TrustRadius
Changepoint is a platform that marries professional services automation (PSA), project portfolio management (PPM) and business analytics to provide managers broad operational visibility and control over their strategic business portfolios.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/mV/oz/M249H8E40GAC.JPEGNot great!We are a UK-based consulting organization that provides IT services to some 90 pharma companies across the globe. Changepoint solution is used to capture and manage incoming IT demand from our customers - from the initial, early stage of the request and through its maturity, to the point when the request becomes an active project, until its full delivery.,Changepoint provides flexibility in terms of the workflow process, allowing a good degree of customization The actions are time-stamped, and whilst Changepoint does not alert the users when things are about to expire, it does provide a timeline It is flexible in regards to the type of information we look to capture on each request,Changepoint can be rather buggy and 'clunky' If the system is idle, it logs out the users far too quickly, resulting in wasted time as well as duplication of efforts It is not the most intuitive or user-friendly solution,3,The system time-stamps actions which is useful It is expensive for the quality of experience it provides It is *relatively* reliable in terms of the information management and archiving Regular re-typing and other similar duplication of efforts on a large scale can become rather costly to the organization,,HubSpotChangepoint - Software with a PurposeChangepoint is used by our company to track resources by project by hours billed to that project. In addition to tracking resource allocation by project, it is also used for expense reporting that gets billed to the customer, such as airline, rental car, hotel and per diem. It has been a very good tool to work with once you figure out the different bells and whistles it offers. The process flow for the tool is very efficient. Turn around time on time reporting and expense reporting is one week. Checks are auto deposited almost immediately.,It handles resource time reporting very efficiently. It handles expense reporting in a very fluid manner. Overall, easy to work with.,Changepoint will time out every now and then. You may not realize it, but your data entry has not been saved and then you close out of the application and come back in and your work is gone. Changepoint will remember / store previous projects that have been billed to. Once the project closes, it still brings back the project so over time, your screen gets crowded. Changepoint requires a VPN from remote locations which can pose a problem for frequent travelers. Few, if any, hotels offer a secure wifi and thus connecting to Changepoint can have its challenges,7,I am a PM, so I do not know, nor can I speak to ROI.,,Microsoft Project, JIRA Software, MS SharePointQuick Changepoint Review from a advanced end-user.We currently use CP for tracking sales opportunities, reporting and billing for specific parts of our services organization. Overall it accomplishes a majority of the business challenges we face.,The reporting capabilities are what really draw me to this program. It allows for fairly customizable reporting for end users and mid level managers.,The search functionality is good but could definitely use some tweaking. My experience has been if you do not type in exactly what you are looking for it will not allow you to find it. Especially for items that over a year old. It's almost impossible to navigate the tool without instructor lead participation. I had to teach myself how to develop reports. The "in-app" help guides were of minimal assistance. It took many hours of trial and error for me to understand the logic behind how to develop effective reporting. This most recent upgrade added some videos which are an improvement. I believe more can be done in future upgrades.,7,It has given us a more collaborative and streamlined approach for managing our services business.,7Changepoint Provides us with a comprehensive, global PPM toolWe use Changepoint to manage IS Projects and Services on a global basis. Changepoint is foundational to the advances we made with Portfolio Management, Resource Planning, IS Budgets and Project Management. The recent integration of Intelledox enabled us to develop our own custom user interface that support our internal processes. A centralized database supports approximately 2,000 on a global basis.,The ability to configure our own user designed fields help to support our project and portfolio governance process. The integration of the Intelledox tool enabled us to develop e-Forms within Changepoint. This provides standardized project documentation like project contracts, project change requests, closure reports, etc. The Changepoint database is easy to configure in order to aggregate and export data to our Global IS Scorecard. A single instance of Changepoint provides an opportunity to manage our projects on a global basis.,We use Changepoint to manage the IS organization. I would like to see more advancement in order to do benefits management. I would like to see a capability where a project manager can build a very detailed work breakdown structure, but only require project resources to charge time and provide a task status at a higher level.,10,Our ability to maintain a global IS Scorecard helped us to maintain a focus on completing projects on time and within budget. Having a single instance of Changepoint with projects aligned to specific portfolios helps senior management to maintain a focus on the investment of IS resources. It is foundational to our governance processes.,,10Changepoint keeps projects on point.Information displayed is intuitive and simple to understand It is flexible and easy to use Robust and scalable to the project needs,None comes to mind,Increased the efficiency of the team since we all could see what was being worked on and the deadline Improved communication and kept us on track with the project Our customers were better served because we had a faster turn around time on projects,8,9
Unspecified
Changepoint
15 Ratings
Score 5.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Changepoint Reviews

