Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
68 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 43)

Paul Luchini | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2020

Cisco ISR 4000 series routers are very powerful and full-featured branch office routers as long as you don't exceed their throughput limits

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco ISR 4451 routers as the head-end routers for our agency-wide WAN. We use them to terminate ISP and MPLS tunnels from all our remote sites and are in the process of setting up pfr. We also use them as our agency-wide NTP servers. They have allowed us to scale up our connections to remote locations.
  • They handle are large number of IPSec tunnels.
  • They run the nearly-universal IOS-XE, so they're easy to support.
  • They have a decent amount of connectivity options, especially when you include add-in cards.
  • With the rapid growth in bandwidth requirements, their maximum throughput will be their limiting factor.
  • There are too many concurrent IOS-XE trains available.
  • We've had to upgrade code more frequently than we did with our ISR 3925 routers.
We originally used Cisco ISR 4451 routers as head-end routers, but as bandwidth requirements and circuit, sizes increased we have outgrown their capabilities in that role. We are now using ISR 4000 series routers at branch locations to replace our ISR 2900 and 3900 series routers. They are extremely capable in this role, and it is nice moving towards all of our routers and switches running IOS-XE. For smaller head-end deployments. ISR 4000s may still be viable but their limitation is definitely their throughput limits.
Read Paul Luchini's full review
Eric Rojas | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Experience with Cisco ISR4000

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Three years ago we decided to upgrade our internet circuits from 100Mbps to 500Mbps, so we also decided to upgrade our routers from 3945 to 4451 in order to support VPNs, B2B, DMZ, O365 traffic, so far everything has been working fine, no outages, no issues with these models. We have deployed the same models in different regions (Americas, EMEA and APAC).
  • Excellent throughout
  • Enough interfaces to cover our needs
  • No outages
  • Currently is working as expected
  • No issues
  • We saw an issue a long time ago (but on a provider router) where two different versions of NetFlow were not supported, it turned out to be a bug issue.
I can tell that ISR 4541 can be suited perfectly for an environment like the one we have for internet connectivity. It supports O365, DMZ, Zscaler GRE tunnels, VPNs, all of them with 0 issues during more than 4 years, these models are also installed on our network for hybrid connection MPLS and internet circuit.
Read Eric Rojas's full review
Arturo Lopez | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

Cisco ISR 4000 Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it throughout the organization as our call-in and -out tool with the connection that exists with the telephone service provider.
  • Works as SRST, CUBE, CME
  • Integrated with voice services
  • The resources of PDVM have to be dedicated for E1 and separately for DSPs--that could get better.
  • Same bugs as iOS
In the education, health, and mining sector because it has helped create an effective and stable corporate network using Cisco's collaboration, virtualization, and security products and integrating them with ISR 4000.
Read Arturo Lopez's full review
Mario Chen | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Reliable

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use them for connection with transaction providers, two for each connection and one in each data center.
  • Routing services
  • Voice services
  • Security services
  • Modularity
  • GUI ProComm
  • Pricing
  • Well suited: For network redundancy in connections to ISPs
  • Less appropriate: Low traffic scenarios
Read Mario Chen's full review
Andres Felipe Puerta Prada | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

Evolution and Development

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being implemented in 4431 for SD-WAN in enterprise solution.
  • Perfomance with lynching
  • Supports encryption protocols
  • Enabled for SD-WAN and programmability solutions
  • Enabled for SD-WAN and programmability solutions
  • Enhances Bandwidth
  • Offers HWIC support for different modules
  • SD-WAN
  • Encryption
Read Andres Felipe Puerta Prada's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2019

ISR 4000 - Reliable Routers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ISR 4000 Routers are being used as branch routers, holding voice and data circuits, acting as SRST for voice support in case of a WAN outage.
  • SIP and E1 voice circuit handling.
  • Dynamic routing protocols, such as BGP using MPLS circuits.
  • QoS management.
  • E1 card requires dedicated DSP resources, previous versions didn’t.
  • Easier licencing management.
  • Wireless modules integration with WLC
They are well suited for branches that have voice circuits to PSTN, and require SRST, as well as VPN circuits.
Also it is well suited for those planning to integrate SW WAN solutions, just licencing is needed.
Read this authenticated review
Adriana Sisfontes | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 24, 2019

ISR4000 are a great router but watch out for your throughput needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this router as our branch's main router.
  • It's easy to deploy.
  • There are plenty of modules available.
  • Small form - fits in 1RU
  • The throughput is indeed fixed at 100 Mbps, unless you purchase additional very expensive licenses.
  • The IOS upgrade guides are not very user-friendly.
  • Some of the documentation is confusing and does not represent the real performance of the device.
Ok for a small to medium size branch location. It's not ok if you expect it to aggregate more than 2Gbps at the time. You should get a larger router for that instead.
Read Adriana Sisfontes's full review
Brian Munn | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2019

