Cisco Aironet 1800 Series Access Points Reviews

12 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-12 of 12)

Benjamín Marrón Rojas | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

The benefits of Cisco Aironet 1850 series Access Points.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we use Cisco Aironet and Catalyst 1850 in implementations with small and medium-sized clients, to help them cover areas where the wireless is unstable or there is a weak signal. This product has been used in small areas such as a room or an office, as well as in large areas such as an amusement park, in that aspect it is a very flexible and reliable product.
  • Connect Users via Wireless
  • Flexibility by not requiring a physical controller.
  • It´s a little bit expensive compared with other brands.
  • If you don´t have PoE in your switches you nedd adquire a Power Adapter o Power injector.
The Access points of the 1850 series are well implemented in small or medium-sized companies where, just by buying the required access points, you can put them to work. That is, they do not need a physical controller to manage them since a single access point can provide administration up to 25 more. You can also configure another AP to act as redundancy of the master, in the event that the master disconnects the backup will enter and take its role.
It is always a plus talking about Cisco innovations. In the case of users, it helps them to have a better Wireless experience. Specifically speaking for example, ClientLink connects to all the different types of devices whether old or new technology such as 802.11ac. In this way it does not allow old devices to degrade the network, in the case of ClearAir, it greatly improves the quality of the signal received by the final device by making automatic modifications so that the channels do not interfere with each other when there are different signals from other sources. In the end, these innovations make the user have their device connected in the best possible way, without interruptions or a bad signal.
Read Benjamín Marrón Rojas's full review
juan rodriguez | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Drop This on your Sales Team and you will forgert about wreless issues.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a bunch of Aironet APs in our sales and product management areas. We needed to implement a simple but capable and secure wireless environment. Before we had several problems of disconnections and poor signals. Currently we have a segregated SSID and VLAN to offer connectivity to our customers and vendors.
  • High throughput
  • Fast handoff
  • Best support for all kinds of different devices. We have brand new Notebooks along with some legacy ones. Both work well.
  • The design goes along with any office (no fancy lights or huge in size like other access points)
  • Layer 7 Filtering Capability
  • Mesh Capabilities
  • Exceptional for general office use, using mail, browsing the internet, connecting to ERP and SAP reporting.
  • Not so well suited for high bandwidth 4K video streaming.
  • Recommended for small to medium sized companies who want a stable and fast AP.
As user we do not go so in depth for technical details, but having our team never complain about the wifi is clearly the result of technologies being applied.
Read juan rodriguez's full review
Darren Hosking | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2019

Cisco 1815 Access Point - entry level indoor AP

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have deployed Cisco Aironet Access Points (APs) across a number of customers and sites as part of our wireless-as-a-service solution. They provide 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wave 1 access and support current standards and wireless features. The APs are centrally managed via a Cisco Wireless LAN Controller (WLC) which provides self-healing RF management (purchased separately).
  • Dual 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz radio support
  • Support current wireless standards and Cisco features
  • Variety of power options available
  • Integrated Bluetooth low-energy (BLE) 4.1 radio
  • No CleanAir support
  • No mGig support
This model is a good entry level, indoor access point suitable for typical office environments. To support higher wireless speeds, multiple gigabit ethernet interfaces can be aggregated when connecting to the wired network. The AP also operates on 802.3af Power over Ethernet (PoE) so may also be suitable for environments that do not support 802.3at PoE.
Cisco AP supports the latest wireless standards to provide the best user experience including high performance and fast reliable roaming. This includes:
  • 802.11ac wave 2 - high throughput and MU-MIMO (multi-user, multiple-input, multiple-output)
  • 802.11k - neighbour reporting provides a list of nearby APs to assist the client to make a better and faster roaming decision
  • 802.11v - BSS transition management allows the WLC to suggest to the client a better AP to roam to
  • 802.11r - Fast BSS transition allows a client to roam to another AP quickly with minimal impact
Read Darren Hosking's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2019

Cisco Aironet with Mobility Express

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We are using multiple types of APs at the moment, mostly 1815 and in some cases the 1852 and 2800 series. The model depends on the location and type of traffic. Most offices we built with 1815s are controlled by Mobility Express. For some warehousing, we are using 1852 Internal and External access points with directional antennas for great coverage. In the past, I built multiple warehouse networks based on the 2800 series with 5500 series WLCs.



