Chrome Sign Builder

Chrome Sign Builder

Customer Verified
Score 7.7 out of 10
Chrome Sign Builder

Overview

What is Chrome Sign Builder?

Chrome Sign Builder, from Google, is a digital signage utility that allows users to schedule and display content across managed Chrome devices and networks, built to make it easy to show web content content such as restaurant menus, images, and...
Read more

Recent Reviews

Inevitable System!

9 out of 10
July 24, 2022
Google Chrome Sign Builders allows me to put seamless and hustle-free calendar invites with URL links, which help me most when setting up …
Continue reading

Content master.

6 out of 10
July 21, 2022
Chrome Sign Builder helped us in scheduling and displaying content information during team meetings and when the team came across to …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Chrome Sign Builder, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Chrome Sign Builder?

Chrome Sign Builder, from Google, is a digital signage utility that allows users to schedule and display content across managed Chrome devices and networks, built to make it easy to show web content content such as restaurant menus, images, and YouTube videos and playlists–as well as Google…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

1 person want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is PosterMyWall?

PosterMyWall in San Mateo offers their digital marketing technology, providing graphics and templates for users to deploy across social media in posts or via digital signage (e.g. menus).

What is truDigital?

truDigital Signage is a cloud-based digital signage platform.

Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Chrome Sign Builder?

Chrome Sign Builder, from Google, is a digital signage utility that allows users to schedule and display content across managed Chrome devices and networks, built to make it easy to show web content content such as restaurant menus, images, and YouTube videos and playlists–as well as Google Presentations, which can be edited by anyone who has access to the presentation.

Chrome Sign Builder Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

 (42)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 26)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Rakesh Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Using Chrome Sign Builder, we schedule and display content across the managed Chrome devices.
  • We can schedule file.
  • We also schedule a video.
  • Streamline workflow.
  • It should be free with full features.
  • Need to improve the performance.
  • Overall Productivity.
It is free, but it has minimal features. There is no way to configure the transition time to be the same on all slides, so it takes forever for a 50-slide presentation, where some slides require 7 seconds, and others need only 2-3.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Chrome Sign Builder allows us to create up-to-date digital signage across Chrome devices for our retail store. We leverage the scheduling features to display relevant content based on specific situations and the time of day. It is easy to deploy and update, simplifying the technology process for a smaller retail operation.
  • Easy to install and set up.
  • Clear user interface and instructions.
  • Allows for quick updates and implementation.
  • Limited to Chrome OS devices.
  • Sometimes have to reboot browser for extension to work properly.
Chrome Sign Builder is excellent for communicating up-to-date information to customers. In our retail setting, it can be used for featuring specific products, displaying our events calendar, or looping relevant content on devices throughout the store. It would also be excellent for a restaurant to use for menus. The downside is that it is utilized through a browser extension and requires an internet connection to implement and make updates on Chrome only devices.
Kendal Droddy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I used Google Chrome sign builder while doing some recent freelance work for a technical recruiting company. They had recently built a new, and very nice office building. The new office was split into several sections including large conference rooms, the entrance and waiting area, and the actual office space where the recruiters worked. Each had dozens of devices, some of which were being used to display contextual signage based on where they were in the building. This is where Chrome sign builder came into play - creating and managing signage to be displayed throughout the building.
  • Ease of scheduling signage
  • Integration with Chrome tools such as Google Slides
  • Familiar interface if already experience with Google software
  • Despite its name I found it easier to create my actual signage elsewhere, then use Sign Builder for scheduling
  • Does require a base level of technical know-how - not as approachable as other tools may be
  • As device count grows, management may become a bit cumbersome
Google Chrome Sign Builder is ideal in a limited scope, such as an office building with five to ten screens to display signage on and manage. This was the specific use case I used the tool for and I had good success. But I can see at higher device counts, that require more varied signage, other tools may be more efficient. It is also ideal if you already have the sign content and mainly need to setup the scheduling.
Grant Tomey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Chrome Sign Builder helps to keep our organization's schedules consistent across devices. Regardless of where they are located or what device they are using to access the schedule. For our business, we use Chrome Sign Builder to create visually engaging schedules that are easily accessed from anywhere, on any device.
  • Intuitive.
  • Organized.
  • Linked across platforms.
  • Not as well known.
  • Not as widely utilized.
Chrome Sign Builder makes scheduling more consistent by providing access across multiple platforms and devices. It is less appropriate if there is no access to the internet.
mitchelle carter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Chrome Sign Builder to easily schedule content for a given time and specified days or even indefinite days. Just by entering the URLs for the content we want to display. We also use it to show our google slide presentations which can be changed at the URLs whenever we want to change them without necessarily reconfiguring schedules. It gives us a visual of upcoming events and even announcements.
  • Content is easily scheduled .
  • Allows anyone with access to presentations and content to Edit.
  • It is easy to set up and use.
  • Changing content could be made easier.
  • It does not have a monitoring tool.
  • Has limited building tools and is majorly for scheduling rather than digital signage
Chrome Sign Builder is a powerful content scheduler that schedules web content including google slide presentations to be shown on Chrome OS devices. It is a reliable tool that can be easily managed and it is also free. It is not perfect for a lot of digital signage requirements since it has few capabilities.
Edger Loredo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Chrome Sign Builder capabilities are effective on and the features are responsive to different user commands. The ability to manage documents for multiple projects through Chrome Sign Builder is excellent and a perfect system that allows easy data migration across other compatible platforms. The reporting tools are also the best and the workflow and easy management of this software are excellent.
  • Powerful and easy features to set.
  • Effective functions for insights collections.
  • Categorization and dorms management.
  • Not much that i can recall, but to implement as a new user can be turf.
  • Migration of multiple document.
  • Handling big files from multiple projects.
Chrome Sign Builder's capability on signs management and ease to preview multiple documents and files is incredible and the speed of the features is very profitable. The platform offers the best data analytics features and reporting functionalities which allows easy creation of reports from different events and projects. The ability to manage forms and files arrangement through the software is excellent.
July 24, 2022

