TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/R1/xo/SV67TBARCNH8.JPEGComing up on a decade of working with BrontoOur marketing team is pretty small at only 2.5 (part timer) in it. We came from a bare bones ESP before Bronto that offered next to no support, and very little tracking outside of how many sends. Bronto was the upgrade that we needed to see exactly how well our emails were doing. Tracking clicks, watching interaction, and of course conversions. We create all of our email content with DreamWeaver, but it is nice to have the built-in features Bronto offers. The workflows and automation are newer features we are expanding into now (finally, ha!), and what they offer really keeps us improving. The chat support is phenomenal. They always have the right answers, right away. We love it. Never hesitant to ask chat support as they have been great from day one. Years ago we signed up for Bronto email consulting and to this day it has been the best money spent on a consultant. She was aggressive, kept us on task, and really backed up her findings/suggestions with great insight.,Chat support. They are the professionals behind those keyboards. Not asking someone else. Them. Right there. Get your answers fast and accurate. Detailed tracking information. Sends, delivered, clicks, conversions. Anything and everything you want to know about how your emails are doing is tracked. I keep my own reporting separate in an excel sheet, but they have great reporting. Automated messaging rules. Set and forget emails that hit the customer with the right information exactly when needed. The workflows allow for some REALLY cool & complex set ups too.,Scaled pricing. You get A LOT with them. Sometimes you just don't need it all. They have some a la carte features, but a lot comes with the 'basic' set up. Could be cheaper to get 'into Bronto' then. Still get a good amount for what you are paying. Being owned by a huge corp such as Oracle, there is always a little bit of bureaucracy that you just hate. Example, the invoice emails you get look so basic you would think they are spam, not for an ESP company. Nice save is you have an account rep. I talk just to them if I can. They always do a great job getting what I need.,10,Automated messages allow for sending personalized emails for order confirmation and shipping confirmation (along with a few others) easily. Easy to integrate with and send.,Offering great reporting for tracking everything. I can see what emails are working (I track on a monthly basis) and what people are clicking. A/B split testing lets us try different things. Try this and that. Creating lists and segments of subscribers lets us look at who is the best performing contacts. Really get 'into the data' and understand what is working and what is not.,mobileStorm,25,000 to 100,000,BothBronto... it's okayBronto is being used by our Marketing department with the main focus on email marketing. We do use the text message service to communicate to our employees.,The email builder is good and user-friendly and saves us time. The coupon manager is a lifesaver in its ability to generate unique barcodes. Customer service is responsive and helpful.,The UI is clunky at times and difficult to use, particularly the automation workflow process. Creating segmentations can be difficult and I find myself second guessing whenever I produce a segmentation. Although the analytics are good, I believe they could be better. I almost wish there is another layer that we could drill down when looking at our customers.,4,It really hasn't. We are very much stuck in a mass communication process. We would certainly like to expand to a more one-on-one engagement, but find it difficult to take that next step. We would like to see improvements in the UI, which I believe would solve some of these problems.,Since we a operate brick and mortar it is sometimes hard to gauge our ROI. We have seen an increase in coupon redemptions, however, we believe that is due to a change in our creative,Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio, HubSpot and Adobe Marketing Cloud,100,000 to 250,000,B2C,Hootsuite Pro, Google Analytics, Facebook for BusinessWe Love BrontoWe use Bronto to send our promotional marketing emails for our DTC business.,Overall ease of use - Other email platforms are much clunkier and require large teams to execute list segmentation. Bronto has been a more affordable and easier to use solution. Segmentation - Smart list segmentation is the cornerstone of a successful email marketing program. Bronto's segmentation functionality allows us to slice and dice lists with ease. Dynamic Content - Powerful marketing delivers the right message to the right people at the right time. With Dynamic Content we are able to provide personalized email content to our customers. Deliverability Coaching - We work one-one-one with a Bronto deliverability specialist who is able to advise on how we are showing up in inboxes--THE most important aspect of email marketing. Live Chat - Bronto has excellent customer service and a "live chat" functionality that is useful when questions arise.,Overall Strategy - Bronto is not proactive on delivering any improvements to our overall email marketing strategy and program. While I'm not sure this is part of our current package, I know that we do have the ability to engage with a strategist. However we rarely hear any personalized suggestions or recommendations on how to improve our current program. Third Party Integration - We are currently working on this with Bronto and hopefully will be an improvement coming later this year.,9,Bronto allows us to send messages to non-loyalty and loyalty customers with special content just for our Loyalty Program members.,Bronto has provided a positive ROI impact by allowing us to segment and create personalized and triggered campaign experiences with ease.,Listrak, MailChimp, Constant Contact and CommuniGator,Not available,B2C,Oracle ATG Web Commerce, BounceX, CrowdTwistAB testing is uselessBronto is used by creative to upload HTML coded emails. It is used by the email marketing manager (me) to schedule and segment those emails, as well as report on email metrics.,UI/UX,A/B testing... need to include confidence interval into the equation used to determine a winner. Currently, Bronto declares an email a winner if it has one more of the KPI, even though there's no statistical significance. Other platforms do better. A/B testing... segmentation isn't random enough. I ran multiple AA tests and there was 95% confidence one email performed better than the other... this was based off 120,000 emails measuring sent vs received. This type of test should never result in a winner with statistical significance. Data reporting... data that's able to be exported should be much more customizable. I literally waste hours transcribing certain data by hand.,4,Dynamic subject lines that include the users' name,All of our metrics have either gotten worse or stayed flat since moving to Bronto,,100,000 to 250,000,B2C,Magento, Hootsuite Pro, Google AnalyticsBronto took us from zero to hero in 2 yearsBronto is used to support sales and marketing on 2 different brand sites within 1 parent company. We send all of our promotional marketing with Bronto, as well as nurture new leads through a number of campaigns aimed to educate and convert. We also use Bronto to provide important information to customers of our top channel partner before delivery in an effort to reduce customer service calls.,The message editor is easy to learn, easy to use, and allows you to build sophisticated messages with little to no development knowledge. The available feature set has allowed us to not only significantly grow our revenue from email marketing, but also allows for years of future growth and expansion of our email marketing programs. Key to this growth is a newer feature called Recommendations which serves up real time product suggestions based on browsing and purchase data of existing customers. When needed, the Bronto support team is knowledgeable, and quick to resolve issues, help us learn a new feature, or just point us in the right direction of solving our own problems.,Reporting has been much improved in the last 12 months but still has room to improve. Often the view and format of reports varies depending on where you are looking at the data. Although the feature IS coming, we have been looking for transactional messaging for our CRM since we signed with Bronto. Given we use Netsuite, who owns Bronto, we expected this feature much sooner. More real-time and personalized content within Bronto would be welcomed.,9,We've recently implemented the Recommendations feature which is powered by browsing history and purchase data, and allows us to serve product suggestions in real-time, personalized to the lead or customer. The result has been a jump in engagement (clicks) and significant increases in overall revenue and revenue per email in a short period of time.,Email marketing revenue jumped 170% for our main brand between our first and second year leveraging the Bronto platform. 2 years ago we were not using any product or service to recover abandoned carts. In our first year with Bronto we recovered $198k, and in year 2 we recovered $314k. Our promotional emails brought in 109% more revenue after we adopted Bronto's Message Editor, which ensured all of our messages were device responsive at time of open.,25,000 to 100,000,B2C,Persado, NetSuite, Intercom
Unspecified
Bronto Marketing Platform
102 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
TRScore

