Cisco ASA 5500-X with FirePOWER Services Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
49 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE Badge

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-19 of 19)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 24, 2021
Basant Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Lots of security features were missing in Cisco ASA so Cisco launched the Firepower services to add on and [Cisco ASA 5500-X with FirePOWER Services] is very good and trustworthy. The advanced malware protection and IPS is best option to protect your organization. I am using firepower services for the last 2 years and I am very happy with the services and security features.
Read Basant Gupta's full review
May 14, 2021
Flavio Pereira | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our ASA 5500-X with FirePOWER Services is used on our network to protect our large branch from external threats such as hackers, ransomware, malware in general and denial of service attacks. The model in question is the Cisco ASA 5545-x with layer 7 protection features, web content filter, anti-virus, anti-spam and VPN. We have two units with the ultimate goal of creating a significant protection redundancy. The appliance allows us to access servers, internal services from a VPN client with a cryptographic tunnel.
Read Flavio Pereira's full review
July 30, 2021
sitaram gurjar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco ASA with FirePOWER Services is a very good product for complete and deep-level security on your network. All the users of Cisco ASA were facing some options on layer 7 security. Very few features were available so Cisco introduced the FirePOWER Services. Advanced level IDS/IPS, sandboxing, URL filtering, advanced malware protection and other deep-level security for protecting your network.
Read sitaram gurjar's full review
July 26, 2021
Mohit Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Cisco ASA 5500-X with Firepower for Sandboxing & Advance IPS & Malware Protection. We are using it for advanced security features implemented in our environment. It also prevents bad actors from any unauthorized access in our environment. We are also using it for remote VPN to connect with our remote branches & easily share the resource.
Read Mohit Singh's full review
June 21, 2021
Binita Kharbanda | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used Cisco ASA 5500-X with FirePOWER [Services] in our organization to secure our organization Infra. We were able to secure our network with its security features and also used it to create the Site to Site IPSec VPN with our clients and partner and it worked so smoothly. We used the Remote VPN Cisco AnyConnect to connect the office resources from home.
Read Binita Kharbanda's full review
May 24, 2021
gaurav sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco FirePOWER services' advanced features provide layer 7 security. Before FirePOWER services, Cisco ASA was very weak for deep-level security, and other competitors like Checkpoint and Palo Alto are fully loaded with advanced security features. As a result, Cisco launched the advanced security features services that is Cisco FirePOWER. I have been using this product for the last 2 years and all the features are really good.
Read gaurav sharma's full review
May 18, 2021
Vipin Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The Cisco ASA 5500-X with FirePOWER firewall is a fully integrated threat-focused firewall that offers application control, threat prevention, and advanced malware protection to your network as well as endpoint devices. I am handling Cisco ASA 5500-X with FirePOWER for one of my clients and I am very impressed with the features of this product. Most next-generation firewalls mainly focus on enabling application control and a few features for threat defense. Cisco ASA 5500-X with FirePOWER is an integrated and threat-focused product.
Read Vipin Sharma's full review
May 13, 2021
Rajesh Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco ASA 5500-X with FirePOWER Services is the true next generation introduced by Cisco. It fulfills layer 7 security and lots of security features to prevent any kind of attacks in your organization. they are offering advanced malware protection, advanced intrusion prevention and content filtering. I updated my Cisco ASA 5500-X with FirePOWER in my organization.
Read Rajesh Singh's full review
May 11, 2021
Chandan Singh Rathore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used Cisco ASA 5500-SFR in our organization [for] the network security as Cisco is so user friendly. Cisco has the best support (as per my experience) and documentation available open on the internet. Cisco SFR provides the IPS feature to prevent the attacks. Its also reduces the attack surface by using its other technologies i.e. URL filtering etc. Creating the Site to Site /Remote VPN is so easy.
Read Chandan Singh Rathore's full review
May 29, 2021
rahul Verma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The main problem with Cisco ASA was not security on application level and malware attack so Cisco introduced FirePOWER Services to cover all the parameters for a secure organization. The Cisco ASA with FirePOWER Services and Advanced Malware Protection (AMP) provide a security solution that helps you to find the threats and enforce the policies before an attack takes place. We have replaced single Cisco ASA with Cisco ASA with FirePOWER Services.
Read rahul Verma's full review
May 27, 2021
Neha Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Every client of Cisco ASA 5500 was struggling with application layer security. Cisco ASA can protect you only up to layer 4 so Cisco introduced the new service to extend the security in Cisco ASA. FirePOWER is a combination of various types of security features. I am using Cisco ASA 5500 with FirePOWER services in one of my location. With the help of FirePOWER we can organize our infrastructure at every layer.
Read Neha Sharma's full review
May 26, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our Cisco ASA is an integral part of our network. It is our main firewall and responsible for all our VPN connections utilizing Cisco AnyConnect clients. In addition, we fully utilize the FirePOWER services for content filtering and malware detection managed via a VMware appliance running Linux. Although not perfect, this device has proven to be a very powerful robust piece of hardware which I would highly recommend.
Read this authenticated review
February 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use several Cisco ASA's with FirePOWER [Services] throughout our organization. They serve as edge firewalls that touch the internet as well as internal networks that need to be walled off from the outside. The added security of the firepower services within the ASA bring the ASA up to speed as far as next generation firewall are concerned. I use a range of sizes of ASA-5500-X models from the smaller 5506-X to the 55250-X. Depending on the type and amount of traffic that will be going through will determine which one was used. In general I would say the performance of these units is on par with the industry as long as they were sized correctly. I feel they have a done a good job at securing the networks they protect.
Read this authenticated review
March 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Cisco ASA 5500-X with FirePOWER Services--mainly the 5516-X in the active/standby modes--in our organization to build OT/process control networks. This is the perfect solution to isolate and segment your production environment from the business network.
Read this authenticated review
November 17, 2020
Zakarieya Abderoef | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The Cisco ASA firewall is being used to protect the environment from external threats and viruses. We also use it for external access to our servers i.e. port forwarding, DMZ and the guest wifi access also gets restricted via the firewall. Our users can also access our environment externally from the SSL VPN which is configured on the firewall.
Read Zakarieya Abderoef's full review
April 06, 2020
Jason Lachowsky | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

