Canvas Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
181 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 80)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 08, 2021
Patrick Woessner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canvas is our LMS for students in grades 5-12 (approximately 1,000 students and 150 faculty). It is the central hub for organizing assignments, sharing content, managing grades, and our current hybrid distance learning model. It is considered an essential technology tool/core application for our institution and students, faculty, and parents rely on it for structuring our academic program.
  • Many popular third-party educational apps have LTIs that integrate with Canvas.
  • The gradebook has a Mastery Learning option for recording progress against a set of academic standards.
  • The UI is very intuitive and even non-tech savvy users can use it effectively with minimal training.
  • Their integration with Big Blue Button was a bust for distance learning. Would be great to see them collaborate with Zoom or Google Meets.
  • Their "feature request" process is slow and cumbersome at times because it relies on user "up votes" to get ideas addressed by the developers.
  • They seem to have a lot of turn-over with their staff. We get a new Customer Success Manager far more frequently than with other vendors.
[Canvas is] a terrific LMS for K-12 and Higher Education. It's rare to find a tool that works for 10 year old's as well as college students. To make it cost effective, through, requires training teachers and setting expectations for use. It has SO many features but if organizations don't use them, they would be better suited to a cheaper, more basic learning management system.
Read Patrick Woessner's full review
March 06, 2021
Justin Harbin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canvas is our institutional learning management system - minimum usage standards such as accurate gradebook set up, attendance, and syllabus upload are mandatory for all coursework. Fully online and blended programs are also offered - it is the only LMS in use at our institution.
  • Simple and intuitive interface
  • Mobile friendly and intuitive app for both students and teachers
  • Integration with third party tools
  • Rubric usage for forums is clunky, as is using rubrics for formal grading anywhere in the system
  • Peer review, while promising, is nearly impossible for most faculty to set up correctly. A big disappointment for us
  • Set up and accommodation for mastery learning, ungrading, or other alterantive grading structures is challenging
Canvas is excellent as a go-to LMS for institutions of really any size. It does a good job of accommodating all major needs, including collaborative groups outside of rostered courses (which we use for student groups, faculty groups, academic department communication, etc.). Integration with third party tools is clean and easy to set up - we have incorporated several tools such as Canvas Studio with incredible success during the COVID-19 response. Some nitty gritty details such as grading set up, use of rubrics, limitations in "groups" (as opposed to courses) are going to frustrating as a one-size-fits-all approach is going to come up short in specific use cases. Often where a very specific application requires a complexity that goes beyond Canvas's abilities, it was something the faculty member probably shouldn't have been trying in a course any way! We have had wonderful success managing our online course catalog using the blueprint feature, so if you are a school with a team that manages a portfolio of dedicated online courses, we've really found success with this feature.
Read Justin Harbin's full review
May 01, 2021
Brett Flitton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Canvas as an education platform. It was integrated with the employees job training and education for the continuing learning program. Canvas is a great platform to combine and aggregate all the learning activities, information and courses. Canvas is used across the local schools in the area and have used it on a number of occasions for that as well.
  • Canvas is great for keeping all the learning and education tasks, info, assignments, etc in one place
  • The discussion options are helpful
  • The messaging system with instructors and students/employees is great
  • The grading options work well
  • It's a little difficult at first to use
  • For some reason my log in has trouble working at times. Not sure if its a server issue or something else.
  • The video and recording tool could be better
Canvas is an excellent tool for education, classes, assignments and communication. I would definitely recommend it. It has a bit of a learning curve to it so getting everything set up can take some time.
Read Brett Flitton's full review
April 30, 2021
Caitlynn Dickerson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We began using Canvas to conduct training for residents and interns. We were able to use the software to design the learning the way we wanted and to ensure it is user friendly as our residents and interns do not have a lot of downtime in between patients. We needed something that was customizable and Canvas was the best.
  • User friendly.
  • Customizable.
  • Excellent customer service.
  • Reporting could be more customizable.
  • User interface could be updated.
Canvas is great for those who need a customizable learning software that is user friendly. Canvas is intuitive and provides great resources for both users and administrators. Items are easily found in one location and are broken down into subgroups. If you need messaging features, reporting tools, and an overall education environment, Canvas will exceed your expectations.
Read Caitlynn Dickerson's full review
April 20, 2021
Nathan Clark | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Canvas across our entire organization as a way to access information about the several different products we offer and also use it as the main delivery tool for our curriculum for our learners. I love Canvas because it makes it incredibly easy to organize and view information. It also is incredibly efficient for any kind of training course where you're presented information chronologically, tracking your progress and giving you a formidable toolkit along the way.
  • Organizes information in an easy-to-find dashboard
  • Tracks progress through a defined training
  • Makes compliance tests easy for the entire organization
  • I would like an internal chat feature to communicate with instructors
  • Better integration with outside tools/organizations
  • Better visibility of course progression, start to finish
The best internal use of Canvas that we have found incredibly helpful has been for our weekly compliance quizzes. We are required to take two quizzes a week to maintain internal compliance. With Canvas, it makes it easy for our entire organization to show comprehension and application of the skills and laws we're required to have.
Read Nathan Clark's full review
March 09, 2021
Devarajulu Ravichandran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canvas is used across the school as our primary learning management system. We have integrated it with our student information system and setup a templated course shell for every course taught in a semester. Most faculty use it to deliver course materials, schedule, assignments and grading. We have also integrated it with Zoom for video conferencing and that has helped tremendously with student engagement and remote course delivery during the pandemic.
  • Syllabus management
