Ceridian Dayforce HCM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
899 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 204)

Garrett Cox, SHRM-CP | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2020

Ceridian YAY-force!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ceridian Dayforce for many functions of our company. We use the following modules/solutions
Workforce Management, Recruiting, Learning Management System, Payroll, Time and Attendance, Human Resources and Benefits. These modules all work cohesivley together which makes the the job of administering these functions much easier and more efficient. Also, the Ceridian support team is great and provides great service when we encounter an issue.
  • Staying on top of HRIS tech trends
  • Great support team
  • The easy flow of data between modules
  • Provide more training opportunities for end-users
  • Make configuring workflows/forms easier for new admins
  • Transitioning from Silverlight to HTML has been hard to adjust - more support needed
Ceridian Dayforce is well suited for any company, regadless of size or industry. Ceridian Dayforce provides the Admins with flexibility to configure the system to meet the company's business needs. I can't think of a situation where Dayforce wouldn't be an solution for a company looking for a HRIS.
You are able to configure Ceridian Dayforce to include any compliance or policy changes. There are workflows you can edit and also pay policies you can adjust. Dayforce allows us to continue staying compliant with different changes and makes it easy to react. We are able to set up different policies and double check our work in a test environment to make sure everything works.
Read Garrett Cox, SHRM-CP's full review
Rachael MacDougald | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 01, 2020

Ceridian Dayforce Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dayforce as our HR and Payroll system of record.
  • Houses all information in one place
  • Payroll process is fairly simple
  • It's not designed for a company as complex as ours and we have had to "make it work" in some cases
  • Does not handle employees working at multiple legal entities well
  • Many branches of the product that do not work well.
No, the implementation team made errors relating to ESA requirements that cost us money. Some items are automated but basic items like minimum wage increases are done via upload.
Read Rachael MacDougald's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2019

Benefits of Dayforce

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the entire organization. It has helped to automate and digitize a number of processes as well as streamline tasks and provide analytics.
  • Onboarding is wonderful! It took everything off paper for new hires and made the process fool proof
  • Performance has been a huge help. It keeps our employees engaged and builds a better employee/manager relationship
  • Scaling to size. I feel like our org is so slow because of the size of our organization built out. Speed would be a huge help.
  • It's glitchy all the time. Consistently kicked out of the system and having to reload.
  • The ATS has poor reporting and functionality.
Works well for employees from hire to completed pay cycle. Recruiting has many limitations and the Compensation module needs refining.
Automated taxes, overtime, and benefits deductions.
Read this authenticated review
Don Stewart | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Use the Dayforce, Luke

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is currently using Dayforce for our payroll, HR, workforce management, labor tracking, recruiting, benefits administration, and performance management. It has been a great experience. We are in the process of expanding it to eight other business units within the umbrella of our parent company. At Morgan, we plan to begin using Dayforce for compensation, onboarding, learning, and succession planning in the coming weeks and months.
  • Ease of use
  • Ability to automate processes and reduce paper use
  • Improved employee experience
  • Customer support when issues arise
  • Reports are tricky for new users
  • Some features still rely on Silverlight for functionality
  • Mobile functionality still being developed and improved
Ceridian Dayforce is perfect for a growing or maturing company that is looking to automate processes rather than relying on manual work, Excel sheets, and paper forms. It can help take your employee experience to the next level. If you are already heavily invested in a robust HRIS and Payroll system, switching to Dayforce couldn’t hurt, but the impact wouldn’t be as dramatic in many cases.
Dayforce has saved us money through compliance by automating compliance with local, state, and federal tax regulations; with overtime, scheduling, and PTO policies; with healthcare eligibility and healthcare laws. Dayforce does a lot of this work for you. In other cases, such as state by state PTO regulations, it is easily customizable. Ceridian constantly and consistently updates the platform as laws and regulations change. The company also makes every effort to keep its customers informed of compliance changes.
Read Don Stewart's full review
Shreshthi Mehta, PMP®, PHR® | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

An engineer with a passion for HR technology

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is primarily used for payroll, benefits administration and workforce management. It has been useful in getting information from employees working at different sites in less time. We have been able to reduce the use of paper by using Dayforce. It has also helped us conduct audits and synthesize our processes across departments. Employees are happy as they have better connections with HR.
  • Report writing and ability to generate reports.
  • Ability to use additional employee properties to create additional fields.
  • Timekeeping
  • Payroll earning and deduction reports are very useful
  • During position change, the schedules have to be adjusted manually.
  • During system upgrades, the workflows break and need to be tested again.
  • Silverlight issues while using Dayforce with Macbook and Apple products.
Dayforce's report writing tool is very helpful in obtaining organization data. The ability to link different fields and create custom topics is very helpful while analyzing interdepartmental properties. We are able to generate reports on employee roles, forms, location, position, ethnicity etc. This has helped us create HR metrics for headcount, termination, retention to create HR strategy.
Ceridian has helped manage COBRA, PPACA, tax reporting, EEO compliance, I-9 processes. We are able to run reports and use the group, sort buttons to extract data as required. Earlier it was a nightmare to review thousands of paper documents and turn that information into numbers that make sense. With Dayforce inconsistencies can be corrected with the click of a button.
Read Shreshthi Mehta, PMP®, PHR®'s full review
April Atkins, CPP | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Dayforce Payroll is a '10'

