Cherwell Service Management Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
72 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.5 out of 101

Do you work for this company?

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Jane Updegraff profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cherwell Service Management is our ITSM solution for the entire enterprise. We don't use the user-facing portal but we make use of the rest of the product as our primary IT help desk management and service management tool. We needed a help desk product that could be hosted outside, that could create tickets from emails and that could automate work flows for common IT support tasks and routine operations. We had tried using a home-grown solution and trialed a couple other solutions and ended up with Cherwell mostly due to my attraction to its "middleware" architecture and the way that architecture makes it easier for me to manage. When Cherwell applies version updates on their hosted server, things don't break because its only the underlying middleware layer that updates such that all of our customizations are unaffected.
  • Cherwell's email handling automation works flawlessly. The only time that I have ever needed to reset the automation service that drives it is when my own server that houses the small connecting agent has some kind of problem and disconnects us from our hosted Cherwell instance. It just works. Emails to a certain address always result in a new ticket or update to an existing ticket.
  • Cherwell is literally 100% customization in so many ways that it would be pointless to try to enumerate them. There is a very sizable list of already-created customizations (called "mApps") that you can download and apply to your instance. If you don't like them you can roll them back in seconds. But you can add and configure entire modules using one of these pre-defined, completely free, add-on packages. It's so easy to add features this way that I check the list of available mApps every month or so just to see what functionality I can add.
  • Cherwell's sales staff could use some improvement in the "paying attention to the little guy" area. It's true that sales people are focused on their larger potential commissions, and that is understandable, but as a small business, we were treated less than well by our Cherwell salesman. I would go so far as to say that he neglected us after we made the purchase and had a very serious complaint about what he sold us. We were sold a product without any implementation plan or package. I found out that we were probably the only customer that had this happen, but I wanted to mention t because it was huge headache to implement the product without any implementation help from the vendor.
  • I think Cherwell could do a better job of keeping their USA-based hosted server farm in better working order. Their infrastructure maintenance is improving and it doesn't affect Cherwell customers that host their own on-prem Cherwell servers, but for a long while they had a lot of failures at their on-demand server farm in Denver where they host instance for the US market. We would show up in the morning and our help desk technicians couldn't login for a couple of hours. They got these issues resolved quickly enough I suppose, within a few hours. And they did upgrade their Denver datacenter about a year ago and done better at maintaining it. But we literally can't do our jobs without Cherwell working as it s our primary help desk and end-user management tool.
Cherwell is a good choice for any sized enterprise that needs an extremely customizable IT help desk solution that triggers (again, entirely customizable) automated actions, spawns workflows (and auto-spawns tasks and sub-tasks for them) for multiple IT technicians and multiple tiers of technicians. It can do project management, change management, asset management, all the same things that the others can do and far, far more. If you do NOT need a highly customized help desk solution and if you don't need automated workflow creation and task tracking, then you could buy a less expensive solution that you can use out of the box without any of the frills. But as I said, Cherwell can do a lot more than just IT help desk, and it has a huge array of "plug-in" / "add-on" features, most of which are free, that make every Cherwell implementation completely unique to the enterprise that uses it. Cherwell is just right for a company that wants to manage and customize the help desk application with a PTE resource. I manage it myself at my company, and I spend very little time maintaining it now that it's solidly established ... although it's so much fun to customize that I wish I had more time to add new features and play with it. I do strongly advise some training for the admins ... your Cherwell admins MUST take the online, instructor-led introductory admin class to kick you off, and you MUST have implementation help from Cherwell to setup your instance, especially their hosted offering, over which you don't have database admin control (you can't even turn it on to get it working without their help). But after that, there is very little support needed from your own in-house Cherwell admin resource, unless, of course, you are constantly growing the solution to make it do more. I can see how that could happen because Cherwell can do almost anything. I can imagine some departments wanting to make it into the swiss-army-knife of IT .. and HR .. and facilities .... and physical security ... and you could spend many hours down the rabbit hole doing that if you wanted to.
Read Jane Updegraff's full review
Zachary Louis profile photo
October 01, 2019

Cherwell Rocks!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cherwell is being used by our managed services department to assist with our several practices (intel, Power I-series, Power AIX, networking, Converged (Compute)).

