Brightpearl

Brightpearl

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 3.8 out of 100
Brightpearl

Overview

Recent Reviews

Brightpearl User Review

8 out of 10
June 24, 2019
We use Brightpearl across our company for POS, purchasing, customer service, and order and customer management. We use Brightpearl to …
Continue reading

Unhappy

1 out of 10
March 29, 2017
We use Shopify for our back-end inventory solution and integrate with Shopify for web sales and Shipstation for shipping. It used by one …
Continue reading

Bright PEARL review

1 out of 10
December 29, 2016
Used as a business wide ERP. Worst ERP I have used. It is difficult to perform stock transfers. Cost of stock not valued properly. Orders …
Continue reading

Brightpearl really does shine!

8 out of 10
December 21, 2016
Brightpearl is being used across the entire company. We use it to process our online orders, in store orders, phone orders, and manage our …
Continue reading

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Brightpearl, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Brightpearl?

Brightpearl’s retail operations platform is designed to handle peak trading, integrates with the full retail tech ecosystem, and is omni-channel native. Additionally, the vendor says their solution is the system of record for key trading data, provides real-time trading insights and is automated so…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee required
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.brightpearl.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

2 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is NetSuite ERP?

NetSuite is a suite of ERP and accounting modules which is sold in various editions aimed at different size customers. The multi-country, multi-currency version is an additional module called OneWorld. Netsuite is a SaaS system and is not offered in an on-premise edition.

What is Cin7?

Cin7, headqduartered in Auckland, aims to make complex retail and wholesale simple with all-in-one cloud inventory, POS, EDI and 3PL. Cin7 allows users to manage sales channels, inventory, point of sale and supply chain in one central, cloud-based software. Cin7 offers integrations using third party…

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Brightpearl?

Brightpearl’s retail operations platform is designed to handle peak trading, integrates with the full retail tech ecosystem, and is omni-channel native. Additionally, the vendor says their solution is the system of record for key trading data, provides real-time trading insights and is automated so users can stay in control and manage by exception.

According to the vendor key differentiators include:
  • Software and Service. Service is an integral part of Brightpearl's offer. The vendor says their retail consultants get users live three times faster than traditional ERP, always for a fixed cost. And the in-house team is available throughout, from tech support to ongoing business consulting.
  • Built for Retail. Brightpearl is built only for the retail sector. This means: configuration not coding, designed for use by merchants not IT staff, every new feature is relevant, and their integrations and ecosystem are 100% retail.
  • Designed to Scale. Whether it’s seasonal peaks, promotions or sustained growth, merchants need an ops platform that can handle the volume. The vendor says they stand by their numbers: orders, SKUs, channels, reporting and financials fit for multi-million dollar merchants.

Brightpearl Features

  • Supported: Sales Order Management
  • Supported: Inventory Management
  • Supported: Inventory Planning
  • Supported: Shipping & Fulfillment
  • Supported: Warehouse Management
  • Supported: Retail Accounting
  • Supported: Purchasing & Supplier Management
  • Supported: Workflow Automation
  • Supported: Reporting
  • Supported: Payments
  • Supported: Analytics

Brightpearl Screenshots

Customer timeline giving you insight into pending orders, previous purchases and potential marketing opportunitiesDeep insight in your customers, product and sales channel through Brightpearl's Minubo integrationFully integrated POS for access to all product inventory information at the tillManaging suppliers and purchasing inventory is quick and easy, says the vendorProvide top-notch service by having access to your customers’ full interaction history and personalize your marketing communication with product-interest tagging.Brightpearl’s flexible inventory management has all of the features you need to stay in control of your inventory and make fast, effective business decisions. Redistribute your staff towards growth strategies and reduce the time spent on costly admin overheads.Inventory Planning. With Brightpearl’s integrated inventory demand planning solution, understand exactly how your inventory is performing so you can put your time and money into the most impactful areas of your business. Identify trends to ensure you have the right products at the right time.Intuitive and easy-to-use POS, access all inventory across multiple locations alongside full customer order and communication history.Brightpearl’s integrated accounting is built specifically for retail and wholesale businesses, providing real-time insight into sales performance, profitability and costs across all your channels, all from the same system you use to manage sales, purchasing, inventory, customers and suppliers. Make the right decisions for your business in order to manage cost, reduce risk and remain agile in an ever-changing trading environment.Brightpearl’s intelligent process automation has all of the features you need to speed up order processing, reduce fulfillment latency and costs, and automate your entire order-to-cash process.

