Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000) Reviews

24 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Reliable and Familiar

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The ASR 9000 is used as our core routing solution. Here it works as a BRASS, Building L2vpn, L3vpn for customers also as a border gateway router. All our services our connected to the ASR 9000 as our mobile platform for our corporate LAN and VOIP services. We also have directly connected distribution switches.
  • Familiar
  • Dependable
  • Easy to use
  • VRF Configuration could be made simpler
  • Uniform show command for Gig or TenG links
Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Service Routers are suited for core infrastructure such as routing and transport.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Great tools for running router delay simulators!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use this to carry out our core of services. We use them for data transfers, VoIP, and video communication.
  • To interconnect our services
  • To creat our video solutions
  • To provision our voice DOCSIS services
  • To creat mLDP solutions
  • To segment our routing network
  • To create interconnection of IMS networks
The most appropriate scenario: mLDP network with profile 4.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Promising platform with show-stopping bugs

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it for core and peering routers due to the insane FIB storage available compared to the Nexus 7Ks they replaced. We were not using any platform-specific features so when hardware refresh time came up and the options were N7700 or A9900 it seemed to be a no-brainer based on the capability in terms of both hardware and software and side-by-side cost comparison. Is a 9900 overkill for a standard IP core? Definitely, but we were looking to maintain a full table and not have to worry about FIB limitations.
  • Large FIB.
  • Netconf support.
  • Configuration staging with commit.
  • Upgrade process overly complicated compared to NX-OS or IOS: new images and the current configuration need to be compiled into "golden IOS's". If you don't include the configuration, you will have a clean device with no config.
  • Major bugs in every release. We have had to cycle through all of our routers 3 times in the last year for updates due to show-stopping bugs that did not come to light until after the changes were made in production.
  • Terrible documentation. You have to mine their site to get to any documentation for recent versions of IOS-XR. If you make the leap from 32-bit cXR to 64-bit eXR then the documentation is more-or-less non-existent. Due to the internal architecture of hardware itself, technical specs can change from software version to software version, so don't expect any sort of firm scalability numbers. You'll have to rely on your sales engineer for that.
Cisco 9000 Series is well suited anywhere that requires lots of room for FIB (e.g. holding multiple full tables in multiple VRFs for militancy). It is also well suited for carriers due to the feature set - they can do MPLS and they can do segment routing. They are less suited for shops that have always been Cisco shops that are looking to replace their IOS devices in the least-difficult way and without having to learn new CLI. "IOS" may be in the name, but it is not at all the same.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 11, 2019

Cisco ASR9000 series is a one size fits most type of device for large Service Providers.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is basically used as a fully functional core router on the network. It has the capability to handle the amount of traffic going through it and is easily expandable as demand grows. In addition, due to its versatility, it is also being considered as a potential edge router for future expansion.
  • Easily expandable
  • Good port density
  • Still relatively new
  • Needs to be able to handle higher port density as the need for higher bandwidth demands grow
  • Software upgrades could be done more efficiently
  • Too many licenses for various features
It is well suited as a large router in a data center handling extreme amounts of traffic. It offers room for expansion and upgrades. It does not work well as a customer premise device due to its size, power, requirements, and cost. There are other ASR models better suited for such cases.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2019

ASR 9000 is great but wish it had more 100 gig ports

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The ASR 9000 is being used as a 1 gig and 10 gig aggregation. It supports Layer 2 and Layer 3 as well as some complex MPLS applications that we require. It also does a great job with multicast routing.
  • Layer 3 multicast. It handles the additional load of multicast without issues. Other platforms we have used have had over-subscription issues.
  • We've used several MPLS features such as pseudowire using bridge-domains as well as xconnects. Plenty of features to solve any design problem.
  • IOS XR. I just love operating in IOS XR. Solve so many problems that exist in IOS.
  • Not enough 100 gig dense line cards.
I recommend it for any scenario that you need a lot of Layer 3 protocols. MP-BGP, MPLS. It also handles simple Layer 2 solutions.

I would not recommend it for complex Layer 2 environments.
Read this authenticated review
Jyrki Halonen | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2019

Cisco ASR in DC

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Routers within our DC as well as between different DCs. They are used as core routers for inside services and WAN routers on our MPLS and towards third-party WAN routers. We have installed those to multiple different production networks and most of the routers are used by multiple customers.
  • Performance, we have had no issues with the performance level
  • Reliability, no major incidents caused by our ASR routers
  • Knowhow of Cisco IOS: easy to manage in a large organization [due to the] good level of IOS knowledge
  • Price level
  • Licensing models
They are fitting nice in a multi-tenant environment where we need to separate customer loads in a secure way. In our environment, we use Cisco routes in multiple locations for many purposes and have not found a non-suitable use case yet.

In some small installations, we are also using some other routers, like in a lab or test environment.
Read Jyrki Halonen's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2018

High performance, high reliability (but high cost too!)

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses both ISR models and ASR 9000 series models of Cisco routers to manage traffic across endpoints. These allow our network to be configured with an active-passive failsafe (primary/secondary) to support our high performance and high availability needs across various components of our business-critical infrastructure. The ASR series routers are also used in our global data centers.
  • ASR 9000 series models of Cisco Routers are exceptionally reliable when compared to other market options.
  • One strength of Cisco routers, in general, is their compatibility with any standard market tools from other vendors.
  • Unmatched in terms of sheer performance.
  • Comfortably supports very strong throughput requirements.
  • Cost - If you want the best, you gotta pay the best. The ASR models may not be the best option when taking budget into account.
  • Working with the command line interface can be a challenge - not everybody can use it.
  • Sometimes, escalation of support issues tends to be a tedious and slow process. One would expect better support service for the high licensing cost they charge.
Any large enterprise with large throughput requirements for their business-critical infrastructure should use the ASR series routers without exception. The licensing cost might hit your pocket hard, but with the exceptional performance and reliability that the ASR series offers, it is easily the best option available in the market. It is the "tried and tested" router. Don't think twice, just go for it!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2019

Cisco Routing!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Routers within our department for a service provider core network. Using primarily the Cisco ASR 9K series, we are able to provide solutions for whatever our partner companies needs are.
  • Expandability
  • Capabilities
  • Routing feature sets
  • None
Cisco Routers are well suited within the service provider space. They offer many different features and support a wide range of service provider technology.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2018

ASR routers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the ASR routers to build our multi-state 10G ringed wide area network using our own fiber network.
  • The ASR routers have been very reliable over the past 4 years
  • Ability to run VRF and segment multiple networks on the same fiber
  • When we implemented our Cisco UC system we were not able to use the routers for voice gateways. We had to purchase ISR routers for this function.
The ASR routers are well suited for our WAN speeds and optical network. However not using them for the voice gateways did reduce their overall value.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2018

Quality products

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This was used primarily for internal routing, in support of up to 500 users.
  • Comprehensive features, with the option to add on later if needed.
  • Pretty easy to provision and get operational
  • Minimum configuration needed
  • None at this time
Cisco provides a wide range of products that can meet any project size (large or small).
Read this authenticated review

Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000) Scorecard Summary

About Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000)

Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000) are designed to support carrier edge networks.
Categories:  Routers

Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No