Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
28 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

Orlando Mendoza | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

10 years plus with Cisco (10 años y por mas con Cisco)

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a network of more than 150 users and our original solution was very slow and had lots of issues, despite the fact that it's a small network. We decided to bet on Cisco for all our network infrastructure from 2960 to 3650. We made the change about 10 years ago and we have no regrets. My organization has grown up with Cisco supporting our communications and our users have forgotten that there is even a network - it's so seamless. We have connected our branches and sales posts with encrypted networks and equipment - all with excellent uptime. We haven't looked back since switching to Cisco.
------
Teniamos una red de mas de 150 usuarios que presentaba lentitud y muchas colisiones, a pesar de ser una red peque~na. Decidimos apostarle a Cisco para toda nuestra infraestructura de redes desde los 2960 hasta los 3650. El cambio fue hace unos 10 a~nos y no nos arrepentimos, hemos crecido con Cisco soportando nuestras comnunicaciones y el usuario se ha olvidado que existe una red. Hemos conectado sucursales y puestos de ventas con redes encriptadas y equipos en alta disponibilidad. Todo sin volver a ver hacia atras.
  • It's so seamless that our users forget there's even a network. Also, slowness is no longer an issue | Hacen que el usuario se olvide de que existe una red. Nadie se queja de lentitud.
  • It's easy to implement virtual networks and access lists. | Es posible implementar facilmente redes virtuales y listas de acceso.
  • We get the support and attention we need, when we need it. | Tenemos el soporte y la atencion que necesitamos cuando lo requerimos.
  • We would like to have a change log on ​​the switches that provides traceability and can be audited. | Quisieramos contar con un registro de cambios (un log) en los switches que proporcionen trazabilidad y sean auditables.
We have used the 2960 as access switches and the 3560 for their layer3 functions so that we are using each device in what it does best. They can tolerate unfavorable environmental situations, but it's not recommended.
-------
Hemos utilizado los 2960 como switches de acceso y los 3560 para sus funciones de capa3 de manera que estamos utilizando cada equipo en lo que hace mejor, son incluso bien tolerantes a situaciones ambientales no favorables, aunque no es los recomendable.
Read Orlando Mendoza's full review
Jorge Alberto Aguirre Aguilar | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches are solid

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a robust core switch device, it helps us guarantee continuity of operation to our customers (and maintain SLAs). It has all the necessary technical functionalities for a team of our size (11-50 employees). With the new licenses, the added security layer allows us to protect all areas of our network. Switches typically are always the weakest link in terms of cybersecurity for companies, and Cisco takes care of that with their switches.
  • High Availability
  • Switching
  • Pricing
  • Licensing
It is ideal for small or medium-sized businesses, not enterprises. It is not meant to be used as access equipment, but rather as core equipment. If you are thinking about use this as part of a data center environment, I would advise you choose one of the Nexus type models. Although this equipment is robust, a more specialized switch would be better.
Read Jorge Alberto Aguirre Aguilar's full review
Zakarieya Abderoef | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2019

Cisco Catalyst 3650 - Reliable and Secure

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our LAN network to interconnect our users to access file servers, email, print servers, business software etc. The Cisco switches are equipped with PoE capability which allows us to connect our IP Phones and Wifi APs which are PoE enabled thus saving us costs on installing additional power outlets for these devices.
  • Stability
  • Reliability
  • Feature Rich
  • Secured
  • Costs are a bit expensive compared to similar type of switches from other vendors.
  • You need to understand Cisco CLI for proper installation.
  • The switches are quite heavy when mounting in the cabinet.
Cisco Catalyst 3650 switches are well suited within the access layer in large networks or in the core layer of branch offices with small networks. The PoE feature is very well suited for environments with IP Phones as well as areas where installing a power outlet may be challenging and can thus leverage PoE powered Wifi APs PoE powered Cameras, PoE powered etc. In this way, these switches can save lots of costs on cabling installation and maintenance.
Read Zakarieya Abderoef's full review
Steven Agate | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2019

3650 Switch Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this model of a Cisco switch to provide data services to all of the county's edge networks delivering services to staff and public. Multiple business objectives are met and leveraged with this technology use. An example would be at our bus terminals delivering WiFI solutions to the public and county staff with a backbone using this model of a Cisco switch.
  • Scale. They have the ability to be stacked.
  • Reliable hardware. Hardware never fails.
  • Reliable for real time applications such as collaboration and Wireless VoIP (wVoIP).
  • Cost
When you need to provide dense connections to clients this model of switch is stackable and makes for great networking scalability.
Read Steven Agate's full review
Steven Van Jaarsveld | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2019

Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We make use of the Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches primarily for LAN deployments for our customers. Most of our customers use these switches as access layer switches at their office sites, but in some cases where the customers have a small wired network, they even use the Cisco Catalyst 3650 switches as core switches. One of the business problems these switches address is network connectivity in offices where it is not otherwise viable, or where a customer doesn't want to install a pure wireless network.
  • Switching.
  • Troubleshooting.
  • Command line interface.
  • Ease-of-use.
  • Customer support.
  • Robustness.
  • Quality control.
  • Power over Ethernet.
Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches are ideal for access layer switches in situations where stackable switches are required to have full PoE and a high port density. In some instances, there may even be a requirement to make use of the integrated wireless LAN controller to provide wireless connectivity in conjunction with the wired network without the need to manage a separate wireless LAN controller.
Read Steven Van Jaarsveld's full review
Yash Tooray | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2019

Cisco Catalyst 3650

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are resellers of these switches and have gotten a lot of interest due to their specific features. Especially with the 48 port model, with its stackability being key, grouping up to 9 is a key feature. A full stack bandwidth of 40gbps makes it worth the money spent. The limited lifetime warranty also makes it very attractive compared against other brand competitors.
  • Good group stacking.
  • The max bandwidth on stacking is great.
  • Ease of the rack's mount-ability.
  • Could be cheaper.
  • Could be more compact.
  • Faster processing.
Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches are very well suited for the corporate environment where service and business are critical, taking no changes. In my opinion, I would not use it in the smaller organizations where there are no SLA critical services, as it eats into the bottom end where maybe a refurb or cheaper brand is worth looking at.
Read Yash Tooray's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2019

3650: Reliable, Predictable and Expensive Work Horse

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the 3650 at most levels for our sites. They are very reliable, predictable, and effective. They provide the necessary bandwidth for connecting out sites throughout our fiber backbone. I am very happy with the secure remote management capabilities that allow both ease of access and adequate security.
  • Handle large volumes of traffic.
  • Provide bandwidth needed.
  • Up time without error is great.
  • Price
  • Licensing
Great product, if a little pricey.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 24, 2019

Catalyst 3650

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Catalyst 3650 for our access switches for end users and devices. They provide stability and flexibility to meet our business needs. We have not had a major issue due to this piece of hardware in the entire time that they have been in service. Great stable POE is also a great benefit.
  • Fast packet switching
  • Stable and reliable POE
  • Excellent Uptime
  • Modularity
  • Heat
  • Can be a little deep for some cabinets
Excellent at providing a stable user experience. With low operational costs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2019

Robust and reliable for branch offices

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Reliable switches that work well in small branch offices, set up as a layer 3 switch, it does primary routing to our main data centre with a failover setup to our secondary data centre. Cost effective, considering there is no need to purchase a separate dedicated router, it comes with 2x 10G interface which is enough for primary uplink to data centre and primary downlink to a stack of access switches.
  • Stable.
  • Good knowledge base.
  • A lot of features.
  • Consistent commands across most models.
  • Web console to help staff that are not familiar with CLI.
  • Simplified licensing model.
  • Cloud console for monitoring would be awesome.
Cisco Catalyst is suitable for branch office setups with a layer 3 function, it's also stack-able for expansion. Not suitable for a company that doesn't have staff with Cisco CLI knowledge.
Read this authenticated review
Leszek Ludziejewski | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

My Cisco switch review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Catalyst Switches are used in access LAN (layer 2) in all our branches. The switches are very stable. We are using them in stack and connect to Cisco ISE. The switches have a lot of security features. For our organization, what is really important is the Enhanced Limited Lifetime Warranty (E-LLW) for Cisco switches.
  • Work stability
  • They support PoE and PoE+
  • Security features
Typical scenarios - connect switches standalone or in a stack via trunks for network to distribution layer or core layer. This scenario is easy to manage, upgrade and maintenance for administrators. Every switch supports PoE and with voice VLAN one port is connected to an IP phone and computer. Most switches are 48 port.
Read Leszek Ludziejewski's full review
Graham Murison | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2019

Catalyst for the rest of us

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using the Catalyst series in our Core, Distribution, and Access Layer network design. It is used in the majority of the organization across multiple locations.