Bronto Reviews

Bronto
102 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 102 vetted Bronto reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 41)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
August 01, 2018

Review: "Coming up on a decade of working with Bronto"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our marketing team is pretty small at only 2.5 (part timer) in it. We came from a bare bones ESP before Bronto that offered next to no support, and very little tracking outside of how many sends. Bronto was the upgrade that we needed to see exactly how well our emails were doing. Tracking clicks, watching interaction, and of course conversions. We create all of our email content with DreamWeaver, but it is nice to have the built-in features Bronto offers. The workflows and automation are newer features we are expanding into now (finally, ha!), and what they offer really keeps us improving. The chat support is phenomenal. They always have the right answers, right away. We love it. Never hesitant to ask chat support as they have been great from day one. Years ago we signed up for Bronto email consulting and to this day it has been the best money spent on a consultant. She was aggressive, kept us on task, and really backed up her findings/suggestions with great insight.
  • Chat support. They are the professionals behind those keyboards. Not asking someone else. Them. Right there. Get your answers fast and accurate.
  • Detailed tracking information. Sends, delivered, clicks, conversions. Anything and everything you want to know about how your emails are doing is tracked. I keep my own reporting separate in an excel sheet, but they have great reporting.
  • Automated messaging rules. Set and forget emails that hit the customer with the right information exactly when needed. The workflows allow for some REALLY cool & complex set ups too.
  • Scaled pricing. You get A LOT with them. Sometimes you just don't need it all. They have some a la carte features, but a lot comes with the 'basic' set up. Could be cheaper to get 'into Bronto' then. Still get a good amount for what you are paying.
  • Being owned by a huge corp such as Oracle, there is always a little bit of bureaucracy that you just hate. Example, the invoice emails you get look so basic you would think they are spam, not for an ESP company. Nice save is you have an account rep. I talk just to them if I can. They always do a great job getting what I need.
For companies looking to take the next step in their email marketing. Having the tracking and automated messaging of what the 'big boys' do. Bronto can do it, as we are doing it with them.
Read Johnathan Karch's full review
August 03, 2018