Changepoint
15 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 5.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 15 vetted Changepoint reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-13 of 13)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
April 17, 2018

Changepoint Review: "Not great!"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a UK-based consulting organization that provides IT services to some 90 pharma companies across the globe. Changepoint solution is used to capture and manage incoming IT demand from our customers - from the initial, early stage of the request and through its maturity, to the point when the request becomes an active project, until its full delivery.
  • Changepoint provides flexibility in terms of the workflow process, allowing a good degree of customization
  • The actions are time-stamped, and whilst Changepoint does not alert the users when things are about to expire, it does provide a timeline
  • It is flexible in regards to the type of information we look to capture on each request
  • Changepoint can be rather buggy and 'clunky'
  • If the system is idle, it logs out the users far too quickly, resulting in wasted time as well as duplication of efforts
  • It is not the most intuitive or user-friendly solution
Changepoint is basic and would, therefore, work for businesses with uncomplicated requests, pretty straightforward workflows and willingness to work with an unsightly solution. It is basic, from the UI to the search option and the way the information is captured, which can be frustrating and counter-intuitive at times.

It is relatively robust (i.e. I have been using it for almost 2 years and have not seen it crash once) but it does log me out when the system has been inactive for about 30 minutes - and I am only notified about being logged out upon clicking the Submit button, meaning many a line of text have been typed more than once!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 26, 2018

User Review: "Changepoint - Software with a Purpose"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Changepoint is used by our company to track resources by project by hours billed to that project. In addition to tracking resource allocation by project, it is also used for expense reporting that gets billed to the customer, such as airline, rental car, hotel and per diem. It has been a very good tool to work with once you figure out the different bells and whistles it offers. The process flow for the tool is very efficient. Turn around time on time reporting and expense reporting is one week. Checks are auto deposited almost immediately.
  • It handles resource time reporting very efficiently.
  • It handles expense reporting in a very fluid manner.
  • Overall, easy to work with.
  • Changepoint will time out every now and then. You may not realize it, but your data entry has not been saved and then you close out of the application and come back in and your work is gone.
  • Changepoint will remember / store previous projects that have been billed to. Once the project closes, it still brings back the project so over time, your screen gets crowded.
  • Changepoint requires a VPN from remote locations which can pose a problem for frequent travelers. Few, if any, hotels offer a secure wifi and thus connecting to Changepoint can have its challenges
Changepoint offers what a company needs. Project management at the resource level, time reporting and expense reporting. That is all our company uses it for, as I am sure there are other uses for the software. It works for what our company needs it to do. No issues to date at all.
Read this authenticated review
Edric McNeary profile photo
December 09, 2014

"Quick Changepoint Review from a advanced end-user."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use CP for tracking sales opportunities, reporting and billing for specific parts of our services organization. Overall it accomplishes a majority of the business challenges we face.
  • The reporting capabilities are what really draw me to this program. It allows for fairly customizable reporting for end users and mid level managers.
  • The search functionality is good but could definitely use some tweaking. My experience has been if you do not type in exactly what you are looking for it will not allow you to find it. Especially for items that over a year old.
  • It's almost impossible to navigate the tool without instructor lead participation. I had to teach myself how to develop reports. The "in-app" help guides were of minimal assistance. It took many hours of trial and error for me to understand the logic behind how to develop effective reporting. This most recent upgrade added some videos which are an improvement. I believe more can be done in future upgrades.
Services Organizations can benefit from much of CP's capabilities since it is robust to handle many of the high level tasks. More recently there have been additional capabilities opened up to us which allow for our mobile resources to access Changepoint from their smartphones and tablets. This has proven to be a huge plus for productivity.
Read Edric McNeary's full review
Ron Beck; MS MBA CPA profile photo
January 18, 2014

