Canvas Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
186 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 81)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
July 29, 2021
Chris Wilkey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I am using it as a learning management system to teach four courses at Ball State University. All professors will be required to use Canvas starting in the fall semester, but I adopted it early to test and create my courses for the last two semesters. I am also taking a class where we are using it as our learning environment.
Read Chris Wilkey's full review
March 08, 2021
Patrick Woessner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Canvas is our LMS for students in grades 5-12 (approximately 1,000 students and 150 faculty). It is the central hub for organizing assignments, sharing content, managing grades, and our current hybrid distance learning model. It is considered an essential technology tool/core application for our institution and students, faculty, and parents rely on it for structuring our academic program.
Read Patrick Woessner's full review
March 06, 2021
Justin Harbin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Canvas is our institutional learning management system - minimum usage standards such as accurate gradebook set up, attendance, and syllabus upload are mandatory for all coursework. Fully online and blended programs are also offered - it is the only LMS in use at our institution.
Read Justin Harbin's full review
May 02, 2021
Brett Flitton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have used Canvas as an education platform. It was integrated with the employees job training and education for the continuing learning program. Canvas is a great platform to combine and aggregate all the learning activities, information and courses. Canvas is used across the local schools in the area and have used it on a number of occasions for that as well.
Read Brett Flitton's full review
April 30, 2021
Caitlynn Dickerson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We began using Canvas to conduct training for residents and interns. We were able to use the software to design the learning the way we wanted and to ensure it is user friendly as our residents and interns do not have a lot of downtime in between patients. We needed something that was customizable and Canvas was the best.
Read Caitlynn Dickerson's full review
April 20, 2021
Nathan Clark | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Canvas across our entire organization as a way to access information about the several different products we offer and also use it as the main delivery tool for our curriculum for our learners. I love Canvas because it makes it incredibly easy to organize and view information. It also is incredibly efficient for any kind of training course where you're presented information chronologically, tracking your progress and giving you a formidable toolkit along the way.
Read Nathan Clark's full review
March 10, 2021
Devarajulu Ravichandran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Canvas is used across the school as our primary learning management system. We have integrated it with our student information system and setup a templated course shell for every course taught in a semester. Most faculty use it to deliver course materials, schedule, assignments and grading. We have also integrated it with Zoom for video conferencing and that has helped tremendously with student engagement and remote course delivery during the pandemic.
Read Devarajulu Ravichandran's full review
June 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Canvas is actually being used by my school. Before we moved to Canvas, we have been used Moodle for years and although it is free, it costs a lot to maintain. So we were looking at different options. Canvas came to our sight very quickly and soo we decided to move to canvas. It has been great so far.
Read this authenticated review
April 22, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Canvas has been integrated into one of my companies as a virtual and in person learning platform to streamline learning for students (and teaching for teachers!). Not only does Canvas streamline learning across disciplines, classrooms and settings but also has allowed for students with differing computer access skills to learn how to access information and files within similar electronic organizational structures. It has allowed for bounds of progress in computer access and independence for students of all ages. It also allows for wonderful collaboration between teachers and disciplines.
Read this authenticated review
March 14, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Canvas across our organization - it is the standard learning management system and the only one supported at our institution. It is used by every academic department and is critical for achieving our goal of providing a modern, accessible, and flexible educational environment for our students, faculty, and staff.
Read this authenticated review
May 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We work with Canvas in our learning platform with the objective of facilitating academic teaching, which is extremely practical for planning and teaching online classes. We also take advantage of the integrated system that allows us to keep track of studies and student evaluations, which is optimal for keeping our study system up to date.
Read this authenticated review
March 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Canvas is used by the entire school I am taking classes at. It provides an online instruction module, attendance, grading and file distribution point for users. It seems to be closer to a "one stop shop" for online education than others that are currently available. I am familiar with Canvas, Google Classroom and Skyward.
Read this authenticated review
March 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Canvas [is being used] across the organization. We are able to streamline certain course delivery for all of the stakeholders.
Read this authenticated review
August 12, 2020
Shay Kotian | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Canvas is used by most universities. At times Moodles can be used as an alternative. Depending on the requirements of the department. It houses courses in a structured and easy to manage format. Allowing students to proactively do their assignments and access course material with ease. Teachers can create and manage course modules efficiently and with ease. An extremely efficient platform that bridges the communication gap between instructors and students. Its integration with third-party tools makes it easy for the administrator to keep the platform up-to-date with the university requirements. A well thought out idea that is helping millions of students all across the world and improving how education is delivered.
Read Shay Kotian's full review
April 22, 2020
Ashley Milton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At my institution, we use Canvas across the entire campus. We used a different platform when I was a student, so Canvas was an adjustment for me to switch to as a staff member. A colleague of mine suggested Canvas to our central Distance Learning office a few years ago, and the agreed to look into it as an alternative platform. It took a while to implement, but has been great! With the new switch to remote learning due to social distancing, Canvas has been more valuable than ever. We are utilizing it for classes and coursework, as well as organization and information sharing. We are engaging students through video, and sharing resources with constituents. I am certain that we would have a myriad of issues with any other provider during this time. I'm very thankful we have Canvas!
Read Ashley Milton's full review
February 20, 2020
Victoria L. | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Canvas is being used by all faculty and students at Kansas State University. It is used to organize classes in an online platform. It allows students to download and upload assignments, and it allows professors to grade assignments as well as organize grades in a timely manner. To conclude, it gives faculty and students alike remote access to the class material.
Read Victoria L.'s full review
April 22, 2020
Liza Bondurant | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Canvas is a learning management system. It houses everything for all of my courses. This includes my face-to-face, hybrid, and online classes. Canvas helps me organize my course into modules. In each module, I have information pages, discussions, assignments, and assessments. Canvas also includes a calendar and gradebook. Moreover, Canvas has a messaging system so I can message students in my courses.
Read Liza Bondurant's full review
March 20, 2020
Kari Doherty | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use Canvas for a graduate program I am enrolled in. All of my classes and professors work through Canvas to support online learning. It's a useful platform. Most importantly, as someone who has never done online learning before, I find the platform easy to use. It allows me to access all of my school work in one place.
Read Kari Doherty's full review
April 22, 2020
Danielle Healey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our whole organization utilizes Canvas for student classes. It helps students understand what assignments they have, their grades, etc.
Read Danielle Healey's full review
February 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At Northwest, Nazarene Canvas is used as our learning management system. I use this at NNU as a student. I previously used Canvas from the admin side, where I was putting in classes and helping teachers create content. Canvas allows teachers to publish their courses online in a user-friendly platform. Students can then engage with the course material and each other throughout the class. Canvas also allows students to submit homework online and for teachers to publish grades so that students can see it.
Read this authenticated review
June 19, 2019
Nicholas Judd | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Canvas is used by the majority of faculty at the University of Florida. It is a great way to keep in touch with students outside of the classroom as well as an effective method of posting grades. If you decide to use Canvas for your class you can be as involved with it as you choose to be. There are tools which allow you to have message boards/group chats, you can post assignments, rubrics, videos, etc. Being a university professor in today's day and age you must have some sort of online platform for your class. Canvas fulfills all your possible needs said platform and more.
I have seen other instructors post take-home exams on Canvas as well which gives you the option to have automatic grading (one less thing to worry about as an instructor) for exams.
Read Nicholas Judd's full review
January 10, 2019
Mark Labbett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

