Cisco Aironet and Catalyst 3800 Series Access Points Reviews

28 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-24 of 24)

William Romero | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Modern and innovative technology

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use the 3800 series throughout my organization - with 150 APs deployed in 70 locations nationwide.
----
Lo uso a nivel de toda la organizacion con 150 APs desplegados en 70 ubicaciones a nivel nacional.
  • It's very flexible | Flexibilidad
  • It can be used anywhere | En cualquier ubicación
  • Very easy to manage | Gestion
  • Can be used on any device | Cualquier dispositivo
It's great for my industry which is education mining energy.
----
Educacion mineria energia
Read William Romero's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

Cisco AP 3800 series the best performance for voice and video

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The 3800 Access Points we use in our offices have improved the performance of the WLAN network with greater speed. The most common problems in sales are the authorization of budgets and the high costs of high-end apps. Being a small office, it is difficult to convince managers to get a complete wifi solution including WIC, CPI, and MSE.
  • 11 AC
  • Ports channel suport
  • MU-MIMO
  • ClearAir
  • Office cubicles
  • Office rooms
  • Conference rooms
Cisco Aironet 3800 Access Points are very good for high density environments. They have very good coverage and support for AC connection speeds. They work very well with high-end equipment with connection speeds of more than 1 GB. They are excellent for CMX integration, have hyperlocation, and can be integrated with ISE increasing security scalability for corporate networks.
Read this authenticated review
Levi Kiser | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2019

Cisco Wireless Access Points

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Wireless Access Points across the organization, spanning multiple buildings and locations.
  • Provides superior wireless coverage.
  • Provides superior wireless connection speeds.
  • Provides useful client connection statistics.
  • Wireless troubleshooting.
  • Wireless packet capture tool.
  • Great simplicity of configuration and setup (which has been improving over the years).
I have seen where other solutions didn't even penetrate the walls in an older building well at all, but the Cisco APs I installed provided much better wireless coverage.
Read Levi Kiser's full review
Raymond Stensholt | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2019

Cisco 3800 Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
They are used in two offices. We also deploy them for our clients. We find them useful as a wireless component, as well as part of a fabric switches environment. They have decent capacity for users and density. The dual 5G radios are also a great complement of these access points.
  • Coverage
  • Density
  • Clean air
  • Dart antennas
  • Weight. Although I understand antenna eElements need space and that adds to weight.
  • Size. This goes in line with weight, but compared to the Meraki APs, there has to be some room for improvement.
Point to point applications. Mobility express is also great. Although we don’t typically deploy access points with mobility express due to install base sizes, it is really convenient to switch to that operating system in order to perform site surveys.

The client really enjoyed the deployemnts we have we have done using Cisco APs, including the 3800.
Read Raymond Stensholt's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2019

AP or Not AP that is the question

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Our total wireless solution for internal and guest access. We are using the sponsor portal with ISE and the 3800 and 2800 inside all our offices. We have 40 offices in Arizona, California, and Nevada. These APs really seem to do the trick for wireless access. We are also looking at external.
  • large coverage
  • density
  • small footprint
  • pretty heavy
  • mounting is less than desirable
  • price point
We use them in office areas, in our auto shops, and warehouses. They are really not used for external. Coverage was an issue with our Apple iPhones until we followed the Apple guidelines. We have had to go [back] and are in the process of RMA. We have approximately 500 in use.
Read this authenticated review
Jitu Mani Das | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2019

Cisco Aironet: More performance, more reliable, and super speed - a scalable Device

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is one of the most reliable access-points I came across during my 9 years of experience. The stability with respect to wireless users provides maximum security capability making the business more effective in a new age enterprise network where scalability is required. We use it for some of the specific locations in the US, UK, and India.
  • It delivers performance for secure and reliable wireless connections. The best part is reliability with speed.
  • It provided the best performance for mobile devices and laptops due to the availability it provides - 3 times more than normal ones.
  • The scalability is huge can go up to, or more, than an 18k access point which can almost cover any big organization.
  • The highest 802.11n performance with Cisco CleanAir technology - for a self-healing, self-optimizing wireless network.
  • Cost is a bit high. However, it's an extremely good product.
  • I faced a few RF issues. The engineering team can do better on this.
  • RF hidden node issue.
It is well-suited when organizations are scalable and the enterprise is growing in terms of users. This is the best product for that scenario because it gives flexibility in terms of performance and availability. Its performance-ranging capacity makes the product more tempting for wireless users.
Read Jitu Mani Das's full review
Carlos Daniel Casañas Bertolo ஃ | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2019

The best wireless solution, if you are willing to pay the price ...

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The equipment was installed as part of the unified communications infrastructure of the new corporate building, including auditoriums, offices and external areas. They allow access to all available services and have total security in multiple classification factors.
This allows giving each user exactly the permissions that he requires, when he needs it to fulfill the functions to which he is assigned, taking into account the place, device, time and so on, dynamically and automatically.
  • Scope of the signal consistent with the specifications.
  • Good management of multiple accesses in convention environments.
  • Very good performance for videoconferencing traffic
  • Its analysis interface can be more friendly and intuitive.
  • Certain configurations could be simplified
If your project requires high-speed access guaranteed for all types of environments, with multiple access from various devices, with granular security requirements and your budget is enough to buy a small island and put your name to it ... Then you are seeing the right product!

