Carbonite Server Reviews

57 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 33)

Santhosh A O | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Carbonite - A friendly tool to handle your all backup operations

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is a very good tool and most reliable, efficient and user friendly so even freshers can easily understand. But it needs to be improved in Reporting section - need more information about reports in depth and detail. We need DR environment so that we can perform the DR activity whenever we want and perform and explore other things too. Stable environment and no doubt in configuration part.
Read Santhosh A O's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Carbonite Backup has good versatility but has to include reporting which is the crucial part that is missing.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

This is suitable for VM infra and physical server backup. It offers application level backup and restore. However, it does not support DAG backup. It offers very good data management as you don't have to worry about the space utilized in the Cloud vault or Base vault. Not suitable for audit report, and it won't be available if there are any business needs that you failed. We have suffered in this section as we could not provide the reports to our audit team. We failed and the product itself failed. Not advanced compared with Veeam, Druva, and Acronis backups.
Read this authenticated review
Timika Hite | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 26, 2017

Carbonite EVault Backup and Disaster Recovery made easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Carbonite Evault is a very good backup and disaster recovery system. We have had no issues restoring when we have lost entire servers. You can also stay in compliance with your records policies and have the data deleted after specific time periods.
Read Timika Hite's full review
Eric Romaine | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2017

Small Company Flexible Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

In a regulated industry where backup recovery is essential and required, Carbonite provides a nice outsourced solution, reducing stress and overhead of most in-house solutions.

Bandwidth could be an issue with larger data companies, so an internet based solution would need to be analyzed from the trade-offs of cost and functionality.
Read Eric Romaine's full review
Kirk Phillips | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2017

Happy Camper

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Great for SMBs who have limited resources for backup but need a world class solution. Large companies are hesitant as they are not a big player and I've heard that their compression/deduplication is not as good as others. Some of the SMB on-prem units seemed cheap to me and not a world-class piece of hardware.
Read Kirk Phillips's full review
Joe Bayramyan | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2017

EVault Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

EVault is well suited for organizations with critical offisite backup strategy. In fac, EVault does not contain the encryption key, only the organization does, it a great security selling point.
Read Joe Bayramyan's full review
Danny Cockrell | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2016

Do you think you will ever need your backup?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It you are looking to backup locally on a machine or from a server, it is ideal. If you are limited on local storage for your backup, you can't use this efficiently to backup directly to the cloud unless you have major bandwidth at your disposal. Even then, if you are having issues, it is nice to have a local backup.
Read Danny Cockrell's full review
Janet Kowal | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2016

Carbonite works for us

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Our organization (library) is probably relatively small compared to other companies, so I don't know if my experience is typical. I feel that Carbonite is well suited for our situation and does exactly what we need, which is back up our data to the cloud so that it's more secure. We needed an off-site solution, and Carbonite worked well for us.
Read Janet Kowal's full review
Matt Cubbage | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 15, 2016

Carbonite better than Tape

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Best use is in Hyper V backups, or file backups. I am always scared of the security encryption because if you lose it, as they inform you, they can not help you open it up, but that is also a good point if security is a great concern of yours.
Read Matt Cubbage's full review
Bill Casey, CTB | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2016

Inexpensive Reliability

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Carbonite Server Backup is well suited for small to mid-size companies that cannot afford expensive backup systems. Or that need a reliable service that comes with peace of mind knowing it is off site and totally secure from hackers.
Read Bill Casey, CTB's full review
Shea Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2014

I trust my critical data to eVault.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

A key question is, "how much critical data needs to be backed up?". A follow-up question might be, "what impact would it have on your business and reputation if you were to lose this data or take more than a few days to recover?"
If a company's data is not critical or valuable to the success of their business, then this is not a good solution.
Read Shea Taylor's full review
Christopher Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 04, 2014

eVault: A backup solution capable of supporting a large volume of Fortune 500 companies

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Out of about 15 consumer level backup solutions and 3 professional level backup solutions I have used eVault was my favorite so far. I am in the process of getting my current company to switch to eVault from open source programs they are currently using.
Read Christopher Smith's full review
Lauren Fitzpatrick | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 10, 2014

Great recovery, not so great support

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It would be important to discuss SLA expectations, what form of back-up you are interested in as they each have different challenges. This product is best suited for smaller IT departments that don't have the manpower or physical location to host and maintain a backup solution.
Read Lauren Fitzpatrick's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2017

EVault's ease-of-use works for us

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For a disaster recovery process of restoring your system at a remote site, EVault makes that process easy and way faster than my previous experiences with rebuilding a system on a different system.

