Brainshark

Brainshark

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.3 out of 100
Brainshark

Overview

Recent Reviews

Brainshark Review

9 out of 10
February 15, 2020
Brainshark is used to help guide employees with education for our company. For example, if they create a new product, we will have …
Continue reading

How I Use Brainshark

8 out of 10
June 15, 2018
Brainshark is used across my whole organization to view presentations. It allows us to safely upload and store large files that anyone can …
Continue reading

Come over to the Sharkie side!

8 out of 10
February 12, 2016
At our company, Brainshark is used by different departments within our organization. In Learning and Development, we primarily use …
Continue reading

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Brainshark, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Brainshark?

Brainshark is a video presentation platform for sales enablement, now from BIgTinCan (acquired August 2021).

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.brainshark.com/solutions/how…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

2 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Showpad Content?

Showpad Content is presented as a sales enablement platform that marketing and sales can rely on to prepare sellers, engage buyers and optimize performance with insights. With a single user experience, their solution is designed to make it easy to discover and share the right content, deliver…

What is Yesware?

Yesware is a service for salespeople that helps them close deals faster. An email service tracks email, templates responses and syncs to CRM.

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Brainshark?

Brainshark is a platform for data-driven sales enablement and readiness. The vendor aims to help companies prepare their client-facing teams with the knowledge, skills and insights they need to perform at the highest level.

With solutions for training and coaching, as well as insights into sales performance, customers can ensure their sales reps are always ready to make the most of any buyer interaction.The vendor boasts that thousands of customers – including more than half of the Fortune 100 – rely on Brainshark to close performance gaps and get better results from their sales enablement initiatives.

Brainshark is a BigTinCan brand, since the August, 2021 acquisition.

Brainshark Features

  • Supported: Readiness Scorecards
  • Supported: Coaching & Practice
  • Supported: Training & Onboarding
  • Supported: Content Authoring

Brainshark Video

Introduction to Brainshark

Brainshark Integrations

Brainshark Competitors

Brainshark Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Mobile Web

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Brainshark?

Brainshark is a video presentation platform for sales enablement, now from BIgTinCan (acquired August 2021).

What are Brainshark's top competitors?

MindTickle are common alternatives for Brainshark.

What is Brainshark's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 10.

Who uses Brainshark?

The most common users of Brainshark are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Financial Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 52)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Chris Edwards | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It's simple to use and this ensures that it fits excellently in all organizations.
  • Allows us to train our staff (more so the sales team), and this ensures that they remain knowledgeable in what we do.
  • Can be used also in other departments to impart the relevant skills and ensure that they are able to execute their roles with ease.
  • Some of our less tech-savvy users had a steep learning curve in understanding how best to use the platform.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Super easy to create content and extensive product library.
  • You can track who has completed each section and when.
  • Helps you create and manage your Sales and Marketing training content.
  • Q and A ability.
  • User navigation is very easy. UI is user-friendly.
  • Some of the technical aspects can be tricky- embedding a video, merging content, etc.
  • Editing
  • Branding
  • Customizable surveys
Richard Gichangi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • You can prepare your content and use it for coaching the sales team and reps in the manner that you like and based on your specific company context.
  • You can record training sessions as videos and use them later as webinars and online training.
  • It has a simple user-interface and this makes it more reliable and efficient.
  • Supported only in iOS mobile devices, hence locks out Android users.
  • The language supported, for now, is English and it should be expanded further to match other international languages.
Betsy Abney | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • I love how easy creating a Brainshark and their formal learning is to use. Upload an animated Power Point, record audio, add music, or use videos etc.
  • Their formal learning also keeps track of people in classes, allows us to invite people to a curricula, send notifications when classes are added, and update on the fly without having to resubmit all new classes.
  • I also love that people in classes can run their own transcript and see where they are in a program, and if graded how they scored.
  • I think their general reporting could be more robust and/or easier to use
  • I don't like their main emphasis is now on sales. Our emphasis is education, technology, industry changes, as well as sales.
Mark Rice | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • We use the video slide feature often for promoting our products. The video slide provides more motion and activity to attract viewers at the very beginning of the presentation.
  • SlideShark is a great mobile application that allows us to share presentation content and present during sales calls. It is easy to use and always ready.
  • We have been passing parameters to and from the Brainshark guest book for years. Using the guest book parameters, you can capture viewer information without the viewer completing fields. This works great in email applications where you can pass attributes into the guest book automatically.
  • Would like to see more user control for how videos are displayed in social media - selection of splash image, description, sizing, shareable links.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Brainshark does assessments well! It has greatly evolved over the past 4 years and it is a much better product today. We have a standard template we use for the beginning pages of all our presentations, so it is important that the uploading of PowerPoints and replication is simple - and we have that with Brainshark. We also use the Guestbook (registration by employees) to track new hire progress, security, and expiration dates and it is very easy to set up.
  • Brainshark allows for ease of locating previously created items and run reports: A Brainshark "presentation" is each unique entry and it is easy to track each Course, Assessment, CBT, Simulation, Video, Module, etc. and also run customized reporting on each presentation.
  • Brainshark allows for simple reordering of slides within each presentation: After importing new information or creating additional slides, a simple drag-n-drop process of moving slides around is a quick and easy way to change the order within a presentation.
  • Brainshark doesn't allow for editing another author's presentations: When working in a global L&D department, attrition, time of day, vacations, holidays, and a plethora of other reasons arise to edit/revise another author's work. In Brainshark, there is no simple way to share created presentations, like you do with the MS Office suite.
  • Brainshark doesn't allow for guest reporting: When we have team leaders or trainers who are not "authors" need to run reports on a particular presentation, the actual presentation author must run the report for them.
  • Brainshark doesn't permanently archive (only made "not visible" and doesn't appear in searches): However, clicking a link to an archived presentation will reactivate it. If there is an link to archived presentation in older materials, and if the link is clicked, the course will become available once again. Note: there is a warning box that appears when an archived link is clicked but not all users respond appropriately.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • Easy to use and create content - we can get a basic PPT user up and running in less than an hour.
  • Excellent tool to create a product library quickly and effectively so it can accessed by your employees through their easy to set up searchable content portal.
  • If you are a SFDC user Brainshark is an excellent tool to create and manage sales, marketing and training content... and Brainshark easily connects to your SFDC platform
  • Brainshark has addressed a number of feature enhancements over the past two years...it really performs at a high level on a consistent basis...
  • Ocassionally we run into a large video file >500mb that we have to address directly with support but it does not happen very often...
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Tracks those who view the video and how much of the video they viewed
  • Allows the video to skip to different areas based on responses from the viewer
  • Provides Q&A ability so that viewers may be quizzed, and required to supply correct answers to continue if needed.
  • The only thing that I have struggled with occasionally is embedding video into a split-screen presentation.
Elizabeth Brochu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Allow video to display within a presentation
  • Allow you to easily replicate content
  • User navigation is the best ever
  • They have continuous improvement, the product always gets better
  • I would like to be able to make simple edits to video, like eliminating dead space
  • I would like more variety in the free background music choices
  • I'd like to be able to take one slide out of a Brainshark and add it to another more easily. Although merge content is already pretty easy.
February 25, 2015

