Canvas Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
161 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 69)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Ashley Milton | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

Utilizing Canvas at a large public state university: How it saves our sanity!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Canvas allows users to personalize pages and ensure institution brand is kept true. Our Canvas pages look just like everything else our institution creates.
  • Canvas allows for multiple users to full sites, that have different permissions. This allows us to assign teachers, teaching assistants, and other student users. Everyone has access in a different capacity, to make different changes, so management is easy!
  • Canvas allows students to share documents within their classes, so no need for outside document-sharing platforms. Students in the past were using Google-Docs to create "group work" material that could be edited in real time. Now, Canvas allows students to access that material directly from the site. This makes remote group work run much smoother!
  • I use the Canvas App as a part-time graduate student, and the functionality in the Discussion Board posts is a little off. I have to post discussion board posts often, so I find myself entering the information from my phone sometimes. After one or two sentences, the text lags behind. I'll be 3-4 sentences into a thought, and the text is still finishing the first line. This requires me to stop and let the text catch up, which often breaks my train of thought. I've noticed the same thing on my iPad - so I think it's strictly an App issue.
  • Canvas has so much to offer, that it can be overwhelming. When I was first assigned as a TA of a course, I had no idea where to start. It's not that Canvas is not user-friendly, but it definitely has a level of understanding that must be done before you can even begin. I wouldn't just assign a student to start using it and assume they could "figure it out", which means that we have to allow for training to be done when we expect anyone to use it. This just means a little more time and energy on the user, which is sometimes not always possible.
  • Using the People tab within a course is kind of pointless for me. This may be a setting at my institution, but when I look at the "people" in my class, I can't actually contact them. I can pull up their profile, see what sites they are enrolled in, their bio and their "links" - but there is no secure "send message" button from this landing page. I think that is a missed opportunity. I know there are other ways to send messages, but it seems that it would be pretty useful to add a contact button on the people tab.
Read Ashley Milton's full review
Shay Kotian | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2020

The perfect LMS out there

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Simple and user friendly user interface.
  • Third-party solution integration.
  • Ease of course management.
  • Inbuilt discussion forum.
  • Lack of inbuilt video conferencing tools.
  • Quizzes should have proctoring and browser locked capability.
  • Mobile app can get have glitches.
  • Notifications are missed at times.
Read Shay Kotian's full review
Liza Bondurant | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

Canvas Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User friendly: I found it easy to figure out how to use Canvas
  • Variety; there are a variety of types of assignments an instructor can create
  • Organized: the tools help you organize your course
  • Sometimes messages are delayed
  • It does not have it’s own video conferencing tool
  • Would be nice if there was a way to message groups of students based on a risk factor
Read Liza Bondurant's full review
Victoria L. | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 20, 2020

Paint Your Ideal Class with "Canvas"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It organizes students' grades in a timely manner.
  • It gives students notifications about upcoming assignments.
  • The notification feature could be improved upon as the professor has to put the due date as "midnight" otherwise the assignment will be automatically erased from the platform.
  • The audio recording feature has its technical issues. I have never been able to use it correctly.
Read Victoria L.'s full review
Kari Doherty | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2020

Canvas is great for new online learners

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Organization.
  • Communication with professors.
  • Hosting online materials.
  • If you send a message to a teacher, there is no record of the message until they write you back.
  • The Zoom features are confusing.
  • Not all of the teachers are as tech savvy as the students. This is user error, but more training would be helpful.
Read Kari Doherty's full review
Nicolas Hanhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2020

Canvas Makes Learning Effective

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Creating different course sections with effective course design.
  • Creating assessments and learning measures tools.
  • Work on third-party application integration especially browsers compatibility.
  • Make more cost affordable for schools and Universities especially for those interested to switch from higher-cost LMS
Read Nicolas Hanhan's full review
Joshua Welsh | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

