Bronto Reviews

121 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 38)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 30, 2020
Greg N. Bogosian | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're utilizing Bronto as our ESP for transactional and batch sends, soon to be behavioral triggers as well. I find the platform easy to use and flexible when it comes to real-life use, allowing us clear access to configuration for testing, delivery control, and workflow management. I would highly recommend it as an ESP for mid-cap and up businesses, it is not a small business platform. Overall it makes our internal workflows smoother and reduces time needed for internal reviews.
  • Email deliverability in terms of IP reputation maintenance.
  • Workflow management - easy to utilize tools for drip campaigns on multiple triggers.
  • Campaign targeting - segment tool allows incorporation of a wide variety of data sources.
  • Clarity in list upload features - not always easy to figure out what goes where.
  • Nav structure takes some getting used to.
  • Popup manager needs work to be more polished.
Good for mid-cap companies and up. Not a small business solution but doesn't pretend to be. Good for on-demand triggers as well as batch and workflow campaigns. If you're looking for a holistic integration with CRM and CMS data sources, Bronto offers a flexible API that can ingest multiple data sources to reduce siloing.
Read Greg N. Bogosian's full review
February 04, 2020
Jason Bean | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using the Bronto Marketing Platform as a new email marketing campaign management tool for all of our email marketing efforts across a few different business verticals. We migrated from an existing platform that we weren't necessarily unhappy with but we were looking for some potential new functionality and perhaps cleaner UI and UX features that what we'd currently had available with one of their competitors.
  • Organization of Customer Information
  • Ease of Developing Email Campaigns
  • The amount of features can be overwhelming at first.
  • Sometimes we experienced a laggy response to working within the tool.
If you're a mid-size to larger business and rely on regular email engagement from customers, then Bronto Marketing Platform could be a potentially great partner if not game-changer for how you've been doing email campaign management previously. Their automation tools and development interface is amicable. The amount of data that's collected and available from engagement with subscribers through their tools can be overwhelming. Still, if you enjoy digging into every kernel of possible user activity information, you'll love it.
Read Jason Bean's full review
December 11, 2019
Thomas Soerenes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Bronto Marketing Platform as our main email platform for broadcast emails, post purchase campaigns and lead generation. We do not use it for transactional emails but it works great for what we need it for. At the moment there is only one person (myself) that uses the platform, but several employees are trained in it to fill in if needed.
  • Connects remarkably well with the NetSuite System
  • Offers great ways to set up drip email campaigns.
  • Offers great analytics and segmentation.
  • My main complaint with Bronto is that you pay for the number of emails sent, not the size of your email list. This limits how many emails you want to send.
  • There is no way to see if a hosted image is actually being used in an email or if we are just wasting the available space.
  • I wish there was more ways to segment.
Well suited if you use NetSuite as an ecommerce platform. Not well suited if you prefer to pay for the size of the contact list, instead of by the number of email sends allowed.
Read Thomas Soerenes's full review
February 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bronto as an ESP and CRM system across our organization. It helps us manage email channels automatically and some workflows, and allows us to send some batch emails for communication. It’s used in some of the BUs in the group but my company stopped using Bronto and switched to another vendor last year.
  • Customer service was quite professional.
  • Solid platform with years of experience in the industry.
  • Poor account support and slow response.
  • Delay in developing new functions.
Bronto is easy to learn how to master and is a quite mature platform, so you don’t need to worry about its stability. For small to mid-sized databases, it’s easy to start planning the email workflows manually. However, when it comes to advanced requirements such as machine learning and complex insights, it’s quite limited in function.
Read this authenticated review
December 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bronto across the entire business as an agency, helping businesses all over connect with customers with automation, including email and SMS. Bronto is extremely robust, and meets the needs of even the largest customers. It has a steep learning curve, but once you understand the basics of marketing automation, it's not really any more complicated than Drip, Infusionsoft, and the others.
  • Marketing automation.
  • Scale.
  • Omnichannel marketing.
  • Storing contacts without email addresses.
  • Messenger integration.
  • Retail POS integration.
Bronto is great for businesses that pick up email addresses from their customers. If you have a retail business that hasn't adapted to capturing customer email addresses, it will not be as useful. Great for turning web leads into customers, and great for lifecycle automation and managing the customer journey from season to season.
Read this authenticated review
September 24, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We use the Bronto Marketing Platform across our entire organization to send emails to our customers.
  • It is used for 5 different brands, to send both transactional and promotional emails.
  • It serves as the system-of-record for our email contacts and their preferences.
  • We are also able to use built-in workflows to send automated messages based upon certain trigger activities conducted by our customers.
  • Workflows are excellent. Easy to use, drag-and-drop creation of automated email sends based on activity.
  • Management of email preferences to ensure compliance is seamless.
  • Scheduling and set-up are very simple.
  • A/B testing is easy to use.
  • Reporting leaves a lot to be desired. Probably our biggest complaint.
Bronto Marketing Platform is an excellent choice for B2C companies that need to maintain customer relationships using email. It is probably best for mid to large sized entities, due to the expense. It is very easy to use and customize if you do not have a large staff in-house. Workflows allow for a great deal of automation. It also gives best-of-breed compliance, so it is excellent for anyone concerned with following CAN-SPAM guidelines for subscription preferences.
Read this authenticated review
April 22, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bronto to interact with our customers - whether they be current or brand new. We are able to blast out events or other mass emails to keep our customers engaged. With the use of Bronto we can target specific groups of customers as well. This program has helped us drive new customers to our site every day.
  • Easy to use template builder
  • Drag and Drop feature is very useful
  • User friendly interface
  • Metrics do not update in real time
  • Too many layers for approval
Bronto is great to use if you really want to nail down what is working for your customer base. Through the metric reporting feature you are able to really tell what your strengths and weaknesses are as well as all the areas in which you need to improve on. You are able to learn about your customer and continuously keep them engaged and involved.
Read this authenticated review
January 17, 2019
Ignacio Sime | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We are using Bronto across the whole organization. The main users are the marketing department, but it is empowering all the segmented communication for Sparta and its brands.

