Cisco Aironet and Catalyst 2800 Series Access Points Reviews

16 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-14 of 14)

Erick Saldana | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Very satisfied with the performance of Cisco Aironet and Catalyst 2800 Series Access Points!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are upgrading from the 2700 series to the 2800 series. We've currently implemented it in one office. So far the ones we have replaced have very good overall performance.
  • They have high bandwidth utilization
  • Work really well in high density areas
  • Signal strength is good
  • They can hold some high temperatures
  • For some reason even after setting a static IP they sometimes fall back to dhcp (Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol).
  • Would be great if they were waterproof for outdoor use.
I have tested them in high density areas and these APs keep working really well. Also the roaming feature on default config works really well with our Windows Computers. I have tested Cisco Meraki in the past with MacBooks and the roaming wasn't as good as these.
Read Erick Saldana's full review
Girgis Hady | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Great features for the Aironet 2800 series

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Aironet Access Points are used widely in our organization for WiFi coverage over all our buildings to facilitate a wireless connection to our network. We were using Cisco 2700 series and now we are upgrading to Cisco 2800 series. We are using these Access Points with the Wireless LAN Controller to manage them.
  • Good performance
  • High user capacity
  • No power input ( only POE )
  • Not much power when using it with concrete building
The best scenario to use Cisco Aironet Access Points is when we use it with the Wireless LAN Controller as with this solution we get the full features of the Access Point such as roaming and AirClean features, and I think it will be a waste of money to buy this product and use it as a stand alone solution.
Read Girgis Hady's full review
Axel David Olivares Hernández | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Gemex Employee Review of Aironet 2800 Series Access Point

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Aironet Access Points as our main point of wireless connection through the corporate office. Mainly we use this model inside the office and it has met our expectations in a great way.

Since the deployment of these models of access points including other ones like the 2700 series we have never had issues with performance or availability of the services that access points offers to the corporate office.
  • Availability
  • Great Application Visibility
  • 11ac wave 2 speeds and performance
  • Boots very fast
  • Design
  • The mounting accesory
  • Weight
You can perfectly consider the 2800 series for scenarios where you need to deploy wireless services inside of an office. These type of access points are designed for these kind of environments.

If you need to install external access points I recommend searching another model including external antennas.

But if you need something not too expensive and with a great performance the 2800 series its perfect for your scenario where normally you have to connect between 30-50 users without losing performance. Just consider the applications that you will deploy through the wireless network.
Read Axel David Olivares Hernández's full review
Isaias Mendoza | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

Cicso Aironet - Better than Ever.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
One of our clients was wondering which wireless solution would fit perfectly with its offices; the solution should segment every user according their job role. Simultaneously all sensitive data must be protected and never be comprised. Then we proposed Cisco Aironet with WLC, on premise solution to isolate and protect everything. AP 2800 series was chosen due to its antenna pattern (ceiling and wall mounting were surveyed) and the coverage is awesome.
  • Roaming
  • RRM
  • Band Steering
  • Hospitality
  • Retail
  • Offices
Sometimes WLC-AP fits perfectly but we need more analytical tools (user, app, traffic patterns, etc).
Read Isaias Mendoza's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2019

Cisco Aironet 2802e Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we are in the process of evaluating and integrating the Access point in our infrastructure. So far, the Access Point is only used within a single department and we intend to deploy if selected. Currently, we have a large network of multiple models of APs, (2700s, 1500s etc).
  • Sturdy Design: Device looks and feels very high quality.
  • Great coverage and supports Wave 2 +.
  • MU-MIMO Support as well as the option for higher Transmit Power.
  • With the large heat sync, this device is heavy.
  • The external antenna model doesn't look nice. Some customers might not like it.
  • Requires additional power, existing power injectors will not be sufficient. Not necessarily an issue but worth mentioning.
The Cisco Aironet Access Points are suitable anywhere really. They have the ability to increase/decrease power. In an enterprise environment, CHD (Coverage hole detection) can be enabled to auto adjust power levels to provide coverage in areas with poor signal. In environments where coverage holes are expected, this setting can and should be disabled.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Cisco wireless solution is quite effective, but there is no real innovation (yet)

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Access points (APs) in every site (almost 100) and mostly to connect users' laptops and smartphones. In several sites we also use Cisco APs to connect barcode readers for production, and Cisco wireless phones.
  • Cisco Clean Air feature (with WLC).
  • Roaming is really smooth and users are quite happy about that.
  • Flexconnect feature.
  • Sometimes it's quite hard to get the AP connected to the right WLC.
  • If the APs lose connection to the WLC, then sometimes it will be automatically moved in shutdown state.
  • Configuration via GUI is a really long process, while with CLI it takes a lot of effort.
They work quite well in offices or in meeting rooms. The number of devices per AP is rather good. I would not use wireless in general for really critical production environments.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 05, 2019

Cisco 2800 series review.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
C2800 are used in our Executive office to provide wifi connectivity to 50-70 users allowing them to connect to the network using variety of endpoints.
  • Support wifi 4 standard (802.11AC).
  • Provide enough throughput to support any application need.
  • Availability of different models provide choices that should satisfy needs of most of environments, but some features like clean Air support are missing on some models.
They suit most environments, they certainly can fulfill all the corporate needs of our network.
Read this authenticated review
Justin McDermott | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 12, 2019

Aironet vs. Meraki

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We deployed these in a select zone for expanded coverage. They allow some of our clients and employees to collaborate anywhere on our floor in a more relaxed setting.
  • ISE enforcement
  • Lots of accessories and antenna
  • POE options and other deployment options.
  • Cost
  • Cloud management
Large enterprise or large coverage areas with maximum deployment and configuration options.
Read Justin McDermott's full review
Edwin Sandys | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2019

Cisco Wireless Services - AP + WLC

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Wireless Solution across all our campuses across 24 sites. We have a mixture of requirements where we use the Cisco 1800 and 2800 Acess Points for internal locations based on user density.

