Cisco Catalyst 6800 Series Switches Reviews

13 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Girgis Hady | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Catalyst 6800 Then and Now

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 6800 Series
We are using Cisco Catalyst 6800 switches as our campus core switch, with 2 boxes running VSS to handle all routing between different subnets. The core switch is also responsible for the DHCP, VTP, and gateways for all VLANs.
  • High available
  • Powerfully processing
  • High density of ports
  • Consume a lot of power
  • Introduce a huge amount of heat
  • Take a long time to reload
It works well when implementing it as a core or aggregation switch. It's also well suited when we need good processing power and a high density of ports.
No, we are not using any automation capability with Cisco Catalyst 6800 switches due to less knowledge and lack of time.
Read Girgis Hady's full review
Andres Felipe Puerta Prada | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

Fast and Convergent

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 6800 Series
The 6509E and 4507E switches were replaced.
  • Performance increase
  • They offer higher line card capacity.
  • They updated the technology platform.
  • The 6509E and 4507E switches were replaced.
  • The support of recent technical characteristics.
  • In the core in Enterprise Solutions
  • In the data center
  • In layered distribution
They are suitable for Enterprise Solutions and less appropriate for Data Center Solutions.
Currently, in the implementation, this programmability has not been present.
Read Andres Felipe Puerta Prada's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

6800 Switches: Reliable and Resilient

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 6800 Series
We use Cisco Catalyst Switches at both access and data center levels as a collapsed core.
  • High throughput
  • Very good scalability
  • High resilience
  • Programmability
  • Flow control and visibility of flows
  • Auto monitoring
  • Smart port in bigger switches
Well suited where stability is more important than graphical interfaces. It is less appropriate when personnel is not well trained or at least network understanding is not clear since it lacks an easy to use graphic interface. The configuration mode does not help novice users.
I have not taken advantage of it because I have no automation modules.
They are easy to get a hold of and are very effective.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 17, 2019

The catalyst evolution.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
  • Catalyst 6800 Series
  • Catalyst 9300 Series
  • Catalyst 9500 Series
We utilize cat6807 switches in high-density locations as a layer 3 fiber/copper, high availability, and aggregation point.
  • A high-performance platform.
  • A new and improved version of the resilient cat6500 series.
  • Highly adaptable for meeting today's ever-changing business demands.
  • Hitless patching.
  • Less susceptible to vulnerabilities.
  • DNA center integration.
Outside of the data center; I have yet to find a situation in which some series of catalyst switches were not useful or unable to meet the need.
Network automation is new to our organization; however, we plan on utilizing the feature on 6807s in the near future.
Read this authenticated review
Bryan Valverde Piedra | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2019

Catalyst switches in enterprise networks

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
  • Catalyst 6800 Series
They are used as access and distribution switches. They are used in enterprise networks and also data centers management networks. In general, they are really stable.
  • Access switches
  • Colapse Core switch
  • Many redundancy functions, depending on the model, there are stacks, VSS, even working separately provide L3 redundancy with HSRP for example
  • Maybe interference speed, the highest I have seen is 10Gbps. Nexus is working in 40 Gbps and even 100 Gbps
Enterprise networks completely
Not really. I would like to actually.
It is normally and excellent support
They are oftenly used and not really difficult to configure
Read Bryan Valverde Piedra's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2019

Catalyst Switches are AWESOME

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
  • Catalyst 6800 Series
Many of our issues revolve around security or location of users. The Cisco Catalyst Switches allow us to integrate with intelligent security platforms to accomplish this goal.
  • Simple configuration
  • Effective redundancy
  • Layer 2 and Layer 3 capabilities
  • Modularity
  • Price
  • Configuration consistency
  • Well suited to campus networks and any voice-enabled network.
  • Less appropriate in data center environments.
We have not used the automation capabilities yet.
Cisco Catalyst switches are the standard for usability. The Cisco command line is 1 of 2 formats for a command line interface in the computer networking industry. They literally define the standard for the industry, so naturally the usability is going to be high -- simply because that's what everyone uses. I rated them as 9 because they have some consistency issues within the IOS for different versions/platforms.
Read this authenticated review
Tim Lillis | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 29, 2018

