Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
59 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 16, 2020
José Carvalho | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
The experience has been great with Catalyst 2960-X[/XR Series] Switches. At our locations, we have models with PoE technology that have the advantage of energizing IP phones and access points and with this equipment, they do not need external sources. In this scenario the Catalyst 2960X switches are positioned as Access and connected to the Cisco Catalyst 3650 and 3850 distribution switches.
  • Switch with enough PoE + power.
  • Uplink with 10Gb port to connect to the distribution switch.
  • Redundant power source in the XR model.
  • The Smartnet guarantee has an expensive value.
  • I don't see any negative technical points.
The scenario basically consists of more than 30 [Cisco] Catalyst 2960[-X/XR Series] Switches with PoE and are spread over several racks. There is segmentation by vlan by specific departments to avoid broadcast. The switches have a lot of performance, speed and very interesting security features that prevent, for example: arp spoofing, dhscp snopping, acls and others.
This equipment has the advantage of being stacked and with that we can manage the entire stack in just 1 rack. We also managed switches with Cisco management software. The 2960X switches are robust and secure, and have energy saving technology. Another important factor is that it also has layer 3 capable of doing static routing and ripv1 and ripv2.
Read José Carvalho's full review
December 14, 2020
Tim Short | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
We are currently using [Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches] in training rooms and in lab environments to test new configurations on. This allows for our service desk to have the ability learn how to use a cisco cli in a safe environment and allows for a testing location for firmware updates. I would recommend these for similar environments and for closets for end user PC's connected.
  • Great for end user closets
  • The CLI allows for great security and customization
  • Security
  • Firmware upgrades and version names can be confusing
  • AD connectivity
  • Iintegration with SolarWinds
[Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches] are exceptionally great user level switches and work fantastic at this. Some of the higher end catalyst switches are better for the datacenter but for me I have had better luck using the nexus switches for top of rack switches in my core data center due to the better features and advanced routing capabilities.
We have saved lots of time with the automation I have not personally configured the automation I have deployed it and it was a lot easier then how I usually do it by the copy and paste method in notepad++ or another text editor. The automation of anything greatly improves deploy time
Read Tim Short's full review
December 10, 2020
Randy Kouns | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches are deployed/being deployed to replace outdated infrastructure throughout the entire environment. This network links 350-400 users across seven different locations within our municipality. The switches handle all internal and outbound network traffic. Switches on the edge are linked via fiber and internal to each building; end users are connected via Cat6 cabling across multiple VLANS.
  • Ease of configuration and programming
  • Interoperability between Cisco and legacy switches has been excellent allowing for phased deployment
  • Overall cost per unit has been within project budget with no surprise expenses
  • The only con has been our internal learning curve for Cisco configuration; this is due to non-dedicated network team
  • This learning curve created the need to dedicate one team member to expanding their knowledge (not necessarily a con)
I would say that any medium to large organization could see the benefit to the deployment of the Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches if they can meet one of two criteria. Either
  1. Have a staff member that is familiar with the CCS environment and programming
  2. Or have the ability to allow a staff member to devote the time to develop this skill set.
In our case a staff member was able to translate knowledge and experience of using another manufacturer's switch environment, and within a three-month period be self sufficient in deploying and supporting the Cisco Catalyst Switch environment. All things considered, I see this as a win for both the staff member and the organization. The staff member who had an opportunity to grow and the organization is being served by more robust equipment/environment.
While we are still in the phased deployment (60-75% complete), we have yet to begin pulling analytics. However, we have noted that in regards to virtualization, we are seeing a higher throughput on disaster recovery backups being written to our offsite location. At the same time, we are deploying the Cisco environment we are revamping our internal VLAN structure. Together we believe we will see a stronger security environment specifically in the area of virtualization. We did plan for the possibility of growth and feel that we will be able to scale up the environment easily.
Read Randy Kouns's full review
December 15, 2020
humberto martinez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
We have a non poe 48 ports [Cisco Catalyst 2960[-X/XR Series Switches] and we use it as core switch, it supports traffic from our IP telephony system, virtualization hosts and end users. We know this is not designed to be a core switch but it has worked perfectly for us. It is very reliable, we have had it for more than 5 years and it has never had any problems.