Inevitable System!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Google Chrome Sign Builders allows me to put seamless and hustle-free calendar invites with URL links, which help me most when setting up a client or personal meetings as well, also the configuration that will help you link through such Images, and YouTube accounts is also very helpful for me since I am a type of a working person wants to listen to music while doing a report or a task. Mainly it helps me stay on track with my tasks, appointments, meetings, etc.
  • Calendar appointment setting.
  • Google presentations which you can have a restricted access for privacy.
  • YouTube Sync video Playlist.
  • Maybe can add monitoring tools for better usage.
  • Upgrade in digital signage.
  • More sync apps for better usage.
It's Free and accessible and easy to manage, especially for a beginner. Very helpful for me to set calendar invites and meetings, especially at this time mostly using virtual meetings. And maybe it will be more helpful if it has a feature that has a one-pager that can see or access all views at a time, it is useful for multitasking times.
July 22, 2022

Chrome Sign Builder

Thomas Baker, CFE, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We used the product so that we could use an ad campaign to attract potential employees and let them know about the opportunities that are present at our company. We used the sign builder in all areas that we currently have offices as well as what we would consider emerging markets
  • Ease of use
  • Scheduling made extremely easy
  • Affordability
  • Sometimes looks a bit too basic
  • Split screen is difficult to use
  • Device support should be expanded
It was well suited for us as we were easily able to upload our marketing material
and make the changes to use the sign in the appropriate way. It may be less appropriate if you do not have this readily available and would need to build from scratch in the app
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
This tool allows us to distribute content across the network of managed Chrome devices that will be displayed according to the schedules. You may see a preview of the content that will appear on the digital signs using Chrome Sign Builder. While Chrome Sign Builder can be downloaded and installed on the Chrome device where it will be used, doing so on a different computer will make deployment easier.
  • Schedule Content Display
  • Show web content
  • Presentations can be edited by the persons with access
  • Manage devices
  • Reconfigure schedule
  • More additional contents on the builders
The Google Chrome Sign Builder is perfectly suited for displaying web information throughout your network of managed Chrome devices, including Google Presentations, which anyone with access to that presentation may or can change anything to it, restaurant menus, photos, and YouTube movies and playlists and so on can be put or included in the content that you scheduled to display.
July 21, 2022