Through Bronto, we have achieved huge growth in our emailing traffic and sales, but it is hard to focus resources in order to maximize the power of the tool and the main features.

We love the usability of the platform and the automation possibilities.

  • Usability
  • Native integration with the Ecom platform (Magento)
  • Automation possibilities
  • Customer Service is only English based.
  • Besides the first launch period, you will need to develop the experience curve by yourself.
  • Sending the pricing policy is based on a CPM logic.
Well suited for mainly big companies, who are capable of getting the best of the suite. The Bronto team joins you during the integration period but after that, they leave you to your own destiny, using self-service support or contacting your barely available KAM. If you are looking for a scalable solution, you need to consider your annual email sending estimation, because Bronto could be pricy compared to other solutions.
Read Ignacio Sime's full review
January 18, 2019
Tom Austin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bronto is being used across all areas of the business. It is used for most of our email marketing needs whether that be marketing or transactional. We also use Bronto for pulling out data segments for other areas of the business due to the ease of accessing it.
  • Integration with NetSuite
  • Constant updates to the platform
  • Simple and easy to use
  • There are lots of extra apps that you can purchase however, I feel like some of these apps (i.e pop up manager) could be better - they’re way far behind other apps available
We used the NetSuite backend, and the connector integrates perfectly with Bronto. It allows us to bring in real-time data to be leveraged in our marketing campaigns.
Read Tom Austin's full review
August 03, 2018
Kevin Zalaznik | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bronto is being used by our Marketing department with the main focus on email marketing. We do use the text message service to communicate to our employees.
  • The email builder is good and user-friendly and saves us time.
  • The coupon manager is a lifesaver in its ability to generate unique barcodes.
  • Customer service is responsive and helpful.
  • The UI is clunky at times and difficult to use, particularly the automation workflow process.
  • Creating segmentations can be difficult and I find myself second guessing whenever I produce a segmentation.
  • Although the analytics are good, I believe they could be better. I almost wish there is another layer that we could drill down when looking at our customers.
I feel Bronto has served as well as producing mass email communications and it's very helpful if you need to mass produce unique barcodes. I find it is not helpful if you are considering using it as a CRM. The automation and segment building is clunky.
Read Kevin Zalaznik's full review
August 01, 2018
Jeanette Kozlowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bronto to send our promotional marketing emails for our DTC business.
  • Overall ease of use - Other email platforms are much clunkier and require large teams to execute list segmentation. Bronto has been a more affordable and easier to use solution.
  • Segmentation - Smart list segmentation is the cornerstone of a successful email marketing program. Bronto's segmentation functionality allows us to slice and dice lists with ease.
  • Dynamic Content - Powerful marketing delivers the right message to the right people at the right time. With Dynamic Content we are able to provide personalized email content to our customers.
  • Deliverability Coaching - We work one-one-one with a Bronto deliverability specialist who is able to advise on how we are showing up in inboxes--THE most important aspect of email marketing.
  • Live Chat - Bronto has excellent customer service and a "live chat" functionality that is useful when questions arise.
  • Overall Strategy - Bronto is not proactive on delivering any improvements to our overall email marketing strategy and program. While I'm not sure this is part of our current package, I know that we do have the ability to engage with a strategist. However we rarely hear any personalized suggestions or recommendations on how to improve our current program.
  • Third Party Integration - We are currently working on this with Bronto and hopefully will be an improvement coming later this year.
Bronto is a great solution for businesses of all sizes.
Read Jeanette Kozlowski's full review
March 16, 2018
Tim Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bronto is used to support sales and marketing on 2 different brand sites within 1 parent company. We send all of our promotional marketing with Bronto, as well as nurture new leads through a number of campaigns aimed to educate and convert. We also use Bronto to provide important information to customers of our top channel partner before delivery in an effort to reduce customer service calls.
  • The message editor is easy to learn, easy to use, and allows you to build sophisticated messages with little to no development knowledge.
  • The available feature set has allowed us to not only significantly grow our revenue from email marketing, but also allows for years of future growth and expansion of our email marketing programs. Key to this growth is a newer feature called Recommendations which serves up real time product suggestions based on browsing and purchase data of existing customers.
  • When needed, the Bronto support team is knowledgeable, and quick to resolve issues, help us learn a new feature, or just point us in the right direction of solving our own problems.
  • Reporting has been much improved in the last 12 months but still has room to improve. Often the view and format of reports varies depending on where you are looking at the data.
  • Although the feature IS coming, we have been looking for transactional messaging for our CRM since we signed with Bronto. Given we use NetSuite, who owns Bronto, we expected this feature much sooner.
  • More real-time and personalized content within Bronto would be welcomed.
Bronto is a fantastic step-up for smaller businesses which may be using something like MailChimp or Constant Contact. There is significant room for growth after moving to the Bronto platform. A key feature/ability of Bronto is that the entire program can be managed by as little as 1 person, which is hugely important for a small business.
Read Tim Taylor's full review
March 20, 2018
Shannon Bitzer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At the company I am working at we use Bronto daily. It is a very organized software program that keeps each of our daily tasks separated nicely and provides easy access. Specifically, we use it in our e-commerce department, but other departments have used it as well. It addresses all of our e-commerce and e-marketing supplies. It has a great setup so we can check up on items from the past and add new ones every day.
  • Organized platform to quickly access what you need to use at all times.
  • Great customer and site support. Can provide help with any issues.
  • The tabs and sections on the site are detailed and helpful for data separation.
  • Could have a faster loading time, sometimes freezes for a while.
  • Have more multiple access to a few things at once, constantly having to go back then forward again.
Perfect for large businesses and corporations and not so much for smaller businesses or start-up businesses.
Read Shannon Bitzer's full review
March 20, 2018
Katherine Morera | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used as a communication tool between marketing and final customers. Is not just for sales purposes but also to nurture the relationship between brand and customer.