  • Course assignment
  • Grading
  • Canvas app
  • Assignments can be improved
  • Backend integration and reporting
  • Delivery of course materials, schedule, assignments and grading.
  • Integrated it with Zoom for video conferencing and that has helped tremendously with student engagement and remote course delivery during the pandemic.
Read Devarajulu Ravichandran's full review
April 21, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canvas has been integrated into one of my companies as a virtual and in person learning platform to streamline learning for students (and teaching for teachers!). Not only does Canvas streamline learning across disciplines, classrooms and settings but also has allowed for students with differing computer access skills to learn how to access information and files within similar electronic organizational structures. It has allowed for bounds of progress in computer access and independence for students of all ages. It also allows for wonderful collaboration between teachers and disciplines.
  • Creativity options for teachers to create a virtual space that still has fun graphics and accessibility options.
  • Canvas has versatility in viewing options for assignment due dates such as the calendar built in feature as well as the dashboard options to display upcoming and due assignments.
  • Allowing teachers to create community with each other and collaborate in each-other's space.
  • Discussion platforms within classrooms for students to communicate with each-other and with their teachers.
  • Easy messaging portal within each virtual classroom.
  • Canvas is challenging to use when creating your classroom as a new user (Must know basic editing and get acquainted with the Canvas page editing page, many will need training to get set up).
  • Does not always save students' work adequately (no built in auto-save feature) unless using an external PDF annotator or word processor program.
  • Canvas should create template classrooms or class pages that make getting started easier for teachers and new users.
Canvas has been an excellent resource for schools looking to consolidate learning platforms. Canvas has also been great for students that are learning about electronic file structures/organization by allowing teachers to model an organized structure of electronic filing. Canvas has also been wonderful during the remote learning periods (not only to access content- but also for consolidation of ZOOM/virtual meeting links).
Read this authenticated review
March 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Canvas across our organization - it is the standard learning management system and the only one supported at our institution. It is used by every academic department and is critical for achieving our goal of providing a modern, accessible, and flexible educational environment for our students, faculty, and staff.
  • Learning management - Even as the educational landscape rapidly shifts due to current events, Canvas is a great LMS for providing a consistent learning environment for students.
  • Mobile accessibility - Students can access their courses on Canvas from a variety of devices, including their smartphones.
  • Rich content - Instructors have the ability to create dynamic and engaging content for their courses.
  • Support - Response times for tickets and other support requests have increased over the last year.
Canvas is a great tool for any educational institution. If faculty members at your institution are interested in improving the online component of their courses or expanding remote learning opportunities, Canvas is a worthwhile investment. However, it is important to have faculty support before making a decision on which learning management system to use.
Read this authenticated review
May 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We work with Canvas in our learning platform with the objective of facilitating academic teaching, which is extremely practical for planning and teaching online classes. We also take advantage of the integrated system that allows us to keep track of studies and student evaluations, which is optimal for keeping our study system up to date.
  • This tool has a responsive web design, its adaptation to all devices facilitates access to the platform.
  • It has a dashboard, which presents a detailed list of our recent activity and academic history.
  • It gives educators the ability to create content to evaluate and upload grades to the system, allowing students and representatives to monitor grades and teaching methods.
  • Canvas is a software that is easy to access and operate through the web or application, but it should be taken into account that in order to create course content from scratch, training is needed since this area is not easy to do by yourself and the platform does not offer tutoring in this regard.
  • The user must have a stable internet connection as the system does not have auto-save, a slight fluctuation in the connection automatically generates the loss of information.
  • It offers few options to customize profiles, which makes it difficult to identify students at times.
  • Unfortunately, this software has a very bad customer service, since complaints, via email or phone call, have not been answered within three days, which hinders and hinders the smooth and continuous learning process.
This e-Learning tool is being highly implemented as a study method by universities and schools, as it is effective and easy to access for both students and teachers, offering multiple options for teaching and grading outside the classroom.
Read this authenticated review
March 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canvas is used by the entire school I am taking classes at. It provides an online instruction module, attendance, grading and file distribution point for users. It seems to be closer to a "one stop shop" for online education than others that are currently available. I am familiar with Canvas, Google Classroom and Skyward.
  • Provides internal communication, not requiring an outside message or email system.
  • Includes a file sharing structure for instructional materials within the system.
  • Provides a grading platform that is viewable by students and instructors alike.
  • Getting used to the platform takes a little effort. Not quite plug and play.
  • File names used to be truncated - but that is fixed now.
As a school or organization-wide online education tool. Instruction, grading, file storage and sharing and attendance are all part of the system and seem to work pretty seamlessly from both the instructor and student sides of the table. It keeps a solid timeline of communication and dates and times when assignments are turned in.
Read this authenticated review
March 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canvas [is being used] across the organization. We are able to streamline certain course delivery for all of the stakeholders.
  • Simple design interface.
  • Basic analytics for organization and courses.
  • The simple function for each module within the system.
  • The should be a possibility of having at least three basic colors for customization.
  • More local service support for Malaysia.
  • Pricing is still quite expensive for now although not as expensive as BB.
It is best suited as it is able to cater for diverse age group of users. The simplicity of design somehow makes [the] user feel less overwhelm[ed] than other platforms.
So far, after being a basic user since 8 years ago using a free version, the platform has technologically progress[ed] but the likeablity remains even though there are more functions now.

