Skip to main content
TrustRadius
D2L Brightspace

D2L Brightspace

Overview

What is D2L Brightspace?

Brightspace is an academic and corporate learning management platform. It provides core e-learning features, as well as mobile accessibility and granular personalization and analytics insights.

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

D2L Brightspace has proven to be a versatile and essential tool for a wide range of users. For instructors, it has been instrumental in …
Continue reading

Love it!

9 out of 10
April 06, 2019
We use Brightspace for all of our classes. All students have access to Brightspace in order to access their classes, and many of the staff …
Continue reading

D2L does the job

8 out of 10
March 12, 2018
D2L is being used by the entire state university system. It has been, as I understand it, since 2010. The decision was made by the system …
Continue reading

My D2L Experience in Higher Ed

9 out of 10
September 30, 2015
There are 31 colleges within the MN State Colleges and Universities System (MnSCU). To improve access to higher education, Minnesota State …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Popular Features

View all 11 features
  • Learning content (9)
    9.6
    96%
  • Assignments (10)
    2.1
    21%
  • Learning reporting & analytics (10)
    2.1
    21%
  • Course authoring (10)
    2.1
    21%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is D2L Brightspace?

Brightspace is an academic and corporate learning management platform. It provides core e-learning features, as well as mobile accessibility and granular personalization and analytics insights.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

78 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is iSpring Learn?

iSpring Learn is an LMS for automating corporate training and improving employee performance.The system aims to enable users without technical skills to launch eLearning in one day without training. To start training with the platform, administrators upload learning content, assign courses, and…

What is ProProfs LMS Software?

ProProfs LMS is a learning management system software that is designed to help instructors create and deliver online training courses. The LMS offers both businesses and educational institutions comprehensive training solutions by allowing them to create online courses, complemented by tests,…

Return to navigation

Product Demos

D2L Brightspace | Tips & Tricks | How to Use Virtual Classrooms to Increase Student Engagement

YouTube

D2L Brightspace | Tips & Tricks | Using Intelligent Agents to Automate a Welcome Message

YouTube

D2L Brightspace v10.4 Creating Dropbox Folders

YouTube

D2L Brightspace v10.4 Grading Discussion Topics

YouTube

D2L Brightspace v10.4 Creating Discussion Forums

YouTube

Demo of Shuffling Quiz Questions in Brightspace

YouTube
Return to navigation

Features

Learning Management

Features of LMS and LCMS systems, related to designing, administering, and consuming learning content in an educational, corporate, or on-the-job context.

5.9
Avg 8.2
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is D2L Brightspace?

Brightspace is a learning management platform used to drive better learning outcomes by offering every learner a personalized, digital experience. From the kindergarten classroom, to college campuses, to global corporations, Brightspace aims to help create inspired and engaging learning for all.

It's key capabilities and benefits include:

  • Mobile-first design - Brightspace works on any device – whether a laptop or hand-me-down smartphone or tablet.
  • Personalized learning - Release Conditions and Intelligent Agents in Brightspace offer a high level of granularity and control over individual learning paths.
  • Teaching tools for educators and instructors.
  • Automation of routine course management tasks. ​
  • Built-in analytics to improve decision-making. ​
  • Tools like gamification, videos, badges, and others to increase learner engagement.
  • Learning experience that meet all accessibility standards.
  • Support for in-the-moment feedback as well as automation of assessments.


D2L Brightspace Features

Learning Management Features

  • Supported: Course authoring
  • Supported: Course catalog or library
  • Supported: Player/Portal
  • Supported: Learning content
  • Supported: Mobile friendly
  • Supported: Progress tracking & certifications
  • Supported: Assignments
  • Supported: Learning administration
  • Supported: Learning reporting & analytics
  • Supported: eLearning
  • Supported: Assessments
  • Supported: Live online learning
  • Supported: In-person learning
  • Supported: Micro-learning
  • Supported: Video learning
  • Supported: SCORM-compliant
  • Supported: Social learning

Additional Features

  • Supported: Social Assessment

D2L Brightspace Screenshots

Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of

D2L Brightspace Videos

D2L Brightspace 101: Building Better Learning Experiences
Establishing Student Engagement and Confidence with Brightspace Pulse
Virtual Classroom for Brightspace
D2L Brightspace for K-12 Learning

D2L Brightspace Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported CountriesGlobal
Supported LanguagesEnglish, Arabic, Danish, German, Spanish, French, Japanese, Korean, Dutch, Portuguese, Swedish, Turkish, Chinese

Frequently Asked Questions

Brightspace is an academic and corporate learning management platform. It provides core e-learning features, as well as mobile accessibility and granular personalization and analytics insights.

Blackboard Learn by Anthology, Canvas, and Schoology Learning are common alternatives for D2L Brightspace.

Reviewers rate Course catalog or library highest, with a score of 10.

The most common users of D2L Brightspace are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(77)
Loading...