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is used throughout our entire organization, including our associates in the United Kingdom.
  • Dayforce offers HR, Recruiting, Benefits, Payroll, and Workforce Management in a single application. Our associates have mobile technology which enables them to see their schedules, review their timecards or check benefit information 24 hours a day.
  • Our associates have access to real time information 24 hours a day. They are able to see how much PTO time is available and request time away from work through mobile technology.
  • The new 'Timecards' needs improvement. It is difficult to access the timecard totals (previously 'View Pay' in My Timecards) without having to drag the side bar down. It is not efficient.
  • The HTML screens are slow and inefficient. We are still using Silverlight when possible.
Dayforce is very intuitive and the training through MyPath made our transition very easy for our associates. The payroll module (sitll using MyPay due to system response in Payroll) is definitely a '10' in my book! I think WFM still needs improvements. Our supervisors and managers have found it not as easy to use or read as Kronos.
As an employer in 35+ states, we have benefited from the embedded compliance in the scheduling module.
Read April Atkins, CPP's full review
Jessica Summy | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 27, 2019

Happy with the experience and optimistic about future possibilities!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce is being developed and used within our business and sister companies to streamline, clarify, and improve the employee experience by consolidating all HR-related content into one platform, including onboarding, time and attendance, organization management, time and attendance, performance management, compensation, reporting payroll, etc. While it is currently used by our HR team, the future goal is to increase self-service across the company and encourage use across the entire organization.
  • Reporting - the reporting module is very user-friendly and allows users to create custom reports to meet specific needs.
  • Navigation - the database is organized in a way that is easy to navigate and user-friendly! I love how the site is clean and aesthetically pleasing.
  • One-stop shop - it's a great to use HRIS that encompasses so much HR-related content. New additions with the system have tremendous power to positively enhance the employee experience!
  • People functionality - certain data fields are delimited when another is changed (manager field delimits when a work assignment is modified). The user has to manually adjust that if a workflow is not being used.
  • Reporting functionality - the system doesn't have the capacity to pull data for a group of people that are unrelated according to filters - you can't run a report for a group of people unless they have a shared characteristic that is stored within Dayforce.
I think Dayforce is a great tool for work environments and cultures that seek to improve the HR and employee experience. After working with several Human Resource Information Systems, Dayforce is the most user-friendly platform I have worked with and continuously increases its functionality and capacity to enhance the work experience. There is a lot of potential to be unlocked with the various modules that are offered.
As we continue to automate processes, automation ensures the proper and necessary parties receive and sign off on proposed changes within the organization while providing a manageable way to track and review approvals. Dayforce is helping our organization ensure that our data is relevant, valid, correct, and reportable. Accountability is built into the system that ensures compliance within our organization.
Read Jessica Summy's full review
Roberta Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 07, 2019

