Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000)

Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000) Reviews

Customer Verified
Top Rated
TRUE

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Reviews
(1-25 of 63)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a global provider of managed Internet and hybrid networks, SD-WAN, and Cloud connectivity solutions. In the LATAM region, we mostly provide dedicated internet services and Broadband for our fortune 500 customers. In order to provide the service with the quality our clients expect, we use Cisco 4000 Series [Integrated Services] Routers which gives us the confidence we need to deliver the best solution for them. There's no competition for them on the market if you'd like a guaranteed satisfying customer experience.
  • Delivers exceptional internet connectivity
  • Excellent security
  • Provides storage
  • It's upgradable
  • You can chose from different [Cisco] ISR 4000 models according to your needs
  • High price compared to their competitors
  • The rack mounting kit is unreliable
As previously stated, Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers are a perfect fit if you plan to deliver high performing internet solution to a customer who is willing to pay extra (compared to what can be paid) for quality. These devices are as reliable as they can get. While using this equipment, you'll never have to worry about it.
Dhruvin Shroff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm in the service department and we recommend [Cisco] ISR 4000. For branches, Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Router is best for branch connectivity. It is an intelligent device to manage network architecture such as SD-WAN and Cloud Computing, it provides next-generation encryption and integrity verifications. I suggest this device for future visibility.
  • Simplified operations and manage
  • Automation with application
  • Advance encryption method used
  • Nothing
  • Nothing
  • Nothing
Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Service Routers is suited for branch-to-branch connectivity i.e Hub and Spoke Topology, [it is] also compatible [with] SD-WAN Technology. It [simplifies] network management, deploys networks in minutes, supports Kernel Virtual Machine (KVM)-based containers, [and] provides support for integrated applications. Basically, I'm not facing any issues from the [Cisco] ISR 4000!!
Ahmed Mujeeb | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as a WAN router or some call it a perimeter router, before we didn't have any router at WAN edge. The main need of this router is to create IPSEC over GRE tunnel between my regional branches and [Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000)] serves very well for my organization.
  • IPSEC
  • GRE
  • VPN
  • debugs
  • More built in WAN ports
  • Should have option for dual power supply
[Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000)] are well suited where you have a high intensity of traffic and connect to multiple WAN links. For small business offices, it is not a suitable device but a waste of money.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco 4000 Series Router is used at our organisation as a default gateway for some branches. So, all the user traffic passes through it. Since, as a business, we have multiple branches, we needed a reliable router that is capable of strong IPSec site-to-site VPN to connect our network together. The router is able to secure the network via AES-256 encryption (pretty much the strongest in the market), plus, it can communicate normally with non-Cisco equipment if you have a multi-vendor deployment.
  • Support for the highest-level of IPSec encryption currently available
  • Offers high speed gigabit ethernet connectivity
  • Small form-factor compared with previous models, so we were able to install it in a tight rack
  • A big downside to the specific model we bought is it only had 2 ports, that's it. So, if you need the convenience of more than that, you will have to purchase additional network cards, which are costly.
  • Though it was good to have a small-sized router, in other branches it was a problem because the width was about half the size of the rack, so we had to keep it on top of another device.
  • Though it is great that routers became more power-efficient, so they work well with lower voltages, the 4000 Series Router came with a power adapter instead of plugging directly into the router. This just makes the rack more difficult to organise, and I would have preferred if the power adapter was built into the router itself.
This router is a good option if the budget is on your side; however, you need to know how many ports you need in the router. Do you have some sort of redundancy in place, etc. that requires more than 2 ports? Well, if you don't mind 2 ports or if you don't mind sparing extra hundreds of bucks of network adapters, then this product is for you. Otherwise, you will need to look for options that have 3 ports or maybe less expensive network adapters.