User Review: "Bronto... it's okay"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bronto is being used by our Marketing department with the main focus on email marketing. We do use the text message service to communicate to our employees.
  • The email builder is good and user-friendly and saves us time.
  • The coupon manager is a lifesaver in its ability to generate unique barcodes.
  • Customer service is responsive and helpful.
  • The UI is clunky at times and difficult to use, particularly the automation workflow process.
  • Creating segmentations can be difficult and I find myself second guessing whenever I produce a segmentation.
  • Although the analytics are good, I believe they could be better. I almost wish there is another layer that we could drill down when looking at our customers.
I feel Bronto has served as well as producing mass email communications and it's very helpful if you need to mass produce unique barcodes. I find it is not helpful if you are considering using it as a CRM. The automation and segment building is clunky.
Read Kevin Zalaznik's full review
August 01, 2018

User Review: "We Love Bronto"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bronto to send our promotional marketing emails for our DTC business.
  • Overall ease of use - Other email platforms are much clunkier and require large teams to execute list segmentation. Bronto has been a more affordable and easier to use solution.
  • Segmentation - Smart list segmentation is the cornerstone of a successful email marketing program. Bronto's segmentation functionality allows us to slice and dice lists with ease.
  • Dynamic Content - Powerful marketing delivers the right message to the right people at the right time. With Dynamic Content we are able to provide personalized email content to our customers.
  • Deliverability Coaching - We work one-one-one with a Bronto deliverability specialist who is able to advise on how we are showing up in inboxes--THE most important aspect of email marketing.
  • Live Chat - Bronto has excellent customer service and a "live chat" functionality that is useful when questions arise.
  • Overall Strategy - Bronto is not proactive on delivering any improvements to our overall email marketing strategy and program. While I'm not sure this is part of our current package, I know that we do have the ability to engage with a strategist. However we rarely hear any personalized suggestions or recommendations on how to improve our current program.
  • Third Party Integration - We are currently working on this with Bronto and hopefully will be an improvement coming later this year.
Bronto is a great solution for businesses of all sizes.
Read Jeanette Kozlowski's full review
July 31, 2018

Bronto Review: "AB testing is useless"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bronto is used by creative to upload HTML coded emails. It is used by the email marketing manager (me) to schedule and segment those emails, as well as report on email metrics.
  • UI/UX
  • A/B testing... need to include confidence interval into the equation used to determine a winner. Currently, Bronto declares an email a winner if it has one more of the KPI, even though there's no statistical significance. Other platforms do better.
  • A/B testing... segmentation isn't random enough. I ran multiple AA tests and there was 95% confidence one email performed better than the other... this was based off 120,000 emails measuring sent vs received. This type of test should never result in a winner with statistical significance.
  • Data reporting... data that's able to be exported should be much more customizable. I literally waste hours transcribing certain data by hand.
Bronto works fine for sending email, but it lacks in A/B testing and reporting. For what it does well, much less expensive options are available.
Read Christopher Colahan, MBA's full review
March 16, 2018