We were looking to segment our network as we transitioned from a small organization to a larger one. It allowed us to get a better understanding of the needs of our end users, implement appropriate security mechanisms and make network management easier.

Our newest scope for re-design is to stack several devices and allow even easier management and reduce the need for loop detection mechanisms.

Update:
We just deployed the a couple Catalyst 3650 Stackwise-160 and the migration was almost flawless from the 3560-x series (standalone). The only issue is that we are experiencing a LACP etherchannel which will explain more further down. We have replaced all our HP access layer switches with the 2960-X POE.
  • Management and administration
  • Documentation
  • Integration with the rest of Cisco's product lines
  • Community support
  • Hardware design and layout
  • Price. There are competitors that provide similar service levels at the most reasonable prices.
  • The innovation of emerging technology in areas of network management and integration.
  • Model numbers can be confusing when wanting to find exactly what you need.
  • Cisco IOS feature sets are even more confusing than the model numbers
  • Be ware of IOS bug(s) that could affect your infrastructure. But every vendor will have them
Great for connecting end-user devices and inter-VLAN routing. There is a lot of configuration examples for implementing this feature. We also use single-mode fiber to connect multiple campus locations. With this, there was an issue of uni-directional link detection causing link failure. The Cisco Catalyst handled this quite well after I figure out which feature to enable (udld).

Beware to fully research potential bugs in the Cisco IOS you are deploying. I missed one with etherchannel and it caused me a 30 minute headache.
Read Graham Murison's full review
Nikolay Rogoshchenkov | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2019

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
User access and PoE for VoIP phones. It provides stable network connections. Dot1x support with ISE ensures users are authenticated and only have access to necessary resources.
  • PoE for powering VoIP phones and wireless access points.
  • Stable user access.
  • Reliable.
  • Voice segmentation.
  • Port aggregation.
  • Price.
  • Per-port costs are higher than other vendors.
We use Cisco Catalyst Switches for multiple applications within multiple layers. They provide us with dependable port connectivity as well as additional functionality such as 802.1x.
Read Nikolay Rogoshchenkov's full review
Manuel Pombo | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2019

Reliable, Feature-Rich and Performant

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the 3650 mostly for TOR in the data center to provide connectivity to our servers. We value its reliability and the fact that it's a workhorse we can always rely on.
  • Stable and reliable stacking solution that allows us to connect our servers with bonded NICs and maintain 100% networking uptime.
  • Layer-3 services like inter-VLAN routing allow us to provide vast and efficient connectivity between different services while keeping perimeter security intact.
  • Netflow support. Very lightweight and complete flow generation that provides invaluable information about the data center traffic.
  • Price tag. Even though we'll always choose Cisco as long as it keeps its top-notch reliability, competitors are pushing hard with cheaper alternatives.
  • The end of life and support period is relatively short.
These switches are the very definition of reliability, so whenever you need a switch that must perform and cannot fail, this is the one to get.
For a network that's not that important (perhaps a lab setup) you're probably ok with cheaper options.
Read Manuel Pombo's full review
bryan weaver | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2019

Catalyst switches

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[They're being used for] All campus and edge switches on site and at remote sites.
  • VLAN separation
  • VoIP phone systems
  • ACLs for management
  • None
Cisco Switches work very well for VoIP phone solutions as you can have both a data and voice VLAN assigned to each switch port.
Read bryan weaver's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2019

Cisco Catalyst from a SysAdmin perspective

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Catalyst is used across the organization. It is used to connect buildings in different countries. Cisco Catalyst products are very reliable and they can work for years with no downtime. The company recently refreshed the old switches and routers that worked for years, but they never failed any single time. These products can be configured in so many different ways according to the business necessities and they provide very strong security protection to the valuable infrastructure.
  • It comes with the latest routing protocols out in the market and they include proprietary protocols which are very good.
  • Encryption is good. No sensitive information is running unprotected.
  • Scalability.
  • Reliability. Products can work for years with no downtime.
  • Price. They are expensive devices.
  • Cisco develops so many products that sometimes it's hard to catch up.
  • Configuring these devices require a high level of preparation.
Cisco Catalyst is well suited to interconnect branch offices across the globe. It works very well with the data and voice transmission. Something that stands out is the ability of QoS because by tuning up these settings, you can provide a very good quality of voice over IP. Using a scenario like this, it lets you cut budgets on phone bills.
Read this authenticated review

About Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches

Cisco offers the Catalyst 3650 Series of campus LAN switches.
Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No