Ceridian Dayforce HCM is a great investment for large organizations

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All employees in our organization use Ceridian Dayforce HCM. Employees use Ceridian Dayforce HCM as a time clock, to access timesheets, and to track payroll. Employees can access the software via their desktops or tablet to complete whatever task they need to. Most hourly employees have access to clock in via this software can also view their payroll stubs. Our HRM Department also uses it to upload forms for us to access when we need to make important changes to our personal data. The software also provides a wizard for healthcare enrollment which every employee can utilize when they have a life changing event or during open enrollment. The system also allows employees to view their current healthcare benefits and personal information such as the personal address on file for each employee. We were previously unable to track actual hours worked because we did not have a system to track an employee's working hours. We were also able to combine 3 different systems into one system by implementing this software.
  • Using Ceridian Dayforce HCM for time clock purposes works very well for our organization. For users who do not have access to a desktop or laptop computer, we've been able to give the access by placing iPads strategically around our organization where employees can easily access them. The software allows users to log in using a username and password or by using their badge number and a personal ID number. This allows the user to pick whatever method is most convenient for them. Hourly employees can view their timesheets and request that their manager/supervisor make edits if a correction is needed. Managers and Supervisors can edit and approve timesheets for the employees they manage before submitting them to our Payroll Department for processing.
  • The healthcare enrollment wizard that we used in Ceridian Dayforce HCM was also very straightforward and easy to use. Every employee received a notification when they logged into the system telling them that they were eligible for annual enrollment and were provided with a link to click that took them straight to the enrollment wizard. All of the healthcare plans, as well as detailed information about each plan, was available within the system wizard so we didn't have to log out or switch programs in order to get information that we needed. If a mistake was made or if a selection needed clarification, our HR Department could send us a notification within Dayforce telling us to review our selections. We also received confirmations immediately after enrollment instead of having to wait days for HR to tell us that they received our benefits enrollment packages
  • Being able to view our timesheets in real-time is a benefit that I truly appreciate. There were times in the past where I couldn't remember if I clocked out for the day or lunch and I could immediately log into Dayforce, view my timesheet, and enter a note under the day the mistake was made. My boss would get an automatic notification that I've submitted an error for my timesheet and he can approve or deny the request and make the corrections as necessary. It also helps me track my hours worked so I won't go over if there is a ban on overtime or I can work more hours if it looks like I won't get 40 hours for the week.
  • I honestly don't see any areas where Ceridian Dayforce HCM needs any improvement. The system works, it's easy to use, and doesn't provide any issues with our network or other programs. It took about 2 months to get all of our data imported before we could go love. The time period was only long because our HRM Department chose to manually input the data into the system instead of importing it. If we imported the data it would of been only a few weeks for implementation before we could go live.
  • I will warn users in the Payroll Department that we had issues with getting the correct figures to display on our W-2's. We had to issue corrected w-2 forms twice, but this was not due to the system making a mistake. The error was caused by users of the software in our Payroll Department. The software did exactly what it was supposed to do, but the user in charge of creating the W-2's was not following directions and kept inputting the wrong information.
  • Ceridian Dayforce HCM requires the use of Silverlight when using Internet Explorer. Whenever we choose to upgrade Dayforce and push out the updated version to our users, we have to update IE and Silverlight as well. Sometimes you will get a false message stating that Silverlight needs an update when it's really IE and vice versa. We solved the problem by updating both IE and Silverlight for all users. We hope that we won't have to do this for every upgrade we decide to push out to our users.
Ceridian Dayforce HCM is well suited for timekeeping and payroll management. It automatically tracks each punch-in and you can designate whether you're clocking out for a meal, to switch jobs, or to end your day. Sometimes our maintenance workers have to fill-in and do the job of another individual such as a plumber assisting an electrician in digging a hole that the electrician needs to complete an assignment. Through Dayforce the plumber's supervisor can track how many hours the plumber spent doing his own job or assisting others with work that needed completion. All hours are automatically tracked and need a supervisor's approval before it gets submitted to payroll so there are less mistakes made in regards to hours worked and how much compensation an employee should get.
We no longer have to manually enter data into our payroll system. Dayforce has automated this process and also takes care of the federal and state withholdings for us. This ensures that calculations are accurate and the process itself takes less time then when it was manually completed. The Payroll Department can also generate reports or perform configurable audits to ensure the integrity of the data. Since we were able to automate our healthcare eligibility, we no longer have mistakes of people changing benefits or dropping coverage during a closed enrollment period. As for overtime, before an employee can work overtime, they have to submit a request to their boss for approval before the hours are worked.
Read Roberta Jones's full review
Jerry Atkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 04, 2019

Dayforce is the best solution for our company!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Orvis utilizes Dayforce for HR, Benefits, Payroll, Time & Attendance, Scheduling and Recruiting. We employee 1750 employees in the United States and 215 employees in the United Kingdom. Dayforce is a cloud-based single application which eliminated the need for the multiple interfaces we used with our old systems. It has greatly approved our employee and manager self-service experience with the use of mobile technology and data readily available through its robust reporting capabilities.
  • Dayforce is easy to learn and easy to operate. It gives employees control of their data with anytime access, and helps us make sure our employee information is accurate and up to date.
  • With data stored in a single, central location, we get data-driven insights across all HR and Payroll functions so we can make better decisions for the entire employee lifecycle.
  • Payroll is calculated continuously throughout the pay period, giving my payroll team the time they need to produce accurate and timely pay.
  • One specific area of improvement would be with WFM (Time and Attendance) where we could get a snapshot of weekly/biweekly timecard totals without having to scroll through the detailed "Pay" totals.
  • Because our company pays different hourly amounts to employees for holiday pay based on their FT/PT status, we would like to see the hours appear in the time card totals without having to go to the "Pay" tab to confirm.
  • System Security settings should include the ability to grant access to hourly and/or salaried employees. This would eliminate the need for unneeded configuration to prohibit some manager level employees from seeing salaried associates.
Dayforce is a single application with robust capabilities that empowers our workforce with access to their personal information including schedules, timesheets, pay statements, benefit elections, etc with most available through mobile technology.
Dayforce has enabled compliance for state tax withholding, reciprocity rules, state wage and hour rules, overtime policies, company PTO tracking, benefit enrollments, etc.
Read Jerry Atkins's full review
Priscilla Midkiff | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2019