Review: "Bronto took us from zero to hero in 2 years"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bronto is used to support sales and marketing on 2 different brand sites within 1 parent company. We send all of our promotional marketing with Bronto, as well as nurture new leads through a number of campaigns aimed to educate and convert. We also use Bronto to provide important information to customers of our top channel partner before delivery in an effort to reduce customer service calls.
  • The message editor is easy to learn, easy to use, and allows you to build sophisticated messages with little to no development knowledge.
  • The available feature set has allowed us to not only significantly grow our revenue from email marketing, but also allows for years of future growth and expansion of our email marketing programs. Key to this growth is a newer feature called Recommendations which serves up real time product suggestions based on browsing and purchase data of existing customers.
  • When needed, the Bronto support team is knowledgeable, and quick to resolve issues, help us learn a new feature, or just point us in the right direction of solving our own problems.
  • Reporting has been much improved in the last 12 months but still has room to improve. Often the view and format of reports varies depending on where you are looking at the data.
  • Although the feature IS coming, we have been looking for transactional messaging for our CRM since we signed with Bronto. Given we use NetSuite, who owns Bronto, we expected this feature much sooner.
  • More real-time and personalized content within Bronto would be welcomed.
Bronto is a fantastic step-up for smaller businesses which may be using something like MailChimp or Constant Contact. There is significant room for growth after moving to the Bronto platform. A key feature/ability of Bronto is that the entire program can be managed by as little as 1 person, which is hugely important for a small business.
Read Tim Taylor's full review
March 20, 2018

User Review: "Bronto Marketing Survey"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At the company I am working at we use Bronto daily. It is a very organized software program that keeps each of our daily tasks separated nicely and provides easy access. Specifically, we use it in our e-commerce department, but other departments have used it as well. It addresses all of our e-commerce and e-marketing supplies. It has a great setup so we can check up on items from the past and add new ones every day.
  • Organized platform to quickly access what you need to use at all times.
  • Great customer and site support. Can provide help with any issues.
  • The tabs and sections on the site are detailed and helpful for data separation.
  • Could have a faster loading time, sometimes freezes for a while.
  • Have more multiple access to a few things at once, constantly having to go back then forward again.
Perfect for large businesses and corporations and not so much for smaller businesses or start-up businesses.
Read Shannon Bitzer's full review
March 20, 2018

Review: "I've been using Bronto for 1 year, check out the outcome!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used as a communication tool between marketing and final customers. Is not just for sales purposes but also to nurture the relationship between brand and customer.

Is being used only in our department for promotions, newsletters, sensitive information, etc.
  • Web forms are really useful when we are looking for new acquisition.
  • Pop-ups are really good, the fact that we can connect them to our website is pretty cool.
  • I really miss the old reporting system.
  • The fact that we need to create segments in order to get opens, not opens, clicks.. etc., from sent deliveries is kinda annoying based on the fact that before it was a lot easier to get the info.
Segmentations are sometimes really hard due to our business type
Read Katherine Morera's full review
March 16, 2018

User Review: "Long time Bronto user"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bronto is used to primarily promote ticket sales for our minor league baseball team. We do occasionally promote non-ticket events. Our primary departments that utilize Bronto are our marketing and ticketing departments. We maintain contact with our fans with digital newsletters and/or team updates with the purpose of initiating ticket sales (sometimes tickets sales may relate to individual games, other times to ticket/season packages). On rare occasions, we offer access to our Bronto email database to select sponsors of the Knights.
  • Bronto is a valuable asset to us for its ability to track ticket sales (click-thrus that amount to purchases).
  • It's a nice benefit to have the scheduling features that Bronto offers for sending email blasts to our segmented groups.
  • The email reporting is very detailed and informative and gives us valuable data about adjusting email content and delivery schedules.
  • The ability to extract user data fields to include within emails is a great feature, but sometimes it gets forgotten and is not promoted enough imo within the user portal.
  • Would like to see Bronto offer some sort of RSVP type features/services for using Bronto to manage event registration (which we send email notifications for quite often).
I personally enjoy the options to upload my own HTML or use the WYSIWYG built-in email editor. I feel I have more control over my content designing off-line and then uploading the HTML.
Read Bill Walker's full review
March 08, 2018

User Review: "Bronto is a great choice"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bronto is used to manage our email marketing campaigns, and our transnational messaging. The solution is used by the marketing department to promote events, market products, and inform customers about the status of transactions.
  • Ease to use interface
  • Constantly adding new features to platform that make the solution stay current
  • Reliable solution
  • Template Marketplace to use already formatted templates in the Template editor. Yes, you can create your own, but sometimes it'd be quick to just pick a fresh template and make a few edits without having to start from scratch each time
  • Static Blocks for the template editor - where you can save re-usable html content, not just images
  • Hosting fees for images fees - it's ridiculous how much or that this is even a fee considering how cheap storage space is these days
Bronto is a perfect fit for a retail eCommerce merchant. It has "out of the box" campagin options for the basics of a remarketing campagins an ecommerce site should have running, like cart abandonment.
Read Crystal Ashby's full review
March 08, 2018

