Cisco 5520 Wireless Controller Reviews

34 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE Badge

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 27, 2021
Gabriel Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Cisco Wireless controller 5520 is positioned in the main switch and with it we manage the entire park of access points with internal and external antennas installed in various locations. The scenario used in the WLC 5520 is in high availability with two units to supply in case of hardware problems. With our WLC + Prime we have control, management and absolute monitoring of the WLAN network quite easily. We receive alerts via e-mail and SMS in case of access point failures and security problems.
  • It has the ability to manage all Cisco access points that we have, regardless of the model. The limit is 1500 pieces of equipment.
  • The WLC enables roaming functionality in the localities, this helps with collections, wireless IP phones and accesses with notebooks.
  • The WLC manages the quality of the "air" and "signal" of the 2.4ghz frequency, avoiding noise and interference.
  • The WLC has an interesting feature of visibility of the traffic of the internal network.
  • SMARTnet support is expensive.
  • I haven't seen any technical problems so far.
Cisco brings a lot of reliability to its products and durability. With the WLAN line it is no different. We have a lot of equipment from different areas. We recommend the WLC 5520 in large scenarios and with a high density of connected users because the limit of this hardware is 1500 access points and 20,000 simultaneous clients. The WLC 5520 allows you to manage everything very easily, quickly and remotely instead of configuring one by one. Regardless of where the access points are installed, we are able to monitor and control them. This controller model is already compatible with the recent new standard of the high speed wifi 6 market, 802.11ax.
Read Gabriel Silva's full review
May 20, 2021
André Santi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco WLC 5520 is simply amazing and was one of the company's best acquisitions. Many years ago we had another solution from another manufacturer and we lived with daily problems with signal drop, interference and noise and now we have no more. With Cisco 5520 Wireless Controller, in addition to managing all access points for us very well, we were able to have visibility of the entire network traffic and create control policies to allow, prioritize, block certain traffic and preserve the network bandwidth and increase security. Our scenario consists of 2 WLC 5520 in high availability and are in the datacenter. Configuration is relatively easy for us who already have knowledge of the Cisco command and graphics interface.
  • Centralized management of a wifi network.
  • Compatible with all the latest Cisco access points.
  • Supports high density of access points and users to manage.
  • Very efficient support.
  • CleanAir
  • It is not compatible with very old access points.
The scenario for the WLC 5520 is suitable for organizations that have many branches and seek to find a centralized and unique management solution. The Cisco WLC 5520 addresses virtually all scenarios because it supports up to 1500 access points simultaneously without IT intervention.
Read André Santi's full review
May 12, 2021
João Mauricio | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco WLC Controller 5520 controls and manages the access points of some branches. The controllers are deployed in the High Availability topology where the second activates in case the other has a technical problem. We created a Captive portal on this WLC to authenticate users, guests and employees. Each network is on a different vlan and with different rules for accessing the internal wireless network. Cisco is a brand of high reliability and brings us security.
  • Promotes and expands mobility.
  • Portal with authentication for guests and collaborators.
  • Enables roaming
  • Automatically controls all access points in our network.
  • I cannot export the information about the APs to pdf.
  • High cost value.
The WLC is essential for the WLAN network and is recommended for any scenario with more than 5 Access points to manage. The radio frequency and range is delicate and difficult to dimension in the location and the WLC contributes by calculating and propagating the signal automatically to avoid interference and external noise from other APs with overlapping channels. The equipment is 1U and can be installed in any rack in the datacenter and connected to the Core switch.
Read João Mauricio's full review
February 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Cisco 5520 Wireless Controller to manage all of our wireless access points throughout all of our buildings. They are both indoor and outdoor setup access points. The system is used throughout the entire organization.
It addressed both managing access points independently as well as creating a guest WiFi that does not interfere with our business data flowing over the Wifi for our business applications.
  • Ease of setup for each new access point
  • Managing updates for existing access points
  • Ability out of the box to handle over 100 AP's would be great
  • A full featured dashboard
Would give it a rating of 9 out of 10. Over all it checks all the boxes when it came to an enterprise central management of AP's solution.
The platform is Cisco so we know it will be supported and any issues will be able to be addressed by their skilled support team.
Cisco is always available if we need support. If they are unable to solve the problem right away they will reach back to us in a timely manner and advise what we need to do. As well there team provides additional guidance if we hit any stumbling blocks. There service has been great.
Read this authenticated review
February 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco 5520 Wireless Controller is used by the whole organization to centralize administration of all of our access points. We have multiple SSIDs and add them on the fly at times. The Cisco 5520 makes this so much easier to manage.
  • Hand-off between access points
  • Centralized management
  • GUI is a little confusing and could be simplified.
  • Very expensive
If you can afford it, Cisco 5520 Wireless Controller is the only way to manage your access points. Cisco provides ease of mind in reporting and security.
Cisco has great techs if you need to open a TAC case. They are very knowledgeable. They have most likely, seen any problem you could encounter, and they know how to fix it.
Read this authenticated review
November 19, 2019
Erik Velasquez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
The Cisco Wireless LAN Controller implementation has allowed us to centralize the administration of the wireless platform through a simple interface with the security levels required by the organization. Additionally, the solution allows us to observe where there is a higher density of users and statistics on the main protocols used in real time.
  • Centralized Administration
  • Friendly Interface
  • Easy implementation
  • Robust architecture
  • Command Line Interface
  • Guest Portal
  • Telemetry
  • I consider that its implementation is recommended for configurations where the amount of access point exceeds 50 devices and the performance exceeds 4 Gbps.
  • In environments where the access point density is less than 10 units, we can use the option of Express Mobility.
I have not really had to scale cases on this platform. All documentation is available and very easy to implement.
Read Erik Velasquez's full review
December 17, 2019
Girgis Hady | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco 5520 Wireless Controller to manage all our access points in many branches across the whole organization, to handle more than 60 access points with more than 30 SSID for different locations and services. With many authentication methods, like pre-shared key, guest access, certificate authentication.
  • Enable roaming between APs.
  • Centralize APs management.
  • Compatibility with newer AP models.
  • Advanced monitoring for clients.
Cisco 5520 Wireless Controller is well suited in large companies that will use multiple APs in many different groups with advanced authentication methods to enhance the performance and ease of management and operations. It will be less appropriate when you have just a few APs in a small company or office.
Cisco support is always ready to support and engage in any problem or issue. Starting from the implementation support, troubleshooting any software issue or hardware. Their engineers are engaging whenever we ask for support, keep following up with us and troubleshooting any problem till we find a solution and be satisfied from the service.
Read Girgis Hady's full review
November 15, 2019
Aaron Oberman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have three Cisco 5520 Wireless Controllers which are administered centrally by our network team. We are utilizing all three controllers both redundantly as well as for load balancing our access points at 14 different sites. The 5520 controllers have enabled us to more efficiently manage our wireless network through the central management features as well as ease of configuration.
  • Centralized management has been the greatest factor in our preference for the 5520 controllers.
  • The web portal administration site is intuitive and granular. We have enjoyed the ease of administration on through the portals.
  • We have been very pleased with the effectiveness of Dynamic Channel Assignment (DCA) and Transmit Power Control (TPC) Algorithms. These feature settings (out of the box) have worked nearly flawlessly for us.
  • We have had some issues with access points losing their configurations and going offline. This is not a common issue and we are not entirely certain if it is a fault of the controller or the individual APs. That said, the controller does not appear to retain the knowledge of the offline AP which can be a management headache.
The 5520s are a perfect fit for us since our deployment is just shy of 400 access points. This gives us plenty of room to grow with the max concurrent sessions set at 280,000. For much larger enterprise solutions this would be a limitation and you would need to look at more robust solutions.
I'm rating this an 8 only because we have always had good support with our Cisco products. I have never personally opened a TAC case on any of our 5520 controllers.
Read Aaron Oberman's full review
November 14, 2019
Juan Alberto Alvarado Manzano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the WLC 5520 for the implementation of a complete metallurgy plant, with approximately 1,000 users and 100 access points.
  • High Availability
  • Throughput too high
  • Integration with Cisco DNA Center
  • High user capacity
  • The graphic interface could be easier for the end user, since sometimes they see it as very abstract and complex.
It is suitable for companies with a high number of users and wireless network equipment. It is also specifically well suited for locations where high availability is required.

