Canva Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
475 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 129)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 14, 2021
Andy Fuller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Automatic sizing for different social channels
  • Grids to guide novice designers
  • Ability to upload fonts and images to personalize your designs
  • It's easy to over-estimate your design ability
  • UI is a little...cluttered
Read Andy Fuller's full review
April 14, 2021
Elizabeth Hyman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great and easy to use templates for everything!
  • Beautiful illustrations to use for free (with paid subscription)
  • Group collaboration on projects. Easily save and send for comments from the team
  • Branding kit so you never have to search for fonts or colors, they're always right there
  • I'd like to be able to resize a project more easily, or have the ability to use instagram sizes that are outside the usual square post
  • I have only had it happen once, but it did crash on me once, which was upsetting.
  • it does everything I need it to, so its hard to find a third area for improvement. They're constantly updating.
Read Elizabeth Hyman's full review
April 13, 2021
Sitanshu Mehrotra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of Use: Canva is really very easy to use. It has loads of super templates that you can choose from, and create your own graphics simply by replacing the content.
  • Socially Compatible: Canva has a segregated set of templates based on the Social Media options(i.e. Facebook, Instagram, etc.); you can simply pick-&-choose the one that you want to work one
  • In-built Presentation Mode: I've used the functionality thrice, it is far more interactive, and sleek compared to traditional office presentation
  • Brand kit: One of the best features of Canva, is that it lets you create a brand kit, the fonts that you use, the regular color theme; which can be really helpful when you want to create a symmetry in your posts
  • Pro Subscription: If you have team members added, then you have to opt for a pro-subscription for the entire team, and not individual.
  • There should be a functionality, that could differentiate between and enable it.
  • Canva has moved some really useful feature under paid subscription, like resize the current post to different direction, or to download the graphic with transparent direction.
  • It's an internal decision, but as a user, these features are pretty basic and should have continued to be free.
  • Canva can introduce cheaper paid plans that can include some of the Pro features that are frequently used, even if they don't include that complete photo/video library.
Read Sitanshu Mehrotra's full review
April 13, 2021
Aaron Steinberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It allows for people with limited graphic design skills to produce something sharp and clean.
  • It allows for people with graphic design skills to do about 90% of what they could do on a more dedicated, professional graphic design tool.
  • It allows for staff to work quickly on graphic design needs, eliminating for us at least the need to work with outside designers, to spend on outside designers and to spend time communicating with outside designers.
  • A few more advanced tools would allow for those with more advanced graphic design skills to do even more.
  • There are limitations on some tools that are probably in place by design, in order to make sure that those with limited graphic design skills can still produce something clean - these limitations will be frustrating sometimes to designers, but I understand why they're in place.
  • The folder / graphics interface could be improved.
Read Aaron Steinberg's full review
April 08, 2021
Kristi Porter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • TONS of templates so you don't have to create from scratch, but customize to your needs
  • TONS of pre-created "elements" for us like illustrations and shapes to give your graphics more oomph
  • Recently incorporating more stock photos making it a one-stop-shop for graphic needs
  • Lots of terrific features even for the free plan
  • It is a bit of a learning curve, particularly if you aren't familiar with design programs. But once you get the hang of it, you can do some really cool stuff.
  • It's nice to have the auto save feature, but sometimes I forget to "save a copy" for a new design and accidentally save over my original. That took me some time to get used to.
  • As a Mac user, I'm very used to Control Z or copy/paste functions, and they don't always work well in Canva, so it takes some adapting from current habits I don't often think about.
  • I completely understand them needing to make money, but some of the elements and illustrations they want you to pay for seem pretty basic at times or there are limited free choices. Once in a while, that trips me up.
Read Kristi Porter's full review
April 08, 2021
Thomas White | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Create multi-layered graphics quickly using a simple interface
  • Set company colors and fonts so that every user has quick access to the brand style
  • Provides a large database of free-to-use graphics and templates