The second part is you need to either have a smaller width rack or you need to get the slots that can increase the width of the router.
September 23, 2021

Top class WAN router

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization had the requirement of having redundant internet links to improve the uptime of internet connectivity at our plant and head office. Therefore, we needed a robust and reliable WAN router that also supported BGP to provide auto-failover between primary and secondary internet links. The Cisco ISR 4000 series router met our requirements perfectly, and it has been working flawlessly since its deployment.
  • BGP
  • IP sla
  • dynamic routing
  • ACL
  • NAT
  • IPsec VPN
  • Licensing
  • Central management
  • Automatic updates
Cisco ISR 4000 series is an enterprise-class edge router. It is a reliable and robust device. It is well suited for those organizations that have a large number of WAN connections to their branch offices. It can also be used to implement auto-link failover between multiple internet links. It is not suitable for small businesses, as it will be heavy on their budget and small businesses do not require such a high-performance device.
September 13, 2021

Cisco 4000 good ROI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco 4000 Series Integrated service routers (ISR 4000) is being used company-wide and it is placed at our switching center, provided physical accessibility for a limited no of staff. This equipment is very versatile, including the ability to install modules to allow one piece of network gear to manage and facilitate added services without needing to buy other hardware and support services. This enables us to have a very high number of "9s" uptime for all of our user community scattered across our offices. We use [this] kind of router [in] our remote locations as well and it is perfectly fine.
  • 9s uptime for all users
  • IPSec encryption
  • High speed
  • No issues so far
In my opinion, it handled the encryption very well and I would like to recommend it to my colleagues as well. It is pretty easy to configure and maintenance is quite easy as well.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using ISR 4000 for all my recent deployments and have had an great exposure as a designer, deployment & troubleshooting engineer. It is being used for almost all new solutions have also used ISR 4XXX to deploy UCS C series servers. It addresses SBC requirement, acts as a gatekeeper, TDM as well as SIP/CUBE integration.
  • Advanced & compact.
  • Supports encryption protocol.
  • Advanced routing.
  • Easy to integrate & configure PVDM.
  • Configuration on E1/T1 is pretty straightforward.
  • No issues so far with ISR 4000.
  • Have not encountered any issues with ISO as well.
In my experience, it is well suited to handle encrypted significant traffic, advanced call routing, deep dive in protocols (SIP/H.323), wide range of features. Easy to use as a gateway or gatekeeper.
Proved perfect when used it for SRST feature.
It's simple and technically protocol driven in terms of configuration and maintenance.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used 4000 series routers at Cameroon Offshore wellhead platform project for secure communication to onshore control and security room for 4G (4431) and wan (4451). 2 Routers each in a redundant configuration for 4G and WAN separately. Overall, the experience is awesome. Cisco's Products are the best in class and provide at most security for the installation.
  • 4G Ssecure communication
  • WAN secure communication
  • Redundancy hence reliability
  • Cost
  • Power consumption
  • Weight and size
When installation requires robust and secure communication like an unmanned offshore platform that requires reliable data transfer and is vulnerable to external threats, Cisco routers are well suited. Imagine a scenario where no data is there from an unmanned offshore platform; it is next to disaster and unsafe. Here Cisco 4000 series routers overcome these challenges by providing different communication capabilities.
May 15, 2021

ISR Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a High Availability pair in place as if routers. We are able to use these to do many different things including landing VPNs and BGP. These are our routers on our primary site. We have had great success with the Cisco product line and are not planning on moving off of it.
  • Traffic Controls
  • Security
  • Better Interface
This is well designed for our segmented network for both staff and students. We have been able to protect both sides of our network with this box. We have found great success and will see it through. We have also benefited from landing site-to-site VPNs with the router.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000) for our WAN connectivity including sub-services of WAAS, UCS-E blades (running VMware ESXI) inside them and the LTE NIM cards (for failover backup Internet). We also, at our hub end, use these for voice gateway services for our VOIP phone infrastructure. This equipment is very versatile, including the ability to install modules to allow one piece of network gear to manage and facilitate added services without needing to buy other hardware and support services. This enables us to have a very high number of "9s" uptime for all of our user community scattered across our offices.
  • DMVPN
  • QOS for VOIP
  • LTE backup Internet services
  • Internal virtualized VMware services (AD, print, domain, file and other VM services)
  • Voice/SIP trunking services
  • Excellent DR networking capabilities
  • MPLS trunking services
  • The UCS-E blades that you can insert into the routers only get refreshed every 4-5 years. So the cpu/memory/HDD options are limited and quite dated
  • Some LTE connectivity options for some countries are lacking or LTE NIM cards for some countries are not supported
  • Does not support dual power supply options for maintaining uptime from power events
Well suited: Voice trunking services, MPLS/Internet trunking services, WAN connectivity, failover Internet services, fax services for VOIP, and for disaster recovery services. For the latter, we have a Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Router (ISR 4000) on hand in the event of a necessary need to temporarily set up a remote office for collaboration meetings, if an office loses power/access temporarily, or to put on a special event while needing internal software/services to display on site. Configuration is the most difficult part, but once it works, you can take this anywhere that has a network cable or cellular coverage, have full remote access (via it tuning up a VPN tunnel) as if internal, including phone, Wi-Fi, and network access to facilitate any business need.
October 30, 2020

