CircleCI

CircleCI

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.5 out of 100
CircleCI

Overview

Recent Reviews

CircleCI Review

7 out of 10
February 03, 2020
We use CircleCI as an independent part of our continuous integration testing process, which handles both automated building and testing …
Continue reading

CircleCI is awesome

9 out of 10
December 10, 2018
We're using CircleCI to run continuous integration for both front-end and back-end components for a SaaS application. It's linked to a …
Continue reading

Automation done right

8 out of 10
April 30, 2018
In our company, we develop our financial product atop the Salesforce platform. We have extensive unit test coverage that is required by …
Continue reading

CI done right

7 out of 10
April 10, 2018
In our Marketing firm when we started developing custom applications for our clients, we needed a robust continuous integration and …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of CircleCI, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Free

$0

Cloud
per month

Performance

$30

Cloud
per month

Server

$35

Cloud
per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Product Demos

Deploy features sooner with CircleCI
Deploy features sooner with CircleCI
00:51

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is CircleCI?

CircleCI in San Francisco offers an eponymous build automation platform.

CircleCI Video

CircleCI Overview

CircleCI Integrations

CircleCI Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

CircleCI in San Francisco offers an eponymous build automation platform.

Reviewers rate Performance highest, with a score of 7.8.

The most common users of CircleCI are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees) and the Internet industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews and Ratings

 (45)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 25)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
February 03, 2020

CircleCI Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CircleCI as an independent part of our continuous integration testing process, which handles both automated building and testing our software projects, as well as with our deployment pipelines to power constant delivery efforts. We use CircleCI because their environment is exceptionally customizable and generally reliable for our needs. There is also a generous free tier.
Sagiv Frankel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CircleCI for most of our development workflows. Building, testing and deploying. We use it across most teams and departments.
It integrated nicely with GitHub and we are able to validate every change on every branch before merging and automatically deploying to production. I use it for both Ruby and React projects.
Javier Cardoso | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At the moment, Circle is used across the company to make continuous integration and continuous delivery for the mobile native applications. Circle went to solve us the problem of have a dynamic and easy-to-use cloud-based continuous integration and delivery for mobile, without the maintenance cost of the resources and using only for the computing use.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CircleCI is being used as the main product for continuous integration, continuous delivery software development. It's being used primarily by release management/engineering and software engineering teams. It is solving the problem of needing to build a process around pushing code into production and following a schedule where code is continually deployed.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've used CircleCI for the automation of build and test for smaller scale projects, in combination with another set of tools for continual deployment, hosting and visual testing. CircleCI is a great interface for viewing and managing automated jobs and workflows, and has made the process of CI more accessible for the team as a whole.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CircleCI is being used by my team as a continuous integration / continuous deployment pipeline for code and various other programmatic work. The business problems it addresses is the deployment, testing, and productionization of code supporting our main software engineering functions. Various other teams we work with also go along this pathway and use circle or other tools.
John Grosjean | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our SaaS platform has gone to a CI/CD model, and CircleCI is a critical piece in automating the building, testing, and deployment of all non-production environments. Whenever a developer needs to test something, they can trigger a build and either recycle an older dev environment or launch a new dev environment that won't interfere with any other builds. This greatly accelerates the development process, and ensures the code won't have build errors or fail tests when it does get deployed to production.
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CircleCI to allow for continuous integration across all of our software applications and environments. CircleCI allows us to build complex workflows, including steps to run pre-deploy / post-deploy scripts, execute test suites, and send slack notifications. With Circle, we can ensure code that is "broken" doesn't make it's way out, so we can be more confident that we are shipping bug-free code.
December 10, 2018

CircleCI is awesome

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using CircleCI to run continuous integration for both front-end and back-end components for a SaaS application. It's linked to a popular source code repository which makes integration quite easy.