Canvas is a pretty good LMS.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Canvas is extremely flexible. I think that is both its greatest strength and perhaps a bit of a weakness.
  • Canvas is getting better at allowing instructors to duplicate individual assignments. That's a big improvement.
  • Canvas integrates well with Crocodoc for online paper commenting and grading.
  • Canvas has great import functions.
  • It would be great if we could deal with multiple assignments at a time.
  • Better visibility of how students see a course would also be helpful.
  • Searching for rubrics is really bad. The rubrics from the current course should default to the top. As it now works, the user has to search through every course ever taught to find a rubric.
Read Joshua Welsh's full review
Chris Wilkey | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

Canvas is a teacher's best friend.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User experience
  • Organization and ability to create a course
  • I love the modules function
  • It's compatibility with Banner
  • The speed grader could be improved
  • Extra credit assignment feature would be nice
Read Chris Wilkey's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Canvas

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of student use
  • Completed assignment tracking
  • Journal function
Read this authenticated review
Nicholas Judd | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2019

Great choice for instructors

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User-friendly. It is very straightforward to use.
  • There are lots of functions at your disposal.
  • The layout is aesthetically pleasing.
  • There are really any technical issues.
  • Providing walkthroughs on how to carry out certain tasks could be helpful.
  • Allowing instructors to use the 'what if scenario' for grades to gauge students' outcomes.
  • Making profile pictures bigger so they are easier to see.
Read Nicholas Judd's full review
Mark Labbett | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2019

Canvas LMS: a great way to provide an online course experience!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Canvas does a great job of integrating many third-party vendors. We use vendors such as Flipgrid, Padlet, and Storyline to help enhance our student experience in the online classroom.
  • Canvas is very user (designer) friendly. It uses a simple Rich Text Editor that is easy to create text, insert pictures and video and enhance the text. With that comes an HTML Editor which is very useful if you have knowledge of HTML. This provides the designer with the flexibility to design more than just plain text on a page.
  • For the student, Canvas is also very easy to use and organized well. The Modules listing provides students with an "outline: of the course and helps keep them working in a linear fashion (if that is what you want). There are also direct links to assignments and discussions so students can see all of the specific assignments at once. The grade book is also very easy for students to read and interpret.
  • Even though Canvas works great with third-party vendors by integrating them right into Canvas, there is room for improvement on this subject. There are still glitches with certain programs as well as programs that simply do not work well with Canvas.
  • The Rich Text Editor is a good selling point for Canvas, however, it could use an upgrade There are features that could be implemented that are not there and it can make designing a dynamic page difficult.
Read Mark Labbett's full review
Jason Hill | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2019

Canvas Provides the Best Learning Environment for an Institution of Any Size

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Canvas integrates with 3rd party vendors extremely well. We have multiple vendors and publishers connected to our instance of Canvas. These integrations allow our instructors to use additional tools such as McGraw-Hill Connect, Kaltura, Box, Office 365, Google Drive, and many more to deliver course materials and pass grades back to the Canvas grade book.
  • Canvas has a cascading approach to its organizational design. We can manage roles, permissions, LTIs, etc. at the root account level or within any sub-account. Each sub-account inherits its parents’ attributes. Managing all these items is made incredibly easy by leveraging SIS Imports of .csv files.
  • Instructure keeps its Canvas documentation up-to-date on the Canvas Community. Canvas Community users share knowledge, offer help, and provide valuable insight into best practices and approaches for everything from administering Canvas to course design.
  • Canvas has extremely reliable ‘up time.’ Because Canvas is SaaS-based and hosted in the AWS environment, we have experienced very little down time. In the very rare instances we have had outages, we’re usually back up and running extremely quickly.
  • I would like to see Instructure continue to focus on improving the user interface and functionality for the Canvas roles and permissions. In the summer of 2018, they made vast improvements to this area of Canvas, but they still have a little work to do. I’d like to be able to manage ‘sub permissions’ within the top-level permissions for each role. I’d also like to run a report/export of the roles and permissions, make edits in a .csv editor, and then upload the updated roles/permissions via the SIS Import tool. This would alleviate the time-consuming process of managing roles permissions by hand.
  • I’d like to see more LTI integrations that are set up like the Box integration. The Box LTI integration is accessible via the user’s profile page and allows the user to access content in Box via a native Box window that is embedded in the page. Most LTIs are only accessible via an actual course. Instructure has the potential to turn the user profile page into a hub that allows the user to jump in and out of multiple apps, whose provisioning and authentication is handled by Canvas
  • Instructure needs to create a permission that manages the access to a course’s start and dates. At our institution, we have to programmatically hide the start/end dates for courses from instructors, so they don’t open courses early or leave them open after the semester has officially ended. Canvas customers should be able to treat the opening/closing of a course (not the publishing) as an administrative task only.
  • Canvas admins should also be able to restrict who can control the course visibility and course format functions in the course settings. At our institution, we have committees and processes in place to determine these attributes. Allowing faculty to edit these options creates confusion for students and administrators.
Read Jason Hill's full review
Christopher Sweets | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2019

