TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/sB/1h/VFODJ2KG8RNE.JPEGExcellent.. Highly recommend to all small e-commerce businessesOur company is broadly divided into 4 departments and Brightpearl (BP) is used by all of these to perform their tasks as detailed below: As a database of suppliers and products are on BP, purchase orders are prepared and emailed to suppliers by the purchasing department based in London, who also do inventory management on BP.Goods are GRN'd on receipt by the warehouse team based in Norfolk. They pick and pack orders from BP once processed.Customer service (CS) department is based abroad and processes orders from multiple sales channels like Ebay and Amazon (fully integrated), wholesale, web site and phone orders. CS also deals with post and pre-sales issues as BP has a full time line and customers database. Accounts department reconciles payments, manages credit control, prepares accounts and VAT returns. Finally the management team has access to all the above activities via various report to keep control and evaluate performances of the entire team.,As it has all the functionality in one software like inventory, sales, accounting etc., it saves a lot of time as compared to managing different systems for all business functions. Automatic order download from all marketplaces.,Need more comprehensive reporting. Could add more filters, i.e. it takes time to calculate which sales channel is making more profits, which geographical area is giving more orders etc.,9,It has definitely improved ROI as we are spending less time doing manual tasks like orders download, then uploading on [our] stock management system, doing payment reconciliation on different accounting software and then spending less time finding details of customers in case there is an issue.,NetSuite,7,8,9Solid Inventory Accounting SoftwareBrightpearl is primarily being used for its inventory capabilities. The sales invoicing and other accounting functions, along with the multiple currency facilities makes this software a comprehensive package - only limited by the lack of payroll processing. Importing bank transactions via CSV files is very easy, making the reconciliation process relatively simple; the only issue we have experienced is that of making corrections or adjustments on sales invoices - being a double entry accounting system makes this more complicated than other accounting software that I have used. Having said that though, Brightpearl have provided the best support service that I have experienced in a software provider, to help with any corrections.,Tracking Inventory, Sales Order and Invoice Creation Importing bank transactions for accounting purposes is fairly easy Tracking customer activity, and ability to store all communications with customers in the Time Line is very good Sending monthly statements is very easy The Timeline that tracks activity for the customer is a fantastic tool for allowing all users to see exactly what is happening with the Customer's account, and the notes facility with the event reminder for follow up is very useful for chasing up debtors or using as a reminder to action an outstanding issue for the customer; especially when the event list is used as your home page.,The double entry accounting for Sales Credits creates an entry on the Statement that Customers can find confusing. Inability to order large volumes of stock on one purchase order is a big problem; the limitation on lines for an order is also very restrictive and causes the system to crash too often when close to being reached. The supplier invoice has to be split across multiple orders as a result. Adjusting payment terms manually all the time is annoying, as the default is 30 days and required you to over write the full date when inputting purchases with different terms.,10,5,10,The user interface is quite simple and easily navigated. The cost of the product is very competitive, especially with the inventory capabilities. The ineffective initial training was a problem, causing delays in processing some work. The double accounting system makes adjustments tricky; other systems automatically do both sides of a transaction and you don't necessarily see it; while this is quite evident in the Brightpearl ledger and can make it tricky for the non-accounting minded to follow.,MYOB and Xero,MYOB, Asana, TrelloBrightpearl - We love it!Brightpearl has revolutionised how we generate quotes, place orders and invoice within MJ Visual. The quotation procedure is now straightforward with minimal effort. Invoicing is also very straightforward too. No guesswork is needed now as all the "special" pricing information is on the system and you don't have to rely on one experienced individual any more. You have accurate pricing, simple templates, easy to operate software, significant savings in time and customers surprised at the turnaround time of a quotation. It has had the added benefit of making our employees understand our business better and become more involved in it too.,Consistant look to all documentation. You create your document templates to suit your business. The consistency across all documents is very much addressing the "corporate" look. Ease of invoicing. All staff are able to invoice directly - even on site at the completion of the job. This makes your staff realise they are responsible for making the business work better together. Saving time. [Previously] Shouting across the office for the latest price for a widget [would] usually return 2-3 differing values. [Now] Hunting for the correct price is as simple as pressing a button.,The biggest issue with Brightpearl is the lack of ability to create options within a quotation. Sometimes we need to quote alternative products and there is no easy way to do this and make the quotation look good.,10,6,8,Brightpearl has increased our abilities to accurately quote existing customers in seconds and have an email delivered in minutes. Brightpearl has meant hidden pricing information is available to all. No one keeps special pricing to themselves anymore. We use much less paper now than we ever have. Options within quotations are harder to create usually with a lot of text needed in the customer letter,9Brightpearl: A Great Tool for Growing CompaniesAt Spikeball Inc., we use Brightpearl in our operations department, as a the go-between for our online sales systems and our shipping and fulfillment systems. It also serves as an inventory and accounting tool, and is used by roughly half of our employees. Brightpearl helps us to bridge the gap between several systems and keep track of numerous sales and SKUs in a simple and intuitive way.,Brightpearl allows you to create filters and set favorites, which enables us to view orders in different categories easily, and avoid having to scroll through numerous orders to find the ones we're looking for. Brightpearl gives you the option of adding pertinent product details such as weight, dimensions, and cost to our company, which is helpful both for accounting and as an internal resource for customer support. Brightpearl has great dashboards showing charts and graphs of sales sorted by channels, which is helpful for monitoring progress.,The processes for canceling and modifying orders can be a bit tedious, and it seems like the multi-click processes could be consolidated in a more user friendly way. The order filtering feature is great, but I personally work with our international orders, and the fact that you can't create favorites for multiple countries is somewhat inconvenient. Some of the connection features between Brightpearl and Amazon stores seem to have some glitches, as I've experienced while trying to link them up recently.,8,7,6,It has allowed us to consolidate our use of systems which results in better employee efficiency. It has helped bridge the gap between our sales and fulfillment systems, which allows for smoother operational functionality. It has helped our company experience less growing pains as we have seen our volume increasing but been able to continue using the same system successfully.Brightpearl makes your day brighterThe entire organization uses it - accounting department, sales department, lab, and shipping department. Orders are entered and then they are sent to the lab for production, once completed they go to the shipping department and the products are shipped to customers. Then the accounting department reconciles when payment is made by the customers.,It enables having the complete process available at a click of a button It gives unlimited possibilities It is very user-friendly Very simple search options Allows for sales, shipping, customer service and accounting info all in one system,System does not notify you if an order was already entered, it doesn't recognize duplication which can cause serious mistakes to be made. System does not have enough searching options for my use. System is limited in no. of records it holds for viewing. System does not allow making changes in one place and having it reflect in another place, need to make the change in two places.,6,2,,As an admin person in my company, I have no access to [ROI] but can say that work is much more efficient with the use of brightpearl. The use of system saves us a lot of time, all the info we previously had to manually access is now available at a click of a button.
Windows, Mac
Brightpearl
279 Ratings
Score 7.3 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Brightpearl Reviews