From Life Support to Wellness: A transformation of our HCM heatlh

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is being used primarily as an HR and Payroll system across our organization. All employees use Dayforce to some extent. All new hires use Dayforce to enter information for Payroll purposes. The majority of employees also use it for Benefits selection, Timekeeping, and reporting life events. Managers use Dayforce to track time, leave, and performance. Department Administrators use Dayforce for reporting, budgeting, hiring/terminations, pay changes, and other employee related tasks. Administration uses Dayforce for some HR functions, all timekeeping, payroll, and benefits.

Dayforce addresses the timekeeping problems we had as well as helps us to comply with appropriate Payroll directives and accurately pay our people. We are expanding into the HR realm with Benefits, Recruiting, and Performance Management. It is helping us address processes that have been very different across our departments in regards to the employee life span - from hiring to terminations. It is helping us streamline and pull our processes together in a comprehensive way.
  • One single platform was a game changer for us. The continuous calculation of pay changed the way our payroll and benefits office does business. The time it has saved in calculating and auditing changes is great.
  • Dayforce looks at the entire employee experience from both an employee and employer's perspective and meets both expectations. Employees are getting what they need and stayed engaged through Dayforce. Managers, administrators, and executives can get the level of detail they want/need to help them make informed decisions
  • Scalability. As our organization has grown from 800 employees when we first implemented Dayforce to over 1350 employees now, Dayforce has grown with us. And not only in the number of employees, but growth of our organizational structure. We've added locations, cost centers, and processes. Dayforce has kept up and allowed to to make these changes with relative ease.
  • The HTML roll out to replace Silverlight has been somewhat difficult for us. In a few areas, namely MyPay/Payroll and MyHR/People, we have had a more difficult time adapting and finding the same functionality we had before. More of a learning curve, but still "uncomfortable" nonetheless.
Dayforce is well suited to an employee-centric organization. One where the workforce is mobile, spread out, or at least on the go. Coming from a service organization perspective, 90% of your expenses are labor costs. Dayforce is a great service in these scenarios. On the other hand, if an company is small with a minimum number of employees, Ceridian may not be the best option.
Dayforce has helped us comply with locality taxation in a very compliant way. We know that calculations are going to be accurate and timely. It also allows us to configure our organization's policies and processes into HR functions and manage them with equity across all departments.
Read Priscilla Midkiff's full review
Josh kimball | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Time to start using Ceridian Dayforce

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Here at Orvis all of our departments use Ceridian Dayforce to clock in and out of shifts as well as in and out of breaks and lunch. Most of the employees use it for keeping up with their schedules as well as requesting time off. Ceridian Dayforce also allows us to transfer between departments so management can see when each employee was in which department.
  • Ceridian Dayforce does well at allowing us to clock in.
  • Ceridian Dayforce Is great for keeping up with your schedule and requesting time off.
  • Ceridian Dayforce is also great for tracking what employees are working in which department.
  • once you have finished typing in your employee number it automatically enters without confirmation so it's easy to clock someone else in or out if you press a wrong number.
  • On occasion, punches don't seem to register but this is rare but ongoing.
  • Ceridian Dayforce will freeze up occasionally but closing it and reopening it works to fix that.
Ceridian Dayforce is only used for scheduling, clocking in and out, tracking peoples on the clock times and locations. It also keeps track of your previous time worked so you can look back to see when you worked previously. It really has no function beyond the schedule and the time clock functions.
As an employee, I am not in charge of compliance so I do not know what features Ceridian Dayforce has to enable compliance. It tracks all employees time so management can at a glance see that employees are working hours within compliance but I do not know more than that.
Read Josh kimball's full review
Michael Yerian | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 02, 2019

Longtime User

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for time and attendance and payroll across our entire company in the US and Canada. Our retail locations use advanced scheduling.
  • Keeping up with compliance issues (ie. scheduling ordinances).
  • The up-time is really good. We haven't had an outage in quite a while.
  • I see new enhancements every year.
  • We would have like to have seen more parity in the tools when they transitioned from Silverlight to HTML.
  • Helping their clients being prepared for upgrades.
  • Sometimes I don't think they understand how change management works for large organizations.
Overall I would recommend it for retail. Our stores like it much better than our previous scheduling system. They also help us stay up on the latest compliance changes.
As a retailer, we do not like that they expect us to take code updates in December. I understand that we need to take tax updates to support payroll year-end, but we should not be expected to take any bug fixes that we do not need.
Dayforce has done a good job of giving us solutions to keep up with compliance legislation. The big thing now is the new scheduling ordinances. They had a solution right away to when the first ordinance came out in San Francisco.
Read Michael Yerian's full review
Katarina Patel | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Ceridian Dayforce: May the Force be with You

