Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
61 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 33)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 03, 2021
Wien Dai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
We are replacing our Catalyst 3650 switches with 9200 series. These switches are used as access layer switches. They connect endpoints to the network, such as computer desktops, laptops, POS terminals and etc.

In general, my experience with 9200 series is they are lighter, reliable and same difficult level to configure.
  • Smaller size and less weight
  • Has new DNA feature
  • Layer 3 routing included by default
  • Not more expensive than 3650 series.
  • DNA license is a subscription license, not perpetual. You have to pay for using it every year.
Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches are one the best switches in the world. They are suitable for the environment from medium networks to large enterprise networks with complicated network design and segments. They are the working horses of network gear. We rarely have Cisco switches going bad.

Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches are suitable for monitoring and troubleshooting. They are compatible with many monitoring software such as Solarwinds. Even though Cisco CLI is not the most convenient tool to do the troubleshooting, it provides powerful troubleshooting capability.

The Catalyst switches are secure. There are different levels of user accesses and ACLs to ensure proper access security. SSH connection provides administrators secure remote access.
We haven't benefited from automation yet. However, we are using configuration tools to deploy configuration changes.
Read Wien Dai's full review
December 16, 2020
Jurek Plona | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
We began deploying Catalyst 9200 switching platform as Access Layer switching in our regional offices of various sizes (50-150 users) and smaller branches with up to 20 users. They are used in L2 and L3 configurations to support user's connectivity to corporate network.
  • Support high user density.
  • Provide multi-protocol support.
  • Depending on model, have support for various interface capacities.
  • Number of models come with fixed port configuration.
  • Support for PoE uses various templates, depending on models used.
  • Limited stacking sizing.
[Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches] generally provide flexibility of sizing, but with some limitations.
Also, deployment needs to be carefully planned with careful selection of specific model #s.
Some higher end features require top licensing subscription.
As we currently don't have DNA infrastructure and support the platform from 3rd party NMS system, not all advanced virtualization and automation features are used.
Read Jurek Plona's full review
June 04, 2021
Yahya Jaber | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
This switch is being used at the homes in our campus, each home gets a switch that is directly uplinked to an aggregator. They are uplinked via fiber cable with 1Gbps. Each house has a set of VLANs to support the services we provide to each home. some of the devices are PoE.
  • Provide robust connectivity
  • Visibility
  • PoE
  • Automation
  • Alarms
  • Hardware ASIC
  • PoE
  • Memory
  • Features
Well suited:
  1. Power supply replacement
  2. Vendor support
  3. Manageability
  4. Integration with Cisco suites
Less appropriate:
  1. PoE++ or UPoE on couple of ports
  2. mGig
  3. ASIC to support device sensor
  4. PVLANs
Those are somehow needed for future-proofing when connecting devices that may support power requirements of more than 30W. Also, the device sensor acts as an APM when configured which would allow user application performance before issues are reported. The PVLAN is a feature that is necessary to segregate clients when they reside on one subnet enhancing security.
We are using macros in autoSmart port feature to configure the clients on their respective VLAN, this is a handy feature though old but gets the job done, especially that Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches runs the latest updated AutoSmart port. On the other hand, for virtualization the device sensor feature is not supported hence we lack the per-user experience.
Read Yahya Jaber's full review
April 28, 2021
Denny Locke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
We rolled out new Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches to all of our closets within the building--22 of them. This gives us ample speed, and the PoE is great for the IP phone system.
  • Switch
  • Speed of backbone
  • Reliabilty--configure them and never touch them again
  • Ease of use--configuring these is a breeze
  • Price is a little steep
  • Not particularly fond of the inability to resell equipment when upgrading
  • Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches do not allow BGP, which is a real bummer
I find that all Cisco switches to be extremely well made (albeit in China) and reliable. We went from Cisco Catalyst 3750 Series Switches to Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches, and we ran the 3750s for 10 years. In that time I think I replaced four out of 22.
Not really using them for that--we use them as closet switches.
Read Denny Locke's full review
December 18, 2020
Victor Lau | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
The Cisco 9200 series LAN switches are being used as edge network devices. The Cisco 9k series is their latest and greatest with high switching power and a good feature set. The switches are well made and come with good support. With Cisco there is always great TAC assistance if required.
  • Performance
  • Support
  • Features
  • Documentation
  • Mandatory DNA requirement
  • Smartnet pricing
  • DNA license requirement
Companies who have a Cisco standard will be fans of this series of LAN switches. The switches are feature rich and provide the backing from the leader in this segment. Customers who do not use DNA will find the mandatory licensing expensive and unnecessary, this may drive these users to look at products from other leading providers such as HPE.
The features such as virtualization, automation, analytics are not utilized in our scenario. We do not have the scale or use for these solutions. Even though there is no forseeable future use of these items, we had to purchase the DNA license as it is mandatory. Unnecessary in our view that we had to be pushed to purchasing this license.
Read Victor Lau's full review
May 26, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
We are using Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches for access switches in a factory and office environment across the company. It can also serve to give a network to printers and access points on the PoE switches. We are using our stack to distribute a huge amount of network access to the users. This way, it's easy to manage, upgrade, and it's more scalable.
  • Ease of use.
  • PoE performance.
  • The hardware is faulty sometimes (faulty stack cable is generating errors on the switch).
  • There are too many bugs in the new version.
I think Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches (2960X series or new 9200L) are a good compromise between performance and price. They are not so expensive and are giving a very good performance for our end-users.