Read this authenticated review
August 12, 2020
Shay Kotian | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canvas is used by most universities. At times Moodles can be used as an alternative. Depending on the requirements of the department. It houses courses in a structured and easy to manage format. Allowing students to proactively do their assignments and access course material with ease. Teachers can create and manage course modules efficiently and with ease. An extremely efficient platform that bridges the communication gap between instructors and students. Its integration with third-party tools makes it easy for the administrator to keep the platform up-to-date with the university requirements. A well thought out idea that is helping millions of students all across the world and improving how education is delivered.
  • Simple and user friendly user interface.
  • Third-party solution integration.
  • Ease of course management.
  • Inbuilt discussion forum.
  • Lack of inbuilt video conferencing tools.
  • Quizzes should have proctoring and browser locked capability.
  • Mobile app can get have glitches.
  • Notifications are missed at times.
Canvas is typically used in schools and universities to provide a seamless course management platform to both students and teachers. Helps in bridging the online education gap between instructors and students. Suited for universities and schools who are looking to move their curriculum online with capabilities for attendance, quizzes, assignments, and notifications to be provided all online.
Customer support is provided 24/7 all around the world. Support resources are easy to find for users. Getting a real technician on the line is easy rather than speaking to a bot for minutes. Support representatives are quick to reply back when a ticket is raised. System upgrade notifications are provided well beforehand.
Read Shay Kotian's full review
April 22, 2020
Ashley Milton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my institution, we use Canvas across the entire campus. We used a different platform when I was a student, so Canvas was an adjustment for me to switch to as a staff member. A colleague of mine suggested Canvas to our central Distance Learning office a few years ago, and the agreed to look into it as an alternative platform. It took a while to implement, but has been great! With the new switch to remote learning due to social distancing, Canvas has been more valuable than ever. We are utilizing it for classes and coursework, as well as organization and information sharing. We are engaging students through video, and sharing resources with constituents. I am certain that we would have a myriad of issues with any other provider during this time. I'm very thankful we have Canvas!
  • Canvas allows users to personalize pages and ensure institution brand is kept true. Our Canvas pages look just like everything else our institution creates.
  • Canvas allows for multiple users to full sites, that have different permissions. This allows us to assign teachers, teaching assistants, and other student users. Everyone has access in a different capacity, to make different changes, so management is easy!
  • Canvas allows students to share documents within their classes, so no need for outside document-sharing platforms. Students in the past were using Google-Docs to create "group work" material that could be edited in real time. Now, Canvas allows students to access that material directly from the site. This makes remote group work run much smoother!
  • I use the Canvas App as a part-time graduate student, and the functionality in the Discussion Board posts is a little off. I have to post discussion board posts often, so I find myself entering the information from my phone sometimes. After one or two sentences, the text lags behind. I'll be 3-4 sentences into a thought, and the text is still finishing the first line. This requires me to stop and let the text catch up, which often breaks my train of thought. I've noticed the same thing on my iPad - so I think it's strictly an App issue.
  • Canvas has so much to offer, that it can be overwhelming. When I was first assigned as a TA of a course, I had no idea where to start. It's not that Canvas is not user-friendly, but it definitely has a level of understanding that must be done before you can even begin. I wouldn't just assign a student to start using it and assume they could "figure it out", which means that we have to allow for training to be done when we expect anyone to use it. This just means a little more time and energy on the user, which is sometimes not always possible.
  • Using the People tab within a course is kind of pointless for me. This may be a setting at my institution, but when I look at the "people" in my class, I can't actually contact them. I can pull up their profile, see what sites they are enrolled in, their bio and their "links" - but there is no secure "send message" button from this landing page. I think that is a missed opportunity. I know there are other ways to send messages, but it seems that it would be pretty useful to add a contact button on the people tab.
Canvas is well suited for large institutions managing a lot of different courses. As a staff member, I'm currently starting to use the Organization feature as a way to engage current students. We will enroll all students in the Organization and share important information and resources with them during this time of remote learning. This is the best way for us to reach all of our students in a platform we know they have to be accessing (instead of social media or just emailing them). This has made the idea of "engagement" much easier in these difficult quarantine/social distancing times.

