TrustRadius
Campaign Monitor enables users to create, send, and optimize email marketing campaigns.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/N0/tb/SLWFP1F049LB.jpegPretty Good, But Missing a Few Key FeaturesCampaign Monitor is used solely by the marketing department to help support other departments within the organization. It helps us promote other department’s events, products, and services. We also use it for our content marketing newsletter that we send out twice a week.,Campaign Monitor’s support is great. They have a great help page built out to help answer all your questions, and if you do have a question or issue that needs extra support, their support team responds within a couple hours to help resolve the issue. The email builder is very clean and easy to use. It makes A/B testing, personalization, and dynamic content easy to implement. I appreciate the insights reporting that Campaign Monitor provides. We use that regularly for our quarterly reporting to track list growth, as well as campaign performance from a high level. The automation is very straight forward and has truly transformed our marketing. The learning curve is pretty low, so my entire team knows how to use it to create and edit automated email journeys.,Campaign Monitor doesn’t have any native social sharing features. You have to go to a third party site in order to get the links for social sharing buttons as a work around. You also can’t edit the social cards in Campaign Monitor, so your emails can appear unformatted in the preview image when sharing on social. There is no way to tell when other team members are working in an email Campaign in the email builder. This has been an issue for us on multiple occasions where two people are working in an email and someone’s work gets accidentally overrided. There is also no manual save feature, instead it auto saves. We’ve had issues with emails not getting saved correctly due to this. Currently there is no way to organize your email campaigns. It would be helpful to have a folder feature so we could sort the different types of campaigns rather than searching through all archived campaigns. I haven’t been impressed with our Customer Successs Managers. None of them have been helpful, and they tend to be pretty hands off. They only talk to us when I reach out to them and remind them that our account exists and we want support.,7,We have seen a small decrease in investment since switching to Campaign Monitor in terms of revenue. Our ROI for Q2 of 2018 was 2,869%. This isn’t drastically different than what we were getting with our previous provider, MailChimp, which was 3,497.77% for the year of 2017. We’ve been using Campaign Monitor for 7 months now, so we still need some more data to get an accurate comparison. On the other hand, Campaign Monitor has helped us significantly with segmentation and targeting. This helps us achieve our business goals of better segmentation in our promos, and getting away from batch and blast. This also helps us decrease our list unsubscribes. Campaign Monitor’s segmentation, personalization, and dynamic content features have helped us increase revenue for our quarterly product sales. We have had two of our best sales ever since using Campaign Monitor.,MailChimp and Emma,250,000 to 1 million,Both,Asana, Slack, Meltwater Media Intelligence PlatformIncredibly powerful, flexible, and extendable email platformWe used CM as our mail server. We deeply integrated it with Facebook apps, wordpress websites, custom-built web apps and more. We used it as our content editor, email notifications server, and even used the lists as our CRM at times depending on the customer and the implementation. The perfect API and resell ability are what made it the one for us.,API White Label / Resell Usable,Simple templates Inborn templates WYSIWYG,10,Email marketing is highly commoditized, so not like a huge ROI, but if email marketing is an essential service in your portfolio, it is the best Time saver for email marketing Time saver for email from apps,Constant Contact and MailChimp,100,000 to 250,000,Both,Facebook for Business, WordPress, Domo,Campaign creation List management Dynamic designs,Yes,10Easy To Use. Great Functionality.We recommend Campaign Monitor to our clients. In most instances, we simply set up the account and design their first template, while in some cases we manage their campaigns on an ongoing basis. In any case, we need to be able to recommend a premium product and have access to a range of analytics that will help our clients make better decisions. Campaign Monitor delivers this in spades.,It's super-simple to use. From setting up a template from the gallery, creating a campaign or even setting up automation. Its automation is basic but it's powerful. The pricing scales well allowing our clients to grow.,The entry-level plan is not as competitive It's not as widely integrated as Mailchimp,8,From an agency perspective, it aids in reinforcing our role as a trusted advisor while also giving us an opportunity to earn passive income. From our clients perspective, Campaign Monitor provides the peace of mind that emails will be delivered and look fantastic.,MailChimp, Constant Contact and AWeber,10,000 to 25,000,B2B,Toggl, SEMRush, WP EngineCampaign Monitor...Just OkSolving email marketing automation and updates back into SalesForce. Campaign Monitor (CM) allows us to send email without having to resort to using Outlook. Its always surprising to me how many businesses still use Outlook to send outbound marketing email.While CM's email servers tend to not be as widely accepted by other businesses we market to, their support does do their best to help figure out what went wrong with hard bounces from blocked servers.List/subscribers are easy to use and add/delete contacts from. Support is very good and responds quickly. Many plugins for other platforms.I would also point out that the way that campaign stats are presented is not quite there as well. Would like some deeper dive ability to zoom in and out on a campaign.,CM is a great budget platform to use for outbound email. Overall CM is a good company and easy to work with. They have great support but fall short in only a few areas. Would be a good starting out platform to use.,Email template editor is awful. Not as bad as say MS Dynamics CRM... But its more difficult than MailChimp. This is mainly my biggest pain point with CM.,4,I would say overall a positive impact. Positive that we have the service but there are also others that would be better.,MailChimp, HubSpot and ActiveCampaign,Less than 10,000,B2B,MailChimp, HubSpot, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), GaggleAMP Amplify, FormstackNon profit useWe use Campaign Monitor for email marketing campaigns. It's used across the whole organization and is the standard platform.,Nice design tools Salesforce integration Analytics,Strong overall Raisers edge integration,9,Efficiency Standardization,luminate online,10,000 to 25,000,B2C,Google Analytics
Unspecified
Campaign Monitor
56 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Campaign Monitor Reviews