Brightpearl Downloadables

Brightpearl Integrations

Brightpearl Competitors

Brightpearl Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Mac
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Brightpearl's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 7.8.

Who uses Brightpearl?

The most common users of Brightpearl are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees) and the Retail industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 156)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Brightpearl for our order management, customer management, sending purchase orders to vendors, accounting, and warehouse/inventory management.
  • Inventory
  • In my opinion, I believe they should work on responding to the needs of their customers.
  • I believe the features are disappointing for the cost and I feel like feature requests or suggestions for improvement fall on deaf ears.
  • In my opinion, the integrations are basic. I find that the integration with Gmail (still) uses the outdated, less secure method that Gmail disables every so often.
  • When we report bugs, I feel like they are seldom acknowledged and never fixed. As an example during our use, Brightpearl's integration of one of the tax services is faulty and sends many more API calls than originally promised, which I believe is costing us a hefty sum and I feel like it has never been fixed after years.
  • In my opinion, the technical support is barely competent. I feel that tickets go unanswered, or are provided with responses that show they haven't read the ticket at all. In my experience, I find that there are regularly no support agents in their phone queue, even during their support hours, with no option to leave a voicemail either.
  • I believe that the logs and accountability could be improved. I believe there is practically no access or ability to edit trail logs, so I can't tell which users edited products, sales/purchase orders, customer/vendor profiles, etc.
In my opinion, Brightpearl contracts aren't worth the paper they're written on. In my experience, the pricing tiers based on number of sales were introduced mid-way through a contract and I believe we had to pay overages. I feel like the price has increased steadily by about £7000 per year. Based on my experience, if you don't like their changes, they are happy to terminate your services (paraphrased, but, yes, I believe they told me this). I feel like account managers change seemingly every year and I agree with another reviewer's mentioning of arrogance.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We joined Brightpearl in 2013 and left in November 2021 We left for 3 reasons 1. Lack of integrations. We all partner with at least one 3rd party platform these days but we could not get Brightpearl to work with these platforms in any meaningful way. 2. Price. In 2013 we paid £2500 per annum for 5k orders. In 2020 this was increased to £6000 and then this year our quote was over £8k. If we need to go up to 10k orders per annum this cost went up to almost £10k per annum. It's a decent system but in my opinion, it's not worth this amount of money. 3. I never ever want to talk to anyone in their customer service team again. Life is simply too short to have to endure that again
  • Bulk picking lists
  • reporting
  • price
  • customer service
  • integrations
It's a perfectly good system but if you have a company that is growing, that is working with partners and you like value for money then I'd advise you to look at other systems before committing to Brightpearl. Also if you like your customer service contact to be nice to you, then perhaps best to look somewhere else too!
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[I feel Brightpearl] is not up to scratch for 2021. We have been using Brightpearl for the last 8 years to manage all of our B2B and D2C order processing, supplier management, and financial management. It has been an integral T1 system in both a Magento and Shopify tech stack. We are a scaling e-commerce business with a robust, wholesale channel. We were originally drawn to Brightpearl with its integrated financial management and have 8 years of chart accounts within the system. Also, we previously had some exceptionally favourable discounts with them, based on being an original customer when they founded the platform. It has served us ok with order management, customer management, and finance. However, the platform is confusing and therefore lacks certain clarity in key functionality.
  • Channel Management - allows multiple sales channels.
  • Warehouse Management - some good functionality for warehouses.
  • Finance BOH - good financial controls and reporting.
  • Arrogance - [I feel] this business needs to recognize they have flaws and listen to customers when capability gaps are raised.
  • Shopify - integration seems ok but is exceptionally rigid for more diverse use of the Shopify platform.
  • Cost - It is not cheap. c.£15k per year for basic functionality plus addons for POS, demand, planning, etc.
  • Reporting - [In my experience] it is not at all customizable.
  • Support - [I feel] there is a lack of outside expertise in Brightpearl.
  • Foreward thinking - [I believe] this platform is not forward-thinking. Their release schedule is hardly in step with players like Shopify and Xero.
I say if you are an SME or scaling retailer you are better off integrating a separate set of tools such as Xero, Unleashed, Tradegeko, etc. These platforms have focused capability and development. [In my experience,] Brightpearl is a confusing platform that does not cover the depth of even the basics of businesses.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brightpearl was installed as our WMS system last year as part of a wider migration from a bespoke platform to Shopify Plus. We wanted a system for stock accuracy across the business, with visibility for users on stock locations. It offers ease of use and a functional way for our buying team to upload PO's.
  • Stock accuracy and stock movement
  • Clear pricing for products across multiple currencies
  • Ability to enrich data
  • Search is a little clunky
  • Difficult to update or change information on single items when they're part of a larger group of products
  • Not being able to create Parent/child variants across sizes
As a manager of the Ecommerce team, it is vital that the data in Brightpearl is enriched and clear to allow the front end of the site to showcase the correct information for the end consumer. Brightpearl allows for this as well as being able to track product movement and sales.
Brightpearl have always been on hand for support and Ive been very impressed with their proactive approach