Canvas is the best LMS currently on the market.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use interface for students and faculty. No need to switch to "Edit Mode" or any other different views to make changes.
  • Well defined APIs make administration easy.
  • Intuitive design lets students start on course materials right away, without having to take time to learn the system.
  • Instructure can be slow to address admin-only issues or change requests due to the community voting on issues.
  • Submitted assignments or assessment attempts cannot be removed at all, so if a student makes an erroneous submission it will always be visible.
  • All or Nothing question types do not have a choice for all or nothing points grading.
  • Exam settings are not available/appropriate for high-stakes testing.
Read Christopher Sweets's full review
Sarah Ciras Rousseau | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2019

Canvas Allows for More Freedom for Educators

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provides a customizable platform where the user can determine the experience for others.
  • Allows for integration with many useful services, such as Drive.
  • Is fairly user-friendly and you can use only the features you desire.
  • The integration with Drive and Gmail could be more intuitive. Originally I found a workaround for this. I am now able to link shared pages, etc, but it still could be more native.
  • The interface can seem cluttered at times, so a way to be able to remove or hide features you don't tend to use would be helpful.
  • A way to archive courses in a more accessible way would be helpful.
Read Sarah Ciras Rousseau's full review
Marina Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2019

Canvas is the online learning system for me!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Canvas is easy to navigate for both the instructor and student.
  • Skeptics of online learning claim that it limits the ability of students to communicate with their professor or the social interactions with fellow students. My experience was the opposite. I felt closer to my professors and colleagues because of the diverse ways Canvas allows for communication. There is email, chat options, and ways to set up groups to work together. Professors can add video lectures if needed. I loved the experience.
  • Canvas provides various ways for professors to create and set up their courses. Instructors can offer video, links to specific readings (documents), set up groups to work and perform together, and more.
  • Canvas allows the business, instructors, and students to design the way it looks.
  • Instructors need to take the time to learn all that Canvas allows them to do. If not, the course could be quite dull.
Read Marina Taylor's full review
Rita Wheeler | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2019

Canvas is the learning management system for today's student!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Speedgrader helps instructors cut down on grading time.
  • Provides communication between students and instructors or administrators
  • The multitude of media and apps that can be used in Canvas creates an enhanced learning environment for students. We use Turnitin, publisher platforms like Connect and MyLabs, and many other tools that easily integrate and can be accessed from Canvas.
  • The new quizzing (quizzes.next) interface needs some work. We need to be able to electronically proctor these quizzes with Lockdown Browser and we cannot do that right now since the quizzes are delivered through the assignments area.
Read Rita Wheeler's full review
Kyle Moninger | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

