Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches

Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 9.2 out of 100
Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches

Overview

Recent Reviews

Cisco Lover

10 out of 10
May 19, 2021
These [Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches] are used to connect hosts, they are configured with VLAN and each client has their own …
Continue reading

Cisco Catalyst 3650

8 out of 10
February 02, 2021
Cisco Catalyst 3650 switches are used on the edge of our network. They provide access to computers in offices, classrooms, and computer …
Continue reading

Catalyst for your business

10 out of 10
December 09, 2020
Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches are used in almost our entire organization as access layer switches. They are quite robust and …
Continue reading

Cisco stability is on a level

8 out of 10
December 08, 2020
We have been searching for a very stable and reliable switches for our head office for quite some time as we have had increased request …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches?

Cisco offers the Catalyst 3650 Series of campus LAN switches.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

Return to navigation

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches?

Cisco offers the Catalyst 3650 Series of campus LAN switches.

Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Compare with

Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

 (45)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 29)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
May 19, 2021

Cisco Lover

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
These [Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches] are used to connect hosts, they are configured with VLAN and each client has their own connection and protocols meaning all subnets can't see each other. We also have servers, firewalls, NVRs connected to them. Cisco rarely presents any issues, and, with the network engineer, we have all issues get resolved.
  • Reliable connection.
  • Up to date with protocols.
  • Reliable
  • CLI commands
  • Price range
  • Dimensions
  • Ram
Cisco is the networking leading brand, they are well suited for any environment. Once we set up a whole data center with Fortinet technology and after having major issues, off and on, we had to change to Cisco, bringing this change stability to our network infrastructure. Cisco switches are most known by all network engineers and you can get support more easily.
We are still working on automation. So far, we script all our changes to perform them faster. We also have. for example, tools like wazuh, rptg, helping us with analytics, and HyperV with virtualization. As mentioned, the automation part is still in process. We are going through the documentation to learn more.
Ahmed Mujeeb | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
Back in 2018 at our core layer, we were using Cisco catalyst 3560, but due to the end of support and some issues in switching we decided to upgrade our core layer with Cisco Catalyst 3650 and bought WS-C3650-48TS-S, which was ample for our network and since then it is perfectly working.
  • Inter VLAN routing
  • IP routing
  • Access vontrol List and NAT
  • Up to 4xGig SFP option
  • Some POE ports in the non POE variant.
  • Stack cables should be included.
  • GUI can be better.
Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches is an expensive switch, and, for mid-range organizations, this switch can be affordable but for low-range organizations, this switch is quite expensive. However, for small organizations, this switch can be a good pick as it can be used as a switch, router, and also as a wireless controller.
We haven't used the automation yet but, yes, its scalability of virtualization is good. Our VMs are now have very low latency in terms of connectivity. Further, the best benefits are that we have a wireless controller if required. We have ample provision to add more users to our network by keeping this same 3650 switch.
Zakarieya Abderoef | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
We use it for our LAN network to interconnect our users to access file servers, email, print servers, business software etc. The Cisco switches are equipped with PoE capability which allows us to connect our IP Phones and Wifi APs which are PoE enabled thus saving us costs on installing additional power outlets for these devices.
  • Stability
  • Reliability
  • Feature Rich
  • Secured
  • Costs are a bit expensive compared to similar type of switches from other vendors.
  • You need to understand Cisco CLI for proper installation.
  • The switches are quite heavy when mounting in the cabinet.
Cisco Catalyst 3650 switches are well suited within the access layer in large networks or in the core layer of branch offices with small networks. The PoE feature is very well suited for environments with IP Phones as well as areas where installing a power outlet may be challenging and can thus leverage PoE powered Wifi APs PoE powered Cameras, PoE powered etc. In this way, these switches can save lots of costs on cabling installation and maintenance.
We haven't yet made use of the time-saving automation and analytics features as yet. However, we have benefited from the scalability features offered by these switches. Our switches had been sufficiently sized so that we had additional capacity to accommodate new users as the organization grows or when we need to add additional devices as required.
February 02, 2021

