Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches

Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 9.6 out of 100
Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches

Overview

Recent Reviews

Cisco Catalyst 9k Review

5 out of 10
December 04, 2019
We use these 9407 switches to aggregate LAN to WAN connections and as discrete data center switches in a secure environment.
Continue reading

Easy and fast

8 out of 10
February 12, 2019
We use Cisco Catalyst Switches for our infrastructure and to enable our business to perform better in various aspects.
Continue reading

Cisco Is worth it

9 out of 10
June 13, 2018
We use them as a collapsed core design at all of our remote offices. They allow us to perform all the requirements of a medium to small …
Continue reading

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches?

Cisco offers the Catalyst 9400 enterprise series of LAN switches.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://engage2demand.cisco.com/lp=567?…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

Alternatives Pricing

What is Cisco Nexus Series Switches?

Cisco Nexus is a series of network switches.

What is Ruckus ICX Switches?

Ruckus acquired the ICX series of campus switches, and in turn Ruckus was acquired by ARRIS in December 2017.

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches?

The Catalyst 9400 Series is presented by Cisco as the next generation of the industry's most widely deployed enterprise switching platform, recognized as CRN's 2017 and 2018 Network Product of the Year. These modular access switches are built for security, IoT, and cloud. The vendor states they deliver state-of-the-art high availability, support up to 9 Tbps, provide the latest in 90-watt UPOE+, and form one of the building blocks for SD-Access, Cisco's enterprise architecture solution.

Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches Competitors

Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Compare with

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches?

Cisco offers the Catalyst 9400 enterprise series of LAN switches.

Who uses Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches?

The most common users of Cisco Catalyst 9400 Series Switches are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Hospital & Health Care industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (17)

Reviews

(1-11 of 11)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Speed, stability, and security
  • Familiar management language and interface
  • Enterprise-class WAN and LAN protocols and features
  • Not the cheapest option
  • Level-one Cisco TAC support not the best
  • Somewhat disruptive software upgrades
December 04, 2019

Cisco Catalyst 9k Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Fit nicely into our use case
  • Routing
  • Switching
  • Software needs improvement, where features are added (Stack wise) or removed (GLBP) without solicitation from a wider audience or depreciation, respectively
  • Software bugs recently in basic features like AAA
  • Ability to turn off all unused services or features to reduce the attack surface
  • Cisco CoPP functionality is not like it was on the Cat 6k platform - users cannot create custom policies for use at the control-plane interface
July 10, 2019

Awesome!

Benjamin Salmond | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • These switches handle a full amount of users with ease, especially with dual 40G uplinks.
  • The options for power redundancy are amazing.
  • We have not had any issues with the 9400 series switches, so right now I have no notes for this.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • IOS-XE has a large feature set
  • Running VMs and containers on the switches
  • Hardware is reliable
  • Programmability support
  • We've run into a few bugs on IOS-XE, particularly earlier versions.
  • Many of the cool and necessary features being touted by Cisco require newer versions of IOS-XE (16.9.X and up). As of 6/15/19, the recommended MD is still 16.5.X, which we prefer to use for stability.
Eric Stearns | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Dual supervisors and up to 6 power supplies keep them running continuously.
  • Multigig ports and a high throughput backplane keeps the data flowing as fast as users need.
  • Currently, only half of the uplink ports on the supervisor cards can be used. This is supposed to be remedied in a future software release.
  • Version 16.10 is full of catastrophic bugs, use another version.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Stable connection to the corporate network
  • Basic security functionality with ISE
  • Uninterupted connection with full bandwidth
  • Size variations (short versions with 48 ports and full PoE)
  • Port density - for example version with 2U and 96 ports
  • Stacking over fiber optics (without dedicated cables with fixed lengths)
June 13, 2018

Cisco Is worth it

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Reliability - they keep going.
  • Features - no other switch can meet as many diverse needs.
  • Supportable - it’s relatively easy to find people who can setup run and operate.
  • Cost, but even as I say that I do not want quality to go down.