Chrome Remote Desktop Reviews

111 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 26, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Most of the other software solutions come at a cost for the licensing, and it is usually not cheap, given that you need to have commercial licensing for a business/organization. Also, with the other remote desktop solutions, there is more of a learning curve in order to use, them. With Chrome Remote Desktop that is not the case. Lastly, some of the problems that were seen in some of the paid commercial solutions, have not been seen with Chrome Remote Desktop.
Read this authenticated review
March 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

No one can beat Chrome Remote Desktop's price! But that price (free) means something--missing features, limited support. For true business use, access to multiple machines, robust support, etc., I'd go with one of the more expensive options.
Read this authenticated review
November 07, 2019
Allen Shapiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've used TeamViewer, AnyDesk, Go to My PC, and Microsoft Remote Desktop to access PCs remotely. Chrome Remote Desktop is one of the best remote desktop programs. The other programs are more expensive and provide fewer features than Chrome Remote Desktop. It is much easier to switch among multiple PCs using Chrome Remote Desktop than some of the other mentioned programs.
Read Allen Shapiro's full review
November 06, 2019
Maurice Samuels | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Chrome Remote Desktop is much more user-friendly that Symantec Endpoint Protection. Support is marginally better with Chrome as well.
Symantec's solution is hard to set up and admin, it also uses a lot of memory that can only be freed with rebooting. The downside to memory usage I suppose can be offset by encryption gains.
Read Maurice Samuels's full review
February 04, 2019
Ravinder Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

TeamViewer is good but it won't let you connect to your devices as seamlessly as Chrome Remote Desktop does. Also, TeamViewer is pricey. Some of our non-technical users faced slight challenges learning on how to operate TeamViewer, which definitely is not the case ever since we started to use Chrome Remote Desktop.
Read Ravinder Gupta's full review
March 01, 2018
Ho'omana Nathan Horton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

TeamViewer is much easier for less tech-savvy users to set up, and you can walk them through it over the phone if necessary ("Just google 'TeamViewer' and click 'Download'". However, TeamViewer wants to update VERY regularly and sometimes doesn't connect reliably. We've never had a problem with Chrome Remote Desktop once it's set up.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
July 28, 2017
Dustin Blad | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Bomgar is probably one of the best support/Unattended remote access solutions out there. LogMeIn is a close second. However, the cost of both these solutions can be daunting. However, a third option, Jump Desktop, is slick since it uses a propriety 'fluid' streaming protocol combined with the option to use remote desktop via proxy. For my personal needs I find using Jump Desktop better. However, for business, I turn to Bomgar.
Read Dustin Blad's full review
June 07, 2016
Shawn Bennett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • LogMeIn, Windows Remote Desktop and pcAnywhre
Hands down Chrome Remote Desktop is the best option available if you find yourself mobile and without access to a laptop/PC. In some cases, I would say that this application outperforms the native Windows Remote Desktop application. However, there are some features missing, perhaps local to the Andriod OS or the phone platform such as keyboard options and mouse speed control.
Read Shawn Bennett's full review
April 13, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Chrome RDP and Citrix
Still up in the air about which solution is best. We're actually leaning towards Windows RDP via Citrix session right now. It is secure, fast, and easy.
Read this authenticated review
March 27, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Chrome Remote Desktop compliments the Google for Work Admin suites perfectly, you can deploy this application to all your devices via policy from google, it's easy to use from the operators point of view and allows for a quick seamless connection to your device, the cost is relative and provides a service that is mandatory for our business to succeed in supporting our technology, other application we're too robust or wanted to re-invent the wheel. This tool was perfect from the start and any organization using the power of Google should look into using this tool to support and of their chrome devices.
Read this authenticated review
March 14, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've used RealVNC but it takes much longer to set up RealVNC in the past. More firewall setup. Not as secure in my opinion.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Screen sharing (16)
9.2
File transfer (9)
7.8
Instant message (5)
8.6
Secure remote access with Smart Card authentication (4)
9.0
Access to sleeping/powered-off computers (8)
8.8
Over-the-Internet remote session (17)
8.8
Initiate remote control from mobile (16)
8.8
Remote management of servers & workstations (16)
7.3
Remote Active Directory® management (5)
9.3
Centralized management dashboard (9)
8.1
Session record (6)
8.5
Annotations (5)
8.4
Monitoring and Alerts (5)
9.2
Multi-platform remote control (12)
8.8

What is Chrome Remote Desktop?

Chrome Remote Desktop from Google is a cross-platform remote administration and remote desktop tool that requires the Chrome browser and an extension.
Categories:  Remote Desktop

Chrome Remote Desktop Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Chrome Remote Desktop?

Chrome Remote Desktop from Google is a cross-platform remote administration and remote desktop tool that requires the Chrome browser and an extension.

What is Chrome Remote Desktop's best feature?

Reviewers rate Remote Active Directory® management highest, with a score of 9.3.

Who uses Chrome Remote Desktop?

The most common users of Chrome Remote Desktop are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.