Unfortunately, the greatest benefit that you can get out of it requires implementing a unified complete solution, which requires not a lot of cash reserved for the case.
Read Carlos Daniel Casañas Bertolo ஃ's full review
Ashveen Nandan | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2019

Cisco Aironet Access Points Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It’s being used to deliver wireless services across the airport. It integrates with our internet payment gateway and other collaboration technology to deliver a unique customer experience.
  • Wireless connectivity
  • Location based identity
  • Easy to deploy
  • Outdoor capabilities. We have actually blown up a few outdoor units. Water got inside the outdoor units and had visible rust
  • Costs compared to other AP’s in the market. Ruckus and EnGenius work out a bit cheaper
  • Mounting options are limited
Aironet Access Points are well suited if security matters.
Read Ashveen Nandan's full review
Daniel Hosking | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2019

Cisco wifi is great!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Cisco Wireless Access Points internally and for our clients. For complicated RF environments they offer a high degree of customisation, particularly for healthcare.
  • Customisation
  • Troubleshooting
  • Flexibility
  • Complex
  • Expensive
Well Suited:
  • Complicated RF environments which require fine tuning such as medical or industrial situations.
Read Daniel Hosking's full review
Gabriel Fortin | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2018

Aironet and Meraki - The Best

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is an organization wide deployment. It has address the issue of connecting our employees to the network and controling the access with the windows credentials. The main issues are related to the number of users in an area, the higher number of devices that are trying to join the APs and the shift from the 2.4GHz to 5GHz frequency.
  • Monitor rogue SSIDs
  • Manage high density areas for connectivity
  • Securing traffic back to the WLC.
  • Better hot spot management
  • Office areas where mobility is required and are not as dense as a hotspot.
  • Areas you want to secure rogue SSIDs.
Read Gabriel Fortin's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 02, 2019

Cisco Still Does APs Pretty Well

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco APs across the entire organization, and even our remote sites, in order to be able to effectively manage all of our SSIDs and devices from one location. We have all the Cisco APs connect back to our WLCs which makes management much nicer than autonomous APs that all require individual configuration.
  • Cisco APs are managed very easily from a Cisco WLC controller.
  • Cisco APs provide lots of enterprise-grade options such as rogue detection and automatic power configuration.
  • Cisco APs have many different mounting options, which makes them very versatile in a healthcare environment.
  • Cisco APs cost can be high compared to other similar solutions.
  • Cisco APs can require very specific configuration settings to work well with certain medical devices.
  • Cisco APs are a beast to manage autonomously and really only shine when a WLC is in play.
Cisco APs are best for larger corporations that can also splurge the capital to buy WLC controllers in order to streamline deployment and manage the Cisco APs. Most Cisco APs also have the capability of running autonomously, but I wouldn't recommend this as configuring them can be a burden and if you multiply this burden by the amount of APs needed to be configured individually, it can be a strain on any IT department.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

Cisco Wireless Benefits

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are at the moment in a phase where we plan and deploy the latest and greatest Cisco 4800 access points with on-premise 5520 controllers but controlled by DNA Center. The design and plan is to cover the whole organisation which today only has meeting room coverage with old 3500 models and provide the end users real mobile experience whether they are staying still, moving from one meeting to another, utilising the free seating concept or just want to work with their mobiles and tablets with something fun.
  • Very good RF automation and innovations on how it can improve the end user experience
  • The latest telemetry and intelligent capture features really provide the tools to ensure daily quality
  • Intuitive and easy to understand controls and configurations
  • Documentation of the features they provide. How those work and what the thresholds for different needs are.
  • Use cases of when to utilise a feature and when not to use it.
If you are looking for enterprise-grade wireless which really can provide you the primary connectivity and roadmap for future proof capabilities, go with Cisco Aironet Access points.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2019

Aironet APs - WiFi solution for everyone

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Aironet devices especially Access Points are used for providing basic WLAN reachability in conference rooms and lobbies of our offices. We are using it to provide guest access to the internet for persons in meeting rooms and VPN service for our employees.
  • WiFi coverage
  • Rouge AP detection
  • securing WiFi perimeter
  • Stability
  • Heat dispersion
  • Water resistance
The devices mentioned previously are scalable to use in almost all environments where a stable WiFi connection is needed. Once configured, a network will work until the access points burn themselves. Even the oldest once are still working in production without any problems. Sometimes they hang but it is rather unusual.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2019

2800/ 3800 Aironet Wireless APs

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
As a systems integrator, we are both using Cisco's latest generation Aironet Access Points and deploying them for our customers.
  • The 3800 AP has performed really well in high-density environments
  • The newer generation Cisco access points are helping reduce CCI through the utilisation of the XOR radio
  • Unfortunately, over the last couple of years, the software supporting the access points has been lacking and we have had a number of bugs
I find that the Cisco Aironet Access Points are well suited to nearly every vertical using Enterprise-wide wireless.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Vucci | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2018

