Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches Reviews

25 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Saira Sandoval | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2019

My experience with Cisco Catalyst 2960-L

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
The switches in our organization are used as a distribution stack for all users. There are Spanning Tree Protocols, VTP, AND PO Protocols, and they all operate without problems. It offers very stable equipment for operation, a basic routing configuration is maintained with access rules for communication to our distribution core switch. All of that has perfect functionality.
  • Throughput
  • Troubleshooting
  • Routing
  • Capacity and fiber ports
  • Modules to change fiber connections
  • Throughput for distribution
Cisco switches are suitable for a user stack. Port Channel connections can only be created when the maximum per port is a GB. A scenario in which it is not very good is when it is used as distribution equipment and therefore the route and its capacity are not adequate for those scenarios.
Processes have been configured to optimize processes in the area. This includes the automated backups of each stack we have in our organization. It has saved us a lot of time with the optimizations of these processes. Virtualization capabilities have been used, issues has been discarded by the throughput of the team.
Read Saira Sandoval's full review
Heber Carvajal | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches makes managing your network easier

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
La estabilidad de estos switchs por años los han hecho confiables, te olvidas de su operacion y te enfocas en lo que realmente vale la pena.

The stability of these switches for years has made them reliable, you forget their operation and you focus on what is really worth it.
  • Rendimiento // Performance
  • Estabilidad // Stability
  • Robustes // They're robust
  • Precio // Price
Alta demanda de datos y estabilidad

Higher demand for data and stability
Aun los estamos implementando

We're still in the process of implementing these features.
Read Heber Carvajal's full review
Wouter Hindriks | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 22, 2019

Affordable gigabit connectivity for your endpoints with CIsco Catalyst 2960 L switches.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
We're using the Cisco Catalyst 2960L switches on more than 250 remote sites with approximately 4500 end users. They provide us with affordable gigabit connectivity which can be remotely deployed from APIC-EM using specific templates. We especially like the passive cooling of the 8 and 24 port models while still supplying full PoE+ power.
  • Affordable gigabit switching.
  • Deployment from a central deployment server using APIC-EM templates.
  • Silent operation.
  • Full PoE+ support.
  • Will of course need to be configured to get the best out of the device.
Gigabit endpoint connectivity with no advanced requirements beyond PoE+ VLANS and CDP/LLDP MED are best suited for these switches. Been deploying these switches (more then 300) for a couple of years now and haven't had a single hardware or software failure ever.

If you need more advanced features look at the 3800 of Cat 9k models for way more advanced features.
We are saving a lot of time with the automation features. This enables us to prepare the configuration from the office and when connected at the remote site the switch will discover the configuration and deploy/upgrade itself.

I have no experience with the virtualization and analytics features.
Documentation is excellent. Haven't had to contact tech support yet. Updates are frequent and of good quality.
Read Wouter Hindriks's full review
Steven Van Jaarsveld | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2019

Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
We make use of the Cisco Catalyst 2960-L switches primarily for LAN deployments for our customers. Most of our uses of these switches are as access layer switches at office sites where wired connectivity is required.
These switches mainly address connectivity issues where wireless networks are not feasible to be deployed and where customers still want traditional wired networks.
  • Switching.
  • Debugging.
  • Troubleshooting.
  • Connectivity.
  • Robustness.
  • We wish they included full PoE.
  • They do not support DNA.
Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches are ideal for LAN deployments in branch offices, out-of-the-box closet installations, and conventional work areas. The wide range of port options makes them ideal for small or home-based offices. They do not support full PoE, nor do they support DNA so if this is a requirement then, unfortunately, these switches are a miss.
Our organization has not been able to benefit from these features as we are only the systems integrator for our customers who use these switches. However, a large number of our customers who have purchased and utilized these switches have benefited from the features, especially the reduced power consumption and smaller port count for smaller or remote offices.
Read Steven Van Jaarsveld's full review
Gabriela Rzycki | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2019

Great Switch

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
Connectivity for end users, distribution of services, a couple of VLANs, and for the Cisco Academy we have a few SW for the student use for labs and hands-on use.
  • STP
  • VLANs/VTP
  • Port Security
  • I really don't have anything negative to say about this product.
Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches are good for:
  • LAN connectivity
  • VLANs
  • Security
We haven't implemented a virtualization environment yet.
Read Gabriela Rzycki's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2019

Rock steady Catalyst Switches

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
We use Cisco Catalyst Switches in all wiring closets and data centers. They are the workhorse of end user connectivity.
  • Closet network switches
  • Branch endpoint connections
  • It is sometimes hard to uncouple the cat 5 cables because of the over hand of the chassis frame.
Wiring closets, small data centers.
We have benefited from the netflow management and SNMP management.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2019

