Cisco AnyConnect Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
123 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 56)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 12, 2021
Diego Gamez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, Cisco Anyconnect has helped us to be able to provide secure and encrypted access to our corporate network to users dispersed in different parts outside the corporate network, at the beginning this type of access was only for IT users and area managers. However, due to the pandemic and the urgency of being able to enable remote work, this means of access was expanded to different areas and a greater number of users, the commercial, accounting, and administration team required safe and reliable access from their home computers. which was achieved with the deployment of Cisco Anyconnect.
  • Stability and security.
  • Simple and easy-to-use experience.
  • Visibility of connected devices.
  • Sencible to any network change.
  • Sometimes the reconnection is not automatic.
  • Troubleshooting can get complicated.
In our scenario, we help employees to work from anywhere, both on company laptops and personal mobile devices, at any time. AnyConnect simplifies secure terminal access and provides the security you need to keep your business safe and secure. If you already have Firepower or ASA firewalls, Cisco can provide you with AnyConnect licenses for user VPNs. If your firewalls are Firepower, the licenses can be uploaded to your Smart account.
Provide a very easy tool to manage. Integration with the active directory simplifies user management. The app is also available on mobile, this allows a much more effective intervention in the company works. In addition to this, the visibility it provides helps us to have records of all connected remote users.
In our organization, security levels could be raised by integrating a multifactor of security such as Duo, which could easily connect to Cisco Anyconnect. On the other hand, the client's software updates are automatically implemented towards the client's endpoint facilities, which makes it a very convenient solution for non-technical users of the organization.
From experience I can tell if you have problems, Cisco offers enterprise-level technical support channels for enterprise application administrators. The speed of care is good and if more intervention is required, troubleshooting sessions can be held in conjunction with specialists to find the root cause of the problem and solve it.
Read Diego Gamez's full review
May 03, 2021
Debbie Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My entire company uses Cisco AnyConnect as our primary remote work connectivity tool. We have used it for the last 15 years, with all of our users using it as of 2 year[s] ago. We have added several layers of security and feel that this software made our transition to remote work during the pandemic flawless.
  • Autoconnections are seamless for the users. There's nothing for them to do once it's all setup.
  • It recognizes security certificates for the PC and user, so you can easily lock down the connectivity to the specific users and/or machines you need for your environment.
  • Unless the WIFI is extremely poor, the software can make the connection and allow your users to function on the VPN.
  • The client logs are usually good enough to begin troubleshooting issues - for example if you aren't getting good enough WIFI for connections or the certificates have expired and so on. However I wish they had more robust logs available without installing their special tools from Cisco support.
  • I wish it could prevent users from open[ing] applications while it was attempting to connect. It's usually super fast to make connections, but this is based on the WIFI to some degree. Occasionally, we have users open Outlook too fast and add-ins gets disabled. It's not really a problem with this software, but I do wish it had the ability to prevent apps from opening until the connection is made or fails.
We now install Cisco AnyConnect on all of our laptops for remote work users and all of desktops, which have WIFI adapters. During the pandemic, we were therefore able to send all of our workers home to work remotely, even if they had a desktop. All of our users find it easy to use, especially since we have it set to auto-connect. We have our colosite for DR setup with an alternate VPN so in the event that our live site is down and we failover, all our users have to do is to type in the alternate VPN to be up and running once IT completes the failover. This means a simple process for our users during a stressful DR situation.
For our users, they login to their firm provided laptop/desktop at home, Cisco AnyConnect sees they are not on our IPs, so it autoconnects the VPN to the specified name on the computer certificate, verifies the user by the user security certificate installed, and simply connects. Typically on my home WIFI this all takes 1-3 seconds. Once the user is connected, it's like sitting at their desk in the office. It doesn't fail. If there's a problem, it's always been the location's WIFI or the user security certificate expired.
We use several of the security options Cisco offers for AnyConnect. We use both the computer and user based security certificates, which we feel is more secure than the multifactor authentication but it works with that as well (such as DUO, which we have used with this in the past). We have the machines autoconnect to the VPN if they aren't in our offices both for the ease of use for the user and for security reasons. In our opinion, if the VPN is connected, then our data has a security wrapper around it traveling over the internet instead of their home routers which we have little to no control over.
We have a Managed Services provider that helped us setup the AnyConnect with the security settings we wanted on the Firewall. Implementing the always on feature (autoconnect) was NOT obvious and we could not get it to work with the certificates at first. We placed a call with the support team, which were fabulous. They stayed on the phone with us testing until we got it all working the way we wanted. Their support is great, especially if you ask them to stay on until its solved.
Yes - So we've been through many upgrades of AnyConnect over the years, but we've done 3 since we implemented the secure certificates and always on features. They went pretty well. One of the 3 upgrades had a random issue with 20% of our laptops and we had to manually uninstall, delete the certificates, then install the new version. The last 2 upgrades we have done in the last year went flawlessly. We pushed via SCCM. The install actually uninstalled the old, installed the new and read the same security certificates. It can be set to download the upgrade and install from the firewall when the users try to connect (which we tested fine), but we decided to use SCCM while users were at the office and do the install just incase we had issues - but there were none. The upgrade was a requirement for new firmware on the firewall.