  • Reliable, it never fails
  • Easy to setup
  • It is not hard to find Cisco professionals and other resources
  • This one does not provide reduncancy when it comes to power supply
  • Lots of versions, it could be tricky to find the right for you
  • Web interface is not the best, you need to use cli.
Great option for a stand alone switch or when you dont need to make changes often, if you do need to make changes often you might want to check other options with an intuitive web interface.
Even when we use it as core switch, it is not recommended for this tasks since it lacks power supply redundancy.
We have 4 hosts and around 60 MVs so I cannot say we have a large scale virtualization.
When it comes to automation, we dont make changes to our infrastructure often enough to need automation.
Read humberto martinez's full review
December 10, 2020
Adrian Takacs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
We are using Cisco Catalyst Switches in our Data Centre rack, the two switches make the core of our network there and provide redundancy to ensure our servers are always reachable. The Data Centre is far from our office and it is important to have equipment that we can rely on to minimise the need to visit.
  • Lots of security features making the switches are very secured if configured properly e.g. setup port mode, disable CDP etc
  • The Cisco documentation is widely available and easy to find, allowing to quickly implement the network features you have in mind
  • Features like link aggregation, spanning tree, VLANs are essentials for our current setup and Cisco switches allow a very in-depth configuration of all these features
  • Could be a bit more affordable as the price is making customers to choose less expensive switches instead of Catalyst
  • I cannot think of anything that Cisco could do better
A Cisco Catalyst Switch is well suited on networks were you require a large number of VLANs or subnets, networks that are serving a large number of customers and that require daily or weekly changes e.g. a business center. The CLI access will allow administrators familiar with it to implement the needed changes fast.
Our Data Centre rack network rarely changes for us, the most often we need to create or rename a VLAN/subnet and we find doing this via the CLI fast enough. The resources we host are virtualised, but the existing switches can easily cope with the network traffic at peak times and most of the new services we deploy for our customer are in the public cloud.
Read Adrian Takacs's full review
December 08, 2020
Jamie Bibbs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
We have 4 Catalyst switch stacks (12 2960x's total).

These allowed us to achieve 10gb links back to the main stack across the facility. Simple vlanning and link aggregation configurations are pretty easy to get up and running. Spanning Tree protocol features were another feature we were looking for, but it can be a pain point sometimes getting devices links to come up.
  • Throughput.
  • Uptime.
  • Feature rich.
  • Spanning Tree weirdness. A single device attached to my switch often won't get a link until it's restarted while attached to the switch. Reached out to support and got no traction.
Any situation where you need reliable stackable switching devices that support 10gbe uplinks. Catalysts are kind of my go-to.

Cheaper options available that do the same thing by other vendors, so I guess they may not be appropriate for companies on a budget. Also the Cisco stuff seems to be a bit less user friendly and require more of a learning curve, so I suppose the operating IT Staff's skill level is a factor too.
We are in print manufacturing, we really don't use many of these features. The only automation I ever use is scheduling tasks to fire off at a later time. I didn't originally purchase these switches, and if I had been part of the purchase decision I may have opted for another product for this use case. I really enjoy Catalyst switches but for what they're used for here, they are likely overkill.
Read Jamie Bibbs's full review
December 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
Great switches for giving us basic connectivity and poe capabilities. Very simple to troubleshoot our other cisco devices when everything is on same platform.
  • Price is nice for these switches.
  • Runs IOS which is handy when that is what you know.
  • Uptime is superb on these devices.
  • The cisco branded sfp's are too expensive for these.
  • Update process could be easier.
Great if you want basic connectivity and a few vlans in your environment. They make a great general purpose switch for most basic needs. If you need higher than 1gb speeds or advanced features you might want to look at different models. The provide POE and pretty flawless routing so nothing to complain about with these devices.
We do not use the analytics or virtualization features of these devices. We did do some automation using third party software. It performed well for that.
Read this authenticated review
December 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches are used throughout our environment, primarily for access/edge switches too connect end users and devices to the network. We needed a stable switching infrastructure, and with the Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches, this is exactly what we got; we have been extremely happy with them. Over the years we have only had one switch fail due to a firmware error. It was very easy to swap in a replacement switch.
