Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
38 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 27)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 05, 2021
Tomasz Piekarski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mix of AIR-AP2802 and AIR-CAP2602 are used in our customer warehouses and branches, and they act as a primary network access for office computers and warehouse equipment. Depending on location, access points are managed by different hardware revisions Cisco WLC in 8.5 firmware version. In most cases, they are unproblematic, and after installation do not require any physical maintenance.
  • Great coverage.
  • Easy central management.
  • Great reliability.
  • Easy deployment.
  • Access to advanced config is easy.
  • Power measurements and neighbouring AP channel detection are built-in.
  • Form factor.
  • Automatic channel allocation is prone to be problematic.
  • Price.
  • No central management options other than WLC.
A great example of use would be large warehouses that need network access for scanners and other equipment - use of central management and Aironet Access point would speed up deployment process. A scenario that Cisco AIR AP would not perform so well are small branches.
Great scalability, extending network is fast easy and risk free.
Addition of single Access Point does not take more than one hour. Replacing all access points and the WLC installation process took us 3 weeks, but we were gradually replacing old Access Points, and for some time running two parallel WLANs. It allowed us to make the transition seamless, and users did not notice any interruptions.
Read Tomasz Piekarski's full review
May 25, 2021
Caroline Marques | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
One of the best things the organization did was to replace the organization's old b/g wifi routers. Now we have a scenario with some Cisco access points that are managed by a controller. The model in question is the 2802i which support high density of connected clients at the same time and has several technologies to improve the health of the wlan network, as is the case with CleanAir. The APs are installed on the ceiling and aim to provide wireless network for everyone because most use notebooks and have tablets and smartphones. We configured that to authenticate the internal network it is necessary to log in to the personalized captive portal and when accessing the network the client enters a specific vlan with all the security rules implemented.
  • The 2802i is a model with integrated antennas and has a beautiful look.
  • The 2802i has software that automatically detects an interference in the 2.4ghz radio and changes the channel.
  • Powerful and supports high density of clients connected on both radios.
  • It can be controlled by a controller.
  • It does not support the new 802.11ac protocol.
  • It depends on the controller to enable the advanced features.
Access points are installed on the ceiling of the offices using a support that came with the box. These devices are PoE and do not need an external power source. Today they are connected via a power injector in the switch rack. This creates a cleaner and more charming look in the environment without a lot of wire. The AP 2802i supports a lot of connected clients and uses the 802.11n protocol working with the 2.4ghz and 5ghz frequencies.
As for scalability, it's good too. But it will depend on the type of wifi controller that is installed in the company. In our case, it is the 5520 and it supports many simultaneous clients and controls more than 1000 APs. Without the controller the AP is standalone and loses some advanced features and it is necessary to make the settings manually.
After the purchase a planning was carried out by the IT team. Access points 2802i were installed on the ceiling of the rooms and connected to the network cable. The cable energizes the equipment and is automatically configured because the settings were made on the WLC Controller.
Read Caroline Marques's full review
May 15, 2021
Umair Ali Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We had requirements around implementing WiFi across our offices in our plant area. Initially, small business WiFi was implemented as there was less demand and fewer users. But, as the organization grew our user base also grew and we needed to upgrade our Wireless infrastructure to support the growing need. After evaluating multiple vendors we decided to go with Cisco Aironet Access points. Since then our wireless infrastructure is working great and we only needed to fine-tune it a bit after initial deployment. In fact, now we have shifted almost all users on WiFi and no one is using cable anymore.
  • High density user support
  • 11ac support
  • MIMO support
  • Centralized management
  • Clean air for RF
  • Rogue detection and containment
  • Requires POE+ switches or adapters
  • Expensive hardware
  • Sometimes AP stuck in bootloop after OS upgrade
  • Does not work with normal POE
Cisco Aironet Access Points are enterprise-grade access points and they are designed to handle a large amount of users with high-speed data access. Their hardware is very robust and high performance which lets it handle traffic at high data rates very efficiently. they are perfect for high-density environments lie universities, hospitals, stadiums etc.
They become expensive for a small office environment where there are [fewer] users.
Cisco Aironet Access Points are made for large environments. There are multiple models to choose from depending on your budget and requirements. There are outdoor models as well which can be implemented in harsh outdoor environments. They are also scalable and can be increased as per growth of a company. the controllers support large number of access points, even the lower level controller supports upto 150 access points.
Cisco Aironet Access points were purchased and implemented just before I joined my current company. So I cannot comment on how much time it took for the products to be delivered and implemented. However we were noticing improved results after implementation and the overall performance of our wireless infrastructure was improved greatly with improvement in user connection speed and stability.
Read Umair Ali Khan's full review
May 02, 2021
Engr Umer Usmani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco Aironet Access Points for our wireless users and guest. These APs are placed in our Head Office, Production Office, Plant Shops, Regional Offices, and Showrooms. All APs are managed centrally by a centralized wireless controller.
  • Provide AC connectivity
  • Smooth connectivity
  • Easy to manage
  • CLI needs to improve.
We are using it in our office where most of them are wireless users. These AP are configured in AC mode to provide more efficient bandwidth to users.
I am using it in my different offices with different policies applied to them. I can modify and customize my wireless network as per my need and requirement.
It was implemented in 2017, and we configured our wireless network in 3 months. After that, the issues for which I implement Cisco's solution are to mitigate and the network becomes optimized.