  • I'd like an integration that removes the background from an image in one click
  • There is no ability to collaborate on an image with someone else in real time
  • I would like to be able to resize a canvas once I've started working on it
Read Thomas White's full review
April 07, 2021
Saralyn Scherer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • A huge library of pre-built designs to inspire and guide users so you don't to have a degree in design
  • Easy editing tools and intuitive layout help (one click centering & alignment)
  • Great photo editing tools such as background remover and color corrector
  • Team-sharing, so multiple users can collaborate on projects
  • I found the team feature to be difficult to organize. I think it would be great to have folders for specific campaigns
  • The ordering feature is great, but there's been instances where the wrong Credit card was used. Can you update the checkout process to allow other payment options instead of the one on file? Also, the prices are pretty expensive compared to other printing services. It's more affordable to download the designs and get them printed elsewhere.
Read Saralyn Scherer's full review
April 07, 2021
Jess Messenger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Lots of design templates to select from
  • Designs for different uses (social channels, web banners, posters, etc.)
  • Easily export and duplicate designs
  • Easy to upload your own assets (images, logos, etc.)
  • Clunky editing features
  • Autosave can sometimes work against you
Read Jess Messenger's full review
April 05, 2021
Carolyn Zonts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Branding
  • Ease of Use
  • Many Amazing Templates
  • Free and Not Expensive to Upgrade!
  • More Tutorials on Other Features
  • Maybe Creating a Social Media that Shows Tutorials on Less Common Yet Beneficial Features!
  • Nothing :) Canva is seriously amazing!
Read Carolyn Zonts's full review
April 15, 2021
Carly McPartland | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Inventive templates that update regularly.
  • Free and paid content, accessible to all.
  • Able to be used by students as well as adults.
  • Able to create multimedia content that is static or animated to suit your needs.
  • Courses to teach you how to create better content.
  • Limited download formats (jpeg, png).
  • Pricing for members who are not educators.
Read Carly McPartland's full review
April 15, 2021
Kathryn Juarez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • High resolution results.
  • Fantastic templates.
  • Great font library.
  • Intuitive and responsive.
  • I wish Canva had more built-in collage options.
  • I wish Canva provided a flip book option.
Read Kathryn Juarez's full review
April 15, 2021
Kevin Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Large selection of templates.
  • Robust editor with many tools to fine tune designs.
  • Generous selection of free assets.
  • Paid assets that you actually want to buy and at a reasonable price.
  • Can't think of any reasons as they provide so much already.
Read Kevin Miller's full review
April 14, 2021
Adam Reiley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Free templates.
  • Easy to learn and use.
  • Able to create many different formats of graphics and presentations.
  • I would like an easier way to copy elements from one creation to another within Canva.
Read Adam Reiley's full review
April 14, 2021
Genie Huff-Forkner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy-to-use templates! When you need a graphic on the fly, you can usually find one that will work with very little modification needed.
  • The dynamic color picker is awesome! Upload your logo and it grabs your colors and builds your palette.
  • Wide variety of formats available to download your finished work. For those that don't use Adobe, it's an excellent solution.
  • I'd like to see a broader selection of fonts.
  • Canva doesn't display bleed marks, which can create some alignment challenges if designing for print.
  • Ruler marks on the drawing board would be a great addition
Read Genie Huff-Forkner's full review
April 11, 2021
Melissa Wade | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Image selection
  • Ease to learn
  • Extra elements to add to images.
  • Easily hyperlinked
  • Ease of creating different formats (PNG, GIF, PDF, etc.).
  • Tons of fonts
  • Ease of sharing with others.
  • Finding the guides and rulers
  • Resizing of images, sometimes you cannot crop easily.
  • Organization of designs in the program.
Read Melissa Wade's full review
April 10, 2021
Stacey Stearns | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Designs that meet specs (Instagram image, social banner photos, etc.).
  • Brand consistency: Especially since we saved our colors etc. within the software.
  • Making designers out of those without traditional design skills.
  • It's hard to find images, etc. to use without a Pro account—you can't sort by the free images. We ended up purchasing the Pro account because we needed access to additional features.
  • The designs are basic. It still helps to have a creative eye so that you can differentiate your products.
  • Sharing designs among team members is slightly cumbersome, but once you figure it out, works well.