Read Debbie Johnson's full review
May 03, 2021
Nikola Marks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The company decided to move to partial remote working for some staff around 2018. We were in need of a secure company VPN solution. We decided to purchase Cisco's AnyConnect. We have been using it since that time - however, pandemic increased its importance. We are grateful that we had decided to use AnyConnect before pandemics so that we have had a chance to evaluate it without any pressure.
  • Flawless remote working experience provided by AnyConnect.
  • Improved security and visibility of remote connected staff.
  • Multi factor authentication enabled VPN login.
  • Work very well even on mobile apple devices.
  • We have not had any problems till now.
Some products and services such as academic network access is entitled to our company premise and IP addresses. As our researchers require access to these products and services, VPN connection becomes essential. AnyConnect solves this problems securely. It's easy integration to current backbone makes it more appealing. As a professional who also used Palo Alto's solution before, I definitely recommend AnyConnect to my colleagues.
Deployment was easy. On the end user side, it is also easy to use. They just install an app on their mobile device or computer, fill the VPN address and their credentials, and they can work remotely as they are located in company premises.
Our company earns from their patents and knowledge which we store on our databases. Therefore, we have a complex and well protected system. We deployed and integrated AnyConnect to our system easily.
We have not had need of an in person support. However, their guide literature is very useful as it is well documented.
Read Nikola Marks's full review
April 29, 2021
Nick Darnell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
With the onset of a global need for remote access to company resources, Cisco AnyConnect has been crucial for productivity to continue. We had initially only implemented VPN access for key players and specific departmental needs but have now made it accessible to the entire workforce. What started as an isolated software use became a foundation for continued operations during remote work scenarios.
  • Scalability
  • Ease of use
  • Security
  • On premise deployment
  • Biometric integration could be useful
  • A built in direct link to our support team would be really nice
Cisco AnyConnect should be used by any organization that requires remote users to maintain a secure link to company resources. For much larger organizations, the ability to apply tiers of access [makes] Cisco AnyConnect very useful for separating resources. For a small user group, Cisco AnyConnect may not be the best choice based on cost and need for administration; it may be better to use smaller free services.
Our users had a very hard time learning how to use the application. This was a serious concern when our entire staff went remote all at once. We had to make a custom walkthrough to get users online and even then they had difficulty. Overall though, the necessity and functionality outweigh the complicated use for our users.
We have not had any issues with security using the Cisco AnyConnect software. Because our setup is [on-premise], we do not need to worry about 3rd party intrusions and data loss or corruption. Staying FERPA compliant is easy when managing our own VPN application. We have also been able to create and apply a solid connection to our internal servers and applications with basic network integration.
As long as you pay for full support as we do, you will always have exceptional support with Cisco. There has never been an issue with Cisco AnyConnect or any other Cisco product that TAC could not assist in resolving. Response time is quick, support is thorough and results are always optimal.
Read Nick Darnell's full review
May 20, 2021
Christopher J Evans | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My mission as the head of the IT department is to arrange smooth service to our colleagues with maximum security [for] them and the company. Cisco AnyConnect is a member of our secure remote connection infrastructure. As our product subscriptions are mostly limited to company premises, at that pandemic period, remotely working colleagues [require] on-site access to subscribed digital (academic) libraries and products. We provide our colleagues secure remote [access] to on-premise products via Cisco AnyConnect.
  • Cisco AnyConnect is an easy to maintain VPN product which saves us time
  • Increased end-point visibility and security policy implications on each end-point
  • Smooth process and management on admin side
  • Handy and simple enduser application
  • Nothing negative I have ever experienced
There are many VPN [applications] available on the market and I have had [a] chance to try many of them. Cisco AnyConnect is one of the smoothest working [ones] amongst its [competitors]. I recommend it to my colleagues. If they want to check other products, I also [advise] them to check Palo alto's global protect as the second good product available on the market.
Cisco AnyConnect is practical on the end-user side. Our colleagues install easily and can connect to company premises easily with one click. On the admin side, it has a simple to manage dashboard and smooth deployment process.
We absolutely benefited from Cisco AnyConnect's security [features]. As our main mission is to provide [security] services to our colleagues, Cisco AnyConnect was helpful on endpoint visibility and threat prevention on the endpoint.
During the deployment period, Cisco helped a lot as we required to plan the installation tailored to our infrastructure. We have not had any problems after the deployment.
Read Christopher J Evans's full review
May 18, 2021
Sandeep Reyyi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco AnyConnect in some projects. This was our go-to option whenever we wanted to connect to our organization's server. It's easy to connect. Now, during this work from home period, it is what we use daily to log in to our remote desktop. It runs smoothly and takes very low memory on our machines. It is secure and reliable always.
  • Less memory consumption.
  • Stable and secure.
  • Deployment is easy and the UI is very minimal.
  • Doesn't have two factor authentication.
  • It disconnects automatically when there is fluctuation in internet speed.
  • VPN can slow down the internet speed sometimes.