Read Engr Umer Usmani's full review
May 27, 2021
Ahmed Mujeeb | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our management building wireless LAN is based on 2802i AP's, we are using it with Mobility Express so we does not require additional Wireless Controller.
  • Access point range can be improved.
  • RF optimization in 2.4 GHz is weak.
  • Unable to show all the hostnames in clients.
As per my experience, Cisco 2800 AP with Cisco Mobility Express works well with lesser rogue AP's means where there are far less other Wireless Networks available. But in higher number of rogue AP areas like in corporate building etc. does not work properly especially in 2.4 GHz connectivity.
Scalability of using Cisco 2800 series AP's is good as using it in a Cisco Environment like with Cisco Switches it helps a lot in troubleshooting and Cisco ISE provide great functionalities and features of wireless users control.
In initial it took quite a time to configure and optimize as per your organization, I can say it will take a week to implement up to 10 AP's in your environment.
Read Ahmed Mujeeb's full review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco Aironet [2800 Series Access Points] are an upgrade from a previous version of the Cisco Access Point line up, so they were specifically purchased due to the age of the previous product. We have a mix of the 2800 and 3000 series from the same line and are very happy with all of them because they solve a lot of issues that our non Cisco AP's had.
  • Like the energizer bunny these things just keep running
  • Lots of cool features that our non cisco AP's never had
  • Support is always top notch when needed
  • A built in meshing system would be super forward thinking
  • Price reduction in the 2XXX series lineup
  • Make the licensing experience easier to deal with
The reason [Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points is] not a 10/10 in this section is really if you're using another provider for your main network equipment then this may not be the easiest transition. If you're already using Cisco stuff then yes go for the upgrade and get these better units in place. Their range and function outweigh their cost increase.
They are flexible and scalable in their own ways. When paired with a nice Cisco WLC then you get the full package. They have super long range and can host tons of clients. They can be paired with other models in the same system without issue. And doing a large rollout is made easy with Cisco's easy to use software.
We got the new AP's installed, configured and firmware upgraded in minimal time compared to previous roll outs. Total implementation time is hard to gauge but it was must faster than the previous rollout, saving days of work. We noticed better performance right away and users were even noticing the improved wifi.
Read this authenticated review
May 16, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
APs 2800 series are currently used either for factory purposes with 2802E and external antenna 2544 or for corporate wireless usage with 2802I. It's a very good product, robust, and offers a double throughput option using the AUX port as a secondary port. The coverage is very efficient and there is nothing to complain about.
  • Internal wireless coverage.
  • Good reliability even in factory environment.
  • AUX port can be used to increase bandwidth.
  • The price is quite high.
  • Some hardware failure.
  • AUX port is not PoE so it can't be used as a real redundant port.
I gave the Cisco 2800 Series Access Points a rate of 8 because I have been really happy with this product that I have been installing and managing during the last 2 years. These access points have been efficient, reliable and have delivered a good coverage area at the same time for campus and for offices.
Those APs offer a good value for good wireless performance. It's really nice that all external antenna and mounting kits are compatible with the previous Aironet series (like 2500/2600/2700) so it's quite easy to get those APs replaced by the 2800 series. Also, the design is a bit more robust, so it's good for a factory environment.
It was very easy to manage those devices quite efficiently and very quickly because they are a twin of the 2700 AP. The only new thing that took a bit of time to manage is the LAG (Link Aggregation) feature, which allows you to use the AUX port as a secondary port to increase bandwidth capacity. It's possible to use a port-channel on the switch side.
Read this authenticated review
April 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco Aironet Access Point line up has been a part of our business for years now. We did have a mixed environment of other AP types at that point but now we're fully rolled out on all Aironet devices for all our access points. Doing this allowed us to have only one type of AP to manage and being able to do this all in one place.
  • Fairly priced
  • Well built
  • Great performance
  • Units do get pretty hot during high usage.
  • The mount could have a more versatile design.
  • Out of the box firmware is always an old version.
If asked by a colleague, I would first see if they need as robust of a system as the Aironet's provide. If they need something simpler, they can probably find those at better prices. But if you need a large number of users and a large coverage range, and manage a lot of points, then this is the way to go.
I would assume that most people getting a large amount of these AP's would also be investing in a Cisco controller that combines all the management of these into one simple to use location. That's where it truly shines when you can deploy 10 of these in under an hour because the controller makes setup so simple.
I would say we went from an hour setup on our existing (not centralized management) access points to literally a few minutes per device. Let me explain. Once you combine these with a centralized Cisco Wireless Controller and you configure it up for your environment, you can simply plug in these AP's and they get their firmware and config in under a minute. Then they're just ready to go!
Read this authenticated review
December 17, 2020
Christopher J Evans | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points to expand our wireless coverage across our company grounds. These devices are reliable with their WiFi 5 standards. Compared to newer models, the Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points are not expensive because they have less time until the end of life. Our logistics department use lots of handheld inventory check devices, IoT barcode scanners, and storage area environment sensors connected to our wireless network. It causes a significant increase in the number of wireless clients, which requires stable and reliable wireless access points for continuous operation. The Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points's\ dual 5 GHz support enables us to connect our devices with faster communication while serving hundreds of devices. Lastly, it supports Cisco DNA Center integration, which makes it better. Easily manageable and configurable via Cisco DNA Center, configuring all the Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points from one dashboard saves time.