Cisco Catalyst 3650

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
Cisco Catalyst 3650 switches are used on the edge of our network. They provide access to computers in offices, classrooms, and computer labs.
  • They provide network stability.
  • Are very reliable.
  • Easy to configure/maintain.
  • Cisco network equipment is expensive to procure.
  • High support costs.
  • Occasional firmware issues, especially when new major releases are first available.
Cisco Catalyst switches have been very reliable and easy to maintain for the college. Once they are configured, outside of the occasional office changes and firmware updates there is very little required to keep them operating.
As we are a smaller organization we have not found the need to explore these features. Also many of these capabilities have a cost associated with them that doesn't make it as attainable.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches are the main switches that the vast majority of our workstations and phones connect to the network through.
  • Reliable
  • User-friendly interface
  • Easily expandable
  • Difficult upgrades
  • Configuration losses
These switches are a great option for those looking for ease of use while also having lots of features. We are able to do quite a few advanced features with them if desired, but also, we able to easily implement them. As part of an expanding environment, it is always easy to purchase a new one and quickly integrate it into our stack.
We have saved time as we have expanded our organization and network. Using these switches (Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches), we can quickly integrate new users and stations. We have yet to do much with virtualization and analytics and instead are mostly just focusing on the basics for the time being. In the initial research of the advanced features, they looked promising but we have yet to fully utilize them, lacking a business need for the time being.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
Our organization has used Cisco Catalyst 3650 series switched as the backbone to our large scale distributed CCTV network. The high performance reliable backplanes have been able to handle the massive throughput that is required to record and monitor feeds from hundreds of high definition cameras across various sites within the organization. A strong support contract also provides assurance against lengthy downtime / periods without coverage when failure occurs.
  • High performance/throughput
  • High resilience and reliability
  • Enterprise class support
  • Pricing is expensive; can be improved
  • Competitor's products within this price range may provide more 'bang-for-your-buck'
  • Integration with non-cisco products, while satisfactory, could be improved
Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series (and Cisco products in general) are usually within a higher price bracket than their competitors, but provide better reliability and enterprise support as a result. For highly critical, large scale, high throughput implementations (such as cctv), the extra assurance may be worth it. However, smaller and/or noncritical implementations that do not require best-in-class reliability and support may benefit from more cost-effective alternatives .
We have used Cisco DNA Center to unlock the potential of cisco catalyst 3650 series switches. The centralized management and monitoring tool have provided us with extensive visibility on all our Cisco catalyst products, and these analytics have allow us to quickly identify bottlenecks, troubleshoot issues, plan our infrastructure and evaluate our scalability as needed.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
We use two specific models for the distribution and core scenario, the [Cisco] Catalyst 3650 and 3850 switches. Both are layer 3 switches, with advanced routing features, advanced security, high processing capacity and also layer 2 features like spanning tree and Vlans by example. Connected to these models are 2960X switches for the access function where computers and IP phones and cameras are connected.
  • Has high thoughput capacity.
  • It has an integrated wifi controller with support for many access points.
  • It has a 10gb port expansion module.
  • PoE + Ports.
  • The value of the product comes at a high price.
The ideal scenario we use is in Distribution and Core both models. Both have POE ports and on these devices we configure the vlans and their correct routing. Access points are connected to these switches directly because the Catalyst 3650 and 3850 have the functionality of an integrated wifi controller and automatically manage more than 40 of our access points.
The [Cisco] Catalyst 3650 and 3850 switches feature energy saving technology that saves and saves energy. The management of the switches is done through the command line interface and the Prime Infrastructure management software that has all the plants of the locations, location of the equipment and status whether they are on or off. The integration with the wireless network is another product differential that we like a lot and helps IT.
December 10, 2020