In a way that's less appropriate, Canvas is not built to just be a file sharing platform. We thought a lot about whether using the Organization function would be best for one of our Student Organizations as we try to transition from DropBox. We keep all historic data from past members, bylaws, meeting notes, etc. We were waned by our central Online Distance Learning Office that Canvas might not be the best fit for that. However, we ultimately decided it's functionality to reach students outweighed our need to store historic documents.
I do not personally use Canvas support since we have a central office that helps us. However, our central office always has the answers we need and are always able to solve our issues - so I would assume that get great support from the Canvas team on their end. They also offer great training, which uses materials directly from Canvas.
Read Ashley Milton's full review
February 20, 2020
Victoria L. | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canvas is being used by all faculty and students at Kansas State University. It is used to organize classes in an online platform. It allows students to download and upload assignments, and it allows professors to grade assignments as well as organize grades in a timely manner. To conclude, it gives faculty and students alike remote access to the class material.
  • It organizes students' grades in a timely manner.
  • It gives students notifications about upcoming assignments.
  • The notification feature could be improved upon as the professor has to put the due date as "midnight" otherwise the assignment will be automatically erased from the platform.
  • The audio recording feature has its technical issues. I have never been able to use it correctly.
Canvas is well suited for remote access to a class that could be online or in person. It is great for giving online exams and allowing students to also turn in assignments remotely. It is less appropriate for art or design classes that have large files which may/may not be able to upload properly to the platform.
I received technical help once for this platform and it took a couple weeks for me to receive an answer. I also have not seen a 24/7 support hotline that is readily available for its users, thus, support is not easily accessed by its users. This is one area where I think Canvas could improve.
Read Victoria L.'s full review
April 22, 2020
Liza Bondurant | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canvas is a learning management system. It houses everything for all of my courses. This includes my face-to-face, hybrid, and online classes. Canvas helps me organize my course into modules. In each module, I have information pages, discussions, assignments, and assessments. Canvas also includes a calendar and gradebook. Moreover, Canvas has a messaging system so I can message students in my courses.
  • User friendly: I found it easy to figure out how to use Canvas
  • Variety; there are a variety of types of assignments an instructor can create
  • Organized: the tools help you organize your course
  • Sometimes messages are delayed
  • It does not have it’s own video conferencing tool
  • Would be nice if there was a way to message groups of students based on a risk factor
Canvas is an excellent learning management system. It is user-friendly. It helps you organize your courses. It offers a wide variety of types of assignments, such as information pages, discussions, assignments, assessments, and projects. It allows you to create a rubric to grade assignments. The Canvas Commons has resources to help you set up your courses.
Excellent learning management system!
Read Liza Bondurant's full review
March 20, 2020
Kari Doherty | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Canvas for a graduate program I am enrolled in. All of my classes and professors work through Canvas to support online learning. It's a useful platform. Most importantly, as someone who has never done online learning before, I find the platform easy to use. It allows me to access all of my school work in one place.
  • Organization.
  • Communication with professors.
  • Hosting online materials.
  • If you send a message to a teacher, there is no record of the message until they write you back.
  • The Zoom features are confusing.
  • Not all of the teachers are as tech savvy as the students. This is user error, but more training would be helpful.
Canvas is well suited to host online learning. All of the materials are in one place and it's easy to navigate. Also, the app works quite well too. It's not as equipped as using a desktop, obviously. But, if you're trying to do homework or reading while you have extra time, it works great.
Whenever I have an issue, I am given immediate resolve. They give you the option to rate how serious your inquiry is. This means you get placed in priority if you have an issue that will affect a deadline. Canvas support has been useful and always helpful. They are prompt in their responses.
Read Kari Doherty's full review
January 13, 2020
Nicolas Hanhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canvas is used to offer online and hybrid courses for students. It is used across the whole organization.