Cisco 4000 Series ISR Routers are the Best Enterprise Level Routers on the Market

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco 4000 series routers as the ingress and egress point to all of our office locations. They are configured with MPLS WAN connections and BGP routing. Most of these routers are also used as voice gateways for our Cisco Unified Communications platform. We utilize Cisco CUBE along with QoS settings to control and prioritize voice traffic.
  • Routing between different networks. Cisco routers are a great way to segment your network and provide a basic level of traffic control and security.
  • Voice Gateways. Cisco routers along with the correct licensing and interface cards are the best platform for incoming and outgoing call flows.
  • Traffic and control and prioritization (QoS). QoS on Cisco 4000 series ISR routers can be configured from a very simple setup to highly complex.
  • Depending on features needed licensing can be difficult to understand and costly.
  • The plastic front bezel can be easily broken.
For any network segmentation and connections to external WAN providers, Cisco routers have a wide range for interface cards to work with any type of circuit or connection type. Cisco 4000 series routers make excellent voice gateways for incoming and outgoing VoIP calls. Call flow, prioritization, and QoS settings are easily configured on Cisco 4000 series routers.
Read Brian Munn's full review
Andrew Larkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2019

ISR4000 CPE of choice

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
The ISR 400 is the CPE of choice for our ISP services. Full features and flexibility are key for this segment, all met by this solution
  • Full featured routing
  • Reliability
  • Ease of use
  • Possible license simplification for legacy protocols
Stable and reliable ISP CPE
Read Andrew Larkins's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2019

Solid performer for medium to large Branch offices.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We purchased several ISR 4351 to replace our aging 2800/3800 series branch routers, to terminate WAN and VPN connections for both voice and data traffic. They are pretty standard Cisco branch routers, and perform reliably. It is a huge bump up from the Gen 1 ISRs that they replaced, especially the crypto throughput. They are also a great value on the voice side, as the newer PVDM3 modules are massive in capacity. Since we don't run much video on our network, there is way more transcoding and conference resources than we will ever need. Both the hardware and software have been running trouble free for years, and have not required any significant manual interaction since installation.
  • VPN performance is a huge step up from previous generation ISRs.
  • PVDM3 modules are much higher capacity.
  • Very stable and reliable.
  • Single PSU.
  • CF card slot is a pain to access.
  • Relatively expensive.
We use the 4351 in large branch offices with 100 or more users and it works well for encrypted voice and video over WAN or VPN. For smaller offices, it is overkill and should be skipped in favor of a cheaper router. Also, as with other Cisco routers, firewall features are not exactly industry leading, so you'll almost always need another firewall device.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Is Cisco really the only suitable vendor out there?

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
4K Cisco Routers are used across the whole organization. We use them for WAN connectivity. A general design is with MPLS and DMVPN as backup. Compared to other vendors they are pretty solid, but there are the "usual" Cisco bugs, but I guess nobody is 100% exempted.

  • Encryption with DMVPN is rather easy and customization is pretty good
  • QOS, even if the "sauce" that Cisco uses is somehow not known
  • The hardware in general is solid and with two power supplies (4431 and 4451) the resilience is quite good
  • ZBF - The zone base firewall is complicated and not that efficient, better than an ACL, but not a real Firewall.
  • Bugs - it's not possible to upgrade an IOS every several months due to bugs
  • They are too expensive. Even if they are the leader of the market, they are not necessarily the best
Cisco is the leader of the market and usually, everyone knows Cisco and Cisco CLI, and maybe also [have] a certification. So in this sense, every company has some Cisco Routers for sure. Back to the topic, I would say use Cisco Router if there is expertise with Cisco, but in general, it's not a bad idea to look for something else.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2019

Our go-to branch router

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco 4000 series is a very robust platform. We have multiple remote offices in different regions of the United States and internationally. We use Cisco 4000 series routers as WAN routers in all our remote locations. 4000 Series routers support SD-WAN technology. We have started using SD-WAN in some locations and are planning to use it in multiple other locations soon. I have seen only once incident in the past few years where it failed because of a known Cisco bug. We contacted Cisco tech and got it fixed very quickly. Ever since then it has been working smoothly.
  • SD-WAN.
  • Handles heavy traffic without any issue.
  • Robust platform.
  • Very good fit for WAN edge router.
  • Recall the affected devices without waiting for customers to complain about it.
Cisco 4000 Series routers are well suited for WAN edge router in many organizations. It does the job well compared to other available options. Cisco 1000 series ISRs are also a good option for branch offices, but for us, the 4000 series is better. Specifically with SD-WAN and high-performance standards
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2019