Cisco Router - ISR4000

Michael nabil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across the whole organization. We already had the old router 3945E and we reached the limitation of bandwidth for this box. We were searching for another scalable box and we found that the 4451 is the most perfect one. It could be upgraded just using a license without the need to change hardware.
  • New technology, but upgradable by license so you can be supported in the future
  • Support a large number of support routing ports
  • GUI
  • WCCP
  • Scalability
  • Stability
  • Increase number of routing ports
Through the license, we can upgrade the router throughput. We get a large number of routing ports. We get a very stable product with Cisco's latest technology at a good price. But we can't force the port speed on the Network module' ports.
The Cisco TAC and Egypt technical team are very supportive. They are aware enough about most issues we needed help with. We got a full support anytime from Cisco anywhere, and overall the product is very easy to use. Most of the time we can do everything by ourselves without the need for support.
Very easy to use, and very effective on our environment. Scalable, stable, and can support all routing protocols needed in most manufacturing environments. The security license is very effective.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My place of business was tasked with upgrading the core routers of the network to give us an overall faster network with less old hardware barely hanging on by a thread. We had some routers that were running for almost 10yrs straight and were on their last legs. We went all out and replaced the majority of them with the [Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000)].
  • THE fastest routers I've had the pleasure of working on!
  • Tons of connectivity options available on these bad boys
  • Hands down some of the best tech support in the world
  • Super expensive to purchase and maintain licensing for
  • Even with a big player like Cisco you get bugs in the software but hey, at least they're quick to fix them
  • Sometimes you do feel like guinea pigs testing out beta software
Ok so they're fast, check. They're secure, check. They're well made, check. So what would stop me from recommending at all?? Well they're not cheap, not at all. And it doesnt end there, if you want to keep these guys on the smart licensing track (which you do, believe me, it will save you headaches) then its even more money. But like they say, you get what you pay for!
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers [(ISR 4000)] helped provide our organization with a secure WAN connection for our remote sites. There were no issues so far as we use it across our whole organization. It is easy to set up with a nice default configuration. As it supports SD-WAN technology, we find almost no issues with the product deploying in the USA.
  • Support for SD-WAN
  • Very easy to set up and simple configuration
  • Have wide range of features
  • Able to handle significant traffic
  • Cost of the product
  • Other than that there isn't really a lot to talk about, overall a great product
The [Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers] (ISR 4000) handles everything from VPNs, computation services, and switches, it is well suited for all the tasks we put with almost no issues coming in mind. The only issue with this product is the cost, but other than that we found this product a lot better than what we have used in the past.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers] (ISR 4000) is being used by the whole organization in places where we needed a solid router choice. Competitors like Aruba and Juniper typically have solid devices, but I would put the Cisco's on a different level. Price of course is a concern, but overall the Cisco's are worth the price when they solve problems like we had (manageability, scalability, security, reliability).
  • A big strength of Cisco in general is their support team
  • These boxes are very stable and do not require a ton of patches after deployment
  • Pretty easy setup if you're already familiar to cisco command line
  • Web interface is fairly lacking for new users
  • Some newer protocols are not support as of yet
  • Still priced towards the top of the pack
  • Could use more rack mount options and rail sizes
Not much to complain about and if asked for a recommendation would definitely have the [Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000)] in the conversation. You are expected to already have a decent knowledge of cisco devices, and they don't hold you're hand during setup, but if you've got those two covered then its a no brainer to recommend.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000) are a fantastic choice for an integrated services router for many types and sizes of business. We are using Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000) throughout the company as a means to connect our various analog services at sites into our overall Cisco network. They have allowed us to address the problem of incompatible devices and bad user experiences. We are really enjoying the features included with the base Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000)!
  • Easy to set up and nicely designed GUI
  • Huge scalability factor
  • Very secure platform with many bug patches regularly
  • Many features that other vendors are missing or that they'd make you pay to include
  • More frequent software updates/patches
  • Easier patch management and installation
  • Integration with Cisco Smart Licensing could help
  • A faster boot from cold start would be great
If you have a branch that needs a super secure connection to network applications or if you're integrating analog systems to get them digital, this is the box for you. It's well priced and can be put in many types of network racks. It's quiet as well, which I cannot say for the last one we had. Easy to recommend this to anyone looking.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used 4331 ISR router for Voice Infrastructure where the PRI line terminated on the router and SIP trunk was also enabled.
It helps for quick SIP trunk expansion by just adding extra cube license and no hardware change is required.
  • It's a great product which does data routing and it is used for Voice infrastructure too
  • In branches where minimum capacity is required then this can be used as an independent PBX with dialing capability.
  • SIP trunks can be easily terminated on this router which is quick and not much efforts to get it working.
  • It also works as a survivable PBX in remote branches in case of WAN failure.
  • SRST feature which allows survivability in branches should have all the featured we get in sunny day on main system.
  • with C1 and foundation license removed the DNA license should have Basic option too to provide same earlier features to add separately.
  • Router should be provided with NIM slots to add FXS/FXO modules
this router fits in all the environment whether it be campus/branch or remote location. It helps in data routing and PBX functionality both so its used as per the requirement.
till the SRST enhancement are not available it is less likely to be used as a survivable PBX in remote locations.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Most Cisco shops use a strong Cisco branded switching and routing backbone. Our company is no different. About every 3 years we upgrade to the latest Cisco routers and the Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000) was our latest upgrade in the router sector. They have been implemented throughout the organization and are now being used to replace problematic voice routers as well.
  • Modular design allows for lots of expansion options
  • The voice module gives us full control over all our VOIP systems
  • The system integrates well with our Cisco management and monitoring tools
  • Third-party monitoring options can't get as much data from these boxes
  • CDP protocol is still mostly a proprietary protocol
  • Among the most costly integrated routers out there
I could easily recommend this line of routers for a business associate asking for a recommendation. Cisco prides itself in being secure and up to date on bug fixes and major security threats. You generally will get a long life out of these devices as well as long runtime without requiring a maintenance window to reboot or fix.
November 29, 2020