  • Creating different course sections with effective course design.
  • Creating assessments and learning measures tools.
  • Work on third-party application integration especially browsers compatibility.
  • Make more cost affordable for schools and Universities especially for those interested to switch from higher-cost LMS
Canvas essential tool to create courses for both instructor-led and self-paced. In the self-paced model, students complete the required reading and media materials available from within Canvas. After completing the required assessments with a passing grade, a certificate is automatically created.
Canvas has an extensive database of tutorials and support. Also, training, including live webinars, are available for users.
Read Nicolas Hanhan's full review
April 22, 2020
Danielle Healey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our whole organization utilizes Canvas for student classes. It helps students understand what assignments they have, their grades, etc.
  • Assigning work
  • Sending messages
  • Displaying grades
  • Differentiating for particular students
  • Setting up groups for the teacher's side of things
  • Not intuitive
Canvas is great overall for students who all learn the same way and complete the same work. It has different tabs that are listed. Teachers need real training to use it though, and it isn't intuitive to figure out problems. Also, when teachers want to assign different work to particular students, it is incredibly challenging.
It seems like it has good support for its users.
Read Danielle Healey's full review
February 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Northwest, Nazarene Canvas is used as our learning management system. I use this at NNU as a student. I previously used Canvas from the admin side, where I was putting in classes and helping teachers create content. Canvas allows teachers to publish their courses online in a user-friendly platform. Students can then engage with the course material and each other throughout the class. Canvas also allows students to submit homework online and for teachers to publish grades so that students can see it.
  • Ease of student use
  • Completed assignment tracking
  • Journal function
Canvas is specifically a learning management system, and I would see it working best for schools. A company might find it helpful that the company was building large amounts of training materials for its employees. However, my experience is using Canvas in a school and as a student myself. Canvas allows the teacher to ad students to have a clear understanding of where the course is headed and what's involved.
I haven't had to use support much due to generally being able to figure things out myself with technology. However, I had a few times sent an email with a question, and each time I have received an answer promptly and with the information needed.
Read this authenticated review
October 29, 2019
Joshua Welsh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canvas is the default LMS we use at CWU (our university).
  • Canvas is extremely flexible. I think that is both its greatest strength and perhaps a bit of a weakness.
  • Canvas is getting better at allowing instructors to duplicate individual assignments. That's a big improvement.
  • Canvas integrates well with Crocodoc for online paper commenting and grading.
  • Canvas has great import functions.
  • It would be great if we could deal with multiple assignments at a time.
  • Better visibility of how students see a course would also be helpful.
  • Searching for rubrics is really bad. The rubrics from the current course should default to the top. As it now works, the user has to search through every course ever taught to find a rubric.
Canvas is great for creating online classes. We also use it for two other purposes: communicating with program advisees, and internal department communication. For communicating with students, the program is very helpful, but it would be nice if the list of users could integrate more easily with PeopleSoft.
Read Joshua Welsh's full review
October 17, 2019
Chris Wilkey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using it as a learning management system to teach four courses at Ball State University. All professors will be required to use Canvas starting in the fall semester, but I adopted it early to test and create my courses for the last two semesters. I am also taking a class where we are using it as our learning environment.
  • User experience
  • Organization and ability to create a course
  • I love the modules function
  • It's compatibility with Banner
  • The speed grader could be improved
  • Extra credit assignment feature would be nice
It is well suited for online-only classes and as a supplement to on-campus courses. It would not be appropriate for a class that is very hands-on and doesn't have a need for online resources or discussions. Distance education would be the key market, but it does a nice job overall for teaching.
Read Chris Wilkey's full review
June 19, 2019