Is being used only in our department for promotions, newsletters, sensitive information, etc.
  • Web forms are really useful when we are looking for new acquisition.
  • Pop-ups are really good, the fact that we can connect them to our website is pretty cool.
  • I really miss the old reporting system.
  • The fact that we need to create segments in order to get opens, not opens, clicks.. etc., from sent deliveries is kinda annoying based on the fact that before it was a lot easier to get the info.
Segmentations are sometimes really hard due to our business type
Read Katherine Morera's full review
March 16, 2018
Bill Walker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bronto is used to primarily promote ticket sales for our minor league baseball team. We do occasionally promote non-ticket events. Our primary departments that utilize Bronto are our marketing and ticketing departments. We maintain contact with our fans with digital newsletters and/or team updates with the purpose of initiating ticket sales (sometimes tickets sales may relate to individual games, other times to ticket/season packages). On rare occasions, we offer access to our Bronto email database to select sponsors of the Knights.
  • Bronto is a valuable asset to us for its ability to track ticket sales (click-thrus that amount to purchases).
  • It's a nice benefit to have the scheduling features that Bronto offers for sending email blasts to our segmented groups.
  • The email reporting is very detailed and informative and gives us valuable data about adjusting email content and delivery schedules.
  • The ability to extract user data fields to include within emails is a great feature, but sometimes it gets forgotten and is not promoted enough imo within the user portal.
  • Would like to see Bronto offer some sort of RSVP type features/services for using Bronto to manage event registration (which we send email notifications for quite often).
I personally enjoy the options to upload my own HTML or use the WYSIWYG built-in email editor. I feel I have more control over my content designing off-line and then uploading the HTML.
Read Bill Walker's full review
March 08, 2018
Crystal Ashby | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bronto is used to manage our email marketing campaigns, and our transnational messaging. The solution is used by the marketing department to promote events, market products, and inform customers about the status of transactions.
  • Ease to use interface
  • Constantly adding new features to platform that make the solution stay current
  • Reliable solution
  • Template Marketplace to use already formatted templates in the Template editor. Yes, you can create your own, but sometimes it'd be quick to just pick a fresh template and make a few edits without having to start from scratch each time
  • Static Blocks for the template editor - where you can save re-usable html content, not just images
  • Hosting fees for images fees - it's ridiculous how much or that this is even a fee considering how cheap storage space is these days
Bronto is a perfect fit for a retail eCommerce merchant. It has "out of the box" campagin options for the basics of a remarketing campagins an ecommerce site should have running, like cart abandonment.
Read Crystal Ashby's full review
March 08, 2018
Ike Yospe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Bronto is being used] To send email newsletters to our listeners.
  • It's reliable, I've never had an issue. They keep the platform bug free and updated.
  • It's pretty intuitive for the most part.
  • Training. Help users be successful without charging them an arm and a leg. It's too damn expensive.
  • There are TOO many dropdowns/menus. Consolidate it to be more simple.
  • The design templates kinda suck and seem to be stuck as the same from 10 years ago.
It gets the job done. Again, it's intuitive but could be even more so.
Read Ike Yospe's full review
March 08, 2018
Galen Henseler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bronto to handle all of our email marketing, across various brands. It allows us to easily design, built, and send emails to a variety of customer segments. We have a relatively small team and Bronto support has been a great asset - whether it's working with support to help solve any technical questions we might have or working with a Bronto design specialist to help with the design and build out of the email.
  • It allows us to easily connect with various customer segments.
  • Bronto's workflow is as simple as drag and drop.
  • Bronto's support is top notch. Whenever we have a question about the best way to do something or why something might not function as we expect, Bronto support is quick to help.
  • Bronto could use design support as well - at least for the design around their unique functions (such as design questions surrounding Recommendations Premium)
  • Automatic list backup or exporting. We have run into issue with our list having some issues and it would be nice if there was a way to automatically backup or export a master list from Bronto.
  • Color coding of the various company sections. We have numerous brands attached to our Bronto account and it is easy to get them mixed up.
One area where we have recommended people not use Bronto is when they only want to send a small number of emails - usually under 100. This came up recently when design wanted to reach out to numerous bloggers. Bronto was thrown out as a way to do this in order to see metrics regarding open rate and potentially re-targeting. However, we felt that Bronto was the not best way to contact such a small number of individuals.
Read Galen Henseler's full review
March 08, 2018
Fritzie Dizon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Columbia's Office of Alumni and Development we use Bronto across the organization. I specifically handle marketing for the Office of Gift Planning within the larger Alumni and Development office. Using Bronto allows our central unit to distribute emails across all the schools and units within Columbia with efficiency.
  • Friendly user interface: I appreciate that the user interface is generally intuitive and easy to use (also easy to teach others how to use).
  • Ability to pull analytic reports that meet our needs: I am able to pull analytic reports with relative ease and the data suits our departmental needs.
  • Copy and paste ability from a Microsoft Word Doc (sometimes the text formatting, such as the font/size/spacing, will be slightly off).
  • Removing/swapping fields within an email template (I personally have difficulty with this - not sure if this is reflective of a larger user issue).
  • Image editing capabilities (sizing specifically) within the WYSIWYG.
As a central unit to the larger university, Bronto allows us to use dynamic content to send various versions of the same email to alumni from specific schools and units.
Read Fritzie Dizon's full review
March 08, 2018
Anne Ducale | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Bronto to send out all of our marketing and transactional emails. The transactional emails are filtered through Magento. For the marketing messages, those are done in-house and scheduled manually except for a few workflows and automated messages we have set up.
  • Workflows
  • Segmentation
  • Scheduling email blasts
  • Integrating with Magento
  • Most add-ons are very expensive.
  • Support to set up our API was pretty non-existent.
  • Communication with our Account Manager has been slow.
  • The data-retention period of 90 days is a joke.
If you are able to add all of the bells and whistles that Bronto provides beyond their base platform then Bronto is for you. You have to put in the time and money to get everything out of it.