Content master.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Chrome Sign Builder helped us in scheduling and displaying content information during team meetings and when the team came across to discuss a certain topic. As we used Google slides to create the PPTs, it helped us in displaying that as well in an easy and convenient manner to a wider audience.
  • To show the PPT's created using Google slides.
  • For providing product information and current sales of a particular product.
  • Update about the playlist : audio & video both.
  • As it is majorly used for content scheduling, if there is any gap in your content, the audience will see "no content received." This is something we do not expect to happen in front of our customers.
  • It should be web accessible so that the content I upload don't go public.
  • The application is difficult to use for a first time user.
Best suited for small & mid-sized organizations.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Getting Chrome Sign Builder set up was initially a little complicated than anticipated, but now that it's up and running we are happy with the software. Using Chrome Sign Builder with a Chromebit, attached to a monitor, and Google Workspace. We didn't know until after purchasing the Chromebit that we needed a separate Chrome OS License.
  • Free
  • Works well with Google Workspace
  • Easy to use
  • Limited functionality
  • Presentations can be slow
  • Better updates
This app has been serving us well as signage for about 10 TVs in our district, but since OS 69 was released, it has had issues with freezing and locking up. We are running this on Chrome Bits attached directly to the TVs. We had zero issues before they updated to Chrome OS 69.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I recently made ci/cd pipelines with AWS codepipeline where it will auodeploy the new youtube videos as soon as i put the link in my next push so there with the help of chrome sign builder i automated the release time and date where and when to broadcast the videos live or private on youtube so thats how this product help me complete my project
  • schedule YouTube videos and playlists
  • Use Chrome Sign Builder to display menus. For example, to show menus for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, create 3 schedules. Each schedule has its own menu URL to display the menu content.
  • create a presentation using Google Slides and display it using Chrome Sign Builder.
  • When you publish the presentation, set it to start as soon as it loads and restart again after the last slide.
  • UI interface
  • Network configurations to support more on diff cloud providers
  • increase of security issues
July 19, 2022

Chrome Sign Builder

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Chrome Sign Builder shows content such as images, videos, and slides which can be edited by anyone who has access to them. It is affordable, reliable & versatile. It can be used on Chrome devices which are very reliable, rugged, high-performance driven & inexpensive. These devices can be used to meet a variety of different signage needs.
  • Online Presentations - We can have displays run a Google Display presentation & we can alter options such as slide change & display cycle.
  • YouTube Playlists: It can easily organize videos as needed into categorized playlists.
  • Retail Displays: The Chrome devices are used to communicate sales or for product information. These displays can easily be managed from the Chrome Device Management console.
  • It’s primarily a content scheduler than a sign builder.
  • Managing content is cumbersome in my opinion.
  • There is no monitoring tool available to monitor it.
If digital signage needs are simple, then Chrome Sign Builder is reliable and easy to use. It is best used as a content scheduler. It is a versatile tool that is easy to manage. If you have any gaps in content scheduling, the audience will see “no content scheduled”. Otherwise, It is affordable, reliable & versatile.
July 19, 2022