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 40)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We migrated from PLS. Brightspace is much more intuitive and modern than PLS was. The ability for Brightspace to work across a range of devices (mobile, tablet, PC, Mac, etc) has been positive for our instructors and students. The main interface is straightforward and easy to jump into and get started.
John Bayerl | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
In looking at Brightspace versus its competitors currently, it continues to provide the widest functionality, great value, and better ability to tailor the user experience of it to our organizations needs. The longer that our institution has had Brightspace, the more we've been able to leverage it for one-off projects and long-term organizational needs, many of which would not have been possible if we would've had a competitor's product.
Traci Rushing | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Brightspace is by far the most user-friendly LMS I have ever used. Faculty with a lower technical skill set have an easier time navigating Brightspace features. Teaching wise, I have also found Brightspace to be easier for students to navigate than its competitors. I adjunct for another institution using Blackboard and always have students that struggle with the features and navigation of Blackboard even after hosting a zoom session to go over layout. This is rarely ever an issue for my students at my full-time institution using Brightspace.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Compared to Blackboard, Brightspace is a much more powerful application that allows instructors to share more content, customize their courses, and design courses in a more intuitive wizard style if desired. Brightspace is also designed to work well on mobile devices and scales content well when compared to the older feeling Blackboard. However, when compared to Canvas, Brightspace feels a little more antiquated given Canvas' modern feel and much more intuitive design. With Canvas, learners can easily find their courses, and instructors can design courses with certain elements only being shown when necessary. The tool also includes features such as bulk deletion, more powerful plug-and-play course designs, and a simpler UI. The only downside to Canvas was that when I used it, the LMS did not scale well on mobile devices, and our department had to instruct users to only access the website through desktops and laptops.
Joshua Melder | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Brightspace offers one of the most tailored employee engagement learning platforms in existence. My organization has utilized a multitude of employee engagement and learning platforms and Brightspace has offered one of the most customized tools that we have used thus far. We have continued with Brightspace because of the noticeable quality improvement compared to many of the previously used tools. I would highly recommend for any enterprise looking to improve employee education and engagement.
Ho'omana Nathan Horton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Although it's been some time since I used Blackboard (as a student in my undergraduate degree), it felt much more intuitive at the time than Brightspace has when I've taken or taught classes. However, I don't feel especially comfortable comparing them since it's been quite awhile and I never had the opportunity to develop or teach courses with Blackboard.
Amanda Carpenter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I used Blackboard when I was in college, but that was very little. I just used it to register for classes and to view grades. Brightspace is leaps and bounds what Blackboard was when I last used it in 2010.
March 12, 2018

D2L does the job

Tom Carlson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I have used Blackboard Learn 8 and 9. I am currently learning about Canvas. Blackboard is overall much clunkier and lacks the intuitive feel in some parts of D2L. Its grade book is much harder to control and manipulate than D2L's. Its navigation menu can be more radically modified from the default than D2L's, but this doesn't seem that useful to me. Discussions in Blackboard can be more easily reorganized than in D2L, but no grading of discussions is possible. Blackboard Assignments is a good innovation which allows markup directly in the students' submissions, but it displays student work in a confusing manner that doesn't allow for any customization, and its markup options need further tweaking. Furthermore, no rubrics can be used in Blackboard in any way to grade any kind of work (that I am aware of). Overall, I would choose D2L over Blackboard.
Laura Abercrombie | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I was not involved in the selection process for my organization since I am only a professor. However, I have worked at 2 previous organizations that have used other online LMSs, and I think overall, D2L is at the top of the list of LMSs I find the most usable.
Terri Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Desire2Learn was selected for me, but I find it to be simpler to navigate than Moodle, more intuitive. Blackboard was many years ago, but I find more flexibility in assigning due dates and end dates in the newer version of Desire2Learn.
September 23, 2015

D2L is not all BS

David Lloyd | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Comparing Desire2Learn to Blackboard Vista, I actually believe that Blackboard has a better product, although it has its own set of challenges. We changed systems because of the extremely poor customer service and high level of faculty irritation with Blackboard at the time. I have only used Canvas by Instructure on a trial basis and for testing, however my initial thoughts on the product are very positive, for whatever that is worth.
September 18, 2015

Desire2Learn rating

Erin Morrey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Desire2Learn is very good compared to Blackboard and has a lot more flexibility with presenting and organizing material. Desire2Learn is about the same as WebCT. There are similar features and while each one has its drawbacks, they are both acceptable for my current class needs. My students seem about equally comfortable with D2L and WebCT.
April 29, 2015

Desire2Learn Review

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Desire2Learn is at the top of the list in terms of a robust, fully functional Learning Management System. I think the others do have many similar features but D2L's customer service puts them at the head of the class. Blackboard has horrible customer service from my experience and are a very high pressure seller.
Michelle Fisher | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I was not part of the organization when D2L was selected so cannot comment on the selection process. I believe Blackboard is more user friendly and intuitive for faculty members. I believe both have very similar tools but D2L's main drawback is the user interface design. Faculty members who are fairly tech savvy do fine with it but still grumble about specific tools/processes. Faculty who are not tech savvy struggle with D2L.
February 06, 2015

Desiring to Learn

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Blackboard is a very solid and user friendly software, but Desire2Learn is a cleaner interface that could quickly be customized for our needs. It's learning curve was also easier making system management easier to train employees with handling course administrative tasks. Moodle is a more flexible system because of it's open source interface, but going that route would require more technical expertise to operate and manage the system. Desire2Learn provided the best of both worlds and were we able to successfully implement and use its core features.
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Desire2Learn is similar to Blackboard but with less functionality and intuitiveness in terms of use. Grading options are more limited. Desire2Learn uses a cluttered interface with many tabs and options needing to be used to create even basic assignments for upload and grading. When entering grades in Blackboard, changes are instantly saved but Desire2Learn requires you hit a Save button at the bottom of the interface. If you fail to hit save, your grade changes will not be entered.
Erik Richter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Desire2Learn is better than Blackboard because of the ease of use in addition to being able to edit items without having to click through many different windows for one item.
Desire2Learn is better than eCollege due to the simplistic nature of eCollege itself. There are more items available for Desire2Learn for the online student, different ways to present the same information that is easy for students to pick up on.
Return to navigation