Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Cisco AnyConnect

Cisco AnyConnect

Overview

What is Cisco AnyConnect?

Cisco offers an SSL VPN solution via AnyConnect.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Cisco AnyConnect

9 out of 10
February 14, 2024
Incentivized
We use Cisco AnyConnect for our VPN connection. It is a solution that we are using for the past 5 years and we are very satisfied with it. …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

3 videos

Cisco AnyConnect Review | A Secure Solution to Remote Work
03:57
Cisco AnyConnect Review
06:50
Cisco AnyConnect Review
07:49
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Cisco AnyConnect?

Cisco offers an SSL VPN solution via AnyConnect.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

94 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is NordVPN?

NordVPN by Nord Security is a virtual private network (VPN) solution for individuals or small businesses with a limited number of devices. With 5100 servers across the globe, NordVPN aims to bring users both security and speed.

What is Avast Small Business Solutions?

Avast offers their business class antivirus application, simply Avast Business Antivirus, which the vendor boasts as having a 100% malware detection rate and a centralized management platform to monitor threats network-wide across all connected endpoints, in editions for Windows, MacOS, and Windows…

Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Cisco AnyConnect?

Cisco AnyConnect is a secure mobility client solution for secure VPN access for remote works, designed to empower remote workers with frictionless, highly secure access to the enterprise network from any device from anywhere at anytime.

Cisco AnyConnect Features

  • Supported: Unified Endpoint Compliance
  • Supported: Highly Secure Network Access
  • Supported: Web Security
  • Supported: Network Visibility
  • Supported: Off-Network Protection (DNS-Layer Security)
  • Supported: Mobile Device Support
  • Supported: Basic & Advanced VPN
  • Supported: Enterprise Access
  • Supported: Roaming Protection

Cisco AnyConnect Videos

Cisco AnyConnect for the RV340/RV345/RV345P
In this video, the TrustRadius team goes over some of the best VPN providers out there - including Cisco AnyConnect - and how they stack up against each other.

Cisco AnyConnect Competitors

Cisco AnyConnect Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Cisco AnyConnect Downloadables

Frequently Asked Questions

Cisco offers an SSL VPN solution via AnyConnect.

F5 BIG-IP and NetScaler Gateway are common alternatives for Cisco AnyConnect.

Reviewers rate Availability highest, with a score of 9.8.

The most common users of Cisco AnyConnect are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(241)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 93)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I am using it as a mobility client so I can connect to my corporate resources remotely. This specifically helps me to use applications like SAP, intranet, etc from home or client office. It enables me to access corporate applications using mobile hotspots, broadband connections, etc securely. It also enabled me to work 24x7.

It is very useful at month end when there is huge workload and we have to work after office hours also. Now instead of sitting in office, late at night we are able to work from home.
  • Faster and secured remote access
  • Easy to use
  • Easy to setup
  • Works on any internet connection
  • Costing needs to reasonable
  • You may face Compatibility issue with some systems
  • Antivirus needs to be disabled in some cases
It is highly recommended if you have large number of workforce. You can install Cisco Anyconnect in their system so they can access corporate applications from anywhere. Even they can use corporate applications 24x7. For small workforce it is not recommended as it requires huge initial investments which they may not afford.
February 20, 2024

Cisco AnyConnect Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use it to connect to on-Prem and Legacy IT resources. Whenever I'm not in the office, whenever I am in the home office, AnyConnect is the enabler that gives us the opportunity to work from anywhere.
  • Any Connect is building a stable VPN connection across any different kinds of networks. So it gives me the assumption that I will be sitting in the office and work locally on my workplace, but I get this assumption nearly from everywhere.
  • That's really difficult. And when you see that, I'm thinking longer. You see this means the product is almost perfect and there's less room for improvement. Maybe the topic of global presence should be solved easier, and I mean global roaming. So that means I should not select by myself that I would go into the company via our ASA in the USA or an SA in China. The product should itself see according to the distance where I'm next to and the log me in where it's best. So a global roaming feature I would say could be some room for improvement.
It's well suited for the mobile task force we have at Engel for all the information workers, the salespersons, and the salespeople that are abroad and are not often on the Engel premises but are on customer premises. So for them, it's the only really good tool to connect to central IT resources. But when I look to the future way of utilizing cloud resources and having a hybrid approach and having SaaS services like Salesforce, which are running natively in the cloud, then AnyConnect might not be suitable for them because anyway, I have a direct connection via an HTTPS tunnel to run all my SAS applications. I would not see any benefit of using AnyConnect in this case. So the more a company runs in the cloud, the less it needs AnyConnect.
February 14, 2024