Overall, the experience has been fantastic. We're a small firm, and no need for the paid plan yet. But have successfully used the tool to bootstrap for the time being. The communities are quite helpful, even for those who don't have a paid plan for premium support. Would heartily recommend to colleagues.
April 30, 2018

Automation done right

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company, we develop our financial product atop the Salesforce platform. We have extensive unit test coverage that is required by Salesforce to be able to list our product in their App store. To manage our software development process we needed a robust continuous integration and delivery solution. We used Atlassian Bamboo for several years before we made a push towards cloud integration using Circle CI. Circle CI is used for testing, building and packaging our code in the Github repo. It is used by our development department for continuous integration needs.
April 10, 2018

CI done right

heather collins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our Marketing firm when we started developing custom applications for our clients, we needed a robust continuous integration and delivery solution. We used Apache Jenkins for several years before we made a push towards cloud infrastructure. For that purpose we decided to use Circle CI for testing, building and packaging our code in the Github repository. It is used by our Software development department for continuous integration.
September 28, 2017

A great CI/CD alternative

Yasmany Cubela Medina | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Continuous integration and continuous delivery are two of our main pillars to deliver a successful experience to our end users. So CircleCI is a key piece in this chain for automating this process and flows from earlier development stages to QA, staging and production environments. [It is also used for] Maintaining our infrastructure and cluster health with cleaning and scale tasks.
Valeri Karpov | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Engineering team uses CircleCI to run tests on every commit to GitHub, and deploy to development and production environments depending on which branch the tests were run on. Standard use case for CI/CD. CircleCI integrates tightly with GitHub to run our tests, linter, etc. automatically for every pull request and every time we merge to development and master branches.
Jason Crawford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're an early-stage startup, and we use CircleCI to run automated tests in the cloud. In the early days, developers ran tests locally on their own development machines, but as the test suite grew, it simply took too much time. Running tests in the cloud lets us parallelize, so an hour's long test suite can run in minutes.
Gregory Ratner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CircleCI for continuous integration and deployment at Troops. It builds all of our feature branches (PRs) as well as our major branches and automatically triggers deployments to both QA and production environments. We also run unit and integration tests as well as code coverage in CircleCI. It is primarily used by the Engineering team.
Paul Hepworth | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CircleCi as an integral to our continuous delivery pipeline across engineering. Using Circle allows us to focus on our application development. The concurrency of builds helps us split out our test suite across 15 different slices. Tight integration with GitHub allows us to easily integrate into pull request checks. While there are occasional hiccups there are way fewer problems than any other CI tool we've used in the past and we've used several different ones. Support is also pretty responsive and it's apparent that Circle is continuing to improve their product.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CircleCI is being used by our organization for continual integration and automated deployment of Drupal and WordPress websites to Pantheon, among many other smaller CI jobs. It is used entirely by our Development and DevOps team members. It allows us to commit a simple config file to Git that controls the way that our software gets deployed, making the tedious job of deploying changes for hundreds of websites regularly much simpler.
January 18, 2017

Testing FTW!

Jake Mercurio | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using CircleCI to run our suite of unit tests for a few projects (we handle end-to-end testing separately). We love that it auto-runs tests on git commits, runs our tests in parallel containers, and is configured with a simple YAML file. The UX is super clean and easy to debug when things go wrong. We're part of their beta program and they have some great features coming down the product pipeline that addresses our few headaches like their lack of support for "docker exec" (you have to use lxc-attach) and old Ubuntu containers.

We use this product every day and we're pretty happy with it.
Micah Hausler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We initially implemented it for automated testing of all our private repositories, and have been overall very happy with it. We looked at using it for our open source projects, but due to the fact that it doesn't support build matrices, we ended up going with Travis CI for public projects.
Andrew Shell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're a software as a service (SaaS) business. We're using CircleCI in our development team. Every time we push a change to GitHub it runs our unit tests and if the push was to our staging or production branches, CircleCI triggers a deployment to that environment. If the tests fail I'm sent an e-mail and the deployments only get triggered if the tests pass.
January 12, 2017

Fast and Easy CI

Austin Riendeau | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Circle CI for continuous integration and delivery. It runs all of the tests and builds before our code ever sees production. It also notifies GitHub before we merge the code. I also utilize the use of Docker which Circle CI supports fully and makes running clean builds easier.
Ken Yee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CircleCI was used to handle the build process for Raizlabs' Android, iOS, and web applications. It was used by the entire organization except for Xamarin apps which we built on our internal build server using Mac Minis that were unfortunately also used for videoconferencing. Using CircleCI let us outsource the management of the build servers so we didn't have to worry about them running out of space or slowing down videoconferencing.