Cisco 5520 Wireless Controller Reviews

23 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Erik Velasquez | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

WLC 5520 robust, economical, and easy to implement

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
The Cisco Wireless LAN Controller implementation has allowed us to centralize the administration of the wireless platform through a simple interface with the security levels required by the organization. Additionally, the solution allows us to observe where there is a higher density of users and statistics on the main protocols used in real time.
  • Centralized Administration
  • Friendly Interface
  • Easy implementation
  • Robust architecture
  • Command Line Interface
  • Guest Portal
  • Telemetry
  • I consider that its implementation is recommended for configurations where the amount of access point exceeds 50 devices and the performance exceeds 4 Gbps.
  • In environments where the access point density is less than 10 units, we can use the option of Express Mobility.
Read Erik Velasquez's full review
Girgis Hady | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

The importance of Wireless LAN Controller

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco 5520 Wireless Controller to manage all our access points in many branches across the whole organization, to handle more than 60 access points with more than 30 SSID for different locations and services. With many authentication methods, like pre-shared key, guest access, certificate authentication.
  • Enable roaming between APs.
  • Centralize APs management.
  • Compatibility with newer AP models.
  • Advanced monitoring for clients.
Cisco 5520 Wireless Controller is well suited in large companies that will use multiple APs in many different groups with advanced authentication methods to enhance the performance and ease of management and operations. It will be less appropriate when you have just a few APs in a small company or office.
Read Girgis Hady's full review
Aaron Oberman | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

Effective centralized management for wireless access points

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have three Cisco 5520 Wireless Controllers which are administered centrally by our network team. We are utilizing all three controllers both redundantly as well as for load balancing our access points at 14 different sites. The 5520 controllers have enabled us to more efficiently manage our wireless network through the central management features as well as ease of configuration.
  • Centralized management has been the greatest factor in our preference for the 5520 controllers.
  • The web portal administration site is intuitive and granular. We have enjoyed the ease of administration on through the portals.
  • We have been very pleased with the effectiveness of Dynamic Channel Assignment (DCA) and Transmit Power Control (TPC) Algorithms. These feature settings (out of the box) have worked nearly flawlessly for us.
  • We have had some issues with access points losing their configurations and going offline. This is not a common issue and we are not entirely certain if it is a fault of the controller or the individual APs. That said, the controller does not appear to retain the knowledge of the offline AP which can be a management headache.
The 5520s are a perfect fit for us since our deployment is just shy of 400 access points. This gives us plenty of room to grow with the max concurrent sessions set at 280,000. For much larger enterprise solutions this would be a limitation and you would need to look at more robust solutions.
Read Aaron Oberman's full review
Juan Alberto Alvarado Manzano | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2019

Wireless Controller of the future

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the WLC 5520 for the implementation of a complete metallurgy plant, with approximately 1,000 users and 100 access points.
  • High Availability
  • Throughput too high
  • Integration with Cisco DNA Center
  • High user capacity
  • The graphic interface could be easier for the end user, since sometimes they see it as very abstract and complex.
It is suitable for companies with a high number of users and wireless network equipment. It is also specifically well suited for locations where high availability is required.

It is not suitable for small corporations or those with a low number of users that would not take advantage of the maximum performance of the device.
Read Juan Alberto Alvarado Manzano's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Cico Wireless Controller 5520 - Simple WiFi deployment

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Cisco 5520 Wireless Controller to manage all of our wireless access points throughout all of our buildings. They are both indoor and outdoor setup access points. The system is used throughout the entire organization.
It addressed both managing access points independently as well as creating a guest WiFi that does not interfere with our business data flowing over the Wifi for our business applications.
  • Ease of setup for each new access point
  • Managing updates for existing access points
  • Ability out of the box to handle over 100 AP's would be great
  • A full featured dashboard
Would give it a rating of 9 out of 10. Over all it checks all the boxes when it came to an enterprise central management of AP's solution.
The platform is Cisco so we know it will be supported and any issues will be able to be addressed by their skilled support team.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2019

The ease of WiFi access with Cisco 5520 Wireless Controllers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Wireless Controllers integrate with our ISE and help manage wireless users and mobile devices. We have three SSIDs that help segment employees, mobile devices and guest users. We had to upgrade to this model because of issues we experienced with our guest network. As we work with a number of consultants and external companies, the guest WiFi needed to be stable to support these external users.
  • Easy integration with ISE
  • Simple GUI that assisted in configuring the controllers, APs and security
  • Support of the new 2800 and 3800 AP models and also support our previous 3700s AP model
  • We bought two controllers and tested the seamless failover capabilities so users who are connected do not realise a failover occurred
  • Can improve on the possiblilty of using the physical controllers with the virtual one
  • Can improve on the possibility of having site to site failover capabilities - controllers at production goes down and controllers at our DR site takes over
  • The possibility of an app in your phone for alerts and minor configuration of the controllers
It is well suited in an environment that has mostly laptop users, has BYOD/corporate cell phone use, or that encourages collaboration via voice and video meetings. Definitely fits with a company that has on-the-go staff that requires quick access to resources.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Expensive, but it makes management easy once you learn the ins and outs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco 5520 Wireless Controller is used by the whole organization to centralize administration of all of our access points. We have multiple SSIDs and add them on the fly at times. The Cisco 5520 makes this so much easier to manage.
  • Hand-off between access points
  • Centralized management
  • GUI is a little confusing and could be simplified.
  • Very expensive
If you can afford it, Cisco 5520 Wireless Controller is the only way to manage your access points. Cisco provides ease of mind in reporting and security.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Cisco 5520 WLC - A very, very reliable and flexible management tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco's 5520 Wireless Controllers are used globally across our organisation together with Cisco Access Points. The controllers are used to manage all the local wireless networks in a consistent way.
  • Manage the configuration and operations of multiple local wireless access points.
  • Provide a good visual overview of the wireless infrastructure.
  • Provide management redundancy.
  • Pricing is on the high side, especially licenses.
  • Creating heat maps needs to be done in Prime.
Cisco Wireless Controllers are well suited in remote sites that have a fair amount of wireless access points. If there are not too many AP's then you're better off in configuring them in flex mode and have them managed by a remote WLC.
Read this authenticated review

About Cisco 5520 Wireless Controller

The Cisco 5520 Series Wireless LAN Controller is a highly scalable, service-rich, resilient, and flexible platform that is ideal for medium-sized to large enterprise and campus deployments.
Categories:  Wireless LAN

Cisco 5520 Wireless Controller Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No