Cascade CMS

Cascade CMS
Formerly Cascade Server

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.4 out of 100
Cascade CMS

Overview

Recent Reviews

Cascade Server rocks!

10 out of 10
February 23, 2020
Cascade Server is the perfect CMS for our needs and is being used in several schools across the university. Cascade Server is powerful in …
Continue reading

Cascade Server is solid

9 out of 10
September 16, 2016
Our Cascade Server instance hosts 185 sites, for several academic departments and programs across our entire organization. The ease of …
Continue reading

Cascade in California

8 out of 10
February 16, 2016
Cascade Server is the campus central content management system. It is being used across the entire organization. Approximately 80% of our …
Continue reading

Cascade: Easy and Quick

10 out of 10
July 20, 2015
Cascade Server is currently being used across our whole organization to provide support to an online journal. Our online journal is the …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Popular Features

View all 16 features
  • Publishing workflow (19)
    9.0
    90%
  • Role-based user permissions (19)
    8.0
    80%
  • Admin section (19)
    8.0
    80%
  • WYSIWYG editor (19)
    6.1
    61%

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Cascade CMS, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Cascade CMS?

Cascade CMS (formerly Cascade Server) by Hannon Hill is a content management system, with built-in tools to help users eliminate stale content, increase digital outreach, and promote end-user adoption and accountability. Cascade CMS is designed for decentralized web teams in most major industries,…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

1 person want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Squarespace?

Squarespace is a CMS platform that allows users to create a DIY blog, eCommerce store, and/or portfolio (visual art or music). Some Squarespace website and shop templates are industry or use case-specific, such as menu builders for restaurant sites.

What is ExpressionEngine?

ExpressionEngine is a content management system from EllisLab in 2002, a successor to pMachine Pro, a blogging system, which is written in object-oriented PHP and uses MySQL for data storage. ExpressionEngine is their flagship Content Delivery Platform.

Return to navigation

Product Demos

Using both Velocity and XSLT in Cascade Server
02:11
Return to navigation

Features Scorecard

Security

8.0
80%

Platform & Infrastructure

7.1
71%

Web Content Creation

7.1
71%

Web Content Management

6.9
69%
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Cascade CMS?

Cascade CMS (formerly Cascade Server) by Hannon Hill is a content management system, with built-in tools to help users eliminate stale content, increase digital outreach, and promote end-user adoption and accountability. Cascade CMS is designed for decentralized web teams in most major industries, including higher education, government, healthcare, and technology.

Included is Clive, an engagement and real-time personalization tool for collecting information and using it to craft personalized web experiences. With it, users can build profiles and engage with audiences through targeted content delivery.

Cascade CMS Features

Web Content Creation Features

  • Supported: WYSIWYG editor
  • Supported: Code quality / cleanliness
  • Supported: Content versioning
  • Supported: Admin section
  • Supported: Page templates
  • Supported: Mobile optimization / responsive design
  • Supported: Publishing workflow
  • Supported: Form generator
  • Supported: Content scheduling

Web Content Management Features

  • Supported: Internal content search
  • Supported: Content taxonomy
  • Supported: SEO support
  • Supported: Browser compatibility
  • Supported: Bulk management
  • Supported: Availability / breadth of extensions
  • Supported: Import / export
  • Supported: Website analytics

Platform & Infrastructure Features

  • Supported: API
  • Supported: Internationalization / multi-language

Security Features

  • Supported: Role-based user permissions
  • Supported: User-level audit trail
  • Supported: Version history
  • Supported: Simple roll-back capabilities

CMS programming language or framework Features

  • Supported: PHP
  • Supported: Python
  • Supported: Java
  • Supported: .NET

Additional Features

  • Supported: Full support of COPE (create once, publish everywhere)

Cascade CMS Video

Using Velocity and XSLT in Cascade Server

Cascade CMS Downloadables

Cascade CMS Integrations

  • Spectate
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn

Cascade CMS Competitors

Cascade CMS Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Cascade CMS (formerly Cascade Server) by Hannon Hill is a content management system, with built-in tools to help users eliminate stale content, increase digital outreach, and promote end-user adoption and accountability. Cascade CMS is designed for decentralized web teams in most major industries, including higher education, government, healthcare, and technology. Included is Clive, an engagement and real-time personalization tool for collecting information and using it to craft personalized web experiences. With it, users can build profiles and engage with audiences through targeted content delivery.

OU Campus and Drupal are common alternatives for Cascade CMS.

Reviewers rate Page templates and Publishing workflow and Bulk management highest, with a score of 9.

The most common users of Cascade CMS are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Higher Education industry.
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 36)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Craig Campbell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our latest round of CMS evaluations we looked at OmniUpdate, Drupal, and Wordpress as possible CMS choices. It quickly became apparent that all of the upper tier products seemed capable of managing strong websites, but upon a deeper investigation of our needs Cascade rose to the top. The two largest considerations is that we had already been using it for 8 years, so most users were familiar with how to use it, and it didn't require inhouse developers. Secondly, since it wasn't open source it had an advantage with being secure out of the gate.
John Dezember | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cascade CMS focuses on managing content and gives you the tools to display this content any way that is needed. While it may lack some features/extensions found in other popular platforms, the user management, workflow and template engine are the best you can get.
Andrew Bauserman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
There are several fine CMS products on the market, and each serves its purpose. For our needs, Cascade CMS is the best alternative.