Just an honest review of Cisco Routers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Routers are typically used as our edge devices between network segments. The routers typically perform basic routing with some traffic filtering ACLs. My knowledge of the entire organization is limited, however, I know I have seen Cisco Routers deployed all across the world in my organization's networks. The business problem addressed by Cisco Routers is simply high throughput, low latency, and reliability.
  • High Throughput
  • Low Latency
  • High availability
  • Simplify licensing
  • Reduce power consumption
  • Continue increasing security
Cisco Routers are excellent for the enterprise and ISP realm. The area where Cisco Routers are not a good fit is for small businesses or home offices. Due to the cost of even some of the smallest Cisco Routers, it is prohibitive to put these in smaller deployments. Cisco makes smaller routers, however, the problem is then that the maintenance costs for the device (in order to receive updates quickly) exceeds the initial purchase price.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 05, 2019

ISR 4000 review.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used on larger sites to connect LANs to WAN providers.
  • Multiple interface options offered with the platform.
  • Full support for all routing protocols.
  • Various 4000 Series models provide performance multiple performance options.
  • No integrated Wireless LAN modules.
Well suited to support LAN to WAN connectivity from small to large sites. Provides full routing functionality, enhanced security suite, integrated switching and many other features. Missing integrated wireless LAN support is peculiar.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2019

Cisco 4k Series Routers as a Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the ISR 4k series routers in many locations in our organization. It provides a great platform and foundation for our corporate networks. We use them as they are solid and reliable and provide stateful features that we use in our organization. It's also cost-effective to give us the features that we need at a good price point.
  • Solid and reliable
  • Stateful firewall
  • Good value
  • More on board RAM as standard
  • Removable power supply (ISR4331)
We use them primarily in our field office locations throughout the world. We use them in medium to large branch locations.
Read this authenticated review
Eduardo Viero | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 02, 2019

Most reliable and innovative Routers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across all organization. We deployed them in our remote sites, from sales offices to industrial plants.
  • As a voice gateway, it can handle a lot of PRI interfaces or even SIP Trunks while doing all the routing stuff. As an integrated solution, it can easily accomplish several features in the same box, which helps us saving money and rack space too.
  • Using the router as a hypervisor for virtualization, we can easily deploy an UCS-E module and run a VM with Firepower Threat Defense software, managed by a central console in the HQ.
  • And thanks to the container support, we can also run a WAAS endpoint and have the benefit of using the same one box to optimize the WAN traffic between our remote sites and HQ. For us, that's a success factor for our remote operations, because the main software are concentrated in our datacenter in the HQ.
  • Consolidate sd-wan + voice gateway features in the same hardware. Voice gateway is a key feature for us as well as sd-wan.
  • Reduce the cost of the solution. Sometimes the business is not strong enough to invest in it, which breaks our strategy.
  • Sometimes it’s hard to identify what’s the best product for each situation. For example: what’s the benefit of using a router instead of an encs?
I can’t imagine scenarios where it’s not appropriate, unless the cost of the solution is prohibitive because of budgetary restrictions. Sometimes, for teleworkers or even for small offices, we face difficulties to approve a project using a Cisco Router only because of the elevated costs.
Read Eduardo Viero's full review
Jared Mcmillan | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2019

Very happy with Cisco and Meraki

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Cisco CSRv and ISR routers for WAN connectivity by configuring DMVPNs between our sites world wide.

We use Meraki MX devices for cellular connectivity, route, and switch, features at several sites that we cannot use for the building infrastructure. We also use an MX device as a VPN concentrator for some remote/at-home users to provide a more consistent look and feel.
  • CSR/ISR routers are incredibly stable. The only issues to date have been building or user error and not the devices or software.
  • Meraki MX Devices are very simple to use through the dashboard. Once you understand the dashboard and how its set up its simply point and click.
  • The Meraki Devices are the perfect cost/ benefit ratio. Its easy to justify the ROI on these devices.
  • CSR/ISR are traditionally expensive. The Virtual series is even worse. Cisco has been known for a long time as top end of the price scale but in recent years the competition is making it harder to stick to Cisco
  • The Meraki Dashboard can be hard to navigate and the learning curve is pretty steep. Once you get a feel for it, it becomes second nature but it takes some time to dig in and find your way around.
The Meraki series is my current favorite and I recommend them anywhere I can. I would still recommend Cisco ISR/CSR for all of the same objectives I use them (WAN/DMVPN, VPN concentration, cellular connectivity). They also obviously perform the route functions they are named for.
Read Jared Mcmillan's full review
Graham Murison | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

Follow the yellow brick route?