Chrome Sign Builder

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It allows us to deliver content to our displays throughout the company and it also allows us to put a schedule for displaying things as well. It solves the issue of feeding information to our relative departments in the media industry which can be magazines, horse racing, greyhound racing, football information, and news bulletins.
  • Delivers content from URL's
  • Delivers Content on a schedule
  • Easy and quick learning curve
  • The publishing could be a little better, it can be problematic and you may need a small amount of experience to make sure you don't run into issues.
Very easy to use, what you see is what you get. You add your content to the collections and then set schedules for your collections and you can also set a default for when you don't have anything scheduled.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
This Chrome Sign Builder plugin is really very helpful when it comes to showing multiple contents. It helps me to save time by scheduling tasks over multiple devices at once. It is very easy in configure and helps me to run my work smoothly.
  • Allow to schedule tasks for different devices.
  • Very easy to import schedules.
  • While using the sign builder I often faced sync issue with other devices.
  • In some devices it shows the title bar button at Full-screen that is very annoying.
  • Sometime it crashes my browser.
It allows me to set up the presentation very easily and you can change the transition time as per your need.
Allen Eshmoili | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I wanted to create a display /slide show for my waiting room and am not tech savvy at all so I thought this would be simple to deploy, but I had trouble with it. I think I am missing a component but haven't been able to figure this app out.
  • Not sure
  • Difficult to deploy
  • May need other components
  • Simple to use instructions
  • Video guide to deploy
  • Tech support
I am a very big fan of the entire Google Chrome ecosystem, but this app let me down. I thought it would be easy to deploy but I couldn't get it going. I think I'm missing something., but not sure what. I hope there is some sort of tech support or guide to help a user get started easier.
Tom Phillips | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I have used it for clients to display their restaurant menus. The idea was to give users a quick glance at menu options including product photos, prices, and descriptions. This menu was displayed on a display inside the restaurant giving the business the ability to quickly make changes to copies and photos which were costly using other forms of media.
  • Good at scheduling
  • Runs well on all ChromeOS devices
  • Chrome Boxes are relatively inexpensive
  • It could be easier to make updates.
  • It would be nice if there were templates to use.
  • There should be some way to monitor and generate reports.
Whether or not this is a good solution depends highly upon your use case. If you have a sign that is nearby and easily monitored visually because it's in a place where the business can see it, that's great no issues. However, if the sign is off-site, it may not be a good option because there's no way to monitor for uptime. One thing that the software does exceedingly well is scheduling various content to be displayed at different times.
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We run a mid-sized social organization with multiple facilities/areas that can be reserved or used by members and guests. Previously we used posted paper calendars to track, maintain, and communicate reservations and free times for those facilities. By using Chrome Sign Builder we hoped to be able to manage updates and make them dynamic, ensuring consistency between what is published on our web calendars and what is posted on printed calendars.
  • Makes changes to our reservation system dynamic.
  • Informs users of free and reserved times when they arrive.
  • Reduces conflict because one person relied on a web calendar and another relied on a posted calendar.
  • I feel that Chrome Sign Builder lacks inherent stability when version changes come out to the basic operating system.
  • Chrome Sign Builder does not have a high priority within the Google enterprise, and updates and bug fixes are slower than slow.
  • In my opinion, Chrome Sign Builder does not do particularly well in displaying multiple resources at one glance.
Chrome Sign Builder seems to work best when only one or two resources are displayed. Rotating through multiple screens in slideshow format without a ready ability to advance and pause causes some problems. When scheduling five outdoor ranges and a clubhouse, individuals have to stand and watch as sometimes complex calendars scroll by focusing on specific data and time. On the other hand, when limited to one or two rouses, the system works well enough.
Chrome Sign Builder is pretty much a learn on your own and support yourself option. There is precious little by way of assistance offered by Google for the product, and responses to reports of bugs and even updates are painfully slow in coming if they come at all. If you are an IT guru, this may be ok. If you are not prepared to fend for yourself, then keep looking.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We used Sign Builder in the past for presenting Google Slides. We needed something more efficient than trying to handle everything by ourselves, and it gave us a good centralized location to contain items that could be accessed/edited by multiple people. It was also free, which of course, fed into our decision.
  • No cost.
  • Decently easy to manage once you've beaten the learning curve.
  • Good for content scheduling.
  • No monitoring tool.
  • Can be difficult to manage all of the content.
  • I don't know if I would necessarily call this a sign builder - more of a content manager, if anything.
It was well suited for signage close by. We did notice that there were more issues with remote signage since there is no monitoring tool. It also seems to not be created to handle kiosk mode which is what we run most of our business applications on, so this was a bit of an issue. It seems like a good starter program, but there are better ones out there.
July 19, 2022

