Chrome DevTools Reviews

74 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2020

Chrome DevTools, a web developer's best friend.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Chrome DevTools every day in my current position. It's great for testing my javascript, writing experimental in the console, testing various CSS changes, and occasionally making live edits to local javascript source files. It is being used by the developers in my department who write front-end code. Chrome tools provide us as developers a way to test code and make changes without having to edit the original source code.
  • DevTools gives you a console for writing javascript code to interact with or change the behavior of the page you are currently working. This is particularly useful when debugging code.
  • CSS edits. The ability to change the style of dom elements and see the effect those changes have in real time without having to switch to your editor, make the changes, and reload the browser window saves a lot of time.
  • Providing a way to set javascript break points so you can see the runtime values of a variable.
  • The network tab is also a life saver for inspecting what assets are being loaded on the page and in what order they load, how long they take to load etc...
  • It would be nice in the elements panel, if clicking on a node scrolled the screen to that node. On some large pages its easy to get lost in the code and not know where the element you're inspecting resides on the screen.
  • It would be nice if, in addition to the console, there was a panel that behaved more like an editor instead of a command prompt. It may seem trivial but it would be very helpful when writing multi-line functions.
Chrome DevTools are well suited for any front-end project and should be utilized by everyone who does web development. It provides a massive amount of functionality and gives the developer the ability to control the page at a very granular level.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 29, 2020

Great tool for web development

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chrome DevTools is being used by a few development departments in the organization. In our team, we used it for a few purposes:
1. To examine the DOM of a web app.
2. Aid development of web apps: check the API requests and response.
3. Performance analysis: use the performance tool to analyze the bottleneck of the app.
  • The "inspect" tool is very convenient. It can show the DOM structure interactively.
  • The performance analysis tool is very comprehensive. Easy to spot bottleneck.
  • The console is very handy for ad-hoc JavaScript running.
  • In the "Element" section, when mouse-over an element, the corresponding part in the web will be highlighted. It is sometimes annoying as the mouse moves around.
Chrome DevTools is excellent for a few scenarios:
1. Web development
During web development, the "Elements" tool is very good for inspecting the frontend appearance of the web site. The "Network" tool is very good for inspecting whether the requests and responses go as expected.

2. Monitoring the behaviour and performance after a web app is created
The "Performance" tool can show the behaviour and bottleneck very easily.
No supporting was needed during my usage. I give the mark based on my impression of Google.
Read this authenticated review
Nate Dillon | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2019

Powerful development tools are built into the browser

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Chrome DevTools for front-end development and debugging. Everyone on my team uses it, and I would suspect others in my department use it as well, probably anyone using Chrome as their main browser. The DevTools allow us to inspect our sites and find problems with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript.
  • Inspect front-end code.
  • Find and debug issues.
  • Apply changes in the browser for testing.
  • Test responsive designs at various device resolutions.
  • Test page speed and performance.
  • Test various network situations (e.g. low/no internet connection).
  • Improved screenshot support.
  • Quicker access to common testing settings (e.g. disabling JavaScript).
  • Improved CSS tools.
Chrome DevTools (or something similar) is almost essential for front-end development. It allows for inspection of HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, and allows you to debug issues right in the browser. DevTools also enable you to apply changes within the browser and see the changes immediately without accessing the actual code. In addition, it works very well at testing service workers, viewing and testing page performance, testing different network speeds, and testing responsive sites at different resolutions.
I'm not entirely sure what to rate the support for DevTools, because I don't have any experience dealing with official customer support for DevTools. I would guess the primary support for DevTools would be in a Chrome forum. Typically if I have a question or issue, I am able to find an answer from doing a quick Google search. It's pretty widely used, so it's not difficult to find answers.
Read Nate Dillon's full review
Jan Peterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2019

A Critical Tool for Modern Web Development and Debugging

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All of the full stack developers use Dev Tools in Chrome for identifying and diagnosing weird problems with the web sites. We use it to identify where resources are loading from, track down configuration issues, and interpret the performance of loading pages. We also use it to interact directly with the JavaScript console.
  • Being integrated with the browser, DevTools lets me access elements of the loaded page easily and directly. I can see what my page looks like in the browser while I fiddle with various parameters directly in the page through DevTools.
  • DevTools lets me identify all of the artifacts that are loaded by the current page (images, scripts, media, etc.). I can easily determine if some third party package is getting in the way of my own content loading correctly.
  • DevTools gives me direct access to the JavaScript console so I can run JS methods directly. This lets me visibly see how certain interactions can look and feel to the user.
  • The Network tab gives me visibility into what the page is doing "behind the scenes". This is very helpful when working with dynamic content as I can see where and how things are loaded.
  • While Chrome DevTools has a good REST sniffer, allowing me to see REST requests that my web app is making, it does not provide a general interface for constructing REST requests. I would like to see some functionality similar to Postman integrated with DevTools.
  • While the Security tab allows visibility of the certificate associated with the site itself, it could present more information about the certificate and protocols in use. I would like to see full details of the entire certificate chain.
  • Some items (such as Network conditions, Sensors, etc.) in the More Tools menu could be expanded upon.
  • I would like to be able to connect to some external tools. It would be nice, for example, to be able to easily see traceroute (or mtr) output directly in the interface. I realize that some of these capabilities require elevated privileges, but that could probably be worked around be forking off a terminal instance to run the tool with Sudo or something similar.
Given that DevTools is always available, it is well suited to impromptu inspections and investigations. It is less useful for automated testing where running Chrome may be more difficult (in a headless environment, for example). It would be nice to see some type of headless interface to DevTools where it could be accessed via some type of external API.
Read Jan Peterson's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Chrome DevTools Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our whole organization uses Chrome DevTools to work on the front end of the web apps.
  • It's very easy to see the source code and to debug JavaScript code with Chrome DevTools.
  • If you want to play with styles and CSS, you can do that on the fly.
  • Network tab provides detailed information about the http requests.
  • I don't have any complaints
Chrome DevTools works great if you have a problem with the page you are building. You can get all the information needed: DOM elements, source files, requests and more. Console tools are very handy if there is a need to test a JavaScript code.
Read this authenticated review
Jake Tolbert | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2019