We then deploy the Cisco External 1530, 1550 and 1570 AP's across sites that require a mesh design. This helps especially when cabling is difficult across the landscape. We deploy the 1530's to our other campuses as it is easier in terms of replacement options and costs. For our main campus, we standardize on the 1550 and 15070 devices to handle the heavier loads.

Across the South Pacific, this is a better option given our landscape. Sometimes proper cabling resource are absent on site, and the Mesh design works really well where we backhaul on the 5 GHz and serve clients on the 2.4 GHz.
  • CleanAir - I like the fact that some of the higher model Cisco AP's can adjust to frequency interference as required. However, I am sad that this is not standard across all APs.
  • MIMO - In a nutshell, Cisco APs have the ability to digest more users over multiple antennas which is ideal for handling better bandwidth for users.
  • Resilience - Believe it or not, we have Cisco 1550 APs that withstood the Cyclone Winston which affected Fiji in February 2016. Our APs were still standing and operational despite this Category 5 cyclone.
  • CleanAir - Put this technology into all the APs.
  • GPS Tracker - I can't understand why only the Cisco 1570 has this option as well as larger Cisco 3800 APs. Why can't this be in all APs so they can be easily mapped in Google for positioning and later plotted for the coverage zone.
Cisco Aironet Access Points is well suited when you want a solution that will last you many years. We had some of our Cisco Acess Points in production from 2003 until we replaced them in 2011. Please note that we only changed them simply due to the wireless controller adoption we carried out from 2011 onward, but until then, it never went faulty.

With the built-in AVC, the wireless controller has very good analytics which we can then leverage to allow the QoS tagging to take place from the actual Acess Point itself.
Read Edwin Sandys's full review
Aldo Adrián Ramírez Vázquez | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2018

Cisco APs Solution Qualification

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
The Aironet solutions were first used to solve connectivity issues, away from the analytics, reports, mobility express, the issue was solved and all the features are so important to us.
  • Coberture, it's the number one. The range is so wide, so our user can go furthest without losing connection.
  • Speed.
  • Features: reports, analytics, mobility express.
  • A Bluetooth console would be great.
  • An integrated radius solution will be great.
  • Different colors (many clients don't like the white one and want to "paint" the AP).
On every solution or vertical, it perfectly adapts to every environment, the reports, analytics, integration with other solutions from Cisco, like ISE or prime, make the Aironet adapt to every environment in which you have indoor and outdoor and industrial devices.
Read Aldo Adrián Ramírez Vázquez's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2018

Aironet- Great for your network at a price.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Aironet Access Point's sustain all of our wireless network, across the entire organization, they solve the problem of having everything through ethernet.
  • Range of difusion
  • Management on high levels of users
  • Beacon difusion
  • End of life periods
  • Loss of configuration
  • Strange management of DNS sometimes
Well suited for inside networks and outside networks with proper boxes and antennas

Not so well suited for freezing chambers
Read this authenticated review
Hawkinson, John | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2018

The clean air with Cisco Aironet

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have recently replaced several autonomous wireless systems that were spread across our organization with an enterprise Cisco Aironet managed wireless system. This was our decision due to the large demand our customers have requested to support their future business needs and processes.
  • Their ability to auto negotiate within the system to adjust the radios between the different frequencies.
  • Easy automated installation with the wlc and prime.
  • The flexconnect capability that allows the use of local internet connectivity to be used for nonbusiness connectivity.
  • The mounting brackets are confusing to figure out what you really need when ordering.
We have had great success in the enterprise, small branch deployments. I would like to see better industrial and outdoor abilities.
Read Hawkinson, John's full review
James Arnold | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2018

2802 and 1562 new ap deployment at power plants

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Aironet Access Points (APS) for both general user WiFi access and to build an outside mesh deployment mainly supporting security cameras and door access.
  • The client coverage with the 1562 APS was an added benefit of the mesh deployment.
  • Client coverage was larger than expected
  • Trust-sec integration with ISE provides additional security and supports our move to BSD access
  • The 1562 APS was new in their product lifecycle there have been several software bugs
  • Using the 5G band for mesh back hall limits range
  • Office wifi and a general mesh [deployment] they work well.
  • For a long-distance mesh [deployment] they have not performed as well.
Read James Arnold's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 22, 2018

Cisco Aironet Access Points

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Aironet Access Points are being used by the organization to help solve the connectivity issues we previously had where the internet connection was noticeably different depending on where one was located in the office. The Access Point helped provide a stable connection with minimal disruptions in speed regardless of location.
  • Easy to use
  • Quick Setup
  • Plug and play
  • Range seems to affect speeds
  • Could be smaller
  • No major changes, well suited for it's intended purpose
A few scenarios that come to mind where I believe Cisco Aironet Access Points is well suited would be for small businesses or large houses who are looking to add a stable internet connection while aiming to minimize any dead spots that you currently may have. Less appropriate for large spaces and offices.
Read this authenticated review

About Cisco Aironet and Catalyst 2800 Series Access Points

The Cisco Aironet 2800 Series Access Points is 802.11ac Wave 2 compliant and supports multiuser MIMO (MU-MIMO).
Categories:  Wireless LAN

Cisco Aironet and Catalyst 2800 Series Access Points Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No