  • Stable APs overall
  • Scalability is great. We also are mixing multiple models with Mobility Express
  • We now have, in total, 55 Mobility Express networks, distributed over multiple offices and customers. With Mobility Express there is no need to buy lots of WLCs
  • On the Mobility Express models, it’s hard to configure all from the GUI, and sometimes the GUI is buggy
  • In Mobility Express, the (virtual) controller is not able to push the right image to the APs. This sometimes results in not joining the APs
  • Some minor issues with firmware

1815s are perfect for deploying in offices as they have good coverage and a small form factor. For warehousing, we had to move to the 1852s as they have more power but are also a bit bigger. A good central management dashboard for the 55 (virtual) WLC would be great. As of now, we are managing all (virtual) WLC standalone. For baselining and updates, this takes a little bit more time than we wanted

CleanAir is not working on the 1800 series. In update 8.8.111.0, Spectrum Intelligence was added, giving us more information about interference on active channels and helping to solve an interference issue at a customer site. Zigbee was interfering with the channel that was picked as a 'clean' channel by the AP because a non-Aironet Access Point was running there.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2019

Cisco Aironet is the global standard for managed WLAN services

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Mobility Express (1800er) in small locations and use WLC-Cluster (3500 or 9800 and 3800) and ISE in larger environments. We sell it as a managed service for the customer, therefore they do not have access to the hardware. Even in wireless environments with many other neighbors, stable use and configuration is no problem.
  • Good in production areas
  • Works in offices with many users and voiceover WLAN
  • You need to understand how it works, it's not as automatic like Meraki
It is one of our global standards in the WLAN at customer locations. It's very scalable and flexible in installation and use. The guest portal is ready for all possibilities and installations. Access Points work in rough environments, too. The module for the 3800-series is interesting to sniffer the environment and get a good RF spectrum of the location from the customer
CleanAir is interesting for customer locations. MiMo in high-density areas helps to get better bandwidth to the clients and have more parallel streams. Shared media is therefore reduced and clients work better with higher bandwidth. Clients must support new features, too. Apple is the best decision and works best together, logging is enhanced, too
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2019

Scalability with Cisco Aironet

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All of our wireless production networks are running on Cisco technology. We are a success case in the Latin American region with this technology. In the past, we had a lot of network disconnections that affected our production processes and our clients. After the implementation of Cisco Aironet, the issues are under control.
  • Roaming.
  • Signal stability.
  • Multiple SSID.
  • Signal potential.
  • Self-configuration.
If you have a lot of devices, Cisco Aironet is a great option. If you have multiple branches, you can combine Cisco Aironet with a wireless LAN controller and have a very scalable architecture. If you add Cisco’s Prime, the security across the wireless network will be strong, and I think this is a complete solution.
Read this authenticated review
Debbie Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2019

Cisco - 1852 Controller Devices Constantly Presenting User Frustrations

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Aironet 1560 Series
We have used Cisco Aironet Wireless Access Points throughout our business for years. We have always had an internal and guest wireless network, with the guest network being for our clients or employee personal devices.
  • Until 2018, our Aironets were 1560 series, and each was managed separately. We had about 9 devices, 3-4 per floor, strategically placed on each floor to get a good coverage map over a three-floor environment. Their coverage was greater than expected. With the latest 1852 models we have, they are managed by a controller, and frankly, the coverage is a smaller area, requiring more units. We have worked with support for months and this is the final outcome of all the setting changes - we simply need more devices to cover the same area.
  • None of the models I have used have needed reboots. We usually only reboot the devices annually, and they don't have issues requiring restarts.
  • With the 1560 series, the connection strength was extremely consistent. With the new 1852 model, which is managed by one of the WAPs as a controller, it is supposed to use smart technology to load balance (optional) and determine which of the WAPs is appropriate to connect the requesting device to - great idea - but it does NOT work well.
  • With the 1852 managed controller model, we find the signal strength is constantly in flux for our two different manufacturer laptops, iPhones, iPads, Pixel 2 phones, etc. In other words, it's not device specific. We also find that frequently, the controller (with load balancing on or off) will often push a laptop or phone off to connect to a WAP down the hall with a much lower signal strength (due to distance) than the one on the ceiling above our head. It's very frustrating.
  • The 1852 managed controller model has much fewer options for configuration and technical specs - there are very few choices because Cisco has set lots of defaults for you and gives you no choice any longer.
Some advice on the Cisco Aironet Wireless Access Point 1852: 1) Don't mix models. The controllers seem to work slightly better if they control all the APs in the designated wireless space. 2) Turn off load balancing if at all possible. If your users are spread out, like in an office environment, don't let the controller move everyone around. It does not work well and our devices had poor signal strength constantly. 3) If you need Cisco help, do yourself a favor and do a wireless map (signal strength map) in advance and have it ready so they don't put you off for several days while you jump through this hoop.
Due to the issues discussed in other areas of this review, we have not noticed any improvements in ClientLink or ClearAir etc. In my opinion, Cisco's controller model 1852 performs much worse in our environment than the previous older series.
Read Debbie Johnson's full review
Wouter Hindriks | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2019

