CircleCI

CircleCI

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.5 out of 100
CircleCI

Overview

Recent Reviews

CircleCI Review

7 out of 10
February 03, 2020
We use CircleCI as an independent part of our continuous integration testing process, which handles both automated building and testing …
Continue reading

CircleCI is awesome

9 out of 10
December 10, 2018
We're using CircleCI to run continuous integration for both front-end and back-end components for a SaaS application. It's linked to a …
Continue reading

Automation done right

8 out of 10
April 30, 2018
In our company, we develop our financial product atop the Salesforce platform. We have extensive unit test coverage that is required by …
Continue reading

CI done right

7 out of 10
April 10, 2018
In our Marketing firm when we started developing custom applications for our clients, we needed a robust continuous integration and …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of CircleCI, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Free

$0

Cloud
per month

Performance

$30

Cloud
per month

Server

$35

Cloud
per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is CircleCI?

CircleCI in San Francisco offers an eponymous build automation platform.

CircleCI Video

CircleCI Overview

CircleCI Integrations

CircleCI Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

CircleCI in San Francisco offers an eponymous build automation platform.

Reviewers rate Performance highest, with a score of 7.8.

The most common users of CircleCI are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees) and the Internet industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews and Ratings

 (45)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 25)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
February 03, 2020

CircleCI Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The generous free tier will get development teams quite far before money needs to be paid.
  • The very customizable platform, with intelligent pricing as you scale.
  • CircleCI mostly getting built into both upstream platforms (GitHub/Gitlab) and downstream platforms (AWS, Azure, GCP), in which cases it's often a better fit or can be used as a part of existing tooling
  • UX can be confusing to navigate and see what's happening.
Javier Cardoso | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Jobs Configuration: I think that the configuration way of Circle CI is very simple and useful. You only have to add an YAML file in your Git repository root and add some tasks inside it.
  • Environment Variables Encryption: The way to encrypt sensible data, for example tokens or credentials, is very simple and secure.
  • The compute credit cost is cheap: You don't need a large amount of money to start using Circle.
  • Cost per user: The cost per user is very high.
  • UI: The UI is not as intuitive as I need. If you have a lot of applications enabled, it's a bit difficult to find in the home page the build which you're looking for.
  • The billing and usage information: It's a feature that was enabled in 2019 June. But it's not specific to any place, and the information of June is incomplete.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Simple integration with the provided YAML template
  • Quick setup with Git repos
  • Easy to add new jobs
  • Quick integration with related visual testing tools
  • Limited options on free plan
  • Sometimes buggy when modifying jobs
  • Jump between new and old UI
Dillon Welch | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Deploy to AWS
  • Integrate with GitHub
  • Ruby support
  • JavaScript support
  • YAML files require a lot of configuration for basic setup
  • Pricing outside of the free tier is pretty costly for what's offered
  • Hard to rebuild a single job in a workflow
  • Hard to setup a configuration with multiple dependencies (for example, both node and Python)
John Grosjean | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Automated builds! This is really why you get CircleCI, to automate the build process. This makes building your application far more reliable and repeatable. It can also run tests and verify your application is working as expected.
  • Simple. Unlike Jenkins, Teamcity, or other platforms, CircleCI doesn't need a lot of setup. It's completely hosted, so there's no infrastructure to set up. The config file does take a bit to understand, but if you follow their example and start with something small and add to it, you can get it up and going quicker than it first looks.
  • Scales easily. Again, since it's all cloud-based, you don't have to manage or scale infrastructure. Simply subscribe to the number of containers you want, and scaling up just means buying more containers.
  • No static IPs. This could cause problems if you want to enable only CircleCI to access your environment. Much of the limitations for us were around this issue, since we're in such a regulated industry.
  • The search feature needs improvement. If you're doing a lot of builds, the history can go on for pages. We didn't find it suited our needs for audits/reports as you can't search by a particular developer who triggered a build, filter for only successful builds, etc.
  • Slightly limited customization, something like Jenkins is more flexible. CircleCI used to have a very defined build process, but now with the introduction of workflows, it's gotten a lot better. I think they hit the right balance between simplicity and flexibility though. If you need a lot of integrations or other things that they don't offer, Jenkins is probably better. CircleCI isn't intended for complex applications, it's really about keeping it simple so you can focus on code development.
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Multiple builds can be run at the same time in parallel.
  • The CircleCI web interface (UI/UX) is very easy to understand and use.
  • Easy Configuration to learn and use. Just a single configuration YAML file.
  • Many integrations. We use the GItHub, Slack, and DataDog integrations.
  • While configuration is easy, the config files can get very very long.
  • Price compared to some alternatives that are cheaper / free. Especially so if you are running multiple containers in parallel.
  • Have experienced numerous outages (3-5) in the last few months where CircleCI has been down.
  • Web documentation and tutorials haven't been as good as some of the competitors.
December 10, 2018

CircleCI is awesome

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Git integration with popular providers. Github and Bitbucket for starters. Makes it super simple to get started.
  • Straightforward CI tooling. No need to spin up a CI server like Jenkins / TeamCity to get things moving.
  • Strong community forums. Ran into a bug once, and as I was on the free tier didn't have access to premium support. Was able to work out the issue via community support.
  • Bits of the caching configuration were initially a bit confusing.
  • Took a bit of time to get git submodules working properly. But that's to be expected as it's not a common denominator for most Git repositories.
  • Running local builds for diagnosing bugs can be a bit cumbersome. The docker image I recall was very much a black box, and was unclear how to interpret why I got the results I did. But again, expected. If it were not a black box, it would be trivial for other vendors to clone their functionality.
April 30, 2018