Every time I am asked to restore a file from a backup, if a copy from the last week is acceptable, using EVault is by far the easiest and quickest way to restore a file.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2017

EVault for small/medium businesses

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

EVault works well in small companies where the rate of change with servers and backups is low. Medium and large companies will probably be better off with a more proven platform that offers enterprise features like global deduplication and centralized management. The cost is relatively low and you don't have to buy proprietary hardware.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (7)
8.3
Live recovery (8)
8.2
Recovery verification (7)
7.9
Business application protection (12)
7.8
Multiple backup destinations (13)
7.8
Incremental backup identification (17)
8.4
Backup to the cloud (18)
9.5
Deduplication and file compression (12)
7.6
Snapshots (9)
6.3
Flexible deployment (9)
7.9
Management dashboard (9)
7.5
Platform support (10)
7.5
Retention options (11)
7.7
Encryption (11)
8.5

About Carbonite Server

Carbonite Server (also replacing the former EVault products acquired from Seagate in 2016) is a full backup and discovery solution. Designed to recover anything from a single file to an entire system with the click of a button, Carbonite Server users can protect virtually any type of file on both physical and virtual servers, NAS, SAN and external hard drives. The vendor’s value proposition is that their solution assures that users without an IT department and those that are the IT department can rest easy knowing their data is safe. According to the vendor, Carbonite Server is easy to configure and schedule automatic backups (full, incremental and differential) that require zero user interaction. Users can choose local, cloud or hybrid backup targets.

Carbonite Server Features

Data Center Backup Features
Does not have featureUniversal recovery
Does not have featureLive recovery
Does not have featureRecovery verification
Has featureBusiness application protection
Has featureMultiple backup destinations
Has featureIncremental backup identification
Has featureBackup to the cloud
Does not have featureDeduplication and file compression
Has featureSnapshots
Does not have featureFlexible deployment
Does not have featureManagement dashboard
Does not have featurePlatform support
Does not have featureRetention options
Does not have featureEncryption
Additional Features
Has featureHybrid Cloud: Ability to store and back up data to the cloud and/or locally.
Has featureHot Backup: Backups occur automatically after you set policies with no disruption to normal workflow
Has featureImage Backup & Bare Metal Restore (BMR): Restore to new, existing or dissimilar hardware from bare metal with no OS or other software installation required
Has featureHyper-V Image Backup: Complete snapshot protection with full backup capability
Has featureExchange Online Backup: Mailbox-level backup of Exchange Online mail and calendars and cross-user data restore between local Exchange and Office 365
Has featureScheduling & Management: Perform full, incremental or differential backups for more efficient, more frequent backups and more relevant recovery points
Has featureSecurity & Compliance: Provides 128-bit encryption and Transport Layer Security (TLS) by default, with a 256-bit private key encryption option; supports FERPA, GLBA and HIPAA compliance.
Has featureDedicated Support: Call, email or chat with our U.S.-based business support team 7 days a week. With our free valet install, a Carbonite business team member will install and optimize Carbonite Server Backup for your business at no extra charge.

Carbonite Server Screenshots

Carbonite Server Integrations

Hyper-V, Microsoft Exchange, Microsoft SQL Server, MailStore, Microsoft Exchange Online, Microsoft Sharepoint, Oracle

Carbonite Server Competitors

Acronis Cyber Backup, IDrive, Carbonite Safe (formerly Mozy), StorageCraft

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Trial and paying customers have access to our valet install free of charge. Call and speak to a specialist who can remotely connect to your machine to ensure it's installed and configured correctly to protect your critical data.

Carbonite Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Carbonite Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, German