Now the new 9200 Catalysts can provide multi-gig connections so that the new access point can have a faster debit rate.
We just started to use the DNA center in our lab environment. With the new IOS XE devices, and especially the last switches that are using the DNA center license, it seems to be a very good approach to manage inventory, configuration templates, IOS image management, and so on.
We don't have the ability yet to use the full DNA center with assurance and so on, but it seems to be very promising, as I've seen on some Demos.
As usual, the Cisco documentation can be exhaustive, and it's not so easy to find the appropriate information on the website. However, when you are a bit used to it, the search can be possible and not so difficult.
The first white paper that was comparing the 2960X with the 9200 equivalent was nice and saved us a lot of time and energy.
Yes - I now think than the upgrade of the new Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches is much more smooth and efficient compared to the previous update with the 2960X switch series.
Indeed, the upgrade itself is much faster, so the downtime for the user is minimum compared to what it used to be in the past.
Read this authenticated review
April 21, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
The Catalyst 9200 switches have been purchased for the access layer to be installed in cabinets around the organisation to provide access for desktops, printers, and wireless access points. As such they are being used by most parts of the business, not that any of them would know that.
  • Latest generation hardware so capable of high speeds (25G and beyond)
  • Designed with new technologies like SD-Access in mind
  • Programmable to enable automated deployments
  • Many different models mean you need to know all your use cases in advance
They have been a good reliable switch so far, from a trusted vendor. The ability to configure them with a python script has made the deployment time much quicker, and the fact they are not very deep means we can fit them in more of the older, smaller, cabinet spaces
It has taken a bit of time to get familiar with python, but now that our team has that confidence we have created a standard template that can be deployed easily. This will hence save time overall as we need to replace around 100 older 2960 series switches
Read this authenticated review
April 15, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
We use our Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches as an inexpensive way to provide layer 2 connectivity at our DMZ and outside edge.
  • Easy to set up
  • Rock-solid reliability
  • Cost-conscious for Enterprise
  • Licensing setup in 16.12.x code is unnecessarily complex
  • Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches forces you to purchase Essentials or Advantage licensing for initial order
Great for DMZ or outside edge, management switch that needs to be mostly copper, or any other layer 2 application where cost is more important than flexibility and features. Arguably less useful in the datacenter, given the division between DNA (Catalyst/branch) and ACI (Nexus/Datacenter), but again, if cost is a primary factor, then it's a great way to go. Also no higher end features found in the Nexus line, such as VPC.
We have not taken advantage of the DNA functionality that enables the ability for more automation, scale, virtualization, analytics, etc. Perhaps for an organization where there is a lot of need for such scale or functionality, it could be useful, but for our relatively small IT organization and few projects, it's not necessary.
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches are the core switches used in our recent project with BHP in T&T for offshore oil and gas platform. These were selected due to their scalability, routing and data/voice reliability with redundancy. No doubt Cisco is way ahead of their competitors in terms of COST (commercial off-the-self technology) without compromising the safety security of an offshore platform.
  • Routing the data with utmost security
  • Redundancy between two switches
  • Its scalability in terms of ports
  • Modular components to add on in future if required
  • Power consumption optimization
  • Cost
For any of the complex offshore oil and gas projects, they are well suited. Even for a big/mega project, (refinery/petrochemical) these are the number one choice. But for a small project, small office, and non-complex application, they are nonviable due to cost.
We have segregated the bandwidth for different systems (DCS/ESD/FGS/telecom) using these switches to prevent the one system from occupy the whole of the resources. We have defined the ports to act as separate virtual LANs for our dedicated system. This virtual environment is working as a barrier between two different system, so that they can not interfere in each other.
Read this authenticated review
April 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
We use Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches for our LAN segments in connecting our endpoints with our enterprise networks, both local and wide area. They provide us the redundancy and scalability in having multiple segments in each of our locations to be able cross function. Being able to grow or stack and standardize on hardware and firmware platforms for management is crucial for our success.
  • Being able to provide scalability
  • Redundancy to prevent outages
  • Standardization to minimize administration costs and time
  • Cost and licensing
  • Technical support assistance
Industry standard network equipment that 80% of the high tech market uses for infrastructure needs and operations.
We employ over 5,000 devices in our enterprise and use numerous tools and automation for administration, configurations, deployment, and remediation. We also use a few tools to manage, monitor, and expand uses within our environment.
Read this authenticated review
December 10, 2020
Thomas Osborne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
We are using our 9200's for multiple uses in our company. Different campuses use these switches for different purposes based on traffic load, availability, etc. In our main campus, we use our 9200's for lighter cases. Things like using the 9200's as a management switch, a switch for our printers and access points. Things that don't switch critical packets.
  • Reliability
  • DNA integration
  • Processing capabilities
  • Price
I really like the [Cisco Catalyst 9220 Series Switches] that Cisco released. I am very familiar with the Cisco catalyst 3850 that these new 9ks replaced. The webui (usually disabled) makes for ease of switch management and configuration. The ability to use these switches with DNA center is also great for production troubleshooting, configuration, assurance, and more.
We use our [Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches] with DNA for Assurance mainly. DNA can do more, and we will implement that later, but having the Assurance with our catalyst 9k's is excellent for our organization. We use the 9200's for a wide variety of uses, but being able to stack multiple 9200's together is an excellent feature.
Read Thomas Osborne's full review
September 29, 2020
Miguel Maldonado | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
  • Catalyst 9300 Series
Son los productos que mas encajan en las soluciones enterprise de los clientes, esto por que su alta versatilidad permite un crecimeinto organizado dentro de las empresas.

