Carbonite Server Reviews

57 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 33)

Santhosh A O | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Carbonite - A friendly tool to handle your all backup operations

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to manage.
  • Easy to deploy the agent and configure the same.
  • User friendly.
  • Efficient and reliable.
  • Easy for freshers to explore.
  • Needs improvement in reporting section.
  • Needs DR environment.
  • Needs extra options to fetch the Vault data report and Retention report.
Read Santhosh A O's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Carbonite Backup has good versatility but has to include reporting which is the crucial part that is missing.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Granular restore for application and file level restore are very good and simple
  • Web central control is very simple and straight forward for configuration backup
  • Director server configuration is easy and simple to setup
  • The backup report really needs improvement. It is really pathetic, as it gives wrong information. It is not suitable for auditing.
  • The Exchange DAG backup should support instead of configuring each exchange server.
  • Cloud infrastructure supports a lot of AWS and Azure instances that are coming up.
Read this authenticated review
Timika Hite | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 26, 2017

Carbonite EVault Backup and Disaster Recovery made easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Carbonite Evault allows for easy management of backups. Once the system is integrated there is minimal hands on time. The system is smart enough to email you if there is an issue to give you the opportunity to fix it before it becomes a larger issue.
  • Carbonite Evault does restores very well also. Our favorite restores are the BMR (Bare Metal Restores). This type of back up allows you to restore the entire server configuration to a brand new box.
  • Carbonite Evault does a good job of allowing you to schedule backups when it is convenient to you with little impact on your bandwith.
  • There is room for improvement on the notification of policy changes or the inability to support older hardware. We were left with several mission critical servers that no [longer] backed up without notice. The issue was resolved once we contacted support.
  • Another got you is the fact that if you need to do a granular restore for SQL or Exchange you need a special license and a special software installed on the server.
  • I would love to see Carbonite Evault provide a user conference with training. That way the newer users could come up to speed and the current users can become more comfortable modifying or resolving issues on their own.
Read Timika Hite's full review
Brent Goedel | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2017

Carbonite EVault will be the last backup you need

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The bare metal restore is the best I have seen from a product in a long time.
  • The backups are at the block level, after the initial seeding of backups the backups are quick because of the block level.
  • We have not found anything wrong with EVault at this time. Support and the product have worked great for us and our clients.
Read Brent Goedel's full review
Eric Romaine | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2017

Small Company Flexible Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Their web portal is easy to use to monitor server, check logs, restore or run an ad-hoc backup job.
  • Minimal problems, but when there is a problem, customer support is friendly and flexible in finding a solution. Contacting through their customer portal is convenient.
  • Competitive pricing for level of service provided.
  • It'd be nice if the customer portal and the Evault portal were integrated a little more smoothly.
  • An alert system when backups are not working, to email or even to Evault support would had been a nice feature. This was our fault for not monitoring more closely, but information was lost when our storage vault was moved and the IP address had to be updated. Backups were failing for about a month and only the portal logs were recording the failure.
Read Eric Romaine's full review
Russ Kruse | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2017

Carbonite EVault - a good product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Managing EVault backups with the director console as well as the software central console is pretty easy. Selecting servers to backup, editing the selections for each server and reviewing the detailed logs should any errors pop up is pretty straight forward.
  • Customer support via phone to EVault is pretty fast. Since the transition to Carbonite, wait time for support has dropped to a point where there is seldom any wait time.
  • Learning of a problem is typically done with email alerts, which I find very helpful. I don't have to look at logs every day searching for errors or failures. The emails notify me.
  • EVault has a process for restoring backed up servers to a different location than the original backup. This is really helpful in a DR situation where the original location may not be accessible.
  • The granular restore tool for exchange, which is needed to restore a specific email rather than an entire mailbox, is a bit combersome. I wish the tool was incorporated into the 'normal' restore features.
  • The inline replication process is very sensitive to available bandwidth. And if bandwidth between source and replication site becomes overused, inline replication fails and 'regular' replication takes its place. I wish inline replication was a bit less 'touchy' and would have a built in 'pause' to allow for the clearing of bandwidth before it fails over to 'regular' replication.
Read Russ Kruse's full review
Kirk Phillips | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2017

