Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
40 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-24 of 24)

David Lozano Martínez | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

Catalyst 2960X used as access equipment for our users

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The switches in our organization are used as a distribution stack for all users. There are Spanning Tree Protocols, VTP, AND PO Protocols, and they all operate without problems. It offers very stable equipment for operation, a basic routing configuration is maintained with access rules for communication to our distribution core switch. All of that has perfect functionality.
  • Routing
  • Troubleshooting
  • Throughput
  • Capacity in fiber ports
  • Modules to change fiber connections
  • Throughput for distribution
Cisco switches are suitable for user stack. Port Channel connections can only be created when the maximum per port is a GB. A scenario in which it is not very good is when it is used as distribution equipment and therefore the route and its capacity are not adequate for these scenarios.
Read David Lozano Martínez's full review
Ruben Hiciano | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

The Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series is a no-brainer for SMB companies

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
The 2960X/XR Cisco Catalyst switches have been a very popular solution for IoT deployments even before the IoT term came to be. Mostly used on IP Surveillance projects, the Catalyst 2960X/XR provides the throughput and stability required by modern systems that provide robust and fast connectivity without compromising security and features. Now, they're even better since they can be managed with the new Cisco DNA Center that adds even more value to the solution.
Need stacking? Check.
Need Power redundancy? Check.
Need 10G uplinks? Check.
Need PoE+? Check.
They sure have what everyone is looking for in a high-end switch at SMB prices.
  • Stacking capabilities on the XR
  • PoE+ with autosensing
  • Modular design is a plus
  • Different Power supplies can be installed according to the user's needs
  • Add an UPoE version to the lineup
  • Provide Cisco DNA Essentials to existing installed base of switches
  • Add more L3 routing capabilities
Catalyst 2960X/XR switches are a better choice when used in situations that include analytics and high resolution cameras because those scenarios tend to generate lots of traffic that most switches won't handle properly.
On the other hand, they are less appropriate for situations where a lot of L3 routing is required along with more detailed network information.
Read Ruben Hiciano's full review
Ramon Herrera | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Great experience with Cisco switches

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Problems de spanning tree // Spanning tree protocol problems
  • Es el mejor equipo para las grandes y pequena expresas // It is great equipment for both small and large businesses
  • La administracion es muy facil // Administration tools are easy
  • es un equipo confiable // It's reliable hardware
  • redes // Networks
  • servidores // Servers
  • centrales // Central HQ
Data Center y centrales telefonicas // Appropriate for data centers and central telephone systems
Read Ramon Herrera's full review
Daniel J. Canto Bonilla | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

Excellent equipment!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The versatility of these models alongside the cost-benefit ratio of this hardware series makes them an excellent choice. The configuration options and having capabilities in support of 3 layers are ideal to have as IDF access switches for our enter business (and Cisco has great support).


  • Support for Mac computers
  • VLAN Trunking Protocol (VTP)
  • Stackeo capability
  • IDF
  • Access knowledge (overall)
  • Support for DMZ zones
Obviously, it is great for end user access, but I would not recommend it for data center use or to supplement a core switch. In an emergency, using it for the latter isn't crazy, however.
Read Daniel J. Canto Bonilla's full review
Girgis Hady | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2019

Best access layer switch.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco Catalyst 2960X switches on our network as an access layer switch over all our network connecting them to distribution layer or core layer with 1G or 10G fiber optics and connecting users to them using UTP cables to handle the L2 switching between users in the same VLAN.
  • Affordable price.
  • Great quality for L2 switching.
  • Enable L3 without additional licenses.
  • Enable programability.
The best scenario to use Cisco Catalyst 2960X Switches is when you depend on it in access layer switches for connecting users to it, also when using it with stack for a lot of users located in one area. It gives the best performance with using multiple switches and controlling them from one switch console.
Read Girgis Hady's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

Is Catalyst 2960-X for you?

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using 2960-X switches as a standard in our access layer. They [were installed] just after the announcement that they were a successor of 2960-S switches. Those are trustworthy switches that you can rely on and use everywhere where stability is required. They have everything you need to [benefit] from Cisco's features on the access layer.
  • Automation
  • Good hardware design
  • Some more features would be good
  • They could be cheaper
If you need a stable, trustworthy and reliable switch in access layer this an option for you. If there is no need for advanced routing features 2K series Cisco switches are a perfect choice. Our manufacturing business does not require a high-density network, but it needs to be stable to maintain production traffic. In those cases, there are the best and suit our needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Good as an access switch.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used as an access switch for critical wireless functions and for some users' access. It is a very stable device.