Brightpearl
279 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.3 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 279 vetted Brightpearl reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 148)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Ranjit Longani profile photo
June 19, 2017

Brightpearl Review: "Excellent.. Highly recommend to all small e-commerce businesses"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is broadly divided into 4 departments and Brightpearl (BP) is used by all of these to perform their tasks as detailed below:

  • As a database of suppliers and products are on BP, purchase orders are prepared and emailed to suppliers by the purchasing department based in London, who also do inventory management on BP.
  • Goods are GRN'd on receipt by the warehouse team based in Norfolk. They pick and pack orders from BP once processed.
  • Customer service (CS) department is based abroad and processes orders from multiple sales channels like Ebay and Amazon (fully integrated), wholesale, web site and phone orders. CS also deals with post and pre-sales issues as BP has a full time line and customers database.
  • Accounts department reconciles payments, manages credit control, prepares accounts and VAT returns.
  • Finally the management team has access to all the above activities via various report to keep control and evaluate performances of the entire team.
  • As it has all the functionality in one software like inventory, sales, accounting etc., it saves a lot of time as compared to managing different systems for all business functions.
  • Automatic order download from all marketplaces.
  • Need more comprehensive reporting. Could add more filters, i.e. it takes time to calculate which sales channel is making more profits, which geographical area is giving more orders etc.
Read Ranjit Longani's full review
Tracy Cooksey profile photo
April 11, 2017

Brightpearl Review: "Solid Inventory Accounting Software"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brightpearl is primarily being used for its inventory capabilities. The sales invoicing and other accounting functions, along with the multiple currency facilities makes this software a comprehensive package - only limited by the lack of payroll processing.

Importing bank transactions via CSV files is very easy, making the reconciliation process relatively simple; the only issue we have experienced is that of making corrections or adjustments on sales invoices - being a double entry accounting system makes this more complicated than other accounting software that I have used.

Having said that though, Brightpearl have provided the best support service that I have experienced in a software provider, to help with any corrections.
  • Tracking Inventory, Sales Order and Invoice Creation
  • Importing bank transactions for accounting purposes is fairly easy
  • Tracking customer activity, and ability to store all communications with customers in the Time Line is very good
  • Sending monthly statements is very easy
  • The Timeline that tracks activity for the customer is a fantastic tool for allowing all users to see exactly what is happening with the Customer's account, and the notes facility with the event reminder for follow up is very useful for chasing up debtors or using as a reminder to action an outstanding issue for the customer; especially when the event list is used as your home page.
  • The double entry accounting for Sales Credits creates an entry on the Statement that Customers can find confusing.
  • Inability to order large volumes of stock on one purchase order is a big problem; the limitation on lines for an order is also very restrictive and causes the system to crash too often when close to being reached. The supplier invoice has to be split across multiple orders as a result.
  • Adjusting payment terms manually all the time is annoying, as the default is 30 days and required you to over write the full date when inputting purchases with different terms.
Brightpearl suits businesses with an inventory system where stock is not ordered well in advance (such as from overseas), and where purchase orders are greater in volume and not large in size.
It is very well priced compared to similiar products, and the new pricing structure offering unlimited users is a huge advantage over competitors.
The support team at Brightpearl is fantastic and are so accommodating and easy to understand.
Read Tracy Cooksey's full review
Steve Hardy profile photo
April 10, 2017

