Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000) Reviews

24 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Reliable and Familiar

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The ASR 9000 is used as our core routing solution. Here it works as a BRASS, Building L2vpn, L3vpn for customers also as a border gateway router. All our services our connected to the ASR 9000 as our mobile platform for our corporate LAN and VOIP services. We also have directly connected distribution switches.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Promising platform with show-stopping bugs

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using it for core and peering routers due to the insane FIB storage available compared to the Nexus 7Ks they replaced. We were not using any platform-specific features so when hardware refresh time came up and the options were N7700 or A9900 it seemed to be a no-brainer based on the capability in terms of both hardware and software and side-by-side cost comparison. Is a 9900 overkill for a standard IP core? Definitely, but we were looking to maintain a full table and not have to worry about FIB limitations.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 11, 2019

Cisco ASR9000 series is a one size fits most type of device for large Service Providers.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is basically used as a fully functional core router on the network. It has the capability to handle the amount of traffic going through it and is easily expandable as demand grows. In addition, due to its versatility, it is also being considered as a potential edge router for future expansion.
Read this authenticated review
Jyrki Halonen | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2019

Cisco ASR in DC

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Cisco Routers within our DC as well as between different DCs. They are used as core routers for inside services and WAN routers on our MPLS and towards third-party WAN routers. We have installed those to multiple different production networks and most of the routers are used by multiple customers.
Read Jyrki Halonen's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2019

Cisco Routing!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Cisco Routers within our department for a service provider core network. Using primarily the Cisco ASR 9K series, we are able to provide solutions for whatever our partner companies needs are.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2018

High performance, high reliability (but high cost too!)

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our organization uses both ISR models and ASR 9000 series models of Cisco routers to manage traffic across endpoints. These allow our network to be configured with an active-passive failsafe (primary/secondary) to support our high performance and high availability needs across various components of our business-critical infrastructure. The ASR series routers are also used in our global data centers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2018

ASR routers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using the ASR routers to build our multi-state 10G ringed wide area network using our own fiber network.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2018

Quality products

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

This was used primarily for internal routing, in support of up to 500 users.
Read this authenticated review

Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000) Scorecard Summary

About Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000)

Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000) are designed to support carrier edge networks.
Categories:  Routers

Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No