It is not suitable for small corporations or those with a low number of users that would not take advantage of the maximum performance of the device.
During the implementation, we received support from Cisco TAC (for the initial implementation) and then we continued with the set-up and it all was very easy to perform.
Read Juan Alberto Alvarado Manzano's full review
November 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Wireless Controllers integrate with our ISE and help manage wireless users and mobile devices. We have three SSIDs that help segment employees, mobile devices and guest users. We had to upgrade to this model because of issues we experienced with our guest network. As we work with a number of consultants and external companies, the guest WiFi needed to be stable to support these external users.
  • Easy integration with ISE
  • Simple GUI that assisted in configuring the controllers, APs and security
  • Support of the new 2800 and 3800 AP models and also support our previous 3700s AP model
  • We bought two controllers and tested the seamless failover capabilities so users who are connected do not realise a failover occurred
  • Can improve on the possiblilty of using the physical controllers with the virtual one
  • Can improve on the possibility of having site to site failover capabilities - controllers at production goes down and controllers at our DR site takes over
  • The possibility of an app in your phone for alerts and minor configuration of the controllers
It is well suited in an environment that has mostly laptop users, has BYOD/corporate cell phone use, or that encourages collaboration via voice and video meetings. Definitely fits with a company that has on-the-go staff that requires quick access to resources.
Our local resellers implemented it in our network. Very knowledgeable and backed by Cisco support. The implementation was very smooth with no issues experienced the few days after the cut over. So far the support was great.
Read this authenticated review
September 26, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco's 5520 Wireless Controllers are used globally across our organisation together with Cisco Access Points. The controllers are used to manage all the local wireless networks in a consistent way.
  • Manage the configuration and operations of multiple local wireless access points.
  • Provide a good visual overview of the wireless infrastructure.
  • Provide management redundancy.
  • Pricing is on the high side, especially licenses.
  • Creating heat maps needs to be done in Prime.
Cisco Wireless Controllers are well suited in remote sites that have a fair amount of wireless access points. If there are not too many AP's then you're better off in configuring them in flex mode and have them managed by a remote WLC.
Getting technical support through Cisco's TAC for their wireless products has proven to be very good (as always). Cisco has very good L2 and L3 technical resources that provide support.
Read this authenticated review

What is Cisco 5520 Wireless Controller?

The Cisco 5520 Series Wireless LAN Controller is a highly scalable, service-rich, resilient, and flexible platform that is ideal for medium-sized to large enterprise and campus deployments.
Categories:  Wireless LAN

Cisco 5520 Wireless Controller Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco 5520 Wireless Controller?

The Cisco 5520 Series Wireless LAN Controller is a highly scalable, service-rich, resilient, and flexible platform that is ideal for medium-sized to large enterprise and campus deployments.

What is Cisco 5520 Wireless Controller's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.7.

Who uses Cisco 5520 Wireless Controller?

The most common users of Cisco 5520 Wireless Controller are from Enterprises and the Automotive industry.