User Review: "Brightpearl - We love it!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brightpearl has revolutionised how we generate quotes, place orders and invoice within MJ Visual. The quotation procedure is now straightforward with minimal effort. Invoicing is also very straightforward too. No guesswork is needed now as all the "special" pricing information is on the system and you don't have to rely on one experienced individual any more. You have accurate pricing, simple templates, easy to operate software, significant savings in time and customers surprised at the turnaround time of a quotation. It has had the added benefit of making our employees understand our business better and become more involved in it too.
  • Consistant look to all documentation.
  • You create your document templates to suit your business. The consistency across all documents is very much addressing the "corporate" look.
  • Ease of invoicing.
  • All staff are able to invoice directly - even on site at the completion of the job.
  • This makes your staff realise they are responsible for making the business work better together.
  • Saving time.
  • [Previously] Shouting across the office for the latest price for a widget [would] usually return 2-3 differing values. [Now] Hunting for the correct price is as simple as pressing a button.
  • The biggest issue with Brightpearl is the lack of ability to create options within a quotation.
  • Sometimes we need to quote alternative products and there is no easy way to do this and make the quotation look good.
Brightpearl is very well suited to a mobile workforce as well as a large office based one. Being cloud based it allows your direct sales guys instant access to the same information as your internal guys. Technical sales teams will benefit from instantly accessing relevant data and rapidly building quotations on site.
Read Steve Hardy's full review
Joel Graham profile photo
December 15, 2016

Review: "Brightpearl: A Great Tool for Growing Companies"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Spikeball Inc., we use Brightpearl in our operations department, as a the go-between for our online sales systems and our shipping and fulfillment systems. It also serves as an inventory and accounting tool, and is used by roughly half of our employees. Brightpearl helps us to bridge the gap between several systems and keep track of numerous sales and SKUs in a simple and intuitive way.
  • Brightpearl allows you to create filters and set favorites, which enables us to view orders in different categories easily, and avoid having to scroll through numerous orders to find the ones we're looking for.
  • Brightpearl gives you the option of adding pertinent product details such as weight, dimensions, and cost to our company, which is helpful both for accounting and as an internal resource for customer support.
  • Brightpearl has great dashboards showing charts and graphs of sales sorted by channels, which is helpful for monitoring progress.
  • The processes for canceling and modifying orders can be a bit tedious, and it seems like the multi-click processes could be consolidated in a more user friendly way.
  • The order filtering feature is great, but I personally work with our international orders, and the fact that you can't create favorites for multiple countries is somewhat inconvenient.
  • Some of the connection features between Brightpearl and Amazon stores seem to have some glitches, as I've experienced while trying to link them up recently.
Brightpearl is very well suited for small-medium companies that are growing quickly and need a way to improve their operational systems and functionality to handle increasing volume of orders. Particularly if you use multiple SKUs, sales channels, and/or warehouses, the features offered by Brightpearl are excellently well suited to handle these types of needs. I don't believe Brightpearl would be very applicable for very small companies with a small number of SKUs, as many of the features offered would be unnecessary and underutilized.
Read Joel Graham's full review
Anat Reshef profile photo
December 20, 2016

User Review: "Brightpearl makes your day brighter"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire organization uses it - accounting department, sales department, lab, and shipping department. Orders are entered and then they are sent to the lab for production, once completed they go to the shipping department and the products are shipped to customers. Then the accounting department reconciles when payment is made by the customers.
  • It enables having the complete process available at a click of a button
  • It gives unlimited possibilities
  • It is very user-friendly
  • Very simple search options
  • Allows for sales, shipping, customer service and accounting info all in one system
  • System does not notify you if an order was already entered, it doesn't recognize duplication which can cause serious mistakes to be made.
  • System does not have enough searching options for my use.
  • System is limited in no. of records it holds for viewing.
  • System does not allow making changes in one place and having it reflect in another place, need to make the change in two places.
It is suited for small companies where the number of users is not too big. It is suited for a company that produces products and ships them out to customers.
Read Anat Reshef's full review
Guy Wall profile photo
December 19, 2016

Brightpearl Review: "Brilliant for Multi-Channel eCommerce"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Brightpearl as our ERP system to manage our multiple online brands. We find the system is comprehensive and efficient and there is usually minimal downtime. Our whole business is built on the back of Brightpearl as the supporting system and it copes with our demands with ease. While every system can be improved, Brightpearl seems to be continually striving for improvement and deals with any issues swiftly and efficiently.
  • Order processing
  • Customer contact management
  • Invoicing and cash control
  • Improvements to CRM functionality
  • Integration with Outlook
  • Better use of product catalogue
Brightpearl is fantastic to use particularly for online companies with multiple brands and sales channels as you can accurately keep track of the success of one particular brand. I find it to be a well designed and intelligent piece of software which very rarely lets itself down. We will continue to use Brightpearl for years to come.
Read Guy Wall's full review
No photo available
March 29, 2017