User Review: "Bronto is fine"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Bronto is being used] To send email newsletters to our listeners.
  • It's reliable, I've never had an issue. They keep the platform bug free and updated.
  • It's pretty intuitive for the most part.
  • Training. Help users be successful without charging them an arm and a leg. It's too damn expensive.
  • There are TOO many dropdowns/menus. Consolidate it to be more simple.
  • The design templates kinda suck and seem to be stuck as the same from 10 years ago.
It gets the job done. Again, it's intuitive but could be even more so.
Read Ike Yospe's full review
March 08, 2018

User Review: "Bronto just works"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bronto to handle all of our email marketing, across various brands. It allows us to easily design, built, and send emails to a variety of customer segments. We have a relatively small team and Bronto support has been a great asset - whether it's working with support to help solve any technical questions we might have or working with a Bronto design specialist to help with the design and build out of the email.
  • It allows us to easily connect with various customer segments.
  • Bronto's workflow is as simple as drag and drop.
  • Bronto's support is top notch. Whenever we have a question about the best way to do something or why something might not function as we expect, Bronto support is quick to help.
  • Bronto could use design support as well - at least for the design around their unique functions (such as design questions surrounding Recommendations Premium)
  • Automatic list backup or exporting. We have run into issue with our list having some issues and it would be nice if there was a way to automatically backup or export a master list from Bronto.
  • Color coding of the various company sections. We have numerous brands attached to our Bronto account and it is easy to get them mixed up.
One area where we have recommended people not use Bronto is when they only want to send a small number of emails - usually under 100. This came up recently when design wanted to reach out to numerous bloggers. Bronto was thrown out as a way to do this in order to see metrics regarding open rate and potentially re-targeting. However, we felt that Bronto was the not best way to contact such a small number of individuals.
Read Galen Henseler's full review
March 08, 2018

User Review: "Bronto FTW"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Columbia's Office of Alumni and Development we use Bronto across the organization. I specifically handle marketing for the Office of Gift Planning within the larger Alumni and Development office. Using Bronto allows our central unit to distribute emails across all the schools and units within Columbia with efficiency.
  • Friendly user interface: I appreciate that the user interface is generally intuitive and easy to use (also easy to teach others how to use).
  • Ability to pull analytic reports that meet our needs: I am able to pull analytic reports with relative ease and the data suits our departmental needs.
  • Copy and paste ability from a Microsoft Word Doc (sometimes the text formatting, such as the font/size/spacing, will be slightly off).
  • Removing/swapping fields within an email template (I personally have difficulty with this - not sure if this is reflective of a larger user issue).
  • Image editing capabilities (sizing specifically) within the WYSIWYG.
As a central unit to the larger university, Bronto allows us to use dynamic content to send various versions of the same email to alumni from specific schools and units.
Read Fritzie Dizon's full review
March 08, 2018

Review: "Reflections on our Experiences with Bronto"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We work with a beauty company based in Southern California, slicing and coding their marketing emails. They use Bronto to send these to their mailing lists. We upload the images to Bronto's hosting service, then upload the HTML code into the messages area, where we preview the email before notifying our client that it is done. We also incorporate some of Bronto's own dynamic code, to populate the first names of email recipients from the mailing lists, and to ensure compliance with anti-spam regulations.
  • Bronto is easy to learn and use. It only took one conference call with Tami Urban, a Bronto consultant, to get started, and after that, it was fairly simple to learn the system more thoroughly. The interface and menus are generally fairly self-explanatory.
  • The dashboards are easily customizable, so we can see only information, such as the remaining hosting capacity, that's relevant to us.
  • Bronto has two different ways for us to preview our completed emails - the 'Show Preview' at the top of the section where we enter the HTML code, and then the web preview, which we can do after saving and closing the email code. The web preview allows us to test any hyperlinks contained in the email. Both previews allow us to see if there are coding errors or superfluous characters that need addressing.
  • The section where we enter the HTML code updates instantly - we can see any changes we make to the coding immediately WITHOUT having to save it - that is a big time-saver!
  • When we started using Bronto, and until within the past year, we were able to send test emails to our AOL or Gmail email accounts, even though the email we have our Bronto account under, through our client, is our AOL email. However, we were suddenly unable to do that anymore, apparently because we do not have a private domain. This has hampered our ability to thoroughly test the accuracy of our work! We would like to be able to utilize that feature again, with our existing email accounts!
It is certainly well-suited for developing and sending emails to large email lists. It is also very good for sending to more targeted lists. It seems to be fairly good for A/B testing, too. It would not be appropriate to use, however, for use in developing web pages, such as the landing page for an email marketing campaign - it's just not made to do that. From what we understand, Bronto is also somewhat pricey - we only have a subaccount through our client, so it doesn't affect us directly, but that is what our colleague told us.
Read DavidandLeah Weathers's full review
March 08, 2018