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is currently being used in our 40 corporate owned retail stores across 4 brands. We currently use both the scheduling, analytics and time and attendance modules. We implemented Dayforce to optimize scheduling and payroll costs for our 40 stores. Our goal is to reduce payroll by 5-7% across the department by the end of 2020.
  • User friendly People profile for each employee
  • Scheduling with traffic curve
  • Easy timesheet approval
  • Budget thresholds for easy tracking
  • Task management updates
  • Performance evaluation/Feedback forms as a function within TeamRelate
The actual platform of Dayforce is great however the support and Professional Services team is the real painpoint. The case management process is very time consuming and leads to a great deal of back and forth with client which does not lead to a strong sense of trust as they do not seem to know their product well.
As each of our provincial regulations is incorporated into Dayforce, we can easily meet provincial legislation when creating schedules with regards to meals and breaks. Warnings are automatically created when a schedule is not within policy so corrections can be made in real-time. It allows us to monitor overtime and thus track our payroll budgets more closely.
Read Katarina Patel's full review
Chad Harcus | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Balanced report

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used in North American for Payroll and in Canada for Timekeeping.
  • Pays employees accurately, which is key given we operate in a union environment.
  • Pays employees timely since our leadership team reviews this as an SLA.
  • Customer support is responsive, especially when we are a legacy customer.
  • Ceridian team did an excellent job with us creating an ROI analysis to add greater functionality to the tool.
  • Interface seems stiff and not too dynamic and is quite non-intuitive to allow users to navigate.
  • Recruitment modules are weak and I decided to go elsewhere for this capability.
  • Ceridian tends to throw out new approaches like Paying employees daily, but I'm not sure how practical this is within mid-market organizations.
It is well suited for mid-sized companies as compared to systems like SuccessFactors. They don't have too many bells and whistles that can over-complicate organizations with limited resources. Also, because their system isn't integrated into a finance system, it is likewise easier to manage. I personally think that if they are going to market themselves as a Talent suite, that they invest in talent modules like succession planning and recruiting to enable organizations to be more successful.
Enables compliance with Tax withholdings, garnishments, and SOC-1 reports.
Read Chad Harcus's full review
Marianne Gibbs | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Pretty good but could be better.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dayforce across our company. We liked that it was an integrated system. One employee, one record, one system. We are close to implementing Advanced Scheduling.
  • Timesheets to Payroll. Marvelous!
  • Payroll processing
  • HR record automatically feeds to Timesheets
  • Implementation is rough. Not enough real guidance is given. Set-up and testing are rushed. It seems as though it is just enough to get you up and running and then iron out all the issues later, at the expense of the customer.
  • It is a global world and the need for outsourcing is understood. It is, however, really difficult when trying to fix issues or set-up new things when support does not speak English well. Sometimes we just don't know if we are being understood and sometimes we can't understand what is being said.
  • Support needs to slow down. Sometimes they are so anxious to close a ticket they don't seem to be listening. The main goal can appear to be closing the ticket not solving the problem.
It is great working with an integrated system like Dayforce that seamlessly processes pay changes and retro.
Good for the most part. They are a little last minute on Washington Paid Sick Leave. We've had some issues with the new Washington State garnishment law.
Read Marianne Gibbs's full review
Thomas Simpson | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Dayforce -- Excellent system with potential.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it across the entire organization as our HR system of record. My involvement primarily is with reporting, analytics and with the Compensation Module. We are also an early-user of the Learning Module and are transitioning our performance review process into Dayforce, as well. My organization had previously been using Ceridian for payroll and has had the full HCM active for just over one year now. It is showing significant efficiencies in HR in terms of manager self-service, record maintenance and overall tracking/interaction of the various HR processes.
  • Integration with payroll & benefits -- everything is tied together and can be reviewed comprehensively more easily.
  • Reporting flexibility -- allowing the user to customize reports even when it's only a one-time customization (as opposed to a permanent change to a report), the user can run and see the results of their query.
  • Exports to Excel -- an extremely valuable feature available from many key areas of the system; allows self-service users to view & work with their data in a spreadsheet environment that may be more familiar to them and also allow a look at "what if" outside of making changes in Dayforce.
  • Test environment is a must! A great tool to practice or test what-if scenarios.
  • Search boxes, position & employee names --- very specific and particular; sometimes a partial name does not lead to a successful search, even though the item is in the database.
  • Concatenated fields in the Compensation Module -- seems like the module, although very useful and valuable, was put together by developers only with no input from a Compensation expert; modules and updates should include subject matter experts to improve the user-interface for specific tasks or areas.
  • Org charts -- very useful tools, but cannot easily export them to a useful format.
Well suited to a smaller organization (<5,000?), depending on how extensively you want to make use of the system. Seems like it would be better suited to an organization with fewer sites/locations, as there is much set-up and behind the scenes maintenance to take full advantage of all the system's potential. It is very capable, it just requires more on the front-end/behind the scenes, so you need a very knowledgeable and engaged HRIT team. The potential may not be fully tapped by many clients, and it has even more future potential being expanded daily by the Ceridian development team!
New additions that allow a quick compilation of EEOC reporting is tremendous, and just in time for the Component 2 requirement in 2019! Tracking of diversity demographics will significantly simplify compliance with reporting requirements, as well as provide more timely and accurate data-points to support internal decisions.
Read Thomas Simpson's full review
Nancy Svoboda, SPHR, SHRM-SCP | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