This is the best solution available right now for connecting to our remote desktop or organization's servers. During work from home, it's a must-have application for everyone. Although the UI is minimal it seems outdated and it's not updated for a very long time. Even the updates are slow. If you are concerned about it being outdated this is not the one for you. But for users who crave minimalism, it's really a great choice.
UI is very minimal. It's easy to launch the app. Even on a low spec machine, it runs smoothly. It connects almost instantly based on your internet. However, if you have slow internet it might take some significant time to connect. Overall, the usability of this application is great and can be easily understood without any additional training required.
Anyconnect is fast, secure, and reliable. It is easy to use and provides an additional layer of security to our login. However, MFA is a big concern with this tool. It needs to enable multi-factor authentication to provide solid security. However, with its current security, it's very secure and our organization hasn't faced any cyber attacks or security threats using this application.
Cisco's Support team is great as always. The deployment was quick and even after-sales support is great. They quickly respond to any emails with appropriate resolutions. Cisco's AnyConnect team isn't any different. Although I personally didn't have much to contact them considering this application, I haven't had any major troubles so far.
Read Sandeep Reyyi's full review
May 13, 2021
Ryan Lee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AnyConnect as our VPN client of choice. Anyconnect works really well to connect to ASA's and ASA's are easy and straightforward to set up. The throughput on them seems to surpass any other products we have used and Cisco TAC is always good at helping us to configure or troubleshoot issues.
  • High throughput to on-prem services.
  • Easy to setup and easy to have anyone who knows cisco work on it and understand how to configure.
  • Integrates well with umbrella.
  • Could have more detailed logging in the client.
  • Some reporting back to the ASA on connection statuses and throughput would be nice.
Cisco AnyConnect works really well when you already run Cisco equipment for the rest of your network. The speed of connection using Cisco's protocols was faster than anything else we tested. It is intuitive for end-users and you can configure connection profiles during deployment which really cuts down on the need to do much with the install.
The product just works and rarely needs troubleshooting or reconfiguration. Updates are easy and automatic. It is very common even for new hires to be familiar with anyconnect so there is not much of a learning curve to use it.
We are very geographically dispersed with a heavy percentage of our workforce being remote. We often go to customer sites and need to access documents or licensing servers on-prem and anyconnect allows us to do that safely and quickly. Speed is good and helps us to quickly deliver to our customers when in the field.
Cisco TAC is always awesome. They know what they are doing and work quickly to resolve issues. The product setup teams are phenomenal to work with if we want to do a POC of a new product or need advice on deployment strategies. Never an issue with TAC when we need support.
Read Ryan Lee's full review
May 03, 2021
Mohammed ALLY | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses Cisco AnyConnect across our whole organization and is managed by our IT department. We use it as a VPN Service so that our remote employees or any employee that is not connected to our corporate Wi-Fi will have access to the drives necessary to perform their jobs, and is very helpful due to the pandemic that left many of our employees working from home.
  • Fast connection.
  • No Interruption.
  • Easy screen mirroring.
  • Maintenance issues.
  • Security.
  • Multiple server handling.
Cisco AnyConnect was extremely useful for our company when we were all quarantined at home due to the pandemic - or even if we travel and are on vacation but still need access to the files we needed to perform our jobs, we can always connect to be connected to the servers. Lacks the ability to seamlessly connect to different servers.
Was an amazing product and really helped us in a pinch when we needed to work from home during the pandemic. It allowed us to continue to work during the pandemic without any hesitation or disruption of work or our duties. This product truly saved us and was definitely a good investment for us as a company.
We have definitely benefitted from this as a company. As I mentioned in previous comments this product saved us during the pandemic. Luckily before we were forced to stay home due to the quarantine and stay at home orders, we were already experimenting with a hybrid work from home schedule, which came in handy when we had to stay home permanently.
I have not had any direct connection or direct support from the Cisco AnyConnect team, however our IT Team has utilized them for when we have server errors or sometimes we may have issues with other applications while connected to the Cisco AnyConnect server. However these situations were remedied pretty quickly.
Read Mohammed ALLY's full review
May 03, 2021
Stella Neal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Online academic journals and scientific softwares are licensed to be used in our company premises. Research and development department of the company requires access to paid research journals and databases, in addition to some on-site licensed softwares. As we are neither able to reproduce licenses, nor we are not able to purchase licenses individually, company VPN becomes a must to meet their needs. Cisco AnyConnect solves this problem by allowing them to connect to the services as they are in the company premises.
  • Improved remote working as staff works like at premises.
  • More security layer added to the network.
  • Increased visibility on endpoints.
  • None
I have tried various VPN solutions since my undergraduate studies at the university. AnyConnect [has] been the least problematic amongst all as a user. As an administrator it also has no problems at all.
Definitely easy to use with its simple application. Our colleagues have not had any problems and easily get used to [using] AnyConnect at home on their computers. Apart from that, it is easy to install and use on mobile devices.
On the system administration side, it is also high usability as it does not require hard maintenance. It is kind of install-and-forget tool with its smooth build.
We benefited from AnyConnect's security features. Currently, we have improved end point visibility thanks to AnyConnect. Because we defined a information security policy as all the company related tasks needs to be executed via AnyConnect.
Deployment process was so smooth with Cisco's help. They visited us, examined our network architecture. Based on their evaluation they offered the easiest path to integrate AnyConnect to our system.
