Camtasia Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
165 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 54)

Michael Whatley | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

High Quality, Low Cost Video Production

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, we use videos to deliver information about changes to products, processes, and tools. On the training side, we also use videos to deliver training to our sales organization. These include tutorials, informational videos, or engagement videos. Camtasia has allowed us to broaden the number of users creating videos - allowing us to increase the volume of videos we produce as well as remove a bottleneck in the process.
  • Camtasia comes with a set of "library assets" which are templates, images, motion graphics, and audio files that fit together to create an overall style for a video. Without a lot of experience working with video, these help novice designers develop a more polished product more rapidly.
  • The interface itself is very intuitive. The tools provided with Camtasia allow users to do a lot with video and the way in which a user would accomplish various tasks is pretty easy to understand and execute.
  • Compared to more robust software platforms, like Adobe Premiere or Final Cut, Camtaisa lets people who don't need that level of software deliver high-quality video products quickly. Camtasia isn't basic and it isn't robust - but it certainly meets the need for the price point.
  • Camtasia could do better on their keying performance. By that, I mean the ability to remove a specific color - for green screen execution. In my experience, it takes a little bit of time to fine-tune the settings to get a good quality color removal without seeing grainy edges.
  • The ability to manipulate the video with motion or rotation is slightly limited in Camtasia. Other programs such as Adobe Premiere or Final Cut have a lot more flexibility with video manipulation that isn't always necessary in Camtasia; however, it would be nice to have a few more options in this area.
  • Actual video editing - color correction, for example - is very limited in Camtasia. If you don't have a quality team filming your videos, then live action can become troublesome without the ability to adjust the footage since the tools are so limited in Camtasia related to that side of post-production.
Camtasia is great for screen captures for software tutorials or basic level video production. It's not as well suited for heavy motion graphics or animation. When it comes to the higher level production quality, I would recommend other platforms; however, Camtasia is a fantastic entry-level tool for people who are just getting started with videos. It's a very intuitive user interface with a fair amount of flexibility around what you can actually do with the various video elements.
Read Michael Whatley's full review
Allison Chaney | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2020

Fantastic and Flexible Features and Customizations - Great for professional video

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole organization uses Camtasia. We are a small company, with four people. Two of us are trainers and we record online video courses. We use Camtasia to create professional training videos and our in-house editors use it to add features and logos, etc. to the videos to make it consistent with our brand. We need a reliable program that can be used by the entire team to create professional video. We also do green-screen video and Camtasia is great for that.
  • Advanced editing features
  • Ability to add graphic overlays like logos
  • Green-screen capabilities
  • Lots of editing options that allow you to easily adjust size, space, timing, etc.
  • Limited cross-compatibility with different versions. One team member upgraded and everyone had to upgrade as a result because they couldn't transfer files and work on them as a team.
  • Some editing features are a bit challenging to figure out such as transitions and animations. It's not intuitive and things change with versions so if you find an online tutorial it won't apply if it's the wrong version.
  • Large file size outputs. It would be nice to sync them to a cloud vs. needing to keep an external hard drive handy to store files. When working on a team, the team has had to physically transport hard drives to share files.
Camtasia is fantastic for professional video editing. It has lots of features that allow you to create a video that is polished and professional. It also is easy to learn and user-friendly. The hotkeys make using the software much more efficient. If you just need basic editing, however, there are plenty of free programs that work just as well. But for a professional setting, a program like Camtasia has all the features you need.
Read Allison Chaney's full review
Karen Chamberlain | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

Camtasia works well for us

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Camtasia to produce marketing videos, to edit our webinar videos, and to edit or create training videos. If we want to show the customer how to perform a particular function in the system we create a video that's a few minutes long that can be emailed. We also record training sessions and then edit them later for emphasis. This software is used by the marketing department.
  • It is incredibly quick and easy to create a short training video.
  • It allows us to place opening and closing slides with our company info on every video.
  • So far it's been able to do everything we've needed it to do.
  • Noise reduction hasn't worked well for us.
  • Sometimes the video (with audio) hasn't had the quality that we expected.
  • If you have to manipulate the audio and the video it can be a bit tedious and time consuming.
  • We've had a few edited videos that "jump" at the beginning.
Well suited for training videos, and for manipulating recorded sessions, such as training or webinars. You can add music, introduction clips, end slides with your company information, end credits, etc. to make those videos look professional. For training videos that are only a couple of minutes long, the resulting mp4 is small enough to be emailed. There's several options for size, quality, etc. We've used it for marketing videos but have had some quality issues there (perhaps it is a novice user issue).
Read Karen Chamberlain's full review
Nancy Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 29, 2020