The only problem faced was when we were upgrading iOS. The device wouldn't start properly and we saw some connectivity issues regarding distribution networking. In some cases, it was necessary to make a rollback.
  • Stability
  • Energy efficient
  • Cost of ownership
  • New iOS releases
  • Compatibility
Well suited for mid-size offices. Less appropriate for high traffic or high density sites.
Read this authenticated review
Brian Socia | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2019

Catalyst 2960X a Strong Choice for Mid-Business Switching.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Catalyst switches allow us to implement user access switches in each of our offices. They are stable, stackable and strong servers that allow us to meet all of our use cases for offices, security and access.
  • Stacking features and scale well. Easy to add more port density quickly and easily.
  • Speed and flexibility. Able to take on large workloads from bandwidth and traffic.
  • Depending on the model, price can be a bit high compared to other vendors with similar features.
  • Web Enabled admin page could use improvements.
The Catalyst switches are good for any small or medium business application. The basic feature set should accomplish most business requirements from a network perspective.
Read Brian Socia's full review
Roberto Damon | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2019

Solid Platform for best of breed services

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We mostly use the platform as the L2/L3 boundary for our remote sites. It also performs the Access layer function in sites that are more critical. Our end devices require PoE+. Gigabit throughput is an essential requirement as well. The StackWise technology helps with savings on licensing and with SFP+ for uplinks.
  • Solid switch with high throughput.
  • The StackWise feature is great.
  • PoE+ allows us to plan for the future.
  • The cost could be better.
  • Additional modularity in the form of uplink flexibility.
  • Boot up time could be improved.
Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches are well suited at LAN campuses, as well as locations where high throughput and stability is of utmost importance. Stacking and future fitting for PoE+ is also one of its strengths. It's less suited for situations where budget is key and enterprise type services are not a priority. They're also not well suited for a situation where an SMB type solution is able to provide the same services.
Read Roberto Damon's full review
Lawrence Mashimbye | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2019

Switch uplink bandwidth upgraded

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started by upgrading our access switches to the Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR series three years ago in order to increase the uplink bandwidth to ten gigabytes. All access ports are also operating at a level of at least one-gigabyte per port to improve the performance of end users' computer speeds within our network.
  • Providing PoE for our access points and telephones.
  • There is too much noise when you are powering on the switch.
Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches are very good for both distribution and access layers since they produce ten-gigabyte uplink bandwidth, as well as one-gigabyte bandwidth per port for each connected end device. Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR switches are exceptionally great at powering Cisco wireless access points and telephones that require PoE for power.
Read Lawrence Mashimbye's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 27, 2019

Review for 2960-X/XR

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
They have been used in the small remote sites access and core layers. But they are also been used in the large sites as access layer.
  • They work very well at the access layer or distribution/core layer at small remote sites.
  • They are small and 1 RU devices. Fits perfectly on the small rack space
  • They have fiber ports for uplink and copper ports for the access devices
  • They support legacy stacking, so easier to stack
  • Also with the DNA licenses, we can manage the devices using DNA center
  • They are light weight switches so will be not used for the core/distribution at large sites
  • They have limited fiber ports, so can't be used in the fiber heavy environment
  • Throughput is also low compared to other series of cisco switches
They are well suited if the requirement is to have 24 or 48 copper ports and 4 fiber ports. They are also well suited if the throughput requirement is low. They are not well suited in the large or critical sites. They don't have enough fiber uplink to support the loads.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2019

Great and reliable switch

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use them at all of our branch locations to provide IP phone, workstation and other end device connectivity. We have had a great experience using this switch and continue to deploy them for new locations. They are reliable and provide exactly what we need and expect. I would recommend this device to anyone.
  • Reliable connectivity
  • Ease of installation
  • Long lasting device
  • Anytime we have had a hardware issue Cisco was quick to replace or repair the device.
  • Anytime we have had a software issue we are unable to resolve ourself TAC has been quick to resolve for us.
[They] Are excellent for branch offices for an access layer switch.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2019

Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DOT1.X Port Level Security
QOS
DHCP Snooping Database
L2 and L3
DAI (Dynamic Arp Inspection)
DHCP Relay
PoE for Cisco Access Points and VOICE over IP Phones
  • DOT1X
  • L2 Switching
  • DHCP Snooping
  • Power over Ethernet
  • L3 Routing
  • IPSec support / MACSec Support (LImited)
  • VXLAN Support (none)
Very good access layer switch Product line; suitable for a small environment as well as for larger switch fabric environments (building for ex. daisy chain setups). Solid L2 Port security features; PoE support also included. SW Update also relatively robust and easy to roll out; the switches run without any Problems (SW or HW crash) for many years.
Read this authenticated review
Omar Campos | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2019