Our management accesses it here and there for KPI and other important metrics. We also create customized customer dashboards for use on the self-service portal. Beyond that, we also generate ticket reports for our SDMs and other customer relations employees.
  • Incident Management
  • Change Management
  • Problem Management
  • The Web UI
  • Overall UIX
  • CMDB
Well-suited:
To provide solid incident management between your service desk and customers.
To provide Change management to assist executives and overall business up-time. Help detect change collision while looking at scheduled change times and CIs upstream/downstream.

Less appropriate:
The overall reporting features are very non-user-friendly and it can be a bit of a pain to actually get the data out that you're looking for.
Read Zachary Louis's full review
Hermes Mosquera profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cherwell is the framework for the ITSM/ITIL initiative in the organization. It's being used a the system for Incident, Problem, Change management and it is expanding as the Configuration Item and Knowledge management.
  • Incident Management.
  • Change Management.
  • Integrating with other systems.
  • Web front end.
  • Unified client.
  • Support for web technologies.
It is well suited for the Customer Service Portal and Customer Service Fulfillment along with Change Management. The framework allows you easily to grow out of IT.
Read Hermes Mosquera's full review
Denise Nohner profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cherwell for both Incident Management and Change Management. It's only across the entire organization because of requests to the helpdesk.
  • Standard Change Templates - importing existing templates is quite easy, and nominating new Normal changes into a template is a great easy process as well.
  • Saved searches - When the reports don't quite give you what you need, searches are wonderful! Using the search function also gives a better depth of knowledge into what fields belong to which places in the database.
  • Support requests - this has been a great way for our IT guys to resolve "customer" issues quickly and in some semblance of order.
  • Back-end workflows need to speed up. Some of them seem very slow.
  • Aesthetics - viewing on some of the dashboards cuts the words off, which makes it difficult to use those graphs for reporting purposes.
  • I don't really have a third option - I haven't used the software quite that long yet.
I am still going to praise the standard template process. it's great! Using an existing approved Normal change, and nominating it into a standard template is quite easy. The only thing that could be easier is having an easy view of which templates are awaiting approval. I had to create a saved search for that.
Read Denise Nohner's full review
Richie Ritter profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cherwell Service Management is used as our ITSM tool to support clients of the Division of IT. We utilize Cherwell for may functions including Incident Management, Problem Management, Change Management, Knowledge, and CMDB. Over the years we have continually expanded the use to cover new organizational needs.
  • Customization: Cherwell allows us to create custom solutions that address the specific challenges we face. From a very simple "feedback" form with a single text field to a more complex process with approvals allowing users to update information about their Configuration Items.
  • Integration: We pull data into the Cherwell system through various sources and different methods. We might use API calls to a web application to retrieve data, or directly connect to a database.
  • Cherwell currently has a sort of split system with an "Application" on one side and "Content" on the other. This is one of the greatest strengths because it enables deep customization to the "Content" while allowing new features and upgrades to the "Application" without causing disruption. Over the years, Cherwell has added great improvements to the Out-of-the-Box "Content" and the "Application" and while you can easily upgrade the "Application" side to gain the new features it provides, upgrading the "Content" is a much bigger challenge. Cherwell is very aware of this challenge, and is working to solve it, but the more you customize your "Content" the more difficult it is to pull in new features.
Cherwell is great for logic and process-based situations where you want "X" to occur when "Y" happens to "Z".
Read Richie Ritter's full review
Voncia Molock profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cherwell is helping us to implement several ITIL processes and improve our service delivery. Our vision is to look beyond IT service management and expand and explore Enterprise Service Management and use this tool as a central hub for all staff to come for help for the various service our organization provides.
  • Capturing all of the activities involved in managing incidents in an easy to navigate way.
  • The ability to link incidents, problem and change requests to configuration items in the CMDB.
  • On steps to automate various business processes to eliminate manual processes.
  • Ease of upgrades and content.
  • Report writing.
  • Dashboard creation.
I like the ability to segregate high sensitive data from the general database, especially for meeting federal regulatory requirements.
Read Voncia Molock's full review
Catherine Stevens profile photo
October 02, 2019

