BrightLocal Reviews

13 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Great for updating local citations with a one-time fee instead of monthly

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Great tool for updating local online directories and adding to new ones. Good for seeing the current scene of their listings. I feel I can trust them because they also allow you to communicate a specific message regarding each campaign.
  • Gather all online listings/citations that your client is in.
  • Provide a comprehensive list of online citations.
  • Less follow up needed - I know BrightLocal is at the mercy of the citations themselves, but it would be great if you didn't have to do follow up verifications.
  • Having to do phone verifications is frustrating.
The biggest selling point IMO is that it's as one-time payment to update listings. This is the opposite of Yext where you're almost "renting" the info being correct on your listings. This is a HUGE selling point. BrightLocal "bursts" the data out to listings and Aggregators alike, which is fantastic, with a one-time fee instead of monthly. It also allows for discounts with bulk amounts of listings. Lastly, the downside is that it is not set and forget - there are some listings you have to manually do things with, though they do provide logins and anything you might need.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Good SEO Product for Small Business

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use all of BrightLocal's features from the rankings down to social media. We use it as a tool to track the search engine optimization progress to see what improvements we can make and improve their digital marketing. It's also a tool that allows us to keep multiple facets of their marketing in one CRM.
  • Beautiful reputation reporting
  • Easy to navigate
  • Cannot have multiple geo-locations in one rankings report.
  • System is sometimes slow and buggy.
This would be well suited for small businesses looking to track single local locations. The reporting system for reviews is one of their best features and is great at showing a trend over time. It is also good to put potential customers in there and run a local audit in order to show companies how you can help them grow and what their business is missing.
Read this authenticated review
Gary Shouldis | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2019

The Perfect All In One Platform For Local Marketing

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BrightLocal is a must have for Local SEO and marketing. We have been using it for years to help manage local business clients. BrightLocal allows us to create a single platform for all of our local marketing efforts, we can track Google My Business, web analytics, citations, online reviews and even keyword rankings all in a single dashboard.

The citation tracking feature is very useful to see where you have citations and where you need to create or correct citations and the reputation manager feature is a great way to monitor your online reviews across multiple review platforms.

One of my favorite features is being able to access historical data for Google My Business. Google only allows 3 months of data, but BrightLocal stores 18 months of data for you to analyze and compare. Report creation is also simple, allowing us to create printable PDF reports or web-based reports via custom links.
  • All in one local marketing dashboard and reporting makes analyzing data and creating reports a breeze.
  • Being able to monitor online reviews across dozens of review websites
  • Local marketing audit tool to analyze areas of opportunity
  • Being able to track keyword rankings on a city specific level, a must have for rank tracking at a local level
  • The citation tracking tool often misses live citations for your business so you always need to verify the results before taking action
  • The Local Pack rankings in the Google My Business section are usually off since it is very specific to the location of the searcher
If you are a local business owner or marketing agency catering to local businesses, BrightLocal is a must have software. It has everything you need to track your local marketing efforts and to identify opportunities to make improvements, all at a very reasonable price point. You can also create nice looking reports to send to clients which are simple to create.
Read Gary Shouldis's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2019

Good choice for local SEO agencies

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used BrightLocal to manage local SEO for our digital marketing clients. It was one of the key platforms we used to perform research, reporting, and optimization to improve local search rankings. It saved our team a significant amount of time by consolidating a number of valuable tools in one place.
  • A suite of local SEO tools, all in one place.
  • Simplified local SEO reporting for clients.
  • Tools for building local and niche citations.
  • BrightLocal is focused on local SEO, which is a strength, but I needed to invest in other SEO tools to supplement.
BrightLocal is a good choice for an agency that is providing local SEO services for multiple clients. BrightLocal automates research and reporting work that would take hours for someone to complete manually, and the local and niche citation building services provide a framework for building and maintaining citations for clients at scale.
Read this authenticated review
Jordan Comstock | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2018

BrightLocal is great for local SEO

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BrightLocal was used on a client by client basis. If it was a client that we wanted to focus on local SEO with, we would use BrightLocal. Many clients didn't have that need and we would use other SEO software for their needs, although BrightLocal does have many useful capabilities beyond local. That was its primary use case for me.
  • Track and monitor local SEO rankings
  • Build citations
  • Easy to navigate
  • Up and down rankings were not always right on with the local search, but only off by one or two spots
  • It felt like it was only used for local SEO, and I know there are more features, just never got to them.
  • Didn't seem useful for every single client in the way Ahrefs or SpyFu did
The best scenario I can think of is local small business clients. They needed to be as high up in the local box as possible, and BrightLocal provided us easy ways to monitor that and track it. It was also a positive experience building citations through their builder. Citations went up, as well as rankings
Read Jordan Comstock's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2018

BrightLocal Helping us and clients

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BrightLocal to manage all of our clients' reporting. From ranking reports to Google Analytics breakdowns, BrightLocal has it all. We are able to automate the sending of these reports. The site auditor is a great way for us to show prospective clients that we're on top of it. There are a ton of bells and whistles that we find very helpful.
  • Automated Reports
  • Rank Tracker
  • GMB Auditor
  • Review Tracking could use an uplift
  • Lead Generation is okay but could use better funcationality in making the form look more like our site.
BrightLocal is a great for marketing agencies that work directly with their client. Their reports give you the ability to look polished in the eyes of those receiving the reports. They are easy to read and provide a great deal of information.
Read this authenticated review
Sarah Nelson | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2018