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brightpearl has run my company's online sales for the last 6 years but I am now leaving them. I was initially attracted to Brightpearl because it had accounting built in, but that turns out to have been a big mistake as there are other companies with more marketplace integrations and much more functionality that have integrations with accounting software that simply exports all the necessary data into relatively low cost accounting software such as Xero or QuickBooks or Sage. So in fact there is no need to have built-in accounting software at all. You get far more by using software that does a better job of handling all your online sales and of facilitating more sales by making it super-easy to list on even more marketplaces.
  • Support is very good.
  • Supports only a small number of marketplaces and in a limited way only. When I signed up with Brightpearl they claimed that you could list directly onto eBay from within Brightpearl but this turned out to be untrue as Brightpearl did not support eBay postage policies (eBay's semi literate way of saying shipping tables).
  • Not only can you not list directly onto eBay, you cannot list directly from within Brightpearl to any marketplaces whatsoever. With other software you can list directly to all the marketplaces they integrate with.
  • Brightpearl is abysmal at VAT. Brightpearl calculates VAT on Channel Islands and Canary Islands orders even though there is no Vat in either of them. So when you pay HMRC you will be paying them a bit extra unless you check all your orders which makes the software somewhat redundant.
  • When I signed up they advertised Brightpearl as the software to automate your online selling. But it didn't really do that. A couple of years later at considerable extra cost they released an add-on app called Brightpearl Automation that does seem to deliver on automation. However other software offers that at no extra cost.
  • Brightpearl claims that it integrates with Amazon, but this is only partially true as they have completely ignored the new marketplaces that Amazon have opened. If you list on those marketplaces you have to input the orders manually and Brightpearl will not update the stock, putting you at risk of negative feedback. Other software integrates fully with all Amazon marketplaces.
  • Now that I am leaving it was suggested that I might benefit from read-only access so that we could easily double check things like warranty claims. They offered me a year's read-only access for £10,080 which is more than double my yearly contract for full use of the software. Now, if that isn't taking the mickey, I don't know what is!!!
I left Brightpearl negative feedback 3 or 4 years ago. They then contacted me by phone and offered me a deal if I would remove my feedback. I did remove it.
The support department is the best thing about Brightpearl. Shame they don't run the company.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Brightpearl across our company for POS, purchasing, customer service, and order and customer management. We use Brightpearl to manage our warehouse inventory and to create barcodes and purchase orders. Additionally, we use Brightpearl to for our Point of Sale (POS) system, for our phone orders and general order management system from all incoming sales channels. Brightpearl is essentially the hub or brain of our operations. It is helpful in managing our incoming product orders, creating new purchase orders and managing outgoing customer orders.
  • Product Management: Brightpearl keeps track of our inventory from the purchase order to the outgoing order, to the customer.
  • Customer Orders: Brightpearl can auto-fulfill your incoming orders from different sales channels so the orders can be picked and packed.
  • Vendors: Brightpearl is very useful in managing your vendors and creating purchase orders.
  • Product Variants: If you sell similar products in a group and each product has its own size, color, etc. once you create the variant it can only be edited via spreadsheet import which is not the easiest solution for most people.
  • Sales Channels: There is room for improvement on the connectors to Big Commerce, eBay, etc. for more features and options. Also, Brightpearl needs to add a connector for Etsy.
  • Cross-browser compatibility: We have had various issues with Brightpearl and Google Chrome, which maybe Chrome related, but Brightpearl reply is typically and only "try another browser" which is not always possible if we are using Chrome only browser-related extensions.
Brightpearl is well suited for product and order management. You can create your own product SKUs or use Brightpearl product IDs for barcodes and the SKU will follow the product within Brightpearl making it good for tracking inventory levels, purchase orders, customer orders, fulfillment, etc. Brightpearl needs some more development on its integration with other software, including sales channels like Big Commerce, Amazon, eBay, etc. to add more features and options for the mapping between the connected sites.
Ariana Medina | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brightpearl is used by the whole organization. It has helped maintain organization and keeps all records in one place. It can be accessed anywhere and it is extremely user-friendly. It helped extensively with inventory control and invoicing. It also offers a great report system.
  • Great way to organize everything in one location.
  • Offers a good report system.
  • Easily accessible.
  • Customer support is confusing.
  • Not much public knowledge about the software.
  • Takes awhile to train employees.
Brightpearl is well suited for all small and large businesses. It helps with organization and with placing information all on one platform for easy access and review. It is not appropriate for non-business related purposes.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brightpearl is used by a couple of departments across the organization that are very focused on sales. Something that we had struggled with in the past was that we used a few different systems to manage things like accounting, inventory, and keeping track of orders. We couldn't keep track of certain things and Brightpearl has addressed the lack of efficiency and awareness in some of these fields.
  • Accounting
  • Interface
  • Inventory Tracking
  • Hard to train new people at first
  • Price point is good but could be slightly better :)
Something that it has done really well is help streamline internal functions that we used to have organized by a variety of software vendors. For example, we had a different provider for accounting and inventory, which led to confusion, lack of clarity on certain inventory, and a general sense of disorganization. Now we are in a lot better shape!
Ranjit Longani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is broadly divided into 4 departments and Brightpearl (BP) is used by all of these to perform their tasks as detailed below:

