CircleCI

CircleCI

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.5 out of 100
CircleCI

Overview

Recent Reviews

CircleCI Review

7 out of 10
February 03, 2020
We use CircleCI as an independent part of our continuous integration testing process, which handles both automated building and testing …
Continue reading

CircleCI is awesome

9 out of 10
December 10, 2018
We're using CircleCI to run continuous integration for both front-end and back-end components for a SaaS application. It's linked to a …
Continue reading

Automation done right

8 out of 10
April 30, 2018
In our company, we develop our financial product atop the Salesforce platform. We have extensive unit test coverage that is required by …
Continue reading

CI done right

7 out of 10
April 10, 2018
In our Marketing firm when we started developing custom applications for our clients, we needed a robust continuous integration and …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of CircleCI, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Free

$0

Cloud
per month

Performance

$30

Cloud
per month

Server

$35

Cloud
per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is CircleCI?

CircleCI in San Francisco offers an eponymous build automation platform.

CircleCI Video

CircleCI Overview

CircleCI Integrations

CircleCI Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

CircleCI in San Francisco offers an eponymous build automation platform.

Reviewers rate Performance highest, with a score of 7.8.

The most common users of CircleCI are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees) and the Internet industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews and Ratings

 (45)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-24 of 24)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
February 03, 2020

CircleCI Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CircleCI when we need a good, independent CI/CD provider in an existing workflow. That said, we've begun investing more heavily in GitHub actions as it's closer to where our code is stored. CircleCI is a feature of a workflow, and can be filled by many different service providers; it's much more important to use one that fits well in your workflow than to choose one specifically before understanding the problem.
Sagiv Frankel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CircleCI is a sass product which means you don't need to maintain your own servers. This can also be a negative as you are dependent on their service. This also means you can't ssh into a machine to see what went wrong like you can with Jenkins. However for most users this isn't needed and CircleCI's SLA is fine and there is a lot of community info on the internet to solve issues you might be having.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CircleCI seemed to have a quicker setup than other similar products, with a good integration with GitHub repos. Projects are quick and easy to set up within the UI, and workflows can then be created off the back of those fairly intuitively. Clever interpretation of commit messages can also be used to skip jobs during setup when needed.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CircleCI is the company that is innovating compared to the other ones. I think it's a great piece of software compared to other open source options that don't have as much functionality and improved capability over time.
Dillon Welch | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
While the UI on CircleCI is not my favorite, it's leagues better than Travis CI. I really like Heroku CI much better, but the functionality is much more limited there. If Heroku CI had the same functionality as CircleCI, I probably wouldn't use CircleCI.
John Grosjean | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins and Teamcity both have additional features that maybe you require, but they are also a lot more work to get set up and working. There's a much longer learning curve to getting these configured for a simple build. They're not hosted, so you have to maintain the infrastructure and scale yourself. They're both good products if you require more than CircleCI, but if not, skip the extra headache and go with something simple like CircleCI.
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CircleCI does a lot of what we need it to do; however, I believe Jenkins is a better Continuous Integration tool. Jenkins has more capabilities and integrations. In addition, Jenkins is a much more widely used tool, which means more developers are familiar with it and have experience using it. This translates to quicker development and a faster/better ROI.
December 10, 2018

CircleCI is awesome

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Not having to manage / deal with a Jenkins server is fantastic. I don't have much personally against Jenkins. I've set up and run a Jenkins server before. It's just complexity that doesn't really have much to do with the business beyond getting our software to our customers. My time is better spent on our core value, hence why having CI/CD as a service is such a great value.
September 28, 2017

A great CI/CD alternative

Yasmany Cubela Medina | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Since CircleCI gave us its infrastructure we don't have to worry about servers, provisioning and maintenance. Also CircleCI provides us great features to increase speed of builds by adding more containers to the build. Jenkins is the best open source alternative but it requires you to manage it.
Valeri Karpov | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is usually self-hosted, Travis CI's infrastructure is largely unreliable (lots of tests time out for no discernable reason), and Semaphore encourages you to configure your CI/CD from a web UI. We like CircleCI because its hosted, our tests run largely as expected on their infrastructure, and we can configure it from a config file that we track in GitHub.
Gregory Ratner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For us it really came down to CricleCI being the fastest and simples tool to get started with. The GitHub integration is slick and seamless and the scripting config file allowed us to configure our entire build system, including tests, in less than a day. It's very light weight and effective.
Paul Hepworth | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Circle was the first CI with simple setup, great documentation, and tight integration with GitHub. Using Jenkins was too much maintenance and overhead, TeamCity was limited in how we could customize it and run concurrent builds, TravisCI was not available for private repos when we switched.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Travis has full YML configuration in areas where CircleCI is slightly lacking still, which is great, but CircleCI offers more features, settings, and potential performance.

Codeship is simpler to use, you can use it entirely from their UI without modifying your Git repository at all. To some, this is important, existing Git repos need to be supported without adding files to them.

For others, and this is our situation, the opposite holds true--we'd rather keep our testing and deployment configuration along with our code in Git than managed somewhere separate. I believe this is a better approach in the long-term, especially when managing a large number of projects.

It also means most of our team members don't need to be in the CircleCI interface at all, possibly ever. They get added to the team, someone turns deployments on in CircleCI for the project, and then everyone can collaborate on making changes to the configuration, relying on Git's excellent merging abilities, rather than having multiple people potentially in the UI modifying configuration simultaneously, potentially reverting each others' changes.
Dmitry Sadovnychyi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Travis CI is great for open source projects – it's completely free, but CircleCI offers some support for closed projects as well. CircleCI has cheaper pricing plans, and you are able to customize them as much as you want. At Travis CI you can select only a predefined amount of concurrent jobs (2, 5, 10, etc.) while on CircleCI you can type your own number at a fixed price of $50 per container.
Andrew Shell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I had used Travis CI in some of my open source projects. However, it was too expensive for us so I looked for an alternative that was in our budget. Scrutinizer is also very useful, but also out of our budget. When we get larger I could see myself using Scrutinizer for quality tests, but I'd probably keep CircleCI for running unit tests and doing deployments.
January 12, 2017

Fast and Easy CI

Austin Riendeau | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I think these three tools are just as good as the other except that Travis CI supports mobile a lot better but price wise, CircleCI is the best that I have found and is supports the need for a startup. For a long while, CircleCI had Docker support before Codeship but now, Codeship has support for it as well.