Cisco AnyConnect

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Cisco AnyConnect for our VPN connection. It is a solution that we are using for the past 5 years and we are very satisfied with it. It brings a good level of security and our users don't complain. We use it as a standard now for everyone that needs to connect to our VPN.
  • VPN
  • Easy install
  • Implementing zero trust
It is best to use it on a IT exercise, where you have people that connect to your network remotely.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it for protection, and as the client to connect to our VPN, it is used company wide and we rarely have issues with it. It is a great easy and quick solution to what used to be complex. With the company Cisco as well, we have a great experience.
  • Easy VPN client
  • Protection without hindrance
  • No impact on users
  • Lack of info for those interested in the client
Great security should be invisible to standard users, most of my collegues don't even know it is more than just the VPN button.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Cisco AnyConnect is used in my company as a VPN client, in order to allow everyone to enter the company network, wherever the users are, and access every internal website/service without any constraint. It has several platforms support, including mobile devices, which allow to easily connect any of them to the desired network.
  • Remote work.
  • Easy of configure.
  • Support several platforms.
  • Auto-reconnect function.
  • Clients looks a little bit outdated.
  • Some configurations and errors are hard to see.
Cisco AnyConnect is well suited to remote connectivity, inside the company or a client network, with a secure and fast connection to the web them. They provide a handful of options for different operating systems, from desktop to mobile.
February 08, 2024

Cisco AnyConnect review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Cisco AnyConnect on my own device, securing my network while I’m away from head office. It is really easy to use, and has several functions you can put into it, like endpoint security, posture, etc.
  • Secure your work
  • Easy connect
  • Small install, easy to maintain
  • Don’t have any
Remote access
February 07, 2024

Cisco AnyConnect review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it for secure access outside of the workplace.
  • Secures our traffic while operating on the public Internet.
  • Connect before login. This might not be a Cisco issue but a way that my company implemented it
Remote access during covid lockdown
January 26, 2024