Read Stella Neal's full review
April 09, 2021
YagneshKumar Patel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco AnyConnect is being used across our entire department. Cisco AnyConnect is used to get us connected to our corporate and regional secured VPN to access our internal servers. One of the main problems that Cisco AnyConnect helps us with as a company is that it gives us a secured connection to access our customers' crucial data and we use Cisco AnyConnect on a daily basis. Moreover, different departments log into Cisco AnyConnect, which enables us to resolves our clients' issues really quickly.
  • Verifies Authorized Users Only--This security feature gives access to that user only
  • Access from anywhere--Whether I am on a public IP or private IP or even using my mobile hotspot, I am able to connect to my secured servers via Cisco AnyConnect securely
  • Stable Connection--Cisco AnyConnect has a stable connection in an event when I lose Internet connectivity
  • MacOS platform--Cisco AnyConnect, at this point, is not available to Macs
  • UI needs an upgrade--looks outdated; other VPN's have better looking UIs
In most cases, Cisco AnyConnect is useful when your organization has Windows as its primary OS. Cisco AnyConnect shines in this area--you can get most of the day-to-day tasks completed via Cisco AnyConnect. But, if your organization has Mac as its primary OS, then Cisco AnyConnect is not useful. In my case, our organization uses Windows OS, so using Cisco AnyConnect is what our organization wanted to use from the get-go.
Cisco AnyConnect has easy-to-follow instructions. I am able to connect by just following on-screen instructions to hop on the VPN right away. The tabs for firewall and other areas of Cisco AnyConnect are also helpful to check/uncheck any setting based on user preference. I would really hope that Cisco AnyConnect has a better UI look. That is why my rating is 7. Cisco AnyConnect's UI has not changed much, if at all, but it would be helpful to have a better look. Also, it would add to the rating if MacOS had the ability to use Cisco AnyConnect.
Cisco AnyConnect has greatly benefited our organization by giving us a secure-access connection to our servers. When it comes to security, it's a huge task. We want our data and connection to be secure and Cisco AnyConnect offers that, but also it offers more helpful features. Our department has benefited in the past few years when using Cisco AnyConnect. We haven't ever lost connection and the app was never down.
I have not used Cisco AnyConnect's customer support. But I would give it a 10.
Read YagneshKumar Patel's full review
May 20, 2021
Tony Dous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco AnyConnect over the whole organization. [It is] one of the best security network app that is used inside the organization and outside. We use it inside the network with ISE and outside by using
VPN on ASA. It [saved] us [during the] pandemic [by making] secure home offices [for] the employees.
  • Stable
  • Secure
  • Fast connect
  • Friendly interface
  • Take huge time to configure
  • Easy to use
    secure VPN Connection
    Help in ISE implementation (makes it faster and easier).
  • Easy to use on mobile
Many configurations [run] in the background. For the network team, [however,] when it's done correctly, [there will be no] problems for a long time.
When it comes to security, it's a huge task. We want our data and connection to be secure and Cisco AnyConnect offers that.
VPN posture and host scan/checker with ISE integration [have] an enhanced security benefit.
Fast response for tickets I open. [...] Some issues take 2 or 3 teams to fix it all. [...]
Read Tony Dous's full review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Cisco AnyConnect Secure Mobility Client for all mobile users that require connection to our private network from outside of our firewall. Using the Trusted Network Detection feature, we are able to automate the connection back to the corporate offices. Once the user connects to any internet connection, the system "dials" them home. We use it across all departments.
  • Secure VPN Connection
  • Automated VPN Connection
  • Limits the amount of effort required by users
  • Has Cisco Umbrella client built in
  • Configuration at the head-end can be confusing and difficult
  • Diagnosis of issues can be time-consuming
Cisco AnyConnect Secure Mobility Client is a great all-around VPN client, whether manually used or automated. Software VPN connection to our private network is generally easily configured and managed.
Appropriate if you have Cisco Firewall/ Concentrator Head-end.
Not quite as useful with Cisco Meraki MX or third-party Head-end.
Not as useful if you use a service like Verizon Private Network or other Carrier private networking.
Overall, the Cisco AnyConnect Secure Mobility Client is a very usable product. Connections to the head-end are fairly easy to complete and seem very secure. Product integrates with our authentication scheme, and users are easily managed.
It might be helpful to have some better guidance in esoteric use cases, and better diagnostic guidance
In most cases, the Cisco AnyConnect Secure Mobility Client works exactly as described in the above blurb.
Laptop users are able to connect to the organization's network with little effort.
We have benefited from this for many years now.
Cisco support is generally among the best. Overall ,this is no different for Cisco AnyConnect Secure Mobility Client.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco AnyConnect
is being used as a secure remote access VPN solution. All the authorized
clients use the AnyConnect client for accessing the enterprise company
resources securely. It’s being implemented on main and drc site. Even some
international subsidiaries are using the AnyConnect for their secure internal access.
Due to covid, AnyConnect is the main backbone of the secure remote workforce
and covering the business regulations with its main features.
  • Lightweight client with low resources need.
  • Easy installation and config.
  • Enhanced remote config and auto-update features.
  • Affective host checker/compatibility function.
  • Straight integration with Cisco ISE.
  • GUI is simple and accessible directly.
  • Messages on the client side is directly seen.
  • Debug and message view assists the client and administrators.
  • Good value for its prices.
  • Next generation features are lacking.
  • Split handling scenarios are limited.
  • Sensitive to timeouts.
  • Auto reconnect features does not work as expected.
  • Auto mtu discovery does not work on some cases.
  • Not a full featured solution on the client side.
  • Detailed reporting is missing.
  • Lack of multi device management.
  • Application, url based dashboards needs to be enhanced.