  • As a database of suppliers and products are on BP, purchase orders are prepared and emailed to suppliers by the purchasing department based in London, who also do inventory management on BP.
  • Goods are GRN'd on receipt by the warehouse team based in Norfolk. They pick and pack orders from BP once processed.
  • Customer service (CS) department is based abroad and processes orders from multiple sales channels like Ebay and Amazon (fully integrated), wholesale, web site and phone orders. CS also deals with post and pre-sales issues as BP has a full time line and customers database.
  • Accounts department reconciles payments, manages credit control, prepares accounts and VAT returns.
  • Finally the management team has access to all the above activities via various report to keep control and evaluate performances of the entire team.
  • As it has all the functionality in one software like inventory, sales, accounting etc., it saves a lot of time as compared to managing different systems for all business functions.
  • Automatic order download from all marketplaces.
  • Need more comprehensive reporting. Could add more filters, i.e. it takes time to calculate which sales channel is making more profits, which geographical area is giving more orders etc.
Tracy Cooksey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brightpearl is primarily being used for its inventory capabilities. The sales invoicing and other accounting functions, along with the multiple currency facilities makes this software a comprehensive package - only limited by the lack of payroll processing.

Importing bank transactions via CSV files is very easy, making the reconciliation process relatively simple; the only issue we have experienced is that of making corrections or adjustments on sales invoices - being a double entry accounting system makes this more complicated than other accounting software that I have used.