  • Stable as a rock
  • Familiar OS, nothing new to learn
  • Modularity
  • Price can be very expensive
  • Web admin page is not good
  • Smartnet coverage is expensive
Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches are great for small enterprises that do not have a large fiber network, as these switches have limited fiber ports. This can also make expansion of the business difficult if you require more fiber connects, and then you may have to daisy chain switches, which is never great. If you are in need of a time-proven switch that has excellent management and is extremely stable, then I would highly recommend the Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches.
We have not delved heavily into automation outside of Python scripting. However, I have written scripts that will be polling the same switch over SNMP or SSH several hundred times in the same script or series of scripts, and I have never had any issues with response times or authentication being denied.
Read this authenticated review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
We use Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches in our access layer (IDFs) for clients, printers, VoIP phones, WAPs, etc.
  • Cisco has always been incredibly reliable. Uptime has been 100% aside from planned software upgrades since deploying.
  • Cisco IOS is like a Swiss army knife. It can do many things if you know how to configure it. That flexibility is very powerful.
  • Since we are predominately a Cisco shop, managing Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches is pretty simple (we rely on SolarWinds using SNMP and their NCM product for config changes, vulnerability reporting, etc.)
  • Cost. Always the downside with Cisco. The competition is cheaper.
  • Tech support used to be incredible. It is above average now but not like it was 10+ years ago.
  • Better support for third-party cables and SFP/SFP+ would be nice. I hate being warned in the logs that I'm not using a Cisco OEM accessory.
  • I wish they could upgrade the stack without taking the whole stack offline. This is a real issue.
This one is easy.
  • Cisco is the industry standard (widely available skill sets to support).
  • Their reliability is well known.
  • Their tech support is good.
  • The only serious con is the cost is higher than most of their competition.
  • I would use them in the access layer with confidence.
  • Depending on needs, an isolated switch fabric DMZ (throughput not exceeding specs) would also be fine in my book.
  • I am a fan of the stacking module EXCEPT in the above scenario. I'd rather manage two switches and not have an outage for software upgrades vs taking the whole stack down.
Read this authenticated review
December 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches are our standard; all of our network infrastructure switching (layer/layer2) runs over Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches across Central America, Miami, and Venezuela. All of our switches are placed in production in our retail branches in order to implement VLANs, access and trunking ports, port security, and PoE, among others. Every main device (servers, NAS, routers, WLC, APs) in our data centers are connected to a Cisco Catalyst 2960-XR Series Switch as a primary switch and the rest of the devices are connected to other Cisco Catalyst 2960-X Series Switches as secondary switches in cascade.
  • Switching capacity and throughput are the best in the market
  • Very secure and a lot of possibilities to configure in each port
  • Link aggregation
  • Very stable on production, just need to reboot when you update firmware
  • Price is high, but it is the best option
  • Requires specialized IT people in order to set up and manage it
  • Every time a bug is published, it's required to update the firmware, and you need a maintenance window because it's required to reboot it
Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches are well suited if the business requires high availability in your network environment. Also, if you need to support a lot of traffic between your servers, storage, and devices, it's the right option to attend to these requirements.
If you are working with a small company, you need to think of other options available on the market to attend to your network requirements because these catalyst switches are more expensive.
Actually, we have not implemented the capabilities like automation, virtualization, and analytics. I know these functions and we hope to implement them in the future.
Read this authenticated review
December 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
In key areas, the Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches connect all of our various devices. They are the key edge switches for all interconnectivity and provide the power for all our security cameras, access points, and some peripheral display units. Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches are the edge solution for all key user-facing devices that we use.
  • In typical Cisco fashion, the switches stay running.
  • They use the same OS that everyone knows and loves so no need to learn a whole new skill set.
  • 200+ Gbps and 130+ Mpps speed is great for the cost.
  • Cost. Typcial Cisco cost.
  • Lower end; not easy to expand.
  • When fully populated, it is hard to see the uplink light on lower row.
If high availability and long-term uptime is critical, then the Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches are well worth the additional dollars as compared to some of their competitors. Cisco is ideal for high mobility where MACs are very frequent. Remotely changing port configurations is quick and relatively painless as compared to other vendors.