Best suited for simple deployment on Cisco based environment
like Cisco ASA/Firepower devices where you need a secure remote VPN solution
for on premise access. If you have the Cisco ISE it’s directly integrated. Edge
is AnyConnect and all other intelligent profiling and policy orchestration is
through the ISE. When you have other vendor devices on the network edge
AnyConnect may not be the ideal solution. Again if you need a full feature
solution like AVP, DLP, Disk encryption etc, AnyConnect is not the one you’re
looking to. Integrations through the host checker is a must in this case. In cases with geoloc blocking or specific geoloc-based secure connectivity scenarios, AnyConnect is lacking..

Support and simplicity is the core aspect of the product. It's working without any problems. Performance on the overall solution is very good. Client has a support for multiple operating systems. It's mature and solid. Bug fixes are rare. Cisco's support is marvelous.
However reporting and application monitoring is lacking. I like to see more next generation capabilities.
VPN posture and host scan/checker with ISE integration has an enhanced security benefit. Granular controls on the profilers is a big gain. Access rules on the firewall side is very strict and apply every time. Especially ISE integration is a key step for Zero Trust Network. Number of CVEs on the client is low comparing to other vendors. We have strict regulations and audits for remote VPNs, Cisco AnyConnect product and configuration pass these audits every time.
Cisco support is marvelous. 7X24 support you get. Problems
are addressed easily by the Cisco support team. You can get the new RMA HW in
the same day through the local Cisco depot. Tracking and opening a case is very
easy. Responds from the support is very fast. Another advantage to other
vendors, local Cisco team is very helpful in any case.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco AnyConnect is used by my organization throughout the company for connecting users to servers based in certain geographies in the world, and authenticate their data access to our systems. Cisco AnyConnect works in tandem now with a MFA tool to protect our data and systems from unauthorized access, as the threat to our databases has never been greater than today.
  • Ability to connect to servers based out of multiple geographies and get user identity verified through those logins.
  • Very easy to setup.
  • Based on the server user is connected to, contextual rules ascertain user gets access to that server's apps only.
  • With remote work, need of a VPN to ensure data security has been very much high but so have the costs gone up for having such a system in place.
  • Cisco AnyConnect or any other VPN alone is not enough now and we need MFA solutions in place to ensure valid users using our systems.
  • Process of setting up multiple servers is tedious but easy.
Till date Cisco AnyConnect hasn't caused any data breaches or system breaches in our application ecosystem even though our vendors had multiple and damaging phishing attacks on their systems which were being used in our machines by users who had both our as well as vendor apps open. But Cisco AnyConnect helped only let authenticated users through to our apps and also ensure data is read only by protected authorized users.
Very good and satisfactory, once user raises a request to connect to a specific server, it is approved in real quick time after approving the user identity through inbuilt MFA and zero-trust authentication. Where this helps with being on a VPN when working remote is in simple scenarios like updating user's windows license keys by staying connected on VPN networks.
Our organization has benefitted hugely in terms of having users work in trusted network, while working remotely on our application portfolio and accessing only what is meant for them. This is all in a high level of secure network established with Cisco AnyConnect. This has led to our vendors working in a secure environment at a time when their systems were under serious phishing attacks, leading to theft of their critical and sensitive data.
Only needed most when onboarding users. That too was streamlined with a detailed documentation on setting up VPN connections. Next use came when the implementation team needed to set up auto updating software when teams who didn't connect to VPNs while working remotely had repeated reminders about software licenses expiring. Connecting to VPN seamlessly updated all software, performed security checks and re-established trusted user relationship.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco AnyConnect is being used across my company to facilitate our sudden transition to being a fully remote company. When the pandemic hit, our company needed to quickly switch to remote work. Having Cisco AnyConnect setup on our employee laptops granted us the ability to quickly and securely allow our employees to work from home, while allowing them access to the company resources they needed.
  • Reliable.
  • Easy to administer.
  • Cross Platform.
  • Sometimes intrudes into customer workflow.
  • Linux client not as well integrated.
  • Sometimes difficult for employees to setup themselves.
Cisco AnyConnect is an excellent tool for moderate sized companies that want to connect their employees to the home office. It's a good tool for companies trying to go fully remote during this pandemic. It's a less well designed tool for networking connecting between machines or data centers, and a more targeted VPN solution would be better for that.
Cisco AnyConnect works well once configured. It's fairly simple for users to connect or disconnect from the VPN, and simple for them to check if it's working. It is more complex when configuring as expected, and it's not simple to for end users to identify the problem preventing connectivity.
Our company has absolutely benefited from this tool during the Covid-19 pandemic. We'd set this tool up for some of our users who needed access to the company network remotely for on call tasks. When the pandemic hit and the office closed, we were able to roll out Cisco AnyConnect to the rest of our employees and keep the company running at 100% productivity while everyone worked from home. It's actually prompted conversations about whether we'll ever end up back at the office full time again.