Campaign Monitor
56 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 56 vetted Campaign Monitor reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-14 of 14)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Becca Sangwin profile photo
July 22, 2018

Campaign Monitor Review: "Pretty Good, But Missing a Few Key Features"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Campaign Monitor is used solely by the marketing department to help support other departments within the organization. It helps us promote other department’s events, products, and services. We also use it for our content marketing newsletter that we send out twice a week.
  • Campaign Monitor’s support is great. They have a great help page built out to help answer all your questions, and if you do have a question or issue that needs extra support, their support team responds within a couple hours to help resolve the issue.
  • The email builder is very clean and easy to use. It makes A/B testing, personalization, and dynamic content easy to implement.
  • I appreciate the insights reporting that Campaign Monitor provides. We use that regularly for our quarterly reporting to track list growth, as well as campaign performance from a high level.
  • The automation is very straight forward and has truly transformed our marketing. The learning curve is pretty low, so my entire team knows how to use it to create and edit automated email journeys.
  • Campaign Monitor doesn’t have any native social sharing features. You have to go to a third party site in order to get the links for social sharing buttons as a work around. You also can’t edit the social cards in Campaign Monitor, so your emails can appear unformatted in the preview image when sharing on social.
  • There is no way to tell when other team members are working in an email Campaign in the email builder. This has been an issue for us on multiple occasions where two people are working in an email and someone’s work gets accidentally overrided. There is also no manual save feature, instead it auto saves. We’ve had issues with emails not getting saved correctly due to this.
  • Currently there is no way to organize your email campaigns. It would be helpful to have a folder feature so we could sort the different types of campaigns rather than searching through all archived campaigns.
  • I haven’t been impressed with our Customer Successs Managers. None of them have been helpful, and they tend to be pretty hands off. They only talk to us when I reach out to them and remind them that our account exists and we want support.
Campaign Monitor is helpful for a company that wants to take the next step to using a higher level email marketing service. It helps get you into automation, dynamic content, and more advanced segmentation. It’s a good step up for teams coming from MailChimp.

It’s not appropriate for companies who are wanting to send out content marketing emails with the intent of them being shared on social media. The social sharing is non existent and embarrassing.
Read Becca Sangwin's full review
Nick Wynkoop profile photo
August 04, 2018

Campaign Monitor Review: "Incredibly powerful, flexible, and extendable email platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We used CM as our mail server. We deeply integrated it with Facebook apps, WordPress websites, custom-built web apps and more. We used it as our content editor, email notifications server, and even used the lists as our CRM at times depending on the customer and the implementation. The perfect API and resell ability are what made it the one for us.
  • API
  • White Label / Resell
  • Usable
  • Simple templates
  • Inborn templates
  • WYSIWYG
Great for sending out app or store notification emails, subscription/newsletter emails, rss-driven emails. Great for reselling. Simple, takes little training of resell customers, yet still does it all.
Read Nick Wynkoop's full review
Quentin Aisbett profile photo
September 26, 2018

Campaign Monitor Review: "Easy To Use. Great Functionality."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We recommend Campaign Monitor to our clients. In most instances, we simply set up the account and design their first template, while in some cases we manage their campaigns on an ongoing basis.