Our organization has relied on the ease of use with scalability when adding new switches to the closet. The analytics play a significant role when troubleshooting connectivity issues. As my organization has not embraced all the features of the new switches and software applications, we find the solution to be more comprehensive and easier to use than older generations.
Read this authenticated review
January 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
We are using 2960-X switches as a standard in our access layer. They [were installed] just after the announcement that they were a successor of 2960-S switches. Those are trustworthy switches that you can rely on and use everywhere where stability is required. They have everything you need to [benefit] from Cisco's features on the access layer.
  • Automation
  • Good hardware design
  • Some more features would be good
  • They could be cheaper
If you need a stable, trustworthy and reliable switch in access layer this an option for you. If there is no need for advanced routing features 2K series Cisco switches are a perfect choice. Our manufacturing business does not require a high-density network, but it needs to be stable to maintain production traffic. In those cases, there are the best and suit our needs.
Currently we are using custom scripts and third-party software to automate tasks on 2960-X. Automation is a great way to streamline your daily work, and with ever-increasing demands and tasks, I would say it is the only way to get the job done. Cisco 2960-X creates a stable and consistent access layer for our company and with that unification of hardware automation giving us even better results.
Read this authenticated review
November 21, 2019
David Lozano Martínez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
The switches in our organization are used as a distribution stack for all users. There are Spanning Tree Protocols, VTP, AND PO Protocols, and they all operate without problems. It offers very stable equipment for operation, a basic routing configuration is maintained with access rules for communication to our distribution core switch. All of that has perfect functionality.
  • Routing
  • Troubleshooting
  • Throughput
  • Capacity in fiber ports
  • Modules to change fiber connections
  • Throughput for distribution
Cisco switches are suitable for user stack. Port Channel connections can only be created when the maximum per port is a GB. A scenario in which it is not very good is when it is used as distribution equipment and therefore the route and its capacity are not adequate for these scenarios.
Processes have been configured to optimize processes in the area. This includes the automated backups of each stack we have in our organization. It has saved us a lot of time with the optimizations of these processes. Virtualization capabilities have been used, issues has been discarded by the throughput of the team.
Read David Lozano Martínez's full review
November 07, 2019
Ruben Hiciano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
The 2960X/XR Cisco Catalyst switches have been a very popular solution for IoT deployments even before the IoT term came to be. Mostly used on IP Surveillance projects, the Catalyst 2960X/XR provides the throughput and stability required by modern systems that provide robust and fast connectivity without compromising security and features. Now, they're even better since they can be managed with the new Cisco DNA Center that adds even more value to the solution.
Need stacking? Check.
Need Power redundancy? Check.
Need 10G uplinks? Check.
Need PoE+? Check.
They sure have what everyone is looking for in a high-end switch at SMB prices.
  • Stacking capabilities on the XR
  • PoE+ with autosensing
  • Modular design is a plus
  • Different Power supplies can be installed according to the user's needs
  • Add an UPoE version to the lineup
  • Provide Cisco DNA Essentials to existing installed base of switches
  • Add more L3 routing capabilities
Catalyst 2960X/XR switches are a better choice when used in situations that include analytics and high resolution cameras because those scenarios tend to generate lots of traffic that most switches won't handle properly.
On the other hand, they are less appropriate for situations where a lot of L3 routing is required along with more detailed network information.
My organization has been using those features in a limited way. The fact that we ourselves have those switches has made it even easier for us to utilize them for clients. We strongly agree that they enablers of those capabilities.
Read Ruben Hiciano's full review
October 30, 2019
Ramon Herrera | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
  • Catalyst 2960-L Smart Managed
Problems de spanning tree // Spanning tree protocol problems
  • Es el mejor equipo para las grandes y pequena expresas // It is great equipment for both small and large businesses
  • La administracion es muy facil // Administration tools are easy
  • es un equipo confiable // It's reliable hardware
  • redes // Networks
  • servidores // Servers
  • centrales // Central HQ
Data Center y centrales telefonicas // Appropriate for data centers and central telephone systems
No aplica en la organizacion // Doesn't apply to our organization
Read Ramon Herrera's full review
October 29, 2019
Daniel J. Canto Bonilla | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
The versatility of these models alongside the cost-benefit ratio of this hardware series makes them an excellent choice. The configuration options and having capabilities in support of 3 layers are ideal to have as IDF access switches for our enter business (and Cisco has great support).


