Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
26 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-14 of 14)

Simon Watkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2020

Cisco Catalyst 9200 - the next generation access layer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
We use them on client sites at the access layer devices, primarily for user PCs, phones and normal peripherals such as wireless access points. As they support POE+ we can power devices such as the latest access points. They are stackable and I like the fact there are two different stack options depending on whether you choose the modular or 9200L versions.
  • Access layer
  • Redundant power
  • Support with the network essential license level
  • Being able to stack different models together
These devices are particularly well suited to be deployed at the access layer where we need high density, stackable devices. The backplane is big enough fo this use case and with a 10 GB uplink to the core provides sufficient bandwidth for end-user clients. These devices have enough POE to support a wide range of devices such as the latest access points.
These devices are definitely suited and built with the functionality for those companies that are beginning the software-defined journey. Although we are not using Cisco DNA Center currently it certainly makes sense to purchase these devices now so that we are ready to begin this journey. I do think that we are a couple of years away from this at the moment.
Read Simon Watkins's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

New Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches rock

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
We are using Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches for access switches in a factory and office environment across the company. It can also serve to give a network to printers and access points on the PoE switches. We are using our stack to distribute a huge amount of network access to the users. This way, it's easy to manage, upgrade, and it's more scalable.
  • Ease of use.
  • PoE performance.
  • The hardware is faulty sometimes (faulty stack cable is generating errors on the switch).
  • There are too many bugs in the new version.
I think Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches (2960X series or new 9200L) are a good compromise between performance and price. They are not so expensive and are giving a very good performance for our end-users.
Now the new 9200 Catalysts can provide multi-gig connections so that the new access point can have a faster debit rate.
We just started to use the DNA center in our lab environment. With the new IOS XE devices, and especially the last switches that are using the DNA center license, it seems to be a very good approach to manage inventory, configuration templates, IOS image management, and so on.
We don't have the ability yet to use the full DNA center with assurance and so on, but it seems to be very promising, as I've seen on some Demos.
As usual, the Cisco documentation can be exhaustive, and it's not so easy to find the appropriate information on the website. However, when you are a bit used to it, the search can be possible and not so difficult.
The first white paper that was comparing the 2960X with the 9200 equivalent was nice and saved us a lot of time and energy.
Yes - I now think than the upgrade of the new Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches is much more smooth and efficient compared to the previous update with the 2960X switch series.
Indeed, the upgrade itself is much faster, so the downtime for the user is minimum compared to what it used to be in the past.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2020

Reliable Catalyst 9200

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
We are currently using the Cisco Catalyst 9200 switches as our access layer switch. We have plans on sometime down the road utilizing the capability of these switches to support Security Group Tags for Cisco Identity Services Engine. Although we are not currently using these switches for this purpose, this hardware is fully capable to provide both the throughput and user port density that we need at the access layer.
  • Provide density of ports for access layer.
  • Provides reliability so that managment of the device is minimal.
  • Provides PoE Plus to support the newer Cisco AP models.
  • Not a huge fan of the licensing model.
  • A bit pricey for an access layer switch.
  • Would like some IoT functionality built in.
These Catalyst switches are more suited for the office or access layer environment. These 9200 Catalyst switches would not work well on a shop floor to support IoT machines since they don't have the capability to do so. You would not want to rely on these switches at your distribution or core layer of your network, the backbone is not suited to support that functionality.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

A new cheaper version of the 9300 that can save you some money

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
After a couple of months of testing, we decided to change our hardware standard from 9300 to 9200 switches for the LAN side. Usually every 4-5 years, we change all the catalysts in the entire organization. At the moment we use 3850/9300 and just started the installation process of the new 9200. As access layer
switches, we use them to connect users.
  • Stacking is still one of the biggest advantages for this series of catalyst.
  • With basic configuration, they are quite stable. So you can apply the configuration and forget about them.
  • They are quite new, so it's rather easy to find bugs in early firmware versions.
  • The price is still too high for just an access switch.
In a Cisco environment, buying access switches of the same vendor is almost a must, but sometimes it could be also a good idea not to be locked with one vendor only. This really depends on the company and the environment. In general, access switches are a good fit to connect users and it's not suggested to use them for servers.
SD-Access is "included" in the 9200 license, but we don't use it since the entire ecosystem is really expensive and not mature. I hope that Cisco will decrease the price list and provide a better and [more] robust solution in the future. You will hear from Cisco sales reps a lot of good things about that, but this is the usual way of Cisco to push for what they want to sell.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

Cisco Catalyst Power

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
We use Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series as a core switch and access switch.
  • Resiliency
  • Performance
  • Data center
  • IT room
In every case Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches are powerful.
We benefit from Cisco 9200 Series' automation with Ansible.
Read this authenticated review
Miguel Maldonado | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2019

Switches C9300!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
  • Catalyst 9300 Series
Son los productos que mas encajan en las soluciones enterprise de los clientes, esto por que su alta versatilidad permite un crecimeinto organizado dentro de las empresas.