  • Cisco DNA support. It is easy to integrate, configure, and manage.
  • Extended wireless coverage while providing amreliable connection.
  • No speed loss thanks to dual 5 GHz radio. It applies on the same elevation level; different floors require enabling 2.4 GHz for better performance.
  • It has been five years since the release of the Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points, so end of life is close.
Our network architecture has been mostly designed on Cisco devices. If you have a similar case, definitely go with the Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points. Consistency in the architecture has been a problem since last decade. Recently, vendors put in effort to increase their integration capability. Cisco is one of the best among its peers on integration to different vendors' network products. If your network architecture investment budget allows you to go with a better one, try the 3800 series.
The Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points have been highly scalable, in particular with Cisco-rich environments. This is due to Cisco's DNA Center. Normally, it would take more time to deploy and configure multiple new APs on a network. Cisco DNA Center integration costs less time to configure all newly added APs to the network.
If we do not count physical installation of devices, deployment, and configuration, it only took around one full day.
Read Christopher J Evans's full review
December 14, 2020
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points as the APs for our corporate wireless network at our Chicago and Dallas offices. We have the APs ceiling mounted at intervals across the floors and in central conference rooms to make sure that we have steady coverage throughout our two offices. The Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points have been rock-solid since we have installed them, and having them coupled with the Cisco 8540 Wireless LAN Controllers makes wireless network administration relatively straightforward.
  • Great price point
  • Easy to managed and upgraded with Cisco WLAN Controller
  • Provides great indoor wireless coverage
  • Cisco TAC support could be better
  • We have seen a decent number of APs have hardware failure issues
  • Could have more advanced features
Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points are great for all wireless networks from SMB up to Enterprise. It is beneficial to manage the access points via a Cisco Wireless Network Controller as well, so you don't have to manage each individual access point. The Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points can handle all of the recent WLAN protocols that should accommodate all of your end users' laptops, portables, phones, etc.
I gave this an 8 because we have found the Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points to be very scalable when paired with a Cisco Wireless Network Controller. We are using the Cisco 8540 Wireless Controller to manage all of our 2800 APs at both of our corporate offices. We are able to push out new wireless policies and firmware upgrades easily using the controller.
We had our site survey done by a third-party vendor to help us determine how many access points we would need for optimal coverage. Once we had that, getting the Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points installed was not too difficult. We have them ceiling mounted across the office floors and in our main conference rooms. It was easy to get the APs to connect to our Cisco wireless controller as well and into that central management console.
Read Mark McCully's full review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company has completed a full rollout of all new Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points, which were chosen to solve the problem of dead Wi-Fi zones and overwhelmed existing access points. They are deployed to the entirety of the organization at all our remote buildings and at our main site. We have recently removed all of our older access points and replaced them with Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points.
  • Well-made hardware
  • Easy to mount and hide
  • Extremely long range!
  • High capacity for many concurrently connected devices
  • Price could be more competitive
  • Getting them all licensed and imported into your wireless LAN controller can be tough
  • More mounting bracket options included
No doubt I would recommend these to any and all colleagues who are looking for the best access points around. Of course, you can find cheaper units but will they work as well as these? Highly unlikely. These things can handle tons of traffic, almost unlimited devices (it seems!) and hardly ever require maintenance.
This is probably the best part of the Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points lineup. They are designed to work seamlessly with the wireless LAN controller, and what you get (after some initial configuration) is an amazingly easy rollout of APs. You can literally plug these in anywhere on the network and the wireless LAN controller will identify, update, and push the appropriate configuration to it within minutes.
The initial setup here is all in the Wireless LAN controller, which arguably may be a bit of a pain at first. But once you go through all the steps and configure your network, you're ready to go. You can then get a bunch of APs set up in literally minutes.
Read this authenticated review
December 30, 2019
Girgis Hady | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Aironet Access Points are used widely in our organization for WiFi coverage over all our buildings to facilitate a wireless connection to our network. We were using Cisco 2700 series and now we are upgrading to Cisco 2800 series. We are using these Access Points with the Wireless LAN Controller to manage them.
  • Good performance
  • High user capacity
  • No power input ( only POE )
  • Not much power when using it with concrete building
The best scenario to use Cisco Aironet Access Points is when we use it with the Wireless LAN Controller as with this solution we get the full features of the Access Point such as roaming and AirClean features, and I think it will be a waste of money to buy this product and use it as a stand alone solution.
ClientLink is already running in Aironet 2800 series to enhance the connectivity of the 802.11 performance when [the] legacy wireless client is connecting to the network.ClearAir interference reduction is a great feature to enhance the wireless connectivity and coverage in our premieres as it reduces the effect of the rouge wifi or hotspot.
Read Girgis Hady's full review
November 08, 2019
Luis Felipe Campa Macias | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Aironet nos provee movilidad en todas nuestras oficinas. El uso de nodos ethernet en los lugares ha pasado a 2do termino. Ahora los colaboradores pueden trabajar entre varias sedes y entre varias salas de junta u oficinas gracias al roaming y potencia de los radios.