Review: "Changepoint Provides us with a comprehensive, global PPM tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Changepoint to manage IS Projects and Services on a global basis. Changepoint is foundational to the advances we made with Portfolio Management, Resource Planning, IS Budgets and Project Management. The recent integration of Intelledox enabled us to develop our own custom user interface that support our internal processes. A centralized database supports approximately 2,000 on a global basis.
  • The ability to configure our own user designed fields help to support our project and portfolio governance process.
  • The integration of the Intelledox tool enabled us to develop e-Forms within Changepoint. This provides standardized project documentation like project contracts, project change requests, closure reports, etc.
  • The Changepoint database is easy to configure in order to aggregate and export data to our Global IS Scorecard.
  • A single instance of Changepoint provides an opportunity to manage our projects on a global basis.
  • We use Changepoint to manage the IS organization. I would like to see more advancement in order to do benefits management.
  • I would like to see a capability where a project manager can build a very detailed work breakdown structure, but only require project resources to charge time and provide a task status at a higher level.
We often engage the Changepoint Professional Services Team and have been using them for over ten years. They are very competent and well respected. We are active in the global Changepoint User Group which affords us the opportunity to engage with other users both within an on-line forum as well as annual meetings. Changepoint also provides "accelerators" which are pre-configured workflows, reports, etc. that can be easily customized to fit our specific needs. The Changepoint executive team interfaces with us on a regular basis to understand our needs. This allows them to focus their development effort for future product enhancements.
Read Ron Beck; MS MBA CPA's full review
Cedric M. Norwood profile photo
January 10, 2014

User Review: "Changepoint keeps projects on point."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Information displayed is intuitive and simple to understand
  • It is flexible and easy to use
  • Robust and scalable to the project needs
  • None comes to mind
Changepoint is clearly a better way to manage projects in a fast-paced
environment with teams around the globe. It keeps everyone on the same
page allowing us to communicate efficiently. Any team member can
download a project document, make edits, and upload them so the team can
view the changes. Changepoint is robust enough for simple and complex
projects; I would definitely recommend it to others.
Read Cedric M. Norwood's full review
Robert Goodman profile photo
October 22, 2013

Review: "Professional Services Automation w/ Changepoint"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The web interface made it easy to manage professional services projects and break them down by logical phases.
  • My former company enjoyed the Microsoft Project integration. Project plans could be uploaded directly to the web interface. Team members could then log their time directly to these activities for tracking.
  • The site could become slow with high volumes of traffic. This may have been due to the way that our infrastructure was setup.
  • Analytic reporting was not available in the version that we used. We created external reports to slice and dice the data and view it as the business demanded.
Changepoint was a nice solution to manage our SMB. Microsoft uses this technology today to manage their professional services teams - so this is to say that it can also handle large enterprises.
Read Robert Goodman's full review
Lindsey Thibodeau profile photo
January 17, 2014

Changepoint Review: "Change point of view"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Changepoint to document all aspects of a project, from time and expense reports/billing to cost/revenue reports even loading and storing important project related documents.
  • Changepoint is for the most part easy to access the information your looking for as long as you know how to look for it.
  • It makes billing the customer easier when everything is stored in Changepoint
  • logging time for myself or others is easy and I can make changes if need be
  • Some time Changepoint runs very slowly or times out it makes it difficult to do things in a timely manner
It depends on what someone is in need of, Changepoint is capable of many different funtions. If someone was looking for a better way to track a project and house all the information in one place Changepoint would be a good fit.
Read Lindsey Thibodeau's full review
Meloni Mockerman profile photo
January 14, 2014