Cherwell Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cherwell is used within the IT department, across Service Desk, Desktop Management, IT Business Services, Information Security, Infrastructure, and Systems Administration. It tracks service requests, incidents, and changes.
  • Customization - if you can think it (and have time to develop it) you can do it.
  • Good ITSM solution OOTB and can be implemented quickly for most common needs.
  • Good user group and customer engagement.
  • Mobile app.
  • Responsive design/ADA.
  • Calling customer support.
Cherwell is suited to routine workflows, service request management, and HelpDesk management.
Read Catherine Stevens's full review
Chris Meunier profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to manage it, finance, facilities, onboarding. it has reduced the amount of time it takes for us to onboard and to manage the creation of new users.
  • Customizable.
  • No code.
  • Easy to use.
  • Software is buggy.
  • It's quirky.
It's great for automating processes.
Read Chris Meunier's full review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cherwell in one department fully now, implementing in another. We are Working towards full implementation across all departments, including Billing, HR, Sales, Help Desk, Software Support, Backup, Security, etc. We have problems with disjointed departments all using different platforms in order to service our customers and partners.
  • Ease of development.
  • High level of customization.
  • Great training platform.
  • Ease of implementation.
  • Some system performance and stability issues need to be addressed.
Cherwell would work great within the managed services space, as well as internal departments. It has the ability to be highly customizable between different types of users and departments, so there are a significant amount of issues that it could address. Overall, the home-run hit is in-house usage within an organization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cherwell Service Management is being used as an ITSM platform for the management of the incident, change, problem, knowledge, and CMDB. It is being used by IT only to support the rest of the organization and outside customers. Its key strength is its capabilities for multi-tenant, concurrent license, automation, and integration with other platforms. It acts as a one-stop-shop for all ITSM functions.
  • Customization: Cherwell is a platform, so it can be built to do anything you can think of. However, you will require significant development resources.
  • Automation: there are vast capabilities for automation and integration with other platforms. Of course, significant DevOps capabilities are required.
  • Unlike some other ITSM tools, it has everything, such as knowledgebase, project management, CMDB, and integrations.
  • Cherwell is slow. Very very slow. This is somewhat understandable because it is a very complex tool and a lot of things are happening in the tool, but it still needs to be a lot faster. It takes over 7 seconds to load an incident. The web client is faster, but it doesn't have all the features of the rich client (installs locally).
  • Absolutely terrible UI: there's a left search pane, a right search pane, and a whole bunch of tabs at the bottom. What you get in the end is a screen that is divided into many small sections, and each section has large contents inside them so that you have to scroll left/right and up/down for many of them. It's the worst UI I have ever seen. Now add this to the slow speed mentioned earlier, and all your users hate it.
Cherwell is extremely powerful and cost-effective, thanks to its rich feature set. It can also be said that support from the vendor is also great. This makes it suitable for a very large and multi-tenant environment that requires a lot of customization, automation, and integration. This assumes that you have a lot of smarts and talent to develop and administer the tool.
Read this authenticated review
David Crawford profile photo
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Cherwell as our central IT ticket tracking system across the entire university. It was also used in a minor setting to track room usage by some departments, but its main function was IT ticket submission. We had several positions (help desk phone calls, lab technicians, etc) that used Cherwell portals we designed to submit issues only, and these issues would escalate where appropriate to other departments like ours.