Aironet provides us with mobility in all our offices. The use of ethernet nodes in places has gone to 2nd term. Employees can now work across multiple venues and between multiple boardrooms or offices thanks to the roaming and power of the radios.
  • Roaming
  • Easy SSID configuration
  • Provisioning
  • Monitoring
  • En el auditorio y roof garden // In an auditorium or rooftop garden
  • En salas de juntas // In meeting rooms
  • Dentro de las naves industriales donde están nuestros almacenes. // In industrial buildings where there are warehouses
Oficinas donde se necesite administrar y desplegar más de 20 antenas. Y los equipos tipo E en zonas donde se necesite potencia de radiación.

Offices where there are more than 20 antennas that need to be managed and deployed. Also Type E equipment in areas where radiation power is needed.
CleanAir, nos permite reducir la parte de interferencias en nuestras conferencias de video llamadas generadas desde teléfonos celulares y computadoras

CleanAir, has allowed us to reduce interference issues during our video calls hosted from cell phones and computers
Read Luis Felipe Campa Macias's full review
October 28, 2019
Erick Saldana | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are upgrading from the 2700 series to the 2800 series. We've currently implemented it in one office. So far the ones we have replaced have very good overall performance.
  • They have high bandwidth utilization
  • Work really well in high density areas
  • Signal strength is good
  • They can hold some high temperatures
  • For some reason even after setting a static IP they sometimes fall back to dhcp (Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol).
  • Would be great if they were waterproof for outdoor use.
I have tested them in high density areas and these APs keep working really well. Also the roaming feature on default config works really well with our Windows Computers. I have tested Cisco Meraki in the past with MacBooks and the roaming wasn't as good as these.
Read Erick Saldana's full review
November 06, 2019
Axel David Olivares Hernández | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Aironet Access Points as our main point of wireless connection through the corporate office. Mainly we use this model inside the office and it has met our expectations in a great way.