"IT Company's Users Review of Changepoint"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CP to track our projects and engineers' billable/non-billable hours as well as expenses. All use it to track unbilled services.
  • CP allows you to run many various reports on the information you enter.
  • CP allows you to specify which users are allowed access to different areas of the program. So not every employee can access all the information.
  • There are so many areas you can utilize in CP. Sales, Resources, Projects, Companies, Expenses, Timesheets
  • Changepoint could be more user friendly. Sometimes you have to tab from field to field instead of using the enter key like you would with most programs.
  • Some fields you can't access just by clicking on them.
It is a great tool for tracking projects progress. Tracks billable/non-billable hours as well as expenses.
Read Meloni Mockerman's full review
No photo available
March 06, 2015

"Changepoint Review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Change point was reviewed and purchased as a common portfolio management and project management centralized point of data for both IT and business users at a healthcare insurance company in MN. It's primary audience was IT personnel, and was the foundation for capturing all IT projects and the entire project management lifecycle. In addition, one of the key benefits was to replace the time tracking tool that was in place at the time using Changepoint functionality.
  • Project management functionality is solid. The PM can navigate in this tool relatively easily and gain access to reporting fairly easily.
  • The reporting overall is good. Dashboards were well received by our mgmt at the time
  • The training and support team for us was second to none from a knowledge/timeliness and "guidance" perspective
  • There were whole sections of the tool at the time that were not very intuitive. Simpler is better and your screen designs should reflect that
  • Design your reporting interfaces for your key audience members- IT executives, IT Project Mgmt Leaders, Project Team members, Key stakeholders, etc. and design the dashboards and reports with those teams in mind
  • Be crystal clear on what Changepoint does better than the competition, and if it isn't perceived as better, communicate the plan to get there and a realistic timeframe.
Compare this product to CA-Clarity functionality. Compare this product to MS Project PPM Enterprise functionality. This tool should always drive to be in the most popular Gartner quadrant for PPM/Project Mgmt tools. I think that the development team has more work to do in this regard with better communicating the key value proposition of selecting this tool as a PPM solution for it's prospective clients.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 01, 2014

Review: "Changepoint v2010 - Not for the Faint of Heart"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CP is being used across the whole organization, with certain features being used only by my specific department. Across the organization it is being used for time reporting and expense submission. In my department, the additional features of team folders and invoicing are used. The system administrator feature is used occasionally and the report designer feature has not yet been utilized. The major business problems it is being used to address are tracking time and expenses and allocating those time and expenses internally and among our clients, expense reimbursement for our employees, and invoicing our clients. We also have an integration with Salesforce to populate some of the company data into Changepoint.
  • Changepoint has significant reporting capabilities, though of course, the data that comes out is only as good as the data that goes in. I enjoy being able to use the standard reports to understand exactly how much a project has cost us and to compare it to how much we are charging. This allows us to more accurately set our prices. Though we have not used the report designer capability, I understand that custom reports can be designed with relative ease.
  • Changepoint has a versioning capability for changes made to user profiles in the system manager, which I find particularly helpful. As a non-power user, it is valuable to be able to see what changes I have made to various profiles so that I can troubleshoot a problem down the line.
  • Changepoint has significant functionality well beyond the features that we are currently using, and for this reason, I think it is affordable and a good deal. Particularly if your organization is interested in dedicating the time and resources into using all of the features around project planning, resource allocation, etc., the price is well worth the value.
  • The usability of Changepoint leaves something to be desired, at least as far as basic features are concerned. It has significant functionality, but our users find basic tasks--like creating expense reports--needlessly complicated and not user-friendly.
  • The user interface is clunky, outdated, and difficult for a basic user to navigate. The locations of items are not always intuitive and it is annoying to have to go to different views in order to see information that should be grouped together. For example, in order to view task information, you have to go to the projects tab. You cannot drill down from the project or engagement level.
  • I don't believe Changepoint has any video training for basic functionality, but this is an important addition to standard help files. When my users have problems with the software, myself or another administrator must sit down with them and show them how to accomplish their goal. Videos showing how to use basic functionality would be very helpful.
  • Browser support is minimal. In v2010, only IE is supported, which is ridiculous. We are upgrading to V2012, which will greatly improve the array of browsers that our users can use, but even then certain features do not work with Firefox. In 2014, robust browser compatibility should be a basic feature.
Changepoint is well-suited for consulting firms and other companies that charge clients for their time and have a need for significant project-management capabilities along with reporting and invoicing. It is not well-suited for companies that want a more basic solution to time reporting and expense reimbursement. The key questions to ask during the selection process revolve around this basic question: how are you going to use this software? Though it has a lot of functionality, the learning curve is steep and basic functionality is not as easy as one would expect.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 07, 2014