They are products that work best for enterprise clients, because their versatility allows for expansion across each individual organization
  • high forwarding // high forwarding
  • posee la capacidad de convertirse tambien en un WLC // Has the ability to become a WLC as well
  • posee puertos UPOE que pueden ser usados para varios dispositivos finales. // It has UPOE ports that can be used for multiple end user devices
  • capacidad de expansion con modulos adicionales // The ability to scale up/expand using additional modules
  • poder ordenar los equipos sin la suscripcion de dna center. // Needs to be able to support computers without a DNA Center subscriptions
  • agregar funcionalidades de meraki a bajo costo // Adding Meraki features at a lower cost
  • comparar los precios con relacion a la competencia en especial con HP // Prices should be competitive with other vendors, namely HP
al existir diferentes tipos de empresas de varios tamanos y objetivos los SW catalyst permiten esa versatilidad de funciones para seguir creciendo, puede darse el caso que se requiera agregar un nuevo sw y sin problema este puede desplegarse en la red o en un stack complemento a los equipos existentes.

As there are different types of enterprises of different sizes and objectives, the SW catalyst allows for versatility of functions so as to continue to grow, it may be the case that is required to add a new switch, and without problem this can be deployed in the network or in a stack as a complement to the existing equipment.
La empresa en la que trabajo esta empezando una migracion hacia los nuevos equipos y tecnologias que Cisco brinda, pero todas las funcionalidades y capacidades de lo que una red con equipos catalyst y DNA center puede hacer la hemos visto donde nuestros clientes y es el mejor punto de referencia para que como partners actualicemos nuestra plataforma.