Bronto Review: "Great if you use all it has to offer, and can afford it."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Bronto to send out all of our marketing and transactional emails. The transactional emails are filtered through Magento. For the marketing messages, those are done in-house and scheduled manually except for a few workflows and automated messages we have set up.
  • Workflows
  • Segmentation
  • Scheduling email blasts
  • Integrating with Magento
  • Most add-ons are very expensive.
  • Support to set up our API was pretty non-existent.
  • Communication with our Account Manager has been slow.
  • The data-retention period of 90 days is a joke.
If you are able to add all of the bells and whistles that Bronto provides beyond their base platform then Bronto is for you. You have to put in the time and money to get everything out of it.

When we needed to set up a basic workflow they were able to help out.
Read Anne Ducale's full review
March 08, 2018

User Review: "Bronto is Outdated"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bronto is used as our main ESP and supports the bulk of emails sent from our email program. All of our marketing emails that drive sales deploy out of Bronto and some of our automated series deploy out of Bronto.
  • Deliverability on our emails is always high, which is critical to the success of our email channel.
  • The ability to only keep customer engagement data for 3 months is extremely limiting and makes it hard for us to create a sophisticated email program in Bronto.
  • Overall Bronto is very clunky to use and not very user-friendly. I've used a lot of ESPs in my career, and Bronto is one of the more outdated in terms of functionality and features.
  • The tech team takes a very long time to resolve issues and doesn't do a great job of communicating when issues will be resolved.
Bronto is good for batch/blast type emails (i.e. sending the same message to everyone on your list) but it can not handle sophisticated segmentation or behavioral based triggers well.
Read Kristen Ranger's full review
March 08, 2018

User Review: "Bronto Fan"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bronto to for all marketing and transactional messages for our e-commerce website. It allows us to connect with customers and subscribers who are not yet customers. We also connect Bronto with our platform so purchase history and brand interest is also available through Bronto for use in messages.
  • Ability to target customers based on behavior (past purchases, click data, etc).
  • Ever evolving platform - new and useful features added every year.
  • Great support - problems are addressed quickly even if that involves escalating to software engineers.
  • I'd like to see more webinars or how-tos on using features within the platform - not just purchase this new expensive module.
  • I would like to be able to edit a scheduled email rather than having to cancel and reschedule if a mistake was made.
  • What happened to the Bronto Summit? Those were great!
Bronto seems best suited to someone who will use the data available to market to customer interest such as using triggered emails or dynamic content. If you plan to send the same email to everyone regardless of interest, you will not get as much value.
Read Jean Enzbrenner's full review
March 08, 2018

Bronto Review: "Increase Personalization, Reduce Re-Work"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bronto has been incredibly useful for creating transactional marketing campaigns for our company. We use it for many different departments, whether they need to email a few hundred people or several thousand. Bronto makes it easy to manage. The workflows have been a very helpful for making sure we send relevant emails and keep our lists clean.
  • Transactional Emails
  • Workflows and Trigger-based emails
  • List management
  • Responsive email design
If your business has a lot of audiences or segmentation, Bronto will be your best friend. The workflow tool is very helpful for keeping the right messages sending to the right people. You can also set up campaigns in workflows and not have to worry about sending recurring emails out. It's a huge time saver.
Read Kate Stous's full review
March 08, 2018

Bronto Review: "Solid Mid-Level Business Solution"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's being used in the] Marketing Dept - allows us to send emails and segment files and acquire emails.
  • Fairly easy to edit creative (WYSIWYG format)
  • Decent client support; like our account exec and he has been supportive when we have asked for things
  • Easy to segment files and create workflow/trigger emails
  • I wish it was not volume commitment pricing but pay as you go - difficult to manage strong growth of file with having to calc file volume 12 mos in advance
  • I wish it was less list-dependent and instead had a master database that you can segment from
I think it's good for immature, non-enterprise level programs. Once you are doing intense modeling or product recs etc., it gets out of its depth fast.
Read Michelle DeVore's full review
March 20, 2018