Brightpearl Review: "Unhappy"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Shopify for our back-end inventory solution and integrate with Shopify for web sales and Shipstation for shipping.
It used by one department that needs it the most. We were going to manage all department merchandise inventory with one system, but there have been serious issues with Brightpearl for us, and the way that Sales assured us would work for us did not turn out to be true, so we halted our org-wide implementation.
  • It tracks inventory.
  • We have experienced many errors and have not been satisfied with the product or support.
  • There were specific requirements that we had for our inventory solution. We were assured by the salesperson and sale engineer that BrightPearl would meet those requirements, but we found after the fact that it did not.
  • The implementation was troubled. The Brightpearl implementer did not complete the implementation, there were many errors, and the implementation closer had to re-do many things in a rush to get us online.
  • We've has serious issues with the Shopify integration from flat out service failure to inventory sync. Issues that we were told by sales would work a certain way but they do not.
  • Support for picking from specific inventory location or change default inventory location rather than FIFO model.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 29, 2017

Review: "Brightpearl is useful, but it needs work."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At CGPhones there are at least 15 employees who use Brightpearl. I personally use Brightpearl to process returns. I search the name of the customer in sales, then I find their order number and open the order. I then check off the purchases that the customer is returning and clone them to sales credits. Then I check the cost to make sure it's correct, save it, credit the customer and accept the product back into inventory. Sometimes I may start a new line and accept the product back into PTG so that it can be checked and repaired before being placed back into active inventory. I also use it to look up contact information for customers; either addresses if I need to request a prepaid shipping label from the shipping department or the phone number and email if I need to send contact info to one of our wholesale representatives or email a customer myself. I also use it to allocate products for an order when someone sends back a return and wants a replacement. The sales department uses it to allocate products for large orders. The inventory department uses it to accept in the inventory. In addition, it is connected to our eBay account so that when a customer places an order, the product is automatically allocated under their name with their contact info. The issues that we have with brightpearl are that it doesn't always save the bin number or cost when we are changing the information for a product. It doesn't always allocate products which means sometimes we oversell. And if you try to search for a name and it is slightly misspelled or you need to include a middle name, you receive no results. One of the major issues we have is that we can't find a way to figure out how much credit a wholesale customer currently has in their account. Those are all of the current issues I can think of that would helpful if they were addressed.
  • It's very easy to learn and pretty self explanatory.
  • It connects many different departments so that we can all view each other's work and not have to repeat processes.
  • It allows me to look up information in many different ways.
  • It doesn't always save our work, like prices, bins and amounts.
  • It doesn't always allocate properly which causes us to oversell.
  • It won't allow more than 10 people to sign in at a time which prevents all of the employees that need it from being able to access it at the same time.
As a database overall, I think it is very well suited for our business. I only wish that it was easier to learn the more in depth aspects of the program so that we can put it to even further good use. Like we can't figure out how much credit our wholesale customers have in order to tell them how much they can spend on their next wholesale order.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 21, 2016

User Review: "Brightpearl really does shine!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brightpearl is being used across the entire company. We use it to process our online orders, in store orders, phone orders, and manage our inventory. We don't currently use the accounting modules, but we do use the reports it generates to do our own accounting with it. Brightpearl solves the problem of tracking orders from multiple platforms. It does it all in one spot and makes keeping track of orders much easier. In particular, it really has helped us gain better control of our Amazon orders. We've cut down the time spent on Seller Central orders by over 50%.
  • Organizing orders from multiple platforms.
  • Keeping track of customer orders and interactions with the customers.
  • Batch printing and processing of orders.
  • The integration with Ship Station is very good.
  • Management of goods notes, having to go to different spots to do different things with the GN is time consuming. Particularly if you have to delete one, there is no way to do it within the order.
  • Fixing payments and the allocation of payments when something was changed is clunky.
  • Finding information can be difficult, not all of the reports are intuitive.
  • Exchanges are difficult in the Brightpearl system. There is no way to do a negative quantity on a sales invoice.
Brightpearl has really cut down our order picking and processing time which is a big plus. The ability to scan items in comparison to the Goods Note has really cut down on our errors. That makes for more satisfied customers! It's also much easier to track orders that come in from different sources all in one place. That had been a very time consuming process for us before we started using Brightpearl.
The ordering system has been a challenge to get to work the way we model our business. This has a lot to do with the limited availability of some of our products. We work with many small vendors and craftsman in a niche market and many of our items are made to order or custom made. Our ordering lead times can change dramatically in a short period of time. It makes setting ordering points difficult. It's also not as intuitive to generate POs for items we need as our prior system was.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 21, 2016

Review: "Brightpearl - a good accounting/sales reporting solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Brightpearl for bookkeeping, analysis, and monthly reporting for the entire business. We use reports to assess sales and margin data by product and product category. Also we use the system to compare to budgeted and prior year financial and other metrics. We typically export reports into Microsoft Excel and then manipulate and format the data further in the MS Office suite.
  • Simple sales reporting
  • Simple financial and accounting reporting
  • The ability to do forensic ad hoc analysis for specific business problems/questions.
  • Scenario analysis would be a helpful addition
Simple small businesses, particularly retail business, are well suited for this product.