In any case, we need to be able to recommend a premium product and have access to a range of analytics that will help our clients make better decisions. Campaign Monitor delivers this in spades.
  • It's super-simple to use. From setting up a template from the gallery, creating a campaign or even setting up automation.
  • Its automation is basic but it's powerful.
  • The pricing scales well allowing our clients to grow.
  • The entry-level plan is not as competitive
  • It's not as widely integrated as MailChimp
For a business who has plans of growing their email list and using email as a key communication vehicle, Campaign Monitor provides a suite of features that will provide tremendous value.

It is perhaps not that appropriate for the small business who doesn't believe they will ever get beyond 2,000 contacts and only wants to send irregular emails.
Read Quentin Aisbett's full review
No photo available
July 27, 2018

User Review: "Campaign Monitor...Just Ok"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Solving email marketing automation and updates back into SalesForce. Campaign Monitor (CM) allows us to send email without having to resort to using Outlook. Its always surprising to me how many businesses still use Outlook to send outbound marketing email.

While CM's email servers tend to not be as widely accepted by other businesses we market to, their support does do their best to help figure out what went wrong with hard bounces from blocked servers.

List/subscribers are easy to use and add/delete contacts from. Support is very good and responds quickly. Many plugins for other platforms.

I would also point out that the way that campaign stats are presented is not quite there as well. Would like some deeper dive ability to zoom in and out on a campaign.

  • CM is a great budget platform to use for outbound email.
  • Overall CM is a good company and easy to work with. They have great support but fall short in only a few areas. Would be a good starting out platform to use.
  • Email template editor is awful. Not as bad as say MS Dynamics CRM... But its more difficult than MailChimp. This is mainly my biggest pain point with CM.
If you have a large list you need to run through and validate, this is a good service. Pretty easy in import and export lists. Not too great for segmenting lists, there are better services that make it easier and more impactful.
Read this authenticated review
David Nero profile photo
March 30, 2018

Campaign Monitor Review: "Non profit use"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Campaign Monitor for email marketing campaigns. It's used across the whole organization and is the standard platform.
  • Nice design tools
  • Salesforce integration
  • Analytics
  • Strong overall
  • Raisers edge integration
Well suited for any organization to design and send emails.
Read David Nero's full review
Marios Prapopoulos profile photo
February 01, 2018

Review: "Campaign Monitor delivers on its promises!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Campaign Monitor for our recently set up e-mail marketing campaigns. Although we are new to e-mail marketing, it seems like great share (if not almost all) of our marketing resources we will be investing down this path.
  • Fast to upload and download subscriber lists from our existing databases.
  • Sends e-mails pretty fast!
  • No fuss interface
  • List management
  • Some e-mail building aspects could be improoved
  • More automation options for regular basic package users
No comment here. We are pretty new to it.
Read Marios Prapopoulos's full review
No photo available
March 02, 2018

Campaign Monitor Review: "The easiest, most feature-packed way to keep in touch with customers"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I had been experimenting with different solutions to help me keep in touch with my customers. Campaign Monitor was the most professional looking--both on the backend as well as the available email templates and options. The templates are highly customizable, and unlike other "similar" products, these templates were built correctly without any need to modify the code (even though it's pretty easy to do that as well).
  • Easily customizable
  • The user interface is easy to navigate, everything you need is available without the need to dig around
  • Reporting is a breeze
  • Loading lists into the system is a bit more cumbersome than it needs to be
  • The Wordpress integration seems a bit invasive on the page. Perhaps it can be "toned down" in the settings, but that was my initial impression.
  • There is quite a bit of difference in the pricing structures
I don't have a large list, so this works well for me. However those with large lists might be put off by the way that the import feature works, or by the huge difference in the pricing structure. All in all, it is a really great product, and I plan on sticking with it.
Read this authenticated review
Nicholas De Salvo profile photo
December 14, 2017