Quality Citations for a Quality Online Presence

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My account management team uses BrightLocal for reporting and citation building purposes for our clients. BrightLocal's citation building service makes it easy for us to order citations for clients and know that we're getting quality citations for the price. BrightLocal also allows us to report to our clients on the status of their campaign and ranking of their GMB listing.
  • When we use BrightLocal's citation building service, I know that we're getting quality citations done right. Their staff will email you with any questions and always double check the information before creating inaccurate citations.
  • I love that BrightLocal is very quick about making changes when requested. For example, if we can't find a city on the drop-down list, you can chat them and they'll add it. Or if a report is pulling incorrectly, they'll re-run it within a reasonable timeframe.
  • BrightLocal has a lot of different reports that are easy to send to your clients. You can even add them to a web-viewable dashboard so that your client can simply bookmark a link and view their reports when they please.
  • Sometimes citation creation can take too long. Normally it takes 3 weeks, but there have been times when it has taken over a month.
  • I would like if the GMB reporting tool kept track of the previous ranking that way we can show clients progression over time with their GMB listing.
  • It can be costly when ordering citations for thousands of clients. I wish that we could purchase a "pool" of tokens and use them accordingly. That way we're not losing an investment when a client cancels.
BrightLocal is extremely beneficial for B2B companies or small business owners who are looking to build their online presence. If you would like more control over your online presence, and the ability to log back into citations to make edits after the fact, then BrightLocal is a great service to use.
Read Sarah Nelson's full review
Tim Colling | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2017

BrightLocal: GREAT search ranking reports, Useful online client report dashboards, Nothing else special.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BrightLocal for client reporting with respect to our SEO work for them. We specialize in working with organizations that serve the elderly and their families, and many of our clients are essentially locally-focused in their marketing. BrightLocal's local ranking reports are excellent and they are BrightLocal's best feature. BrightLocal also offers online client "dashboards" which our clients like very much.
  • Ranking reports are excellent.
  • Online client report dashboards are excellent.
  • Ability to create multiple local ranking reports from different searcher locations are very helpful and useful.
  • BrightLocal can very difficult to communicate with, especially when it comes to reporting bugs / defects, and also when it comes to finding out whether they are working on those bugs.
  • BrightLocal's reports, other then the ranking reports, have far too many bugs and they seem to either have little QA or poor QA practices, considering how many defects there are.
Best for SEO agencies with clients to report to, especially for clients with hyper-local SEO needs. You can produce ranking reports for searchers in multiple locations, to understand how potential customers in nearby towns may or may not find the client company.
Read Tim Colling's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 27, 2016

Business Citations done Right!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Brightlocal as a tool to analyze our current positions within search engine local rankings as well as to check existing citations. The fact that Brightlocal can do all this under one solution really saves your organization time and money. Being shown how you rank against local competitors is invaluable and gives you LOTS of room for improving your rankings.
  • Local Citation Submission
  • Local SEO Competitor Reporting
  • Tracking Ranking Changes
  • Low cost submissions to all the Tier 1 and Tier 2 directories/sites
  • Their team is overseas so there may be a lag time in replies
  • If your location can not verify with a phone because of phone prompt menus, your options WILL be limited
  • Turn around time can often be 2-3 weeks
If your business isn't SEO optimized at the local level for search engines then this is a wonderful tool to start to use. It is quick and you will often see results within 2-3 months tops. If your business is already listed consistently among all the tier 1 directories and websites then this can still be a great tool to monitor the competition and view areas where your business is NOT listed under. As always you can always improve against the local competition.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Keyword analysis (8)
7.4
Backlink management (5)
4.7
SERP ranking tracking (7)
8.0
Page grader (2)
7.5
Competitive analysis (7)
7.8
Site audit / diagnostics (5)
8.3
Site recommendations (4)
6.6
Task management (4)
8.0
Local SEO (9)
9.1
Social SEO (6)
7.4
Mobile SEO (3)
8.8
Global SEO (2)
7.3
Multi-domain support (5)
9.7
Integration with web analytics tools (7)
9.0

About BrightLocal

BrightLocal is built to make local marketing simple. The vendor states that with their all-in-one platform, users can:

- Track local search rankings

- Perform local SEO audits

- Clean up and build local business listings

- Manage their online reputation by generating, monitoring, and responding to online reviews

- Source agency leads

The vendor boasts users worldwide, including agencies, SMBs, and multi-location businesses, who use BrightLocal to streamline local marketing efforts and boost visibility in local SERPs.

BrightLocal is available free on a trial basis, for 14 days (no credit card required).
Categories:  Local Marketing,  SEO

BrightLocal Features

SEO Features
Does not have featureKeyword analysis
Does not have featureBacklink management
Has featureSERP ranking tracking
Does not have featurePage grader
Has featureCompetitive analysis
Has featureSite audit / diagnostics
Does not have featureSite recommendations
Has featureTask management
SEO Channels Features
Has featureLocal SEO
Does not have featureSocial SEO
Has featureMobile SEO
Does not have featureGlobal SEO
SEO Platform & Account Management Features
Has featureMulti-domain support
Has featureIntegration with web analytics tools

BrightLocal Screenshots

BrightLocal Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Single Business$29per month
Multi Business$49per month
SEO Pro$79per month

BrightLocal offers custom enterprise plans for businesses with more than 100 locations: https://www.brightlocal.com/enterprise-packages/.

BrightLocal Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

BrightLocal Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:USA, UK, Australia, Canada