User Review: "I'd change Changepoint if I could"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • There are lots of reporting options. Once you figure out how to work the parameters of a report, the system is able to provide detailed and accurate compilations of data. There are also many custom reports than can be setup, as well. In my experience, we have told Changepoint PSA administrators what kind of report we were needed and they set it up for us, available in a 'custom reports' folder.
  • You can have several things open at once -- 'portals'. These are up at the top of the screen, much like how Google Chrome has tabs at the top. This is useful.
  • In general, I've found the product to be very slow. Our company has done everything possible with connections and server space to accommodate. However, the product takes about 5 seconds to save a screen. It takes about 7 seconds to open up a worksheet. It takes about 5 seconds to initialize a change on a worksheet. All those seconds really add up, especially when you know exactly what you need changed and you're just waiting on the system to process. This slowness has been apparent and cumbersome from the start and will continue to be a major disappointment.
  • Entering expenses (travel expenses, reimbursements) in the system is okay. It's not incredibly user-friendly, but it's doable. However, the part that is not intuitive is when you have a rejected expense, or when an expense is waiting for approval, or when you need to redo an expense -- it's pretty much a free-for-all with how you need to handle those. There's not a good flow or step by step process for expenses that are rejected, approved, in limbo, or entered-expenses ready to be turned into an expense report. This is frustrating.
  • I use PSA for Project Management tracking. I think Changepoint PSA is a huge system that can encompass a lot as far as wearing many hats for a company's business needs. However, it's not a good solution for either task management or Project Management. It does not track tasks intuitively nor does it make my Project Management any faster. Also, is a lot of tracking in my PM world where I need to enter notes on reports or update the status with a notation -- that cannot be done in PSA (at least with how we have it setup right now). I work very quickly, with many small ever-changing tasks, through my projects and being consistently slowed down by entering data or waiting on data to change is a major sore spot.
It is well suited, I believe, for Accounting and tracking overall business processes on a high level. Tracking employee time is a good with Changepoint, as well. As mentioned, it's not suited for task management or Project Management.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 10, 2014

User Review: "My experience in Changepoint"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Tracking employee's time toward different projects.
  • Assign task and calculate man hours and $ value.
  • Integrates with HP automation tools.
  • Tracking bugs through the SDLC.
  • We had to write code in order to integrate Changepoint with HP QC. Compuware can provide an add-on for QC to integrate both tools
Because of the technical support team who are always ready to tackle issues and provide solutions.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 07, 2014

"Review of Changepoint"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The breakdown of project tasks and details is easy to navigate.
  • The user interface is not complicated.
  • Rarely have any issues with the software.
  • Streamline how projects are setup - if possible, reduce the number of mouse clicks to get to a section for data entry for example.
  • Make the contrast better between background graphics and font.
  • Are there keyboard shortcuts?
Project management is well suited.
Read this authenticated review

About Changepoint

Changepoint is a broad web-based platform that combines professional services automation (PSA), project portfolio management (PPM) and business analytics to provide managers broad operational visibility and control over their strategic business portfolios. As such it offers a very wide and comprehensive array of features from CRM, resource and project management, planning and budgeting, revenue tracking, issue tracking, and more. Pricing is variable as Changepoint PPM is targeted at larger companies across a number of industries and offers a very wide array of features.

Changepoint Competitors

Changepoint Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No