User Review: "Bronto is user friendly"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by my department. It is very user-friendly. The only issues I have is receiving responses from our account manager.
  • Immediate chat help
  • Easy to use platform
  • Detailed reporting
  • Account rep help
It is perfect for what we use in our email marketing - allows us to easily create emails, schedule, and send automated workflows.
Read Kally Sweeney's full review
March 08, 2018

User Review: "Bronto MFA Volunteer"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bronto to send out weekly newsletters from the volunteer department to our organization's volunteers. Our marketing team uses Bronto as well for weekly newsletters to customers.
  • Great form of communication for our volunteers
  • Easy to use
  • Limited design capabilites
  • Not intuitive, missing modern functionality other email platforms offer
  • Too many steps to import lists, contacts, etc
Great for email marketing - not ideal for a DIY designed email
Read Heather Thomas's full review
August 09, 2018

Bronto Review: "Advanced email marketing tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's currently only being used in the marketing department for our email marketing campaigns. It addresses the need for us to communicate with our closest consumers. We have a separate CRM with our consumer affairs team who uses Wilke Global. We'd ideally like to move forward with condensing our CRMs into one database, but it will be a significant undertaking for us.
  • Live chat- the Bronto platform is very complex in the sense that there are a lot of things that it offers, so it helps a lot to have a dedicated chat function.
  • New drag and drop editor- I love the ease of use of building new email templates and the amount of customization that's possible without needing HTML knowledge.
  • Reporting- the metrics that Bronto provides help us easily judge the overall health of our email lists at a glance. We're also able to dig in with more detail if needed.
  • Segmenting- although there's a lot that can be done with segmenting audiences, there's a bit of a learning curve when it comes to setting up segments. Wish it was more intuitive.
  • Workflows- setting up automation workflows requires some practice and I've needed to consult a Bronto support person each time I set up a new workflow.
  • Bronto Pop-up manager- we use this feature, not sure how common it is among Bronto clients, but there is overall some improvement needed with this tool. There is limited capability to update the look and feel of the pop-up manager, and we've run into some conflicts with other pop-ups on our website interfering with the Bronto pop-up.
The Bronto platform is a great email marketing tool. It would be nice to see the drag-and-drop editor built out more with some pre-designed templates, so that it's ultimately easier to achieve clean, modern-looking templates across all email providers. Since we don't yet have direct-to-consumer e-commerce, we aren't able to use any of the abandoned cart workflows, etc., so we haven't been able to make use of those features yet.
Read this authenticated review
July 31, 2018

Bronto Review: "A happy customer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bronto is used primarily to drive ticket sales to our venue, but is also used as a retailer. Over the course of 12 months, 80% of its use is to drive ticket sales. One department manages Bronto, but it aids all aspects of our operation. The largest business problem it addresses is awareness - when our events are and what is being featured.
  • The platform is very user-friendly. The addition of the Drag-and-Drop editor has made everything infinitely easier when it comes to organizing a clean layout for a message.
  • The customer service is top-notch, from a live chat for support to the Bronto blog to the account manager. It's extremely rare there's a time where I have a question or issue that can't be solved.
  • Automation campaigns are extremely easy. Setting up triggers and entry points are quickly completed on the front end and reap strong rewards on the back end without having to think about it.
  • I think a cleaner dashboard could help. The current one seems out-of-date and not as sleek as it could be.
  • The ability to host more than 100MB of content would be a great addition.
Bronto is great for our use - B2C communication that gives us flexibility to use templates consistently, or build something new for a specific delivery. Unfortunately with our company's web hosting, we don't have the capability for Cart Recovery or other apps that Bronto has at its disposal.
Read this authenticated review
July 31, 2018

Bronto Review: "Powerful but not as user-friendly as others"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the marketing department to send emails to segments for various campaigns. It helps us get the proper content only to those it applies to.
  • Segmentation- you have a lot of control over who gets what, when
  • Reporting- you can easily see stats on campaigns
  • The drag and drop feature when creating emails is clunky and can be frustrating. It gets the job done and having the customization without having to know HTML is nice, but it feels like they dropped the ball on this one. It feels almost like they made sure the concept worked, then never went back and finessed it to be user-friendly.
  • The amount of users who can be editing an email- other platforms - I have used have real-time updates from multiple users. If 2 people are in it at the same time, only one set of changes is made.
Bronto is well suited for small-medium sized companies with several thousand email subscribers or for those who need a lot of segmentation. If you do not have a large email list or do not think you will segment much, there are much cheaper options that are plenty powerful.
Read this authenticated review
July 31, 2018