  • Support for Mac computers
  • VLAN Trunking Protocol (VTP)
  • Stackeo capability
  • IDF
  • Access knowledge (overall)
  • Support for DMZ zones
Obviously, it is great for end user access, but I would not recommend it for data center use or to supplement a core switch. In an emergency, using it for the latter isn't crazy, however.
I definitely recommend them for critical access or mission critical use and it's great that they are compatible with all Cisco protocols, making deployment with this type of equipment very simple when you're already invested in other Cisco tools.
Read Daniel J. Canto Bonilla's full review
December 18, 2019
Girgis Hady | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
We are using Cisco Catalyst 2960X switches on our network as an access layer switch over all our network connecting them to distribution layer or core layer with 1G or 10G fiber optics and connecting users to them using UTP cables to handle the L2 switching between users in the same VLAN.
  • Affordable price.
  • Great quality for L2 switching.
  • Enable L3 without additional licenses.
  • Enable programability.
The best scenario to use Cisco Catalyst 2960X Switches is when you depend on it in access layer switches for connecting users to it, also when using it with stack for a lot of users located in one area. It gives the best performance with using multiple switches and controlling them from one switch console.
Right now we don't use Cisco Catalyst 2960X switches in automation or virtualization.
Read Girgis Hady's full review
November 06, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
It's used as an access switch for critical wireless functions and for some users' access. It is a very stable device.

The only problem faced was when we were upgrading iOS. The device wouldn't start properly and we saw some connectivity issues regarding distribution networking. In some cases, it was necessary to make a rollback.
  • Stability
  • Energy efficient
  • Cost of ownership
  • New iOS releases
  • Compatibility
Well suited for mid-size offices. Less appropriate for high traffic or high density sites.
I prefer to use it as an access switch as there are better options for virtualization or automation.
Read this authenticated review
June 14, 2019
Brian Socia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
The Catalyst switches allow us to implement user access switches in each of our offices. They are stable, stackable and strong servers that allow us to meet all of our use cases for offices, security and access.
  • Stacking features and scale well. Easy to add more port density quickly and easily.
  • Speed and flexibility. Able to take on large workloads from bandwidth and traffic.
  • Depending on the model, price can be a bit high compared to other vendors with similar features.
  • Web Enabled admin page could use improvements.
The Catalyst switches are good for any small or medium business application. The basic feature set should accomplish most business requirements from a network perspective.
We have not had the opportunity to take of these advantages just yet.
Read Brian Socia's full review
May 20, 2019
Roberto Damon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
We mostly use the platform as the L2/L3 boundary for our remote sites. It also performs the Access layer function in sites that are more critical. Our end devices require PoE+. Gigabit throughput is an essential requirement as well. The StackWise technology helps with savings on licensing and with SFP+ for uplinks.
  • Solid switch with high throughput.
  • The StackWise feature is great.
  • PoE+ allows us to plan for the future.
  • The cost could be better.
  • Additional modularity in the form of uplink flexibility.
  • Boot up time could be improved.
Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches are well suited at LAN campuses, as well as locations where high throughput and stability is of utmost importance. Stacking and future fitting for PoE+ is also one of its strengths. It's less suited for situations where budget is key and enterprise type services are not a priority. They're also not well suited for a situation where an SMB type solution is able to provide the same services.
We have not benefited from this, but this capability is something that we are still investigating.
The platform is feature rich and sets us in a position where we are able to future proof our environment. The platform is stable and well supported.
Read Roberto Damon's full review
May 20, 2019
Lawrence Mashimbye | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
We started by upgrading our access switches to the Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR series three years ago in order to increase the uplink bandwidth to ten gigabytes. All access ports are also operating at a level of at least one-gigabyte per port to improve the performance of end users' computer speeds within our network.
  • Providing PoE for our access points and telephones.
  • There is too much noise when you are powering on the switch.
Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches are very good for both distribution and access layers since they produce ten-gigabyte uplink bandwidth, as well as one-gigabyte bandwidth per port for each connected end device. Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR switches are exceptionally great at powering Cisco wireless access points and telephones that require PoE for power.
