Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000) Reviews

27 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE Badge

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easily expandable
  • Good port density
  • Still relatively new
  • Needs to be able to handle higher port density as the need for higher bandwidth demands grow
  • Software upgrades could be done more efficiently
  • Too many licenses for various features
Read this authenticated review
October 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Large FIB.
  • Netconf support.
  • Configuration staging with commit.
  • Upgrade process overly complicated compared to NX-OS or IOS: new images and the current configuration need to be compiled into "golden IOS's". If you don't include the configuration, you will have a clean device with no config.
  • Major bugs in every release. We have had to cycle through all of our routers 3 times in the last year for updates due to show-stopping bugs that did not come to light until after the changes were made in production.
  • Terrible documentation. You have to mine their site to get to any documentation for recent versions of IOS-XR. If you make the leap from 32-bit cXR to 64-bit eXR then the documentation is more-or-less non-existent. Due to the internal architecture of hardware itself, technical specs can change from software version to software version, so don't expect any sort of firm scalability numbers. You'll have to rely on your sales engineer for that.
Read this authenticated review
October 31, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • To interconnect our services
  • To creat our video solutions
  • To provision our voice DOCSIS services
  • To creat mLDP solutions
  • To segment our routing network
  • To create interconnection of IMS networks
Read this authenticated review
February 04, 2019
Jyrki Halonen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Performance, we have had no issues with the performance level
  • Reliability, no major incidents caused by our ASR routers
  • Knowhow of Cisco IOS: easy to manage in a large organization [due to the] good level of IOS knowledge
  • Price level
  • Licensing models
Read Jyrki Halonen's full review
November 13, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • ASR 9000 series models of Cisco Routers are exceptionally reliable when compared to other market options.
  • One strength of Cisco routers, in general, is their compatibility with any standard market tools from other vendors.
  • Unmatched in terms of sheer performance.
  • Comfortably supports very strong throughput requirements.
  • Cost - If you want the best, you gotta pay the best. The ASR models may not be the best option when taking budget into account.
  • Working with the command line interface can be a challenge - not everybody can use it.
  • Sometimes, escalation of support issues tends to be a tedious and slow process. One would expect better support service for the high licensing cost they charge.
Read this authenticated review
May 06, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Layer 3 multicast. It handles the additional load of multicast without issues. Other platforms we have used have had over-subscription issues.
  • We've used several MPLS features such as pseudowire using bridge-domains as well as xconnects. Plenty of features to solve any design problem.
  • IOS XR. I just love operating in IOS XR. Solve so many problems that exist in IOS.
  • Not enough 100 gig dense line cards.
Read this authenticated review
June 13, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The ASR routers have been very reliable over the past 4 years
  • Ability to run VRF and segment multiple networks on the same fiber
  • When we implemented our Cisco UC system we were not able to use the routers for voice gateways. We had to purchase ISR routers for this function.
Read this authenticated review
June 15, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Comprehensive features, with the option to add on later if needed.
  • Pretty easy to provision and get operational
  • Minimum configuration needed
  • None at this time
Read this authenticated review

Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000) Scorecard Summary

What is Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000)?

The Cisco ASR 9000 Series has a product portfolio ranging from the Cisco ASR 9001 (2 Rack Units [2RU]) to the Cisco ASR 9922 (44RU), with each system designed to provide true carrier-class reliability using the Cisco IOS® XR operating system.
Categories:  Routers

Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000) Features

Has featureMeets the needs of mass-scale networks: Delivers high-density, high performance edge platforms suitable for growing or high-demand markets.
Has featureSupports enhanced port flexibility from 1G to 400G and with many form factors
Has featurePlatform is committed to forward and backward compatibility

Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000) Video

Update on the ASR 9000 Series and the many innovations it delivers.

Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000) Downloadables

Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000) Competitors

Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000) Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat
Email

Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Cisco IOS XR7
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000)?

Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000) are designed to support carrier edge networks.

What is Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 6.5.

Who uses Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000)?

The most common users of Cisco 9000 Series Aggregation Services Routers (ASR 9000) are from Enterprises and the Telecommunications industry.