Camtasia is our workhorse.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Across the organization - nearly all internal videos are created and edited with Camtasia. It is an internal training tool - we use it to record and edit sales presentations, technical training, animate slide decks, and so forth.
  • We also edit external videos (pulled from Youtube or our call recording software) in Camtasia.
  • Videos created in Camtasia are critical in holding the attention of our internal staff.
  • Easy video recording
  • Easy editing to create polished and professional videos- much easier than any other package
  • Fairly sophisticated effects
  • I would like more functionality around the library
  • Better in-app audio editing - sometimes, I use Audacity to augment what Camtasia can do.
  • I wish I could adjust the black background.
  • Anytime you need to record someone giving a presentation and then edit it to make it concise and professional looking. In essence, it's a great training tool and more easily done in Camtasia than any other program.
  • Anytime you want to record any steps within a program or software - it allows you to emphasize or hide the cursor, zoom in and out, etc.
  • Anytime you want to create a quick video for internal training or a highly polished video for customer training - Camtasia is the easiest place to do either.
  • Anytime you want some of your staff to begin video editing - it's the easiest to learn.
Read Nancy Johnson's full review
Keith Lillico, M.Ed, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 29, 2020

Great tool to get the job done

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization currently uses Camtasia for screen captures videos. We also use it to match background music to other videos that we have recorded elsewhere. Camtasia is the go-to tool for members of my organization who do not have extensive video editing experience because it is easy for them to use.
  • Screen Capture
  • Simple Video Editing
  • Move complex video editing features
  • The ability to be exact when cutting and splicing a video
  • Sometimes the publishing options are overwhelming
Camtasia is ideal for those who want to do quick edits to a video, or they need to record basic onscreen simulations. It's less appropriate if you need to make complex videos with multiple layers that are public-facing.
Read Keith Lillico, M.Ed, MBA's full review
Amelia Keown | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Great for professional and personal video creation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Camtasia is used to create training videos for our employees. These videos are typically created by the taking department with collaboration with various departments. This allows the company to provide online training to employees specific to our industry.
  • Capture screen activity including mouse movement providing easy editing capabilities.
  • Addition of graphics during video creation allowing detailed explanation of items that may not be visible in live video footage.
  • In previous versions, I had issues with the program shutting down if I added too many elements, video clips, etc. Recently the newer version did not seem to have this issue but I have not pushed the limits.
  • There are times I want to lengthen a portion or element during video creation but the program did not allow it if there were other items on the same track. I can see why this is necessary in some cases, but I would like to override in other situations.
Camtasia can be used for professional video creation such as our trading videos or for personal application. I have used the program to create photo montages for children and grandchildren including graphics and music.
Read Amelia Keown's full review
Will Goad | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Camtasia brings needed features in an intuitive interface

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Camtasia was originally purchased for training videos. Due to its simple and intuitive screen capture and annotation functionality, I personally have created hundreds of training videos in the last four years. Beyond training, Camtasia has also been used to create marketing videos, perform quick edits on live meeting/webinar recordings, take quick screen captures for technical support, and more. Camtasia has intuitive features and makes it easy for teams to integrate video quickly into market and client-facing activities. Perfect for those who use video as part of, not all of their job.

  • Annotation tools: easy to call out video elements for viewers.
  • Text overlay: makes instruction easy.
  • Audio plugins would allow for better audio enhancement, editing.
  • The narration feature doesn’t always trigger the video to play while you record. This makes it harder to make sure timing is correct.
Camtasia is great if you are a trainer, sales rep, technical support person or another professional where video is a small part of what you do. Because the tool is intuitive and makes assumptions on the controls/settings, you can start making good videos immediately. If all you do is video, you may find the functionality limited.
Read Will Goad's full review
Michael Leone | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Camtasia: Professional Videos Made Easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our training department uses Camtasia to quickly create slick videos for our corporate training. It allows us to quickly edit green screen footage, screen recordings, and more. We are able to go from digital film to editing out the green screen, and inserting animations and text in no time. It’s one of the most efficient video editing software packages we’ve used.
  • Green screen removal/keying
  • Text animation
  • It would be nice if it worked better with higher-bit rate video.
  • More options for built-in video transitions.
Camtasia really works well if you are looking to make professional-looking videos in an office environment. If you have a green screen setup and want to make talking head style trainings, this works great. If you want to use your green screen to create videos for role-playing or for a company party, this works great as well. While it is less feature-rich than something like Adobe Premiere CC, it is also easier to use.
Read Michael Leone's full review
Nicolas Hanhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 02, 2020