Cisco ISR 4400 router

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco [4000 Series Integrated Services Routers] ISR 4451 router provides us with a secure and reliable router that terminates VPNs and helps with automatic failover.
  • Routing
  • IPSEC VPNs
  • ACLs
  • Managing licensing can be a pain if you're needing to add features.
Excellent for a mid-size core router. I wouldn't use this for a branch office device, because lack of SDWAN reduces automatic failover options.
Very usable product. The documentation available online is some of the best I have seen from any vendor.
Cisco TAC is generally pretty good, but it depends a little on who you get. Generally TAC is responsive and knowledgeable.
Bart Verbaandert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco ISR 4000 Series is our standard WAN router platform across the globe. We use the ISR 4000 to connect all of our branches using it either through connecting to our private MPLS network or using it to build VPN tunnels back to the central headquarters in the region. The ISR 4000 routers are very reliable and have a very broad feature set.
  • Supports lots of WAN connectivity options
  • For use as a VPN tunnel device (for backup and/or primary link)
  • Supports all the standard and advanced IOS features
  • IPSec performance could be better
  • Software stability
The Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers are well suited for remote branch connectivity. From a hardware perspective, there are sufficient models to choose from (from 4331 up to 4461) that should cover all performance needs. All of the hardware platforms support the rich IOS feature sets, so it can handle everthing from a straightforward LAN extension to a complex VPN tunnel for connectivity.
As always the support from Cisco through the TAC has been great for this product. Of course, there are always some bugs to be expected, but to be honest, I think this platform is actually fairly stable and it builds on the IOS software that has been around for many years.
Jeremy Shupick | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers at our remote sites and the Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Router is a nice little unit to fit in where you need local routing and for WAN connection. Utilizing it as a gateway in Cisco Unified Call Manager works too! It is a nice config, install, and it just runs kind of hardware!
  • Easy to Install
  • Secure
  • Works with Unified Call Manager
  • I don't have any
We use the Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000) at our remote locations and for our smaller remote locations, it is perfect. perfect for those small spaces. Fits right in the rack alongside the switches and has all the horsepower a remote site needs including working with Cisco Unified Call Manager.
There is always room for improvement with support, but Cisco support has been good to me over the years. Being able to call or submit online TAC cases makes it so I can get my issues or questions answered faster. They have even added the TAC bot for TAC cases to get to support even faster!
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco ISR 4451 routers as the head-end routers for our agency-wide WAN. We use them to terminate ISP and MPLS tunnels from all our remote sites and are in the process of setting up pfr. We also use them as our agency-wide NTP servers. They have allowed us to scale up our connections to remote locations.
  • They handle are large number of IPSec tunnels.
  • They run the nearly-universal IOS-XE, so they're easy to support.
  • They have a decent amount of connectivity options, especially when you include add-in cards.
  • With the rapid growth in bandwidth requirements, their maximum throughput will be their limiting factor.
  • There are too many concurrent IOS-XE trains available.
  • We've had to upgrade code more frequently than we did with our ISR 3925 routers.
We originally used Cisco ISR 4451 routers as head-end routers, but as bandwidth requirements and circuit, sizes increased we have outgrown their capabilities in that role. We are now using ISR 4000 series routers at branch locations to replace our ISR 2900 and 3900 series routers. They are extremely capable in this role, and it is nice moving towards all of our routers and switches running IOS-XE. For smaller head-end deployments. ISR 4000s may still be viable but their limitation is definitely their throughput limits.