The company I work for is starting a migration to this new equipment and technologies that Cisco provides, but all the functionalities and capabilities of what a network with catalyst equipment and DNA center can do we have seen from our customers and is the best benchmark so that as partners we've updated to the new tools.
Read Miguel Maldonado's full review
November 09, 2020
Simon Watkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
We use them on client sites at the access layer devices, primarily for user PCs, phones and normal peripherals such as wireless access points. As they support POE+ we can power devices such as the latest access points. They are stackable and I like the fact there are two different stack options depending on whether you choose the modular or 9200L versions.
  • Access layer
  • Redundant power
  • Support with the network essential license level
  • Being able to stack different models together
These devices are particularly well suited to be deployed at the access layer where we need high density, stackable devices. The backplane is big enough fo this use case and with a 10 GB uplink to the core provides sufficient bandwidth for end-user clients. These devices have enough POE to support a wide range of devices such as the latest access points.
These devices are definitely suited and built with the functionality for those companies that are beginning the software-defined journey. Although we are not using Cisco DNA Center currently it certainly makes sense to purchase these devices now so that we are ready to begin this journey. I do think that we are a couple of years away from this at the moment.
Read Simon Watkins's full review
August 22, 2020
Mike Sabat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
We replaced our old switches with the new Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches, and that was the best thing we could do. With new devices, we reduced issues on our network and provide better services to our users and customers. Cisco Catalyst Switches also means better security, better protection. Cisco again shows us how the network world should look.
  • Automation
  • Design
  • Stability
  • Price
They are very good to replace any old network topology and reduce issues with stability and connectivity. It will also increase your security level and allows you to protect your network. We can use MACsec encryption and segmentation. We could also integrate these new models wit our Cisco SD-WAN and Cisco DNA Center.
Time-saving automation, greater scale with virtualization, and analytics—that is what we needed. We started looking for a good solution over 3 years ago. We wanted to have our network with all advantages today's world could offer to us. Starting with Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches allowed us to reduce our work time and do almost all automatically.
Read Mike Sabat's full review
August 03, 2020
Tim Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
  • Catalyst 2960-L Smart Managed
We use them both as access layer and core switches, as we are a large company, but mostly distributed up and down the east coast of the U.S. in smaller-sized branches. We need something with complex ability, but simple management to keep the network up and functioning as much as possible.
  • Easy to use
  • Lots of functionality
  • Ease of management
  • Single pane of glass management
  • Need to find the correct model easier
  • Lower cost
The Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches work really well. They are premium models compared to other vendors, but their capabilities are many and very scalable. They are okay for an access layer in SMBs but they do scale up and are stackable and work well with other products with minimal issues or extra configuration. They can also be used as core switching depending on the models you pick.
We have updated to a newer hyper-converged cluster and use the 9200 to link to the rest of the network equipment, from servers to other appliances and switching and edge devices. The sheer speed is noticeable compared to the older 3rd-party switches we had prior and keep our network running at optimal speeds.
Read Tim Roberts's full review
August 01, 2020
Alejandro Pineda | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
  • Other
They are the network core. All of the network is based in Cisco Switches. We used 2960 as the top of the rack switches. Also, for the main core we use Nexus 7200. With these switches, we have connected all the servers and the main workload of the company. So we have different types of Cisco Switches around the company to cover different functions. Also, we use Cisco 9200 series for our private cloud as leaf switches to interconnect all the components.
  • Capabilities
  • Compatibility
  • Reliability
  • The pricing is expensive compared with other vendors.
  • The license to get all the functions is expensive.
  • The support has to improve because in some cases takes too long to solve an issue.
If you are looking for a reliable solution that will cost more than others, Cisco is the solution. Also, the performance and compatibility with other systems is great. We have not had a problem connecting any server to these switches and we can use advanced configuration, like bounding or port aggregation without a problem.
Our Network's private cloud is based on these switches and we take real benefit from this capability since we had automated virtual machine deployment. That helps to manage the IP assignation and also is great for the quality of services. Depending on the flavor it manages with VLAN, it had to be the virtual server. These switches are very capable to manage your cloud network.
Read Alejandro Pineda's full review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
We use 2960XR and [Cisco Catalyst 9200] Series Switches on the access layer and never had any problems. Almost all access ports on switches are running Data and Voice vlans and we never had any STP/Trunking/Conflicts issues with the switches.
  • Enhanced STP Experience
  • Reliable all year long, no weird port issues or power issues all POE switches always perform
  • Advance routing features if you want to use switch as layer 3 devices
  • Price and smartnet support cost
  • License base works great. Might be a good idea to bundle more services. LANbase and IPbase can be concluded. (IMO)
Cisco [Catalyst 9200 Series] Switches work great. Most enterprises use cisco office equipment (Phones, Cameras etc. ), and switches work seamlessly with these products. Always full throughput on all ports, rarely any STP issues.