Catalyst All the Way!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Catalyst switches throughout our entire campus. Our network infrastructure is strictly Cisco, except for the industrial switches we use in our emergency blue light poles. We've always been a Cisco shop, long before I was hired. We used to implement the 3700 series, but now we are transitioning to the 2900's as we do not need routing on our campus access switches. Moving to the 2900 series has saved us a good deal of money. Using Cisco switches ensures we won't have any interoperability/compatibility issues with our Cisco IP phone system and allows Cisco to provide support without having to involve other vendors.
  • I haven't worked on many other brands of routers/switches, but I can say with certainty that Cisco's IOS network operating system is very well written. Using the question mark helps you find a command or complete its options very easily.
  • Cisco's Catalyst documentation is superb and if you can't find what you're looking for there, you can find a ton of great blogs by certified Cisco engineers.
  • Cisco may be notorious for creating their own proprietary protocols, but for every proprietary protocol they also support the industry standard protocols.
  • Cisco Catalyst switches are genuine workhorses; we still have some switches on our network that are older than 10 years and still performing great!
  • I like the way Catalyst implements vlans; very easy and straightforward
  • I like the stacking capability of Catalyst. it's very easy to configure and you are now managing a single switch, composed of multiple switches
  • Cisco Catalyst switches, like all Cisco products, are insanely expensive. However, the tech support they provide is unparalleled. You can get support from Cisco TAC (Technical Assistance Center) any time of day/night.
  • It would be easier if Cisco stopped creating their own proprietary protocols and only supported the industry standards.
  • One thing I don't like about Cisco IOS is that you must remember what interface you are configuring, as the command prompt will not tell you. It's not a huge deal, but it's worth fixing.
  • Since Cisco's hardware and support maintenance is so expensive, they should drop the modular pricing on their IOS and give ALL their customers the full OS with all capabilities included. Their IP base OS doesn't even support cryptography! Who DOESN'T use SSH these days?
Cisco Catalyst is best suited for medium to large enterprises. If you have a SOHO, save your money and buy a cheaper switch. However, in medium and large companies where business continuity and SLA's must be met, you can't go wrong buying Cisco Catalyst.
Read Omar Campos's full review
David Peck | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2019

Cisco switches are solid performers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use them as our end-user access layer switches.
  • Great at connecting end-user devices
  • Very good at securing the edge of the network
  • Easy to troubleshoot any issues that you might encounter
  • Cost per port could always be less
  • Ports could be labeled better
  • Management ports should be on the back
These shine at getting devices connected to the network. Don't try and use them as core switches.
Read David Peck's full review
Luis Alberto Torres Cabrera | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2018

Performance, Sustainability, Management and Reliability.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The administration and segmentation of our voice and data VLANS is very important for us, along with the nodes they host. They are also extremely reliable. Our datacenter has gone through several remodels in the last year, and the catalyst switches have come through everything with no problems at all.
  • Reliability
  • Administration
  • Sustainability
  • Management
  • The end of life periods
  • The support for legacy hardware
Established datacenters are a perfect fit for catalyst switches, but sometimes they are not so good on smaller IDFs
Read Luis Alberto Torres Cabrera's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2019

Fair Game

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Catalyst Switches exclusively at our access layer, feeding back into 4500 IDFs. Catalyst is a solid device that is pretty much hands off once configured, with the exception of the occasional IOS update. Updates are fast and versatile, from either USB, FTP, or Serial.
  • port security
  • IOS update
  • SNMP / monitoring setup
  • TACACS / RADIUS setup
  • scalability
  • chassis aggregation
  • enable BPDU guard by default
  • reassign logical interface numbers when renumbering switches in a stack
  • reduce noise
Catalyst Switches are perfect for access layer deployment where 1GB throughput per interface is adequate. Would not use outside of this scenario as there are other product lines with redundant power supplies and a larger backplane. Excellent when used in an environment that may need to scale quickly, as chassis aggregation is quick and painless in most cases as long as the IOS image versions are compatible. Would be nice to see the status of version mismatches though, such as when a switch tries to join a stack that is not compatible with the other members. There should be some feedback regarding auto image deployment from the master to the newly added member.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 08, 2018