We have consistently be very happy with Cisco TAC support whenever we've had to open cases. The one negative we've encounter with regards to the Cisco ISR 4000 series routers, in particular, is that compared to the previous routers we've used (Cisco ISR 2800, 3800, 2900 and 3900 series) we've had to upgrade code more frequently. Part of this may be due to the added complexity and/or running IOS-XE instead of IOS, but it has definitely been the case.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Three years ago we decided to upgrade our internet circuits from 100Mbps to 500Mbps, so we also decided to upgrade our routers from 3945 to 4451 in order to support VPNs, B2B, DMZ, O365 traffic, so far everything has been working fine, no outages, no issues with these models. We have deployed the same models in different regions (Americas, EMEA and APAC).
  • Excellent throughout
  • Enough interfaces to cover our needs
  • No outages
  • Currently is working as expected
  • No issues
  • We saw an issue a long time ago (but on a provider router) where two different versions of NetFlow were not supported, it turned out to be a bug issue.
I can tell that ISR 4541 can be suited perfectly for an environment like the one we have for internet connectivity. It supports O365, DMZ, Zscaler GRE tunnels, VPNs, all of them with 0 issues during more than 4 years, these models are also installed on our network for hybrid connection MPLS and internet circuit.
We have had 0 outages in 4 years.
January 14, 2020

Cisco ISR 4000 Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it throughout the organization as our call-in and -out tool with the connection that exists with the telephone service provider.
  • Works as SRST, CUBE, CME
  • Integrated with voice services
  • The resources of PDVM have to be dedicated for E1 and separately for DSPs--that could get better.
  • Same bugs as iOS
In the education, health, and mining sector because it has helped create an effective and stable corporate network using Cisco's collaboration, virtualization, and security products and integrating them with ISR 4000.
The problems we have are minimal in software and hardware.
November 19, 2019

Reliable

Mario Chen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use them for connection with transaction providers, two for each connection and one in each data center.
  • Routing services
  • Voice services
  • Security services
  • Modularity
  • GUI ProComm
  • Pricing
  • Well suited: For network redundancy in connections to ISPs
  • Less appropriate: Low traffic scenarios
Cisco TAC always solves my problems.
November 21, 2019

Evolution and Development

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being implemented in 4431 for SD-WAN in enterprise solution.
  • Perfomance with lynching
  • Supports encryption protocols
  • Enabled for SD-WAN and programmability solutions
  • Enabled for SD-WAN and programmability solutions
  • Enhances Bandwidth
  • Offers HWIC support for different modules
  • SD-WAN
  • Encryption
Cost benefit ratio against third-party devices

Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000) Scorecard Summary

What is Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000)?

Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000) provides a scalable, flexible foundation so you can quickly integrate leading IT initiatives like SD-WAN and edge compute, while meeting the explosive network performance need driven by cloud-based application adoption.

Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000) Pricing

Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000) Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000)?

Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000) provides a scalable, flexible foundation so you can quickly integrate leading IT initiatives like SD-WAN and edge compute, while meeting the explosive network performance need driven by cloud-based application adoption.

What is Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.4.

Who uses Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000)?

The most common users of Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000) are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.