Great networking device

Nick Darnell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
Our network includes 3650's to bring a stable network across more than 20 buildings, apx 4 per building. Each building hosts around 50-100 network devices such as pc, printer, ip phones and televisions. The switches allow a easily manageable remote ssh to make changes and check for errors as necessary.
  • Durable hardware
  • Robust software
  • Compatibility
  • OS interface could be more user friendly.
  • Cost per switch could be reduced.
  • Although 1U design is good for tight spaces, a 2U design would allow our technicians more wiggle room in the data closets.
[Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches] are good for any industry that requires a stable and complex routing environment. Any building that has small spaces and lack of cooling will be able to use these switches successfully. I do not recommend for anyone with limited network knowledge because the routing is difficult for the basic user.
We currently do not use them for anything other than basic switch capabilities. We still service and configure the switches manually so automation is not currently in use. Analytics will be useful and we may look into those options in the future.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
  • Catalyst 6800 Series
Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches are used in almost our entire organization as access layer switches. They are quite robust and resistant compared to other companies' that we have used. The Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches are a very good option if you are looking for stability.
  • It won't crash easily
  • Nice routing and IP features
  • Prevent loops in your network
  • Detect rogue DHCPs
  • Please bring dual power supplies to some Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches because sometimes, 1 PS is not enough
Good in situations where you need connection to the network, either a data center or a branch office. They are easy to scale and grow on scenarios wherever you need them. Good for connecting cameras, phones, access points, computers, etc.
We currently do not use the automation, but we would like to explore it in the future.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
We have been searching for a very stable and reliable switches for our head office for quite some time as we have had increased request for a stable fast and reliable network in our HQ and branch network as the data amount we process increases dramatically.

We have struggled with that until we have contacted Cisco and started to architect our solution that included mobile access, fast gigabit connections and the application support that the switching might provide.

Now after the implementation we have been quite happy with the solution as we have not experienced any downtime or significant performance issues up to now.
  • Works super stable
  • Provide fantastic speed
  • Great support
  • Pricing is quite steep
Great for mid-enterprise level where you value stability of the solution and you are ready to train your network engineers for a specific product expertise.
We have not used yet all the huge amount of functionality that Cisco provides, however we feel positive impact already from the AI features, like automation that has save us many hours already as we don't have to configure a lot of things manually so we can spend that time on increasing the security part.
Vin Campbell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
We have three Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches in a stack--two mirrored switches (24 ports each) and one 48-port switch that acts as the primary network switch for the entire network. The two mirrored 24-port switches are used as the backend of our virtual server network (NetApp FAS device plus dual Dell ESX VMware host servers. These are fully manageable network switches and have been in service going on eight years now as the backbone of our corporate on-site network.
  • Stability--very, very rarely do they need a reboot or have any issues
  • They provide consistent gigabit speeds with virtually no packet loss
  • Easy CLI management
  • Can also be managed via the GUI--Cisco Network Assistant
  • Integration with newer technologies like Meraki
  • Ports tend to turn off when firmware is updated
  • GUI access should be improved; the network assistant doesn't allow you to do everything
In their heyday, Cisco Catalyst switches were the de facto switch of choice for most midsized businesses that required a stable and secure networking experience. Their price point is relatively low compared to many other solutions. Deployment can be done by non-Cisco personnel--though not recommended. Their overall stability makes them a great choice since there isn't much need for any ongoing maintenance.
We have the two 24-port switches set up as a stack with failover. We were able to deploy both seamlessly with CLI using configuration files. That saved a ton of time. As stated earlier, these switches form the backbone for our virtual server farm (VMware), and as we grew (added servers and network traffic), these devices scaled nicely and handled everything we threw at them. As stable a system as you can get from any vendor and they are still running!
Wien Dai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
Catalyst 3650 switches are the workhorse in our network as access layer switch. We have more than 60 of them. They are inexpensive, very reliable and efficient. I think over the 10 years, I only saw 1 or 2 switches went dead. They are easy to configure. Commands are consistent. It gives monitoring software good counters to monitor. The switch offers many ways to troubleshoot potential problems.

The downside is this series reaches its end of life. Cisco will soon stop selling them and in several years, will stop supporting them. So, it's time to look for replacement models. One of them is Catalyst 9200 series.