Having said that though, Brightpearl have provided the best support service that I have experienced in a software provider, to help with any corrections.
  • Tracking Inventory, Sales Order and Invoice Creation
  • Importing bank transactions for accounting purposes is fairly easy
  • Tracking customer activity, and ability to store all communications with customers in the Time Line is very good
  • Sending monthly statements is very easy
  • The Timeline that tracks activity for the customer is a fantastic tool for allowing all users to see exactly what is happening with the Customer's account, and the notes facility with the event reminder for follow up is very useful for chasing up debtors or using as a reminder to action an outstanding issue for the customer; especially when the event list is used as your home page.
  • The double entry accounting for Sales Credits creates an entry on the Statement that Customers can find confusing.
  • Inability to order large volumes of stock on one purchase order is a big problem; the limitation on lines for an order is also very restrictive and causes the system to crash too often when close to being reached. The supplier invoice has to be split across multiple orders as a result.
  • Adjusting payment terms manually all the time is annoying, as the default is 30 days and required you to over write the full date when inputting purchases with different terms.
Brightpearl suits businesses with an inventory system where stock is not ordered well in advance (such as from overseas), and where purchase orders are greater in volume and not large in size.
It is very well priced compared to similiar products, and the new pricing structure offering unlimited users is a huge advantage over competitors.
The support team at Brightpearl is fantastic and are so accommodating and easy to understand.
By using the Support Ticket function initially, you get across the issue, and where it can be hard to communicate the problem in writing, the Brightpearl consultants are happy to accommodate a phone call to discuss in person, and often send additional documentation and videos on a topic to assist further.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brightpearl has revolutionised how we generate quotes, place orders and invoice within MJ Visual. The quotation procedure is now straightforward with minimal effort. Invoicing is also very straightforward too. No guesswork is needed now as all the "special" pricing information is on the system and you don't have to rely on one experienced individual any more. You have accurate pricing, simple templates, easy to operate software, significant savings in time and customers surprised at the turnaround time of a quotation. It has had the added benefit of making our employees understand our business better and become more involved in it too.
  • Consistant look to all documentation.
  • You create your document templates to suit your business. The consistency across all documents is very much addressing the "corporate" look.
  • Ease of invoicing.
  • All staff are able to invoice directly - even on site at the completion of the job.
  • This makes your staff realise they are responsible for making the business work better together.
  • Saving time.
  • [Previously] Shouting across the office for the latest price for a widget [would] usually return 2-3 differing values. [Now] Hunting for the correct price is as simple as pressing a button.
  • The biggest issue with Brightpearl is the lack of ability to create options within a quotation.
  • Sometimes we need to quote alternative products and there is no easy way to do this and make the quotation look good.
Brightpearl is very well suited to a mobile workforce as well as a large office based one. Being cloud based it allows your direct sales guys instant access to the same information as your internal guys. Technical sales teams will benefit from instantly accessing relevant data and rapidly building quotations on site.
Rarely needed to but there is a time difference her if we have to call the US. Still if the Tech guys are half a planet away thats not a real problem now adays...
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At CGPhones there are at least 15 employees who use Brightpearl. I personally use Brightpearl to process returns. I search the name of the customer in sales, then I find their order number and open the order. I then check off the purchases that the customer is returning and clone them to sales credits. Then I check the cost to make sure it's correct, save it, credit the customer and accept the product back into inventory. Sometimes I may start a new line and accept the product back into PTG so that it can be checked and repaired before being placed back into active inventory. I also use it to look up contact information for customers; either addresses if I need to request a prepaid shipping label from the shipping department or the phone number and email if I need to send contact info to one of our wholesale representatives or email a customer myself. I also use it to allocate products for an order when someone sends back a return and wants a replacement. The sales department uses it to allocate products for large orders. The inventory department uses it to accept in the inventory. In addition, it is connected to our eBay account so that when a customer places an order, the product is automatically allocated under their name with their contact info. The issues that we have with brightpearl are that it doesn't always save the bin number or cost when we are changing the information for a product. It doesn't always allocate products which means sometimes we oversell. And if you try to search for a name and it is slightly misspelled or you need to include a middle name, you receive no results. One of the major issues we have is that we can't find a way to figure out how much credit a wholesale customer currently has in their account. Those are all of the current issues I can think of that would helpful if they were addressed.
  • It's very easy to learn and pretty self explanatory.
  • It connects many different departments so that we can all view each other's work and not have to repeat processes.
  • It allows me to look up information in many different ways.
  • It doesn't always save our work, like prices, bins and amounts.
  • It doesn't always allocate properly which causes us to oversell.
  • It won't allow more than 10 people to sign in at a time which prevents all of the employees that need it from being able to access it at the same time.
As a database overall, I think it is very well suited for our business. I only wish that it was easier to learn the more in depth aspects of the program so that we can put it to even further good use. Like we can't figure out how much credit our wholesale customers have in order to tell them how much they can spend on their next wholesale order.
I have not used Brightpearl customer support but I know that my manager and my boss have both tried to contact Brightpearl customer support on many occasions. They don't always get through and when they do, the customer support representative doesn't always answer all of their questions. Sometimes they even dismiss the questions and tell my manager that there's nothing wrong with the program and he should just try again.
March 29, 2017