Cherwell addressed the void we had of not having a central tracking system for IT issues. We used to only use emails for work assignment and tracking for all faculty and student IT problems. This was meant to replace that entirely.
  • After proper training on setting up the views and servers, Cherwell did a good job separating various department ownership of tickets. Our work views weren't cluttered with irrelevant information.
  • There is a lot of information that can be embedded into tickets. Such as sub-task assignments that could contain almost the same information as a ticket itself. Lot of customization options.
  • Custom personal dashboards were nice, once I figured out how to do it. Not everyone wants to see things the same way as other people, and being able to move touch points where you want is always a plus.
  • While I understand that a lot of customization can be up to an organization, the platform was always a huge pain when going beyond the installed client. The web client and mobile app were very problematic and clunky, locked up frequently.
  • My university was 50% Windows/50% Apple, and there's no Apple client.
  • The built in remote control capabilities on tickets for client machines didn't play well with our active directory. We always just used a different program.
  • Error handling could have been much better. Accidentally assigning ticket items to "non-existent" resources could crash the client. Such as if the resource was removed before a worker's view was refreshed.
  • Tickets can go into limbo very easily, and seemed to require more development than it should to protect us from doing that. This is because there's a lot of different ways to do the same thing. Too many touch points all over the place in the UI.
  • Too many ticket priority options. Clients could be assigned personal higher priorities through VIP status, tickets could be given their own priorities that conflict with client status, and SLA deadlines could assign other conflicting priorities. There were more but these were the most problematic if you're using Cherwell in a situation where you have limited developer time to nail down all the inconsistencies every day.
  • There was an arbitrary time tracking feature on tickets that attempted to gather data on how long certain resources took, but because the UI was very cumbersome this was more of a pain to do and was very inaccurate of the actual work it takes to do certain things.
Well suited if you have people dedicated to developing the views and back-end C# client, and if you work in a more silo type environment.
Read David Crawford's full review
Robbie Speers profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cherwell is used mostly by our various Information Technology teams, as well as a few other departments that are project-based. It has solved several business problems, such as the process for when a new employee starts, when someone leaves, or changes positions. The tasks that are implemented in Cherwell allow for several technicians to work on one problem that involves many pieces. We hope to eventually use it for ongoing projects as well.
  • Allow a ticket to be put on pending when it can't be resolved within the SLA
  • Create a task for when another technician needs to assist with the ticket, for something out
  • Allow you to email customers through portal without giving your personal email out
  • Sometimes comments made on a ticket do not generate emails to the technician who owns it, and they will not know there is an update from the customer without checking it
  • Sometimes I will see an error pop up when copying text but it can easily be closed
  • Sometimes the time-out window for staying logged in does not appear on top of other applications so I will not know it's logging me out
Cherwell is good at tracking tickets put in by customers for short and longterm use. It is easy to close a ticket quickly when you are finished, but some tickets will take longer and that's what the pending status is for.