Since the deployment of these models of access points including other ones like the 2700 series we have never had issues with performance or availability of the services that access points offers to the corporate office.
  • Availability
  • Great Application Visibility
  • 11ac wave 2 speeds and performance
  • Boots very fast
  • Design
  • The mounting accesory
  • Weight
You can perfectly consider the 2800 series for scenarios where you need to deploy wireless services inside of an office. These type of access points are designed for these kind of environments.

If you need to install external access points I recommend searching another model including external antennas.

But if you need something not too expensive and with a great performance the 2800 series its perfect for your scenario where normally you have to connect between 30-50 users without losing performance. Just consider the applications that you will deploy through the wireless network.
Maybe ClearAir is a feature that some users don't know that is already running by default in your access point. But if you have a wireless controller where you can check data or information collected by ClearAir you can see perfectly what kind of feature this one has.

Having ClearAir optimize your wireless network is a feature users would appreciate having.
Read Axel David Olivares Hernández's full review
October 29, 2019
Isaias Mendoza | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
One of our clients was wondering which wireless solution would fit perfectly with its offices; the solution should segment every user according their job role. Simultaneously all sensitive data must be protected and never be comprised. Then we proposed Cisco Aironet with WLC, on premise solution to isolate and protect everything. AP 2800 series was chosen due to its antenna pattern (ceiling and wall mounting were surveyed) and the coverage is awesome.
  • Roaming
  • RRM
  • Band Steering
  • Hospitality
  • Retail
  • Offices
Sometimes WLC-AP fits perfectly but we need more analytical tools (user, app, traffic patterns, etc).
APs get updated as WLC features; the hardware's price is worth it.
Read Isaias Mendoza's full review
July 01, 2019
Jonathan Cabestel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We need wifi access in all our building, we use 802.1x authentication and move while on meetings on our building so we need good roaming experience. Cisco access points are the only ones that support fast roaming with 802.1x, besides that they are airtight so no issues with bacteria being trapped inside the access point, just a wiping cloth can clean the access point.
  • Roaming while we are on meeting
  • Categorize traffic
  • The management interface of the 5508 Cisco controller where we plug them in is very user friendly
  • Price tag is high.
  • They are not pretty, compared to 2700 access point these are bulky and non-aesthetic.
If you have an office building that has air conditioner and people that is really wary of illnesses these Access points are the real only option, since these access points are airtight you can clean them just with a wiping cloth, most access points from other companies have at least one air flow inside the access point, that means that you have to open the access point to actually clean it, that's just not acceptable.
We don't know if we benefit from that, we do know that the wifi works really well but that's all we care about, we haven't had wifi problems in our building ever, even before Cisco access points were installed so I guess that is a non-issue for us.
Read Jonathan Cabestel's full review
September 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Access points (APs) in every site (almost 100) and mostly to connect users' laptops and smartphones. In several sites we also use Cisco APs to connect barcode readers for production, and Cisco wireless phones.
  • Cisco Clean Air feature (with WLC).
  • Roaming is really smooth and users are quite happy about that.
  • Flexconnect feature.
  • Sometimes it's quite hard to get the AP connected to the right WLC.
  • If the APs lose connection to the WLC, then sometimes it will be automatically moved in shutdown state.
  • Configuration via GUI is a really long process, while with CLI it takes a lot of effort.
They work quite well in offices or in meeting rooms. The number of devices per AP is rather good. I would not use wireless in general for really critical production environments.
We use the CleanAir feature and I think you have peace of mind with that, because we didn't have any real complaint, even if with users it is not all the time easy. The APs can adapt the signal as well based on the db received from another AP.
Lately we had less issues. Most probably because we reduced the number of Wireless LAN controllers. So less trouble for upgrades as well.
We don't have any access point in stand alone mode. It's something I don't suggest, unless it's just for a small office and not for a larger company with different sites.
Read this authenticated review
July 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
C2800 are used in our Executive office to provide wifi connectivity to 50-70 users allowing them to connect to the network using variety of endpoints.
  • Support wifi 4 standard (802.11AC).
  • Provide enough throughput to support any application need.
  • Availability of different models provide choices that should satisfy needs of most of environments, but some features like clean Air support are missing on some models.
They suit most environments, they certainly can fulfill all the corporate needs of our network.
Clean Air feature is widely used in our environment, as some of our locations experience various levels of RF noise.
Read this authenticated review
January 12, 2019
Justin McDermott | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We deployed these in a select zone for expanded coverage. They allow some of our clients and employees to collaborate anywhere on our floor in a more relaxed setting.
  • ISE enforcement
  • Lots of accessories and antenna
  • POE options and other deployment options.
  • Cost
  • Cloud management
Large enterprise or large coverage areas with maximum deployment and configuration options.
Because we have a small deployment base we do not generally use those features.
Cisco TAC can be sometimes hit and miss.
When paired with a wireless LAN controller it's very easy to use. Without the wireless LAN controller it gets very complex.
The access point is extremely Hardy this was the Prime reason we bought this model.
Read Justin McDermott's full review
March 06, 2019
Edwin Sandys | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Cisco Aironet 1530 Series
  • Cisco Aironet 1550 Series
  • Cisco Aironet 1570 Series
  • Cisco 1815 Series
  • Cisco 1830 Series
  • Cisco 1850 Series
  • Cisco 2800 Series
We use Cisco Wireless Solution across all our campuses across 24 sites. We have a mixture of requirements where we use the Cisco 1800 and 2800 Acess Points for internal locations based on user density.