I cannot speak directly to the experience of Cisco AnyConnect's customer support, as I was not involved in the process of initial setup. But my experience administering it was that setting up and maintaining users on the tool is simple for the sysadmin involved, and the product is well maintained, with regular updates and support for new devices showing up quickly.
Read this authenticated review
April 16, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco AnyConnect is being used throughout my organization as the primary tool to connect offsite employees to company network drives and intranet sites. AnyConnect and other Cisco software products have been used by my company for years even prior to the pandemic, but AnyConnect has especially received regular use company-wide since more than 70% of the workforce has transitioned to working from home exclusively. AnyConnect software allows employees to retain secure access to company intranet sets and network folders from anywhere in the world, provided a secure internet connection is established and 2-factor authentication through PingID is satisfied.
  • Easy installation and configuration. Upon downloading the software, the setup prompts are very intuitive and well-integrated with single sign-on using your company login credentials.
  • Fast and reliable remote access connection. The VPN access, system scan and DNS protection are all typically completed in less than 10 seconds, and the connection is held continuously for a period of 18 hours without any interruption.
  • Intuitive layout and accessibility to network and diagnostic information. A quick Status Overview summary is available in 1-click, and the connection time elapsed and remaining are continuously displayed in the viewer window.
  • Software currently relies on soft token two-factor authentication through PingID. Hard token option or other means of authentication would be a helpful feature for employees with alternate preferences.
  • System Scan is mandatory and sometimes does not quickly run to completion. There have been instances where the System Scan got stuck at 10% complete for several minutes, which prompts me to disconnect and try again. These are rare (maybe 1 in 100 connection attempts), but cost valuable time.
  • Slow to reject a mistyped password. If a login password is mistyped, the connection attempt proceeds for several seconds before prompting a re-enter of the password, which is a minor inconvenience and time loss.
Cisco AnyConnect is great for large organizations that use uniform VPN configurations for its employees and PingID two-factor authentication. It is great for companies that wish to grant access to all appropriate company intranet sites and network folders to employees working off-site, to emulate the virtual environment of working onsite.
AnyConnect is less appropriate for companies where saving time is a higher priority than security to company resources, as occasionally there are hang-ups in system scans which could be avoided if some security measures were bypassed.
Cisco AnyConnect was very easy to install and setup, even for novice users. The setup prompts are very easy to follow, and the login credentials used are well integrated with main company login credentials, so users don't have to remember additional passwords. The layout of the viewer window is intuitive and informative, with a useful overview of status overview and connection time elapsed and remaining.
My organization has greatly benefited from AnyConnect providing employees secure remote access to company resources. It essentially has allowed employees to transition to 100% remote work without any interruption to accessibility to network drives, intranet sets, and company resources. By allowing employees to effectively work from home with the same access as they would have on-site, remote meetings are more productive and inclusive, and business operations carry on uninterrupted with fewer office building resources.
Support is not often needed for Cisco AnyConnect, as reliable connectivity and functionality are well-maintained. In the few instances that the support team has been contacted to resolve an employee-specific issue, the team has responded in a timely manner with effective support to resolve the issue. Updates to the software are also easily tracked, and there have been no compatibility issues found after upgrades or changes to other software systems.
Read this authenticated review
May 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to connect to our secure VPN. It is used company-wide. It keeps on our secured network and allows us to connect to tools and software only accessible on the network. It keeps our data safe.
  • Integrates well with Multi-Factor Authentication.
  • Easy to roll out.
  • From my use it does not seem to have any issues I can think of.
Definitely a must when secure network is needed. The fact that it integrates with 3rd party authenticators gives options to companies as opposed to being tied to one product. Great for large enterprises!
Simple to use. Easy to roll out. Integration with 3rd party authenticators seemed pretty intuitive.
Using this makes it easier for all of us to work from the same network and feel secure that we all share the same security protocols when accessing our data. It is also very quick as stated.
I have not had any issues using it nor have I heard any negative comments regarding support. Support that I would need for this is provided by my company so I do not have any interactions with Cisco for this.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The VPN solution is used across the organisation and it very well supports the WFH scenario in this pandemic hit world.
  • Security management.
  • Protection of edge devices.
  • Multifactor authentication.
  • No automatic login after a stipulated time.
  • Lags on heavy bandwidth.
  • Error pops up while typing the token.