Ceridian Dayforce - Highly Recommend

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is being used across the organization for HR, payroll, benefits, time recording, recruiting, onboarding, and document management.
  • Time recording - Users are allowed to clock in/out through a mobile app which simplifies the time recording process for our mobile staff.
  • Workforce management - Through our implementation we established workflows that helped us streamline our internal processes.
  • On boarding - This feature allows our new employees to become acclimated to our organization prior to their first day on the job.
  • Scheduling mass number of employees - We schedule around 400 employees on a seasonal basis.
  • Because of the level of detail of this scheduling, it's a somewhat "clunky" process, but Ceridian is taking time to understand our needs and working with us to make the system better.
  • Recruiting - The recruiting module has been HUGE for us. Not only does it simplify the communication process for the applicant/recruiter, we are also able to send out offer letters and complete the background/I-9 process through their partnership with HireRight.
Fully integrated HR, payroll, time recording solution. Internal Ceridian team is committed to a strong partnership and problem solving.
Automates ACA measurement periods, tracking, etc. Also makes reporting of EEO salary information very easy.
Read Nancy Svoboda, SPHR, SHRM-SCP's full review
Susan Marinov | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

A New Time & Attendance User

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Time and Attendance across the US and Canada. Approximately 6,800 users. We went live on 9/16/19.
  • Mobile app for Time works really well.
  • Vacation bank forecasting is a nice feature.
  • On the timesheet - confusing to authorize the timesheet and then have to remember to save. Seems like 2 steps that are not clear to users. Leave it at one step.
  • You should show the time away requested through a timesheet on the calendar view.
  • As mentioned above, the different options for entering time do not work well together. It seems like they're separate modules which don't update each other.
  • Timesheet view is a bit cumbersome.
Well suited for a blue collar work force, a little less so for a white collar / professional environment where our non-exempts need to enter time but don't necessarily work shifts and don't use a punch clock.
Too early too tell, but as I mentioned earlier, a real problem that we could face is the inability of the time system to issue alerts when an associate enters a certain amount of time in a day/week that seems out of the norm. e.g. 24 vacation hours in one day, 12 plus hours worked (by making an AM / PM error - should be 8 hours worked). Another problem we are having is that associates are leaving errors on their timesheets which are not caught by managers and not allowing us to export them to payroll without fixing them. Can you create a way of freezing the associate from moving forward when there is an error, with a message to that associate and manager?
Read Susan Marinov's full review
Jenifer Brunetti | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

All things Payroll

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ceridian Dayforce is currently being used by our entire organization. Since implementation, we have seen a huge decrease in the amount of manual work and an increase in accuracy. Our employees love being able to update or submit forms and have their payment information at their fingertips with the mobile app.
  • Education.
  • Intuitive modules.
  • Regular Updates & improvements.
  • Reduce the time it takes for Support to complete a case.
Dayforce has allowed us to be more compliant and has taken away many manual processes we had in our previous system.
Dayforce allows us the capability to track hours worked and pay, as well as the ability to produce various reports that are requested throughout the year for managers and audits.
Read Jenifer Brunetti's full review
Emily Ozmon | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

Ceridian Dayforce Rocks!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ceridian as our only HR/Payroll Software. All employees and supervisors use Dayforce for Scheduling, Time and Attendance and Recruiting and Onboarding. We love the single software platform and are looking forward to expanding our features.
  • Excellent Support Team
  • User-Friendly Platforms
  • Fabulous Implementation Teams
  • Some features still rely on Silverlight
  • Reporting could be expanded
  • Need all features/fields to be able to be customized for company needs
Ceridian is fabulous at the Payroll/WFM and HR level. Recruiting and Onboarding being a newer feature of theirs is still working out the kinks. But their support is great and I never have issues getting any help needed. The ease of use in payroll took processing for 2800 employees from a whole week to just 2.5 days.
All enrollments are electronic from Benefit to tax filings. It allows up to stay in compliance without keeping track of paper. The electronic scheduling allows for better tracking of schedules to budgets and where the Overtime is happening in live time. The auditing feature in Timesheets allows us to follow where changes are being made and managers can see payroll information in up to the minute calculations.
Read Emily Ozmon's full review
Juan Arreola | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