Cherwell may not be suited for longterm projects, ones that take months or over a year to accomplish. Our team hasn't integrated the feature yet so I can't speak on how well it works.
Read Robbie Speers's full review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as our primary ticketing system between our different IT departments to allow us effectively communicate and pass along problems.
  • It has a lot of flexibility in terms of dashboard customization.
  • You can customize ticket workflows to send them to particular teams in order.
  • Effective use of metrics to make sure you are hitting your deadlines.
  • It isn't the best looking application overall.
  • It can be finicky when it comes to customization. You have to spend some time to get the results you are looking for.
  • Some of the navigation can be a bit confusing, using search function can sometimes be more difficult due to the level of granularity they want.
I think if you have the time to spend making this product into what you want and adapt it to your environment you will be in a really good place. If you are looking for a purely out of the box solution it might not be the best product for you.
Read this authenticated review
Andrew Breyen profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cherwell Service Management in our organization to manage Help Desk tickets and assign them to the appropriate group and person in our IT Department. Cherwell Service Management is also used to track computer and other IT Services property inventory, where it is, who has it, the costs that are associated with it.
  • Ticket Tracking
  • Asset Management
  • Communication between IT Groups
  • Sometimes it can be slow
  • The search function can be confusing
  • Editing of email templates is not easily apparent
It makes it easy to ticket track with our IT Department. Cherwell Service Management ties into our helpdesk email account, so whenever someone sends an email to our helpdesk, a ticket is automatically created, classified, and the user gets an automatic response saying that their request has been received and it should be resolved shortly.
Read Andrew Breyen's full review
No photo available
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used campus wide. We use it mainly to manage/tracking technology and physical facilities incidents and delegation of work..
  • I really like that when repetitive requests come in we can create a problem ticket and then communicate with all requesters under one incident.
  • I like the flexibility in being able to add journal notes, assign tasks and one having one place to look for all information on a project. It's simple but I like that we can attach documents.
  • I would like to see more project management aspects incorporated. The ability to track progress on a timeline/graph. We've customized a template for office moves but are limited in the number of steps it will track before I need to add another incident.
  • I want the contact information to be more robust so that multiple people can be added to an incident and e-mailed at once instead of having to type in names in emails over and over again.
  • Resolution description is buried in the e-mail template that we send.
I think it's great if you want to track simple incidents and tasks for workers. It's a great tool for management if workers have access to technology when they are working. It is harder for employees who do not carry personal devices with them or have to track down a computer to resolve or track journal notes.
Read this authenticated review
Naomi Hagelund profile photo
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cherwell was used across our entire organization as a method to address user help tickets and to organize our service desk. It helped create a workflow so that help tickets were properly routed and flagged depending on severity, collecting all of the proper information and details. It also helped create an organized service desk website so that users could adequately find the information they needed, reducing labor on our end, while also alerting us of common problems so that we could increase efforts on our end to provide enough information to users so those problems didn't arise as much.
  • Cherwell's ticketing system does a great job of following a designated workflow. Consistency is important for any organization.
  • Cherwell allows for customized workspaces, so a user can see the things that are relevant to them. This cuts down on time it would take to sort through tickets in order to find what is relevant to a particular user.
  • Cherwell would often crash, both on logging in or in the middle of entering a ticket. This was extremely difficult and time-consuming on my end.
  • While it was possible to customize a workspace, the method for doing so was not intuitive.
  • There was not a large help or training source to draw from in order to better oneself at Cherwell.
Cherwell is well-suited to an IT organization who is looking for ways to organize their service catalog and make their ticketing system more efficient. It's good for large organizations with several different departments who have to interact with one another. It provides the ability to link within the system, so the paper trail it provides it very beneficial.
Read Naomi Hagelund's full review
Keene Marin profile photo
November 22, 2017

Cherwell - ITSM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Wisconsin DNR uses Cherwell as an Agency underneath the primary organization - the Wisconsin DOA. It is used throughout enterprise IT, but implemented only in that capacity, and is not used by all technology support groups within the DNR. We are striving to get to full usage of all available implemented features, but are not quite there yet.
  • Automated workflows are done very well. There is a broad and configurable set of automations available, which allow for effective incident routing.
  • Reporting is very flexible with all the options available, dashboards and graphing in an automated manner can be an effective delivery or ITIL reports.
  • Web based clients allow for some good basic functionality, which are good for customers, or end users.
  • Within our deployment model of Cherwell, there are core functional pieces that have to be configured at the top level, rather than the sub levels, which make some areas difficult to manage. For example, if one agency wants to use feature x in one way, but another agency wants to configure the same feature in a different way, then consensus has to be gained first. Its not as fully flexible in the base configuration space as would be ideal.
  • Automated email processes, especially in the volumes that the State of Wisconsin goes through require some tweaking to allow them to fire in an effective way. We sometimes see problems with backlogs of these.
  • Licensing based on concurrency and usage is a very modern approach, however, it leads to challenges in how customers use it. For example, we have automated log-off's in place for the local clients in order to manage our own usage, to maintain reasonable costs.
Change Management approval processing is a good example. Cherwell, as an ITSM tool, is effective at executing the different change configurations, and requiring distinct approvals to proceed forwards.
Read Keene Marin's full review
Steve Blinston profile photo
September 12, 2017

Cherwell Service Management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cherwell tickets are created via email or call from hospital departments. Specific resources are then created a task within the Cherwell ticket. Detailed information is then supplied within the Cherwell ticket, once the ticket/task has been closed, an email is then sent to the initial requestor who requested the ticket to be created. Also time tracking is added with the Cherwell ticket.
  • The Cherwell application has multiple processes to supply the requested information and the resolved information.
  • Time Tracking is added, the cost can then be submitted to the hospital.
  • Documentation can also be uploaded within the assigned ticket, to supply information to other tasked resources.
  • The application is very good.
  • This weekend the current version was upgraded.
  • Senior management can supply full information of the time tracking with the associated ticket numbers.