In general, as a Network Manager, I like Cisco Catalyst 3650 switches. They are like Toyota Camry or Honda Accord cars, running smoothly and economically.
  • It's very reliable. Very rarely fails.
  • Runs smoothly. No problems at all.
  • Ability to troubleshoot problems.
  • Works like a charm in the background passing traffic.
  • Provides a lot of counters to monitor performance.
  • Can't think of any.
They are very solid access layer switches in large office, school and places. They are not the best choice for very small offices, stores and other locations where people more focus on price, not performance or reliability.
We actually didn't benefit in this area.
Paul Sevick | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3560-CX Series
Our Cisco Catalyst switches are the backbone of our network infrastructure and seamless integrate all of our workstations, servers and IP phone system. They have proven to be robust and reliable for the many years we have had them in service. In conjunction with the Cisco Networking Assistant management and configuration are a breeze.
  • VLAN and layer 3 functions are very useful.
  • Redundant power supplies provide peace of mind.
  • Superior support is phone call away when needed.
  • Maintenance and licensing costs tend to be expensive.
  • IOS can be a bit quirky to configure at times.
Switches are perfectly suited for small to medium sized enterprises as well as branch office applications. Expansion slots can be adapted to customize for many different topologies and configurations. This hardware can get expensive but is highly reliable and performs extremely well, ther are more cost effective solutions for very small networks.
We have these integrated with our fiber attached SAN and HP Blade system, integration is seamless and went very smooth.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
We have been using Cisco Catalyst switches for many years and the 3650 was a natural choice. It has been delivering our core networking with performance and stability. It is feature rich and management is easy. Being the big market leader has created a huge community support platform, so help is never far away.
  • It does switching very well, fast and reliable.
  • Management is easy from a central point.
  • Community support is huge and help is right around the corner.
  • It may be a bit expensive.
  • No real other downsides.
Using this as your core networking equipment for medium sized companies is an excellent choice. It is stackable so can grow with your company. It is not the cheapest offering by far, but it is worth its price. For edge switches you might want to look for other devices (smaller, cheaper).
Using VLANs means network segmentation which offers security among other issues. Getting network statistics from the devices for monitoring is a prerequisite to handle a growing company and the Cisco Switches offer all kinds of way to get you that information. Although all the subtypes makes choosing difficult, the abundance of features will make sure you can get what you want.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
Cisco Catalyst is used across the organization. It is used to connect buildings in different countries. Cisco Catalyst products are very reliable and they can work for years with no downtime. The company recently refreshed the old switches and routers that worked for years, but they never failed any single time. These products can be configured in so many different ways according to the business necessities and they provide very strong security protection to the valuable infrastructure.
  • It comes with the latest routing protocols out in the market and they include proprietary protocols which are very good.
  • Encryption is good. No sensitive information is running unprotected.
  • Scalability.
  • Reliability. Products can work for years with no downtime.
  • Price. They are expensive devices.
  • Cisco develops so many products that sometimes it's hard to catch up.
  • Configuring these devices require a high level of preparation.
Cisco Catalyst is well suited to interconnect branch offices across the globe. It works very well with the data and voice transmission. Something that stands out is the ability of QoS because by tuning up these settings, you can provide a very good quality of voice over IP. Using a scenario like this, it lets you cut budgets on phone bills.
In our organization we have not taken advantage of these features.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
We have a network of more than 150 users and our original solution was very slow and had lots of issues, despite the fact that it's a small network. We decided to bet on Cisco for all our network infrastructure from 2960 to 3650. We made the change about 10 years ago and we have no regrets. My organization has grown up with Cisco supporting our communications and our users have forgotten that there is even a network - it's so seamless. We have connected our branches and sales posts with encrypted networks and equipment - all with excellent uptime. We haven't looked back since switching to Cisco.
------