When we needed to set up a basic workflow they were able to help out.
Read Anne Ducale's full review
March 08, 2018
Kate Stous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bronto has been incredibly useful for creating transactional marketing campaigns for our company. We use it for many different departments, whether they need to email a few hundred people or several thousand. Bronto makes it easy to manage. The workflows have been a very helpful for making sure we send relevant emails and keep our lists clean.
  • Transactional Emails
  • Workflows and Trigger-based emails
  • List management
  • Responsive email design
If your business has a lot of audiences or segmentation, Bronto will be your best friend. The workflow tool is very helpful for keeping the right messages sending to the right people. You can also set up campaigns in workflows and not have to worry about sending recurring emails out. It's a huge time saver.
Read Kate Stous's full review
March 20, 2018
Kally Sweeney | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by my department. It is very user-friendly. The only issues I have is receiving responses from our account manager.
  • Immediate chat help
  • Easy to use platform
  • Detailed reporting
  • Account rep help
It is perfect for what we use in our email marketing - allows us to easily create emails, schedule, and send automated workflows.
Read Kally Sweeney's full review
November 17, 2017
John Hunt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bronto is the complete email management solution for our company. We manage and segment our email contacts for both our B2B and B2C sites. It helps us maintain a diverse set of contacts in one place which helps us to be more efficient in segmenting and personalizing the email experience we provide to our customers.
  • Drag and Drop functionality
  • Smart automation and list segmentation
  • Visual drag and drop email builder
  • Automatic video integration (provide URL and it should create email element)
  • On-the-fly segmenting in workflows
  • Easier integration with Facebook custom audiences via API
Excellent email marketing tool for use in general email and eCommerce email applications. Utilizing additional apps such as the browse recovery app can help boost sales in an eCommerce situation. Solid segmenting allows you to batch customers with specific attributes and behaviors into multiple segments. Even simple message duplication allows for sending out additional messages without a lot of time to reformat.
Read John Hunt's full review
March 08, 2018
Heather Thomas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bronto to send out weekly newsletters from the volunteer department to our organization's volunteers. Our marketing team uses Bronto as well for weekly newsletters to customers.
  • Great form of communication for our volunteers
  • Easy to use
  • Limited design capabilites
  • Not intuitive, missing modern functionality other email platforms offer
  • Too many steps to import lists, contacts, etc
Great for email marketing - not ideal for a DIY designed email
Read Heather Thomas's full review
March 15, 2017
McKane Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bronto in our marketing and technology departments regularly. We use it to send email marketing campaigns and transactional emails to our customers. Bronto allows us to send beautiful, highly targeted emails to our users and to create workflows for drip and abandonment campaigns. We use the API and have it tied tightly into our site as well as some third party applications.
  • Easy-to use, intuitive workflows for automated drip/abandonment campaigns. It is the best workflow interface I've seen anywhere and it's the best part of the Bronto software in my opinion.
  • It is flexible and they have a robust API, so if the software doesn't do something you want/need it to do, you can usually find a way.
  • Their new message editor (introduced in late 2015) is fantastic and allows for quick creation of beautiful emails. When they brought it out of beta, though it was terribly buggy and frustrating to use, but it's now stable and great. This was much needed in Bronto and they delivered.