Signage Matters

Ashish Dharia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Tittle Visa used this digital signage utility for sharing and displaying its media signage content on various android and other digital operating systems .There was a lots of digital signages which were required for their website and for the teams to get a continous preview of the content for approval was a major requirement.
  • signage creation
  • scheduling
  • building capablities are limited
  • more designing features required
Chrome signage builders is very helpful where an organization needs a versatile and rugged tool for free for quick creation of their signages . The pre built templates are quick , easy and helpful to use, ideal for small businesses with budget constraints. The signage creator though is not very useful where more complex signages with more flexible creativity and much animation is required.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I have used Chrome Sign Builder on and off for the past couple of years for digital signs. I decided to try it because it can run a Google Display presentation automatically. Our organization uses the software mainly to communicate general information or to advertise upcoming events or workshops to the business community.
  • The product is free, so that's always a bonus!
  • Setup is easy and simple
  • Can schedule and display content across entire Chrome network
  • While the software is free, it is very limited in functionality.
  • In my opinion, Google hasn't done well maintaining the software, so there are a lot of bugs. Would like to see more of Google's resources dedicated to the software.
  • Would like better transitions between slides in the presentations
Chrome Sign Builder is free, which is great but also limited in functionality. It works well for simple digital signs, and this is what I primarily use it for at my organization. Google has not done much to maintain the software, so there are some bugs to work through. However, this seems to be the case with just about any software we use. I like that the content can be easily edited by everyone with access to the digital sign. Overall, Google could do better.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Chrome Sign Builder is a digital signage utility that helps me in planning the day-to-day syncs properly and in chronological order so that there is no miss or chance of escaping the same. Based on my usage it shows all the relevant things which can be accessed easily and without any hassle.
  • Systematic order
  • Proper sync
  • Chronological sequence
  • Single search also creates history to repeat
  • Too much data at micro level storage
  • Multiple options
Based on my experience Chrome Sign Builder has helped in drafting the marketing packages based on the relevant searches. This is a software that works like macros of Excel which will by default store similar data or matched data as per the previous history and reflects the necessary plus additional information to the user.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We utilize Chome Sign Builder to display digital content, typically internal advertising, at all of our locations. It allows us to quickly and simply display current promotions or upcoming events to all of our customers and sometimes our staff as well. Chrome Sign Builder makes it easy for our marketing department to update and display content with minimal setup from the IT department.
  • Schedules
  • Fair pricing.
  • Easy deployment on multiple devices.
  • Customization of the default deployment of the content has to be done with JSON.
  • Extended support for older Chrome OS devices.
  • Aging Chrome Apps is set to end of life, and a replacement will be needed.
If you are looking for an inexpensive, set-and-forget digital signage solution and your content isn't customized often, Chome Sign Builder is a win. It is easy to set up, includes multiple identity providers, and its Kiosk mode makes displaying the content a breeze on many different supported devices. It also doesn't require much maintenance, so if your team is small, it's a perfect fit.
Support can be sparse, lengthy wait times, and sometimes not the most helpful solutions. If you really need assistance using it - contacting your VAR is a better bet than using Chrome Sign Builder support. We have also had frustrating cases where support will close tickets without a solution.
July 19, 2022

Google Rocks!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Being mostly Google-based chrome sign builder made a lot of sense for our business in helping create the e-branding that was so important to us. Although there were different suggestions that we were given, we wanted to try out Google firstly because it was free and because we are familiar with the Google business suite.
  • Digital Signage.
  • Branding.
  • Scheduling.
  • Meetings.
  • Extra Features.
  • Accessibility to customization.
  • Personal branding.
Really great if you use the Google suite, which is virtually everywhere today. Anything google plays very well with the pre-configured business page on google, so if you are looking for something to get up and running quickly, I will pick google first. If you are a larger company and have a very specific use case in mind, you might want to look elsewhere if the customization isn't up to your liking, but I think it should be well-suited for just about everyone.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Chrome Sign Builder from Google is a free tool and serves as a teaser for the digital signage sector. We can schedule web content to appear on Chrome OS devices using the Chrome Sign Builder (Chromebook, Chromebox, Chromebit, and Chromebase). Chrome Sign Builder offers various features such as monitoring and reporting, offline working through caching, widgets, templates, and other options.
  • Content scheduling
  • Showing web content that can be edited easily by anyone who has access to the sign
  • Showing presentations created with Google Slides
  • May need to add a content monitoring tool
  • Google can use a more visual approach to simplify more complex layouts
  • Ability to manage large content
When you publish a Google Slides presentation online, the screen will automatically refresh as new information is added or removed. When working with this scenario, longer documents that can't be displayed on a single screen are less appropriate to work.
Return to navigation