At our organization we are using Cisco Catalyst 2960- X/XR Series Switches to improve the performance on the virtual client machines that we connect to via Microsoft remote desktop services, access cloud storage, and computing resources. We used to experience a lot of disconnection before we started installing Cisco Catalyst switches at our access layer.
Read Lawrence Mashimbye's full review
June 27, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
They have been used in the small remote sites access and core layers. But they are also been used in the large sites as access layer.
  • They work very well at the access layer or distribution/core layer at small remote sites.
  • They are small and 1 RU devices. Fits perfectly on the small rack space
  • They have fiber ports for uplink and copper ports for the access devices
  • They support legacy stacking, so easier to stack
  • Also with the DNA licenses, we can manage the devices using DNA center
  • They are light weight switches so will be not used for the core/distribution at large sites
  • They have limited fiber ports, so can't be used in the fiber heavy environment
  • Throughput is also low compared to other series of cisco switches
They are well suited if the requirement is to have 24 or 48 copper ports and 4 fiber ports. They are also well suited if the throughput requirement is low. They are not well suited in the large or critical sites. They don't have enough fiber uplink to support the loads.
As 2960X/XR switches can't be used for the DNA SDA deployment, we have been managing these switches using Cisco DNA center for basic automation like templating, swim, pnp.
Read this authenticated review
June 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
We use them at all of our branch locations to provide IP phone, workstation and other end device connectivity. We have had a great experience using this switch and continue to deploy them for new locations. They are reliable and provide exactly what we need and expect. I would recommend this device to anyone.
  • Reliable connectivity
  • Ease of installation
  • Long lasting device
  • Anytime we have had a hardware issue Cisco was quick to replace or repair the device.
  • Anytime we have had a software issue we are unable to resolve ourself TAC has been quick to resolve for us.
[They] Are excellent for branch offices for an access layer switch.
We use them at all of our branch locations to provide IP phone, workstations, printers and many other devices. They are very easy and quick to configure and setup.
Read this authenticated review
June 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
DOT1.X Port Level Security
QOS
DHCP Snooping Database
L2 and L3
DAI (Dynamic Arp Inspection)
DHCP Relay
PoE for Cisco Access Points and VOICE over IP Phones
  • DOT1X
  • L2 Switching
  • DHCP Snooping
  • Power over Ethernet
  • L3 Routing
  • IPSec support / MACSec Support (LImited)
  • VXLAN Support (none)
Very good access layer switch Product line; suitable for a small environment as well as for larger switch fabric environments (building for ex. daisy chain setups). Solid L2 Port security features; PoE support also included. SW Update also relatively robust and easy to roll out; the switches run without any Problems (SW or HW crash) for many years.
We haven't implemented those features yet. Working on a Proof of Concept though.
Read this authenticated review
January 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
We are using Catalyst Switches exclusively at our access layer, feeding back into 4500 IDFs. Catalyst is a solid device that is pretty much hands off once configured, with the exception of the occasional IOS update. Updates are fast and versatile, from either USB, FTP, or Serial.
  • port security
  • IOS update
  • SNMP / monitoring setup
  • TACACS / RADIUS setup
  • scalability
  • chassis aggregation
  • enable BPDU guard by default
  • reassign logical interface numbers when renumbering switches in a stack
  • reduce noise
Catalyst Switches are perfect for access layer deployment where 1GB throughput per interface is adequate. Would not use outside of this scenario as there are other product lines with redundant power supplies and a larger backplane. Excellent when used in an environment that may need to scale quickly, as chassis aggregation is quick and painless in most cases as long as the IOS image versions are compatible. Would be nice to see the status of version mismatches though, such as when a switch tries to join a stack that is not compatible with the other members. There should be some feedback regarding auto image deployment from the master to the newly added member.
We have benefited from the automation feature, and certainly feel that the configuration is seamless. We have not taken advantage of any virtualization or analytic features at this time.
Good response time and knowledgeable staff
very easy to navigate the CLI
Switch stacking feature is flawless
Yes - very smoothly once the IOS versions and Stack Ring speed are matched
Read this authenticated review

What is Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches?

Cisco offers the Catalyst 2960-X and XR series of campus LAN switches.
Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR Series Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No