Carbonite Server Reviews

57 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 32)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Carbonite Backup has good versatility but has to include reporting which is the crucial part that is missing.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We migrated from NetBackup as we wanted to get rid of our Tape library and media used. We also compared with Veeam to replace the Carbonite server backup. We changed our plan, as we needed storage. It is not in our budget. We continued with Carbonite as they are cheaper in cloud.
Read this authenticated review
Brent Goedel | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2017

Carbonite EVault will be the last backup you need

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We used Symantec before EVault and our backups were large and took a long time. We were not confident in incremental backups given the amount of data we have, so we needed something that would take a backup and then only grab the changes. Carbonite EVault does that for us.
Read Brent Goedel's full review
Eric Romaine | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2017

Small Company Flexible Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We're in the financial industry, so there are certain standards that we make sure we're following. Outsourcing that role to a specialist in the area helps lighten our work load to we can concentrate on day-to-day business activities and not outside regulations. Flexibility, cost, stability, simplicity, reputation and security features are all things we look for and though there are many ways of tackling disaster recovery, we felt EVault provided a solution that checked those boxes with a high level of confidence. We also felt that they'd be able to grow with us as well.
Read Eric Romaine's full review
Russ Kruse | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2017

Carbonite EVault - a good product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have looked at Symantec Backup Exec and actually use it for some of our less important systems. We are currently taking a look at Veeam as an alternative to EVault because of the real-time replication to live machines that Veeam may be able to provide. But so far, EVault has served our needs and will continue to do so.
Read Russ Kruse's full review
Kirk Phillips | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2017

Happy Camper

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Went out of business but they had a sweet appliance that could be moved and the agents could still find it through a cloud/web site that directed it to it's serial number. Made it great to backup laptops too since they moved around and it wasn't always possible to reconfigure firewalls everywehre
Read Kirk Phillips's full review
Robb Glietz | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2016

Carbonite the solutions maker

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • netbak
Netbak is a great product but we also had a secondary issue of having to backup several PC's on site and at remote locations. Carbonite helped with both and gave us one central admin console to be able to check the progress of all our backups, where netbak would have required us to setup a tunnel or use the internet to move data back to our main office.
Read Robb Glietz's full review
Danny Cockrell | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2016

Do you think you will ever need your backup?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Much easier, I love how easy it is to verify my backups. With some other products, I did not really know how they were doing because it was too time-consuming to verify the backup. With carbonite, I get email reports every day with any issues and with successes! That is going to my phone which is very convenient.
Read Danny Cockrell's full review
Janet Kowal | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2016

Carbonite works for us

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We used Symantec many years ago, so I don't know that I can compare the two fairly. Backup Exec was hard to use and we backed up on tapes, rather than in the cloud. I feel much more confident in the backups that we have with Carbonite.
Read Janet Kowal's full review
Matt Cubbage | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 15, 2016

Carbonite better than Tape

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • veritas
We need a license for each server to backup to tape and then had to run it all at once here its not tied to key but to the amount of space I use ... more space, more money etc. I also don't have to worry about a license not registering, and I can run the backups all at once or layer them since they run independently.
Read Matt Cubbage's full review
Bill Casey, CTB | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2016

Inexpensive Reliability

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Carbonite Server Backup performs exceptionally well versus Barracuda Backup. One of the best features is the cost savings of not having to buy expensive equipment to keep in our office building. Plus, the ease of mind knowing our backup is being handled off site. Though Barracuda can offer this too, they require onsite equipment.
Read Bill Casey, CTB's full review
Christopher Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 04, 2014

eVault: A backup solution capable of supporting a large volume of Fortune 500 companies

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Tivoli,Netbackup,Cobian,Acronis,Bacula
eVault was fairly easy to learn and had a ton of readily available training when we got stated. Learning Tivoli and Netbackup was a much more daunting task and one that my team never really successfully made it through with our workload. However with eVault we were all able to evaluate the product and get up to speed very quickly. eVault's Support team helped considerably as well. They were able to answer questions that some of our team didn't catch on to during training and were always considerate of the extremely busy nature of our team.
Read Christopher Smith's full review
Lauren Fitzpatrick | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 10, 2014