It can support a wide range of organisations with same efficiency and security, from small to large.
It only requires a token to login and the entire load of security is taken care of by the software at the backend.
It really helped the entire workforce of the organisation, both tech and non-tech to switch to WFH solution flawlessly.
The customer support team was really helpful in addressing on-site problems.
Read this authenticated review
January 06, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco AnyConnect is used by the entire organization. Cisco AnyConnect provides VPN access to internal network and internal resources including applications, databases, etc. On any given day we have ~1700 users connected via Cisco AnyConnect. It has played a vital role especially during the pandemic, allowing users to work from home with ease.
  • Allows users to connect to internal resources
  • Highly configurable, which allows the organization choose how to deploy and what settings are made available to the users.
  • Cisco AnyConnect works for Windows and Mac computers, which covers most organizations
  • Secure for any type of organization
  • From a technical background, I can't say there are many areas for improvement.
Highly configurable from technical aspect. Can configure to use internal pki certifications for authentication purposes, especially when it comes to organizations that require heavy security practices. Cisco AnyConnect is good for any size organization, but more practical for medium to large organizations. There really are no limits when it comes to configurability to work with any type of organization. Its reliable, and has continued to work well over the years.
I give this such a high rating because once configure, it just works. It has always remained the top of the list for connectivity to internal resources. The users on my network have no issues using the software, and has been proven to be the tool to use during the pandemic.
Security is first and foremost the talking point I can't say enough good things about Cisco AnyConnect. Whether the organization requires simple authentication to heavily secure PKI, it fits the scope for any organization. Just finished setting up PKI authentication with Cisco AnyConnect, found that pushing the profiles through Cisco on Windows or Mac has been proven to be successful and secure.
Cisco TAC offers top notch support. I have worked with Cisco Support for many years and always have had great experiences. Support has always been thorough with every case I've had to open. Most of the time I ask for knowledge transfer so I can learn rather than just watch for help. The level of professionalism has been exceptional over the years.
Read this authenticated review
April 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In COVID-19 quarantine conditions, we use Cisco AnyConnect to get access to databases and some business services located at remote services. Cisco AnyConnect gives us an easy and secure way to access corporate and customer-related data. Mainly it solves issues with insecure access through the Internet.
  • Secure access to remote services
  • Modular structure
  • Ease of use
The scenario for which Cisco AnyConnect suits best is secure access to remote services or networks. But also it could be helpful if you are trying to manage access rules for your employees by means of integration with Cisco ISE.
Detailed technical description and possibility to install Cisco AnyConnect directly from your Cisco firewall. Very handy feature that makes it easier to deploy Cisco AnyConnect through the whole organization.
By using Cisco AnyConnect we minimized the risk of insecure access to our corporate network or infections by malware.
Great knowledge base and wide community. Most of the solutions for your specific issue you can just find on the Cisco Community website. So there is no need to create a ticket for minor issues. And it's great to see that Cisco engineers can give you professional advice on the community website.
Read this authenticated review
April 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This software is used as a tool to connect intranet over VPN. It is used across the whole organization when one needs to access internal web page or computer. It guarantees that the resources available only to employee is not accessed by outside people. We have many of this kind of resources
  • Well along with OS updates
  • Easy to install
  • East to use
  • I have no issue at this moment
I have used free VPN clients in the past and none of them compete with Cisco AnyConnect.
It's very easy to use. So far, I don't see any issue.
I think our organization benefited from the software very much. The organization can put any sensitive resources in the secure intranet and avoid outsider's access. The people accessing intranet is well under control.
Getting along with OS upgrade is very prompt. I have some problem when my MacOS is upgrade to Big Sur, but the software partially worked under the upgraded OS, which helped me working before the upgraded Cisco AnyConnect becomes available. Once the new software is up, all the functionality was there and since then I have no issue. In that sense, the support is very good.
Read this authenticated review
April 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my company with the pandemic many of us work from home. VPN is critical to that experience. We use the Cisco AnyConnect client across the business and around the world. It does the job reliably. However, as a daily user, I find that the connection times out without warning, disrupting meetings and other work.
  • Reliable.
  • Simple.
  • I wish that the client had an option to generate a warning at a settable time period before timeout. This seems like a very basic need, and I'm surprised that the client doesn't already have this.
  • I also wish that the client could be renewed before timeout without having to go through a disconnect/reconnect cycle - I'd like to be able to supply credentials again and have the timeout reset, without dropping all my existing connections.
Very basic client.
Needs a disconnect warning.
That's why we use a VPN and need a client.