Chrome DevTools - better performance than Firebug

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Chrome DevTools pretty regularly to sneak a look at the code of a webpage, either to do web development, or more likely nowadays, because I'm doing some data analysis and need to figure out how to scrape the data off the page and into R. Because it's baked right into Chrome, my regular browser, it's only ever a quick whack of F12 away.
  • The selection widget is particularly handy--I can quickly and easily see how an element on a page fits in the page's structure
  • Being able to edit CSS rules on the fly is great--that way I can see what's actually going to happen.
  • It's also nice to be able to poke around in the Computed tab and see how an element's box model attributes are currently assigned and what will happen if I adjust, for example, the padding.
  • I really miss Firebug's box model tools, which worked a bit more intuitively.
  • The Console is handy, but can be hard to work with.
  • I really wish there were a few more tools for outlining block elements and a color picker.
If Chrome is your main browser (and seriously, what else are you going to use?), and you need to look at the source code of a website for any reason, you should be using DevTools. It's the most efficient way to get the most info, and a great way to dig into the back end of your site, the CSS, the javascript, general performance, etc.
Read Jake Tolbert's full review
Taylor Morgan | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2019

King of Web Development and Debugging Tools

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire web development team uses Chrome DevTools on a daily basis. It complements similar tools by other major browsers but is the go-to tool of choice for looking under the front-end hood of a website under development. In the hands of a knowledgeable user, DevTools opens the door to a wealth of helpful information, debugging tools, and even skill-building.
  • Provides clear, easy to understand, and actionable intelligence on how the browser is retrieving, parsing and rendering the page.
  • Covers a wide gamut of front-end development tasks, from manipulating CSS rules to line-by-line debugging of JavaScript to helpful page and server insights.
  • Continuously incorporates new tools and helpful features. With nearly every major Chrome release there is a "What's new" update with at least one or two useful items.
  • As one delves into DevTools, one encounters a gradually steeper learning curve. You can do a lot very quickly, but to fully utilize DevTools takes time as one explores what it can do.
  • With many new updates, tools and items are moved, and a comfortable workflow becomes a frustrating search. This often happens when following only slightly outdated tutorials on a given feature, even in Google's own documentation.
  • The experimental flags, settings, and options are scattered about and a little clunky to configure when one has to make changes in multiple places.
We utilize DevTools heavily while developing the front-end of a website. By default, it provides a helpful hierarchical view of the Document Object Model (DOM) alongside a linked pane of applicable CSS rules. It is by far the easiest way to try out combinations of HTML and CSS while developing an existing site, and even rivals dedicated environments and sandboxes for isolated experimentation (i.e. when not developing a full website). It gives the developer complete control over everything client-side (i.e. HTML, CSS, and JavaScript). Would these CSS rules I'm tinkering with work better if they were nested under another <div>? I'll just modify the DOM, add the rules to it, and find out -- all within DevTools.

DevTools is also irreplaceable helpful for debugging issues -- whether HTML/CSS related, JavaScript, or even in the loading process of a page. You have to know how to use it, but if you do DevTools gives you all of the tools you need.
Read Taylor Morgan's full review
Joel Tanzi | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 26, 2019