Nicholas Judd | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canvas is used by the majority of faculty at the University of Florida. It is a great way to keep in touch with students outside of the classroom as well as an effective method of posting grades. If you decide to use Canvas for your class you can be as involved with it as you choose to be. There are tools which allow you to have message boards/group chats, you can post assignments, rubrics, videos, etc. Being a university professor in today's day and age you must have some sort of online platform for your class. Canvas fulfills all your possible needs said platform and more.
I have seen other instructors post take-home exams on Canvas as well which gives you the option to have automatic grading (one less thing to worry about as an instructor) for exams.
  • User-friendly. It is very straightforward to use.
  • There are lots of functions at your disposal.
  • The layout is aesthetically pleasing.
  • There are really any technical issues.
  • Providing walkthroughs on how to carry out certain tasks could be helpful.
  • Allowing instructors to use the 'what if scenario' for grades to gauge students' outcomes.
  • Making profile pictures bigger so they are easier to see.
Canvas is appropriate for any professor looking to keep a grade book online for their class. Whether you teach Math or Astronomy, Canvas can be a tool to keep your class organized. Canvas can also be used for any type of class size. A smaller class obviously would allow you to be more involved with the site, however, there is no reason you could not use Canvas in a class of 100 or more.
Read Nicholas Judd's full review
January 10, 2019
Mark Labbett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TCS Education System is a non-profit organization that uses Canvas for all of its five affiliates. We have an Instructional Design team under the Academic Affairs Department that designs all of the courses. The majority of courses are totally online, however, we do have many blended and on-ground courses that also use Canvas. Canvas solved a problem we had with our previous LMS, which was costing us a lot of money as well as not providing the flexibility and up-to-date design technology that we wanted for our students. We have been very happy with the quality of the product as well as the professionalism and helpfulness of the Canvas staff.
  • Canvas does a great job of integrating many third-party vendors. We use vendors such as Flipgrid, Padlet, and Storyline to help enhance our student experience in the online classroom.
  • Canvas is very user (designer) friendly. It uses a simple Rich Text Editor that is easy to create text, insert pictures and video and enhance the text. With that comes an HTML Editor which is very useful if you have knowledge of HTML. This provides the designer with the flexibility to design more than just plain text on a page.
  • For the student, Canvas is also very easy to use and organized well. The Modules listing provides students with an "outline: of the course and helps keep them working in a linear fashion (if that is what you want). There are also direct links to assignments and discussions so students can see all of the specific assignments at once. The grade book is also very easy for students to read and interpret.
  • Even though Canvas works great with third-party vendors by integrating them right into Canvas, there is room for improvement on this subject. There are still glitches with certain programs as well as programs that simply do not work well with Canvas.
  • The Rich Text Editor is a good selling point for Canvas, however, it could use an upgrade There are features that could be implemented that are not there and it can make designing a dynamic page difficult.
Canvas is an LMS that is wonderful for schools that want a good online program. Canvas organizes the classroom for the instructor and makes it easy for the student to follow. It provides discussions and assignments that are essential in creating an effective online course with student interaction.
Read Mark Labbett's full review
January 09, 2019
Jason Hill | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canvas is used by our entire institution as the means for delivering course content, assessing student work, calculating grades, and providing actionable feedback to our learning community.
  • Canvas integrates with 3rd party vendors extremely well. We have multiple vendors and publishers connected to our instance of Canvas. These integrations allow our instructors to use additional tools such as McGraw-Hill Connect, Kaltura, Box, Office 365, Google Drive, and many more to deliver course materials and pass grades back to the Canvas grade book.
  • Canvas has a cascading approach to its organizational design. We can manage roles, permissions, LTIs, etc. at the root account level or within any sub-account. Each sub-account inherits its parents’ attributes. Managing all these items is made incredibly easy by leveraging SIS Imports of .csv files.
  • Instructure keeps its Canvas documentation up-to-date on the Canvas Community. Canvas Community users share knowledge, offer help, and provide valuable insight into best practices and approaches for everything from administering Canvas to course design.
