CircleCI Reviews

40 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 25)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 12, 2020
Stephen Groat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

CircleCI is a strong SaaS-based CI product that enables testing in the cloud. The YAML-based configuration system allows individual developers to test CI/CD changes and push changes effectively and quickly. The variety of different platforms that are supported allows multiple people to centralize on a single solution to avoid spread to other products.
Read Stephen Groat's full review
February 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use CircleCI as an independent part of our continuous integration testing process, which handles both automated building and testing our software projects, as well as with our deployment pipelines to power constant delivery efforts. We use CircleCI because their environment is exceptionally customizable and generally reliable for our needs. There is also a generous free tier.
Read this authenticated review
January 27, 2020
Sagiv Frankel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use CircleCI for most of our development workflows. Building, testing and deploying. We use it across most teams and departments.
It integrated nicely with GitHub and we are able to validate every change on every branch before merging and automatically deploying to production. I use it for both Ruby and React projects.
Read Sagiv Frankel's full review
November 25, 2019
Javier Cardoso | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At the moment, Circle is used across the company to make continuous integration and continuous delivery for the mobile native applications. Circle went to solve us the problem of have a dynamic and easy-to-use cloud-based continuous integration and delivery for mobile, without the maintenance cost of the resources and using only for the computing use.
Read Javier Cardoso's full review
November 24, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

CircleCI is being used as the main product for continuous integration, continuous delivery software development. It's being used primarily by release management/engineering and software engineering teams. It is solving the problem of needing to build a process around pushing code into production and following a schedule where code is continually deployed.
Read this authenticated review
November 12, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We've used CircleCI for the automation of build and test for smaller scale projects, in combination with another set of tools for continual deployment, hosting and visual testing. CircleCI is a great interface for viewing and managing automated jobs and workflows, and has made the process of CI more accessible for the team as a whole.
Read this authenticated review
August 26, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

CircleCI is being used by my team as a continuous integration / continuous deployment pipeline for code and various other programmatic work. The business problems it addresses is the deployment, testing, and productionization of code supporting our main software engineering functions. Various other teams we work with also go along this pathway and use circle or other tools.
Read this authenticated review
February 20, 2019
John Grosjean | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our SaaS platform has gone to a CI/CD model, and CircleCI is a critical piece in automating the building, testing, and deployment of all non-production environments. Whenever a developer needs to test something, they can trigger a build and either recycle an older dev environment or launch a new dev environment that won't interfere with any other builds. This greatly accelerates the development process, and ensures the code won't have build errors or fail tests when it does get deployed to production.
Read John Grosjean's full review
February 04, 2019
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use CircleCI to allow for continuous integration across all of our software applications and environments. CircleCI allows us to build complex workflows, including steps to run pre-deploy / post-deploy scripts, execute test suites, and send slack notifications. With Circle, we can ensure code that is "broken" doesn't make it's way out, so we can be more confident that we are shipping bug-free code.
Read Gabriel Samaroo's full review
April 10, 2018
heather collins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In our Marketing firm when we started developing custom applications for our clients, we needed a robust continuous integration and delivery solution. We used Apache Jenkins for several years before we made a push towards cloud infrastructure. For that purpose we decided to use Circle CI for testing, building and packaging our code in the Github repository. It is used by our Software development department for continuous integration.
Read heather collins's full review
August 16, 2017
Valeri Karpov | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our Engineering team uses CircleCI to run tests on every commit to GitHub, and deploy to development and production environments depending on which branch the tests were run on. Standard use case for CI/CD. CircleCI integrates tightly with GitHub to run our tests, linter, etc. automatically for every pull request and every time we merge to development and master branches.
Read Valeri Karpov's full review
August 07, 2017
Jason Crawford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're an early-stage startup, and we use CircleCI to run automated tests in the cloud. In the early days, developers ran tests locally on their own development machines, but as the test suite grew, it simply took too much time. Running tests in the cloud lets us parallelize, so an hour's long test suite can run in minutes.
Read Jason Crawford's full review
March 30, 2017
Paul Hepworth | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use CircleCi as an integral to our continuous delivery pipeline across engineering. Using Circle allows us to focus on our application development. The concurrency of builds helps us split out our test suite across 15 different slices. Tight integration with GitHub allows us to easily integrate into pull request checks. While there are occasional hiccups there are way fewer problems than any other CI tool we've used in the past and we've used several different ones. Support is also pretty responsive and it's apparent that Circle is continuing to improve their product.
Read Paul Hepworth's full review
March 30, 2017
Ben McClure | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