Unhappy

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Shopify for our back-end inventory solution and integrate with Shopify for web sales and Shipstation for shipping. It used by one department that needs it the most. We were going to manage all department merchandise inventory with one system, but there have been serious issues with Brightpearl for us, and the way that Sales assured us would work for us did not turn out to be true, so we halted our org-wide implementation.
  • It tracks inventory.
  • We have experienced many errors and have not been satisfied with the product or support.
  • There were specific requirements that we had for our inventory solution. We were assured by the salesperson and sale engineer that BrightPearl would meet those requirements, but we found after the fact that it did not.
  • The implementation was troubled. The Brightpearl implementer did not complete the implementation, there were many errors, and the implementation closer had to re-do many things in a rush to get us online.
  • We've has serious issues with the Shopify integration from flat out service failure to inventory sync. Issues that we were told by sales would work a certain way but they do not.
  • Support for picking from specific inventory location or change default inventory location rather than FIFO model.
We've had a number of issues, and support has been rather lackluster. Many of our problems have remained unresloved, or continue to repeat themselves.
December 29, 2016

Bright PEARL review

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used as a business wide ERP. Worst ERP I have used. It is difficult to perform stock transfers. Cost of stock not valued properly. Orders on hand not showing correctly. Difficult to upload orders.
  • Communications.
  • Basic reports.
  • Stock accuracy.
  • Detailed reports.
  • No API link.
[Brightpearl is well suited for] Really small basic companies. Not suitable for multi channel, multi currency, growing companies. Not user friendly. Customer service are OK, though, when there is a problem. I wouldn't recommend for a large company over 5m. We are moving across to SAP as soon as possible.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brightpearl is being used across the entire company. We use it to process our online orders, in store orders, phone orders, and manage our inventory. We don't currently use the accounting modules, but we do use the reports it generates to do our own accounting with it. Brightpearl solves the problem of tracking orders from multiple platforms. It does it all in one spot and makes keeping track of orders much easier. In particular, it really has helped us gain better control of our Amazon orders. We've cut down the time spent on Seller Central orders by over 50%.
  • Organizing orders from multiple platforms.
  • Keeping track of customer orders and interactions with the customers.
  • Batch printing and processing of orders.
  • The integration with Ship Station is very good.
  • Management of goods notes, having to go to different spots to do different things with the GN is time consuming. Particularly if you have to delete one, there is no way to do it within the order.
  • Fixing payments and the allocation of payments when something was changed is clunky.
  • Finding information can be difficult, not all of the reports are intuitive.
  • Exchanges are difficult in the Brightpearl system. There is no way to do a negative quantity on a sales invoice.
Brightpearl has really cut down our order picking and processing time which is a big plus. The ability to scan items in comparison to the Goods Note has really cut down on our errors. That makes for more satisfied customers! It's also much easier to track orders that come in from different sources all in one place. That had been a very time consuming process for us before we started using Brightpearl.
The ordering system has been a challenge to get to work the way we model our business. This has a lot to do with the limited availability of some of our products. We work with many small vendors and craftsman in a niche market and many of our items are made to order or custom made. Our ordering lead times can change dramatically in a short period of time. It makes setting ordering points difficult. It's also not as intuitive to generate POs for items we need as our prior system was.
Everyone that I've interacted with at Brightpearl support is polite and friendly. Most of the tickets I submit are at least acknowledged within one business day, though occasionally it does take longer. The simple problems are solved quickly and efficiently. If they can't fix something or add a feature that we want they are always very good at explaining the why behind their answer.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Brightpearl for bookkeeping, analysis, and monthly reporting for the entire business. We use reports to assess sales and margin data by product and product category. Also we use the system to compare to budgeted and prior year financial and other metrics. We typically export reports into Microsoft Excel and then manipulate and format the data further in the MS Office suite.
  • Simple sales reporting
  • Simple financial and accounting reporting
  • The ability to do forensic ad hoc analysis for specific business problems/questions.
  • Scenario analysis would be a helpful addition
Simple small businesses, particularly retail business, are well suited for this product.