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using routers as default gateways and for segmenting out the network. I also anticipate using them for controlling access between these VLANs the near future. They are used throughout the network rather than just a portion of it. They are also used for connecting to partner networks and controlling access to resources on both ends of the link. They help us avoid using host-based routing like what was in use a few years ago.
  • Proven track record
  • Documentation
  • Community support
  • Technical Support (if needed)
  • High design standards
  • Cost
  • Not having the ability to just purchase IOS
  • Smart licensing not appropriate for all business models
Cisco Routers are great for routing between segments. They are also great for their command line interface. If you have more than one, as we do, they are a breeze to configure. Just copy and paste the commands in. If you prefer a web interface or GUI, maybe these are not the thing for you because they are less suited for that.
Read Graham Murison's full review
Aldo Adrián Ramírez Vázquez | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2018

Cisco Routers Qualifications

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use ISR, and we are so happy with it. We have our voice configuration with a SIP trunk in our office, we have segmentation, VRFs, Inter - Vlan, some security features, like an SSH, some SSL VPN, the ISR are so cool, the best routers in the market, we love'em.
  • Very strong security
  • Voice support
  • Trunks support, like E1/T1, FXO, SFP and copper
  • Hot-swap fans
  • Hot-swap power supply
  • Bluetooth console
Cisco Routers suites every business which has very strong security, are scalable and supports a UCS, supports E1/T1 interfaces, FXO and FXS, can be upgraded with a switch module. It's perfect for small business and international corporate offices. These devices are perfect to solve every connection issue and even security.
Read Aldo Adrián Ramírez Vázquez's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2019

Best in Class

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Border wall set up for the offices connecting to the hosted applications. We use all CISCO gear for routers, firewalls, and switches. IBM provides all of our management needs as well as hosting our servers in their data centers.
  • Ease of set up
  • Security set up
  • Higher cost than others.
These are best in class. They are well suited for use in a local DC or internal computer rooms, as well as hosted at a provider site. We have them hosted with IBM. Cisco has some of the most robust tools for remote management of these devices. Cisco is one of the most known and supported by any large provider of management.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

Cisco router - foundation for your WAN!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Cisco routers build the WAN connections and manage the reachability of our branch sites to the DataCenter. They maintain some routing functionalities (with BGP in public and private usage) as well as some Unified Communication services (gateways for Cisco UC for landlines in different locations). Almost every user in our branch site uses them even if he doesn't know about this.
  • Routing protocols
  • First Hop Redundancy
  • Advanced UC Features
  • Stability with some versions of software
  • Memory consumption on ISR4000 platform
  • Easier upgrade procedure (without the urge to reboot)
Almost every WAN may be build up with Cisco routers. Of course for a small network in-home or small office it is not cost-effective (besides the smallest ones like ISR 800) but even with the 800 configuration without a very skilled engineer it can be really hard. There is no GUI so the whole configuration has to be made from a Command Line Interface. Typically the user will not have the required knowledge to do this. Also the configuration of a 4g network is not easy.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2019

Cisco ISR4000

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We tend to deploy Cisco ISR4K routers on a variety of different WAN links, including point to point, MPLS & VPLS. They are typically used across the organisation and we lean heavily on their QoS capability to prioritize business-critical traffic. Based on our experience, the ISR4K series is a rock-solid platform.
  • Quality of Service
  • VPN
  • MPLS/BGP integration
  • Cost
  • Better information on what aggregate throughput means
I think that the Cisco routing platforms are a great product for small to medium businesses and also for enterprise customers. There are many features that give you unparalleled visibility of traffic flow through Netflow and NBAR - you just need another product to ensure you can leverage all these features! For smaller businesses, Cisco has other platforms at a lower price point.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2018

Incredible performance, at a glance

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The ISR 4330 handles our communications, site to site VPNs, WLC configurations and routing to our switchcore, keeping everything in order. This is amazing for our network infrastructure on premises, since we rarely have maintenances for it and most of them can be done easily.
  • Performance
  • Reliability
  • Power consumption
  • Network Routing
  • Call managing
  • VPN
  • Cooling
  • Configuration back up
  • Well suited for the handling of several IDFs, call managing, routing, VPN, VLAN configurations, most of the things CISCO is known for. The level of reliability on a CISCO router is just amazing.
  • Not too great if you are looking for budget, or have really small or cramped rack space, always be mindful of configuration backups.
Read this authenticated review

About Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000)

Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000) provides a scalable, flexible foundation so you can quickly integrate leading IT initiatives like SD-WAN and edge compute, while meeting the explosive network performance need driven by cloud-based application adoption.
Categories:  Software-Defined WAN,  Routers

Cisco 4000 Series Integrated Services Routers (ISR 4000) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No