Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches Reviews

40 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-18 of 18)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 10, 2020
Thomas Osborne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
We primarily use the 2960's for our Management switches as well as our printer and wifi switch. The 2960 that we use as our management switch, we connect all of our other switches, routers, FW's management ports into this switch. This means, we can route through this one switch and be able to reach all of our devices.
  • Switching
  • Basic Routing
  • A lot of features for the price
  • Software upgrade for DNA management
The [Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches] are great switches for basic routing/switching. If you need a core for your campus, or even distribution layer switches, I would look elsewhere. These are great switches for user switches, printers, access points, etc. Also, this switch would be good to use as a WAN switch upstream of routers/firewalls.
We use our 2960 switches for basic switching and device management. We don't use these for automation, virtualization, or analytics. We have DNA center in our environment and mainly use cat 9k's for our cores, distribution layers, and access layer switches. We mainly do our automation and analytics with DNA.
Read Thomas Osborne's full review
December 10, 2020
Darshan YS | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches are used as network switches. Ours is a small- to medium-size startup, and it serves perfectly for ethernet connectivity. It is well designed and seems like a secure interface that can handle large enough bandwidth to support our day-to-day operations in the office. It is very reliable and we have not had any problems so far with the device.
  • Security is tight
  • Network connectivity has never been an issue
  • Troubleshooting and problem solving, including link connectivity
  • Upfront cost is high
  • Renewal of the the license needs to be done every two years
  • It is hard to stack certain models
If you are looking for ease of use and future-proof network switches with strong software architecture Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches are a very good choice. They work well with small startups, as they are easy and very fast to configure. The main downside is that the licensing of the product can be a little pricy for startups.
We do not use these particular features of the Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches. I am not so capable of commenting on the usefulness of the feature.
Read Darshan YS's full review
December 09, 2020
Alejandro Pineda | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
We are using Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches to connect our wireless access, computer, and IP phones in the main office and our retail offices. This is because we need a reliable solution that supports PoE. The Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches help to reduce the cabling used by all access points so we don't need do an extra power installation.
  • Excellent reliability
  • Easy to manage remotely
  • Function power over ethernet
  • Price is quite expensive
  • A management console should be included for free
Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches are well suited if you need to connect a devices that support PoE--that is one of the capabilities that makes the difference between these and other solutions on the market. Also if you have a remote office or need to connect access points or IP phones, they work work excellently. Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches give you the ability to configure your switches very quickly in case you need to add more or expand your network
We have benefited from time-saving automation and data analytics. We are using time-saving automation at the moment to expand network devices or if we need an extra switch in the actual network. And we're using data analytics to see the traffic that is passing through the switches and get better information in case of issues with network performance.
Read Alejandro Pineda's full review
December 03, 2020
Cody Plassmeyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
  • Catalyst 9300 Series
We have several Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches in our organization that are serving as access switches. They have been rock solid for us since we've had them.
  • They are simple to setup and maintain.
  • Once you have them configured, you won't have to touch them again. They just work!
  • The Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches are fanless, so they work perfectly in some of our more rugged locations.
  • We have not had any problems with these switches.
Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches are well suited in areas where you may need multiple switches. They have the ability to stack, which is nice because essentially you just need to configure once switch and the rest get their config from the master. We have not found a scenario where we've needed a switch and not gone with a Cisco Catalyst.
We have not benefited yet from the time-saving automation. We are looking at this in the near future for our organization.
Read Cody Plassmeyer's full review
November 29, 2020
Engr Umer Usmani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
We have a large scale access layer network for which we are using Cisco [Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches] to manage and administrate users also their VLANs.
  • Security of CISCO switches is far better then others.
  • VLAN management is good.
  • Spanning Tree Protocol is good
  • Committed throughput on each port.
  • Port channel
  • Costly
If I have to deploy VLANs for users, i recommend to install Cisco. But cCsco is costly and we did not place it for a single user.
Support is good and responsive..
Its a great switch with all features i required for my network and its management is also good.
Read Engr Umer Usmani's full review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
We are using Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches as access switches inside our company. Meaning we used them to connect our access points, offer LAN ports to end users, IP phones and printers. We need a reliable and affordable solution that supports PoE and this is why we are using those switches.
  • PoE support.
  • Upgrades are easy to manage on a regular basis.
  • Easy management.
  • Very good reliability.
  • Price for 48 ports version is quite high.
  • No DNA support.
2960-L switchs series are definitely well suited for access switches purpose inside a campus.
They are the perfect candidate for Layer 2 access, provide different VLANs across building. You can configure port-channel for uplinks and you can provide PoE to the Access Points (notice that not all of them are supported because of PoE limitation).
Today, my local organization didn't go into SDN, so so far we are not taking advantage on any on those points (time saving automation and virtualization). We are definitely looking forward to it so that we can make our network administrator life a bit more easy and comfortable on a daily basis.
Read this authenticated review
December 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
We use Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches to manage network traffic in our branch offices. They perform very well. For years of usage, there were not many problems or a need to restart them. We have 24 port switches and if they are used for their intended purpose, I believe no one ever will have a problem with them. Switches are built in standard dimensions, which means they will fit in standard racks and it means it will be easier to plan premises and maintenance. An educated person must be in a team to manage more complicated maintenance jobs or changes of configuration, but as a leader in network device manufacturing, Cisco has its own courses and certifications to create enough of those specialists.