Not well suited for small businesses (Costly) or in scenarios where network devices are not uniform/ multi vendor
We are using features such as bandwidth per stack (this can go up to 160 GBPS)
Flexible Netflow, Programmability (SD-Access & Model-Driven)
Policy-based automation (DNA)
Read this authenticated review
December 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
We migrated from a half decade old solution to the Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series to update our closet switches. They brought with them a host of new features - PoE being one of the major ones. The older switches were running out of life and the new Cisco switches advanced our capabilities, bringing us current with modern trends.
  • Very easy to install and configure
  • The form factor was better than the previous models
  • I cannot think of anything that I would do better
The Cisco [Catalyst] 9200 [Series Switches] were a perfect fit for our closet spaces and I cannot think of a place that these would not work well. We have multiple floors that these control the network on and all of our L2/L3 needs were met. I would use these in most any business on the edge and would work well in a campus setting.
The simplification of the network configuration has helped us tremendously. We shifted from multiple vendors to the single Cisco model and the ability to manage just one platform has been increasingly helpful. The new analytics that we are able to gather from the units are years ahead of the old ones and make it a lot easier to identify issues.
Read this authenticated review
December 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
We utilize the Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches at our branch offices for network connectivity. They are used to provide general network connectivity along with WiFi, voice, and video services. They provide excellent performance for data, voice, and video services with full per port customization. For port density, we stack multiple Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches with the added benefit of increased switching bandwidth.
  • Each port is very customizable for any networking service or condition
  • Cisco uses the classic command line interface for switch management
  • Support for the major routing protocols used today
  • I am not sure where they could be improved. The switch has every option and is fully customizable.
  • Licensing can be expensive.
For medium to large businesses, the Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches are very well suited. They can be customized per port for any type of use. The switches provide support for all major routing protocols and have a huge amount of bandwidth for most applications.

For small business, the cost may be prohibitive and many of the features may not be needed. Licensing can be expensive and difficult to understand.
We are currently not using any switch automation or analytics. We do plan to utilize these features in the near future and believe the Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches will be a great solution.
Read this authenticated review
September 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
We have an academic campus where there is a huge FTTH network providing network services to university residents. All houses are currently being upgraded to the 9200 series platform. The main business problem that is addressed by the Cisco 9200 series switch is the simplicity of replacement and readiness/support for the current and future new tech advancements offered by Cisco.
  • Traditional platform with new technology
  • Ideal for residential use
  • Support new technology and 1G ports
  • Price
  • Some new bugs appear
The platform is ideal for access layer in campuses/residential areas. Also, it supports new wireless access points and provides 1G speed to users.

The Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series switches are not appropriate for use in data centers as access switches where bandwidth is a key.
We just started deploying this platform in our organization. The automation feature is quite interesting in terms of auto service provision for customers. Also, analytics would help a lot, since data can tell the real story and provide some good insight and tips for service improvement.
Read this authenticated review
August 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
We are using Cisco Catalyst Switches to build a modern, reliable, scalable, and secure LAN. This network needs to be flexible to accommodate our organization's needs and business demands. Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches perfectly address these requirements by extending the intent-based networking and simplifying the deployment of advanced technologies. From our current experience, we note that the Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series demonstrates a cost-effective solution as an access switch for sales offices, branches, or big production environments.
  • Resilient power and component redundancy
  • Hot-swapping uplinks
  • Access layer
  • The pricing--2960X cost less
  • DNA licensing model is not easy, and you cannot buy the switch without a subscription.
At the current moment, we are using Cisco 2960X as an access switch, and we decided to change our corporate standard and migrate to the Cisco Catalyst 9200 series. Currently, we are using two models: C9200L-24P-4G-E and C9200L-48P-4G-E, depending on the port needs.
Hardware and configuration maintenance is much easier with DNA. We are not using automated device provisioning and SD-Access programmability yet, but actively looking into these opportunities.
Read this authenticated review
August 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
9200 is the successor of most common access switches in our company and also in many other businesses— 2960 series. All new implementation is based on this model and we are successively replacing all obsolete devices with 9200. Like the 2960 series, those are trustworthy switches, stable and useful in various environments. Moreover, with full DNA support, they are easier to manage and automate, which is very beneficial for IT departments.
  • Automation
  • Stability
  • Great design
  • Licensing
  • Price
We are operating in manufacturing areas and those switches have a really good hardware design that allows them to work there. Even if they are not industry hardened, they are working well in dusty and moist areas. From the software side, they are pretty well manageable via DNA, so if you are planning to have a high standard and easy to maintain network, this is the best option.
Automation and programmability are among the best features of Cisco 9200 switches. We are trying to get most of them on each phase of use, starting from the simple and automated onboarding process, through initial configuration and security hardening. Hardware and configuration maintenance is much easier with DNA. Most time consuming is template preparation, but after that, you can just apply it on all requested switches.
Read this authenticated review
May 27, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
We are currently using the Cisco Catalyst 9200 switches as our access layer switch. We have plans on sometime down the road utilizing the capability of these switches to support Security Group Tags for Cisco Identity Services Engine. Although we are not currently using these switches for this purpose, this hardware is fully capable to provide both the throughput and user port density that we need at the access layer.
  • Provide density of ports for access layer.
  • Provides reliability so that managment of the device is minimal.
  • Provides PoE Plus to support the newer Cisco AP models.
  • Not a huge fan of the licensing model.
  • A bit pricey for an access layer switch.
  • Would like some IoT functionality built in.
These Catalyst switches are more suited for the office or access layer environment. These 9200 Catalyst switches would not work well on a shop floor to support IoT machines since they don't have the capability to do so. You would not want to rely on these switches at your distribution or core layer of your network, the backbone is not suited to support that functionality.
Read this authenticated review
January 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
After a couple of months of testing, we decided to change our hardware standard from 9300 to 9200 switches for the LAN side. Usually every 4-5 years, we change all the catalysts in the entire organization. At the moment we use 3850/9300 and just started the installation process of the new 9200. As access layer
switches, we use them to connect users.
  • Stacking is still one of the biggest advantages for this series of catalyst.
  • With basic configuration, they are quite stable. So you can apply the configuration and forget about them.
  • They are quite new, so it's rather easy to find bugs in early firmware versions.
  • The price is still too high for just an access switch.
In a Cisco environment, buying access switches of the same vendor is almost a must, but sometimes it could be also a good idea not to be locked with one vendor only. This really depends on the company and the environment. In general, access switches are a good fit to connect users and it's not suggested to use them for servers.
SD-Access is "included" in the 9200 license, but we don't use it since the entire ecosystem is really expensive and not mature. I hope that Cisco will decrease the price list and provide a better and [more] robust solution in the future. You will hear from Cisco sales reps a lot of good things about that, but this is the usual way of Cisco to push for what they want to sell.
Read this authenticated review
January 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
We use Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series as a core switch and access switch.
  • Resiliency
  • Performance
  • Data center
  • IT room
In every case Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches are powerful.
We benefit from Cisco 9200 Series' automation with Ansible.
Read this authenticated review

What is Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches?

The Cisco Catalyst family of switches includes enterprise LAN access, distribution, and core switches. The vendor says the switches are designed for an entirely new era of intent-based networking, deliver stellar performance and functionality, and prepares a network for the future with breakthrough innovations for security, mobility, IoT, and the cloud.

Cisco Catalyst switches offer advanced security capabilities, scale for IoT, and cloud readiness.

Cisco aims to transform how people connect, communicate, and collaborate. Cisco and its valued partners sell Cisco hardware, software, and services to businesses of all sizes, governments, service providers, and consumers.

Cisco now offers a two-question, two-minute interactive tool to identify the Cisco products and services available to help users solve up to 5 network challenges.

Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches Competitors

Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches?

Cisco offers the Catalyst 9200 series of campus LAN switches.

Who uses Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches?

The most common users of Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.