The Cherwell Service Management application is installed within Citrix, this is then available for all TransForm SSO resources to resolve any requested issues or service requests. Hospital resources can connect to the Cherwell Service Management website and supply information for the incident or service request

Within the Cherwell Service Management Application, the Record Details supply the Record Type; Service Type; Priority 1 to 5 and scheduled date to be completed.

Read Steve Blinston's full review
Michael J Mandeville profile photo
February 15, 2017

Great Process Builder

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cherwell is used by the Information Technology department at Calvin College as our Information Technology Service Management tool. At this point, Calvin Information Technology is the sole user of the software, but there are plans to expand the usage across the organization in the future. Cherwell replaced our outdated solution we had been using that was hampering our communication and causing many process mis-steps.
  • Offers a great ITIL framework out of the box
  • Allows for a lot of customization and hooks into other software
  • Sets up an out-of-the-box process for a ticket lifecycle if you don't have a process already set
  • Creating and running reports is ridiculously, impossibly complex and complicated
  • The product is so open-ended it's almost too broad. We have ended up creating a lot of in-house customizations to the product that would have been nice to have out of the box.
  • Dashboards are great to have but they are awful in implementation. They are not dynamic and act more like a Bitmap file made in Windows 95 Microsoft Paint than a dynamic webpage. It would be nice if Dashboards were dynamic and were more like HTML or a web-based platform. It doesn't make sense why web design products like WIX exist yet the dashboards are needlessly complicated and have static image borders, sizes, etc.
I would say Cherwell is best suited to an organization that needs to create a process for taking in and bringing work tickets through a process that has struggled with implementing a process. Cherwell can be bent to an existing process, but it's going to take a lot of customization and work. Cherwell works best if you adapt to its out-of-the-box process, which may be difficult if you already are working within a set standard of procedures and process and Ticket lifecycle.
Read Michael J Mandeville's full review
Brandon Joseph profile photo
February 03, 2017