Campaign Monitor Review: "A great service to get you started, but you'll want to try something else as your list grows."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Campaign Monitor as a email marketing and automation solution in our office for our own marketing projects. We have also implemented it for many of our clients. It provides a good interface for email design, list management, and automation tools to incorporate with our marketing campaigns and for use in our funnels.
  • Easy interface for email building. It's super intuitive even if you're not accustomed to building with code.
  • The campaign reporting is designed very well, and easy to understand.
  • Getting started is simple and automations are easy to get rolling.
  • The automation features are a bit basic and some power users might find they need a more robust option.
  • Using HTML is harder than it should be.
  • Their Contact Management is cumbersome and list-based, which can create a contact in multiple lists (each counting toward your total).
It's an easy-to-use interface that works well for self-service clients and solopreneurs looking to keep in touch with their customers. For more robust automations and triggers, it would be better to look into options like Active Campaign, Infusionsoft, or even MailChimp. Though there can be a significant price difference between those types of services.
Read Nicholas De Salvo's full review
Chris Williams profile photo
September 15, 2017

Review: "Campaign Monitor - A Well Rounded Email Marketing Platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use campaign monitor to run all of our email marketing, drip campaigns and newsletters both internal and external. We use it in the marketing department, but we utilize it for campaign across multiple divisions in the company. It solves the problem of having visually appealing emails to send out as well as managing our emails lists.
  • The visual email builder is great for anyone that is not comfortable with code. It gives you great flexibility, the visual builder is easy to use and and learn.
  • Though this is a feature in most all email marketing platforms, but utilizing this to manage our email lists is a great tool and helps save a lot of time.
  • The feature that you can test your email through various platforms before you send is a great feature and offers some great insight.
  • The customer service is great, I have had some issues in the past but have always received quality assistance.
  • It would be great if you could build visual workflows for the marketing campaigns and set up triggers for those workflows. But the journeys they have in place are not bad.
  • I feel like the analytics and insights offer less then some other products, but the great news is I believe Campaign Monitor is upgrading this feature.
  • It would also be great to just be able to build email templates in the system without having to build a campaign.
The platform is robust and should fit almost any business or setup based on your needs. I have used it for as small as single emails and newsletters and it can be used all the way up to building custom journeys with triggers and everything in between. If you are not a designer and do not know any code this platform has a decent amount of pre-made template to use. The cost based on your email list is very competitive with the other competitors in the market. I personally did not like to use it for our transaction emails, but the platform is capable of doing this feature. I use Send Grid for this service instead.
Read Chris Williams's full review
Billie-Ann Woo profile photo
September 01, 2017

Review: "Campaign Monitor: Good, Basic Email Tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CM in the Marketing department - only one user at the moment. We use it for email marketing but also some list management and lead generation/list collection. As an email marketing tool, we can track email activity (opens, clicks) and also contact viability (bounces, etc) to ensure we have a clean and updated list.
  • The design interface is easy to use: drag & drop and very intuitive.
  • The campaign metrics are displayed in an easy to digest manner.
  • The automation flows are easy to create - a bit basic but not complicated.
  • Contact management needs some serious work - it is list based so every contact (unique or NOT) is counted towards your allotment. To me this delineates this product from being a CRM - they really should have contact records and different list memberships. This also skews the way people are billed probably so you have to keep an eye out on this.
  • Lists and segmentation need a lot of back work and setting up to use. You have to assign characteristics to contacts when they are uploaded so if you have to plan ahead strategically on how your future lists will look.
  • Although their email designer is very easy to use, sometimes I wish there was a bit more flexibility in customization.
It's a perfectly adequate email sending tool for basic campaigns. Our Salesforce integration was a bit borky with it and I mentioned that the contact management and list/segmentation tools aren't great for a more sophisticated/mature digital marketing operation. If you want to sent some basic campaigns with good data visibility, this is a good fit for you. But if you are at all thinking about automation, I'd leapfrog into those tools rather than this one (forms, lead generation, CRM integration, dynamic lists).
Read Billie-Ann Woo's full review
alan serpa profile photo
December 18, 2017

Review: "Campaign Monitor the champion of email marketing but really expensive"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using campaign monitor to deploy email marketing campaigns for our new subscriber and client of our software. We find it works really well, great insights and decent templates. It's pricey and we are trying to figure out the value of the service vs. other competitors. We will be evaluating other competitors.
  • Templates are easy to use
  • Metrics and analytics are excellent
  • Good view of all campaigns
  • Templates
  • Designing templates
  • Flexible templates
It's well suited for running great campaigns it's just really expensive.
Read alan serpa's full review
Tara Robertson profile photo
February 15, 2016