While the business environment was very traditional in that most employees worked at the office and didn't need (or want) to use network resources from home, there was still a need for a firewall that was independently managed and deployed for use throughout the organization. The firewall served as the principal conduit to the internet as well as other government entities.
Read Jason Lachowsky's full review
April 06, 2020
Dave Clark | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Cisco ASA, 5512, 5515, 5506, 5516, 5525, and 5585. Prior to that we used 5510 and 5540. We have started to use 2130 with ASA. We use them for typically hosting customer with 4- 8 networks, internet access, and a small network of VMs and storage. We supply customers with sportsbook and sports trading applications that we host in our data centres. We also use ASA on our internal site networks. We also use AnyConnect to support all our remote users and home workers. We have over 2000 site VPNs and a number of VPNs to AWS and Azure using VTI. We find these devices are easy to configure and offer very good performance and security features.
Read Dave Clark's full review
March 24, 2020
Wouter Hindriks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use the Cisco ASA 5500-X both in our data centers and on our ~300 remote locations as the primary firewall. These devices establish a site-site VPN between the data centers and the customer site and provide firewall security for all users and equipment.
Read Wouter Hindriks's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Identification Technologies (18)
9.1
Visualization Tools (15)
8.3
Content Inspection (19)
8.7
Policy-based Controls (19)
9.1
Active Directory and LDAP (18)
9.0
Firewall Management Console (19)
8.4
Reporting and Logging (19)
9.0
VPN (19)
9.8
High Availability (19)
9.9
Stateful Inspection (4)
7.8
Proxy Server (3)
6.8

What is Cisco ASA 5500-X with FirePOWER Services?

Cisco ASA 5500-X with FirePOWER Services is a security appliance solution designed to empower users to beat sophisticated cyber attacks. This solution is a threat-focused next-generation firewall.
Categories:  Firewall

Cisco ASA 5500-X with FirePOWER Services Features

Firewall Features

Has featureIdentification Technologies
Has featureVisualization Tools
Has featureContent Inspection
Has featurePolicy-based Controls
Has featureActive Directory and LDAP
Has featureFirewall Management Console
Has featureReporting and Logging
Has featureVPN
Has featureHigh Availability

Cisco ASA 5500-X with FirePOWER Services Downloadables

Cisco ASA 5500-X with FirePOWER Services Competitors

Cisco ASA 5500-X with FirePOWER Services Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Cisco ASA 5500-X pricing starts at ~$400 and scales up to $20,000 for higher capacity appliances.

Cisco ASA 5500-X with FirePOWER Services Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Cisco ASA 5500-X with FirePOWER Services Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco ASA 5500-X with FirePOWER Services?

Cisco offers a threat-focused next-generation firewall (NGFW), the ASA 5500-X Series. The ASA 5500 Series platforms can run either the Cisco ASA Firewall or Cisco Firepower Threat Defense (FTD). The series features appliances in a variety of form factors, including standalone options for small and midsize businesses, ruggedized appliances for extreme environments, midsize appliances for security at the Internet edge, and high-performance appliances for enterprise data centers.

What is Cisco ASA 5500-X with FirePOWER Services's best feature?

Reviewers rate High Availability highest, with a score of 9.9.

Who uses Cisco ASA 5500-X with FirePOWER Services?

The most common users of Cisco ASA 5500-X with FirePOWER Services are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.