Great recovery, not so great support

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Unitrends,Veeam,SafeSystems
We selected eVault because it had the security and offerings we needed as a financial institution. Unitrends came in a close second, but at the time did not have the exact offerings we needed. It has been announced that Unitrends now has these offerings and we will be evaluating them in the future.
Read Lauren Fitzpatrick's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2017

EVault's ease-of-use works for us

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have not used or evaluated other similar products. My only experience in disaster recovery involved backing up to tapes and taking those tapes to an off-site location to restore the system, which was a much longer process.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2017

EVault - A cloud backup solution that delivers

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used HP Data Protector in the past - prefer EVault because I value the cloud solution for its ease of use and reliability. Like the online portal to manipulate backups because it provides mobility. Also like EVault central control software which is very easy to use just like the portal.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2017

EVault for small/medium businesses

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Product was in place before I started working here. It works well for us because the cost was low and it supported our applications and operating systems. We will be evaluating backup and recovery within 12 months to see if EVault is still the best product for us.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (7)
8.3
Live recovery (8)
8.2
Recovery verification (7)
7.9
Business application protection (12)
7.8
Multiple backup destinations (13)
7.8
Incremental backup identification (17)
8.4
Backup to the cloud (18)
9.5
Deduplication and file compression (12)
7.6
Snapshots (9)
6.3
Flexible deployment (9)
7.9
Management dashboard (9)
7.5
Platform support (10)
7.5
Retention options (11)
7.7
Encryption (11)
8.5

About Carbonite Server

Carbonite Server (also replacing the former EVault products acquired from Seagate in 2016) is a full backup and discovery solution. Designed to recover anything from a single file to an entire system with the click of a button, Carbonite Server users can protect virtually any type of file on both physical and virtual servers, NAS, SAN and external hard drives. The vendor’s value proposition is that their solution assures that users without an IT department and those that are the IT department can rest easy knowing their data is safe. According to the vendor, Carbonite Server is easy to configure and schedule automatic backups (full, incremental and differential) that require zero user interaction. Users can choose local, cloud or hybrid backup targets.

Carbonite Server Features

Data Center Backup Features
Does not have featureUniversal recovery
Does not have featureLive recovery
Does not have featureRecovery verification
Has featureBusiness application protection
Has featureMultiple backup destinations
Has featureIncremental backup identification
Has featureBackup to the cloud
Does not have featureDeduplication and file compression
Has featureSnapshots
Does not have featureFlexible deployment
Does not have featureManagement dashboard
Does not have featurePlatform support
Does not have featureRetention options
Does not have featureEncryption
Additional Features
Has featureHybrid Cloud: Ability to store and back up data to the cloud and/or locally.
Has featureHot Backup: Backups occur automatically after you set policies with no disruption to normal workflow
Has featureImage Backup & Bare Metal Restore (BMR): Restore to new, existing or dissimilar hardware from bare metal with no OS or other software installation required
Has featureHyper-V Image Backup: Complete snapshot protection with full backup capability
Has featureExchange Online Backup: Mailbox-level backup of Exchange Online mail and calendars and cross-user data restore between local Exchange and Office 365
Has featureScheduling & Management: Perform full, incremental or differential backups for more efficient, more frequent backups and more relevant recovery points
Has featureSecurity & Compliance: Provides 128-bit encryption and Transport Layer Security (TLS) by default, with a 256-bit private key encryption option; supports FERPA, GLBA and HIPAA compliance.
Has featureDedicated Support: Call, email or chat with our U.S.-based business support team 7 days a week. With our free valet install, a Carbonite business team member will install and optimize Carbonite Server Backup for your business at no extra charge.

Carbonite Server Screenshots

Carbonite Server Integrations

Hyper-V, Microsoft Exchange, Microsoft SQL Server, MailStore, Microsoft Exchange Online, Microsoft Sharepoint, Oracle

Carbonite Server Competitors

Acronis Cyber Backup, IDrive, Carbonite Safe (formerly Mozy), StorageCraft

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Trial and paying customers have access to our valet install free of charge. Call and speak to a specialist who can remotely connect to your machine to ensure it's installed and configured correctly to protect your critical data.

Carbonite Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Carbonite Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, German