A Product I love using every day

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Its ability to copy course content into a new shell saves hours of time!
  • Its ease of use and streamlined interface makes it very intuitive.
  • Its ability to add a grading rubric saves hours at the end of the semester by automatically assigning letter grades to students.
  • It's mobile app needs improvement as it often misses notifications and assignments
  • It's messaging system is clunky
  • It's quiz/test interface could offer more advanced settings. It's too basic
Read Kyle Moninger's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2019

Powerful LMS for Effective Online Learning

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • LTI integration. This is particularly useful for teachers creating digital lessons and activities so that can embed other digital tools within their canvas materials.
  • Collaborative in nature. Easy to navigate and engage in discussion with students and teachers.
  • The Calendar view. Teachers are use to utilizing agendas and Google Calendar for daily routine like a planner. This give you an overview of your course highlighting various assignments, quizzes, tests, etc.
  • An easier way to manage and/or organize materials and be able to share them with others.
  • A way to track what learning objectives are being met.
  • Integrated badging system to create and award badges for gamification elements.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 19, 2019

Canvas has been a revelation for our university

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Grade reporting: easy for students to find their grades once posted.
  • Analytics on student interaction: now we can view the analytics around how students are interacting with the application and find ways to better serve our students
  • Custom notification for course updates: now we are able to create custom notifications for our students when an update is made to a course.
  • Mobile app: the mobile app has been a revelation. Now, students can access their course material from anywhere they are.
  • Native integration with third-party applications i.e: Zendesk, Salesforce
  • Sometimes you have to click through many features before you get to what you are really looking for
  • There is no simple way to add one-sentence reading assignments to a calendar
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2019

The greatness of Canvas!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User friendly design.
  • Great support through assigned CSM, 24-hour help, and the community.
  • Tons of pre-made materials in Commons that you can pull into your own courses to use.
  • When you first log in, it can be overwhelming to see nothing in your course.
  • When you first start using Canvas, it can be daunting to begin designing and building your course since it is blank when you first start one.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2019

Canvas - Our Best Answer to LMS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Housing online courses.
  • Providing analytical data of course usage.
  • Organization of course materials.
  • Availability of communication with users.
  • Data can be difficult to manage - need knowledge of API calls and databases.
  • Extra products can drastically increase the price.
  • Development of background structure needs to be done correctly the first time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2019

Canvas for K-12

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customer Service--Canvas has great customer service. I have reached out via phone, email, and their help desk and received prompt reliable service each time.
  • Training--Canvas and the Canvas Community has a plethora of training materials available for use. These range from documents and"click-sheets" to video tutorials.
  • Innovation--Canvas is not content to sit still. New products and enhancements are added.
  • One of the big things I would love to see would be a way for students to annotate PDFs or other documents within the Canvas web platform. The app has an option like this, but currently, there is nothing of equal use in the web version.
  • It would also be great if students could highlight questions in the quiz portion of Canvas.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2019

Ins and Outs of Canvas

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The landing page is very easy to understand and navigate to find courses.
  • As an instructor, it is easy to setup my classes to include only the sections I need for my students.
  • I would like to be able to add more creativity to my class page since I work with middle school students. I would like to be able to make it more inviting to keep them engaged.
  • It can be difficult to navigate between pages when you go into a small group section. There are times when you simply have to go completely out of the class and start over.
  • We have had difficulty accessing and printing student quizzes after they complete them to be able to include them in portfolios.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (27)
8.8
Course catalog or library (25)
8.2
Player/Portal (20)
8.4
Learning content (24)
8.6
Mobile friendly (26)
8.4
Progress tracking & certifications (24)
8.7
Assignments (27)
9.4
Compliance management (21)
8.3
Learning administration (24)
8.5
Learning reporting & analytics (25)
9.1
Social learning (22)
8.4

About Canvas

Instructure is an educational software company based in Sandy, Utah. It is the developer of the Canvas learning management system, which is a comprehensive software package that competes with such systems as Blackboard Learning System, SumTotal and Saba.

Canvas Competitors

Canvas Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No