Camtesia for Creating Effective Tutorials

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Camtasia is used across the whole organization by faculty and staff to create interactive media files that help improve learning quality on campus.
  • Easy to import video and photos created in other application.
  • Uploading to YouTube is available from within the application.
  • Rendering takes a long for long videos.
Camtasia is suitable when creating a video tutorial, for example, screen recording a tour of the college website, speaking on the features and content of each page, and adding pop-up quizzes at any specific point in the video to test the user knowledge.
Read Nicolas Hanhan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Solid Video Tool for Small Business

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Camtasia is used by both our marketing department and our operations department. Our marketing department uses it to make short promotional clips--usually all digital clips. The operations department uses this to create customer training videos. These videos allow proactive customers the opportunity to get rolling with their set-up before our first call.
  • Ease of use
  • Video quality
  • Not good when recording Excel spreadsheets
  • Slow downloads
Camtasia is very good for creating small videos for personal or professional use. I have used it extensively to record a walk-through of steps in a screen-share. The quality is good for small things like that. This is not a platform for enterprise-level video quality or graphic design.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Camtasia - Easy to capture learning experiences that are already happening across your organization

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
On our training team, we use Camtasia to record and produce e-learning training videos and tutorials. We are the only department currently using Camtasia, but work closely with SMEs to record trainings across other departments using Camtasia. It allows us to quickly and easily record presentations, conference calls, trainings, or meetings and convert them into training material that can be made available online and shared across the company.
  • Records in-person and virtual learning experiences.
  • Add visual effects and b roll to make the e-learning content more engaging.
  • Audio processing is a bit limited - I often have to export the audio into Audacity for fine-tuning.
  • Importing slides into Camtasia doesn't keep animations.
Camtasia is suitable for recording any learning experience - whether meetings, product demos, conference calls, classroom-based or virtual; converting recordings (audio and/or video-based) into compact, engaging e-learning courses.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

User friendly and useful software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Camtasia to create tutorial/guidance videos using screen capture and voice over. The tutorial videos mainly address how to perform various administrative tasks. We also use Camtasia to convert PowerPoint presentations to video. Currently it is being used across two departments.
  • Screen capture.
  • PowerPoint.
  • Post-production editing.
  • Cost is expensive compared to similar platforms.
Well suited for tutorials and guidance videos. Well suited for creating videos from PowerPoint presentations.
Read this authenticated review
.Kim Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2019

Camtasia Is Perfect For Screencast Project Updates To Web Development Clients

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For the past 12 years, our web design company has been using Camtasia to make great videos that show clients their website interfaces as we are developing them, and to create training videos explaining to clients on how to manage their websites. Project updates are easily communicated to clients and collaborators with Camtasia. When we look at the clients existing website or software for analysis we create friendly talkative screencast videos for the client. It's like we are right their next to the client talking to them as they can see our screens and hear our voices.
  • Camtasia makes it very easy to record everything on your screen or just certain regions of your screen
  • Camtasia has advanced built-in editing tools to integrate video
  • Adding music, sound and markup to screencast videos is very easy with Camtasia
  • Camtasia takes a lot of training to learn how to integrate and edit video
  • Video editing is not as advanced as most major video editing software products
  • Camtasia does not provide as many pre-made sound themes as they should. The selection is not very diverse.
In looking at client's existing websites and speaking our thoughts about them to our potential web design clients via screencast videos, Camtasia is nearly the perfect solution. Camtasia is also great for providing project updates and training videos to our web design clients. For complex integrated screencast presentations, we might need to integrate a better software program like Adobe Premier or After Effects. For faster and more simple screencast vidoes we use Jing via Screencast.com instead.
Read .Kim Murphy's full review
Doreen Giles | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2019