  • The custom segment tool is fantastic. Best-in-class in my opinion. You can create pools of subscribers on any criteria you can dream up. It's really key to sending targeted, relevant email messages.
  • Their "Socialite" app (social media connector) is really great if you use it to it's fullest.
  • The way they approach pricing is very, very problematic. They charge fees for features that either should be baked into the software or once were baked into the software. Their pricing is always changing and they are not transparent with pricing. One customer may pay $1,000 for a feature, while another might pay $2,000 - with no rhyme or reason. On more than one occasion we've got wildly different pricing quotes from reps a few months apart. We can't help but feel like they are deceptive on pricing.
  • And their pricing and billing practices are downright dishonest at times. The word "bait and switch" has been used at our company to describe Bronto several times as well. Also, every year, they try and raise rates and make you fight with them over the contract. It's so bad that we will likely end up leaving the platform over this. They could fix this by offering transparent, published prices on their site and not being deceptive about it. We've offered these suggestions several times to upper management but they've fallen on deaf ears.
  • They call themselves a "marketing platform for commerce", but they have been very slow to introduce features geared toward commerce. They've improved this over the last year, but want to charge extra for all of the "commerce marketing" features they are adding. It's an issue. Simple tools like Cart Recovery aren't baked into the platform and are treated as "apps" that you have to pay extra to use. The concept of "add-ons" in software can be helpful sometimes, but Bronto has missed the mark here and taken it to the extreme. They've taken core commerce functionality out of the core "commerce marketing" software to force you to pay more.
  • While Bronto has some of their own apps, they really lack useful third party Apps. It is a major problem when you compare them to MailChimp and others. I have had more than a few third party companies WANT to integrate with Bronto and tell me that the experience they had was terrible, that the biz dev team at bronto either wouldn't call them back, ignored them for several weeks or just wouldn't give them a test account. This is a major, major problem and needs to be remedied.
  • They were acquired by Netsuite last year (2015) and ever since that announcement, it takes longer to get answers and resolutions to issues or questions and support has been lacking. There is more red tape and bureaucracy than ever and the lack of internal communication and external updates post-acquisition has gotten really bad. As time passes, this continues to be a major problem. Bronto was once a nimble business with integrity. Now, they've introduced so much bureaucracy and red-tape that it's almost impossible to get anything done - never is this more evident than in the (lack of) timely customer service.
  • They have overcharged us on more than one occasion and getting credits back takes hours of work. Their billing department is terrible.
This is not a tool for a small business or startups in my opinion. It's too expensive and likely overkill. It's good for mid-sized ecommerce companies because it facilitates workflow-centric email marketing campaigns. On the downside, this once nimble and honest company has turned into a bureaucratic web with dishonest billing practices.
They used to be good, but they've evolved into a monolithic bureaucratic nightmare after the Netsuite / Oracle acquisition. Can't talk to anyone that actually knows the system and support tickets seem to go days or weeks without responses and resolution.
Read McKane Davis's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (50)
7.8
Dynamic content (50)
7.6
Ability to test dynamic content (49)
7.6
Landing pages (25)
5.9
A/B testing (55)
8.9
Mobile optimization (50)
8.5
Email deliverability reporting (63)
9.3
List management (56)
8.3
Triggered drip sequences (48)
8.7
Dashboards (57)
8.4
Standard reports (56)
8.3
Custom reports (43)
7.2