Campaign Monitor Review: "Email Marketing Made Simple"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my previous role I worked for a marketing agency. We used Campaign Monitor (CM) for basic email marketing campaigns. It was very easy to use and give customer access to for managing, executing, and tracking campaigns overall. CM addressed the need for an email marketing tool that has general ease of use and is self services for our clients.
  • A/B Testing
  • Email Marketing
  • Templates
  • Marketing Automation & Workflows
  • Integrations
I think for an email marketing tool, Campaign Monitor is spot on. It does what you need it to do and is very easy to use. If you want basic outbound email marketing overall this is the tool to use. I like it much more than other email tools out there. It is less appropriate when you need a more robust inbound solution.
Read Tara Robertson's full review
Lisa Gerhard profile photo
July 14, 2015

Campaign Monitor Review: "CLE Newsletter"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Campaign Monitor to circulate a continuing legal education newsletter. It is well received by those at the firm and also by clients outside the firm.
  • It has a readable concise format.
  • It is easy to use.
  • The data is gathered easily through the Campaign Monitor reports.
  • Sometimes we would like to add pictures or snapshots and for this purpose we must employ someone to add them to our newsletter through html coding.
It is well suited where I work because we have offices in other states -- it is easily emailed.
Read Lisa Gerhard's full review
No photo available
August 03, 2016

Review: "Campaign Monitor allows novice users to send & monitor their email campaigns. Expert email marketers need not apply."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Campaign Monitor to send out targeted emails to staff, monthly eNewsletters to stakeholders of our hospital and research updates from our research department. The application is used across the entire organization by a select few communication coordinators. It addresses the need for sending out professional, templated emails both internally and externally, while providing analytics and tracking statistics.
  • Once templates have been created, it is easy to use, especially for those who aren't versed in HTML coding.
  • Analytics are simple and more in-depth than some of its competitors, even offering metrics based on geography, email client type, device type, etc.
  • A/B testing is simple to use and effective, requiring minimal set up.
  • An HTML editing mode would be welcome, as the templates are currently very restrictive. While this is a good thing for people who don't have a coding or web design background, it severely limits the customizability.
  • Whitelisting seems to be an issue for some organizations, although this is likely also a function of the IT departments of those organizations.
  • While creating emails from a pre-made template is easy, if they wanted to totally remove the coding aspect, they could've implemented a WYSIWYG or drag-and-drop editor.
Campaign Monitor is suited to cases where the emails that you send are heavily templated, and will not deviate much from that template. We use it primarily for internal communications to staff as opposed to sending an Outlook email, as it provides us with stats on open rate, clickthrough, etc. It is less appropriate for cases where you anticipate a lot of deviation between email communications and would rather have full control over the look and feel of the email.
Read this authenticated review

Campaign Monitor Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Dynamic content (12)
7.8
Ability to test dynamic content (1)
8
A/B testing (12)
8.6
Email deliverability (1)
10
Standard reports (1)
10

About Campaign Monitor

Campaign Monitor enables users to create, send, and optimize email marketing campaigns.

Campaign Monitor Features

Email & Online Marketing Features
Does not have featureWYSIWYG email editor
Has featureDynamic content
Does not have featureAbility to test dynamic content
Does not have featureLanding pages
Has featureA/B testing
Does not have featureMobile optimization
Does not have featureEmail deliverability
Does not have featureList management
Does not have featureTriggered drip sequences
Reporting & Analytics Features
Does not have featureDashboards
Does not have featureStandard reports
Does not have featureCustom reports
Additional Features
Has featureMobile Ready Templates
Has featureInbox Preview
Has featureEmail Automation
Has featureUnlimited Contact Lists
Has featureList Segmentation
Has featureCustom Fields
Has featureFacebook Subscribe
Has featureSocial Sharing
Has feature24/7 Support
Has featurePersonalization
Has featureTemplate Gallery
Has featureSpam Testing
Has featureBranding

Campaign Monitor Screenshots

Campaign Monitor Integrations

SoClever, LiveChat, SessionCam, Salesforce, Facebook Subscribe, Lytics, MailSync, Zapier

Campaign Monitor Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Campaign Monitor Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
40%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

Campaign Monitor Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Campaign Monitor Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone
Supported Languages: English