While Cascade CMS is neither open source nor free, Hannon Hill is open to customer feedback and feature suggestions, provides serious documentation and support, and is very open-handed with their roadmap, devoting a full keynote session to it during the annual user's conference.
(Beware the notion that any CMS is "free" – it's likely as "free" as a puppy or kitten. The purchase price will likely be trivial in comparison to implementation and maintenance costs.)

Cascade CMS utilizes a fully-baked publishing model that isolates the CMS system where editing is performed from front-end web servers which may experience intermittent traffic peaks. This also allows us to upgrade the CMS without taking our front-facing servers offline.

Managing 1,000 content editors in 600+ groups with 200,000 assets published across multiple domains is a cake-walk for Cascade CMS. It's been a while since I evaluated other products on this criteria – but 10 years ago when we chose Cascade CMS, the competition didn't seem to have this level of robustness.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We selected Cascade server seven years ago, and the CMS environment at the time was clearly different than it is today. We decided to go with a vendor solution rather than a free solution because the long term cost in hosting a free solution is not, in fact, free; we've found Cascade to have been an excellent choice for us.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Because the (bad) Cascade decision was made quickly by a small team, we have a larger team and a longer timeline, with a growing list of functionality that we expect a replacement system to have. We've been looking into a number of other products to replace Cascade. Highest on the list (so far) are Drupal and Joomla. We're also currently using WordPress for a few secondary sites, because it offers functionality that Cascade doesn't have.
Mallory Rice | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • adobe d
I didn't have any input when it came to buying/using Cascade server. In fact, before using Cascade I wasn't aware that such a website management system existed! I imagined it was going to be much more complicated--editing individual code and CSS page by page, with very involved processes. Let's say I was pleasantly surprised when I was presented with something so easy to use.
February 16, 2016

Cascade in California

Jeff Dillon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hannon Hill was chosen because of the architecture with the Cascade engine being separated from the published pages providing stability and security. The company is also focused on primarily higher education, the user group and feature set. The releases are always well-documented and stable. It is very cross-browser and mobile friendly.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
The version of Sitecore that I use right now doesn't have a UI showing the assembled web page. That suits my current company's needs, but for most people, they want to see their changes within the tool as they make them, visible within their web page. Cascade Server does that very well. We also chose Cascade Server for its search engine optimization capabilities, since that was a big part of our business. Being proprietary, Cascade Server beats out WordPess in terms of security. We had several WordPress blogs hacked, but never had Cascade Server hacked. We didn't know it at the time of purchase, but Cascade Server's support was second-to-none. I don't think we would have been nearly as successful with Cascade Server as we were without their support. The Hannon Hill people were a true selling point.
David Van Wie | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We felt the overall level of customization that Cascade Server allowed us was the deciding factor in our selection. Its users and groups management was also very robust and provided us a better system, and overall better access, for content managers in our organization.
Erik Espana | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my limited experience with WordPress, I found it difficult to retrofit to use as a content managements system for a website. It's a great blogging solution and could easily be used to manage an organization's press releases.
April 08, 2015

Power has a price

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WordPress was never evaluated when we decided on Cascade around 2008. We looked for an enterprise level system that would have vendor support and had more developer resources at the time. Our resources have diminished so having plugin solutions like WordPress would solve many user requests. WordPress has a much broader community of users for reference material when trying to solve problems.
March 19, 2015

Cascade Server Rocks!

William White | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The most striking advantage of Cascade Server is the push vs pull technology. Being able to reduce the constant hits to the server and database for every page delivery makes better use of physical resources and allows us to server our pages quicker.
Josh LaMar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The learning curve is steep for Cascade Server so if your goal is to get a new site up quickly then you may look elsewhere. However, if you have the time Cascade Server is worth the investment since it's secure and easily allows users and groups to manage their site's content. The support and community for Cascade Server is good because it's a fairly small product so people are always happy to help. As a developer, if you learn Cascade Server, you will become a very attractive candidate for jobs using Cascade Server.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • WordPress,Drupal
Cascade Server provides more formatting features. It pretty much provides all the features that a standard web service portal has and the website is written in complex programming languages such as c# or VB .Net, JAVA, J2EE, JSP etc. At the same time, Cascade Server provides for the minimum work of just editing and uploading files, for the person who maintains the website.
September 06, 2014

Good But Not Great

Alexander Christian | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cascade Server was the software I was required to learn. I have no further experience or suggestions for this software, other than its usage in basic website development functions. AutoCAT software allows for immediate access to basic functions of design, as well as the introductory tour, which provided the necessary start.
Return to navigation