Teniamos una red de mas de 150 usuarios que presentaba lentitud y muchas colisiones, a pesar de ser una red peque~na. Decidimos apostarle a Cisco para toda nuestra infraestructura de redes desde los 2960 hasta los 3650. El cambio fue hace unos 10 a~nos y no nos arrepentimos, hemos crecido con Cisco soportando nuestras comnunicaciones y el usuario se ha olvidado que existe una red. Hemos conectado sucursales y puestos de ventas con redes encriptadas y equipos en alta disponibilidad. Todo sin volver a ver hacia atras.
  • It's so seamless that our users forget there's even a network. Also, slowness is no longer an issue | Hacen que el usuario se olvide de que existe una red. Nadie se queja de lentitud.
  • It's easy to implement virtual networks and access lists. | Es posible implementar facilmente redes virtuales y listas de acceso.
  • We get the support and attention we need, when we need it. | Tenemos el soporte y la atencion que necesitamos cuando lo requerimos.
  • We would like to have a change log on ​​the switches that provides traceability and can be audited. | Quisieramos contar con un registro de cambios (un log) en los switches que proporcionen trazabilidad y sean auditables.
We have used the 2960 as access switches and the 3560 for their layer3 functions so that we are using each device in what it does best. They can tolerate unfavorable environmental situations, but it's not recommended.
-------
Hemos utilizado los 2960 como switches de acceso y los 3560 para sus funciones de capa3 de manera que estamos utilizando cada equipo en lo que hace mejor, son incluso bien tolerantes a situaciones ambientales no favorables, aunque no es los recomendable.
Automation has allowed us as a team to remain small so we can efficiently manage our networks. We have slowly grown an an organization, and have not reached a point of being the largest insurance company in Central America. Insurance is a demanding and challenging environment, and our Cisco infrastructure helps us keep up.
----
La automatizacion nos ha permitido como equipo que se ha mantenido peque~no administrar eficientemente nuestras redes. Hemos escalado sin problemas el crecimiento que como compa~nia hemos experimentado en los ultimos a~nos, hasta el punto de ser la mayor compa~nia de seguros de Centro America buscando siempre la alta disponibilidad en un entorno exigente y retador.
Jorge Alberto Aguirre Aguilar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
As a robust core switch device, it helps us guarantee continuity of operation to our customers (and maintain SLAs). It has all the necessary technical functionalities for a team of our size (11-50 employees). With the new licenses, the added security layer allows us to protect all areas of our network. Switches typically are always the weakest link in terms of cybersecurity for companies, and Cisco takes care of that with their switches.
  • High Availability
  • Switching
  • Pricing
  • Licensing
It is ideal for small or medium-sized businesses, not enterprises. It is not meant to be used as access equipment, but rather as core equipment. If you are thinking about use this as part of a data center environment, I would advise you choose one of the Nexus type models. Although this equipment is robust, a more specialized switch would be better.
We have not taken advantage of the platform's automation capabilities.
The analytical capabilities allow us to protect our hardware/network without having to modify the architecture of the network, simply enabling functionalities that allow us to obtain visibility, detect threats, be able to prevent them, and even respond to them when they unfortunately occur, and better protect users, the network, and therefore the entire organization even better in the future.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
Reliable switches that work well in small branch offices, set up as a layer 3 switch, it does primary routing to our main data centre with a failover setup to our secondary data centre. Cost effective, considering there is no need to purchase a separate dedicated router, it comes with 2x 10G interface which is enough for primary uplink to data centre and primary downlink to a stack of access switches.
  • Stable.
  • Good knowledge base.
  • A lot of features.
  • Consistent commands across most models.
  • Web console to help staff that are not familiar with CLI.
  • Simplified licensing model.
  • Cloud console for monitoring would be awesome.
Cisco Catalyst is suitable for branch office setups with a layer 3 function, it's also stack-able for expansion. Not suitable for a company that doesn't have staff with Cisco CLI knowledge.
As the setup is only used for small branch offices, there was no massive deployment, so no virtualization or time-saving automation is required for a simple setup.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
We use the Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches at most levels for our sites. They are very reliable, predictable, and effective. They provide the necessary bandwidth for connecting out sites throughout our fiber backbone. I am very happy with the secure remote management capabilities that allow both ease of access and adequate security.
  • Handle large volumes of traffic.
  • Provide bandwidth needed.
  • Up time without error is great.
  • Price
  • Licensing
Great product, if a little pricey.
We have benefited from automation, particularity with VLAN management and configuration. We have taken advantage of this for disaster recovery, having automated scripts that can replicate our environment on the fly on new hardware as needed.
June 24, 2019