Automation done right

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Circle CI offers lots of integration mechanisms with other products like SLACK which we use extensively in our cross-team communication.
  • It has seamless integration with Github which is our main code repo, hence the code commit-and-merge process is very smooth.
  • With their newer 2.0 release, Circle CI offers build concurrency helping improve parallel execution of tests.
  • There are fewer minor kinks in the latest release of their product. The workflow feature which is supposed to spin up concurrent docker images for text execution does not report back the result statistics correctly.
  • We have often run into limits for the total number of docker images that can be spun off during an entire day.
April 10, 2018

CI done right

heather collins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy configuration via the Circle.yml file
  • Build concurrency helps improve parallel execution of tests.
  • CircleCI offers seamless integration with Github, hence the code commits and merges process is very smooth.
  • With their new Workflow feature rolled out, we are having issues with test result statistics not being reported correctly.
  • Recently we have experienced some major outages with CircleCI and a few performance degradations because of the AWS infrastructure that hosts the services. They had an issue with application authentication failing with Github that resulted in several problems.
Valeri Karpov | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • GitHub integration is seamless. Never had a problem with it missing commits.
  • Robust test environment. I used Travis in the past but tests would sporadically time out for no clear reason, haven't had that happen with CircleCI
  • Poweful YAML-based configuration in the GitHub repo itself. I don't like CI tools like Semaphore that push you into managing your CI/CD through a web UI, I prefer managing a config file and never having to log in to the CI tool.
  • The "phases" their config file uses to separate out options seem very arbitrary and are not very helpful for organizing your config file
  • No way that I know of to configure which version of MongoDB you use. You have to write your own shell script to download and start MongoDB if you want a specific version.
  • Hard to access build artifacts in the UI
Jason Crawford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • High degree of parallelization, ability to run on many containers at once.
  • Ability to customize the whole process through setup scripts.
  • Collecting of detailed test artifacts such as screenshots.
  • Really needs per-minute pricing. The static container model doesn't let us scale up/down easily.
  • The web UI is finicky and constantly frustrating.
Paul Hepworth | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Concurrency of builds (we use 15)
  • Constant improvement to service by adding features and optimizations
  • When things go wrong their support is responsive and helpful.
  • Proactive communication about updates and breaking changes
  • Questions to account rep can sometimes take too long (for us -- > 1 day) to respond
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Full customization and scripting abilities. Using tools like bash scripts, SSH, and Node, running almost anything upon committing some code to GitHub becomes possible.
  • Integration with all of our favorite services. GitHub and Slack in particular are crucial to our business and CircleCI's integration is seamless and full-featured.
  • Great config file syntax. Many CI services require you to perform advanced configuration in a UI. This is fine at first (and CircleCI offers this for many options available), but when you start needing to manage a large number of projects, committing configuration changes to a Git repository is more consistent and maintainable than making the change many different times manually in a UI.
  • It would be nice if you could configure everything via the YML file. Some things are only available via YML, and some things are actually only available in the UI, and many other things have full overlap between the two. I'm sure there are good reasons for this, but this is a pretty confusing situation. For example, certain PHP versions are only available on certain Ubuntu releases. Configuring the PHP version is done via the .yml file, but configuring the Ubuntu release being used for the build has to be done in the UI. This can easily lead to things not building properly.
January 18, 2017

Testing FTW!

Jake Mercurio | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Parallel testing - run your unit tests in parallel containers shared across all branches.
  • UX - When your tests fail CircleCI makes it easy to see what failed and why.
  • Configuration - whether your project runs NodeJS, PHP, Docker, Java, or whatever else you can control just about every step of the provisioning process.
  • Price - You pay by concurrent containers. We're currently using 10 to run unit test across dozens of branches for a completely reasonable price. No caches.
  • Incomplete Docker support - currently CircleCi doesn't support docker exec (although they have a workaround), which is a little frustrating for our team.
  • Old Ubuntu versions - the containers used to use Ubuntu Precise which made provisioning more difficult, but they are currently moving to Trusty Tahr.
Micah Hausler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It is very easy to set up, you can even set it up without a configuration file and it will try to infer your test runner and language.
  • It is easy to configure with a straight-forward YAML configuration.
  • It has great integration with services like Github and Slack.
  • You can easily debug broken builds by SSH-ing into the test container and quickly figure out what is going wrong.
  • There is no configuration difference for public or private repositories, CircleCi appropriately mirrors Github.
  • The pricing allows for unlimited repositories, the tiers are based on parallel builds. This is great if you have a lot of private repos.
  • I really wish CircleCI had the ability to have a build matrix (like Travis CI), for example, run my python tests against all four combinations of Python 2 and 3, and say Django 1.8 and 1.9.
  • Support is generally pretty good, but can be hit or miss on timing. I've had quick responses, and other times waited multiple days for a response.
Andrew Shell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy to configure via a YAML file
  • Sends email notifications without the use of external services
  • Not only runs our tests, but also triggers our deployments
  • It would be great to be able to specify different versions of PHP to test with and configure options for each. So we could test with our current production version which needs to pass before we deploy, but also test with a newer version of PHP if we're planning on migrating to it. This way we'd know if someone pushed code that isn't future compatible.
Ken Yee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • CircleCI let us use someone else's infrastructure.
  • The circle.yml file for configuring a build was liked a lot more by our users because it was easy to use.
  • CircleCI is one of the few companies that can do iOS builds.
  • CircleCI does not support Xamarin builds...that prevented us from moving all our build infrastructure to CircleCI.
  • CircleCI's Android containers didn't always have the most updated SDKs so we frequently had to include updating SDKs as part o the build process.