Cisco AnyConnect Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I've been using [Cisco] AnyConnect for a number of years both in my previous role and my current. The deployment is generally pretty quick with click-through options. Once deployed, the connection is usually stable. However, if it doesn't connect it usually requires a laptop reboot or uninstall and reinstall the application. Updates happen often, but that's just Cisco. Integrates nicely into Umbrella.
  • Stable connection
  • Easy deployment
  • Regular updates
  • Too many updates!
Like any VPN tool, [Cisco] AnyConnect is suitable for those who use local server estates and require secure access for their workers. This is particularly paramount given the current situation and need for remote working from various locations. Obviously, the more people move to cloud services this will become less needed, but I think businesses will always retain some on-prem services for a hybrid model.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use the Cisco AnyConnect Secure Mobility Client for all mobile users that require connection to our private network from outside of our firewall. Using the Trusted Network Detection feature, we are able to automate the connection back to the corporate offices. Once the user connects to any internet connection, the system "dials" them home. We use it across all departments.
If they choose not to connect, they are disconnected from any internet connection. It is "phone Home" or nothing.
  • Secure VPN Connection
  • Automated VPN Connection
  • Limits the amount of effort required by users
  • Has Cisco Umbrella client built in
  • Automatically updates itself
  • Configuration at the head-end can be confusing and difficult
  • Diagnosis of issues can be time-consuming
  • The Trusted Network Detection can be finicky at some remote sites.
Cisco AnyConnect Secure Mobility Client is a great all-around VPN client, whether manually used or automated. Software VPN connection to our private network is generally easily configured and managed. Appropriate if you have Cisco Firewall/ Concentrator Head-end. Not quite as useful with Cisco Meraki MX Head-end, but still usable since an update to allow AnyConnect to connect to Meraki MX Appliances. Not as useful if you use a service like Verizon Private Network or other Carrier private networking.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Cisco AnyConnect to facilitate secure access to office network drives for employees who are working remotely. This enables us to maintain a consistent, stable system for file organization and management that employees can access regardless of whether they're in the office on a particular day. This is a fairly narrow use case, but it is important for the solution to be straightforward and consistent.
  • Straightforward
  • Consistent
  • Reliable
  • Sometimes a bit laggy
  • Secondary functionalities can be obtuse
  • Slightly old school UI
Based on my experience, Cisco AnyConnect is well suited to most organizations who need to enable employees to remotely access secure network drives, including those operating in the legal industry. Cisco AnyConnect is likely particularly well-suited to organizations with employees who rely on legacy technology systems like desktop and simple laptop computers; the UI is likely to be familiar and straightforward for those users. Cisco AnyConnect may be slightly less well-suited for organizations with a wide diversity of technology literacy among their users, or organizations that need to handle secure file access across a wide variety of different devices.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Cisco AnyConnect to connect to a VPN when working from home. This allows us the ability to access sensitive information when we are not on campus. It allows us to continue our operations seamlessly throughout the year and throughout changing work environments. We highly appreciate this product in our organization.
  • VPN access
  • Login
  • Easy to use
  • None
Cisco AnyConnect is well suited for workplaces that deal with sensitive, identifying information regarding health or personal information. It allows a private network throughout the world.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use this as a VPN for security purposes across my company. We cannot access internal information without being logged in to Cisco AnyConnect. We use it on our work administered devices as well as have the option to "BYOD" or bring our own device that we could then enroll into Cisco AnyConnect if we wanted Slack or to check any work things on our personal device like a cell phone or laptop.
  • Security
  • Fast login
  • Logs out too often
  • Needs to be reset often
It's good as a VPN but disconnects fairly often and can be annoying when I need to access something but then have to re-log in and reload pages before I can access things. Sometimes, it doesn't shut out of the window, and I have to use my Mac's force quit option to restart the program and get it reconnected.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
My primary use of Cisco AnyConnect is to ensure I have a secure gateway for accessing my company's systems when I am working or traveling out of town. Since I've worked remotely since March of 2020, Cisco AnyConnect has been key to maintaining security for my laptop. It also is a requirement of my company for accessing specific platforms, e.g., accounting, process workflows, and so on.
  • Quick connect time
  • Easy to use the interface
  • Excellent security for remote use
  • Very intuitive, extremely easy to log-on
  • No recommendations
  • The software works very well
  • No problems at all
I use it primarily for remote working. There are bad actors out there who try on a regular basis to insinuate themselves into our systems, and Cisco AnyConnect is a robust defender of my computer and our systems. Our IT department is very proactive in searching for weaknesses in our systems, particularly the human factor, e.g., social engineering, phishing, and so forth. Whenever I'm using Cisco AnyConnect, I'm confident access to our multiple platforms are in good hands.
Andrew Stevenson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
My employer utilizes Cisco AnyConnect as an access key to a VPN, allowing a secure internet connection from home, office, or wherever you can get a secure Wi-Fi signal. Cisco AnyConnect automates the setup with your connection quickly and securely. We also have additional options to make manual attempts to connect at other site hubs, allowing us a wealth of options to connect. We are a global company and this solution works wonderfully for our operations worldwide!
  • Simple user interface
  • Clear instructions for use
  • Friendly support staff
  • There is nothing that comes to mind for any inprovements on this excellent tool!
This is a fantastic tool for remote work, whether that be from your home office, or when traveling. Cisco AnyConnect allows a simplified, automatic connection from a laptop to your servers quickly and securely. For peace of mind, this is a no-brainer to keep your data secure and your business productive.
December 11, 2023

Cisco AnyConnect Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use this product for remote access where we have plenty of students and staff who are on campus and off campus. I use this product to allow them to connect to our VPN and then they are connected to campus to use the campus infrastructure.
  • Now when I connect to the client, it clearly tells me how the transaction happens. If it fails to work, I have very detailed information to analyze why it's not working. It works well. It has very detailed information again to say how it went well. So I can use this to understand whatever happened in the network. Other products don't have this easy feature. They have locks but it's very difficult. But this lock from Cisco is super, very easy to use and operate or manage, and troubleshoot. Everything is more comfortable than other products.
  • I would say I would need little more features on the product. Now there are some limitations to use this product actually. Currently, which I've been working with Cisco to have it, but it's not technically. It's a little bit of not possible for now. So there are slight features that needs to be improved. The GOO is fine, the user interface is fine. The connectivity stability is all fine, but I also need to make it a little more faster in terms of reconnecting. Reconnecting is slow then first connecting is pretty much good, but reconnection is a bit slow because of technical aspects there. So if Cisco can make that something there to make it much faster, it could help users.
SpeakThere are many scenarios where the product is best. This is the question right here. Particularly when remote connecting, we could, if not this product, we have various other options in the market like open source within clients which we use. It's not very satisfactory. We also have other vendors, particularly Global Protect from Palo Alto. The application is very very poor. It does the connect, but applications is very poor in terms of interface, in terms of user accessing that application or managing that application on the laptop, I would say less sophisticated, but Cisco beats all these things from other vendors. I would say yes, usability is very good with Cisco.
December 06, 2023