Dayforce Review 2019

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is in use by our North American Human Resources department for employee tracking in the United States and Canada. In addition, for Canada, we have added WFM to track employee time. Currently, we do not keep maintain a centralized HRIS system with our global regions including EMEA, APAC, LATAM, and ANZ. We have signed a contract to expand the Dayforce footprint which I am excited to start work towards.
  • Having an SQL background, the incorporation of SQL into Dayforce has provided an easy transition into HR.
  • The team is able to help with issues quickly and provide good insights into why an issue may have been present. I appreciate how support will call and start a screen share session quickly to solve challenges.
  • Attending DF128 Dashboarding with Dayforce Analytics, I was taken aback with the choice to use PowerBI as the analytics tool. While I understand it is a Microsoft product and may interact well with SQL, I am worried about the mixture of coding languages within the same overall product. DAX is not hard to code but it is not consistent with the SQL used everywhere else. Another key is for your clients that already have PowerBI licenses and can create Odata links, API's or excel reporting, they can choose to circumvent Dayforce and load into PowerBI themselves. This would open the possibility to integrate data from multiple internal sources without having to share that with Dayforce. With that said I do think it is a leap forward for Dayforce and look forward to having access to the module.
  • Other issues ACCO Brands may be having are most likely self-inflicted as we have been on Dayforce since early stages and many changes have occurred since original implementation.
I do not have a background in HR or with other HR systems so would not be able to contrast against other tools.
Read Juan Arreola's full review
Yvette Olson | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dayforce HCM for the entire company. The difficulties are thus, if you do not fit as a company how Dayforce wants you to use the software, you will find it to be very inflexible when trying to make Dayforce fit how your business is run. You almost have to change your business structure to fit Dayforce.
  • It is robust, it can be a one stop shop for Human Resources and other company departments.
  • There are a lot of different modules available.
  • The Web Services capabilities are expanding.
  • Support, they value their own productivity over the satisfaction of the client. For example, they will resolve tickets before you have confirmed you are satisfied with what they have provided you.
  • Support, they over ask for calls when it is more efficient to answer back and forth for simple questions. Planning/scheduling calls can be difficult and can delay the solutions we need.
  • More flexibility to make changes in the system in regards to structure and configuration.
For unique companies that operate differently than the normal, Dayforce HCM is not a good fit.
We have used it to send out HR Polices to our employees.
Read Yvette Olson's full review
Eric Eszlinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Ceridian Dayforce from an IT Analyst's POV

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ceridian Dayforce in our US locations. We use it for managing payroll, time and attendance, 401k. It solves a lot of issues we were having with our old provider involving shift premiums and labor allocation percentages.
  • Easy payroll entry to GL entry
  • Quick support resolution - The pod system makes it so much easier to have a back-and-forth conversation and going back to the same people you've worked with before is very comforting.
  • We use a BI reporting software and it isn't easy/possible to get data out of Ceridian for use by the BI service.
Based on cost, it is well suited for medium to medium/large companies. Smaller companies would struggle to get a good ROI from Ceridian. A fully salaried workforce might also not require Ceridian's shift and time systems and would work with something simpler.
Overtime is a big thing at my company and with Dayforce we can track up-to-the-minute overtime and make adjustments to staffing in real-time.
Read Eric Eszlinger's full review
Danelle Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 27, 2019

Metals Manufacturing Employee Review of Ceridian Dayforce

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dayforce is being used across our entire company for payroll, succession planning, health benefits. [It's also being used for] Workflows as well as recruiting and soon we will use it for onboarding new employees.
  • Dayforce has helped to bring about a lot of positive change within our organization, by allowing things to be streamlined in one place.
  • The ability to search for troubleshooting assistance needs to be a little better.
  • The response time to resolving issues needs to be shortened.
The capabilities within the recruiting and onboarding modules, with things like background check capability being done within Dayforce with our HireRight vendor make things easy for our HR specialist.
Dayforce allows for a better way to keep our company compliant with all requirements as our company has entities in different areas of the USA and Canada.
Read Danelle Davis's full review
Marla Mayo | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 27, 2019

May the Dayforce be with you

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were able to reduce the size of the payroll team by 40% due to the amazing automation and paperless workflows. We purchased the entire suite with the exception of one that I am not involved with. It is great to have all the data on one platform reducing the amount of integrations needed with outside vendors.

Off cycle payments has always been such a pain point at Visionworks. Now that we can process separate runs without additional costs, we are able to direct deposit to associate accounts instead of processing live checks or pay card loads.