TCS Education System is a non-profit organization that uses Canvas for all of its five affiliates. We have an Instructional Design team under the Academic Affairs Department that designs all of the courses. The majority of courses are totally online, however, we do have many blended and on-ground courses that also use Canvas. Canvas solved a problem we had with our previous LMS, which was costing us a lot of money as well as not providing the flexibility and up-to-date design technology that we wanted for our students. We have been very happy with the quality of the product as well as the professionalism and helpfulness of the Canvas staff.
Read Mark Labbett's full review
January 09, 2019
Jason Hill | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Canvas is used by our entire institution as the means for delivering course content, assessing student work, calculating grades, and providing actionable feedback to our learning community.
Read Jason Hill's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (39)
8.9
Course catalog or library (36)
8.3
Player/Portal (31)
9.0
Learning content (33)
8.9
Mobile friendly (38)
8.3
Progress tracking & certifications (35)
9.1
Assignments (39)
9.4
Compliance management (32)
8.9
Learning administration (35)
9.1
Learning reporting & analytics (36)
8.8
Social learning (32)
8.4

What is Canvas?

Instructure is an educational software company based in Sandy, Utah. It is the developer of the Canvas learning management system, which is a comprehensive software package that competes with such systems as Blackboard Learning System, SumTotal and Saba.

Canvas Video

What is Canvas?

Canvas Competitors

Canvas Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Must contact vendor for pricing information.

Canvas Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Canvas?

Instructure is an educational software company based in Sandy, Utah. It is the developer of the Canvas learning management system, which is a comprehensive software package that competes with such systems as Blackboard Learning System, SumTotal and Saba.

What is Canvas's best feature?

Reviewers rate Assignments highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses Canvas?

The most common users of Canvas are from Mid-size Companies and the Higher Education industry.