CircleCI is being used by our organization for continual integration and automated deployment of Drupal and WordPress websites to Pantheon, among many other smaller CI jobs. It is used entirely by our Development and DevOps team members. It allows us to commit a simple config file to Git that controls the way that our software gets deployed, making the tedious job of deploying changes for hundreds of websites regularly much simpler.
Read Ben McClure's full review
September 28, 2017
Yasmany Cubela Medina | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Continuous integration and continuous delivery are two of our main pillars to deliver a successful experience to our end users. So CircleCI is a key piece in this chain for automating this process and flows from earlier development stages to QA, staging and production environments. [It is also used for] Maintaining our infrastructure and cluster health with cleaning and scale tasks.
Read Yasmany Cubela Medina's full review
January 18, 2017
Jake Mercurio | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're using CircleCI to run our suite of unit tests for a few projects (we handle end-to-end testing separately). We love that it auto-runs tests on git commits, runs our tests in parallel containers, and is configured with a simple YAML file. The UX is super clean and easy to debug when things go wrong. We're part of their beta program and they have some great features coming down the product pipeline that addresses our few headaches like their lack of support for "docker exec" (you have to use lxc-attach) and old Ubuntu containers.

We use this product every day and we're pretty happy with it.
Read Jake Mercurio's full review
January 13, 2017
Micah Hausler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We initially implemented it for automated testing of all our private repositories, and have been overall very happy with it. We looked at using it for our open source projects, but due to the fact that it doesn't support build matrices, we ended up going with Travis CI for public projects.
Read Micah Hausler's full review
January 12, 2017
Andrew Shell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're a software as a service (SaaS) business. We're using CircleCI in our development team. Every time we push a change to GitHub it runs our unit tests and if the push was to our staging or production branches, CircleCI triggers a deployment to that environment. If the tests fail I'm sent an e-mail and the deployments only get triggered if the tests pass.
Read Andrew Shell's full review
January 12, 2017
Austin Riendeau | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use Circle CI for continuous integration and delivery. It runs all of the tests and builds before our code ever sees production. It also notifies GitHub before we merge the code. I also utilize the use of Docker which Circle CI supports fully and makes running clean builds easier.
Read Austin Riendeau's full review
March 31, 2017
Gregory Ratner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use CircleCI for continuous integration and deployment at Troops. It builds all of our feature branches (PRs) as well as our major branches and automatically triggers deployments to both QA and production environments. We also run unit and integration tests as well as code coverage in CircleCI. It is primarily used by the Engineering team.
Read Gregory Ratner's full review
September 06, 2016
Ken Yee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

CircleCI was used to handle the build process for Raizlabs' Android, iOS, and web applications. It was used by the entire organization except for Xamarin apps which we built on our internal build server using Mac Minis that were unfortunately also used for videoconferencing. Using CircleCI let us outsource the management of the build servers so we didn't have to worry about them running out of space or slowing down videoconferencing.
Read Ken Yee's full review
December 09, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're using CircleCI to run continuous integration for both front-end and back-end components for a SaaS application. It's linked to a popular source code repository which makes integration quite easy.

Overall, the experience has been fantastic. We're a small firm, and no need for the paid plan yet. But have successfully used the tool to bootstrap for the time being. The communities are quite helpful, even for those who don't have a paid plan for premium support. Would heartily recommend to colleagues.
Read this authenticated review
April 30, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In our company, we develop our financial product atop the Salesforce platform. We have extensive unit test coverage that is required by Salesforce to be able to list our product in their App store. To manage our software development process we needed a robust continuous integration and delivery solution. We used Atlassian Bamboo for several years before we made a push towards cloud integration using Circle CI. Circle CI is used for testing, building and packaging our code in the Github repo. It is used by our development department for continuous integration needs.
Read this authenticated review

What is CircleCI?

CircleCI in San Francisco offers an eponymous build automation platform.
Categories:  Build Automation

CircleCI Video

CircleCI Overview

CircleCI Integrations

CircleCI Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free$0per month
Performance$30per month
ScaleCustom Pricing
Server$35per month

CircleCI Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is CircleCI?

CircleCI in San Francisco offers an eponymous build automation platform.

What is CircleCI's best feature?

Reviewers rate Performance highest, with a score of 7.9.

Who uses CircleCI?

The most common users of CircleCI are from Small Businesses and the Internet industry.