I haven't used Cisco support for this product.
Read this authenticated review
May 20, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco AnyConnect across our [organization] for VPN service and also to our customers for [the] global need for remote [access] to company resources. Cisco AnyConnect is [a] key platform for productivity to continue and this pandemic proved it 100% useful to our organization as well as to our customers. Customer-specific platforms are accessible through VPN only (When not in office LAN). Also, IT desk when need to solve problems remotely makes use of Cisco AnyConnect.
  • Secured VPN connection
  • Easy installation
  • Good value for money
  • Can make use of low resources with lightweight client
  • Reliable
  • Easy Administration
  • Authentication should also have option for biometric
  • Experienced rare disconnectons
  • Should have improved UI
Cisco AnyConnect well suits an organization where we need to achieve [a] VPN connection and also have Cisco firewalls in infrastructure. Having [a] Windows Operating system is the very much suggested criteria. If anyone is looking for full features e.g. Disk Encryption, AVP, DLP then Cisco AnyConnect will not help completely. Cisco AnyConnect does lack geolocation blocking.
Cisco AnyConnect achieves what it is designed for and I have [personally] experienced it as [a] good VPN client. [The] performance of [the] solution is good. Experienced excellent support from Cisco. Reporting and application monitoring need [a] bit of more research. It is very much simple for users in terms of connection and disconnection.
Yes, our organization and our customer's [organization] did benefit from the use of Cisco AnyConnect. Covid19 is the pure result that we [continue] working from home in [the] most secured platform. I am gladwe were able to achieve industry-standard security with the host of easy convenience. It was very easy to implement and also users found it easy to using VPN connections.
When it comes to supporting from Cisco, I will always rate 5 stars. Cisco AnyConnect will usually need no much support from Cisco, I only needed it whilst troubleshooting few user-facing issues but the Cisco support team was humble enough and I was able to get a timely response. Cisco's database is always the best.
The product is very well maintained.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
During the COVID pandemic work from home was something happening all over the world and using Cisco AnyConnect help us to access to database and my work PC at my home. Also it is being used by the entire company.
  • Easy to access.
  • Quick login and access.
  • Remote access anywhere as the name suggest AnyConnect.
  • Sometime do not have internet speed issue.
  • Not much of cons I can remember but the outage is something we have which are required.
  • Troubleshooting the issue take time.
This is a simple solution for all the organization who need to work from home during COVID-19 pandemic.
This is mainly required to perform remote login before you start you daily work.
The product add[ed] additional security to the organization. Also it can be used by the employees anywhere around the globe.
Does not require much of the support help, as I have faced only one issue when I started using the product. Overall it was helpful.
Read this authenticated review
January 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Entire company uses it for secure VPN login.
  • Secure login to company network.
  • Remote access.
  • Login is quick, easy, [and] secure.
  • Really not much negative feedback on the product, pretty simple, straightforward.
  • Minimize downtime, we had 1 or 2 major outages in 2020.
  • Prioritize server connection based on fastest available speeds.
I'm really only giving it an 8 because I only use this product in a limited capacity. I log in to the VPN and connect to our company network, then go about my normal workday. I really do not have a lot of other examples of how this product is used.
Not much to say about the usability from my perspective. There is a simple login screen, and once I'm signed in I don't have to think about it again until I reboot my computer or sign out. If there is a mobile application for IOS devices, I suppose that would be very helpful.
Our company has definitely benefited from the added security. At a time when cyber security has become increasingly important, our teams feel safe in using AnyConnect and knowing that our information remains private and protected from unauthorized users or attacks. This is really the main reason we use this product.
The amount of contact I have had with Cisco support has been very limited since I am not in the IT department, but every support case I have created has been addressed quickly and in a satisfactory manner. It would be good to know if there are specific issues that users can troubleshoot without contacting support though.
Read this authenticated review

What is Cisco AnyConnect?

Cisco AnyConnect is a secure mobility client solution for secure VPN access for remote works, designed to empower remote workers with frictionless, highly secure access to the enterprise network from any device from anywhere at anytime.

Cisco AnyConnect Features

Has featureUnified Endpoint Compliance
Has featureHighly Secure Network Access
Has featureWeb Security
Has featureNetwork Visibility
Has featureOff-Network Protection (DNS-Layer Security)
Has featureMobile Device Support
Has featureBasic & Advanced VPN
Has featureEnterprise Access
Has featureRoaming Protection

Cisco AnyConnect Video

Cisco AnyConnect for the RV340/RV345/RV345P

Cisco AnyConnect Downloadables

Cisco AnyConnect Integrations

Cisco AnyConnect Competitors

F5 BIG-IP, Citrix Gateway, FortiGate

Cisco AnyConnect Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco AnyConnect?

Cisco offers an SSL VPN solution via AnyConnect.

What is Cisco AnyConnect's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability and Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.7.

Who uses Cisco AnyConnect?

The most common users of Cisco AnyConnect are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.