We recommend Catalyst

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
We use Catalyst Switches for the end-user access layer of our network. They are easy to use and limit the time it takes to get users on the network. The high density they provide also simplifies how we design our access layer network.
  • Performance
  • Ease of use
  • Efficiency
  • None
They are well suited for being access layer switches as well as doing some layer 3 functions as well.
We have not utilized these capabilities on our Catalyst Switches, but we plan to in the near future. We do like that these options are available to us for future use.
I have used CAtalyst switches for both access layer and core switch setups, and have always had a good experience with them. They have been super reliable switches, and I'll be using them in the future. The ease of use allows us to deploy these switches in a variety of setups without difficulty, and low turnaround time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2019

Catalyst: an oldie with an always young heart

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
We use it as an access layer, MAN network, and in our data center.
  • Easy to configure and maintain. Once you have implemented a well-designed baseline your Catalyst Switch will perform with no problems even those related to STP that could worry you.
  • Very long BMTF.
  • I haven't had a failure with Catalyst Switches for so long that I change them because of the need for more capacity, but not for disaster failures.
  • The last time a catalyst switch failed was in 2008 and it went to the secondary/standby supervisor so it was really short. Before that, I had a problem with a 4908 that currently doesn't exist.
  • Very reliable.
  • If you learn how to tune up the device and more importantly how to tune up the interconnection and interrelationships among all the devices in your network, you can sleep confident. And the next time you wake up it'll be because of your clock alarm and not because of a phone call from your boss.
  • Excellent cost/performance relation.
  • Even Cisco has so many great characteristics they have been able to keep all those features in the basic models so it is possible to make a deployment with not a big investment and still have a dependable network.
  • We have been able to simplify our network so we can use 3K switches incorporated in a collapsed core network and have it producing money annually, more than 30 million a year.
  • Good written support.
  • When you look at Cisco web pages, since they have been investing in ML/DL, it is easy to find documentation pertinent to your specific problem and/or confirmation scenario.
  • The legacy information is still there.
  • Graphical interface
  • Modularity
  • Keep stacking capabilities
I really like to have a collapsed core network and have my centralized power and my knowledge handy too. With Cisco, we can use low budget devices which is particularly important because you won't need to invest in your telecommunication room but in your data center. It is easy to interact with Cisco firewalls with trunking and stacking capabilities. Connecting your DMZ to 3rd parties is highly reliable. When SDN comes in we can deploy and manage branches almost at once.

If you are deciding whether or not to buy a Cisco switch, answer these questions: Is my business 24/7? Is my business revenue affected by outages? Do I need a network family device with a full lineup so I can manage my engineer's knowledge? If you answered yes, Cisco is for you.
It allowed for rapid branch office opening.
Good enough for my needs and usage.
Really are easy to use

Fast deployment
Need more graphical user interface
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 04, 2018

Cisco Catalyst switch review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
We resell and support all types of business and we are using Catalyst switches in most networks to segment traffic, route, and apply security policies. They provide us the ability to remotely manage and segment customer traffic. It also provides great troubleshooting when needed. Catalyst switches are stable and reliable.
  • They provide the ability to segment traffic
  • They provide the ability to apply security to certain VLAN's when needed
  • Troubleshooting is easy with interface outputs and mirror ports
  • The ability to easily do packet captures on the cli would be handy
  • I struggle with the log timestamps relative to the actual time on the machine
  • The ability to put control plane ACL's would be nice rather than having to upgrade for vulnerabilities
Catalyst switches are not well suited to route traffic for a lot of users but when used as a L2 switch they are very good.
to date our company has not taken advantage of these features.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2018

Try it you'll like it

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
We use them in our VoIP network to run our voice equipment. Very pleased with the way things are working for us. We feel that they work better than other brands that we have tried with a lot less effort. We have a Cisco VoIP system so they work very well with our Cisco phones.
  • Cisco Discovery Protocol (CDP)
  • Port security
  • Spanning Tree
  • Definitely could improve on the pricing. We are pleased with them but you definitely pay a premium to obtain and maintain support on them.
They are a good fit for most switching environments. One of the greatest benefits to using Cisco switching equipment is that there are tons of IT professionals out there that are familiar with the Cisco products and are able to step into an environment and hit the ground running with managing the network gear. Selecting Cisco products typically means staffing concerns aren't usually a problem.
Currently my organization has not taken the leap into SDN, so we aren't taking advantage of the automation capabilities of the Catalyst line yet. We are looking into that and hope to move toward testing some of the automation capabilities in the future though. If we can leverage the features advertised it should turn out to be a tremendous benefit for us.
Read this authenticated review

About Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches

Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches are fixed and smart-managed Gigabit Ethernet switches that provide enterprise-class access switching for branch offices, out-of-the-wiring-closet applications, and critical Internet of Things (IoT) deployments, as well as small and medium-sized businesses. They operate on Cisco IOS Software and support simple device management and network management via Command Line Interface (CLI) as well as an on-box web interface.
Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst 2960-L Series Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No