Chrome DevTools - Still the King at Opening the Hood of your Front-End

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Web application testing and troubleshooting are one of the most time-consuming areas of a software engineer's tasks and the availability of reliable and comprehensive tools to facilitate this important job is critical. Chrome DevTools is an important tool in any developer's arsenal and it has been one of my long-time go-tos for this purpose. DevTools can reveal important information to you about errors your code is throwing, the state of your document model (the elements of your web page and how they are laid out) and the factors that are affecting the performance of your application. In my organization, we use Chrome DevTools across our engineering team to troubleshoot and test all of our front-end application code.
  • Excellent DOM inspection tool that gives you important insights into your styles and element behavior, and allows you to make changes in-line that can show you what impact they will have if applied to your code.
  • Outstanding tools for observing network and application performance, including throttling to simulate varying network speeds.
  • A fantastic device emulator that allows you to view how your pages and application views will appear when viewed on a wide array of mobile devices such as tablets and smartphones.
  • Debugging tools that give you the power to insert breakpoints to pause code execution and view the value of your code variables.
  • It could really use an easier way to separate the kind of errors being logged to the console, such as network, security and CSS errors. This becomes a more acute problem when you consider that Firefox does have this feature.
  • Unlike the Firefox and Edge dev tools, it forces you to click into a line item for network request in order to view the details of that request.
  • Its performance measuring tool could stand to catch up to that of Microsoft Edge, which currently displays visualizations that are a bit easier to review.
If you are developing, testing or debugging web applications, then it would be hard to make a case against relying heavily on Chrome DevTools to help you along. It has kept pace with the development of other browser tools with similar features (Firefox and Microsoft Edge come to mind) and while it doesn't stand out as especially strong compared with the competition it remains a popular choice among developers and will likely be so for the foreseeable future. While it is a good idea to test across browsers and make use of their development tools as well, it is a strong choice for your default option.

It works best as a tool for developers and designers building pages through direct development of HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, or through a CMS such as WordPress or Drupal. It is also useful for theme design for tools such as WordPress or Drupal. It is probably best avoided by those relying on visual drag-and-drop style platforms for web site building, such as Squarespace or Wix, since it is likely to offer more confusion than help.
Read Joel Tanzi's full review
Miguel Useche | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 01, 2018

Best tool for Web Development

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used for testing web applications and any work; it's also used to find Chrome only issues. It's used to check how HTML content loads, if all Javascript is being executed, and for finding any media problems, CSS development, etc. All related to web development.
  • It includes a powerful Javascript console to interact to the website to test JS code, add new code, for modifying existing values or functions, etc. You can control all the JS code in the website from there.
  • It has a great tool to check a site's assets loading, to see any loading errors, missing resources, redirections, etc.
  • Their CSS editor is great to add new rules, update existing rules, etc. I like how you can see all applied changes in the website without refreshing the browser.
  • I think the layout is too complex, it should be simpler and easy to use for an average developer.
  • I would like more tools for CSS oriented development like Grid Helpers, Flux containers, CSS animations, etc.
  • I would like a better tool for errors, like telling me what to do if I find a JS problem, CSS problem or a wrong redirection.
When you find a JS bug in your web application, you can use Chrome to check its console for details, the JS editor to add new JS code or their CSS editor to add new rules to see if that solves your problem. You can do this without altering files and seeing results in real-time, so you don't have to lose time on saving and refreshing.

Also, you can use other tools to see if additional problems exist.
Read Miguel Useche's full review
Rahul Kumar Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2018

An ultimate tool for web developer, without it web development is a pain.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As our Company has many departments, Chrome DevTools are only being used by the web development teams. We have lot of development teams for different projects we generally use Chrome DevTools for debugging, better analysis of code or when we get stuck somewhere. As per the business problems it let us fix different JavaScript issues and suggests how to optimise the code that is running on the PCs as well as mobile phones.
  • First is the Debugging capabilities of Chrome DevTool i.e. very impressive you can set the break points where you think error might exist or you can simply go step by step until you encounter the issue.
  • Second the capability of simulating mobile devices with device mode in Chrome DevTools - It is also great feature in which one can see where the network is throttling one can check for responsiveness of the view port on the mobile device.
  • To analyse network performance - Generally it is a great feature to have because it lets us know which file it may be and if it's JS or CSS that is taking time to load or taking more resources then one can focus on them to make it light weight.
  • As of now I don't have any issue with Chrome DevTool, it is best and improving day by day but if they can they should improve the interface so that switching between different tabs becomes easy.
Chrome DevTools is well-suited for debugging JS errors, for looking on network performance, simulating mobile devices, and remotely debugging mobile web.
Read Rahul Kumar Singh's full review
Christiaan Bollen | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2018

The Developer Tool for Chrome users

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I mainly use Chrome DevTools for making little tweaks to the CSS/HTML of the page and immediately see the result. In other cases, it is also used for debugging and speed tests.
  • While designing or editing a webpage Chrome DevTools lets you easily make changes to your HTML/CSS and immediately show the result in your Chrome browser.
  • In the console, Chrome DevTools, shows errors inside your page.
  • You can use the console of Chrome DevTools to send Javascript messages, this is a handy tool to try out Javascript functions or to debug.
  • The timeline in Chrome DevTools can be used for optimizing the speed of your website.
  • There are many functions and this might be hard for starters.
  • User interface could be improved
  • It is a great tool for improving your website.
  • The design with making changes in the HTML/CSS but also your javascript code.
  • Making changes and immediately getting the result in the browser without having to upload anything to a web server.
  • If you are looking for some of the used resources in the website you are viewing there is a handy overview in the sources tab.
Read Christiaan Bollen's full review

About Chrome DevTools

Chrome DevTools is a set of authoring, debugging, and profiling tools built into Google Chrome.
Categories:  Debugging

Chrome DevTools Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No