2960 XR Switches - great option!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[They are being used] As distribution switches for the whole infrastructure.
  • Good performance
  • Easy configuration
  • Good handling integration
  • Price
  • Functionality
  • In special areas with a lot of dust
  • IOS upgrade bulletins for customers
  • Bugs and vulnerabilities
For manufacturing I found these switches as an alternative for daily use, in which you get an awesome experience. As an IT engineer, [I find it has] easy configuration, good high security level and high speed performance.
Read this authenticated review
Jason Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2018

LifeNCatalyst

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have multiple switch stacks at each of our three locations, they serve to allow our end users to interact with our core, servers and internet based hosts. Our switch stacks all have 10GB redundant uplinks to the core, to provide assurance of no bottlenecks while processing data requests. These switch stacks also serve the needs of our PoE devices such as desk and conference phones and access points.
  • LAN traffic processing
  • PoE power management and sensing
  • Uptime, they can run forever in some of the worst conditions ive seen... Particularly one in an autoshop covered in oil, drained and it still functions today.
  • Modularity in the lower end models could use a bit of a hand
  • Power cord stress relief and retention options
  • Integrated environment sensors, option to connect external directly
Catalyst Switches are best suited for any office or space that requires hardwired connections for a device to communicate with another device whether it be locally another end client or someone or something across the world or down the block. About the only place, I could imagine not using catalyst would be in dense data centers where a nexus infrastructure would be more suitable.
Read Jason Thompson's full review
Dellea Underwood | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2018

2960s They Just Work!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a school system and use various models of catalyst switches at our edge, distribution, and core. They are being used to connect end users and devices. They serve as protection to the rest of the network and route our traffic.
  • While we do make changes to the software on the switches, we expect them to work. They do this phenomenally. We rarely have a problem with the hardware.
  • We use our catalyst switches as a layer 3 device to route traffic between buildings while segmenting our network.
  • We are using port security to help protect the rest of the network.
  • Cost. We love our Cisco switches but, other vendors present cost savings that is difficult to justify not using their product.
  • SmartNet is a huge cost for a k-12 organization. We purchase licensing when we purchase the product. This should allow access to software upgrades. Other vendors offer a lower cost for the equipment, lifetime warranty without change, and software updates without charge.
Cisco Catalyst Switches are well suited to most environments. The only restriction is temperature. We have areas that are not temperature controlled. These areas can get extremely hot during the summer. We are not willing because of cost to install a high end Cisco switch in these areas.
Read Dellea Underwood's full review
Rafael Gomez | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2018

Cisco, Always and Forever

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Switches throughout our entire campus. Our core switches in each of our data centers provide a solid and stable platform for our end users while creating a secure environment and easy to manage backbone for the IT department.
  • Ease of Configuration
  • Stability
  • Speed
  • Reliability
  • Boot time
  • Handling power surges
They are perfect for end nodes deployed in telecom rooms and core network points.
Read Rafael Gomez's full review
Steven Peters | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2018

Catalyst Switching - 2960-X

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization supports almost 16,000 students and over 1200 staff members across 12 campuses. As is typical for most public education providers, we have a limited budget for infrastructure. Catalyst switching, especially the 2960-X, allows us to easily manage stacks of switches in each closet for high port density, with the capability to run 10Gbps (or higher with port channels) backbone connections.
  • Single management IP per stack, one logical switch composed of several physical switches.
  • 10Gbps to the edge switches
  • Reliable - very few service interruptions due to switch failure.
  • SMARTnet can be expensive for continued support
  • Earlier version of code had a bug that impacted our environment
  • No real netflow capability
  • No SDN capability
These are great in an environment that needs a high number of access ports and 10Gbps+ backbone speeds.

The 2960-X is not really designed for SDN or network programmability. They just don’t have the horsepower to support it.
Read Steven Peters's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

The best Cisco product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used to interconnect many geographically distributed buildings around the country and perform 802.1x authentication based on an external identity store.
  • IP Routing
  • Layer 2 Access
  • 1x
  • Process Automation
  • Resources Management
  • Readable crashdumps
It's very versatile and can fit into many businesses, but in an industry scenario it may be susceptible to damages. I think they have a specific model for the industry segment.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2018

2960 Access Switches

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the 3960 switches at the access layer in user access wiring closets.
  • Supports 802.1x authentication
  • Fully compatible with ISE
  • Reliable
  • Will not support high power PoE
  • Max PoE is 30 watts and can only support 15 watts on all ports
Well suited for cost-effective access layer closets where high power PoE is not required.
Read this authenticated review

About Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches

Cisco offers the Catalyst 2960-X and XR series of campus LAN switches.
Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No