Cisco AnyConnect Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use it every time I want to. I log into the network at work. If I'm not hard logged in, if I'm not in the office, that's what I use.
  • It allows me to go into my Aurizon network if I want to access all the applications, and the programs to do my work.
  • Sometimes it does take a while. I have to manually search for it and turn it on. Usually, it does it automatically when I connect, but sometimes it does take a while. It takes a few goes, and I would have to shut down or restart my computer for it to work. So I don't know what they need to do to make it better, but it's definitely something that can be done.
It's definitely well suited if you are working from home or if you are working out of the office pretty much anywhere really. I can't think of the other one, but yeah, it's basically you need it. If you want to get into the networks and your company networks.
November 28, 2023

Decent VPN solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using Cisco AnyConnect to access our organization network and applications remotely. It enabled us to use organization applications remotely without compromising security. Whether the user is on leave or a business tour, they are able to use organization applications on any network. It can be integrated with a Multi-Factor authentication tool to provide an additional layer of security.

It helped us very much in Covid outbreak when everyone was working from home. Thanks to Cisco AnyConnect, which enabled our users to use corporate applications like SAP, intranet, etc., from home.
  • Provides secured access to organization applications
  • Can be integrated with Multi-Factor authentication tool
  • Works fine on any network whether it is leased line, broadband or mobile hotspot
  • Easy to integrate, configure and use
  • Pricing is quite high
  • Difficult to trouble shoot sometimes
  • Rest everything is fine
It is well suited for medium and large scale organizations where a number of users work remotely. Even if you have multiple branches which requires secured access to your organization applications (installed in Head Office) you can go for it. It is not recommended for individuals or small businesses because it will be a costly solution for them.
November 27, 2023

Remote Savior

Andrea Olenchak | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use this program to access our system when not on site. For the longest time it used to ask, "Do you want to stay connected?" and hitting 'yes' really did nothing. I'd lose internet services in a small hiccup and it would log me out. It seems a recent update has fixed this and any time I run into issues with my internet, including times I have had to power cycle my modem, I have returned to it cycling trying to reconnect and have not needed to log in, unless I have run into severe issues and I have been down for several minutes. We haven't run into many issues with our connections for the VPN itself. The only other issue I have is sometimes I can't tell if the VPN connection is having trouble or if I am having trouble.
  • Constant Attempt to reconnect after loss
  • It's clearly visible when it's connected
  • Ability to connect to several different VPN locations saved by my company
  • Alerting if there are VPN issues in the connection
Working from home. I no longer live near the office, so it helps me get into my system without the extremely long commutes.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Cisco Duo for MFA while connecting into the VPN to ensure that our logins are authenticated against a second Factor and to limit where in the world our logins are allowed from. We also plan on rolling out the ability to force our users to use the Cisco Duo to Log into their terminal servers and, eventually local laptops. This will ensure that our login processes are known to be valid without our IT Team having to jump through hoops and pull some crazy Mac Address or IP address filtering process with constant updates due to private non commercial Internet Service Providers giving our users non-static IPs.
  • Multi Factor Authentication
  • Integration with Cisco ASA Firewalls
  • Integration with Cisco AnyConnect VPN
  • Easy Enrollment Processes for Users
  • Manual Administrative Config: The Enrollment requires the user to enroll from their end and can't just be "Setup" for the user unless you act as the user. For things like SMS text, it would be nice just to put it in place and have it work without a "Setup/Enrollment" process. This does, however ensure the user understands the process.
  • Active Directory Sync and Azure Sync Did not automatically match up accounts and duplicate, so I had to do it manually, to be fair the account usernames do not match the Email Address which is used for Azure so it would be difficult.
  • Duo Support and Cisco Support seem to have not been integrated with each other well, most support tickets end up with a Duo expert and a Cisco Firewall Expert on at the same time, though this has improved dramatically.
  • They did not force my Admin to use an NTP Server off the bat, which would have fixed a few issues we had that persisted for a while until he started using one. (A bit old fashioned)
When a user is located outside of the network of one of our 30 offices, we have them use Cisco AnyConnect to create an encrypted secure tunnel through the internet to our corporate office to share network resources with the user who is considered remote. This allows any of our 500 employees to connect from anywhere they may be facilitating work-from-home scenarios, work-from-vacation scenarios, work-from-trade conference scenarios, and more. Our Cisco AnyConnect is further secured by using Cisco Duo to provide MFA to our Cisco AnyConnect. Additionally, we also use this to facilitate 3rd party support vendor access to their supported servers/applications.
November 03, 2023