If you need complex accounting software, Brightpearl probably isn't your best option.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 29, 2016

Brightpearl: "Bright PEARL review"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used as a business wide ERP. Worst ERP I have used. It is difficult to perform stock transfers. Cost of stock not valued properly. Orders on hand not showing correctly. Difficult to upload orders.
  • Communications.
  • Basic reports.
  • Stock accuracy.
  • Detailed reports.
  • No API link.
[Brightpearl is well suited for] Really small basic companies. Not suitable for multi channel, multi currency, growing companies. Not user friendly. Customer service are OK, though, when there is a problem. I wouldn't recommend for a large company over 5m. We are moving across to SAP as soon as possible.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 15, 2016

User Review: "Brightpearl brightens up our day."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole business by all staff members as it prevents double selling in different online and e-pos channels as well as for managing inventory, and doing all the behind the scenes accounting.
  • Live inventory management
  • Banking information importing
  • VAT calculation
  • Resolving input errors
  • No offline capability
  • No mobile app
[It is] well suited to our business that sells online, in-store and [via] telesales.
Read this authenticated review
James Ewens profile photo
December 14, 2016

User Review: "Brightpearl 3 years later!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BrightPearl as our main CRM/Accounting package.
Our sales team uses it to sell and our warehouse team uses it to manage stock and pick/pack.
We use Brightpearl to 110% of its abilities.
  • Amazing Warehouse and Dispatch process.
  • Easy to use and quick to master.
  • Simple Staff Management.
  • Accurate reporting and at-a-glance PnL.
  • Reporting! It is so much better than previous updates, but could still use a bit of extra help to manage teams.
  • Accuracy of accounting, especially VAT. It's usually accurate, but occasionally it gets things wrong.
  • Lack of Sales pipeline, although strictly speaking Brightpearl isn't designed to do this in the first place! It would just be a nice add on.
If you run a Multi-Channel business then BrightPearl is an absolute no brainer. It will save you hours and hours of time.
It is well suited in any small to mid size business scenario.
Read James Ewens's full review
Daniel Ewers profile photo
September 07, 2016

Review: "Brightpearl offering a Brighter tomorrow"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Brightpearl for marketing, sales, manufacturing, purchasing, inventory management and shipping. It is widely used across our whole organization as a daily tool to complete all necessary tasks to generate new customers and sales. From start to finish of an order process Birghtpearl does a very efficient job of delivering a quote made by sales team member into an order produced by a client services representative. Those orders are then given to the production or warehouse team to be produced or shipped out if the product is already on hand. The strengths I see in Brightpearl is the seamless transition from stage to stage in the order process. Being able to pick and allocate material from on hand stock, and then have the remaining material either set on back order or purchased for creation from Vendor as a drop shipment is something that is very helpful. We do see sometimes that on the inventory side of things not being able to edit quantities into fractional amounts is something that is a negative, as we have a lot bulk material that is measured in weights.
  • Organizing Client Information.
  • Key component to a successful marketing campaign
  • Simplify the order process
  • Inventory management.
  • Purchasing.
  • Filtering for orders.
It is very appropriate for use in gathering and keeping a detailed list of client information for future orders and current orders. It is also suited for taking that information and generating a list of customers to include in a marketing campaign. I would suggest brightpearl would be less appropriate for a business that has a very small list of clients, and deals mainly with loose bulk material.
Read Daniel Ewers's full review
Izzy Raskin profile photo
September 02, 2016

Brightpearl Review: "ERP Software that does everything we ask of it"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brightpearl is used by our whole organization, and manages inventory, purchase orders, sales, profit analysis, costs of goods, FIFO price accuracy, and landed costs. It assigns a price to each product, which follows it through its life cycle, from purchase, to transfer, to draft, to sale price. It helps us know the exact value of all of our products in all of our physical warehouses.
  • Assigning a cost to each product. We purchase at different costs, and each sale gets allocated a cost from the purchase order.
  • Audit trail - Each product has a full audit trail with references. Each addition comes with a linked purchase order, each subtraction comes with a linked sales order, and each transfer has the costs of goods associated.
  • Sales channel aggregation - we sell on multiple sales channels, and the products are in multiple physical warehouses. The sales come through from a variety of reporting methods. Brightpearl assigns each channel its own data, and displays all sales in a central dashboard.
  • Filtering - All products and sales can be filtered by sales channel, location, type, category, warehouse and many others. It provides an invaluable real- time snapshot of inventory allocations.
  • Customer support - In my role as power user and troubleshooter, I am in contact with a support agent on average 3 times a week, and each time they are knowledgeable, responsive, and competent. All questions are answered, and issues are fixed immediately.
  • Warehouse workflow - Sales are consolidated into goods notes, allowing the warehouse to print a consolidated pick list organized by bay, and then print all the packing lists, on which the order items are clearly displayed.
  • Purchasing - POs are made within the system and emailed from the system. They can then be received and allocated from within.
  • Product Organization - Each product can be made with all of its important information, and similar items can be sorted by option value. It's clean and elegant.
  • Transfers - Brightpearl is aware of this limitation and is working on it for its next release. The process is extra long, requiring unnecessary steps.
  • Bundles - We sell products in multiple package sizes, and anything requiring bundling needs too much physical work. Allocation, transfers, and reporting needs to be automated.
  • Search - The search function requires exact spelling and there is no universal search. You need to decide what you are searching for (e.g. products, customers, sales, vendors etc.) before searching. Additionally, it isn't easy to search for an option value within a product when making bundles or transfers. You must search for the parent item and then look around until your item is found.
  • Sale Creation - to make a sale from scratch takes a lot of time and effort. It is better for recording sales than making them.
It is perfectly suited for a mid-size company which sells in multiple places and on multiple platforms. It takes care of managing inventory, making purchases, recording the sales and booking all payments.