Cisco accesspoints with software WLAN controllers will make your wireless life much easier!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Cisco 1815 Series
  • Cisco 1850 Series
We are using the Cisco Aironet Access Points (AP) with the Mobility Express Software to provide a trouble-free WiFi network for 50 of our sites. We provide WiFi for company devices, employee smartphones, and guest devices by providing separate SSIDs and VLANs. This improves the security of our networks by keeping unmanaged devices away from our company resources.
  • Mobile Express software makes it easy to deploy and grow your network without having to configure every Accespoint.
  • The Built-in Best Practice Analyzer helps you deploy the best network for your users.
  • Rapid software updates and fixes available from Cisco.
  • Does require a beyond basic understanding of wireless networking technology.
  • Need to familiarize yourself with the documentation to make the most of the product.
The 1815 & 1850 APs with Mobility Express are very well suited for remote deployments where you need to have excellent visibility of your WLAN without being on-site.

If you need a really cheap basic network the 1815/1850 APs are not what you need as they start to make sense for deployments of 3 or more devices.
The intelligence built into these APs is amazing, they automatically configure the optimal transmit power to cover a site (which of course can be fine tunes by the admin).

The Mobility Express software lets you troubleshoot connectivity issues in real-time and makes it easy to zero in on problematic devices and clients.
Read Wouter Hindriks's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2019

Cisco Wireless

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Cisco Access Point
  • Cisco 1815 Series
We use Cisco Access Points for multiple wireless networks within our organization as well as our remote retail store locations for guest access. These access points allow us to solve the need of having BYOD environments for both employees and guests.
  • Ease of use/configuration
  • Reliability
  • Expandibility
  • None so far!
These access points are great for our enterprise environment, and offer great coverage for all of our buildings. They are well suited for a retail environment to support the needs of consumers wanting WiFi access.
We have not used these specific technologies in our environment, but we see the benefit in having these available to us if we ever decide to do so.
Read this authenticated review
Jose De Jesus | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 22, 2018

Novalogiq Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
  • Cisco Aironet 1530 Series
  • Cisco Aironet 1540 Series
  • Cisco Aironet 1550 Series
  • Cisco Aironet 1560 Series
  • Cisco Aironet 1570 Series
  • Cisco 1815 Series
  • Cisco 1830 Series
  • Cisco 1850 Series
  • Cisco 2800 Series
  • Cisco 3800 Series
  • Other
We have 2 Cisco Meraki MR32 Cloud Managed AP with roaming enabled for the entire office, also we sell Aironets and Meraki APs for our customer.
  • Cisco Meraki Traffic Analytics
  • Great Visibility about apps and bandwidth usage
  • Great Controls for not allowed applications.
  • Access Control
  • RF and antennas propagation.
  • Better or easy way to change firmware for example from WLC ios to StandAlone or Mobility Express need to be improved.
  • Better prices for midsize business.
They are perfect almost for everything uses cases but in some scenarios like warehouse or outside locations you need to use more APs than the competitors.
This kind of technology are always difficult to measure, sometimes is not easy to show in action this features.
Read Jose De Jesus's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2018

Aironet AP review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Cisco 1815 Series
  • Cisco 2800 Series
We have over 3000 Cisco Access Points on campus supporting all students, staff, and faculty.
  • Manage numerous clients
  • Provide high throughput
  • Robust and reliable
  • Cost
  • Form factor
  • Reporting bad radios
Aeronet Access Points are great for large enterprise deployments but perhaps less so for environments small enough to not require a WLC (wireless LAN controller).
CleanAir has benefited us greatly as it allows us to easily pinpoint interference sources such as rogue access points and leaky microwaves.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2018

No say in selection engineer but works at what it needs too

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Cisco Access Point
  • Cisco 1815 Series
We use Cisco 3600s and 3700s as our primary access point and we also use the Officenet OEAP 612 1810 and 1815 for remote access users.
  • Ease of use
  • Troubleshooting tools on controller
  • No separate power needed
  • More plug and play
  • Faster throughput for OEAP
  • Dedicated radios for packet capture, no need to turn off other radios to do what is needed
[It's well suited] for Remote users for work at home
Smaller and dedicated packet capture radios in each access point
It is good, but not great
Read this authenticated review

Cisco Aironet 1800 Series Access Points Scorecard Summary

About Cisco Aironet 1800 Series Access Points

The vendor states the Cisco Aironet 1800 family of access points, which are designed for small and midsize networks, delivers the performance needed for the ongoing proliferation of Wave 2 as well as support for older Wi-Fi devices.
Categories:  Wireless LAN

Cisco Aironet 1800 Series Access Points Competitors

FortiAP, Ubiquiti WLAN, Aruba Networks Wireless LAN (WLAN)

Cisco Aironet 1800 Series Access Points Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No