Camtasia gets the basics done

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Camtasia is being used within our organization to supplement our training effort in deploying enterprise application systems. This along with other help documentation helps to reinforce learning and reduce the use of manpower for training. Camtasia allows the flexibility to incorporate PowerPoint slideshows, audio and video clips, and graphics and screen recording. Camtasia is also used to edit Skype recordings created during live trainings.
  • Provides a very clean user interface
  • Very good technical support
  • Easy to use editing tools
  • Price point is high compared to other video editing tools
  • Would like to see more variety of callout, transitions and fonts.
  • Would like a time estimate for compiling video
Camtasia is well suited for small projects that do not require interactive learning. It is good for screen recording and using PowerPoint recording add ins. Would like to be able to add interactive features in an easy way such as quizzes, etc. If you have a project with a lot of objects, Camtasia can sometimes misbehave. I have also found issues with the audio tools not being easy to adjust.
Read Doreen Giles's full review
Jackie Ramos | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2019

Camtasia best video and audio software out there.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using it to create training videos for our end users. Right now it's only being used by 2 departments. I also use it to create and convert other videos for our events to help streamline presentations. It's quick to create and convert many videos and pretty simple to use.
  • Quick to create and convert videos. Good Training and supported videos for beginners.
  • You can import any type of media, PPT, audio, video, photos, etc.
  • Training videos are excellent.
  • Their support staff is also great.
  • Always imporving their software.
  • Maybe the screen capture syncing with the audio. Sometime you can get a delay on it.
  • Quick training video for end-user support.
  • Good converting and uploading video contact to the web.
Read Jackie Ramos's full review
Cheryl Zelasko | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2019

Camtasia is a Trainer's friend

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Camtasia in two ways. Our upper-level management uses it to convey knowledge to the company, kind of like a recorded town hall meeting. Our HR staff and I use it as a visual training tool.
  • It has editing functions that allow you to cut and paste new pieces into your recording without having to re-record the parts you are happy with.
  • It is easy and quick to set up and start.
  • It has multiple ways to save the file so it can be distributed.
  • If you're not someone who uses this type of software regularly, it is a little intimidating.
  • Placing the annotations and other features that are available into your clip have a lot of trial and error to them. I found it difficult to get the size and information I wanted where I wanted it.
I use it often when trying to help our managers generate specific types of reports or learn repetitive processes. I can go through the procedure on my screen and talk them through step by step so they can refer back to it at later dates to generate the information they need in a report or understand the process to submit something to our department.

We have a detailed customer quoting system that has 7 steps to it. If you miss one, it completes stops the process. By videoing the steps through a complete process, our staff can see how to handle the situation and it is available for new hires so we don't forget to tell them a step.
Read Cheryl Zelasko's full review
Justin Germino | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2019

Camtasia Studio Makes Video Editing Easy and Fast

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Camtasia 2018 and previously Camtasia 7, then Camtasia 8 to produce product unboxing videos, review videos, showcases, video game narration videos, and screen recording and training videos on a regular basis every week. I use Camtasia for multi-layer video editing, multi-layer sound editing, adding annotations, transitions and more.
  • Very easy to work with multiple video and audio layers
  • Easy to apply transitions and annotations
  • Easy to resize and do picture in picture effects
  • Has some trouble with .mov file format when they are large size with preview playback
  • Has trouble with 4K and working with 60+ fps video
  • Sometimes crashes when using hardware mode for rendering instead of software mode
  • Could have an effects subscription service or offer out more bonus effects
When working with multiple video layers, and doing picture in picture few software programs are as easy as Camtasia for just adding additional video players and doing picture in picture. Also for auto importing PowerPoint files and adding voice narration over them is where this software also shines. It is also excellent at full screen recording able to record video game play, or any window and you can resize, pause/start recording again as needed.
Read Justin Germino's full review
Mark Nowowiejski | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2018