Smaller companies may not require its functions, and larger companies may use more software which is project specific. This does all things for all people very well, and I am very happy with it.
Read Izzy Raskin's full review
Gary Murray profile photo
August 24, 2016

Review: "Brightpearl is exactly what we've been loking for!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Leader Stores is a true multichannel retailer, selling on three Visualsoft web stores, a showroom in Hartlepool and via eBay and Amazon marketplaces. With an enormous range of stock covering 92 brands, all ranging from traditional to contemporary designs. Leader Stores is known for helping their customers turn a house into a home, at unbeatable prices. Leader Stores have created three different web stores to reflect the array of products it offers online. To manage multiple websites that attract thousands of visitors daily and thousands of orders monthly, Leader needed to partner with a retail management software company and decided to go with Brightpearl.
  • With Brightpearl we can accurately see profit margins down to order level so we can discount where possible to offer the best prices. Brightpearl’s analytics gives us the ability to create customisable reports that deliver the insights we need to make performance-driven business decisions right down to the product level.
  • We now only stock products which make business sense. We’ve cut down the amount of products we stock saving us warehouse space, and we can easily raise POs within Brightpearl when stock is getting low. We’ve also been able to optimize our shipping costs - we’re now offering appealing prices with the ability to ship further away to destinations like Scotland at a much better price for the customer.
  • Repricing products is easy with Brightpearl and we no longer have to physically check what’s in stock as we can see everything at a click of a button. We’re saving a huge amount of time, about 35 hours per month, as Brightpearl has streamlined our processes allowing us to focus on optimizing and growing the business.
  • Brightpearl doesn't allow you to archive OLD products which are no longer in use, so they show up in reporting.
  • Brightpearl would benefit from more reports, more robust reports as well which allow you to analyse even more data.
  • Brightpearl doesn't allow you to trigger emails when stock on certain products is running low. We have low inventory reports but would like emails when selected products are low on stock.
Brightpearl has been great for us so far, we have much improved customer service levels due to improved stock and inventory levels. We also can accurately display stock levels on our sites as their integration allows the stock to sync across platforms, this allows us to integrate with Visualsoft (our websites), Amazon, eBay and a showroom with an ePos. Brightpearl is probably best suited to businesses where all stock is dispatched from their own location and can struggle with business a bit when drop-shipping from external suppliers is involved.
Read Gary Murray's full review
Robert Cooke profile photo
November 30, 2016

"Brightpearl Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It allows us to combine various business functions in order to reduce time in the administration of our customers' orders, stock management, accounting and relationship management. With it being cloud based, it allows us to use it wherever/whenever. The system provides an easy user interface and an accurate audit trail of historic events.
  • Easy to use
  • Web based, can be used wherever you are
  • Links to web store and other third party applications
  • It should not show stock as "ordered" until the order has been sent, not just when it has been built
  • It should allow stock that has been ordered, but not received, to be allocated to the customer order to help manage stock better
  • It should stop forcing you to see reports that include tax incomes
There are lots of functions that I don't quite know how to use, the training received was perhaps not sufficient to truly grasp what the system can do. However now having spent time exploring, we can get the most out of the software.
Read Robert Cooke's full review
Will Starritt profile photo
November 29, 2016

Brightpearl Review: "Perfect for growing businesses"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brightpearl is the hub of our business sitting at the centre of our store, website and warehousing.
  • Inventory tracking
  • Customer management
  • Integrating with 3rd party platforms
  • Better EPOS system
  • Optimised better for IPad use
  • Gmail integration
Perfect for a growing business with multiple sales channels. Good for independent retailers. Not suited to large corporates.
Read Will Starritt's full review
Scott Dobson profile photo
July 13, 2016