Happy Camper

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's easy to set up and backup.
  • Like the speed of full backups once the initial backup is complete. It compresses and only backs up changes but makes it easy to restore as it links all the files together.
  • Support is excellent - Easy to contact someone when I need help.
  • DR: Previously had to do a restore of over a TB of data from the cloud. They quickly recovered the data onto units and shipped them overnight and it was fairly easy to restore the data and get an email system back up and functional.
  • Would like to see better integration with the ON-Prem appliance and the cloud so I can backup less critical things like bare metal systems on-prem and then put the critical files in the cloud and not have to separate it as much.
  • It would be nice to have better aging of the data so older files could be put in slower/cheaper storage instead of just falling off a cliff once it's aged based on its retention.
Read Kirk Phillips's full review
Joe Bayramyan | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2017

EVault Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Backup of systems and applications (exchange, SQL)
  • Quick restore capability
  • Once the initial backup is completed, from then on it's differential backups only
  • Have the ability to easily copy schedules and configurations from one server to a new one
Read Joe Bayramyan's full review
Jeff Lillian | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2017

K.I.S.S. Keep It Simple Stupid

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Product is very intuitive and logical. Do not need to spend a lot of time figuring out 15 different things to click on to complete a task.
  • Web Central Control removes the need to spend resources on tracking backups and if they were successful. One web page and 30 seconds will show a snapshot of the previous night.
  • The restore process is simple and has the ability to restore from one machine to another.
  • Only have one gripe and that is licensing. I have multiple locations and all use the same capacity license. When upgrading, need to call and have the license reset. No easy way to reset without call.
Read Jeff Lillian's full review
Warren Tenney | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2017

Carbonite Server backup for small business

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Relatively easy to set up.
  • Very responsive support.
  • We tried creating a full server backup once per month with incremental backup daily. This proved unworkable over a standard DSL network connection. The full server backup would take approximately 3 days to upload to cloud and then the incrementals were temperamental, The software had to be reinstalled on several occasions after a failed backup.
  • We now run a full server backup once per month and use file backup for dailies. This is much more reliable and has reduced the time required to monitor and fix.
  • On the plus side, support was very helpful and good in getting things started again but the backups required constant attention.
Read Warren Tenney's full review
Robb Glietz | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2016

Carbonite the solutions maker

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Automatic emailing of static of backup or if problems happen.
  • Easy admin console to see how much drive space is available.
  • Easy to install.
  • The email system does not always send out emails on failures.
  • Have it do a retry on some backup operations when it fails.
Read Robb Glietz's full review
Josh Yau, Ph.D. | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 22, 2017

Great tool for data backup and restore.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Carbonite's technical support is very helpful. We received great support in a couple incidents, including backup plan configuration.
  • Backup setting can be customized to meet business needs, i.e., specifying folders or type of files for backup.
  • Data restore procedure is easy. Accidently deleted a file in a local server and it was easily identified in the cloud and restored to the server.
  • To me, Carbonite is only for server data backup. I was hoping for a cloud based database backend server or share folder, but I guess that's not what Carbonite is meant to be.
  • An administrator user should be able to manage files in their account at the Carbonite website.
Read Josh Yau, Ph.D.'s full review
Danny Cockrell | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2016

Do you think you will ever need your backup?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is very easy to select shared network drives. If you have it mapped on your profile, it finds them just as you find them each day as you use the network drives.
  • Click and go!
  • The screen is very easy to understand.
  • I love how you can validate your backup.
  • I can do a quick restore to an external local hard drive to test my data being backed up.
  • I would love for Carbonite to backup my VMs from server 2012 R2 datacenter.
  • If a drive is not properly mapped, it won't let me browse to find it.
  • You must have your network drives mapped properly for it to find them for a backup.
Read Danny Cockrell's full review
Janet Kowal | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2016

Carbonite works for us

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is easy to administer and monitor. We've set up automatic backups, which saves us a lot of time.
  • We have been able to retrieve accidentally deleted files, as well as a whole database, using the restore feature. This was invaluable.
  • I have also had to use the technical support and was impressed by how much time the technician spent with me to solve my problem.
  • At some point we had to update the software and it seemed a little difficult to do that. We had tech support help us, and I don't know if I would have been able to do it myself.
Read Janet Kowal's full review
Matt Cubbage | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 15, 2016