We then deploy the Cisco External 1530, 1550 and 1570 AP's across sites that require a mesh design. This helps especially when cabling is difficult across the landscape. We deploy the 1530's to our other campuses as it is easier in terms of replacement options and costs. For our main campus, we standardize on the 1550 and 15070 devices to handle the heavier loads.

Across the South Pacific, this is a better option given our landscape. Sometimes proper cabling resource are absent on site, and the Mesh design works really well where we backhaul on the 5 GHz and serve clients on the 2.4 GHz.
  • CleanAir - I like the fact that some of the higher model Cisco AP's can adjust to frequency interference as required. However, I am sad that this is not standard across all APs.
  • MIMO - In a nutshell, Cisco APs have the ability to digest more users over multiple antennas which is ideal for handling better bandwidth for users.
  • Resilience - Believe it or not, we have Cisco 1550 APs that withstood the Cyclone Winston which affected Fiji in February 2016. Our APs were still standing and operational despite this Category 5 cyclone.
  • CleanAir - Put this technology into all the APs.
  • GPS Tracker - I can't understand why only the Cisco 1570 has this option as well as larger Cisco 3800 APs. Why can't this be in all APs so they can be easily mapped in Google for positioning and later plotted for the coverage zone.
Cisco Aironet Access Points is well suited when you want a solution that will last you many years. We had some of our Cisco Acess Points in production from 2003 until we replaced them in 2011. Please note that we only changed them simply due to the wireless controller adoption we carried out from 2011 onward, but until then, it never went faulty.

With the built-in AVC, the wireless controller has very good analytics which we can then leverage to allow the QoS tagging to take place from the actual Acess Point itself.
We heavily configure our CleanAir feature which is an excellent innovation that handles interference very well - so well that we even suppress rogue signals that have been flagged to cause massive interference for our wireless users. On the flip side, we can also identify where we have large areas of interference and plan what we can do to mitigate such risks.