  • Smart switching
  • Communication with another switch to ensure spanning tree protocol
  • Some NAT if necessary
  • Ease of use--some graphical interface for day-to-day maintenance.
  • Power efficiency
If technical specifications show that switching technology is enough for your organization, be sure that there will be no problems performing the necessary tasks. The problem is that Cisco as a market leader has one of the highest prices for devices of a particular specification and not all companies can afford it.
In our organization, we used Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches for their main purpose only, so I would say we didn't use the benefits of time-saving automation. Of course, manageable switches offered some quick solutions when necessary to deploy network solutions or changes remotely.
Read this authenticated review
December 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
We are using Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches in our networks. They help make connecting in the environment easier and are easy to manage. I say that this is the best possible switch that I have used only because of the fact that management after initial set up is very intuitive and simple/easy. Also this switch does not have a fan and hence the usual noise associated with the fan is also missing. The good news is that it does not get heated up despite the lack of fan.
  • Easy to manage remotely
  • Reliability
  • Easy-to-use GUI
  • Noiseless
  • Price is high
Easy to implement. These switches are really great and do an excellent job of bridging the gap between expensive switches and lower expensive SG model switches. I think there is a great value in this for your smaller branch offices. I have used NETGEAR, HP, and Alliance switches, and Cisco, by far, outperforms the others.
We have benefited from time-saving automation and data analytics. We are using time-saving automation at the moment to expand our network devices. And we are using data analytics to see the traffic that is passing through the switches and get better information in case of issues with network performance.
Read this authenticated review
November 26, 2019
Saira Sandoval | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
The switches in our organization are used as a distribution stack for all users. There are Spanning Tree Protocols, VTP, AND PO Protocols, and they all operate without problems. It offers very stable equipment for operation, a basic routing configuration is maintained with access rules for communication to our distribution core switch. All of that has perfect functionality.
  • Throughput
  • Troubleshooting
  • Routing
  • Capacity and fiber ports
  • Modules to change fiber connections
  • Throughput for distribution
Cisco switches are suitable for a user stack. Port Channel connections can only be created when the maximum per port is a GB. A scenario in which it is not very good is when it is used as distribution equipment and therefore the route and its capacity are not adequate for those scenarios.
Processes have been configured to optimize processes in the area. This includes the automated backups of each stack we have in our organization. It has saved us a lot of time with the optimizations of these processes. Virtualization capabilities have been used, issues has been discarded by the throughput of the team.
Read Saira Sandoval's full review
September 22, 2019
Wouter Hindriks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
We're using the Cisco Catalyst 2960L switches on more than 250 remote sites with approximately 4500 end users. They provide us with affordable gigabit connectivity which can be remotely deployed from APIC-EM using specific templates. We especially like the passive cooling of the 8 and 24 port models while still supplying full PoE+ power.
  • Affordable gigabit switching.
  • Deployment from a central deployment server using APIC-EM templates.
  • Silent operation.
  • Full PoE+ support.
  • Will of course need to be configured to get the best out of the device.
Gigabit endpoint connectivity with no advanced requirements beyond PoE+ VLANS and CDP/LLDP MED are best suited for these switches. Been deploying these switches (more then 300) for a couple of years now and haven't had a single hardware or software failure ever.