My team is able to have more of a work/life balance and don't work anywhere near the overtime on the previous product. I would highly recommend Dayforce to anyone looking for a solid solution to all of their business needs.
  • Retro Process
  • Off Cycle Runs
  • Automation
  • Paperless
  • There is no audit trail on who originally built Schedules. I would like to see who initially created it in addition to who updated it.
  • Reporting - being able to run across the entire organization without choosing a pay group.
  • Reporting - being able to make selections in the order they appear on the page without back tracking and changing the parameters. Dayforce defaults back on the time period instead of maintaining that information.
The paperless workflows and configuration allowed us to automate a lot of manual processes we had previously.
Pay policies allowed us to configure the union and state rules.
Read Marla Mayo's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (374)
8.1
Employment history (405)
7.9
Job profiles and administration (396)
7.8
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (402)
7.7
Organizational charting (363)
6.9
Organization and location management (402)
7.4
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (257)
7.4
Pay calculation (432)
8.6
Support for external payroll vendors (218)
7.7
Off-cycle/On-Demand payment (1)
9.1
Benefit plan administration (342)
7.9
Direct deposit files (416)
8.7
Salary revision and increment management (328)
7.9
Reimbursement management (212)
7.7
Approval workflow (368)
8.1
Balance details (380)
7.4
Annual carry-forward and encashment (307)
7.5
View and generate pay and benefit information (425)
8.6
Update personal information (434)
8.6
View company policy documentation (291)
7.8
Employee recognition (150)
7.3
View job history (358)
8.1
Tracking of all physical assets (68)
7.8
Report builder (436)
6.9
Pre-built reports (437)
7.3
Ability to combine HR data with external data (310)
6.3
New hire portal (258)
7.9
Manager tracking tools (234)
7.7
Corporate goal setting (138)
7.7
Individual goal setting (151)
7.9
Line-of sight-visibility (130)
7.9
Performance tracking (157)
7.9
Performance plans (166)
7.8
Performance improvement plans (143)
7.5
Review status tracking (169)
7.8
Review reminders (167)
7.8
Multiple review frequency (149)
7.8
Create succession plans/pools (59)
7.5
Candidate ranking (61)
7.4
Candidate search (64)
7.7
Candidate development (61)
7.2
Job Requisition Management (199)
7.8
Company Website Posting (194)
8.1
Publish to Social Media (161)
7.8
Job Search Site Posting (188)
7.9
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (157)
7.2
Applicant Tracking (195)
7.8
Notifications and Alerts (191)
7.6

About Ceridian Dayforce HCM

Dayforce is a global HCM software platform that transforms the employee experience. It unifies data from across the entire employee lifecycle to enable better decision-making at every level. Dayforce is a comprehensive cloud platform that combines HR, payroll, benefits, workforce management, and talent management in a single application. Our scalable HCM software is built with a single, flexible rules engine combined with real-time updates and calculations that help address complex regulatory requirements.

Dayforce offers:

  • Continuous pay calculation: This means that pay is calculated continuously throughout the pay period, giving administrators the time they need to produce high-quality pay.
  • One application: With data stored in a single, central location, get data-driven insights across all HR functions so users can make better decisions for the entire employee lifecycle.
  • Actionable insights: Dayforce provides critical data-driven insights to help users make fast, informed decision.
  • Anytime, anywhere access: Access Dayforce using the device of choice on web or mobile.

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Features

Human Resource Management Features
Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Has featureJob profiles and administration
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Has featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Has featureStatutory form management
Leave and Attendance Management Features
Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Has featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment
Employee Self Service Features
Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition
Asset Management Features
Has featureTracking of all physical assets
Does not have featureAsset issue and transfer management
Does not have featureAsset return
Does not have featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
HR Reporting Features
Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data
Integration with other HR capabilities Features
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor
Performance Management Features
Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Has featureMultiple review frequency
Succession Planning Features
Has featureCreate succession plans/pools
Has featureCandidate ranking
Has featureCandidate search
Has featureCandidate development
Onboarding Features
Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools
Performance and Goals Features
Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking
Recruiting / ATS Features
Has featureJob Requisition Management
Has featureCompany Website Posting
Has featurePublish to Social Media
Has featureJob Search Site Posting
Has featureDuplicate Candidate Prevention
Has featureApplicant Tracking
Has featureNotifications and Alerts

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Screenshots

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Videos (8)

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Downloadables

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Integrations

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Competitors

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Ceridian Dayforce HCM Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English (US), English (GB), French, French Canadian, Spanish (Latin America), Spanish (Spain), Italian, German, Polish, Simplified Chinese, Dutch, Hindi, Portuguese (Brazil), Croatian, Czech, Romanian, Bulgarian, Slovak, Japanese, Korean, Hungarian, Thai