I don't Code, I Cherwell

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cherwell SaaS solution replaced our older on-premise ITSM tool (which shall remain nameless!). We did an initial roll-out of only Incident & Service Request and only in two of our regions around the world but have plans to get all IT teams and all main modules of Cherwell deployed. Currently the Cherwell tool is being used to resolve Service requests and is used by IT Support and Escalation groups (Apps, Infrastructure, etc) in support of that objective. Soon we'll build a Customer Portal and take the tool globally.
  • Configuration is easy and doesn't require expensive consultants to do every little thing you need to adjust. I'm able to make minor and even major enhancements by myself. I find the development UI mostly intuitive.
  • The amount of things we can automate in our Support department using Cherwell is wonderful. We've not yet taken full advantage of this but are excited at the possibilities. From automatically creating and classifying tickets to responding to customers with specific attachments they need, Cherwell is going to help us eliminate wasted time.
  • Designing with Blueprints is an intelligent and efficient way to add new functionality to your Cherwell instance without all of the risk. Rollback files make it easy to "undo" any mistakes. This also allows you to develop in one environment and apply your Blueprints to the Production environment once fully tested.
  • During my time working on the Cherwell implementation and subsequent modifications, I've noticed some 'out of the box bugs' that I'd like to see corrected in future versions of Cherwell. Some are simple oversights. Examples include leaving the Last Name out of the default Grid for the Customer table and some issues with the SLA date fields being set correctly in some cases.
  • Cherwell really needs a distributed data center model so global customers can run a single SaaS instance and whose remote teams can connect to their nearest Cherwell server. Our teams in France and the USA currently connect to one Cherwell server in the UK and the performance/latency for our folks furthest away from the server could be better.
  • The documentation could certainly be expanded upon. It does a good job explaining what everything is but doesn't go into enough detail to help you understand how to use it. Examples could be included at the bottom to help readers understand the content and how to apply it.
For a global company like ours where support teams are geographically dispersed and maintaining on-premise infrastructure is losing ground to offloading to the cloud, the SaaS aspect of Cherwell makes it ideal. We configured the 'core' implementation and can now easily add other support teams around the world with a few additions to some system tables and purchasing some additional licenses. Incorporating specific needs for other teams is easy to do in Cherwell and can be done without compromising the integrity of the entire instance.
Read Brandon Joseph's full review
Evan Miller profile photo
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[We are] currently utilizing Cherwell primarily as a ticketing/ticket tracking system with some minor asset management roles tied into it. It is being used by the IT department as a whole across our entire organization. It helps to ensure prompt response times and accountability among IT employees that are assigned particular issues.
  • Ticket Handling and routing. Being a larger organization getting tickets routed to the proper internal groups to resolve is key.
  • Maintaining level of service. Without any ticketing system we would be hard pressed to keep track independently of issues/calls/emails received.
  • Asset management. Utilizing a web link to inventory new equipment assignments aids in troubleshooting with users as the equipment is bound to their userid. So when a ticket is generated for their ID a snapshot of what equipment they have and possibly are calling about is presented.
  • The interface is somewhat clunky to navigate and at times finding where things are located takes some time.
  • If you are idle too long in the application it will constantly pop up a message that you have been logged out due to inactivity but you cannot then close the application without having to end the task from the task manager in Windows.
If you are a single consolidated IT group it will excel for you as a ticketing system. The asset management portion could be a little more robust, but again this could be in relation to the interface of the product/version we are using. If you are a decentralized IT group then another platform may be better suited.
Read Evan Miller's full review
Kevan Welsh profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cherwell for Incident, Problem, Knowledge, and Project management, as well as as for our HR and Facilities teams. It keeps everyone in sync with all of the compartments of IT, HR, and Facilities, tracks anything we can think of, and allows for flexible reporting to leadership as whenever necessary.
  • Blueprints and One-Steps all for maximum flexibility and endless possibilities. Password resets, account onboarding/offboarding automation, self-service portal, and many many more.
  • Form building allows virtually endless possibilities for capturing data from end users or technicians alike. Publish them in the client, the web client, or the portal and help gather requirements from the beginning to ensure efficient use of resources.
  • Report building is very easy and configurable. Build customer variables, charts, graphs, matrices, and more without having to know any coding languages.
  • The performance of the system seems process heavy. Often takes a while to load specific screens.
  • Out of the box features on upgrades seem inconsistent on when and where they are applied for fear of overwriting previous custom work done in the system.
  • Organization of one-steps could use some work. Certain folders can only be accessed from particular regions of the orange or blue pills.
Cherwell can be built for literally anything. I can't think of a single area it wouldn't make sense. It is built on top of a data driven infrastructure that is highly configurable and can meet the needs of anything you can think of. Tracking phone calls, ordering of services, and reporting out all of those metrics are easy.
Read Kevan Welsh's full review
Jeremy Spindler profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used by our IT department as our main ticketing system and for certain call-center duties. Beginning to explore use cases for non-IT departments on campus, including mandatory training participation tracking, HR workflow tracking, etc.
  • One-Steps are easy to create use and save so much time!
  • We used majority out-of-the-box Cherwell features, and didn't need to spend time developing it ourselves.
  • Because Cherwell has so many out-of-the-box tools, some development options are limited to what is already provided
We greatly appreciate Cherwell as our main ticketing system in IT.
Read Jeremy Spindler's full review
Tim Westen profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Cherwell Service Management for our ITSM process across all of our various business units. We have implemented the following ITIL processes, Incident/Request, Change, Problem, Service Catalog, CMDB (asset management) and an IT Equipment Requisition process at an enterprise level. We have started to roll out IT Project Management and are in the process of defining additional requirements for SLAs. We have approx. 480 technicians using the application to manage their work at various levels based on business unit.
  • The codeless configuration of Cherwell has been able to meet all of our demanding business needs. From data integration to complex process workflows we can respond and deliver the added value our business needs.
  • Cherwell does offer a great customer experience. There has not been one occasion when I have not been impressed with their commitment to the customers experience.
  • The development tools are robust and the time to develop had drastically been reduced from previous tools sets, this allows us to focus on gathering solid requirements for iterative changes rather than lengthy development cycles.
  • Our solution can be managed and grow with limited number of resources available. We continue to expand and grow as out business requires while maintaining 2 FTE.
  • Cherwell is in the process of balancing the speed to market of functionality and robust testing of those releases. We have come across a couple of issues in a particular release that have caused us issues that required configuration of workarounds or us having to skip the release until the function is resolved.
  • The web client for technician use still is not in par with the rich client. Cherwell has made the commitment to develop web first but the client parity of the rich and web clients is still not there.
  • The ability to be able to Select multiple rows from a result list and then run an action (one step) on them would be a huge win for my environment. Right now you can run a query and run an action against all returned results but it is dependent on the query results, which can be difficult to narrow enough for the general user.
Cherwell is great at the basic ITSM/ITIL processes and transactional type ticketing that occurs within CSM or Facilities management. We would like to utilize the tool more for Project management within IT and start to promote it beyond but the out of the box module is not robust enough to be solely used. Integration with specialized tools is the current method and is acceptable.
Read Tim Westen's full review
James Whitemore profile photo
September 17, 2015