If you need more advanced features look at the 3800 of Cat 9k models for way more advanced features.
We are saving a lot of time with the automation features. This enables us to prepare the configuration from the office and when connected at the remote site the switch will discover the configuration and deploy/upgrade itself.

I have no experience with the virtualization and analytics features.
Documentation is excellent. Haven't had to contact tech support yet. Updates are frequent and of good quality.
Read Wouter Hindriks's full review
November 07, 2019
Heber Carvajal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
La estabilidad de estos switchs por años los han hecho confiables, te olvidas de su operacion y te enfocas en lo que realmente vale la pena.

The stability of these switches for years has made them reliable, you forget their operation and you focus on what is really worth it.
  • Rendimiento // Performance
  • Estabilidad // Stability
  • Robustes // They're robust
  • Precio // Price
Alta demanda de datos y estabilidad

Higher demand for data and stability
Aun los estamos implementando

We're still in the process of implementing these features.
Read Heber Carvajal's full review
May 21, 2019
Steven Van Jaarsveld | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
We make use of the Cisco Catalyst 2960-L switches primarily for LAN deployments for our customers. Most of our uses of these switches are as access layer switches at office sites where wired connectivity is required.
These switches mainly address connectivity issues where wireless networks are not feasible to be deployed and where customers still want traditional wired networks.
  • Switching.
  • Debugging.
  • Troubleshooting.
  • Connectivity.
  • Robustness.
  • We wish they included full PoE.
  • They do not support DNA.
Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches are ideal for LAN deployments in branch offices, out-of-the-box closet installations, and conventional work areas. The wide range of port options makes them ideal for small or home-based offices. They do not support full PoE, nor do they support DNA so if this is a requirement then, unfortunately, these switches are a miss.
Our organization has not been able to benefit from these features as we are only the systems integrator for our customers who use these switches. However, a large number of our customers who have purchased and utilized these switches have benefited from the features, especially the reduced power consumption and smaller port count for smaller or remote offices.
Read Steven Van Jaarsveld's full review
June 21, 2019
Gabriela Rzycki | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
Connectivity for end users, distribution of services, a couple of VLANs, and for the Cisco Academy we have a few SW for the student use for labs and hands-on use.
  • STP
  • VLANs/VTP
  • Port Security
  • I really don't have anything negative to say about this product.
Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches are good for:
  • LAN connectivity
  • VLANs
  • Security
We haven't implemented a virtualization environment yet.
Read Gabriela Rzycki's full review
June 12, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
We use Cisco Catalyst Switches in all wiring closets and data centers. They are the workhorse of end user connectivity.
  • Closet network switches
  • Branch endpoint connections
  • It is sometimes hard to uncouple the cat 5 cables because of the over hand of the chassis frame.
Wiring closets, small data centers.
We have benefited from the netflow management and SNMP management.
Read this authenticated review
January 10, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
We use Catalyst Switches for the end-user access layer of our network. They are easy to use and limit the time it takes to get users on the network. The high density they provide also simplifies how we design our access layer network.
  • Performance
  • Ease of use
  • Efficiency
  • None
They are well suited for being access layer switches as well as doing some layer 3 functions as well.
We have not utilized these capabilities on our Catalyst Switches, but we plan to in the near future. We do like that these options are available to us for future use.
I have used CAtalyst switches for both access layer and core switch setups, and have always had a good experience with them. They have been super reliable switches, and I'll be using them in the future. The ease of use allows us to deploy these switches in a variety of setups without difficulty, and low turnaround time.
Read this authenticated review
January 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
We use it as an access layer, MAN network, and in our data center.
  • Easy to configure and maintain. Once you have implemented a well-designed baseline your Catalyst Switch will perform with no problems even those related to STP that could worry you.
  • Very long BMTF.
  • I haven't had a failure with Catalyst Switches for so long that I change them because of the need for more capacity, but not for disaster failures.
  • The last time a catalyst switch failed was in 2008 and it went to the secondary/standby supervisor so it was really short. Before that, I had a problem with a 4908 that currently doesn't exist.
  • Very reliable.
  • If you learn how to tune up the device and more importantly how to tune up the interconnection and interrelationships among all the devices in your network, you can sleep confident. And the next time you wake up it'll be because of your clock alarm and not because of a phone call from your boss.
  • Excellent cost/performance relation.
  • Even Cisco has so many great characteristics they have been able to keep all those features in the basic models so it is possible to make a deployment with not a big investment and still have a dependable network.
  • We have been able to simplify our network so we can use 3K switches incorporated in a collapsed core network and have it producing money annually, more than 30 million a year.
  • Good written support.
  • When you look at Cisco web pages, since they have been investing in ML/DL, it is easy to find documentation pertinent to your specific problem and/or confirmation scenario.
  • The legacy information is still there.
  • Graphical interface
  • Modularity
  • Keep stacking capabilities
I really like to have a collapsed core network and have my centralized power and my knowledge handy too. With Cisco, we can use low budget devices which is particularly important because you won't need to invest in your telecommunication room but in your data center. It is easy to interact with Cisco firewalls with trunking and stacking capabilities. Connecting your DMZ to 3rd parties is highly reliable. When SDN comes in we can deploy and manage branches almost at once.