  • Canvas has extremely reliable ‘up time.’ Because Canvas is SaaS-based and hosted in the AWS environment, we have experienced very little down time. In the very rare instances we have had outages, we’re usually back up and running extremely quickly.
  • I would like to see Instructure continue to focus on improving the user interface and functionality for the Canvas roles and permissions. In the summer of 2018, they made vast improvements to this area of Canvas, but they still have a little work to do. I’d like to be able to manage ‘sub permissions’ within the top-level permissions for each role. I’d also like to run a report/export of the roles and permissions, make edits in a .csv editor, and then upload the updated roles/permissions via the SIS Import tool. This would alleviate the time-consuming process of managing roles permissions by hand.
  • I’d like to see more LTI integrations that are set up like the Box integration. The Box LTI integration is accessible via the user’s profile page and allows the user to access content in Box via a native Box window that is embedded in the page. Most LTIs are only accessible via an actual course. Instructure has the potential to turn the user profile page into a hub that allows the user to jump in and out of multiple apps, whose provisioning and authentication is handled by Canvas
  • Instructure needs to create a permission that manages the access to a course’s start and dates. At our institution, we have to programmatically hide the start/end dates for courses from instructors, so they don’t open courses early or leave them open after the semester has officially ended. Canvas customers should be able to treat the opening/closing of a course (not the publishing) as an administrative task only.
  • Canvas admins should also be able to restrict who can control the course visibility and course format functions in the course settings. At our institution, we have committees and processes in place to determine these attributes. Allowing faculty to edit these options creates confusion for students and administrators.
Canvas is a Learning Management System that can be used by a small organization offering just a couple of classes locally or a gigantic organization offering thousands of courses to hundreds of thousands of students worldwide. The scalability of a Canvas instance is very powerful. Canvas is NOT a collaboration tool like Slack. We have had users want to create ‘courses’ for the sole purpose of collaborating and project management. There are other apps/services that are much better suited for these activities.
Read Jason Hill's full review
January 19, 2019
Stefanie Cash | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canvas is a great learning management system that allows for training and teaching to take place anywhere in the world because it utilizes web apps. Our marketing department uses Canvas to help train our sales staff on new products, features, and other items we need the team to be aware of. Since most of our staff is remote, Canvas offers multiple options to ensure that our staff is up to date on learning.
  • Announcements
  • Communication options within the app
  • Building of modules
  • Random glitches can occur
  • Navigation can be tricky
  • Being able to go back to previous versions
If you're looking for an easy to manipulate platform for training and teaching staff members, Canvas is one of the best tools out there. Great for remote staff and can easily be used in-house as well, as Canvas stores documentation in easy to navigate modules. While in some instances, finding certain functions can be difficult, if you empower your team to simply "click around" then they will have no issues working in the platform and learning the necessary material.
Read Stefanie Cash's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (38)
8.8
Course catalog or library (35)
8.3
Player/Portal (30)
9.0
Learning content (32)
8.8
Mobile friendly (37)
8.3
Progress tracking & certifications (34)
9.1
Assignments (38)
9.5
Compliance management (31)
8.9
Learning administration (34)
9.1
Learning reporting & analytics (36)
8.8
Social learning (32)
8.4

What is Canvas?

Instructure is an educational software company based in Sandy, Utah. It is the developer of the Canvas learning management system, which is a comprehensive software package that competes with such systems as Blackboard Learning System, SumTotal and Saba.

Canvas Video

What is Canvas?

Canvas Competitors

Canvas Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Must contact vendor for pricing information.

Canvas Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Canvas?

Instructure is an educational software company based in Sandy, Utah. It is the developer of the Canvas learning management system, which is a comprehensive software package that competes with such systems as Blackboard Learning System, SumTotal and Saba.

What is Canvas's best feature?

Reviewers rate Assignments highest, with a score of 9.5.

Who uses Canvas?

The most common users of Canvas are from Mid-size Companies and the Higher Education industry.