bonita Platform is a process manager and process orchestrator that is used to control the business process and create an organized sequence that is easily modifiable and allows an agile correction of errors and easy process definition.
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use the platform to allow the FDJ core domain team, the ability to develop and create business workflow without technical skills. We developed all the tooling around the Bonita Platform to interact with the rest of the FDJ software platform.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
We use Bonita Platform for process automation in a wide range of solutions, from simple process automation to complex projects, implementing orchestration and choreography of processes using Bonita BPM. As our developers have a Java background, we don´t face problems implementing solutions based on the Bonita Platform, but this is also due to the fact that we made the Bonita courses for developers and administrators.
Edison Jovanny | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is used as the process engine of the organization, where the bank's core processes are implemented, it is used as a backend and also as a front used by offices, sales forces, and from the website. The digital transformation of the business has been supported by this tool as it is the engine that orchestrates the asset contracting processes. As problems in the tool, problems have been seen in the queries of cases and in the performance of the portal due to the queries and work events that the tool handles and does not manage so quickly
December 29, 2021

Bonita at a glance

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
For workflow automation to save time and cost, which will be an ongoing process and change based on business requirements. We are targetting the workload that currently has to be done by individual staff users, which could be automated and has repeated workload and the organization is looking for a proper solution and we are doing POC and testing with a few different products.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
We started using Bonita in 2008 for some automation projects when it was part of the Bull group in France with versions 3.x and 4. After Bonitasoft was formed we signed on as partners in late 2009 and are probably one of the older ones at this time, having worked with Bonita 5.0 onwards. Since 2008 we've implemented the Bonita platform in the community and subscription versions for several customers in different industries (government, industry, technology, pharma) in Brazil, Argentina, and Uruguay. The Bonita Platform helps our customers organize their work and have visibility of the status of their process instances. One very important aspect is the integration with ECM software (Alfresco in our case) so that the platform is used as an ECM/BPM solution. Integration is seamless through built-in connectors and we can also create specific customer connectors, apply scripting in Groovy and develop custom REST APIs. Some customers are also currently migrating to the Bonita UI designer for their solution needs.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We implement Bonitasoft on different organizations, Educational, Insurance, Invoice delivery. It has a core based on services [that] helps companies with a dynamic integration, Bonitasoft is not married with a particular type of Organization and this makes the process development on this platform can be configurated in all aspects.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Bonitasoft BPM is our go to platform for all automation requests. It is easy to build and develop custom applications with BPM studio. We have automated a large part of our sales activity and budget tracking with BPM. It's very easy to create responsive UI pages and our end users love the experience. BPM Platform is also very stable and allows us to generate a lot of cases without any noticeable dip in performance. We hardly have to perform any housekeeping and system monitoring. Based on excellent user reviews, we plan to improve our processes even further. We are motivated to upgrade to the latest version of Bonita as our management team is very happy with the platform.
Antoine Chami | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We can easily implement new ways of working for companies. We help organizations have a better quality of work by implementing BPM solutions using Bonita. We can easily discuss with stakeholder on a BPMN basis then work with IT teams on the integration with IT ecosystem. Bonita is a marvelous tool to discuss with a large portion of [the] non-IT population and help them industrialize low value added tasks.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The Bonita Platform is being used as the basis for a research project and as a BPMS in undergraduate disciplines. The research project is being validated with the implementation of a Process Automation Office, having already implemented five internal processes at the UFSC Institution (HEI). The following criteria were defined for mapping and selecting processes: in cycle #1, they should preferably be primary processes for the CTC sponsor, especially those that are common to other academic units at HEI; cycle #2 should be shorter, in order to adjust the BPAO model; in cycle #3, the BPAO lifecycle method of process automation should be reapplied with another institutional instance, external to the CTC, and higher hierarchically in HEI.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We optimize business processes thanks to Bonita. The various business lines of the company are affected, from the management of customer files to support services, including mail management. The Bonita solution allows the company to automate some of the low value-added tasks, but it also helps users in more complex processes through request forms and an intelligent task allocation system that considers assignments and the skills of each employee.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using the Bonita Platform to address our BPM-related requirements. Currently, we are in the process of migrating our Pega-BPM application to the Bonita platform considering the user license freedom as well as open-source flexibility. We are also looking for an opportunity to explore their party OCR tool integration to serve our invoice automation business.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Bonita BPM is the principal tool we are currently using to automate our processes. So far, the experience has been excellent. We have deployed two processes with Bonita BPM to manage employee travel requests and vendor payment. We have also deployed our credit approval process on the platform and so far, we have seen great improvement in the credit approval process.
Return to navigation