If you are deciding whether or not to buy a Cisco switch, answer these questions: Is my business 24/7? Is my business revenue affected by outages? Do I need a network family device with a full lineup so I can manage my engineer's knowledge? If you answered yes, Cisco is for you.
It allowed for rapid branch office opening.
Good enough for my needs and usage.
Really are easy to use

Fast deployment
Need more graphical user interface
Read this authenticated review
August 04, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
We resell and support all types of business and we are using Catalyst switches in most networks to segment traffic, route, and apply security policies. They provide us the ability to remotely manage and segment customer traffic. It also provides great troubleshooting when needed. Catalyst switches are stable and reliable.
  • They provide the ability to segment traffic
  • They provide the ability to apply security to certain VLAN's when needed
  • Troubleshooting is easy with interface outputs and mirror ports
  • The ability to easily do packet captures on the cli would be handy
  • I struggle with the log timestamps relative to the actual time on the machine
  • The ability to put control plane ACL's would be nice rather than having to upgrade for vulnerabilities
Catalyst switches are not well suited to route traffic for a lot of users but when used as a L2 switch they are very good.
to date our company has not taken advantage of these features.
Read this authenticated review
June 25, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
We use them in our VoIP network to run our voice equipment. Very pleased with the way things are working for us. We feel that they work better than other brands that we have tried with a lot less effort. We have a Cisco VoIP system so they work very well with our Cisco phones.
  • Cisco Discovery Protocol (CDP)
  • Port security
  • Spanning Tree
  • Definitely could improve on the pricing. We are pleased with them but you definitely pay a premium to obtain and maintain support on them.
They are a good fit for most switching environments. One of the greatest benefits to using Cisco switching equipment is that there are tons of IT professionals out there that are familiar with the Cisco products and are able to step into an environment and hit the ground running with managing the network gear. Selecting Cisco products typically means staffing concerns aren't usually a problem.
Currently my organization has not taken the leap into SDN, so we aren't taking advantage of the automation capabilities of the Catalyst line yet. We are looking into that and hope to move toward testing some of the automation capabilities in the future though. If we can leverage the features advertised it should turn out to be a tremendous benefit for us.
Read this authenticated review

What is Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches?

Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches are fixed and smart-managed Gigabit Ethernet switches that provide enterprise-class access switching for branch offices, out-of-the-wiring-closet applications, and critical Internet of Things (IoT) deployments, as well as small and medium-sized businesses. They operate on Cisco IOS Software and support simple device management and network management via Command Line Interface (CLI) as well as an on-box web interface.
Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches?

Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches are fixed and smart-managed Gigabit Ethernet switches that provide enterprise-class access switching for branch offices, out-of-the-wiring-closet applications, and critical Internet of Things (IoT) deployments, as well as small and medium-sized businesses. They operate on Cisco IOS Software and support simple device management and network management via Command Line Interface (CLI) as well as an on-box web interface.

What is Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.9.

Who uses Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches?

The most common users of Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.