Review: "IT Distributor using Brightpearl to grown their business"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloud Distribution is a networking and security distribution business selling solutions to partners, resellers and service providers. We use Brightpearl to manage stock, multi-currency, invoicing and other accounting functions. Our sales force also uses Brightpearl to provide quotations to our clients. The real benefit we find from using the system is the simplicity of sending and tracking quotations and pipeline.
  • Quotations are very easy to stage, track and re-configure. We regularly re-use issued quotes and edit them, on the fly, which Brightpearl does really well.
  • The accounting function is bullet proof 'if' you spend time and effort ensuring your processes are logical. We spent many hours working on this element of the platform but now it's in place, it tends to provide near perfect P&L data.
  • The fact that BP is cloud based makes it simple to get your hands on important information any time, any place, any where.
  • Reporting is a well known area of Brightpearl which needs a lot of work. When creating or editing reports, the one thing you need to report on is, more often than not, missing which is very frustrating.
  • URL changes on each release make bookmarking a pain in the back side. I know there's a start URL but Brightpearl is the only platform I've ever worked with, and we work with many being a cloud distributor, which changes its underlying URL each time it releases new code. This needs to be fixed.
  • There seems to be an ongoing issue with PDF creating in the quotation engine whereby, for unknown reasons, PDFs end up being 0kb in size and are useless. We've raised this many times as I am sure others have also, but it keeps coming back.
  • Exporting and Importing products in particular is a time consuming and complex process made all the more difficult with restrictions on SKU counts and column naming issues. This needs more work for sure.
It suits our business and we certainly aren't the target audience. I guess the larger you are as a business the more ERP enterprise class software you need so SMB is a good place for Brightpearl to focus.
Read Scott Dobson's full review
Palma Tiberi profile photo
October 28, 2016

Brightpearl Review: "Great software, but can be slow."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BP for ordering and accounting in our business.
Our software program communicates with BP to input our skus and the buyers create POs. The warehouse then checks the items we receive into the POs and our accounting team reconciles the POs in BP.
  • Brightpearl does a good job of tracking when items were received.
  • It allows for customized notes in almost all functions so you can adapt the functions to perfectly meet your needs.
  • Our largest issue with Brightpearl is the loading time. It can take up to 2-3 mins to save or load a page at times, even with high-speed internet.
  • The other thing we wish Brightpearl would implement is tracking users. Rather than just telling what time an item was checked in, I would like to see the time and the Brightpearl user that checked it in.
Brightpearl is a great ordering system for any company. They allow you to customize the ordering pages and place the orders directly in the software. It seems to be keyed towards smaller companies. When we had 15-25 employees, it worked perfectly for us. As we grow, it is not able to keep up with as many of our needs.
Read Palma Tiberi's full review
Sam Atakhanov profile photo
October 28, 2016

Brightpearl: "My SAAS ERP review. What a battle it was to find a perfect software to run a business."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company has four full-time users of Brightpearl on a daily basis. It is used for sales, CRM, inventory management and accounting. Brightpearl allows us to run our business smoothly and have all of our records in one place.
  • I particularly enjoy the sales flow that Brightpearl has. From adding a new prospect lead and converting a quote to a sale - it's as easy as few clicks.
  • Intuitive user experience, SAAS (ability to work from any PC+internet).
  • Inventory management, and ability to work with Shipstation which makes shipping process very easy.
  • Multiple sales channel integrations. Whether you are selling on Amazon or your own ecommerce website, Brightpearl allows you to funnel the sales and easily import them into the the system without a need of manual data entry.
  • iOS App. A few times on my business trip I tried to check inventory or shoot a sales quote to my customer from my phone, and it was practically impossible. A simple phone app that will allow us to check stock, create a customer and sale would be great!
Brightpearl allows a small businesses to have all the tools that high-end ERPs offer but at a fraction of the price!
Read Sam Atakhanov's full review
Susie Sebastian profile photo
October 18, 2016

"BrightPearl Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for all of our sales channels to manage inventory, sales, and customer service. We have it integrated with Shopify, Amazon, eBay, and ShipStation.
  • Allows our team to place orders directly into the system.
  • Managing bundle inventory and building them easily. I would like to see how many bundles are available based on the products within it. Also, if I were to look at a specific product, see if it is part of a bundle so if we are going out of stock or discontinue I can replace it.
  • Bulk updating details for products - specifically pricing and dimensions/weight
  • Integrating better with Shopify, some of the functionality gets lost with updates and it takes a while for an update
  • It takes a while to get support tickets taken care of. I usually get no response or a response that isn't helpful or informative.
  • Updating variants easily for products.
I think it has a lot of good tools but there are a few things that are a bit annoying. I've only been using BP since March so I don't know how to fully utilize the tools or updates but I have used other management tools and see room for improvement.
Read Susie Sebastian's full review
Jackie Piper profile photo
October 14, 2016