Read Stacey Stearns's full review
April 08, 2021
Reagan Baird Edwards | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User-friendly customer interface
  • Cloud-based storage solutions
  • Compatible with several devices
  • Tons of room for creativity
  • Integration with Procreate missing
  • Integration with drawing with Apple Pencil missing
  • Not able to change the canvas size after creation (in the free version, at least)
Read Reagan Baird Edwards's full review
April 07, 2021
Sam Micatrotto | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The ability to remove a background is a game changer and you can quickly create PNGs without having to open Photoshop now
  • Text effects and curved text being added is also great, as this is newer. I am finding fewer and fewer reasons to have to open Adobe
  • It's very user friendly, especially for people who are just getting into design or if you need to make something quickly
  • Can save business colors and fonts with paid account for easy access
  • I love that you can choose colors from an image so you can match fonts or shapes to something in the images/logos
  • The ability to create videos and gifs is great and I love how you can create virtually any design from Instagram stories to PowerPoint slides and infographics to price charts
  • I wish it had the ability to blur or erase certain areas of an image or design
  • Sometimes trying to size things to make them align is difficult because certain shapes won't resize to be the same as others
  • I wish you could add more than one text effect
Read Sam Micatrotto's full review
April 02, 2021
Jaynee Young | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Various design templates
  • Easily customizable to your brand
  • Able to make videos
  • Able to add music
  • Able to download print versions
  • Would like to be able to download a native file other than pdf, jpeg, png, mp4, etc.
  • Continue adding design templates.
Read Jaynee Young's full review
March 18, 2021
M Zubair Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Canva has a very simple and intuitive workspace, which is loaded with different tools for editing.
  • Canva has a big cache of pre-built templates, videos, photos ready to use for any kind of designing work.
  • It requires no prior experience to start working on Canva, simply select the desired template and modify the text and image right away.
  • Play with pre-built elements for creative designs, choose from tons of shapes, lines, and stickers.
  • The 'Upload' feature is very handy when I need to insert my images or videos in a design project.
  • No tension of losing data, it saves all the work automatically and also keeps my work in handsome cloud storage.
  • The images and videos can only be used as provided by Canva, there is no way to edit or modify them.
  • It lacks drawing or freehand design tools, such as various shapes of brushes for painting or pens for signature and handwriting.
  • You cannot use multiple soundtracks or audio files, only one audio track is applicable for the entire project.
Read M Zubair Shah's full review
March 14, 2021
Evan Kent | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Free version has a lot of options.
  • Stores items in cloud until you are finished.
  • Easy to use interface.
  • Can export to other formats.
  • It seems to be missing effects
  • a mobile app would be nice
  • Templates would be helpful
  • No phone support
Read Evan Kent's full review
February 19, 2021
Jason Weaver | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Graphic design & ease of design. Very good tools. Relatively easy to use. Wide variety of graphics, options.
  • Really, really, impossible to use as far as assignments.
  • Horrifically impossible learning curve for assignments, groups, and Google Classroom integration.
  • Forget actually assigning anything through this for education purposes.
Read Jason Weaver's full review
December 22, 2020
Mileva Stankovic | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • There's no need to subscribe to or pay for Canva. Even though free version provides limited options, it's enough for what I need.
  • It has almost all formats available, and if there's not a template, I can make my own.
  • It stores all my designs until I delete them.
  • I find that the latest updates are solid. It even has TikTok templates, which tells me the company keeps track of social media usage.
  • The interface is easy to use.
  • Great phone app that has all the same features that Canva on the web does.
  • Many export options.
  • The available images sometimes look similar, which makes me feel like I have limited options.
Read Mileva Stankovic's full review

What is Canva?

Canva is a popular, simple online graphic design tool. Users can import images, use templates to design banners and logos, or pay to use Canva's premium stock images/paid templates (elements starting at $1).

Canva Video

Introducing Canva

Canva Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Pro$12.95Per Month
Enterprise$30.00Per Month Per User

Canva Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Canva's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses Canva?

The most common users of Canva are Small Businesses from the Marketing & Advertising industry.