Carbonite better than Tape

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Document backup is the easiest and quickest.
  • These last couple of updates Carbonite released hyper-V backup capabilities which helped us out greatly.
  • Carbonite also lets one do independent backup of the servers if for some reason we also want specific programs backuped and still use the hyper v backup.
  • Great tech support, I reach out and they have worked daily with me till my problem was resolved.
  • I would like to see Carbonite run without being tied to Java updates.
  • Its been a while since I have done a restore but it was some what difficult and hairy finding certain particular files; not folders, they were easy.
  • The dashboard coloring for checking backup storage on the web is very difficult to read. I would prefer a bold black print.
Read Matt Cubbage's full review
MORRIS WATSON | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2016

Carbonite Server Backup Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quick notification of potential problems with files.
  • Excellent support with issues/problems.
  • I only have 1, but it is very important to me: we are a small company - 4 people - and none of us have much computer knowledge. When issues arrive that require communication we need less "techie" talk and more plain English.
Read MORRIS WATSON's full review
Ellen Barnard | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 15, 2016

Straightforward and affordable backup service

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Pretty easy to set up.
  • Shows me what I am backing up and when something fails.
  • Communicates when my storage is reaching its limit.
  • Not as intuitive as I would like.
  • Poor instructions on how to set up backup set deletions which resulted in maxing out our server storage space.
Read Ellen Barnard's full review
Shea Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2014

I trust my critical data to eVault.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The end-user experience is as simple and robust as I have ever seen from a backup solution. The end-user dashboard, should you choose to allow them access, is intuitive and granular.
  • eVault has the best bandwidth management I have experienced. The endpoint target is available for all operating systems and is intelligent and efficient using very low overhead. It includes data de-dupe and encryption while using very little system resources. Combine these features with bandwidth throttling and you can backup a large amount of data over any size wire.
  • eVault's deployment options will fit any budget and size environment. You can deploy using your own hardware, even. They really focus on providing the right solution for each customer instead of making each customer fit into their pre-determined box.
  • The eVault process is so thorough, sometimes a simple deployment can take much longer than a customer expects.
  • Their solutions in the past have been targeted to mid-sized to enterprise sized budgets. They now have solutions to fit the small business, but don't market them well.
Read Shea Taylor's full review
Christopher Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 04, 2014

eVault: A backup solution capable of supporting a large volume of Fortune 500 companies

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Initial training, setup, and configuration are all very well designed and easy to pick up.
  • Support was very responsive and helpful in all situations.
  • The product was much easier to use compared to other common backup solutions that were in use.
  • I really have no complaints.
Read Christopher Smith's full review
Lauren Fitzpatrick | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 10, 2014

Great recovery, not so great support

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • eVault has perfected recovering your environment in the cloud during a disaster or simulated disaster. The process is quick and keeps all burden off the local IT department when it comes to recovering the systems and bringing them online.
  • Quick recovery of data/servers some localized issues such as missing files and/or corrupt servers.
  • Allows for all digital backups - no more tapes and costly secure storage!
  • In my opinion, support is terrible. It takes days for them to get back to you and then weeks to resolve issues. Problem is these are usually critical issues that need attention right away.
  • The virtual agent to backup VMs is impossible to install and once it is, it tends to have issues that cause the backups to fail. I now reboot my agent every 2 weeks to avoid issues.
  • Reporting is not good. You are unable to pull simple reports when you backup to an ERA. I needed a report to show status of jobs during a time period and was unable to produce that simple report without having to go into each job and manually download the log file.
Read Lauren Fitzpatrick's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2017

EVault's ease-of-use works for us

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Able to back up production files while in use
  • Easy process for restoring individual files
  • Very reliable software - does not require much attention
  • Because of our contract with Sungard, we cannot contact EVault support directly when needed
  • Haven't had any success restoring spooled files
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2017

EVault - A cloud backup solution that delivers

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Speedy backups - once one time full backup has completed then only differentials are backed up
  • Excellent telephone support - resolution ratio good
  • Virtualization server backup very good
  • Issue with backing up VMware 6.5 - waiting for patches
  • Reports could be improved - usage reporting is often confusing
  • EVault server agents can sometimes be difficult to install
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2017