Review: "Bronto is a big upgrade from our previous ESP"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bronto to create and send transactional emails and marketing emails for our company. Our marketing department handles the marketing emails and our web and ecom teams handle the transactional emails. Bronto has made it very easy for us to manage all of these emails in one tool and schedule batches of emails to send.
  • Bronto allows us to very easily manage the dozens of transactional emails that our company sends every day.
  • Having all the email templates in one place makes it very easy to make a change that can affect all the different emails that need to reflect the change.
  • We are able to schedule batches of emails to send to our customers so we do not have to manually do this. This also helps us avoid the spam folder.
  • We ended up designing all of our emails on our own because of the limitations that Bronto had in regards to design.
  • We had some problems with the initial import of our contact list. The customer service team was helpful in getting this solved, but we have since had issues with our contact list.
  • Along these lines, while the customer service team was able to help us, they were not incredibly quick to get back to us and keep us updated on progress being made.
Bronto is very useful for basic marketing email scheduling as well as some basic segmentation features. Managing all of our email templates, marketing and transactional, through Bronto has been a big step up from our previous email service provider. We had some pain during implementation as well as getting some tech support.
Read this authenticated review
March 12, 2018

Review: "Bronto - The Ugly Dinosaur That Gets The Job Done"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Bronto as a means to improve our revenue via email marketing campaigns. Additionally, it is being used as a tool to re-engage with customers who previously bought a product from us. It is solely being used in our marketing department although we are applying it to a wide range of circumstances based upon each individual department's needs.
  • It provides a solid way of sending a lot of emails to a lot of different people across a lot of different account types (i.e. gmail or outlook)
  • The analytics section is comprehensive and provides a clear picture of your customer's behaviors
  • Segmenting is an easy and simple task
  • The analytics section, while already very comprehensive, should add in even more ways to compare email campaigns to one another
  • The email builder is adequate but can be a bit cumbersome when creating more advanced emails
  • Improving the automation of emails is another way in which Bronto could improve
It is fantastic for dealing with high-volume emails in an effective and an efficient manner, however, the old-school interface is tough to get over. An updated design is not crucial, however, it may improve an individual's ability to interact with the intelligent system Bronto is.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (31)
6.1
Dynamic content (31)
7.8
Ability to test dynamic content (30)
6.5
Landing pages (15)
5.5
A/B testing (36)
7.0
Mobile optimization (34)
8.5
Email deliverability (39)
9.0
List management (37)
8.1
Triggered drip sequences (30)
9.0
Dashboards (38)
6.5
Standard reports (37)
6.7
Custom reports (27)
6.0

About Bronto

Oracle + Bronto is a cloud-based marketing platform for commerce. With an advanced marketing automation engine and solutions for browser and shopping cart abandonment, recommendations, post-purchase campaigns and powerful ecommerce integrations, the Bronto Marketing Platform aims to help marketers drive more revenue by automating targeted, personalized email and cross-channel marketing campaigns at scale. Bronto offers a full suite of enterprise features and an extensive array of partner integrations to help commerce marketers accomplish more, while saving time and resources.

Over 1400 brands worldwide use Bronto, including a client roster of high-growth brands, including Rebecca Minkoff, Lucky Brand, Theory, Trek, Ashley Homestore and Christopher & Banks.

Categories:  Email Marketing

Bronto Features

Email & Online Marketing Features
Has featureWYSIWYG email editor
Has featureDynamic content
Has featureAbility to test dynamic content
Has featureLanding pages
Has featureA/B testing
Has featureMobile optimization
Has featureEmail deliverability
Has featureList management
Has featureTriggered drip sequences
Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports

Bronto Video

The Bronto Marketing Platform helps you deliver timely, relevant, data-driven digital marketing that fuels engagement throughout the customer lifecycle and drives more revenue. Learn more today. bronto.com

Bronto Downloadables

Bronto Integrations

Bronto Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Request pricing at info@bronto.com.

Bronto Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Bronto Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:English-speaking countries
Supported Languages: English