Best results for using Camtasia in Higher Ed

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Camtasia on a regular basis for online course modules as well as in the creation of technical training materials. Its preloaded call out effects, pan and zoom feature, and simple linear editor make it a fairly usable for even more novice faculty to use. Additionally, we've also noted quite a few enhancements and they've worked to make the Mac and PC versions more consistent than they were originally.
  • Easy to use
  • Pre-canned special effects, transitions, and callouts
  • ability to integrate/publish to your LMS with the additional of the RELAY software (recommended)
  • The export process can be slow and it can monopolize your machine's RAM. It is difficult to do other tasks while Camtasia is rendering your final product.
  • Old versions can be temperamental and occasionally corrupt/refuse to open if you don't practice good file management. Keep your files organized in with a master project folder!
  • The built-in Screencast hosting solution isn't very good. We usually end up rendering and hosting elsewhere. (private Vimeo Channel, YouTube or Kaltura)
It's pretty industry standard software at this point and it integrated well with TechSmith's other software like Snaggit, JING etc. A hardcore multimedia/video person can learn it easily but may find it restrictive and prefer to use a more robust tool such as Adobe Premiere or After Effects. However, it is still a solid capturing tool to start with. Unfortunately, the program's native file type (.cmp?) doesn't really carry over well to anything else. We typically convert to .mp4 or .mov and go from there.
Read Mark Nowowiejski's full review
Chris Wilkey | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2019

A Video Editing Software for the Masses

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Camtasia is used as the primary method of recording videos and instructional walkthroughs for the department. It allows us to record our screen and make quick edits that make quick and easy videos that help prospective students and parents learn more about our processes and procedures. It is also used for recording screen recordings from mobile devices.
  • Speeds up the recording of screen recordings and video walkthroughs.
  • Allows us to record mobile devices with ease.
  • Really quick edits that allow us to take a recording to the final product instantly.
  • It is missing some editing features of more advanced programs.
  • Some of the transitions could be improved in the editing process.
  • Recording can be hard to track and sort with the structure of the files.
I would recommend Camtasia for anyone in my department. It is an entry-level video software that is easy to learn and makes video recording easy. It works for software demos and also allows me to edit quick projects to get them live by the end of the day. It isn't meant for high-quality video production.
Read Chris Wilkey's full review
William Ruthrauff | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 30, 2018

Effortlessly create or edit videos with professional results

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my current role, I am responsible for the departmental communications. My team sets up knowledge share meetings, VP Town Hall meetings, etc. All of which involves video recordings. Often we need to either trim down videos or edit gaps. Camtasia is the first product I go to. I also use the software to combine images into videos to commemorate our employees participating in community events. And lastly, I will use Camtasia to create quick training videos.
  • The interface is very easy to use. Without any experience, a person can quickly create or edit and produce it in a format you need.
  • Camtasia offers many extras included with the software at such a low price point.
  • The product is feature rich. There are transitions and the ability to create animations. Many tools that allow a person to create a professional video.
  • TechSmith offers many tutorials, both in video format and in articles. They have a great support system.
  • I'm hard pressed to find areas that need improvement. If I could recommend anything, it would be a faster video creation.
One of Camtasia's strengths is the fact that it can be used without any knowledge of video editing, giving anyone the ability to begin their first project right away. The program is very intuitive and for those areas you might need help, you can quickly find a "How to" video on the internet.

Due to the ease of use, it comes in handy cleaning up videos from any source, even your smartphone. It can create product demonstration videos, training videos, even personal videos. Due to transitions, pan and zoom and animations, you will be producing professional videos that you can be very proud of. The product even provides quite a few royalty-free audio clips to be used as background audio in any type of video project.

The only criticism I can offer is the length of time it takes to create the final video when you have completed editing. (I honestly think it really isn't that long - we just have the expectation of everything being instantaneous) However, I do know that TechSmith has committed to an annual release schedule and will work continuously to improve an already excellent product.
Read William Ruthrauff's full review
Robert Nunez | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2019

A Screen Capturing Dream Tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, there are two of us that use it at Haselden. I have recommended that our IT people who do screen captures use Camtasia, but they are not currently. It provides us with an excellent screen capturing app at an affordable price. It works wonderfully.
  • Easy to screen capture.
  • UX is wonderful.
  • Editing is easy to use. I didn't need much training on how to use Camtasia.
  • Editing audio is not the best.
This is great for software simulation. Recording and doing edits are easy. It takes less time to edit videos than it does using Premiere Pro. We use Camtasia almost exclusively for software simulation. Recording narration, which we do often, is another easy to use function. We use Audition when we are recording small snip-its of voice over.
Read Robert Nunez's full review
Relton McBurrows | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2019