What is Bronto?

The Bronto Marketing Platform aims to help organizations of all sizes grow revenue, save time and optimize marketing resources. By delivering powerful and flexible email marketing solutions that work seamlessly with numerous ecommerce platforms, Bronto's goal is to allow brands to maximize the value of customer data so they can deliver irresistible customer experiences. According to the vendor Bronto solutions incorporate best practices from 16 years of email marketing success and are used by over 1500 of the worlds top brands, including Rebecca Minkoff, Theory, Lucky Brand, Trek, Ashley Homestore and Christopher & Banks. The vendor offers more information and a free product tour on their website.
Categories:  Email Marketing

Bronto Features

Email & Online Marketing Features

Has featureWYSIWYG email editor
Has featureDynamic content
Has featureAbility to test dynamic content
Has featureLanding pages
Has featureA/B testing
Has featureMobile optimization
Has featureEmail deliverability reporting
Has featureList management
Has featureTriggered drip sequences

Reporting & Analytics Features

Has featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports

Bronto Video

The Bronto Marketing Platform helps organizations of all sizes grow revenue, save time and optimize marketing resources. By delivering powerful and flexible email marketing solutions that work seamlessly with multiple ecommerce platforms, Bronto enables brands to maximize the value of customer data and deliver relevant, personal messages.

Bronto Downloadables

Bronto Integrations

NetSuite ERP, Salesforce Commerce Cloud, Shopify, Shopify Plus, Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento)

Bronto Competitors

Bronto Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Request pricing at info@bronto.com.

Bronto Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Bronto Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:English-speaking countries
Supported Languages: English