Review: "The world is your oyster with Brightpearl!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a product design company that designs and manufactures kitchen and tabletop products. Brightpearl is central to our business. Our inventory/pricelists/customer information are all wonderfully connected in a system that is easy to use and gives a clarity to all aspects required to run an efficient business. Its connectivity to other software around the business (Shopify/Amazon etc.) increases its reach and the ability to do more with less!
  • Cloud based. A given now but not all programs like this are.
  • CRM is good and the ability to add notes and information so everyone can see what is going on with a customer.
  • The accountancy side has some excellent features (which I do not use) but which our accountant constantly loves.
  • Seems to have just enough features/ability without being overloaded/over complicated (many other systems seem to do too much and have functions you may never need which obscure the features you do.
  • The email pane where you email an invoice out of - it would be good to be able to add additional documents or PDFs here like a catalogue & price list - it does not seem that you can.
  • Some of the templates are a bit hard to understand - how they will look when you have populated them - is sometimes not what you think it will be.
  • Have customer card file info connect better if you update info in that part to the other parts - they do not seem to link.
Brightpearl is fantastic for small businesses and I imagine big ones too. Does it work well on tablets? I am not sure but would hope it could or would (don't always have a laptop).
Read Jackie Piper's full review
James Murphy profile photo
October 14, 2016

Brightpearl Review: "Easy to use cloud system with extensive support"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Brightpearl in conjunction with our clients to bridge the gap between [their] eCommerce site and Brightpearl through the Brightpearl API. The client uses it to manage all stock and products between the different routes to market, eBay, Amazon, the web and in store. The Brightpearl system addresses the issue of ease of use and interconnectivity providing a more seamless experience for all employees.
  • Ease of Use
  • Simple Reporting
  • Extendability
  • Improvements to API
Brightpearl is great for multi-channel stock management and is a good fit as a stock and channel management system for business large and small. With a little help from myself, all channels are easily managed and reported on from within the Brightpearl platform. They are constantly improving the platform as well!
Read James Murphy's full review
Russ Mellor profile photo
October 14, 2016

Review: "Brightpearl for creative manufacturing business"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cutlasercut uses Brightpearl across the entire organisation for generating quotes, invoices and job notes. Along with storing all client details / CRM and generating reporting metrics including P+L, sales and tax reports, including VAT. Our entire business relies upon it. We are a laser cutting and engraving business that does a lot of custom work, so deal with a large number of clients and transactions for the size of our business.
  • Seamless integration from quote to invoice
  • Reasonably good reporting
  • CRM functionality
  • No longer works with Gmail / Rapportive to automatically add clients from their email enquires at the touch of a button. This was the reason it was originally selected and stopped working after just a few months! Neither Brightpearl or Rapportive have been interested in fixing it and may lead us to switch to Salesforce.
  • We were told we were not a core business so were less likely to be supported in our aims and goals.
It does what it does well, but won't suit all businesses. We have been told we are not a core business and may stop being serviced / supported, which wasn't great to hear! We use Brightpearl for generating quotes, invoices and job notes. Along with storing all client details / CRM and generating reporting metrics including P+L, sales and tax reports, including VAT. We're not multichannel retailers and we don't currently make the best use of the stock control / inventory facilities.
Read Russ Mellor's full review

About Brightpearl

Brightpearl is a platform that was designed to help users manage their omnichannel business.

According to the vendor, key benefits and features include:

  • Built for retail. Brightpearl is focused on strictly on omnichannel retail, meaning that our platform and all future innovations are focused on helping our retailers become more efficient.

  • Affordable. Brightpearl is the most affordable, yet complete retail management software. Comparable systems’ subscription and implementation can be more than double the price of Brightpearl with added, unnecessary complexity.

  • Omnichannel. Brightpearl connects to Magento, Shopify, BigCommerce, Amazon, eBay and more, to help you centrally manage your omnichannel business.

  • Inventory management. We manage inventory centrally. Your inventory is held in Brightpearl and updates your channels in real time. Every time you make a sale, the quantity updates Brightpearl so your channels are always up to date.

  • Automated Accounting. Bookkeeping entries for orders, invoices and payments are automatically accounted for in Brightpearl. Eliminating the need for most manual bookkeeping.

  • A single source of truth. Brightpearl becomes the hub for managing your business. It provides real-time, accurate reports allowing you to make data-driven decisions.

Brightpearl Features

Has featureInventory management
Has featureRetail Accounting
Has featureOrder management
Has featureSupply chain management
Has featureCRM
Has featurePOS system
Has featureMultichannel integration
Has featureERP
Has featureAutomation

Brightpearl Screenshots

Brightpearl Integrations

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento), Shopify, BigCommerce, Volusion, PrestaShop, WooCommerce, Lokad, PayPal Payments, Authorize.Net, 3dcart, ShipStation, eBay, Amazon, Alibaba, ekmPowershop, Visualsoft, Shiptheory, JShop, Rakuten, Play.com, OSCommerce, Scurri, Interlink Express, Royal Mail, UPS, Cubecart, Hermes, Parcelforce, Rechannel, Stream

Brightpearl Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Entry$375Up to 1,000 orders per month
Growth$600Up to 5,000 orders per month
High Growth1,000Up to 25,000 orders per month

Brightpearl Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
85%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
15%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)Enterprises (> 500 employees)
%

Brightpearl Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Forum/Community

Brightpearl Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English