Cherwell Shares Well

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Our organization uses Cherwell Service Management primarily as a request and incident tracker, but it was purchased with the intent of expansion. Since go-live we have activated the knowledge base and CMDB modules, which have solved quite a few problems with information sharing and inventory tracking. The system is young in our environment, but it is holding up well and definitely scalable.

Currently Cherwell Service Management is utilized mainly by the IT Service Desk (technical solutions team), but we have been branching out to teams in other departments as well. It has been well received by those teams who have chosen to come onboard, and is a very strong promoter of institutional collaboration.

  • Scalability - We have been able to add multiple teams to our system and collaborate more effectively than ever before.
  • Modularity - We are able to implement the system one module at a time, which greatly helps us grow at a rate that works best for our teams.
  • Accessibility - Cherwell Support is very responsive and open to assisting with our needs.
  • Admin Interface - Changing system settings is not intuitive. Blueprints also require a level of proficiency not held by most new users of the system.
  • Bugs - We have noticed several bugs and glitches. Support has been very helpful in documenting and taking them to development, however many seem to be things that should have been caught before public releases.
  • Stability - We have had a few instances where we have lost our VPN connection or certain other services have gone offline. Since we run a SaaS environment, we are typically not able to troubleshoot in-house. Support is again very helpful, however this can cause an impact to business.

Cherwell Service Management is extremely adaptable. It works well in environments like ours which contain decentralized IT contacts. This ITSM system is also good for multiple uses beyond tickets - CMDB, Knowledge Base, Change Management, etc.

The system is also highly customizable. We worked with the vendor to make our interface completely unique and suited to our needs. Our implementation looks absolutely nothing like the out of the box product, yet still maintains the same (and more) functionality.

Read James Whitemore's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (31)
8.3
Expert directory (22)
7.7
Service restoration (18)
7.5
Self-service tools (29)
7.6
Subscription-based notifications (20)
7.1
ITSM collaboration and documentation (26)
6.9
ITSM reports and dashboards (30)
7.7
Configuration mangement (24)
7.0
Asset management dashboard (22)
6.9
Policy and contract enforcement (15)
7.3
Change requests repository (26)
7.8
Change calendar (24)
7.4
Service-level management (26)
8.3

About Cherwell Service Management

Cherwell Software was founded by the former CEO of FrontRage Solutions and is a full suite of service management tools competing with BMC Remedy, ServiceNow, and IBM SmartCloud.

Cherwell Service Management Competitors