Camtasia doesn't have all that you want, but may have all you need

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Camtasia is primarily used in our hospital as a screen capture and video editing tool by our professional development and training department. Within the department, five employees actively use this application for video editing. Camtasia offers an intuitive video editing option with simple tools and a direct connection to other TechSmith tools that are commonly used by our department.
  • Camtasia offers cursor and click tracking and highlighting. This easily accessible option is amazingly useful in creating the system tutorials for which our department is responsible.
  • Our first step in capturing screen steps and progress is using TechSmith SnagIt. SnagIt integrates seamlessly with Camtasia.
  • Camtasia lacks some of the pro options that are required to complete our videos. We often turn to some of our full-featured applications to finish a project.
  • The import/export file formats are very limited.
Camtasia is excellently suited for opportunities where your aim is to create video tutorials of a process and/or workflow. Using the embedded screen recorder or in conjunction with SnagIt, I can easily capture my active use or the tool or process that I wish to teach.

However, in scenarios where a more polished video design is necessary, Camtasia lacks the options. Also, there are a number of popular file types that Camtasia is not capable of importing or exporting.
Read Relton McBurrows's full review
Lori Wildman | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Camtasia Gets You Up and Running Quickly

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Camtasia mainly for internal training videos; however we have recently started using it for external training videos and webinar recordings as well. Although I have the full Adobe Creative Cloud Suite including Premiere Pro, I prefer Camtasia for its ease of use. You can watch their useful training videos and be up and running with recording and editing in less than an hour.
  • Internal employee software training videos. This is where Camtasia really excels, as you're able to record all your screen activity and add highlights, call-outs, etc. to your video during the editing phase.
  • External pre-recorded webinars or training.
  • Editing post-webinar recordings for later distribution.
  • I haven't yet come across something I've wanted to do and haven't been able to do.
  • Even when it takes you a bit to figure out how to do something, or where to go to find it, there's probably a training video or other help files available.
Camtasia really excels with such uses as internal employee software training videos. You're able to record all your screen activity and add highlights, call-outs, etc. to your video during the editing phase.
It certainly doesn't have all the bells and whistles of Adobe Premiere Pro, but for the average business user or marketing team, it should meet your needs and is much easier to learn quickly.
Read Lori Wildman's full review
Eric Batson | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 30, 2018

Camtasia - Easy Film Editing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Camtasia is being used by my company to develop training videos that demonstrate ho to use systems and complete daily work procedures. These videos are edited to call-out key steps, system highlights, and best practices. It is also used to edit short interviews with leadership and other decision makers.
  • Camtasia is easier to learn for beginner film editors than some other, more complex software.
  • It comes with prefabricated tools that take minimal effort to use and create, such as the ability to highlight areas of the screen.
  • You can add audio, image, and video tracks with ease.
  • Camtasia does not have as many options as Adobe Premiere. It is a more basic video editing software.
  • I would like some more options besides the prefabricated ones it provides.
  • If you move the file for someone to use, the tracks can get jumbled. To fix this, you must first zip the file and then send it to someone to edit and/or use.
Camtasia is best suited for beginner film editors. It is a good starting point with some descent options and effects. As your skills increase, you may want to move on to more complex and powerful tools, such as Adobe Premiere. It is, however, a good tool for screen captures, filming a demo on your computer, and editing other video projects.
Read Eric Batson's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2019

Camtasia/TechSmith Relay is a basic, easy to use screen capture program which has its pros and cons!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Camtasia, now called TechSmith Relay, was used to record presentation videos for our faculty to share with their students. We switched from using it, after all these years, to Panopto.
  • It's very easy to learn and use.
  • Uploading of videos was straightforward and easy.
  • Integrated well easily with our video storage service.
  • Both a pro and a con of it being easy to use is that it has limited features.
  • Better video editing abilities.
  • More enhancements on creating videos. Added webcam in the video would be nice while presenting.
  • Automated closed captioning would be great!
For an easy screen capture program, use Camtasia/TechSmith Relay works great. For a bells and whistles screen capture program, not so great. If you want to do a quick Powerpoint presentation with a voice-over, it's perfect. Anything beyond that, not so much.
Read this authenticated review

About Camtasia

Camtasia from TechSmith is a tool for making screen and video recordings.

Camtasia Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No