Cherwell Service Management Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
76 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 39)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Cherwell Service Management Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • I think it has had both its ups and downs. As I mentioned before it really can be a flexible tool but you need to spend the time with it.
  • I think if we had more resources as a department we could use this tool to much greater effect.
Read this authenticated review
Jane Updegraff | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2019

Cherwell is a mature, complete ITSM solution ... that can do WAY more than just ITSM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Cherwell is more expensive (of course) compared to the home-grown ITSM solution that we previously used, so it has cost us more in capital outlay and it will continue to do so. But it has drastically reduced the number of end-user issues that have "fallen through the cracks". It makes assistance triage easy because you can customize the prioritizing of tickets by both urgency and priority of your tickets as well as by VIP status of the user.
  • Our internal end-user satisfaction with the IT department has drastically improved since implementation of CSM. Our technicians don't forget to finish up a task with many tiny details and that's because Cherwell's workflows provide the technician with a list of the steps needed to finish up the task. We've become a much more popular IT department and leadership has noticed. I can't put an ROI number on that but it's priceless to me.
  • Technician errors in user onboarding and offboarding have virtually disappeared, saving us hours and hours of technician time. Again, I haven't calculated the ROI but it's probably a good 20% or more of our tier 1 technicians' time that has been saved. Higher-tier technicians are obviously not as affected since they weren't usually the ones who were neglecting the details, but even they have enjoyed more efficiency and better prioritization of their time.
Read Jane Updegraff's full review
Zachary Louis | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2019

Cherwell Rocks!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive - reduced amount of ticket touches via automations for our third-party ServiceDesk. Meaning less money we have to give them for ticket touches.
  • Reducing Change collisions, therefore ensuring service up-time meaning more consumption and overall better experience.
Read Zachary Louis's full review
Richie Ritter | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Cherwell is a powerful and highly customizable ITSM solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • High-quality metrics produced with information from Cherwell have enhanced the visibility of "What IT does" for our organization.
  • The CMDB within Cherwell has greatly improved our knowledge of our Asset Lifecycle.
Read Richie Ritter's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 10, 2020

Cherwell Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Project updates and controls are more visible.
  • Tickets logged by end users and correctly categorised and directed to the most appropriate team.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

One-Stop Portal For Service Management

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • CSM enhanced the customer satisfaction with the faster response rates.
  • It enables us to store all our KB articles that the 1st level support could use frequently.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2019

Cherwell: Powerful, but slow and clunky.

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Cherwell allows us to put all customers into one tool which allows us to consolidate administration and licensing.
  • Cherwell is very cost-effective (1/3 the cost of ServiceNow).
  • The platform's automation capability allows the business to reach a higher level of maturity and efficiency in IT service management.
  • To develop and run the tool, a team of developers, devops, and administrators is required.
Read this authenticated review
David Crawford | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2018

Cherwell Is OK If You Have a Babysitter

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • As with any standard ticketing system, it helped decrease the time before first contact with clients.
  • Our department was always concerned with keeping a low budget, and it was cheaper than most.
  • My supervisor could easily tell how many resources were being put into each employee, so we had more visibility of our team's capabilities at a given time if we needed to take on something complex.
Read David Crawford's full review
Robbie Speers | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2018

Cherwell-A useful ticketing system

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Cherwell can reduce the amount of duplicate tickets entered by allowing you to search what's already open
  • Cherwell's tasks can allow accountability for other teams to do their piece of a ticket before closing yours
  • Cherwell's user portal makes it easy for users to enter their own tickets
Read Robbie Speers's full review
Andrew Breyen | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 09, 2018

Ease of Ticket Tracking

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Previously, our helpdesk manager solely used email to track ticket times, assignments, etc. But that results in a lot of emails that can easily be lost. Cherwell puts it all inside of an app, and all emails are sent from the generic helpdesk email.
  • Cherwell makes it much easier to track tickets, and collaborate with team members as well as other teams
  • Cherwell Asset Management ties into Cherwell Service Management to keep track of node numbers and what is being used
Read Andrew Breyen's full review
Naomi Hagelund | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2017

Complicated and not intuitive, but largely reduces workload

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • As a Blackboard support specialist, Cherwell reduced by tickets by half because tickets were being properly routed and the correct information gathered.
  • Cherwell gave us the ability to prompt users to look at the resources they already had, if it was something easy, which helped reduce our workload.
Read Naomi Hagelund's full review
Keene Marin | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2017

Cherwell - ITSM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We've been able to implement more easily many ITIL related items such as change management, integrated ITSM, configuration management, and others
  • The centralized nature of these tools allows for extended functionality, like downstream and upstream impact assessments
  • Asset management has become a little easier, especially with the opportunities that Cherwell gives us.
Read Keene Marin's full review
Steve Blinston | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2017

Cherwell Service Management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive: Hospital Incident supplied to Cherwell Service Management, task assigned immediately to the specific resource
  • Positive: Hospital Request supplied to Cherwell Service Management, meetings to discuss the requirements and financials.
  • Positive: The time tracking data is supplied into a SQL DB, a report is then reviewed by TransForm SSO and supplied to specific hospitals
Read Steve Blinston's full review
Michael J Mandeville | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2017

Great Process Builder

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our process has benefited from a more rigid framework
  • Our communication on tickets between team members and inter-departmental has improved
  • Our entire User Process onboarding/offboarding process has been informed by Cherwell
  • We actually have a Change Management process workflow now
  • We are better able to serve our customers because our documentation and communication have increased
  • We will be offering self-service options when we make the Cherwell self-service portal live to our customers later this month
Read Michael J Mandeville's full review
Brandon Joseph | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2017

I don't Code, I Cherwell

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Having a single SaaS instance of Cherwell has allowed our organization for the first time seamlessly transfer tickets across regions and allow for unprecedented communication between our groups. We look forward to opening the tool to all global IT teams and incorporating all major modules (Problem, Change, CI & Knowledge and more!) where we'll finally all be on the same tool and various IT data will finally all be in a relational database.
  • Ongoing costs can be lowered because we now have enough in-house expertise to manage most of our routine Cherwell modifications and management.
  • Once Cherwell is fully implemented at our organization, we'll be able to do with several separate systems and databases where all IT information is currently stored which will make things more simple and cost-effective to maintain.
Read Brandon Joseph's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (35)
8.5
Expert directory (26)
8.2
Service restoration (21)
7.7
Self-service tools (33)
8.0
Subscription-based notifications (24)
7.3
ITSM collaboration and documentation (30)
8.0
ITSM reports and dashboards (34)
8.7
Configuration mangement (27)
8.1
Asset management dashboard (25)
8.1
Policy and contract enforcement (18)
7.7
Change requests repository (30)
8.5
Change calendar (28)
7.8
Service-level management (30)
8.5

About Cherwell Service Management

Cherwell Service Management is designed for organizations seeking large reductions in software license spending, IT overhead, and software audit risk. By integrating all the data related to hardware and software inventory, application usage, license entitlements, and IT purchases, users can track and manage IT investments from purchase to retirement and abandon Excel spreadsheets.

Cherwell Service Management Competitors

Cherwell Service Management Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No