Chrome Remote Desktop Reviews

97 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

Isabella Houghton | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 06, 2020

The easiest form of remote control.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Chrome Remote Desktop is perfect software for those who want to have a remote connection without complicated installations. It seems to me that the extension should be installed on all the devices the user has so that he can access them all from one way.performance.
Read Isabella Houghton's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2020

Excellent free option, but you'll get more with a paid subscription.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For a simple remote access solution, Chrome Remote Desktop is an ideal option. It's easy to set up, connects pretty reliably, and lets you work as if you're sitting at the remote PC. If you need a more robust solution to access/support multiple machines, use multiple monitors, transfer files easily, or need to turn machines on and off remotely, you may want to look elsewhere.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

Can't beat it for free!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We have 59 sites, and if our normal remote connection software cannot connect to a machine due to a broken trust relationship, as long as it has internet connectivity you can connect and take care of any issues that are preventing connection. For us, this has been a great side product to use (especially since it is free) because our organization utilizes Google.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

A good backup option and free alternative

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's great as a home connection tool, or as backup access for users that need an alternative to terminal services. If you have users with Chromebooks, it was traditionally the only realistic option, but with the Play store, this doesn't hold as true.
Read this authenticated review
Allen Shapiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

Chrome Remote Desktop enables you to view all your PCs at once

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Chrome Remote Desktop is great for accessing remote computers and allows you to work off of your Office PC wherever you are. I run jobs on multiple PCs and use remote desktop to access all of them. I have 3 additional PCs in my office and use Remote Desktop to access them as it removes the need for additional monitors and keyboards.
Read Allen Shapiro's full review
Maurice Samuels | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Chrome Remote Desktop is better than most

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Running a large database replication job from a central location, where multiple parties can monitor progress, is very well handled by Chrome Remote Desktop.
Moving data from public to private networks and vice versa is not well handled and is too risky for adoption at this time.
Chrome Remote Desktop's transportability is well done also since it works cross-platform.
Read Maurice Samuels's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

A remote desktop solution that is easy to use, and very cost effective

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is well suited in cases where your company/organization is looking for a low/no cost remote desktop solution, or is looking for something that can be used by most anyone right away. Most organizations don't want things to be too complex, especially with a remote desktop solution, which is generally not very complex software to begin with. It would be less appropriate in cases where the company/organization has already purchased licensing for a commercial product, and/or has been heavily using a commercial product for some time.
Read this authenticated review
Ravinder Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2019

Best cross-platform remote sharing tool on the market

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Chrome Remote Desktop is very good for seeking remote assistance among colleagues. Make sure you don't leave your device unattended while sharing access. You can also use it to control your devices from one another. I love to be able to control my computer from the comfort of my phone.
Read Ravinder Gupta's full review
Brock Bruce | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2018

Chrome Remote Desktops reduces costs!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It works really well a Mac environment and helps us with people not that familiar with computers needing work done on their desktops at a different location.
Read Brock Bruce's full review
Ho'omana Nathan Horton | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2018

Clean, lightweight, FREE remote desktop program for multiple platforms

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Chrome Remote Desktop is great for accessing machines remotely which cannot be accessed via Microsoft's Remote Desktop. It's especially nice for accessing machines of varying operating systems from a machine of a single operating system. For example, if I'm on my Windows laptop, I can always use Microsoft Remote Desktop to connect to local machines (or machines via a VPN), but I can't do the same with Macs. I can do both from Chrome Remote Desktop though, and this program is very lightweight, which is nice.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
Dustin Blad | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 28, 2017

Google Chrome - Free, if you can handle it.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

  1. Ok for small companies they may use one Google account to share.
  2. Perfect for personal use to connect from work to home to be able to access documents or programs.
  3. I like being able to use my Google account for security. Fewer passwords I have to remember, and combination with duo auth.
  4. Lightweight and secure.
Read Dustin Blad's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2017

The Perfect Remote Support Tool for your Chrome Devices!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Chrome Remote Desktop is a great tool to use when needing to quickly connect to a remote device for troubleshooting or visibility into a problem occurring on the remote device. The tool allows you to connect immediately with only an internet connection and directly to your device. For Multiple device deployments this is a perfect tool that provides line-of-site into all your devices and allows you to ensure their in working order.

For scenarios that you'd like to transfer and pass back and fourth control, Chrome Remote Desktop wouldn't be the tool to use - there are other robust remote support tools that can do this, but at a higher cost for licensing.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2017

Great app for desktop remote control!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

When you are away from your computer and you need full access to your desktop. Especially useful for when there is an app that is only supported on Desktop and not a mobile version.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Screen sharing (15)
9.1
File transfer (8)
7.6
Instant message (4)
8.0
Secure remote access with Smart Card authentication (3)
8.7
Access to sleeping/powered-off computers (7)
8.0
Over-the-Internet remote session (16)
8.7
Initiate remote control from mobile (15)
8.6
Remote management of servers & workstations (15)
7.0
Remote Active Directory® management (4)
8.9
Centralized management dashboard (8)
7.8
Session record (5)
7.5
Annotations (4)
7.8
Monitoring and Alerts (4)
9.0
Multi-platform remote control (11)
8.4

About Chrome Remote Desktop

Chrome Remote Desktop from Google is a cross-platform remote administration and remote desktop tool that requires the Chrome browser and an extension.
Categories:  Remote Desktop

Chrome Remote Desktop Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No