They are products that work best for enterprise clients, because their versatility allows for expansion across each individual organization
  • high forwarding // high forwarding
  • posee la capacidad de convertirse tambien en un WLC // Has the ability to become a WLC as well
  • posee puertos UPOE que pueden ser usados para varios dispositivos finales. // It has UPOE ports that can be used for multiple end user devices
  • capacidad de expansion con modulos adicionales // The ability to scale up/expand using additional modules
  • poder ordenar los equipos sin la suscripcion de dna center. // Needs to be able to support computers without a DNA Center subscriptions
  • agregar funcionalidades de meraki a bajo costo // Adding Meraki features at a lower cost
  • comparar los precios con relacion a la competencia en especial con HP // Prices should be competitive with other vendors, namely HP
al existir diferentes tipos de empresas de varios tamanos y objetivos los SW catalyst permiten esa versatilidad de funciones para seguir creciendo, puede darse el caso que se requiera agregar un nuevo sw y sin problema este puede desplegarse en la red o en un stack complemento a los equipos existentes.

As there are different types of enterprises of different sizes and objectives, the SW catalyst allows for versatility of functions so as to continue to grow, it may be the case that is required to add a new switch, and without problem this can be deployed in the network or in a stack as a complement to the existing equipment.
La empresa en la que trabajo esta empezando una migracion hacia los nuevos equipos y tecnologias que Cisco brinda, pero todas las funcionalidades y capacidades de lo que una red con equipos catalyst y DNA center puede hacer la hemos visto donde nuestros clientes y es el mejor punto de referencia para que como partners actualicemos nuestra plataforma.

The company I work for is starting a migration to this new equipment and technologies that Cisco provides, but all the functionalities and capabilities of what a network with catalyst equipment and DNA center can do we have seen from our customers and is the best benchmark so that as partners we've updated to the new tools.
Read Miguel Maldonado's full review
Mercedes Albuja | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2019

Ideal switches!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
  • Catalyst 3560-CX Series
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
  • Catalyst 9300 Series
  • Catalyst 9400 Series
Cisco Catalyst son usados para el acceso, core y distribucion en la red

Cisco Catalyst switches are used for accessing, running, and distributing on our network
  • Equipos robustos y mejores caracteristicas tecnicas que otros vendors // Robust equipment and better technical features than other vendors
  • Throughput mejorado // Improved throughput
  • Crea ambientes mas seguros // Creates more secure environment
  • Capacidad de escalabilidad // Scalability
  • Adminisitracion centralizada // Centralized administration
  • Mejoramiento en la disponibilidad de la red // Improved network availability
  • Seguridad // Security
  • Que los precios sean mejorados para ser mas competitivos // More competitive prices/cost
  • Generar mas marketing y promocion de los nuevos equipos // Create more marketing and promotional features about new equipment
  • Liberar de licencias obligatorias en los equipos // Release obligatory licenses for businesses
Estos equipos pueden ser usados en data center de pequenas mediana y grandes empresas

These tools can be used in small to medium-sized data centers and for enterprises.
Si hemos usado los beneficios de escalbilidad permitiendo ingresar nuevas aplicaciones a la compania

We have taken advantage of the scalability of this series, as it has allowed us to introduce new applications to our company

Read Mercedes Albuja's full review
Gustavo Dorantes | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9300 Series
The Cisco 9200 has solved our HA requirements very easily, with the VSL all the task to deliver ports, configuration service delivery, and support for operations. We are waiting for our first upgrade, but we expect it to be simple and fast. I had the opportunity to upgrade a pair of switches at the Cisco Live, and experienced almost zero downtime.
  • Virtual stack link, configuration always with HA
  • Port channels
  • Enterprise switch solutions for a critital network
  • More frequent versions and improvement
  • The reload without XFSO is very slow
9200 is great for high availability scenarios, but if your team doesn't have the resources to complete all the configurations, even the physical ones, there is no opportunity to make a 9300 implementation. For mission critical scenarios the 9200 is a good option because of the capacity.
Currently we are working with a 9200 VSL cluster and all the operations are running smoothly. There are no upgrades at the moment, but we are enjoying the capabilities and the HA requirements. It's a great switch, better than other brands and with Cisco is guaranteed to be great.
Read Gustavo Dorantes's full review
Armando Patlan | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2019

Great solutions for switches

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9300 Series
Nos gusta proponer soluciones de switches cisco catalyst por el performance así como él crecimiento a gran escala

We like to propose Cisco Catalyst switches )solutions= for performance as well as their ability for growth on a large scale
  • Conexion de access point cisco // Connection with Cisco access points
  • Para aplicativos de clientes // For client applications
  • Soporte de velocidades 1/10gb // 1/10gb speed support
  • Switches que soportan velocidades 1/10gb, crecimiento a gran escala // Switches that support 1/10gb speeds, large-scale growth
Los switches catalyst son de suma importancia para ambientes de producción en masa, comunicaciones de usuarios a aplicaciones de cada empresa