Brainshark Review

Justin James | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • You can Track who watched and how many times your presentation was watched through their tracking service.
  • Customer service is outstanding. They will walk you through any difficulties you encounter.
  • They are always working and expanding the product to give me ways to engage with my audience
  • They need to add closed captions to their player... using slide notes as a caption is not acceptable. Its been 3 yrs since I brought this up.
  • They favor Apple products, I use droid and it seems like the droid app doesn't get the attention of the apple app.
  • Pricing is a little steep compared to competitors
Stephanie VanGilder | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy to use - upload PowerPoint and then add voice over
  • Allows you to link to outside websites
  • Professional looking finished product...can be set up to run almost like a movie for the end user.
  • Would like to have the ability to do minor PowerPoint edits from inside the program.
  • Would like to have a section header functionality...currently there are chapter titles, but it would be nice to be able to delineate one more level down.
  • Improved functionality for moving slides, maybe an edit on the slide number that would allow you to quickly move it longer distances rather than drag and drop.
Christi Chambers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We like the ability to add audio to our courses
  • We like the ability to build the tests into the presentations and to track scores
  • We like the ability to pull reports on course completed, vs. not completed and to see who is using the system vs. who is not.
  • Better navigation to view and select courses by title, author
  • Easier course enrollments
  • Being able to easily navigate between the presentation side and learning lockers and know what side you are on
  • Advanced reporting
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Ease of Use
  • Versatile in language of player
  • User-friendly reporting
  • Easy sharing
  • It is not always the SME that wants to narrate so an easier way to invite guest narrators would make the creation process less painful.
  • More detailed description of report types. Depending on what output I am in search of, I find myself having select each option until I find what I need.
  • An option to insert a slide instead of just adding and having to move it up by repeatedly pressing the up arrow.
January 22, 2015

Brainshark 1/21/2015

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Tracking and reporting who has viewed the presentation
  • Making it easy to send the presentation to everyone, or a selected group within our organization
  • Easy to use
  • Flexibility/more options within the question slides
  • The ability for other employees (for example audit) to pull reports on presentations they did not create
Tina Callisto | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Brainshark is a very user-friendly tool that can be learned in a very short period of time; which was extremely valuable as there was only one experienced Brainshark author in our company.
  • Brainshark is a great way to communicate to a global audience. Our company has expanded their global footprint and often the only cost effective way to communicate or train in different time zones and remote locations is using tools like Brainshark.
  • Brainshark provides us a hosting platform accessible across the globe where none exists today in our company.
  • I'd like to see more reference material around reporting. Brainshark has robust reporting for this type of tool, but often it requires my calling the support desk to understand certain aspects of reporting.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Fast production time - if you want to avoid a large-scale effort, but would like audio with slides, this is about as simple as it can get.
  • Metrics - because we use Brainshark as a marketing tool, we can use metrics to track the success of the message. The ability to drill down to individual user, how much they viewed and location is nice.
  • Media Options - The tool allows use of PPT, audio, PDF, video and more that I'm sure I'm forgetting. It seems like it can display/play most files you throw at it.
  • Animation Editing - We found that once you start attempting complex animations, the minor differences between how they render and are supported often make us choose to produce video for highly graphic presentations.
  • Campaign Development - They used to have a rudimentary campaign functionality, which was removed. What we'd really like is the ability for us to record one of our experts and then splice in all our sales people so it appears they are the ones doing the interview. That would be very beneficial, but currently it has to be done manually.
  • File sizes - We have occasionally had issues with videos not playing/loading smoothly even though they were smaller than the recommended file sizes.
Saadia Ali | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Recording slide by slide and animation by animation gives you the ability to really tailor your talk track and message
  • Simple to use interface and features - easily create surveys and quizzes
  • The detailed reports really help you see how long someone stayed on a slide or did not for that matter. For compliance trainings you can setup completion criteria
  • Timer on quizzes would be a great enhancement
  • A simpler interface to editing the content. Too many clicks right now to edit content which can be minimized with a more robust editing UI