Cisco 6800ia's Best Innovation: Cisco has Killed!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 6800 Series
We currently are using our Cisco Catalyst 6800ia switches in all of our edge closets. They provide power to access points, phones, cameras, and our bell speakers in our schools. They also provide data to our end users in labs, classrooms, and offices. We really like the fact that they are easily managed via their fx uplink to the 6880s in the MDF closets.
  • Centrally managed configuration and IOS via the attached 6880 catalyst pair.
  • POE+ support for newer Access Points and speaker requirements
  • Firmware rollout is very smooth and simple using upgrades to the 6880 "core"
  • There are some known bugs that cause interface errors and are listed as "cosmetic" and they do not plan to address them. This makes troubleshooting very difficult to determine what are real errors and what are cosmetic.
  • We have had a few batches that get stuck in random reboots.
  • Cisco foolishly has discontinued R&D for this line of Catalyst when they were finally showing some innovation that set them apart from other vendors.
These are excellent in a large environment that does not have a nice central software to roll out firmware automatically. With the 6880 paired with the 6800ia switches, you can configure all the ports centrally from the MDF switch. Not a good place would be an environment that already has a large-scale rollout of 2960x switches with Prime for management.
With NetFlow and firmware control centrally located we now can have one pane of glass to go to for data and analytics. When we upgrade the core 6880's all of the edge switches are also automatically upgraded to be at the same code revision creating a stable and consistent environment.
Read Tim Lillis's full review
Greg Fuller | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 03, 2018

Catalyst switches in higher education

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
  • Catalyst 6800 Series
Used in our academic, administrative and residence hall buildings. We use them to connect all wireless access points and wired devices within the buildings. They provide us with 10G connectivity between data closets and 1G with UPOE out to the edge devices. Our clients want reliable dependable connectivity, and the Catalyst switches provide that for us.
  • Command line configuration is very easy to mass deploy config changes and base configurations.
  • 1x authentication
  • Segmentation
  • All bugs publically available and not hidden behind Technical Assistance Center (TAC) for "internal" bug id
  • Longevity of recent IOS software releases
  • Adding new features to older stable tested trusted software code
Quick deployment of you already have a Cisco environment. We use all Cisco products with our catalyst switches (phones, switches and routers) and they all integrate.
We are not currently using any automation but are looking at doing so in the future.
Read Greg Fuller's full review
Jeremy Larson | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2018

6800 great small ISP switch

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3560-CX Series
  • Catalyst 6800 Series
We use the 6816 for our primary core switched configured in a VSS for all traffic. These switches are MPLS enabled, DC power and very robust.
  • VSS Redundancy
  • MPLS Ready
  • Flexible configuration.
  • Port Density for a 2RU unit.
  • Higher port speeds
  • Software features
I am using these for a core ISP because of the quality, price, and features. The 6800 are designed for a campus, but are well suited for a small ISP configuration.
We are not using the automation today.
Read Jeremy Larson's full review
Ivan Tushev | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2017

CISCO Catalyst Series

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using various CISCO Catalyst switches across the whole company - from the backbone to the local offices. We find the Catalyst family very stable and trustworthy, having little to no issues running them in our network for over a decade. RSTP, IGMP, BGP, PIM, MVR - you name it, we've already done it on our Catalyst! Will continue to recommend to small and medium businesses.
  • Fast switching.
  • Rapid Spanning Tree.
  • MVR - Multicast Vlan Registration.
  • More comprehensive statistics and debuging tools in the IGMP and IGMP snooping area.
  • Better ways to apply logging filters (messages you want to ommit being logged in the system) - based on regex.
The Catalyst family can be adopted to serve in almost any scenario required by small/medium businesses. We are using it in the office; we are using it in our CATV IP platform. We are using it at the backbone. Well, anyone would agree that using a Catalyst switch as a BGPv4 router is not the greatest idea, but hey - if you are not running the full prefix table, I don't see why not.
Read Ivan Tushev's full review

About Cisco Catalyst 6800 Series Switches

Cisco offers the Catalyst 6800 series of campus LAN switches.
Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst 6800 Series Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No