EVault for small/medium businesses

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Multi-platform backup.
  • Hardware agnostic.
  • Length of time for backups to complete because it never has to run a full backup after the first one.
  • Support is generally helpful.
  • Flexible replication topologies.
  • Backup management portal is difficult to manage for hardware/OS upgrades. Not all agents are supported in it either.
  • New product support - vSphere 6.5 is still not supported and doesn't work.
  • Scheduling backups are too time-consuming compared to other products.
  • Finding the log file from email alerts is almost impossible. Log file names on the Director are too generic and no identifier in the name.
  • VMware backups provide no way of centrally showing what VMs are backed up. You have to use the notes of the backup job and manually check each VM.
  • Overall product management is complex. Many different components that work together but there can be 3 or 4 places to check for problems.
  • Backup reporting is there but requires yet another component to be installed.
  • Deduplication only on a per job level.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (7)
8.3
Live recovery (8)
8.2
Recovery verification (7)
7.9
Business application protection (12)
7.8
Multiple backup destinations (13)
7.8
Incremental backup identification (17)
8.4
Backup to the cloud (18)
9.5
Deduplication and file compression (12)
7.6
Snapshots (9)
6.3
Flexible deployment (9)
7.9
Management dashboard (9)
7.5
Platform support (10)
7.5
Retention options (11)
7.7
Encryption (11)
8.5

About Carbonite Server

Carbonite Server (also replacing the former EVault products acquired from Seagate in 2016) is a full backup and discovery solution. Designed to recover anything from a single file to an entire system with the click of a button, Carbonite Server users can protect virtually any type of file on both physical and virtual servers, NAS, SAN and external hard drives. The vendor’s value proposition is that their solution assures that users without an IT department and those that are the IT department can rest easy knowing their data is safe. According to the vendor, Carbonite Server is easy to configure and schedule automatic backups (full, incremental and differential) that require zero user interaction. Users can choose local, cloud or hybrid backup targets.

Carbonite Server Features

Data Center Backup Features
Does not have featureUniversal recovery
Does not have featureLive recovery
Does not have featureRecovery verification
Has featureBusiness application protection
Has featureMultiple backup destinations
Has featureIncremental backup identification
Has featureBackup to the cloud
Does not have featureDeduplication and file compression
Has featureSnapshots
Does not have featureFlexible deployment
Does not have featureManagement dashboard
Does not have featurePlatform support
Does not have featureRetention options
Does not have featureEncryption
Additional Features
Has featureHybrid Cloud: Ability to store and back up data to the cloud and/or locally.
Has featureHot Backup: Backups occur automatically after you set policies with no disruption to normal workflow
Has featureImage Backup & Bare Metal Restore (BMR): Restore to new, existing or dissimilar hardware from bare metal with no OS or other software installation required
Has featureHyper-V Image Backup: Complete snapshot protection with full backup capability
Has featureExchange Online Backup: Mailbox-level backup of Exchange Online mail and calendars and cross-user data restore between local Exchange and Office 365
Has featureScheduling & Management: Perform full, incremental or differential backups for more efficient, more frequent backups and more relevant recovery points
Has featureSecurity & Compliance: Provides 128-bit encryption and Transport Layer Security (TLS) by default, with a 256-bit private key encryption option; supports FERPA, GLBA and HIPAA compliance.
Has featureDedicated Support: Call, email or chat with our U.S.-based business support team 7 days a week. With our free valet install, a Carbonite business team member will install and optimize Carbonite Server Backup for your business at no extra charge.

Carbonite Server Screenshots

Carbonite Server Integrations

Hyper-V, Microsoft Exchange, Microsoft SQL Server, MailStore, Microsoft Exchange Online, Microsoft Sharepoint, Oracle

Carbonite Server Competitors

Acronis Cyber Backup, IDrive, Carbonite Safe (formerly Mozy), StorageCraft

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Trial and paying customers have access to our valet install free of charge. Call and speak to a specialist who can remotely connect to your machine to ensure it's installed and configured correctly to protect your critical data.

Carbonite Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Carbonite Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, German