If you need complex accounting software, Brightpearl probably isn't your best option.
The support is generally pretty good, but sometimes it can take a while to get a resolution.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire organization uses it - accounting department, sales department, lab, and shipping department. Orders are entered and then they are sent to the lab for production, once completed they go to the shipping department and the products are shipped to customers. Then the accounting department reconciles when payment is made by the customers.
  • It enables having the complete process available at a click of a button
  • It gives unlimited possibilities
  • It is very user-friendly
  • Very simple search options
  • Allows for sales, shipping, customer service and accounting info all in one system
  • System does not notify you if an order was already entered, it doesn't recognize duplication which can cause serious mistakes to be made.
  • System does not have enough searching options for my use.
  • System is limited in no. of records it holds for viewing.
  • System does not allow making changes in one place and having it reflect in another place, need to make the change in two places.
It is suited for small companies where the number of users is not too big. It is suited for a company that produces products and ships them out to customers.
I never used the customer support as when having trouble we went to our IT guy who was in direct contact with Brightpearl customer support.
Guy Wall | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Brightpearl as our ERP system to manage our multiple online brands. We find the system is comprehensive and efficient and there is usually minimal downtime. Our whole business is built on the back of Brightpearl as the supporting system and it copes with our demands with ease. While every system can be improved, Brightpearl seems to be continually striving for improvement and deals with any issues swiftly and efficiently.
  • Order processing
  • Customer contact management
  • Invoicing and cash control
  • Improvements to CRM functionality
  • Integration with Outlook
  • Better use of product catalogue
Brightpearl is fantastic to use particularly for online companies with multiple brands and sales channels as you can accurately keep track of the success of one particular brand. I find it to be a well designed and intelligent piece of software which very rarely lets itself down. We will continue to use Brightpearl for years to come.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole business by all staff members as it prevents double selling in different online and e-pos channels as well as for managing inventory, and doing all the behind the scenes accounting.
  • Live inventory management
  • Banking information importing
  • VAT calculation
  • Resolving input errors
  • No offline capability
  • No mobile app
[It is] well suited to our business that sells online, in-store and [via] telesales.
Telephone support invariably ends up with email support.
Joel Graham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Spikeball Inc., we use Brightpearl in our operations department, as a the go-between for our online sales systems and our shipping and fulfillment systems. It also serves as an inventory and accounting tool, and is used by roughly half of our employees. Brightpearl helps us to bridge the gap between several systems and keep track of numerous sales and SKUs in a simple and intuitive way.
  • Brightpearl allows you to create filters and set favorites, which enables us to view orders in different categories easily, and avoid having to scroll through numerous orders to find the ones we're looking for.
  • Brightpearl gives you the option of adding pertinent product details such as weight, dimensions, and cost to our company, which is helpful both for accounting and as an internal resource for customer support.
  • Brightpearl has great dashboards showing charts and graphs of sales sorted by channels, which is helpful for monitoring progress.
  • The processes for canceling and modifying orders can be a bit tedious, and it seems like the multi-click processes could be consolidated in a more user friendly way.
  • The order filtering feature is great, but I personally work with our international orders, and the fact that you can't create favorites for multiple countries is somewhat inconvenient.
  • Some of the connection features between Brightpearl and Amazon stores seem to have some glitches, as I've experienced while trying to link them up recently.
Brightpearl is very well suited for small-medium companies that are growing quickly and need a way to improve their operational systems and functionality to handle increasing volume of orders. Particularly if you use multiple SKUs, sales channels, and/or warehouses, the features offered by Brightpearl are excellently well suited to handle these types of needs. I don't believe Brightpearl would be very applicable for very small companies with a small number of SKUs, as many of the features offered would be unnecessary and underutilized.
The majority of the times I have personally used Brightpearl support, I have found them to be quite responsive and helpful in resolving the issue at hand. Occasionally we've arrived at somewhat of an impasse where they essentially say they're working on a new feature to resolve the issue, but can't give a specific date for when it will happen, which is understandable, albeit not ideal.
James Ewens | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BrightPearl as our main CRM/Accounting package. Our sales team uses it to sell and our warehouse team uses it to manage stock and pick/pack. We use Brightpearl to 110% of its abilities.
  • Amazing Warehouse and Dispatch process.
  • Easy to use and quick to master.
  • Simple Staff Management.
  • Accurate reporting and at-a-glance PnL.
  • Reporting! It is so much better than previous updates, but could still use a bit of extra help to manage teams.
  • Accuracy of accounting, especially VAT. It's usually accurate, but occasionally it gets things wrong.
  • Lack of Sales pipeline, although strictly speaking Brightpearl isn't designed to do this in the first place! It would just be a nice add on.
If you run a Multi-Channel business then BrightPearl is an absolute no brainer. It will save you hours and hours of time. It is well suited in any small to mid size business scenario.
Brightpearl support is excellent and they are always super helpful. We use email support and I think it's the best support in the industry. I would highly recommend Brightpearl based on its support alone.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Brightpearl to help send orders out to customers both B2B and B2C. We have Brightpearl connected to Amazon and eBay so that it connects to our inventory levels. Brightpearl has been extremely helpful and user-friendly when it comes to looking up products vs. customers vs. sales. Having the "tagging" system is extremely helpful as well when it comes to marketing. I can use the tag "samples" and "bloggers" so it does not interfere with sales.
  • Can create different "tags" that will not interfere with the sales goals. Such as "bloggers", "giveaways", or "samples".
  • You can then use those tags to see how many people you have given "samples" to or how many "bloggers" we have reached out to.
  • The fact that you can just run sales reports in a user friendly manner.
  • Sometimes, it is a little hard to load some of the sales reports. Not sure if this is on my end due to internet connection but sometimes I will have to log in and then log back out.
  • At one point we were not able to search my store names which caused quite a hassle but that ended up being fixed.
  • My Brightpearl account will not load on some occasions.
Brightpearl is well suited for smaller to medium businesses. Our company has only the 4 user plan but we should defintely be adding more onto the plan as we are adding more employees as our business grows. It may not be a great thing for large corporations just due to communication.
Our company had some issues with trying to put in customers names and nothing would come up. We contacted Brightpearl and fortunately things were resolved within a couple of days so we were able to get right back on track.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses brightpearl to organize its sales and inventory. We sell from many market places and it is very hard to follow inventory and sales for all of them, brightpearl is one of the best at making this possible. Brightpearl is very helpful and easy to use.
  • Easy for user
  • Many functions, user can do adjustments to almost everything he or she desires
  • None so far
If you are selling from only your website as a small company, that means you are not really ready for brightpearl. Brightpearl is good for managing huge quantities and a variety of market places at once. Brightpearl is easy to manage and useful for its users. I do reccomend brightpearl for companies that are trying to take the next step.
They do make sure a problem is resolved, and they reply as soon as possible.
November 30, 2016