Cisco AnyConnect Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Well, this is mostly to enable the people working from home. So with the hybrid work now we are using it more and more. So everyone uses this on a daily basis.
  • Well, I love the possibility of doing the split tunneling so we can, in this way, reduce the load on the gateways and have a nice user experience for this SSE application that doesn't have to go to a corporate network.
  • Hard to use.
It always makes sense to use it whenever you want to access a corporate network. So this is offering a secure way from a public internet like we are here today or from a coffee shop to secure the corporate network.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It's the only way where we can hit our DOD Nip R services from anywhere in the world. We use our smart token to authenticate and then, it reaches back to our server where I'm from in Albany. And it's like we're, you know, we're at work right now. A lot of our employees travel. We don't stay in an armory. And a lot of our work is time-based. So it helps out with the flexibility of people just traveling all over the freaking world and being able to do government's work anywhere from
  • It has the option to download multiple modules depending on what we need.
  • We deploy and redeploy the four modules and we're able to customize what's unique in our environment based on these four modules. I think there's out of nine that we can install on the base image
  • And where we can customize it and use it for our needs. And if we don't need it anymore, just take it off or we can modify the server end of it.
  • I would suggest when people can't VPN, better error messages to explain better what the user can do or at least have the option for us to customize what error they're getting and how to solve it when they're getting it. The popup error should say, for example, you can't VPN right now because your bandwidth is too low on your cell phone, none of that. It just says you're just out of luck. We get a lot of calls to the help desk and a lot of issues brought to hire because people just don't know how to use the basic functionality of VPN. And so customizable error messages.
It's very functional and we're gonna keep on using it as far as I'm concerned. Just some tweaks as you know, as is anything just keep on growing with it, and as long as it keeps growing with us we have no issue. It's mainly used for teleworking. We have a hybrid environment and if we travel to less secure networks and less suited for.
June 08, 2023

easy install VPN

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
we use cisco anyconnect for remote access. We have a SCADA system that needs to be monitored 24/7 and VPN gives us the ability to have users log in and view our system remotely.
  • setup is simple
  • App is easy to install
  • nothing - easy as is
anywhere remote access to VPN is needed!
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Anyconnect provides Remote Access VPN services. Anyconnect client is supported on Windows, MAC, and Linux. Can be implemented on Cisco ASA or Cisco FTD. Provides various authentication and authorization methods and can be integrated with other vendors that provide multi-factor authentication services. Configuration is easy and cisco provides a wizard to make the provisioning easy.
  • Remote Access VPN
  • Endpoint compliance
  • 1X Supplicant
  • Time-based Remote Access VPN
  • Detailed error messages
  • Pricing
Cisco AnyConnect is one of the best remote access VPN solutions in the market. Cisco ASA and Cisco FTD VPN gateways are quite stable and feature-rich devices. Implementation is not complex and you can find a lot of documentation online. Cisco publishes new updates quite frequently to mitigate any new vulnerabilities.
February 10, 2023

Cisco AnyConnect Review

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use Cisco AnyConnect to connect to the ADIF intranet from our telecommuting location. In most cases, we have problems establishing the connection. In my case, the following message is reproduced on all occasions: "a particular requirement cannot be corrected." I would like to be told what the error is due to and provide how to correct it
It is my belief that it's a very bad product
Return to navigation