Cisco Aironet 3800 Series Access Points

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco Aironet Access Points are being used across the entire campus; student dorms, admin buildings, and some outside. We have two SSID's; one for guests and one for our campus members. Some dorms are challenging because of the construction of them, however, we do have a couple of other model we use to offset some signal problems. We have a few on the outside of a couple of buildings which are used not only for the campus, but some public areas also.
  • Reliable
  • Durable
  • Ease of use
  • Cosmetics
  • Cost
  • Size
These Cisco Aironet Access Points are well designed and are beneficial to our campus and environment. They suit our needs extremely well, the are durable, reliable, and are easy to use. Their signal and capacity are enough for our users. We have over 350 campus wide and it is more than enough to fulfill our needs and requirements.
Read Michael Vucci's full review
Montasir Azad | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2018

Cisco Aironet Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the organization. Aironet products are managed by Cisco Prime for user accounts, latency, bandwidth, connectivity, and alerts.
  • Hand-shaking between the APs is good
  • Connection is faster
  • Prime works really good with Aironet APs to identify issues and user/device management
  • Design
  • Login simplicity
  • Holding the login for smartphones
It's working just fine for our organization. We are happy with it, no complaints.
Read Montasir Azad's full review
Mark Ciecior | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2018

Cisco Aironet APs

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
The entire organization uses Cisco APs to provide seamless roaming to their users. Moving from a cube to a conference room is seamless with a well-designed wireless deployment.
  • Location services with Cisco APs, provided a dense enough coverage, is outstanding.
  • The ability to manage everything in FlexConnect mode is great for remote offices.
  • DNS-based filtering for guest users is extremely useful.
  • Cost
  • The advantages of so many radios in a single AP are not easy to discern.
Large campuses, including hospitals, are very well-suited to Aironet APs. Smaller, 10-cube offices that don't need multiple WLANs won't see the value in Aironet APs.
Read Mark Ciecior's full review
Mike Pace | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2018

APs that just work

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This was an upgrade from our previous Cisco wireless network. We went from 113x and 114x APs to 3702 and 3802 APs. Performance has been solid and a big upgrade.
  • Performance has been solid.
  • Reliability. I don't think we've replaced a single AP since deployment.
  • Support has been helpful when needed.
  • Initial setup was a chore. Adding APs to the system now is straightforward, but getting them up initially required a lot of time.
  • Reporting is lacking from the controller. It requires Prime Infrastructure which is another difficult setup.
  • Pricing. They are premium priced.
Well suited for a standard, always on network. Not suited for temporary or quick setup type events.
Read Mike Pace's full review
Brandon Hudson | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2018

Aironet-astic

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[They are used] across the whole organization for supporting internal agencies' as well as public wifi.
  • Provide connectivity for a wide range of endpoints
  • Provide best in class security
  • Manageability
  • Perhaps footprint
  • Heat mitigation
Unless cost is the primary determining factor, I cannot think of a reason NOT to use Aironet.
Read Brandon Hudson's full review
Manuel J Gomez | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2018

HCE Aironet Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
They are being used across the organization to enable mobile workers' connectivity to the resources they require.
  • Enable mobility of users
  • Allow for multiple networks on different VLANS
  • Cost point for the APs
  • Describing ideal use locations in documentation
They enable mobile workers to perform their day to day tasks in offices however depending on the AP selected you can experience issues with these APs.
Read Manuel J Gomez's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2018

Cisco Aironet Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have implemented WiFi across all 60+ locations for employees (enterprise connections) and guest connections for the general public. Enterprise access allows employees to work from other locations.
  • 1x
  • ISE
  • 4 and 5 ghz
  • None at this time.
They are appropriate for all coverage/capacity requirements and are easy to deploy.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2018

Cisco APs are a Must for any Enterprise

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Cisco's infrastructure exclusively for routing, switching, and WiFi. For WiFi, we still have 3502, 3602, and 3702 APs in the environment but the current standard for a new install is the 3802 - and (hopefully) soon the 4800! The jump from 3800 in conjunction with mGig switches provide 5G wired connection to the network - allowing truly enormous amounts of data (and clients) per AP. And with an AC Wave 2 density, client wifi issues are almost a thing of the past.
  • Client Count
  • Throughput
  • Metrics for troubleshooting
  • BLE (coming)
  • More accurate wayfinding (coming)
Appropriate everywhere!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2018

Cisco 3800 APs.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Used by the whole organization. Allow users to be mobile within offices without losing connectivity. Users' company devices connect automatically to wireless, which provides them a seamless transition from wired to wireless.
  • Seamless roaming.
  • High speed
  • Good coverage
  • Cost
  • Physical looks/design
  • Uplink connection options
Good in pretty much all scenarios with different antenna options.
Read this authenticated review

Cisco Aironet and Catalyst 3800 Series Access Points Scorecard Summary

About Cisco Aironet and Catalyst 3800 Series Access Points

The Cisco Aironet 3800 Series Access Points supports high traffic and is designed to provide top of the line network efficiency.
Categories:  Wireless LAN

Cisco Aironet and Catalyst 3800 Series Access Points Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No