Brightpearl Review

Robert Cooke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It allows us to combine various business functions in order to reduce time in the administration of our customers' orders, stock management, accounting and relationship management. With it being cloud based, it allows us to use it wherever/whenever. The system provides an easy user interface and an accurate audit trail of historic events.
  • Easy to use
  • Web based, can be used wherever you are
  • Links to web store and other third party applications
  • It should not show stock as "ordered" until the order has been sent, not just when it has been built
  • It should allow stock that has been ordered, but not received, to be allocated to the customer order to help manage stock better
  • It should stop forcing you to see reports that include tax incomes
There are lots of functions that I don't quite know how to use, the training received was perhaps not sufficient to truly grasp what the system can do. However now having spent time exploring, we can get the most out of the software.
It is usually very prompt and most of the time answers the question, technical questions can sometimes take too long, but as far as support goes it's pretty good.
Will Starritt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brightpearl is the hub of our business sitting at the centre of our store, website and warehousing.
  • Inventory tracking
  • Customer management
  • Integrating with 3rd party platforms
  • Better EPOS system
  • Optimised better for IPad use
  • Gmail integration
Perfect for a growing business with multiple sales channels. Good for independent retailers. Not suited to large corporates.
Quick to react and they listen to customers, all staff members have a great attitude and understand business not just software.