Catalyst switches are of paramount importance for mass production environments and user communications through applications in every company
Aceleramos, automatizamos la producción de una organización, administraciones centralizadas

We accelerated and automated the production of our organization, and utilized centralized administrations
Read Armando Patlan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

Great reliable switches with the ability to scale

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
We are using these switches in our warehouse in some elevated IDF's. We have large quantities of patch panel ports that need to be connected so we went with the 48 port switches. We have full POE switches so we can power phones , APs, and any other device that needs to be powered. We needed to have a switch that can be data stacked with high port capacity and is reasonably priced since it was going into our warehouse.
  • They can be data stacked which is a huge plus when needing multiple switches in a cabinet.
  • These switches are able to do POE on every port which is great so we can plug any device into the switch POE or not and it will work for that device.
  • It has a network modular slot where you can add a copper or fiber modular and they have an option for port count too. It is nice to have options so you can get the right port for the deployment.
  • They are always coming out with patches and updates. Seems like every month we are being contacted to upgrade.
  • These can be pretty expensive.
If you have other Cisco devices like APs or phones that connect to these Switches they work well together for example you can add a phone VLAN and the switch can recognize that a phone is connected and put them on a certain VLAN. If you are needing high port density at a lower cost these would be a switch I would go with. If you are looking for high throughput with more advanced routing these would not be the switches I would use. These are great for connecting computers, APs, phones and other standard network devices.
We love how these switches can scale. When you need more port density all you have to do is add another switch to the switch stack and it will join the switch stack and you can then configure the interfaces.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

The catalyst to my network!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
We use our Cisco Catalyst Switches across our district at over 30+ different sites.
  • Mobility agent.
  • Routing and switching.
  • Boot time - Currently the 3850's take about 15-20 minutes to power on.
  • Hardware - We have quite a few fans going out on our 2960x.
Every day it seems we are adding new devices to our network and our switches have been able to handle the smallest devices to the most complex ones. These devices include Rainbird sensors, HVAC sensors, access points, computers, etc. They are able to handle the complex switching as well as supporting the various PoE requirements.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2019

The best performance to access the network

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
  • Catalyst 2960-L Series
  • Catalyst 3560-CX Series
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
  • Catalyst 9300 Series
  • Catalyst 9400 Series
We use Cisco Catalyst Switches for all models to access, distribution and core. We increase network performance and security.
  • Excellent performance.
  • Intuitive web administration.
Cisco Catalyst Switches 9200 are the best option for network access, the performance is the best; but for core we prefer use the 9400 Series.
We do not use DNA, It is not using for automation, but the performance increase.
Read this authenticated review
Daniel Hosking | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2019

Switches that are flexible!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
  • Catalyst 6800 Series
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
  • Catalyst 9300 Series
We use Catalyst Switches internally, and we sell them as part of our solutions for our clients. We also use them as part of our LaaS consumption based offerings.
  • Huge amount of features and options, allowing flexibility
  • Redundancy in power, stacking and virtualisation
  • Rich set of software features
  • Often very expensive
  • Complex for new users
Cisco Switches are great where there is a unique requirement, such as in health for end to end QoS, security and redundancy.
Our organisation has not leveraged these features yet.
Read Daniel Hosking's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2019

Cisco Cat Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
  • Catalyst 9200 Series
Cisco is doing a great job, on the sw and hw delivery and support... The catalyst product gives the customer confidence and stability..We feel very safe in using it... keep the good job...
  • Easy installation. I personally recently installed around 60 Cisco Catalyst switches. The IT department is very happy with it...all easy and no outages.
  • Power consumption wire closet. We recently changed around 60 Catalysts and we didn't have to change our power system. Very stable the switches and low power consumption...
  • Low fan noise...stable and good cooling system. We lost a.c. on our close but the stack is still working for long hours and did not lose connection.
  • Excellent team support
  • More intelligences...
  • More storage capacity
Have none that is not appropriate. I think it can be suited on any company's scenarios, based on what you need on your net.
Read this authenticated review

About Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches

The Cisco Catalyst family of switches includes enterprise LAN access, distribution, and core switches. The vendor says the switches are designed for an entirely new era of intent-based networking, deliver stellar performance and functionality, and prepares a network for the future with breakthrough innovations for security, mobility, IoT, and the cloud.

Cisco Catalyst switches offer advanced security capabilities, scale for IoT, and cloud readiness.

Cisco aims to transform how people connect, communicate, and collaborate. Cisco and its valued partners sell Cisco hardware, software, and services to businesses of all sizes, governments, service providers, and consumers.

Cisco now offers a two-question, two-minute interactive tool to identify the Cisco products and services available to help users solve up to 5 network challenges.

Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches Competitors

Cisco Catalyst 9200 Series Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No