Catalyst 3650

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
We use the Catalyst 3650 for our access switches for end users and devices. They provide stability and flexibility to meet our business needs. We have not had a major issue due to this piece of hardware in the entire time that they have been in service. Great stable POE is also a great benefit.
  • Fast packet switching
  • Stable and reliable POE
  • Excellent Uptime
  • Modularity
  • Heat
  • Can be a little deep for some cabinets
Excellent at providing a stable user experience. With low operational costs.
We have used automation to push updates and create different use cases. The built in packet capture has also been of great benefit to troubleshooting different issues.
June 12, 2019

Connect Life

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
  • Catalyst 6800 Series
  • Catalyst 9300 Series
They allow us to interconnect all of our remote buildings and gives L3 capability L3 in one box.
  • Route
  • Secure
  • PoE
  • Mac security
  • Compact foot print
  • PoE
Everything you need in one small box. Ready to go out of the box.
We are able to use these device across the board in multiple applications.
Steven Agate | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
We use this model of a Cisco switch to provide data services to all of the county's edge networks delivering services to staff and public. Multiple business objectives are met and leveraged with this technology use. An example would be at our bus terminals delivering WiFI solutions to the public and county staff with a backbone using this model of a Cisco switch.
  • Scale. They have the ability to be stacked.
  • Reliable hardware. Hardware never fails.
  • Reliable for real time applications such as collaboration and Wireless VoIP (wVoIP).
  • Cost
When you need to provide dense connections to clients this model of switch is stackable and makes for great networking scalability.
My organization has not benefited specifically for the above capabilities.
Steven Van Jaarsveld | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
We make use of the Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches primarily for LAN deployments for our customers. Most of our customers use these switches as access layer switches at their office sites, but in some cases where the customers have a small wired network, they even use the Cisco Catalyst 3650 switches as core switches. One of the business problems these switches address is network connectivity in offices where it is not otherwise viable, or where a customer doesn't want to install a pure wireless network.
  • Switching.
  • Troubleshooting.
  • Command line interface.
  • Ease-of-use.
  • Customer support.
  • Robustness.
  • Quality control.
  • Power over Ethernet.
Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches are ideal for access layer switches in situations where stackable switches are required to have full PoE and a high port density. In some instances, there may even be a requirement to make use of the integrated wireless LAN controller to provide wireless connectivity in conjunction with the wired network without the need to manage a separate wireless LAN controller.
My organization has not benefited from any of these features since we are a systems integrator and install the Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches for our customers during projects. However, our customers have reported that they are extremely beneficial to them and that they are able to see the time-saving benefits and comment on the product's ease-of-use.
Yash Tooray | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
We are resellers of these switches and have gotten a lot of interest due to their specific features. Especially with the 48 port model, with its stackability being key, grouping up to 9 is a key feature. A full stack bandwidth of 40gbps makes it worth the money spent. The limited lifetime warranty also makes it very attractive compared against other brand competitors.
  • Good group stacking.
  • The max bandwidth on stacking is great.
  • Ease of the rack's mount-ability.
  • Could be cheaper.
  • Could be more compact.
  • Faster processing.
Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches are very well suited for the corporate environment where service and business are critical, taking no changes. In my opinion, I would not use it in the smaller organizations where there are no SLA critical services, as it eats into the bottom end where maybe a refurb or cheaper brand is worth looking at.
We as a company don't have any particular uses cases to ensure to effective of these devices, as we are mainly a reseller, but if I search on the net, I have found many great write-ups on these switches which prove that they are perfect for analytics and virtualizations to run efficiently.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
User access and PoE for VoIP phones. It provides stable network connections. Dot1x support with ISE ensures users are authenticated and only have access to necessary resources.
  • PoE for powering VoIP phones and wireless access points.
  • Stable user access.
  • Reliable.
  • Voice segmentation.
  • Port aggregation.
  • Price.
  • Per-port costs are higher than other vendors.
We use Cisco Catalyst Switches for multiple applications within multiple layers. They provide us with dependable port connectivity as well as additional functionality such as 802.1x.
Return to navigation