As for ClientLink, we recently enabled the feature and immediately noticed an influx of bandwidth speeds for our users, especially during transfers. In fact, if anyone knows wireless well, SMB transfers are usually quite difficult over wireless. We can easily get up to 50 Mbps transfer rate of SMB files which is quite good.
Read Edwin Sandys's full review
December 28, 2018
Aldo Adrián Ramírez Vázquez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
  • Cisco Access Point
  • Cisco 1830 Series
  • Cisco 2800 Series
  • Cisco 3800 Series
The Aironet solutions were first used to solve connectivity issues, away from the analytics, reports, mobility express, the issue was solved and all the features are so important to us.
  • Coberture, it's the number one. The range is so wide, so our user can go furthest without losing connection.
  • Speed.
  • Features: reports, analytics, mobility express.
  • A Bluetooth console would be great.
  • An integrated radius solution will be great.
  • Different colors (many clients don't like the white one and want to "paint" the AP).
On every solution or vertical, it perfectly adapts to every environment, the reports, analytics, integration with other solutions from Cisco, like ISE or prime, make the Aironet adapt to every environment in which you have indoor and outdoor and industrial devices.
The lack of wireless devices is always an issue, with client link, the devices connect to the less used or closer AP, but do not stay connected to the first connection AP. ClearAir helps us by knowing where the interferences were coming from like a microwave from the kitchen or the air conditioner from one of our customers and helping us to mitigate the interferences, loss of connectivity by changing the channels or moving the frequency.
Read Aldo Adrián Ramírez Vázquez's full review
June 13, 2018
Hawkinson, John | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have recently replaced several autonomous wireless systems that were spread across our organization with an enterprise Cisco Aironet managed wireless system. This was our decision due to the large demand our customers have requested to support their future business needs and processes.
  • Their ability to auto negotiate within the system to adjust the radios between the different frequencies.
  • Easy automated installation with the wlc and prime.
  • The flexconnect capability that allows the use of local internet connectivity to be used for nonbusiness connectivity.
  • The mounting brackets are confusing to figure out what you really need when ordering.
We have had great success in the enterprise, small branch deployments. I would like to see better industrial and outdoor abilities.
I haven't had the system installed long enough to see what benefits could be realized.
I believe that there is always room for improvement.
There is always room to improve
Read Hawkinson, John's full review
June 12, 2018
James Arnold | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Cisco Aironet 1560 Series
  • Cisco 2800 Series
We use Cisco Aironet Access Points (APS) for both general user WiFi access and to build an outside mesh deployment mainly supporting security cameras and door access.
  • The client coverage with the 1562 APS was an added benefit of the mesh deployment.
  • Client coverage was larger than expected
  • Trust-sec integration with ISE provides additional security and supports our move to BSD access
  • The 1562 APS was new in their product lifecycle there have been several software bugs
  • Using the 5G band for mesh back hall limits range
  • Office wifi and a general mesh [deployment] they work well.
  • For a long-distance mesh [deployment] they have not performed as well.
We are still refining our deployment. Hoping that the intercession with Cisco Prime will provide administrative reductions.
Read James Arnold's full review
June 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we are in the process of evaluating and integrating the Access point in our infrastructure. So far, the Access Point is only used within a single department and we intend to deploy if selected. Currently, we have a large network of multiple models of APs, (2700s, 1500s etc).
  • Sturdy Design: Device looks and feels very high quality.
  • Great coverage and supports Wave 2 +.
  • MU-MIMO Support as well as the option for higher Transmit Power.
  • With the large heat sync, this device is heavy.
  • The external antenna model doesn't look nice. Some customers might not like it.
  • Requires additional power, existing power injectors will not be sufficient. Not necessarily an issue but worth mentioning.
The Cisco Aironet Access Points are suitable anywhere really. They have the ability to increase/decrease power. In an enterprise environment, CHD (Coverage hole detection) can be enabled to auto adjust power levels to provide coverage in areas with poor signal. In environments where coverage holes are expected, this setting can and should be disabled.
We have not had the chance to try out these features yet.
Read this authenticated review

What is Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points?

The Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points is 802.11ac Wave 2 compliant and supports multiuser MIMO (MU-MIMO).
Categories:  Wireless LAN

Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points?

The Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points is 802.11ac Wave 2 compliant and supports multiuser MIMO (MU-MIMO).

What is Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points's best feature?

Reviewers rate Product Scalability highest, with a score of 8.8.

Who uses Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points?

The most common users of Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points are from Mid-size Companies and the Government Administration industry.